Honda Icon 110cc scooter launched in Malaysia

Honda IconBoon Siew Honda Sdn Bhd has launched the new Honda icon in Malaysia, which is what Honda calls an “A.T. Motorcycle”, but of course the rest of us refer to it as a scooter. This new model joins Honda’s other Malaysian scooter offering, the Honda Click. The transmission system is Honda’s V-Matic belt CVT with a gear ratio of between 2.68 to 0.85. It’s engine is a 110cc 4-stroke air cooled unit (the Honda Click is liquid cooled).

Honda hopes the new model will help boost its scooter market share from the current 1% to 2% level up to 46%, which is a huge difference! The Icon is 100% assembled in Malaysia and will sell for RM4,688 OTR, which is cheaper than the Honda Click. It comes in five colours – pink, blue, red, white and black.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• S9E (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:12 pm

This thing can wheelie or not?

• scooterist (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:33 pm

nowadays. scooters are getting smaller and smaller. and uglier at the same time.. sure many “rempits” buy this one.. mostly girl rempits.

• natworks88 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:39 pm

minah rempit~ :-D

• where got minah rempit. minah rempit using the stupid bikes. u know. this scooter is just nice kay. even, if u use it. i think its kindacool. rempits usually use ex5,125. n others.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:43 pm

ego beater…

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Thought they will come up with fuel injection scoot. What a waste.

• HMMaster (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:10 pm

this is pretty cheap… cost around the same as the modenas ceria 100cc (which is fugly imho)

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:31 pm

this better then new ego…

• the stik (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:35 pm

better than new ego? adoii come on laa bro.. even da old ego is way better than this.. hehe

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:07 pm

time for me to change bike, sort of ..

hahax

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:10 pm

What manufacturer dominates the scooter industry? Modenas, Comel, Nitro? If honda only 1% then someone must be having the lion’s share.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:23 pm

nice bike, not so nice rims

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:57 pm

4.6K?
    that was toooooo much for 110cc scooter.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:15 pm

it is yamaha…. lagenda 110… 125z…. rxz…. ego… nouvo…..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:15 pm

sori… i mean yamaha is the market leader in msia currently…

• cyberom (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:16 pm

The photo is old Thai version. Malaysian version has black alloy rims.

• junkalert (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 6:23 pm

just bring in YAMAHA AEROX. best looking scooter which you can do stunts with (check youtube for the stunt vids). enough said.

• honda on Feb 14, 2009 at 4:34 am

yea true…ego beater…honda is much better…

• brutal_driverz (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:54 am

i have the old ego(second batch with improved graphic sticker).it is very cool.ride at 50-60kmh was very boring,at 70-80kmh quite okay but from 90kmh and upper,then its the soul of the ego.FC okay,very reliable,had fall and accident many time but still okay.i really want to tune it but i cant coz it belong to my father.hafiz dal halim,the scooter drag racer had tune his ego(i think the old one,not the "bontot besar" ego s) to reach 170kmh.fuhhh.whos here know the price of cover suit(body) for the old ego,my ego had to many scratch.anyone please………????????i heard the liquid-cooled engine more prone to "lingkop" that mean the air-cooled is better,it is true?anyone again please…..

• @irna on Mar 16, 2009 at 2:02 am

my last time EGO (old n black col) went missing in my porch last 2years ..so its time to get my new babies of "ICON". This 1 better then new model EGO "bontot besar" and the price is slihgtly differ rite..so y don't…

• mimicbr on Mar 19, 2009 at 3:52 am

da new icon look is ok than click..mybe da fuel consumption not too very 'barah' even AT..cos there are in honda company..honda da best..like my CBR 150R..da 'gile bapak saving bike in category under 150cc..support honda..

• If the price OTR is RM4688 only how come the shop I went into yesterday selling me at RM5200. Hmmm…please advise

• budin on Jul 01, 2009 at 5:01 pm

maybe rm5200 is include with interest

u will have to pay rm155 per month..its the installment

its better to u if pay in full..

save cost of interest

• kurenismo on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:35 am

at least better than unreliable and ugly yamaha. only crowd followers will buy yamaha brand…phuuii!!

• At first, I’m very interested at Yamaha Ego S. Then I dont know why im going to buy Honda Icon. I would like to get advisory service and explain me about Honda Icon's advantage compared Yamaha Ego S to reduce my discontent. And prove me that I did not mistakenly made purchase decision. anyone can help me…?

• Ban Hoe Seng staff on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:51 pm

pls show me more comment on this bike

• today my icon out in white pearl colour with installment rm 145 for 3 year. maintainent is cheaper than ego. full tank dealer said is rm 4.

• fendy on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:09 am

this icon is nice n saving fuel…. i love my honda icon….

• buhsan on Nov 30, 2009 at 6:45 am

i think i want to sell my 125z and buy this honda icon for myself…tired riding clutched bike already…hmmmm…

• nice bike but my icon have a problem…….so sad :(

• jonj11 on Dec 21, 2009 at 6:23 pm

Care to share the problem?

• busybosy on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:20 pm

scooter getting smaller and NICER NWADAYS!!! bt the price….hem…..cn be cheaper… i guess. :)

• hehe..

icon is better..

hmm..m0re cheaper than eg0..

0nly rm4000..

• zihad on Feb 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm

hey..

i also will have my honda icon in 2-3 weeks (waiting for some budgets lol).

can anybody show me any site/forum that discussed about this honda icon. it is so bad when the boonsiewhonda website itself didnt have its own details page about this honda icon as other motorcycles has.

• luv icon,,,
    soooo cute,,,,,

• after 9 month i buy that icon, why my icon have problem when im driving over 80kmj??? seem like my icon ‘tersangkut-sangkut’…..

• Icon WTS on May 14, 2010 at 2:25 am

FYI, the belt tightens up when you ride past 80km/h for medium distances, not meant for long use, sent back to Honda in Kepong a few times, answer was, ride below 80km/h if you are going long distance or change to a racing belt. Also, check your kone bearing, tends to come loose.

• Icon WTS on May 14, 2010 at 2:30 am

For those who like HONDA and is looking at buying an Icon, i would suggest looking at the New Wave 110 too, better built quality with a similar look.

• honda icon……rm4 full tank….money saver….sport and stylish….

yamaha ego s…rm6 full tank…’lingkop duit aku’….!!!!

heelp me please…

• Icon WTS on May 24, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Look @ the millage you get per full tank then compare, icon tank is smaller, on a full tank you get about 100km. Ego tank is bigger, can go further on a full tank. If you looking for an economical bike then better don’t get a scooter.

• adui.. honda icon price rm4k? why here in sabah the price is rm6k? so confuse la..

• liana on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:49 pm

hi… where can i buy cover for body honda icon.? b’cause it’s very difficult. i already check many shop but no stock for this model. (honda Icon)

• shahrul on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:10 am

hi,

What color are you looking for?
    a shop nearby balai polis ampang do sell this cover…
    Forgot how much

• tullypie on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm

i bought my icon (which i used to call it as my sica) december last year..and i think i made a good decision…honda icon is very good..and do far i have no problem with it..except someone stole my plat number..which is “honda” fault…

juz wondering,,people said that full tank for icon is rm4..but why my sica only rm3..it will overload if i put rm4…

• come on la, this scooters doesnt looks like rempit bikes. its cool i hate rempits. rempits usually use the stupid bikes. like ex5 125. get it?? this scooter is just nice. :)

• vanessa on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:36 pm

omg.. so confuse.. i don’t know how to choose..
    some1 can tell me, which 1 is good between NOUVO S and HONDA ICON…
    And between that, which 1 is save fuel..

• kamen rider on Jan 09, 2013 at 6:06 pm

murah punya motor honda scooter icon..

• didie on May 31, 2013 at 5:16 pm

hi, baru beli tadi icon. sampai sekerat jalan, enjin dah bunyi macam motorboat. kenapa lah? memang icon bunyi macam ni ke???

• Whoa, use this icon 2 years oredi. Champion in federal highway motor lane shah alam mont kiara. Hahaha. :p #joke of the day_

• Faiz Izz on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:21 am

Have been using my Honda Icon for nearly 3 years now. Still going strong, except for the engine roller. Needs to be changed every couple months if you keep going on full throttle all the time. Not that I care since it only costs me around RM50+.

Currently using a higher rear suspension and a NOB1 exhaust for some extra torque. Feels nice to have such a small bike to get you going :D

• SYAIFUL KHOLIS on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:47 pm

kenapa Honda click tak ada dalam pasaran malaysia

• hm tgk comment byk ckap scooter ni utk minah rempit “) hm apelah daya aku laki pakai scooter ni…. (bekas ayah aku)

• hm tgk comment byk ckap scooter ni utk minah rempit “) hm apelah daya aku laki pakai scooter ni… (bekas ayah aku)