2,918 Protons on Thai roads so far

ProtonProton has been in the Thai market for just over 1 year now, and its market share is currently 1.4% or 2,918 cars. Total industry volume for 2008 in the Thai market was 615,270 units.

Japanese automakers currently conquer the Thai market with 92.1 percent total share. Toyota alone commands 42.6% market share. Proton currently sells the Savvy, the GEN2, the Satria Neo and the Persona CNG in Thailand. That’s one supermini, two compact sedans and one 3-door hatchback.

Proton’s distributor Phranakorn Auto Sales targets 4,000 units for the year 2009, with the Proton Savvy (priced at between 399k to 460k Thai baht) being the main driver of sales. 2009 Thai TIV is expected to drop further to 520,000 units.

In other Thai-related Proton news – Proton’s presence in Thailand will get a new Country Manager from February 2009 onwards, a Mr Philipe Cheng.

UPDATED: Corrected some misinterpretation of figures.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zack zorro (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 7:37 am

bravo proton

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:27 am

Congrat Proton…to much precious time lost under previous management. Now under DSZ Proton penetrate slowly, its better late than never.

• fyzal (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:49 am

Proton Satria Neo is in Malaysia but in Thailand they marketed the car as Proton NEO ;-)

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:59 am

Congratz DSZ …
    now launch Saga there!..
    (ouch.. still full fill the local order?)

• amad_a (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:59 am

Proton needs to get savvy replacement model as soon as possible. I think thais are looking forward for that after two years (2010 ?) of Proton involvement there.
    Heck, I bet Malaysian also looking for it as well..

I think Proton should consider this, if they wanna stay floating..

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:10 am

after MPV & Waja replacement .. they have to do Neo Gti first..
    then back to savvy.. was.. so long time..

Savvy#2 .. (savvy neo?) just imagine.. hehe
    Keep the old savvy body structure. (strong enough already)
    add extra width for more stablity.
    Redesign the front and back side.
    Put 1.6 campro cps NA under the hood.
    4 disk brake.
    6 Airbags.
    250hp with small body.. top speed cut at 250kmh.

wah lau!…

cost cut with impressive improvement what? Use what already in your stock! just like what toyota do on their dugong version..

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:32 am

just re-skin the savvy.
    that should do it.

new name: Savvy Zwei!
    eh..cm Syed Zainal la pulak ;)

• nuzzary (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:38 am

after 9 years.. since 2000 (the birth of first home made proton) waja… things can surely looking to be better..

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:48 am

To gain is easier than to sustain…

We’ll see what bashers club have to say about this..

• ragnahse (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:55 am

congrats toyota

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:55 am

congrats Proton !!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:14 am

“after 24yrs, only 2918 unit!!! heck, even toyota more than that”

haha… i just immitating the basher…

well… they will never satisfy about this… gues what… sure OPEN MARKET come into topic….

• szw (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:14 am

go proton !!!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:47 am

LOL. Why some people think its a success?

I ask you, if a carmaker sell only 3,000 unit in 1 whole year here in Malaysia, can that carmaker be considered a success?

Come on, be serious now.

3000 is nothing to be proud about. Sell 30,000 cars in Thailand then can come out and talk lah.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:51 am

not_ah_beng said,

January 22, 2009 @ 10:47 am

I ask you, if a carmaker sell only 3,000 unit in 1 whole year here in Malaysia, can that carmaker be considered a success?

Come on, be serious now.

3000 is nothing to be proud about. Sell 30,000 cars in Thailand then can come out and talk lah.

——————————————————

Here comes the BASHERS!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:07 am

bash proton: round 2918. START!!

lol :P

Well, we beat the yankees. Good job, Proton :D

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:10 am

not_ah_beng said,

January 22, 2009 @ 10:47 am

Come on, be serious now.

————————————————————–

Yes, BMW (3k + cars in ’08), Mercedes (4k+ in ’08) are absolute “failures” in Malaysia by your account right Mr. Ah Beng. That is why they are here for the long run doing CKD, setting up Finance support, regional training centres, regional data centres?

I’ll give it to u dat perhaps my 2 examples may earn more money per car compared to P1, but P1’s achievement is still somewhat commendable considering the fact that they are subject to a relatively open and level playing field in Thailand.

Neither am I saying that P1 already “berjaya” in Thailand, but this is a start 3k this year, 4-5k next 3 yrs, 10k + in 5-10 yrs…thats called growth my friend.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:38 am

haha… see… as expected… thank you mr ah_beng for becoming the first contributor…. haha…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:41 am

and, why dont u bash the chevy for getting passed by proton?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:02 pm

3500 are stored in the malaysian embassy…….

• indigo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:04 pm

Proton had not emerged into a true car manufacturer since its establishment. There is no pure local produced Proton and 25th anniversary is coming soon. If they could not afford to develop own platform, they can probably just get more rebaged vehicles in rather than keep on face lifting the old models. Waja is too old and it was 9 years ago since it was first launched. Surprisingly Savvy is getting old too and still not doing so well in local market. The choice of engine is always a problem since Campro is not that efficient and CPS is not available in all models. Savvy is using Renault D4F! Wake up! wake up!

• lancer4064 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:19 pm

hip hip hurray for proton!!!

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:23 pm

indigo,

which century r u in? Dont u know that since/form waja, Proton has already build and developed 5 different platforms, 4 new ones, and one is derived from the existing one. Please do not simply comment if u r unsure or dont know….btw whats wrong with the D4F engine, and the Campro? Eventhough its not the best engine in the world, it does excels in certain areas. Not like some manufacturer who just gets the design from japan, ‘changes’ the bumpers, slaps in a japanese engine which guzzels fuel and call it their own??? Btw, they all also strip the car to barebone and loses all its structural safety features… Which is better?

Cheers!

• eezarm (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:26 pm

new name for waja replacement:

Proton Exia…

Hehehe…

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:46 pm

Proton Exia?
    very similar name to Subaru Exiga (mpv)
    but different type of vehicle,heheh..

• Dr.Moskva (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:03 pm

Proton Exia.. As Gundam Exia in Gundam 00?
    Sounds nice to me..

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:47 pm

LOL. Some people don’t understand the meaning of “bash”. Where did I bash Proton?

I just said, 3000 cars a year is NOTHING to be come out and shout a lot about.

Which it isn’t.

Want to berlagak, sell 30,000 then only berlagak.

Btw, do check your facts ok? Chevrolet is not a Yankee car, not in SEA anyway. Most of the models made by Daewoo of Korea. And, btw, just so you know, Chevrolet is facing financial trouble and possible bankruptcy – so are you proud that Proton does just a little better than a company that made bad design and business decision and facing bankruptcy? LOL.

Face facts, even Khazanah also said Potong didn’t do well enough.

@notorpkcuf:

1st off, BMW Malaysia actually sold MORE cars than Proton even with our tax structure, considering economic slowdown and of course, the fact is BMW is a luxury model costing well into hundreds of thousands while Proton is a cheap “economical” car.

2nd, that figure is only from BMW Malaysia or C&C. You didn’t consider additional model sold thru dodgy AP dealer or Naza? Total number of BMW sold maybe closer to 4-5,000. Which is more than Proton.

All in all, nothing to brag about.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:21 pm

Proton..syok sendiri.Sian…

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:31 pm

ahbeng living in ahbengworld..

so clumsy..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:51 pm

i havent seen a proton in bangkok.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:58 pm

si-fu said,
    January 22, 2009 @ 12:23 pm

Btw, they all also strip the car to barebone and loses all its structural safety features…
    —————————————————————-
    Do you mean that most of our local cars are structurally inferior compared to their Japanese models?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:59 pm

Proton… syok by some thais…. whats wrong with that?

and ah_beng… haha… u only support the govt entity when their saying satisfy u thought…

what if they say, “proton is improving”… sure u will condemn them… no doubt… haters will be blinded by hatred…

• naz@proton (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:04 pm

consider very good start, let basher talk cxxk, if they no interst why leave comment. GM,Ford,Chevy,sangyong r dying but p1 still strong. Attention all basher teach them how to make n sale car first then only can condem p1.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:08 pm

Ya……..ya……..ok. Go continue believe in your stupid fantasies.

3000 car sold is great achievement. Hip hip hore. We should build statue of DSZ next to tugu negara.

No wonder Potong still juara kampung with this sort of mentality.

• adunadun (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:14 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    January 22, 2009 @ 3:08 pm
    Hip hip hore. We should build statue of DSZ next to tugu negara.
    —-
    they want to build,,but later u will say membazir wang rakyat…
    ok lah, we built toyota logo next to tugu negara first lah…. :P

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:44 pm

sold wrong..
    not sold also wrong.

what a bashers..

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:51 pm

hehehe… u kno what…. I actualy thinking that not_ah_beng could well be a perodua engineers or toyota workers which really envy proton achievements…

cuz if u notice lately not much good news abt perodua or toyota… but a lot of good news abt proton…. that is why he feels so uncomfortable and choose to turn any proton good news into bad things (in his imagination) ..

=p

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:02 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    January 22, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

1st off, BMW Malaysia actually sold MORE cars than Proton
    ——————————————————

Now what statement is that?
    BMW sold more cars than Proton in Malaysia?

No wonder u sound so incompetent…

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Good news for P1.. for a start in Thailand. P1 must built quality cars for the inside market and outside the country so they can get the trust from buyers..

• OpenMind (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:23 pm

hi Paul,

I think there is a mistake in your report. With reference to Bernama (source), Chevrolet has 3 percent market share, while Merz has 1.3.

Anyway, to Not_so_abeng, this is a forum for discussion and sharing views. Apparently, your views and opinion are often no value and meaningless.

No one claimed that they are very proud….you are the only one who claimed that they are shouting….

back to the main topic, 3000 in 1 year is not bad considering the market, the price, etc. in fact a new 4×4 toyota manual 2.5l hilux costs around THB500k-600k only.

Hope that the leveragin of oversea sales could result in a better economic of sale for the malaysia market…..even though i am not buying a proton for the future.

• BW (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:52 pm

LogicallyMad said,

January 22, 2009 @ 3:51 pm

hehehe… u kno what…. I actualy thinking that not_ah_beng could well be a perodua engineers or toyota workers which really envy proton achievements…

cuz if u notice lately not much good news abt perodua or toyota… but a lot of good news abt proton…. that is why he feels so uncomfortable and choose to turn any proton good news into bad things (in his imagination) ..

So childish meh? ish ish ish…. Anyway good job proton… improve more…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Ya……..ya……..ok. Go continue believe in your stupid fantasies.

3000 car sold is great achievement. Hip hip hore. We should build statue of DSZ next to tugu negara.

No wonder Potong still juara kampung with this sort of mentality.

nope, its no fantasy CURRENTLY…. the sales is there… like u hope for (or u never hope for it)… so, economy of scale can be obtain, faster revenue, more money, improve d design, quality can be better (high hopes)… and finally, tax can be reduce if not removed…. so, why dont u pray for the better…

or u just wanna good things, life, without a sweat?

FAILURE: A SECRET TO SUCCESS…. made by honda… Proton failed last time… so, the secret is being learnt currently.. and i always pray for the best… for all malaysian product… Modenas, Bernas, CSL and all…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:58 pm

o.. o… forgot… last time, when proton booking is only 863… u condemn… when it is recorded 2918, u also codemn….

• 9166 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Well done. Improve on it this year.

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 6:09 pm

lol la u bashers

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

Does anyone know how many models it take or sell or exported to a particular country for it to be economically viable? They may be selling nearly 3k cars, but is it worth it?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

good news..hope this year will be a better year for proton.

and thailand market is dominated by pick up..not to forget this simple fact

so selling 3000 proton CARS there is no small feat!!

i hope proton will come up with cars like proton arena in thailand or a pick up 4×4.i bet proton will be able to produce pick ups since its low tech and very simple design compared to cars.only problem will be the heart of this pick ups.

what about indonesia sales??i heard its doing good as well?

any news on that paul??

and i think proton will be the least affected car manufacturer from this global economic crisis.so i hope proton take this into an advantage.

good luck proton.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:27 pm

autojohndoe,

CSL? That phone brand, is it? Do their batteries last for long? I hate phones which hv normal battery lifespan of less than 2 days, bt I still want mp3 player n camera in a phone. New Nokias cant give me that, so gg nokia. So I’m lookin at Sony-E w380i, bt my fren’s askin me to forgo my “brand loyalty” (my current phone is Sony-E too) n go “adventurous” wit “Msian” CSL. Emm… I dunno what, bt I heard they’re actually just rebadging China phones, n even then, some models are copycat of nokia.

not_ah_beng,

I think it matters more that Chevy is a yankee badge rather than the models they bring in.

• drgn86 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:51 am

be it proton or perodua, remove the protectionism by eliminating the ridiculous import and excise duties this country imposes on other foreign brands, ckd or cbu… then only they can be judged fairly and maybe deserve their praises…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:04 am

drgn86 said,
    January 23, 2009 @ 3:51 am

be it proton or perodua, remove the protectionism by eliminating the ridiculous import and excise duties this country imposes on other foreign brands, ckd or cbu… then only they can be judged fairly and maybe deserve their praises…

———————–

That could be done… but when you have bad roads in malaysia, less development in malaysia… then dun complain…

or other taxes increases in order to cover the loss from removes the taxes on imported cars…. dun complain….

but.. but well as it’s human nature…complain complain complain… get little complain.. get a lot also complain… haiiih..

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:51 am

Interesting.

Dont think they should rest on their laurels. Despite tough economic times, I hope they do better next year.

Thailand could be _the_ proving ground for proton.

Protons are more expensive in Thailand than in malaysia… yet they are nor being wiped out by the japanese makes.

Gambatte!

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:11 am

offtopic>>

tokmoh,
    if u r looking for cheap phone (<rm350), would u go for lesser-known brand?
    i would :)
    currently i’m using i-mobile 319 (rm310) wif yamaha soundchip inside,
    1Gb micro sd card included.
    imo, mp3 sound produced comparable to that of se w910.
    hahaha..
    don’t mind brand loyalty whatsoeva. just go for better product ;)

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:58 am

offtopic>>

tokmoh, i’m using CSL SL50 (as 3rd phone) and bought it’s around RM400 almost 1 year ago.. batery lifespan is about 3days and surprisingly it’s was made by Hyundai after i opened the CSL re-skin wrapped (sticker) around it (dun worry, i’ve 2 batteries lol).. as i know, my CSL phone software similar with the earlier malaysia’s made phone, M-Mobile.. i think they share the tech.. just my thought…

ontopic>>

good news, just hopes that the selling increasing day after day, year after year.. and dont forgot to improve the quality model after model….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:26 pm

naz@proton said,

January 22, 2009 @ 3:04 pm

consider very good start, let basher talk cxxk, if they no interst why leave comment. GM,Ford,Chevy,sangyong r dying but p1 still strong. Attention all basher teach them how to make n sale car first then only can condem p1.
    —————————–
    well its mainly because of the unfair competition in malaysia and proton is bailed out constantly by the government.

Wisdom said,

January 22, 2009 @ 4:02 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    January 22, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

1st off, BMW Malaysia actually sold MORE cars than Proton
    ——————————————————

Now what statement is that?
    BMW sold more cars than Proton in Malaysia?

No wonder u sound so incompetent…
    ———————————–
    have u counted in those recon japan models? see the diff, nobody will buy a recon proton, but most people would be happy to have a recon bmw.

• PROTONisOK (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:37 pm

congratz proton!!
    screw the bashers, cakap byk tapi x menyumbang ape2 pon

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:36 am

farghmee, aenz81,

Thnx 4 d info :D Rite now, I’m in a lookout for a phone which has:

– Average battery lifespan longer than 3 days minimum. I hate havin to charge the battery frequently.

– Camera. 1.3megapix minimum. As long as can snap, gud enuf for me. I’m nt rly fussy abt this, cuz if I want more, I’ll just get a proper digital camera. Canon IXUS ftw!!

– MP3 player. Cuz I’ll always wanna be with Rie Fu <3<3<3

– easy-to-sms keypads: big, spaced enuf n easy to press. My current w810i is a hell to sms… my previous nokia 2600 needs over 9000 N of force to press each button.

– Flip phone :P . All my previous phones (nokia 3310, nokia 2600, currently sony-e w810i) hv been candy bar type, so I want a flip phone now :P

Price may be a deterrent, bt my fren can get the w380i original set at rm500 for me (he part-time as phone dealer). If I trade-in wit my w810i, I can get it at ard rm300, rm350 like that :D It also comes wit 2GB M2 card, so yeah….

• claxxion (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 12:39 am

I saw a bronze Thai-registered Gen2 CPS in my campus, most probably a Thai lecturer drove it, and it does look good with a white Thai plate!

• tigris_malayensis (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 9:25 pm

2009 mark a new saga begin in Thailand.