New AMG Sports Package for W212 E-Class

W212 AMG Sports Package

Mercedes-Benz has officially announced details of the new W212’s AMG Sports Package, sort of a mid-way between a regular E and an E AMG, much like BMW’s M Sport packages. The W212’s AMG bodykit includes an AMG bumper with large cooling air intakes, AMG side skirts and an AMG rear bumper.

Read more about the new W212 AMG package after the jump.

W212 AMG Sports Package

The rear exhaust tailpipes are of a twin oval non-integrated design for the inline-4 petrol models, and a single oval non-integrated design for the inline-4 diesels. The 6 cylinder and 8 cylinder cars feature twin rectangular tailpipes that are neatly integrated into the AMG rear bumper.

W212 AMG Sports Package

Other bits of the AMG package include a new DIRECT CONTROL suspension that is lowered by 15mm, 18 inch AMG light alloy wheels wrapped with 245/40R18 tyres at the front and 265/35R18 tyres at the rear, and cross-drilled brake discs with silver-painted calipers featuring the Mercedes-Benz Logo.

W212 AMG Sports Package

Interior additions include sports seats for the front passengers done up with a material consisting of DINAMICA microfiber and ARTICO man-made leather, floor mats with AMG lettering, stainless steel sports pedals with ruibber studs, a black roof lining, a Nappa leather shifter, and an AMG sports steering wheel. The automatic transmissions in AMG cars also feature an additional “M” mode in addition to the C and S modes, which invokes a much quicker but harsher shift speed. The steering wheel also features paddle shifts.

W212 AMG Sports Package

The cost? Depending on what model of W212 you’re having, the AMG sports package costs between 2915 eros and 4046 euros including 19 % VAT. Look after the jump for a high-resolution gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=79]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:04 pm

Still, the headlights have some hint of old Lexus. Coincident?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:52 pm

very uncool. nothing amg about this car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:07 pm

Well if you keep on going to the west you’ll end up in the east, that’s why it’s Lexus influenced… Just my 2 cents onli…

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:37 pm

Very subtle AMG cues. I guess the biggest hint would be its engine note when you see it in real.

• gajen (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:44 pm

MyviKiller said,
    January 22, 2009 @ 3:07 pm

Well if you keep on going to the west you’ll end up in the east, that’s why it’s Lexus influenced… Just my 2 cents onli…

Haha good point…but true also the lights has hints from the GS..given a choice ill get an XF…

• gods twin (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:55 pm

Hmmm.. Where is the AMG again? i dont even see thier badge. Very minimal exterior upgrade. wonder wat happen to the grill which has the star studded in to it like the c class AMG version which AMG has been using all this while. Anyway i like the new E class, now it means business. Cant wait to see was Brabus’s answer to this. I am expecting the SV 12 bi turbo madness, and another speed record.

Yes Mr. Wisdom. the headlight resembles the lexus and Very very similar to the AIRTREK.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:03 pm

its meant to be a low key sporting look, like bmw’s mtech range.. unlike full blown AMG or M-Car.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm

y dun they do the same thing to this e class as they did to the AMG C63 ..

the Black Series is a lot better ..

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Whoa… looks really slick man… the lines all over the car are so sharp!

• 9166 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 6:03 pm

By the time this gets to Boleh Land, it will be an additional 50 to 100k.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:08 pm

4k euros, so that is around RM20k. Translate that into bolehland, =RM70k. I still don’t like The Lexus style headlamps where the headlamp is detached from the other lamps .

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:27 pm

somehow the front dont look natural….dono , looks thy oso copied abit from here n there…..ugly

• db8 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:31 pm

i like the cockpit though

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:37 pm

taillights disaster….

• Mmouse (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Really wanna see how BMW F10 beats the shit out of this ugly designed car. Hopefully F10 does not have the same crappy design for its tail lights as shown in previous Paul’s posting:

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/06/03/bmw-f10-5-series/

If not, it will be a double dissapointment from the two top German car manufacturers….

• Archer (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:06 am

Cockpit looks very much like the new C-Class Avantgarde Advanced.

• layman (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:32 am

E class is for uncle, sport kit is not suitable.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:23 pm

i’d have an alfa romeo 166 or saab 9-5

• myv6 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:25 pm

At least the styling is quite timeless, i’m pretty sure i will age better compare to beemers..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:09 am

i never expected such a un-elegant and cheap looking interior for a mercedes benz before….. whats happening to them…. Beemers are doin well now …

• P@oNoOb on Sep 02, 2010 at 6:56 pm

mercedes is always better than the beemers…