Volkswagen Concept BlueSport Roadster

The Volkswagen Concept BlueSport represents (according to Volkswagen) its philosophy for the new year – maximum driving fun with minimal fuel consumption. It’s 2.0 litre diesel engine sips only 4.3 litres per 100km and puts out 113g/km of CO2, but produces 180 PS and a very nice 350Nm of torque from as low as 1,750rpm. It’s mated to a twin clutch 6-speed transmission, and pushing the roadster which weighs less than 1,200kg from 0 to 100km/h takes only 6.6 seconds, on to a top speed of 226km/h.

Weight is kept down via the use of low weight construction methods such as a soft top which is lighter than a hard top, aluminium hoods, and a compact body layout.

Now what differentiates this baby from the many Volkswagens we’ve seen is the fact that it’s rear wheel drive. And its 112 litre boot is located at the front. That’s because the diesel engine is actually mounted at the mid-rear. Yes, a mid engined, rear wheel drive Volkswagen roadster.

It’s most curious why Volkswagen chose a mid-engine rear wheel drive platform for this car. Is it just for showcar purposes or are we looking at a new rear wheel drive platform for the Volkswagen Group? Could a production version of this roadster share a platform with the upcoming Volkswagen Lupo (based on the Volkswagen Up! concepts)? Will the Lupo be rear wheel drive after all?

Specifications

[zenphotopress number=99 album=76]

Video: Volkswagen Concept BlueSport Roadster

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mspfaz (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:26 pm

OMG this is a very beautiful car. With a fuel consumption to match, this is a very good future car to be in production.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:34 pm

wow, one cool little convertible….

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:12 pm

Love almost everything about it except its soft top. Couldn’t be any uglier. Looks like those Ah Bengs with their tops dyed. Just doesn’t match.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:13 pm

hmmmm….. not bad…. nice roadster anyway…. but i hate the red roof…

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:57 pm

it’s easy for vw. take the boxster chassis and plonk in their diesel engine.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

VW all out for twinclutches…

• scooterist (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:45 am

rear looks bit “Audi”ish..

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 6:42 am

The engine surely sounds good on paper…mmm…slurp-slurp…turbodiesel… *drool*
    As for it looking Audi-ish, VW owns Audi – so I suppose it’s their prerogative in some respect…heheh… =P

• droll (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:07 am

lovest! bestest! a BLUE sport car??? DAMN!!!!!!! VW u rock! pls pls pls put this car into production.

• tikus (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:35 am

No worry, nice or not it wont come to bolehland coz it is diesel engine. Bolehland diesel just cater for old taxi and lorry sahaja.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:57 am

quite good looking …

i think in malaysia you wouldnt want to drive it using malaysia diesel ..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:06 pm

i love that orange roof

• AMG (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:30 pm

Scicorro styled cabrio? o_o

• torque (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:52 pm

Bloody hell! It’s gorgeous! 180 bhp may not something to shout about but hey, its got an impresive 350 torque from a very low rpm!! My god! I love it…great design, decent hp, good torque, rwd….what are you waiting for VW?! Just built it man! I’ll work like there’s no tomorrow and get one if its actually goes to production. I mean…WOW! Just look at the push start button that integrated with the rotary gear device. Well done VW team….well done!

p/s: A sports car that eco friendly? Why not…. :-)

• torque (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:55 pm

Oh ya…then again…it’s diesel and Malaysia diesel quality is SH*T!!! :-(

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:31 pm

torque said,

January 22, 2009 @ 4:55 pm

Oh ya…then again…it’s diesel and Malaysia diesel quality is SH*T!!! :-(
    ———————
    take the risk, use the lousy diesel

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:14 pm

VW’s design moves are getting more and more exciting. IF they don’t overuse the same designs over and over again.