HOT: Proton MPV 100% fully uncovered!

Proton MPV

Fully undisguised shots of the Proton MPV – both exterior and interior – have found their way onto the internet, and they reveal to us plenty of details on the eagerly anticipated 7-seater MPV by Proton!

What we can see is one shot of the Proton MPV in white, another in an unidentified brown-like colour (may be something else altogether because of colour balance), and 3 shots of the interior. Here are what can be observed:

Proton MPV
Click for enlarged image

• A complete revamp of the Proton steering wheel design that is curiously reminiscent of the one Honda is currently using. There is steering wheel audio controls and also a phone button which could indicate some variants of the MPV are equipped with a Bluetooth hands-free system.
  • Instrument panel features a two-meter design, with RPM on the left and an even-numbered speedometer on the right which tops out at 180km/h. The design of the meters are predominantly red with white text. They look like an evolution of the one in the GEN2 CPS facelift, but with modifications that somehow make them end up looking like the one found in the Isuzu D-Max, except the D-Max design is blue.
  • A small storage and a card holder (Touch N Go?) located below the driver’s side aircond vent
  • A door-open indicator in the middle of the two meters

Proton MPV
Click for enlarged image

• A redline of 7,000rpm for the RPM meter
  • Two digital displays below each meter. The left one shows a digital fuel meter and digital temp meter as well as various other multi-info readings. I’m not sure what the right one shows.

Proton MPV
Click for enlarged image

• The gear lever is dash-mounted much like the Honda CR-V.
  • Dashboard itself doesn’t seem to have any texture to it but it’s likely that this is a pre-production version, so the production version should have some texture in-line with all the recent Proton model launches.
  • Center dash area design from top to bottom – clock, two aircond vents, 2-DIN CD player, various buttons including hazard light, manual air conditioning knobs, recirculation and air cond button.

Proton MPV

• 5-spoke alloy wheels
  • Bee-sting antenna at the front just after the windscreen.
  • Signal indicator on side mirrors
  • Reflector headlamps
  • Foglamps on the front bumper
  • In the photo of the white MPV you can see the rear hatch swings upwards, instead of the other method which is sideways like a fridge

[zenphotopress number=99 album=80]

The MPV looks really gorgeous from the outside especially the white one, with strong design cues from the Mitsubishi Grandis. The interior looks alright, except the air cond vents look really cheap. They’re better off reusing the ones from the Saga. There also seems to be an odd-looking spacing between the two center vents, like there was supposed to be a hazard light button there but somehow went missing.

3 more months until the launch in April!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• freeze (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:57 pm

Hey it’s my turn to be stupid and say…FIRST!!!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:59 pm

Wow Its quite cool design….but hope its come with projector headlight.reflector one look too simple.

• mct (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:02 pm

haha
    we already discuss the interior yesterday :rf:

by the way paul , the meter look like wish !!! ,same colour same design
    except for the small lcd panel !!!

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:02 pm

agak terlalu ringkas dashboradnya…
    atau dashboard tu masih preproduction lagi?
    paul,u have any idea?

• BW (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:02 pm

wow nice stereng… nice interior but i dun really like the aircond vent haha.. but tat’s just a small case… actually i saw the design (exterior) few months back already just that it’s a clay model is it the real thing or not…

• nmh (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:03 pm

The steering wheel, May i say it looks cheap. It looks like china copycat stuff esp the silver part and buttons. Paddle shifter pls hehe

Good job BTW

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:08 pm

Looks not bad. Front reminds me of Caldina! With a little bit of pimping it’ll look awesome.

• freeze (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm

Honda steering wheel. haha

Centre console a litte bit disappointing. What is that above the aircond vents? Some kind of display like in mazda3?

I notice that the meter red line is at 7000RPM, how’s that ?

Paul Tan says: Likely just a clock, positioned high for other occupants to look at it easily.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:17 pm

looks great from the outside, just close your eyes when you get it becos the dashboard looks like a cheap old korean car 10 yrs ago…

• zanggief (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:21 pm

It looks like the Chinese brand ‘Chery’ MPV. Would it be the model of PROTON & Chery joint venture……

• rsrulz (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:33 pm

looks really nice from the outside but the inside looks cheap (maybe its just the pictures). Hope the mpv in the showrooms look better on the inside. i’m eager to know what the name is.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:36 pm

lets see what si-fu going to say this time. TOTALLY LEAKED!

• mct (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:38 pm

my god ! still got people is saying proton mpv=cherry eastar

• mct (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:43 pm

report to proton maybe ??

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:59 pm

this must be a work from a newly employed employee..very naughty!

• prancingScuderia (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 2:00 pm

there is one photoshop with body kit really very nice. the interior look like have low rent plastic(and very grey-ish of course, personally i hate grey interior). and the various button on center dashboard and air con knob is directly lift from Waja CPS. the steering seems like is not leather wrap like waja CPS/gen 2 CPS also

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 2:16 pm

pics were low res… but i kinda like the camouflaged headlamps on the white one. It’s got that sleek mazda look to it..

• catdeco (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 2:18 pm

wow i saw the mpv at the other blog.
    and its really awesome.
    seriously.
    way to go proton.

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 2:34 pm

i disagree with the person who took those pictures…
    last year i got chance to visit subaru production plant in Japan (Forester n Impreza production line),camera was not allowed to be brought inside the plant.
    japanese car makers are very strict on this matter,why pictures inside proton’s plant could be easily leaked?!!
    i know everyone,include myself,cannot wait until the launch…
    but we have to understand any company’s high rated secrets…
    just wait until the launch…
    credit to paul for not displaying interior pictures here…
    elaboration by words is good enough to make our brain imagine it,right?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 2:38 pm

the mpv has a potential to be an ambulance, due to its size. hopefully the medical people will consider such alternative!

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 2:53 pm

DISGRACE TO THE PERSON WHO TOOK THE PICTURES!!!!!….IF ITS A PROTON WORKER, THE PERSON SHUD BE ASHAMED OF HIM/HER SELF FOR DOING SUCH A DISGRACEFUL ACT!!!!….HOPE PROTON AUTHORITIES WILL BE ABLE TO FIND OUT WHO THE CULPRIT IS AND GIVE THE PERSON THE PROPER PUNISHMENT!!!!….personally i think, its the either the work of the vendors or maybe some 3rd party contractors who was assigned to do some repair work in the plant, then they took advantage of it…

SHAMEFUL ON THE PERSON WHO DID THIS!!!

• cars-addict (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:00 pm

congratulation proton!!!it really looks awesome….i like it very much!!!!
    never thought it would turn like this…overall,it looks so so so much better than the upcoming perodua mpv/toyota passo sette…i like every inches of the mpv….

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:03 pm

hey paul,
    enuff with the explanatory words. hard to imagine how it looks like just by describing it. tell me which site that have these images that u just describe. anyone..?? :-)

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:04 pm

yakah sifu?

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Good things hard to contain…

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:08 pm

7K rpm redline?
    if i not mistake, gen2 cps redline at 6.5K
    is this mean gearbox setting or…

no idea..

*does proton ban all their staff handphone (with camera) during working time?

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:13 pm

owh…its got ‘lampu jendul’ laa…same fashion as honda accord and camry headlight!!!

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:15 pm

SI-FU what ever it is…. I love the look of it, although I personally does not condone such act of leaking secrets over the net… Shame on them and well done PROTON..

p.s: It might also be the work of the security personnel, who knows or they just dont do their job properly… I were the top people, I will change the whole security personnel…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:16 pm

this car makes the toyota avanza look like an audi R8

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:20 pm

some just selfish…….. security………….. pls be more of this in future… what done is done………… after this… no hp camera allowed i think….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:21 pm

sori… pls be more careful of this next time….. thats wat i mean

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:22 pm

ooops sory, didnt see the link, just clicked it..

• pulge (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:30 pm

Sadly the pics is removed now.. :(

But I saw it already. Very nice! Was expecting more from the interior though.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:36 pm

aiya!.. paul removed the link already..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:58 pm

very good descriptive writing paul ;)

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:11 pm

Hmm..

This leak will only reach those concerned and keep track of this MPV progress. Could be a good, free advertisement also.

Or the whole Malaysia already saw? No way.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:20 pm

ala, somebody please show those pics to me….please….

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:37 pm

Just had a look.. It’s ok for me.. Comment about this new baby? Wait until the official launch by P1. How come the picture can be leaked from P1 plant. Si-fu was very angry to those who leaked the picture of P1 new baby.

• umarss (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:43 pm

i ve googled it but nothing came out..please..wanna see…links plz..cheers!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:54 pm

umarss said,

January 23, 2009 @ 4:43 pm

i ve googled it but nothing came out..please..wanna see…links plz..cheers!

—————————————————————

Try google “hot proton mpv” , try click the fourth link.

• rt (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Got to see the pictures on other blogs.

Paul,
    I think there is no point for you to remove the pictures now, since it can be seen in numerous blogs, other than doing PR for Proton.

Anyway,
    I think the right-side digital display at the dashboard is the digital speedometer.

RT..

• BlackJKX (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Project delayed.Proton…FYI,time is money.
    Wanna loose again and again?

• PROTONisOK (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:59 pm

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3067/2844851055_ac680a34ff.jpg?v=0

the exterior

• PROTONisOK (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:04 pm

haha. thx MrBenjo =)

• PROTONisOK (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:05 pm

the car looks hot, i luv the white one. estima like paint, is it pearl white?

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:08 pm

just now had a look. Exterior styling can give thumbs up but interior remain boring with cheap lookin texturing and color. Macamana Styling Proton buat Kerja? Azlano can answer?

• if you've read all the postings, you will know that this is a prototype car. not a production car. the interior is not a production ready interior. it has no texturing at all

• zaff1984 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Paul, I cant forgive you for removing the link. But thanks to MisterBenjo for giving this link:

http://www.uploadpro.org/getfolder.php?folder=Vrn05zmY

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:19 pm

To those wondering, go to lowyat forum’s fast n furious section, the pics r there.

The a/c vents remind me of myvi/viva somehow…. gotta agree wit nmh, the steering looks like a cheapo pirated stuff….. from Honda, that is. I’m nt likin this, bt it doesn’t rly matter I guess. Just say “inspired by japanese design”, msians will ooh n aah, wakakakakaka. Besides, the higher priority is for it to become an affordable MPV. As with its other rivals, they’re nt rly designed for an art museum, bt for a big family wit loads of cargo to carry ard most of the time.

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:23 pm

Dont blame Paul for removing the link, he just want to upheld his blogging ethics.. Furthermore this space belongs to him… just show our respect to the owner please..

• zaff1984 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:26 pm

cheap interior. the brown one looks hot. hope proton will come out with few choices, eg full spec with projector head lamp. why no rear spyshot?

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:32 pm

from the back, it looks like a Honda CRV. is it ?
    i mean the width and height of this MPV.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:37 pm

si-fu,

I think Proton shud just let it be. Dun wish to see another “Chips Yap” cursing Proton for the rest of his life, regardless of how much Proton has evolved since TM days. Besides, it’s just silly if we are to hear news of a poor kampung man thrown into ISA for revealing proton mpv design.

off-topic: is “small Siemens” still in proton?

• overflow (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:37 pm

“Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

January 23, 2009 @ 3:16 pm

this car makes the toyota avanza look like an audi R8”

damn u are so idiot..

• emon (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:38 pm

All the pictures convinced me that this is my first MPV.. but i think ini semua kerja insider! How can they start the engine? Paul, i can see the word SRS at the steering.

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:05 pm

From the look of the angle, the position, and the blue pants (leg that cn be seen in one of the pictures) in the pictures, i can almost confirmly say, its the production workers job….disgrace to him really….if Proton manages to find him, nobody can help him already, cause this is considered as a serious offence under the Proton Secrecy Act.

Just to comment a lil bit on the pictures here, this is not all to it…there is more…SO PLEASE DO WAIT/BE PATIENT until it launches. For instance, as u can see, there is no texture anywhere in interior yet…thats the reason its looks cheap (like the steering, actually its not cheap), wait till the textures come (when its launched u can see the textures)….then u can judge and give ur comments.

To all the chinese readers/posters and Paul….a very Happy and Prosperous New Year. May this year be a good year for everybody!

Cheers and Happy Holidays…do drive safely!

• scottloeb (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:43 pm

bodoh. Curah pasir dlm periuk nasi sendiri. kalau security or vendor sama2 bodoh. tak boleh ka simpan sorang? macam ni punya attitude tak pergi jauh la kita. org pergi nagoya, design centre kat tempat lain boleh je simpan rahsia. stupid.

• squasher.punk (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Si-fu,

I absolutely hope that in flesh, the steering do look a MUCH MUCH better. I think the steering wheel gonna some how make it presence in the new Satria Neo (looking forward to buy that!) too. So i definitely didn’t want that PLASTIC thingy to be in that car. And oh, can you tell the Proton fellas to put a ‘colored’ Proton emblem into that steering wheel…like what you get in the Toyota’s.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:31 pm

very nice…

but as mentioned above…whoever took the pics should be out of job the next day…disgraceful….unless ofcourse those pics are out with protons consent

the front looks very sharp n nice…interior looks functional without be too whacky(gen2)….no rear pics…and i tink the design of the rear boot and loading space is important in a car like this…like to have more info…and yet thrs no info abt folding seats mechanisim n all that…

• mspfaz (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:57 pm

Hey what happened to the photos that you are discussing? I just see one photo with the disguise.

• ali38hak (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:59 pm

excellent, perfect, wonderfull, especially the steering.. i fall in love..
    but only thing what we need is a diesel engine (i’m from turkey so for the europe i mean!)
    but i still think slide rear doors would be better for family…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:03 pm

the interior looks damn cheap…. with plasticky…

• pujangga (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:16 pm

here are the links

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_qQsMfUj4qn0/SXll5AW7fWI/AAAAAAAACIQ/miA4lVvSn_Y/s1600-h/MPV2.jpg

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_qQsMfUj4qn0/SXll4_jfgxI/AAAAAAAACII/WYnWwvALsak/s1600-h/MPV1.jpg

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_qQsMfUj4qn0/SXlfQIwJ97I/AAAAAAAACHw/rXtR9_lAZKM/s1600-h/ProtonMPV-1.jpg

• jazzer (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:25 pm

really regret with this case..hope proton can find that person…anyway,the car really awesome..if it equipped with electric sliding door,much more better..like alpad..and the seats should be made from leather instead just normal cushion…sure meletop.

• shamel (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:32 pm

Check also this site:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2979031

Pity Proton MPV as l pray hard for their success.

• naz@proton (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm

nice, on par wt japanes mpv. i take 1. good job p1

• freeze (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Regarding the “brown” coloured mpv, i think it might be reddish not brown, not solid red though. Or could be just like that Gen2 CPS colour.

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:07 pm

plz news about Neo CPS…

• szw (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:16 pm

really nice…

• szw (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:20 pm

looks real nice and promising

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:28 pm

si-fu, SHAME ON YOU for saying those BRAINLESS stuff……

anyway, hope to see the real thing soon on the road, YEAH :-)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:29 pm

si-fu, SHAME ON YOU for saying those BRAINLESS stuff……

anyway, hope to see the real thing soon on the road, YEAH !!!

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:50 pm

come on proton, faster let us see the real car lar ..

• kerelbort (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:21 pm

nice work there, a spyshot is meant to be a spyshot.. ;)

even if other ppl dissing him, I now salute him for his spyshot….thank you Mr Anons. I am one of the how many Malaysian are dying to see the MPV Malaysia Portable Vehicle design and now delayed for another 1 month.

this should be a pre-prod pics? since si-fu said it should look much nicer than this.. I believe SZA might not let this car look cheap…. I guess his goal is to make car cheap.. not look cheap…

keep up the good work Proton… come come.. more spyshot!!!

I juz hope this is not some kind of propaganda stunt by Proton as how Perodua pull the propaganda themselves by releasing the Myvi ‘spyshot’ way before its launching. shame on these people! tipu orang cakap spyshot

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:46 pm

mitlanevo,

Are u the same guy? Ur comment lately somehow feels different than from the old days….

Btw, just wondering, were u in blueserver forum before?

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:35 pm

not bad design, just hope the price is ok. what is the name? wish i am the one selected..#-#

• denfire (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:50 pm

The looks and design not bad. But with 1.6 campro engine.. i wonder…
    dun got confidence on the engine…

• awak (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:52 pm

have anyone come across that within one month delayed time limit proton could push or produce or supply a larger number of ready stock for introductory model, this is a long awaited and the most significant model in its range, and its the popular segment type of car now. good pricing and offering and design, will certainly makes everyone run to the showroom for booking deposit,

• chery (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:01 am

interior, meter and steering:
    http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c243/USJ101/ProtonMPV-1.jpg
    http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c243/USJ101/ProtonMPV-2.jpg
    http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c243/USJ101/ProtonMPV-3.jpg

• chery (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:03 am

interior, meter and steering:

• chery (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:03 am

Iinterior, meter and steering:

• 9166 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:04 am

Well done so far, don’t you forget to put in standard ABS, EBD and Airbags.

• seat-belt (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:42 am

Awesome! I hope the price will be awesome too!
    Malaysia, get ready to open a P1 MPV club. this car is waiting 4 it!
    btw, can’t wait for april! i wonder what is the name………

• Jie (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 1:13 am

nice touch with the rear view mirror indicator lights. my honda stream does not have those.

i hope they have addressed the suspension thing which from pictures seen before appears to be a bit soft and unable to sustain weight.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 1:33 am

right lcd display should be the odometer, which also means the total mileage of the car, as found in the satria neo as well.

it should also include the tripmeter, since the previous one had all clunked into one display

• prangin (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 6:55 am

Looks promising. External design is appealing indeed and on par with japs equivalent i.e. grandis, wish. Well done to azlano and team. .

• 9211 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 7:50 am

I think maybe proton did this on purpose.. what they call the guerilla advertisement to create attention, curious and interest and even eagerness to potential buyers as what many car manufacturer did for their new model. Sometimes its more effective and gives more impact. The external design is beautiful and ballance, not too small like Wish which using sedan platform, suitable the whole family for a ride as Malaysian generally bigger than the Japs. The interior also not bad except light reflection at the top of the meter panel makes the plastic looks cheap, hopefully this only from the picture. Overall beautiful design. But i still have to wait the test drive report in term of handling and engine performance.

• cyberx11 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:17 am

looks can make a call on the steering…got phone build in?

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:14 pm

Si-fu,
    since the picture already revealed, why not you give any info about this new born baby? maybe malaysian can start planning and booking this MPV :)

So everybody, whats the name of this MPV?
    Any volunteer? :)

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 2:37 pm

if this is an insider job, the security in the plant is not strict..

proton forced naza to trim their rondo interior so dat their MPV will actualy look better than rondo

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 2:39 pm

rear bumper look from the 90s!!
    hahahha

un-creative and dull

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:11 pm

base on the interior picture alone… i would say … it’s a lot worse than waja… although waja is an outdated model, yet i must say that it’s interior design still impress me to this day. clean, luxury touch, modern and elegant design of it’s time.

1st impression to me is like… “arr…? like that oni? sigh….” very disappointed, just like when savvy case….

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:13 pm

i bet Naza Citra/ Kia Craven MPV interior design can beat this design anytime… and proton can’t seems to come up with it’s own creativity… what a show down

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:27 pm

guys,
    please take time to look for this website, very nice makeover for this proton mpv with skirting and bodykit, like an estima.. very creative

http://cforum6.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=1483733&extra=&page=5

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:34 pm

actually the interior has a good design overall but from those pics we cant determine the quality.i dont know how many here can judge the quality by looking at photos??

nvm that.i would say its a simple design and its good for a budget MPV.
    i would like to praise SZ because he know how to do thing.

if you look at previous proton starting from Gen2(persona included) those magazine were really looking at minor faults and made it a bigger issue for instance the custom interface head unit.

they say its hard to read,not user friendly and all the bad review they can give but they never spoke about the good side of it which really made me feel those people who wrote on magazines are too biased and they hate proton from the very beginning.

i have read 4 magazine which reviewed the Gen 2 and none of the spoke about the good side of such head units.those custom made model has higher security and sort of anti theft device.thats actually a big gain because almost 90% of car break in because of the head unit.

i bet SZ would have read those magazine and made changes accordingly..

he replaced the head unit to a basic one but guess what,now those people in the magazine will write about security and etc since they have to have a negative comment.

i just hope those dials,buttons and switches has proper feedback and feel in it..and thats how quality is judged.

i was sad when persona was launch because they made so many good changes except the feel of the centre console buttons.

only negative comment i can give right now based on those pics is the aircond vents..should be a modern design or atleast eleminate those large gaps between then..hope proton put a metal or metal looking finishing around those vents.the it should be cool.

good job proton..its impressive right now..those simplicity design will help improve quality in production and will attract buyer since lesser defect..

great effort.

• alihms (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:37 pm

To whoever who took these pictures – next time take them properly laaa.. There’s no pictures on the seat (front, middle, back). No pictures showing how they can be tilted. No pictures from the rear sear view and rear door opened. No pictures showing the glovebox compartment, cupholders, rear aircond vent etc. And the most important of all – no pictures of the ENGINE.

Shame on you… but thanks!!!

• catdeco (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:57 pm

alihms said,
    January 24, 2009 @ 4:37 pm

To whoever who took these pictures – next time take them properly laaa.. There’s no pictures on the seat (front, middle, back). No pictures showing how they can be tilted. No pictures from the rear sear view and rear door opened. No pictures showing the glovebox compartment, cupholders, rear aircond vent etc. And the most important of all – no pictures of the ENGINE.

Shame on you… but thanks!!!

—————————————————————-

*so demanding..
    y dont u go and take it by urself?

• stroller (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 5:53 pm

so, the hot pic & info has been revelead by some spy… most of my anxious and eagerness bout this baby already been release… to si-fu and ppl behind this project congrate coz u give m’sian ppl wat they want all this while… the interior the xterior… looks far more advance that some of supporters xpected.. i personally applause and salute to p1 guys to produce his mpv for m’sian… this is my dream mpv for my family… i will wait this baby until april…
    to the spy… u will be the most person to feel sorry when they catch u for ur “treason” act…. the choice is ur’s……….

• stroller (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 6:14 pm

gud job guys… to si-fu and ppl behind this project.. an awesome mpv u hv there.. i’ve been waiting this mpv for such long time… it’s a m’sian car for m’sian ppl….
    to the person who spy shooting this photo, u really hv a gut to show it here… a cr to u but smpthy for ur future… the choice is ur’s…

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 6:20 pm

This pics are taken inside the proton facility, so I think si-fu deserves to be angry, as the person who took the pics clearly breach proton secrecy. Imho, spyshots are taken from outside from any company”s facility, e.g on the hi-way or even at the nurburgring! It is unethical, but on the other side it made us more eager to see it in the real flesh..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 8:48 pm

for the interior… i think it just for the pre production model…. thats why i think it looks soooo cheap… i hope its far better for the mass pro…

cant wait for April… hope it is not april fool…

• Nakal (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 9:41 pm

Hey protonian especially new satria neo project team… u guys must be more careful next time!! “spy-shooter” is everywhere!!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 9:42 pm

to tokmoh:
    of course I’m still the same guy……
    feels different? didn’t notice that, sorry…..
    blueserver what? never heard before…. is there another mitlanevo there???

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:41 pm

awful interior

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:03 pm

hahaha! all fools for persecuting THE guy/s. Isn’t this what u ppl wanted? If unethical, then why bother to look in the first place? U could just turn away n maintain your ethics. IF YOU DON’T LIKE/AGREE, DON’T SEE! DON’T EVEN PEEK! But…. oh!..YOU hypocrites!!! I said on another posting, same subject, WHAT SECRECY ACT!?

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:12 pm

Oh! Almost forgot. Didn’t I told you guys before that there will be more? N there WILL be more. N to all those hypocrites, don’t even bother to click on when there’s more. Just go to the next posting. NAK KUTUK TAPI NAK TENGOK JUGAK!
    MANA PRINSIP HANG PA?

• madimat (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Firstly, congratulations for the very nicely designed People Mover. A very good job indeed! Well done, Azlano, Si-Fu and all the people in Proton.

As usual some people will still say a lots of not so nice things about this one, that is part of the things you and I will get when you buy or own a Proton. Yes I admit that my Proton got defects here and there and at one point I feel like a big regret to buy it in the first place. But since then I listened to not one or two but many stories from some of my friends who bought different makes which got problems with their cars which some even gave up and just let it be. Sheeshh,.. all these while I thought my Proton is bad enough. Power window problem – a Getz got that. Water leaked to the rear light clusters – a Merc C class and an X-Trail got that. Gear problem – an Optima also got that one. And all other sad stories, all real facts.

Like this new MPV from Proton people make all kinds of speculations and comments based on a few spyshots and pre-production model shots. They dont even see or touch or sit inside the real thing yet but they wrote things like they are Pro car journalists. They give bad comments like they are the ones who are buying it. To those people; you hate this Proton so much so just shut up and go somewhere else. Or at least dont condemn Proton buyers and owners with all kinds of insults, because we are humans too which sometimes admiring a Civic or a Vios and their drivers but at the same time choose a Proton because of some special or not so special reasons.

To all please allow the people at Proton to finish their jobs first, then go and see, touch and smell the final, on the road version of the actual thing when the launch day has come. If it is really, really bad then I swear to you that I will join all the other people to condemn Proton to death. But if it is indeed a decent product then I will part of the thousands of people who’ll queing up to put a booking fee for this one.

We are only less than 3 months more to go. To si-fu and others at Proton, we the people have a very high expectations to this one so please make it good and make the bashers out there to shut their mouth because the longer they open their mouths, the stinkier the air in all Proton related forums.

Thank you,

.peace!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:39 am

mitlanevo,

Changed as in ur reaction towards sifu is extremely childish in the other post n this one.

Yes, there is a guy named lanevo, so I was wondering if u’re the same guy. I’m convinced now that you’re nt.

prem3377,

custom interface head unit kah…… what I see popular now is removable head unit, what d’ya reckon? That said, I think proton shud make this head unit removable too ;)

Waah, Paul, what made u decide to put the pics here? Got consent from azlano? :P

• shamel (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:21 am

To Azlano:

If you said Proton MPV learn much from other MPV THEN l hardly can understand as the interior design not that up to Japanese or even Korean-Malaysia MPV, Rondo.

We concern because we care about Proton, actually Proton not that bad as opposed to more expensive competitors.

BUT, Proton must able to offer decent design to woo (skeptical) buyers. Can’t rely on nationalism or patriotism alone to sell our MPV!

• samm5151 (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 8:15 am

Has anyone notice the unequal gap between the steering column cover and the dash instrument meters in the interior photo ? Or I have made wrong perception?

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 10:29 am

shamel said,
    January 25, 2009 @ 2:21 am
    To Azlano:
    If you said Proton MPV learn much from other MPV THEN l hardly can understand as the interior design not that up to Japanese or even Korean-Malaysia MPV, Rondo.

What? you think super hyper complicated interior is good?
    not everyone like that? complicated some more is rubbish!..

I prefer the simple one.
    just like lotus elise..
    Simple doesn’t mean cheap!.. It’s about practicality..

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:40 pm

bmwpower said

I prefer the simple one.
    just like lotus elise..
    Simple doesn’t mean cheap!.. It’s about practicality.

———————-

Well, i have to agree with you on this..the steering design looked quite complicated to me..but nice try..can be improved and maybe takes some time to like it..but it is subjective..well, a few areas that i personally think can be improved is:-

1) center console – the control dials should use something like Gen 2s dials/previous Naza Citras to make it more upmarket feel
    2) interior color scheme should be made darker..
    3) B&W proton emblem at centre steering like waja’s ..
    3) exterior wise – smoked headlights as standard..

Maybe that can be made as an option for high line versions..

overall, i give 7/10 for the design as the interior can be made better..

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:09 pm

well done on the exterior proton! hope its good inside too :)

steering and meter remind me of Fiat Bravo’s…interior design looks kinda conservative, but all the best.. wish it has good seats too..

happy CNY to all :)

• dwan (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 7:32 pm

Happy CNY to the Chinese.

Hmmm,
    Doesn’t other people feel there is something wrong with the pics???
    I bet he can snap more than 5 pics there, but only 5 can be viewed by the public…….
    Maybe the management said only 5 pics can be shown to see the feedback from viewers ….. and other pics will come out soon, maybe in Feb, March. lol

When launching ceremony come out, tadaaa many bashers will roll out their eyes because its really got improved than the pics shown here. hehe

BTW, have a nice day…….

• dwan (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Happy CNY to the Chinese.

Hmmm,
    About the pics, I doubt they only took5 photos there….
    Maybe they only shown 5.
    Other pics may still be a secret to the public.
    Maybe they just wanna see feedback from the public.

BTW, have a nice day.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:18 pm

this reminds me of the chery van

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Congratulation to the person who leaked the photos. The hype of this mpv was slow recently but you have brought it back to live.

• dwan (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 2:34 pm

About the cheap dashboard that many people saying maybe this MPV is for crash test only… O.O Not for mass production.
    So why make it look so stylish lol. :D
    If P1 only just change the grey color dashboard to black color, its already look stylish.
    But why so skeptical this only the first one MPV, so u can aspect more if second or third version coming out later.
    For the exterior, I dare to give 8 stars out of 10.
    Its exterior not exactly 100% like other rivals, so it acceptable.

• red7 (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 6:35 pm

seems good enough

well done proton!

cheers~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 9:53 pm

a better car is called avanza

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 12:13 am

ya, i couldn’t agree more with that, tokmoh…..

he’s getting more and more ridiculous nowadays…..

• kruzer (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 12:49 pm

How come proton is still using the bee sting antenna? Esp for a high vehicle, would it get in the way of the beams in those underground car parks?
    Most other makers are already printed antennas

• t-neckman (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 6:30 pm

I’m just wondering,
    username “Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water”,
    What car are you using now? Everybody here wants to know. Hmmm…

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 1:06 am

aiyark…already leaked…those worker at MVF will be in trouble for sure if the management want to find them…i wonder where the guards at the sw1 door go…guys i can confirm u that the interior is still not completed yet. like si-fu said the texture is not in yet and lot of other thing is no included in the mpv interior u all looked at. i already sit inside the mpv…its big and spacious i can comfirm u…for a 6 footer and big size person like me have no problem to enter and step out of the mpv driver seat and 2nd row seat…but my knee touch the 2nd row if i sit on the third row….for the pricing… can’t reveal it yet but it is competitive and attractive price bracket…be patience only 2 month left…

• tanos (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 7:35 am

How about the center console? Is that final? All is good except for the center console… its ugly, cheap looking and look not up-to-date.

Proton, change it please….. i wanna buy this MPV….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 10:08 am

wtf…. utusan online says thing which is not correct…..

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 10:13 am

haroldz said,
    January 24, 2009 @ 2:37 pm

proton forced naza to trim their rondo interior so dat their MPV will actualy look better than rondo

……………………………………….

LOL…. the most funny comments in this thread…

What a stupid basher…. LMAO…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 10:13 am

haroldz said,
    January 24, 2009 @ 2:37 pm

……………………………………….

LOL…. the most funny comments in this thread…

What a stupid basher…. LMAO…

• fairozee (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 11:07 am

From Utusan Malaysia Online
    (Home page-Small Thumbnail of white MPV):

SEGAK BERGAYA
    Inilah rupa kenderaan pelbagai guna (MPV) keluaran terbaru Proton yang bakal dilancarkan pada April ini. Ia memaparkan reka bentuk menarik dan pasti mendapat sambutan baik daripada rakyat Malaysia kelak.

Model terbaru Proton ini yang gambarnya mula tersebar dalam Internet sejak seminggu lalu boleh memuatkan sekurang-kurangnya tujuh orang penumpang dan menggunakan enjin Campro 1.8 liter serta disasarkan pada harga sekitar RM80,000 sebuah. – Utusan

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 11:12 am

Quite shocked..
    Main stream paper like Utusan also published the picture of the new baby of P1. Front page you.. for the white coloured one..second page the brownish coloured.. Regarding Campro 1.8 & the price tag that they mentioned..maybe not correct. Only guys from P1 knows about it.. May be Paul Tan and Si-fu can comment about this…
    How about the top management of P1 will say about this..

• fairozee (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 11:51 am

kalau bawah Rm80k baru menarik… CAMPRO 1.8 barulah ada power sket tak? Anyway, my fren said the rear of the mpv will be slightly diff. from the one that circulated on the net… lagi cun katanya…. entahler… hope it is true…

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 12:17 pm

i seriously got nothing to say on what utusan did…it really shocked me and my frens here in Proton after seeing the newspaper this morning…..what supposed to be a suprise now just habis like dat ni…haihhh…..

• maramiea (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 12:29 pm

hu hu today everbody will redah Proton showroom for booking…

well this the better, hopefully it will launch before Perodua’s MPV, that might look gorgeous also.. but with small egine capacity (I think)

SERBU…

• fairozee (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 12:35 pm

Sue utusan then… hehe…

Ke ini promo secara halus oleh Proton? Apa pun, ramai dah org berminat dgn MPV nie… sure laku cam pisang goreng panas lah!

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 1:05 pm

Ni apa dah jadi?time to promote or time to sue utusan?

i donno what’s happen now.maybe a marketing strategy or i donno at all.if this is somekind of espionage,that person must be charged under Secrecy Act.but then the pic were widely spread in the net without proton struggled to wipe down these pics..

but i saw many great+good feedback of this mpv.sounds great…

(i dunno whether to say CONGRATS PROTON or PITTY PROTON)

• awak (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 1:12 pm

sifu,
    is it truely 1.8 cps for mpv?

cps is very surging, after i tested the gen2 cps, lagging but minimal,,
    and at the same time test satria neo 1.6,
    gen2 cps is surging happier than neo basic campro,
    and although gen2 with its 4 dr,
    cps-ed engine definetely exilarating,

i want to ask you, will the neo cps actually in the pipe line,
    i cant imagine how that satria neo cps manual is attract sports car enthusiast because it has a higher ‘syok’ factor for sure,

sifu clarify the neo for me, no proton edar rep can give the answer ,all they say is its body kit, no more than that,

please sifu,

• awak (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 1:14 pm

fairozee said,
    January 28, 2009 @ 12:35 pm

Sue utusan then… hehe…

Ke ini promo secara halus oleh Proton? Apa pun, ramai dah org berminat dgn MPV nie… sure laku cam pisang goreng panas lah!
    ——————————————–
    thats why 1 month delay, ,,to increase ready stock.

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 1:25 pm

Something that supposed to be surprised from P1 are not anymore for this new baby… pity or congrats to Proton (just borrow the sentences from Fridz said). Only God knows their feeling right now.
    Anyway, good luck to P1 for this new baby… Maybe the surprised is about the name of this baby ang the lucky winner for naming it.
    May God fulfill my dreamzzz..

• azrai (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 1:32 pm

Sue Utusan Proton. Looks like those in utusan also refer to paultan for their source. i still remember they use the Eclass pic with Ubah Gaya Hidup plate for the Terengganu’s exco car article. Huahuahua. :-)

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 2:11 pm

Awak,

I think i mentioned this be4 in one of the post….there is no 1.8 CPS…memang tak wujud…..

On the neo CPS,….dont worry….anda takkan dihampakan….harap saudara paham apa yg saya maksudkan, kerana saya takleh huraikan perkara ‘neo cps’ ni dgn panjang lebar….cuma bersabarlah…

Cheers!

• vivio (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 2:19 pm

promo cara halus hahaha
    tu r kot

• dwan (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 2:55 pm

Congratz P1. :D
    “P1 x payah pening2 la pasal gambar nih”
    The pictures are still not the final production
    P1 can get free advertisement what. lol
    The pictures of the MPV got the power of attraction from Malaysian Car Supporter then many people would like to buy one and 2 month from now they can start planning to get the budget to buy the MPV larr. hehe
    They also will eager to know the looks of the rear and the final touch of the exterior and interior of this MPV.
    Good Luck Proton For Its First MPV.

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 3:27 pm

this morning,i was informed by my friend,the mpv pictures are published
    by utusan…
    i can’t buy the paper here,so i surf the online page…
    i felt dissapointed when read the article…
    in my entry before,i wrote that pictures in Proton production plant
    should not be uploaded on the internet…(secrets again rival maker)
    enough if they published on the road testdrive pictures…
    this time,there are more than that…
    how come utusan did it?
    i don’t know if any ‘green light’ given to utusan…
    the person who leaked the hot pisang goreng picts should be
    investigated…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 4:15 pm

cost down strategy maybe…. in this economic crysis… money should be smartly spend… gain profit without much spending… money comes in, nothing goes out…

no need to pay tv or papers for ads, pay the actors, banners, script writer, producer, fuel etc etc… just PT.org and other blog and site is enough to spread the word…. if the assumption is true…

but, the timing is just too early for me…

• e-by (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 4:22 pm

I do not understand why Proton so secretive abt their product. We have seen other carmakers produced offcial photos of the upcoming model months from the launching date.

It is good that people start falling in love with this MPV. It may have helped to hold few hundres customers out there from placing their booking for Rondo, Avanza or Livina.

To si-fu, I beg you to not screw-up this great looking MPV with technical issues like ‘underpower’, selection of gear ratio, fuel consumption and other comestic issues such as interior finishing etc.

• stroller (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 4:35 pm

so… the leak in internet has become to paper already… pity to p1 coz of the leakeage but then CONGRATULATE for p1 coz public eagerly want this p1baby!!! to the person who spyshooting this pic in 1st place… u r lucky man coz u action get news paper intension here….

si-fu, azlano, p1 ppl who behind this project…. again i’m gonna personally CONGRATULATE u guys for ur infomation here… now … the tension has beginning to que 4 this baby…

the choice is ur’s….

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 5:06 pm

1.8 CPS? Same writer as the hovercraft story?

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Serious there will be option for 1.8 in MPV?the paper said so. woww in that case they should install that in Neo CPS… Neo 1.8 CPS 145hp or 150hp…wallawwe~ Pstt any news Neo CPS will come out?

• cars-addict (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 7:47 pm

is that true 1.8????
    so confused….

• waja2000 (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 7:55 pm

After look detail on picture, overoll happy with Proton new MPV, but few think look down.

1. Center dashboard design look so cheap, outdated design.
    2. Why still use old type manual switch aircond control just like in Savvy/Waja, NEO, Gen2 & Persona have better aircond system( with climate) look more style, modern, this aircond design in mpv look so cheap, not match at all for 70K++ car, some more is latest design mpv, should be on pair with Neo/G2/Persona.
    3. drum break for rear wheel, really stupid idea.
    feel sad for this 2 think.

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 8:23 pm

Sometimes car makers purposely “leak” out the pictures and news to see how the response from the public. This will help them to price the car as this is very important to make it right from the start.

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 10:10 pm

i’m sure utusan got green light to published the leaked photos as i can see PT put the photos also in this forum not like 2days ago where he just link the website..congrate to P1 as the MPV look so great!

• fairozee (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 3:36 am

I agreed. The aircond switch/control looks so outdated and boring!!! Tukar lah cam gen2 or neo punya, it will gv a lot of diff.!

• cardreamer (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 2:29 pm

Hi guys,

I think they purposely leak the photos to hold potential buyers from other makes. With economy is going down, means less buyers in the market, so it is wiser to hold some. If not Utusan won’t dare to publish it in their paper.

Just wondering as i look at the steering whell photo, the ‘column’ or whatever you call it, seems to be too inside. Or the windscreen is bit narrow towards the driver. Would it not obstructing the driver’s view..what do you guys think?

• claxxion (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Will utusan get sued for printing those pictures? Or they’ve got the green light from Proton?

• ali38hak (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 2:36 am

why not a climate control center with digital temperatur screen?
    is there a armrest for the front seats? and for the rear wont be bad!
    a info screen on the top of dash instead of a clock with trip and etc. show would more modern, like i-drive !!! :)
    1.8 here 1.6 there ok, but whats about diesel ? ? i love diesel, i am a diesel driver since 1989, 20 years!!! i cant drive another engine, so help me proton!! bring it with diesel engine !!!!

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:05 am

exterior: front ok.
    interior: dashboard (based on pic) ugly….
    cam xmasuk je design dashboard ngn overall exterior kete..

• Nakal (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:05 am

Wisdom said,

January 25, 2009 @ 11:54 pm

Congratulation to the person who leaked the photos. The hype of this mpv was slow recently but you have brought it back to live.

…………………………………….

Pity to him/her/them also…. if DSZ find him…sure will got sacked

• mushpop (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:17 am

Hmm..leaving out unbiased comment here.

After carefully looking at the leaked photos, I’ve seen proton did a good thing to the MPV design but I see some foreign influences being put into the car making. The front reminds me Nissan Latio, the steering wheels looks like Honda (proton ppl pls dont say it was a co-incidence) and interior looks totally plain.

I was expecting too much from proton R&D but they never get away from my expectation. It was like first batch of Toyota Avanza (interior). Sigh… Proton exterior styling is at their best but still fails to produce good looking interior design since gen2 era. Even their latest Waja facelift (perhaps detailing design was designed by other party) doesn’t stand out.

So, when will Proton perform and deliver at their best? It’s the era of IT which technology transfer can be done with a click away. They have been sucking our money for so long but fails to deliver nice good looking car in-and-out and less problems (my Persona SE rear spring/absorber starts to squeaking).

Now it is MPV time. I sincerely put high expectation for other models such as Perdana and Waja replacement. I don’t want a look alike styling. I don’t want predecessor look alike (Neo). I don’t want dangerous car (Gen.2/Persona – full of blind spots). I don’t want pointy side mirror (pointless). and the list goes on.

Just don’t give me a car which the design is still 5-10 years back. I’m not bashing Proton but it is the fact. Others are racing to present so-called future car, but P1? When was Toyota Wish lauched and how they look like in-and-out? Look at P1 MPV and compare with the earlier Wish.

• clown_habibi (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:30 am

looking forward this mpv

• clown_habibi (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:31 am

whoever interested may place their booking now, min RM1k…

• afkar (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:48 am

shocked to see the pic on utusan.
    the chery eastar earlier got a place in malaysian roads while proton is still workin last part on their mpv
    surely proton doesn’t want this to affect their mpv sales
    so they released the incomplete(i guess) pre-production mpv pics
    and they succeeded,malaysians held their money and wait 4 the new mpv out
    no wonder the interior shows many flaws

• afkar (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:58 am

still think the tyres too small 4 an mpv :(

• madimat (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:25 pm

May I offer some suggestions to some issues :

(A) Tyres too small :
    i) perhaps that one is the baseline version
    ii) always can change to bigger tyres and wheels
    iii) go buy a Chery Eastar

(B) Steering too ugly :
    i) perhaps this is the pre-production model for some test purposes we dont really know so that is why no texture or any high quality feel to it yet
    ii) custom wrap it with your choice of expensive leather

(C) Side profile too boring :
    i) most people say the exterior look is cute and already nicely designed
    ii) hire West coast Customs to pimp your ride, yeahh.. ! if got money, go get Chip Foose to do some make over on it

(D) Design looks like a copy and paste of a Chery Eastar ..??
    i) go check your eyes
    ii) go take some Panadol
    iii) go buy the ORIGINAL Chery Eastar and stop complaining !

.peace!

• unnamed (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 6:59 pm

interior boring…

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 8:21 pm

madimat said,

January 30, 2009 @ 3:25 pm

May I offer some suggestions to some issues :

(A) Tyres too small :
    i) perhaps that one is the baseline version
    ii) always can change to bigger tyres and wheels

(B) Steering too ugly :
    i) perhaps this is the pre-production model for some test purposes we dont really know so that is why no texture or any high quality feel to it yet
    ii) custom wrap it with your choice of expensive leather

(C) Side profile too boring :
    i) most people say the exterior look is cute and already nicely designed
    ii) hire West coast Customs to pimp your ride, yeahh.. ! if got money, go get Chip Foose to do some make over on it

(D) Design looks like a copy and paste of a Chery Eastar ..??
    i) go check your eyes
    ii) go take some Panadol
    iii) go buy the ORIGINAL Chery Eastar and stop complaining !

u are stupid..hahaha

• KickingDust (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:00 pm

guys,
    lets just wait for the MPV launch not speculate negatively anymore. Proton has been there in the market for 23 years since it 1st established the Saga 1985, and now it’s playing on a newer field with the big boyz….Give them the credit.

cheers

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 12:24 am

too many clown basher.
    and 1 of them call himself ‘not biased’
    but yes.. he are… basher too!

wish also had flaws.. it’s not that perfect.

design is subjective, you like, other people don’t like. vice versa.
    so what!

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 12:31 am

the steering design just ‘similiar’ to honda. not the same or copy paste
    (like myvi copy from sirion :p ) prttthhhhhgrhhh…
    so, even you bring this to court you cannot win the case looorr…

madimat.. youre soooo right! :D

• madimat (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 3:03 am

linear_system said,

January 30, 2009 @ 8:21 pm

u are stupid..hahaha

So, what is your problem?

• unnamed (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 7:53 am

To me quality is the main priority.. of course say no to Cherry, but so far all the proton cars that I’ve seen after 3 years problem macam2, my dad’s car is the worst, you see my dad car then you know. Oftenly, once problem happened, get it fix it ‘ll create another one because its human who fix it not robot. much worst if my dad fix it at the proton service center with all the unreasonable charges with the hope that all the problem will fix but unfortunately that didn’t turn out to be true. Even the proton mechanic themselves do not know how to fix their own car, who else we can trust? I’ll think twice if I were to spend RM70K or 80K for 3 years car. I’m kind of traumatic with that bad experience.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 11:48 am

Good job proton !

but the car isn’t look that exciting as I would expect.

Anyway, hope proton can improve the car before they launched it.

• stroller (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 1:04 pm

sigh… some may agree some may not… p1 hv to ensure price of this mpv is at competative price. mid income family is p1 major target. unlikely to some bashers who are already wealthy and rich & not even drive p1 cars… but still comment like they drive p1 cars…. bashers juz buy ur wish or stream or alphard or odyssey la… p1 want to sell only to “orang kampung” which dont so much money like u guys… the choice is ur’s….

• afkar (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 2:00 pm

KickingDust said,

guys,
    lets just wait for the MPV launch not speculate negatively anymore. Proton has been there in the market for 23 years since it 1st established the Saga 1985, and now it’s playing on a newer field with the big boyz….Give them the credit.
    plus, this is their 1st try

• dwan (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 3:49 pm

Thumbs up 4 people that still give proton their support.
    P1 is just a beginner, 23 years is not enough yet to be a stable car company.
    How many years do u think Toyota, Honda, Nissan, BMW, Merc and other establish car companies take to be like they are now?
    Its more than 40 years….
    P1 starting from assembling cars 4 other company only.
    So we cant aspect so much.
    Let P1 do their job, ok. :D

• irfandanish (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 5:24 pm

HAIIYAA…wait and see…dun bashing like stupid person la. i already have get in that mpv. something that what everage malaysian people can buy..smile!!

• awak (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 6:07 pm

imformation on the paper is misleading.
    1. the enine cc (should be 1.6cps)
    2. the price, (should be cheaper- 70s)

• unnamed (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 8:12 pm

stroller said:

sigh… some may agree some may not… p1 hv to ensure price of this mpv is at competative price. mid income family is p1 major target. unlikely to some bashers who are already wealthy and rich & not even drive p1 cars… but still comment like they drive p1 cars…. bashers juz buy ur wish or stream or alphard or odyssey la… p1 want to sell only to “orang kampung” which dont so much money like u guys… the choice is ur’s….

————————————————————-

why u said so, whoever the target is, p1 has to make sure it worth for the money… What’s the point if it is affordable but it not worth for the money? Middle range people or orang kampung or whatever they are don’t take advantage of these people. Their money is not to make p1 richer and the buyer suffer. If u r in the same shoes of these people then you know. I guess they way u said u must be working with p1 or something. Else you shud learn from people arround you, dont deny u never heard anything like it. if someone already fell into the cow dung why u need to jump into it, who’s being benefited? the cow la… Up to u p1 whether to take this as positive comment or the other way.

• KickingDust (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 9:39 pm

afkar said:
    agree with you.
    the launch date is still 3 months to go
    these maybe fake pics p1 release to spark some interest among the people
    plus, this is their 1st try

I believe those pictures aren’t fake.
    looking again at the design and features, Proton isnt competing in the luxury MPV neither the entry level MPV market. It’s a middle class vehicle, for those whom wish to own a higher grade MPV look alike at the best reasonable price. And that where the mass market is….

With that speculated pricing, It would even persuade those even considering a a 2nd (1.5cc or 1.8cc) Sedan buyers to give it a serious consideration to purchase the MPV.

Looking into the current economic situation, many would not want to be burdened by several hire purchases for each house hold – that one vehicle at the situation, price, with all that features, with that practicality and convenience…could be the best solution !!

So far… i’m convinced it would be my best buy.

lets wait and see…

• infinity (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 1:46 am

the day after utusan published the leaked photo, they published smth else…

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2009&dt=0129&pub=utusan_malaysia&sec=Korporat&pg=ko_02.htm&arc=hive

Proton: Tarikh lancar belum tetap
    KUALA LUMPUR 28 Jan. – Proton Holdings Bhd. (Proton) masih belum menetapkan tarikh untuk membuka tempahan bagi model pertama kenderaan pelbagai guna (MPV) yang dijangka dilancarkan pada April ini.

Sumber industri mengakui, meskipun Proton menerima banyak pertanyaan berhubung tempahan MPV itu tetapi Proton masih belum membuat sebarang keputusan.

”MPV itu masih dalam peringkat akhir ujian di pusat penyelidikan dan pembangunan Proton dan masih ada beberapa ujian yang sedang dilakukan termasuk keupayaan Proton dalam mengeluarkan MPV tersebut.

”Malah, nama MPV itu juga masih belum diputuskan lagi,” katanya di sini hari ini.

Utusan Malaysia hari ini memaparkan model terbaru MPV keluaran Proton.

Difahamkan, buat permulaan Proton akan melancarkan satu varian untuk model tersebut iaitu 1,600 cc.

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2009&dt=0128&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Terkini&pg=bt_01.htm

so, 1.6 engine is quite confirmed…maybe proton uses 1.8 engine from other manufacturer…best if it’s the 1 found in livina 1.8…haha

and the name has not been confirmed yet?tat means i still got chance to win??haha…

• waja2000 (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 3:15 am

unnamed

well said? wee comment now because car not launch yet, if proton accept the positive comment , still got time for them to improve in mpv, otherwise is too late to change after launching.

iam really want to ask person design dashboard of mpv what is your mentality to design it ? is your self feel your dashboard design look nice? up today standard design? comparable to Wish, Jitra, Madza5 texture? why use so outdated aircond control ? or just proton think local market only??

• awak (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 10:33 am

yes , gen2 persona neo, acc switch is brilliant, push center knob, and turn the outer ring, also found is some expensive automobil,

but for sure, it is something ala lotus ,vertcal instrument knob is in some particular lotus model,

anyway ths mpv acc swithes arrangement is no strange ,even the new bmw 6series put acc switch 3 knob in a row.
    and this type switch also no strange to some bmw model as well,

i think this mpv is using the small type (round smaller than wira ac switch) like that on the saga too, which is fine, and softer operation,
    not the biggy round like on the old wira.

• awak (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 11:09 am

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_taunOfJX_0M/R7y53–CNiI/AAAAAAAACCo/fwY82Cu-MLM/340R-7.jpg

lotus 340 r ,vertical switches ,same idea was put on gen2 and neo,
    but impossible to be done on proton mpv due to the gear position isnt floor shift,
    its a almost a dash mount shfter.

• tigris_malayensis (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 9:15 pm

only consider buying if paul give a thumb up upon test drive

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 11:01 pm

waja2000 said,
    February 1, 2009 @ 3:15 am

unnamed

well said? wee comment now because car not launch yet, if proton accept the positive comment , still got time for them to improve in mpv, otherwise is too late to change after launching.

iam really want to ask person design dashboard of mpv what is your mentality to design it ? is your self feel your dashboard design look nice? up today standard design? comparable to Wish, Jitra, Madza5 texture? why use so outdated aircond control ? or just proton think local market only??
    have you seen toyota wish interior?or you are one of toyota’s blind supported??check out the link and see how poorly the wish interior is designed…check the aircond vents?two for the front passenger??check the texture…dont complain blindly la..u know proton pics is pre production..so surely no texture..dont bash blindly..complex design means higher price..production headache..its not for a company who is recovering its brand image…understand..

check toyota wish interior pic..then see for yourself…

http://star-motoring.com/archives/2006/5/16/motornews/wishinterior.jpg

• mct (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 2:26 pm

is waja2000 a blind basher or prem3377 is a die hard proton susporter
    i dunno that but certainly prem3377is putting alot of hope on this p1 new baby
    and feel that p1 mpv would excel wish in interior design.

about the aircond vent, do you sit inside b4 latest honda civic ?, do you sit b4 in last gen vios,camry and many other car,that is a design trend and it is not practical at all ! but you cannot denied that the design is good in wish and proton ….. remember, proton want this car to be a world car ,not malaysia car, with the interior , i think that is hard to achieve , this mpv is same class as stream and wish . if you said the price of this proton is cheaper than its rival then it can have a more plain interior . but how can a stream cbu form japan and still price at 80k without any taxed?? lets me remind you tat stream have climate control , front aux in, automatic sunroof ,4 disc brake (sorry guys, but comfirm ther is NO?4 disc brake in this p1 mpv) ,double wishbone rear suspension (proton’s have torsion beam , just like the suspension system in savvy and saga) 5 speed auto ( proton mpv going to used 4 speed auto ) 1.8 ivtec engine.Do you all see b4 stream interior ? it is quite plain also but honda can made it looks great despite the design is simple (http://www.honda.com.my/images/stream_cockpit.jpg)

• brutal_driverz (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 3:01 pm

To those who think that the interior is not suit to this mpv’s exterior style(x masuk dengan gaya luaran la etc),think it again.Look at the 2009 Honda CRV.Its exterior full of sharp lines,angles and curves.But try look at its interior(especially the dashboard),its like better to put in Merc C-class.The Toyota Wish interior is more worst(check out PREM3377 comment above).Just my honest opinion as a proud Malaysian.Proton is in the right line now…support Proton,bravo DSZA!!!!!!!huhuhuhu…..

• dzat46 (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 3:03 pm

Excellent job P1, sell it below avanza price….confirm will sell like hot cakes!!…wish it come wt a sliding door but that the only gripes i have so far…Gud job P1

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:21 pm

MR mct,

i am not a die hard supporter..i talk based on facts..i dont bash or support blindly..you can read all my previous comment..if proton had done something wrong i will point it out..but for this MPV we cant speculate the quality or saying its the same class as honda stream or wish..because we dont know the price..

and dont talk about a TAX free situation please..its impossible to get a TAX FREE car..

this MPV should be competing with nissan grand livina,and kia rondo,innova and maybe avanza..and thats about it..not wish,mazda 5 or stream..

its a budget mpv.so compare it with similar class…check innova or grand livina’s interior..and you will similar vents..

in a budget mpv design should be simple..and with all the quality issue proton had..its not a suitable time to venture in weird design or complex designs..because being a proton,magazine writers,JC,and all will find fault in every single component.

remember waja?every single magazine has had complained about the aircond vents..poorly designed..but toyota wish has not got any bad remarks for its poorly placed aircond vents..even the new civic has similar problems..but did you come across anyone complaining??no you wont..cause its made by the japanese..

so protons answer to this is a simple yet functional design which will not get good remarks but will not get bad remarks as well…

• nd (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:31 pm

I support u 100% Mr. Prem3377,

It’s really funny that some people are still comparing a tax free price of a toyota or honda and compare it with the listed price of a proton and think that they are making an apple to an apple comparison. Because they always had a notion that proton listed price is tax free which is totally untrue!

Pleeeease.. lar! If want to compare tax free price fairly get all your listed price in Langkawi! then it will be fair & square! I betcha that the tax free price of the proton mpv in langkawi will be only around 50K++

• mct (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 12:06 am

who said no wants complain about civic aircond vent ??
    there are plenty of people complaining about that .
    YOU ARE NOT COMPARING CAR BUT PRICE !!!!
    if you wan to compare price , why dun you buy a cm8? dual blower, 1.3L engine, 40k+ some more !!!

as i mention before , proton hope this mpv to be a world class standard car and able to compete with toyota wish, mazda 5, honda stream . in open market(singapore,thailand) can this proton compete with them as they are price similar unlike our country which proton can price at a NORMAL price and its competitor will price at sky high price .

MR ND:
    haha, seem like you never visit any other country proton car price list ??
    proton price is same as it competitor ! which is similar to our price !
    yes , proton is also subject to excise duty, but somehow , proton have discount same goes to naza and perodua, IF they pay the same amount of tax as the foreign car maker , we would see a waja 1.6 cps price at 100k and above ! this is reality !!!! PLS dun ever say proton is subjected same amount of tax of foreign car maker are subjected !!!

• mct (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 12:15 am

i cannot find the real price but according to a langkawi resident , proton langkawi only few k cheaper than proton in peninsular malaysia ,not much different ! other car maker ……for an example , stream is selling 80k in langkawi and 149k in other place , that is 60K different ! another example , camry which sell at peninsular for 17x k and langkawi only sell 90k + only

PLS wake up MR ND?

thank you !

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 2:30 am

hello MR MCT,

you have to wake up first!!!REMEMBER PRICE IN LANGKAWI IS TAX FREE!!!!!

which means no tax at all!!!!

in a real world situation there is tax applied..so you can never buy a toyota camry at rm 90K outside langkawi!!

no one told here that proton car pay the same amount of tax as foreign makes..and we do deserve less tax cause it CKD here..using national parts!!

you try to change you argument..

back to civic aircond vent..can you find any review written by top magazine writers complaining about civic aircond vent design or toyota wish aircond design???if yes please let me know!!then i will say people are not biased towards japanese makes!!toyota wish dont even have rear aircond vent!!

how do you compare cars in malaysia if not price??malaysian do not compare cars with class infact we dont even have a clear class description in our country..so we do compare cars by price..and the targeted market!!

if you say dont compare cars by price..why toyota innova is priced at rm 100000 when its a 7 seater,2.0 litre engine and larger than wish plus has similar spec as wish is priced rm 50k to 60k cheaper??care to explain??

and why a compact hatch from honda with identical specs,engine and platform priced at rm 104K(honda jazz) and a city is priced rm 20K lesser at rm 84K??

if you wanna say jazz is cbu and and city is ckd..or tax..then lets go to some similar class vehicles..

do you agree that mitsubishi lancer,toyota altis and honda civic comes from the same class??you would since that how it is..

why a CBU lancer is similarly price with a CKD civic and an outdated 1.8 engine car the altis is priced similar to both of these??so where the CBU and CKD tax difference gone??and go check website around the world..those car prices are too similar..but why in our country when CKD and CBU has different taxes but those 3 cars are similarly price??why??care to explain??

i bet it will be hard for you to explain..but please get you facts right..dont be blinded by prices in langkawi..those are TAX FREE..

in our country even eating at McD you have to pay tax so never expect a tax free car..and dont compare langkawi price here…

check price of persona in thailand and vios in thailand..then you can see what is proton’s real world price!!!

proton is actually cheaper that those car even if production rate is far lesser than automotive giant!!so its not fair to compare a toyota wish and proton’s MPV…

• ignas (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:34 am

wow for the first time, nice rims! exterior looks bulky but eh, bigger the better right? worth the money as some may say. interior…ugly dated dash, yuck.

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 3:24 pm

Prem3377 said,
    February 3, 2009 @ 2:30 am

hello MR MCT,

you have to wake up first!!!REMEMBER PRICE IN LANGKAWI IS TAX FREE!!!!!

which means no tax at all!!!!

in a real world situation there is tax applied..so you can never buy a toyota camry at rm 90K outside langkawi!!

no one told here that proton car pay the same amount of tax as foreign makes..and we do deserve less tax cause it CKD here..using national parts!!

you try to change you argument..

back to civic aircond vent..can you find any review written by top magazine writers complaining about civic aircond vent design or toyota wish aircond design???if yes please let me know!!then i will say people are not biased towards japanese makes!!toyota wish dont even have rear aircond vent!!

how do you compare cars in malaysia if not price??malaysian do not compare cars with class infact we dont even have a clear class description in our country..so we do compare cars by price..and the targeted market!!

if you say dont compare cars by price..why toyota innova is priced at rm 100000 when its a 7 seater,2.0 litre engine and larger than wish plus has similar spec as wish is priced rm 50k to 60k cheaper??care to explain??

and why a compact hatch from honda with identical specs,engine and platform priced at rm 104K(honda jazz) and a city is priced rm 20K lesser at rm 84K??

if you wanna say jazz is cbu and and city is ckd..or tax..then lets go to some similar class vehicles..

do you agree that mitsubishi lancer,toyota altis and honda civic comes from the same class??you would since that how it is..

why a CBU lancer is similarly price with a CKD civic and an outdated 1.8 engine car the altis is priced similar to both of these??so where the CBU and CKD tax difference gone??and go check website around the world..those car prices are too similar..but why in our country when CKD and CBU has different taxes but those 3 cars are similarly price??why??care to explain??

i bet it will be hard for you to explain..but please get you facts right..dont be blinded by prices in langkawi..those are TAX FREE..

in our country even eating at McD you have to pay tax so never expect a tax free car..and dont compare langkawi price here…

check price of persona in thailand and vios in thailand..then you can see what is proton’s real world price!!!

proton is actually cheaper that those car even if production rate is far lesser than automotive giant!!so its not fair to compare a toyota wish and proton’s MPV…
    ———————————————

if i may add, why does the new Peugeot 308 retail at only 96K and the Turbo version only 111K? (which suppose to be 170k above if u convert its price in from say, Singapore)
    http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/lcp.php?pid=1572

I’m sure mr mct will say that “that NAZA guy sure got some political relationship thats why can get lower tax”

Infact, Naza tries to play their part to change Malaysian “Japanese always the best” ideology. I got internal contact in Naza and their profit margin selling these Peugeot (407, 308) is low. And Its not about Japanese carmaker alone, its their rep here (UMW, Tan Chong etc) who have been sucking blood

• unitedtas (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Know why M’sians buy Protons? No, they are not being patriotic. They simply can’t afford other makes of same class. Those that can would not buy Protons.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 6:50 pm

I went to Indonesia (stayed at Jakarta, went shoppin ard Bandung) with my frens last week (PS: Djakarta seafood restaurant is a must-visit), man, the Indonesians are CRAZY for MPVs just like how our market is crazy for saloon. Avanza is probably the most common car there, n according to our driver, it sells for 133m rp (approx RM44k++). Another thing, Honda Jazz are also quite aplenty, both new gen n previous gen, my Indon classmates told me it costs ard 180m rp++ (ard RM60k++).

Nevertheless, I see quite a few Savvy there, n a Gen.2-Persona there :) Whatever it is, I’d like to say to Proton: GO INDONESIA!! Trust me, this MPV will sell like hotcake!! Hatchbacks n saloons cater more to the higher income group there, so when Proton launch Savvy n Persona there, I suppose they’d like to market themselves as an exclusive brand (I spotted the Persona parked in front of a shopping centre that IMHO is higher-class than Pavilion). But for the lower income n those lookin into practicality, MPVs are the way to go with Avanza n Kijang-Innova. The richer ones who’re lookin for MPVs will get Alphards, even the latest one like these: http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/14/new-generation-toyota-alphard-and-vellfire/ But Proton MPV may stand a chance to grab some volume against Wish n Stream there, maybe also Kijang-innova.

unitedtas,

As I hv just mentioned, the Indons hv access to cheap japmobiles, yet, Proton still get to sell Personas against Altis n Civic. Meritly, newer Proton models do hv good points that can make the japmobiles feel half-baked. It’s just a mix of Msian politics’ inferiority complex n Jap’s badge snobbery that puts ppl down. Some Indonesians can get past that, n more Thais can get past that with Savvy sales in Thai as a testament, so why can’t we?

On Proton MPV, I just realised the other day when lookin at a Ford Fiesta picture, I think the steering wheel is inspired by F Fiesta’s more than Honda’s. So on that matter, I feel better at the design cuz Fiesta definitely is a looker :D

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 7:38 pm

the car is not ugly, but the commentor is ugly

• farghmee (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 8:23 pm

boring..

• alexsincl (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 9:23 pm

i tried very very hard … extremely hard not to badmouth our national car but proton, you really let me down /… not just me, it includes everyone that i knew.

please, instead of continuously offering car photostating service + outdated technologies, why dont u say “sayonara” to all your car designers, r&d and market research team? send them all to joblessville and give a chance to young and inspiring professionals who are currently jobless. i am sure they will do a better job compare to your current team.

everyone is talking about recession and cutting jobs, maybe u should consider riding on this momentum to hire quality people! instead of keeping …. u know …. bad quality people.

• waja2000 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 10:44 pm

alexsincl i fully support your said, if proton designer can’t simply design quality look of a MPV dashboard (include savvy/saga) please outsource job to other designer company or just call Lotus help to design it.

Or just appoint jobless designer form few car maker which cutting the staff.

• scaniaV10 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:16 pm

I support your argument Prem3377!!!..

Why a lot of stupid and idiot bashers over here haa?? tinking so simple like they are ‘masters’ in making car????..

• waja2000 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:17 pm

awak said,

February 1, 2009 @ 10:33 am

yes , gen2 persona neo, acc switch is brilliant, push center knob, and turn the outer ring, also found is some expensive automobil,

but for sure, it is something ala lotus ,vertcal instrument knob is in some particular lotus model,

anyway ths mpv acc swithes arrangement is no strange ,even the new bmw 6series put acc switch 3 knob in a row.
    and this type switch also no strange to some bmw model as well,

i think this mpv is using the small type (round smaller than wira ac switch) like that on the saga too, which is fine, and softer operation,
    not the biggy round like on the old wira.

latest generation car mostly use aircond switch buttion ala in G2/Persona/neo, event New City/Vios car also using thisa type, it become common in newest car, how to design in row or column up to proton designer, as long use this modem technology (with climate control), but u think Proton MPV is going to sell local and oversea market, u still want use old type manual aircond control bottom design, just let over roll look the design down, look quality down, feel outdated tech, look more cheap, simply cant fright with Wish/madza 5/Stream market. and i can tell u price compare to Wish/madza 5/Stream not more than 10K + is 2.0L + High spec mpv in few place of proton oversea market. think back again if a wish/madza 5/Stream can sell in 70K++?about 10% tax) in oversea country with 2.0L+2L class Spec or Rondo 2.0L in 80K+ , your proton MPV sell between 65K?75K with means actually your buying this proton 1.6L mpv car more over price with outdated tech and proton make more profit giving u old tech like drum break, torsion arm, manual aircound switch, lousy dashboard design. etc. etc. maybe Proton MPV still able to sell here due to tax structure .

• nd (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:51 pm

alexsincl,

Strange…! Everyone that I know, says the nicest thing when they see the picture of this proton mpv… Kudos to Azlano and team!

Anyway… base on their comment, I think proton should really consider employing waja2000 & alexsincl as their market research director & ID director. I believe proton sure can become world no. 1 car maker within overnight…. :)

• scaniaV10 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:02 am

I got the info’s (Proton Edar) that those pictures are not the final finishing yet for the interior… exterior can say finlized..
    preproduction (p0)..thats why look so dull, cheap..and the real one has slotted gear console..
    price?
    why those bashers compare PROTON with ‘big brother’ companies? large export volumes, countries..of cos la high yeild..so low costing.. Toyota owned HINO motors also..thts why all hino trucks, lorry looks like ‘dugong’ face maa…
    coz new Toyota’s mixed with ‘dugong’ gen.like vios..hahaha..

for those stupid negative bashers..dont waste ur time right here.. PROTON is truely Malaysian car..i love it..

• mct (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:35 am

Prem3377?
    using malaysia part can deserve to have a lesser tax ??
    if that is true , why city is selling at 84k instead of 60k which city is using malaysia part as well !
    still i can buy a 90k camry at labuan !!!

wish vs innova, pls compare them on every aspect
    on engine : innova engine only putting out 138ps and wish is putting 150ps
    transmission: innova offer 4 speed auto without + – gear but wish does
    chasis : innova offer a trunk based which is not comfort ! , wish offer monocoque with rear double wishbone suspension !
    safety: ladder frame doesn’t provide safety as good as monocoque , plus wish is offering vsc and trc !
    aircond: double blower on innova , single blower on wish and wish do have aircond vent on the second row ,under the front passenger and driver seat .

if you really see jazz and city , you will find lots of different although they share engine,transmission and suspension setup , but they do not share interior , from the design, i can said jazz dashboard need more $ compare to city wants , and some feature in jazz are not feature in city ! different in tax structure , and market targeted also influence the price .

about the lancer and civic and altis thing. tat is a price war !
    mitsubishi wanted more sells with less profit .
    this is common . hyundai also can sell same class car with lesser price, how ? by cutting some cost (hyundai actually own an steel company which hyundai car didn’t subject to high price steel as other car company which have to buy steel at higher price from other steel company ). and hyundai always be the most affordable car with high standard of quality ! even proton price in foreign country is higher than hyundai . for an example , the aventa (elantra ) in singapore is selling at 37k with 1.6 cvvt and manual trans, while the persona is selling at 40k . which will you choose ??

haha! proton car price lower then competitor ? who said ? do you see whats inside the proton and what inside other car company ??
    why not fair to compare wish to proton mpv ? they are in the same league which is . IF PROTON SELL THIS MPV AT THAILAND , IT COMPETITOR WILL BE MAZDA 5 , TOYOTA WISH . which will you choose when this 3 car is put together ?? mazda 5 is offering power sliding door, 5 speed auto trans and climate control. wish is offering vsc,trc which good for safety ,and climate control , +- gear shift . what do proton have to compete with them ? large cabin maybe ? other than that ???

waja2000 have many point you don’t even care to looks at !
    proton design this mpv to compete with mazda 5, wish, stream at some market , but do proton have what it have to take ?? i dun think so

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:47 am

mct said, “proton design this mpv to compete with mazda 5, wish, stream at some market , but do proton have what it have to take ?? i dun think so”

—————————————————

thats exactly what people said about the proton savvy.. but its now the top selling proton in thailand.

you’ve made some bold statements there, personally, i rather wait and see how it actually turns out.. after all, we could all be wrong.

and to waja 2000, there are still many toyotas being sold with drum brakes in the rear.. and frankly, there is nothing wrong with drum brakes. as for “manual” aircon controls? you still get them in the bmw 130i and bmw z4.

• jcb_3293 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 8:05 am

dear mct,

i salute you for your depth knowledge in the motor industry…IMHO, proton success is not depend solely on how the company is manage BUT the success or failure of proton is due to the lack of patriotisme among malaysian itself…do not compare to the korean manufacturer and their patritiotisme…thats what make them successful…

I think proton is too late in introducing the mpv to the market…but i think this is the right time for proton (GENUINELY malaysian car…not like the N*z* who geniously ‘belit’ the system to achieve the status, and the p2) to grab the market share of avanza and citra…hope they price their car right this time.

for those proton bashers outhere…shame on you if you’re malaysian and shame on you if you’re the one who said they proud to be malaysian and had done nothing to support their national car…i’m a proud owner of proton saga and wira and can’t wait for the mpv….

p/s : cintailah barangan buatan malaysia :)

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:05 am

To alexincl and waja 2000,

If car making were as easy as u guys describe it ;
    ‘send them all to joblessville and give a chance to young and inspiring professionals who are currently jobless. i am sure they will do a better job compare to your current team.’
    I doubt there will only a few full fledge car manufacturer in the world. Making a car from scratch is not as easy as buying a tamiya car and putting it together. If Proton did, like wat u say, i am sure ‘the new bunch of people’ they hired would a jack shit about producing a car for the masses. so please stop giving stupid comments. For a starter, do u know how many regulations u have in Malaysia (lets not go overseas yet) to be met, in order for the RTD to approve ur product to be sold? So please….

To others out there, i wonder HOW CAN U JUDGE TECHNOLOGY BY JUST LOOKING AT A FEW PICTURES AND A PICTURE OF THE AIR COND CONTROL KNOB???? The knobs maybe analogue, but it serves the purpose and its practical….it ables u to obtain different settings for the aircond….it is the same as digital control, it serves the same purpose but in a different way. So why spend alot of money, on something that gives the same output? Afterall this is not a luxury car….maybe the money was spent on other technological advancement that u cant see rite now (ehem!)….u will never know…..so DONT BE JUDGEMENTAL!

Cheers!

• stroller (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:24 am

guys,
    to many argument here… juz make it simple, whether the bashers like it or not p1 mpv will b around u… ppl who will hv / buy this mpv is ppl who love / like this mpv coz to their eyes, it has the same beauty as imported mpv also.
    and moreover, si-fu has mention earlier wait & c there will b more than what u hv got seen here… “orang kampung” only affort to buy local car. if “orang kampung” hv more money they also will buy import car. so, the choice is ur’s…

• farghmee (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:35 am

Si-Fu, i agree with u.
    in engineering, it is not easy to have what u want.
    many things u have to consider:
    which regulation/codes should it adhere to?
    what material should the system fit the optimum design condition?
    by how much the efficiency of the system?
    hmm..:thinking:

• dwan (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 1:06 pm

To the ppl that always wanted safety concern in this p1 MPV they should check this news about an accident happens in North-South Highway.
    From what happen to the Toyota Avanza we now know that what ever company that making a car, if the car driven over the speed limit it cant survive a crash and totally become a nightmare.
    One more thing is the driver must not dreaming when driving a car.
    So, think again if u want to drive so fast like a devil on the road even this p1 MPV also cant save u.
    Remember drive with care not with moron…..etc

http://www.hmetro.com.my/Current_News/myMetro/Monday/Setempat/20090202093747/Article/index_html

About what tokmoh said about the steering wheel of this p1 mpv just like in the Ford Fiesta, hmmm I still doubt it is 100% same its still got diff. In Honda Civic also diff.
    Check this 2 links:
    Ford Fiesta:
    http://www.thetorquereport.com/2009_ford_fiesta_8.jpg

Honda Civic:
    http://multiauto-honda.pl/photos/Civic/civic5d_8.jpg

And last think I wanna said is about our Malaysian perception to local company car maker, is it hard to we to type a supportive word, huh??
    Even u cant or don’t want to buy their products.
    Think of this, if we continue support foreign car makers, their tech become more superb, they can gain more profit and their country become richer than ours and what we have to proud of that??? Then our local company become more outdated and we cant even have new invention because of no supporter.. and also our market 100% controlled by them want to be like that??
    This situation is more typical and sad, so saddest like “Cerita Pak Kaduk: Menang sorak, kampung tergadai” nothing to proud of. :(
    Think, think and think “cerewet” Malaysian….. -_-

• madimat (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 1:49 pm

Si-Fu,

Remember that bashers will always bash, that is what they do. Doesnt matter if the knobs are ugly or functional or state-of-the-art or made of 24-carat gold and have a luxury feel or whatever,…..they will always find a way to bash. Just ignore them and keep in mind that there are many and many people out there who are proud of Proton and are very eager to touch and feel this latest product. Many are even dreaming and cant wait to own it especially the people like me, ‘The Orang Kampung’ type. What is wrong for being born as a Orang Kampung and owning a Proton anyway ..?

…well bashers will always comment on Proton owners anyway, .. so be it.

To Si-Fu and the gang – keep up the good work and all the best. 2+ months to go !.. he he

.peace!

• scaniaV10 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 3:00 pm

100% agree with Si-Fu..

PROTON team..keep up excellent job!!.. i really fascinated from zero your team can built up 1st MPV..truley malaysian..

those bashers..
    simple justification by their own perception.. most Malaysian so much ‘cerewet’!! but if given them the job..thay cant do what they said..same la like some politician.. “banyak cakap saja!!” like a ‘professor’… but ‘poor’..

:)

not appreciating others effort..hardness of automotive industrial..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 4:04 pm

mct said,
    February 4, 2009 @ 12:35 am

Prem3377?
    using malaysia part can deserve to have a lesser tax ??
    if that is true , why city is selling at 84k instead of 60k which city is using malaysia part as well !
    still i can buy a 90k camry at labuan !!!

Labuan is equally tax free la MR MCT…

i must ask you why honda cant sell city at cheaper price..dont ask me..its not out tax structure..i think you didnt get what i meant!!!!or y questions..and if you dont know how to answer dont just answer something else to make yourself look smart..

CKD does not mean 100% malaysia part..and honda city uses lesser malaysian parts..so its why the price is higher..but my question is..even with taxes..honda city can be priced at around rm 75000 based the E type..so honda malaysia is more profit minded…the know our malaysian people weakness..they are making a hefty profit when the sell such cars here!!!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 4:26 pm

mct said,

wish vs innova, pls compare them on every aspect
    on engine : innova engine only putting out 138ps and wish is putting 150ps
    transmission: innova offer 4 speed auto without + – gear but wish does
    chasis : innova offer a trunk based which is not comfort ! , wish offer monocoque with rear double wishbone suspension !
    safety: ladder frame doesn’t provide safety as good as monocoque , plus wish is offering vsc and trc !
    aircond: double blower on innova , single blower on wish and wish do have aircond vent on the second row ,under the front passenger and driver seat

haha! proton car price lower then competitor ? who said ? do you see whats inside the proton and what inside other car company ??
    why not fair to compare wish to proton mpv ? they are in the same league which is . IF PROTON SELL THIS MPV AT THAILAND , IT COMPETITOR WILL BE MAZDA 5 , TOYOTA WISH . which will you choose when this 3 car is put together ?? mazda 5 is offering power sliding door, 5 speed auto trans and climate control. wish is offering vsc,trc which good for safety ,and climate control , +- gear shift . what do proton have to compete with them ? large cabin maybe ? other than that ???

_______________________________________________________________________-

see for yourself…when it comes to innova you can see those difference…and comparing them..again you tried to act smart..but you made yourself stupid cause you said innova and wish not the same class due to engine capacity..

and how do you see similarities between this Proton MPV and toyota wish??care to explain??

since you said based on engine capacity…toyota wish 1.8 to 2.0..but this mpv is 1.6

if you say based on BHP,then this mpv should be 125..wish 140 to 150 plus..

if you say based on chassis…toyota wish independent suspensions all around and proton MPV with beam axle at the rear..

if you say say price..its impossible..

if you say dimensions..we dont know yet…

so how do you clearly and surely say this mpv is competing with toyota wish or mazda 5???

please dont simply assume…we will have to wait till this proton MPV is launch sold in thailand or indonesia and then we can compare the sales volume..but they will never be in the same class as wish or Mazda 5!!!

secondly..proton cars is cheaper that japanese cars..

simple..we go to tax free enviroment now k…proton persona SE..the h line is about rm 47 k in langkawi and labuan..and honda city is rm 58 k..high spec too..so which is cheaper?????persona has leather seats,sat navi,dual airbag,abs,and ebd..so spec wise its similar to honda city..so please dont complain or compare those case cause we are talking about class here k?

so lets end this argument cause its a fact and you cant deny facts….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 4:36 pm

mct said,

about the lancer and civic and altis thing. tat is a price war !
    mitsubishi wanted more sells with less profit .

this is common . hyundai also can sell same class car with lesser price, how ? by cutting some cost (hyundai actually own an steel company which hyundai car didn’t subject to high price steel as other car company which have to buy steel at higher price from other steel company ). and hyundai always be the most affordable car with high standard of quality ! even proton price in foreign country is higher than hyundai . for an example , the aventa (elantra ) in singapore is selling at 37k with 1.6 cvvt and manual trans, while the persona is selling at 40k . which will you choose ??

where do you get your fact/pricing from??persona 40K in singapore?and aventa is 37K??for your info..in singapore tax is much higher than malaysia so its impossible for the prices to be at as much as you mentioned!!!

and about the price war…since you said mitsubishi PRICED it cheaper..to sell more cars..its true…but they didnt sell more that their competitor..but yet the do make profit..

so this shows honda and toyota do make a hefty profit out of honda civic and toyota altis..their reasonable price should be around rm 100K only but they simply blame those NAP and taxes to price their car high!!!that the reason they all price it so similar even if its CBU or CKD….

and about hyundai..they are fair in pricing their car and i do agree with you about hyundai..i was driving the hyundai santa fe(the latest version) for a few weeks..i dont own then..company’s car..and it was way much better and economical than japanese makes..yet in malaysian people dont appreciate..same goins to kia optima and hyundai sonata..those cars are good as well!!

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 6:31 pm

Dear MCT

Car prices in malaysia is high not due to the tax but because dumb@ss malaysians still buy them at such stupid prices…

case 1 Vios
    Toyota can make and sell the Avanza at 60K+ (at a profit). Then by right the Vios should only be 50k+ since it is cheaper to make (less steel, less parts, less seat, less windows and so on) but people buy it at 80k+. Ha ha suckers!

case 2 Suzuki
    How come you can buy a CBU JAPAN 1.6 Suzuki sedan for less tha 100k when CKD Altis is much more expensive? Like I said, people are stupid and don’t want to think…

• unitedtas (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 7:22 pm

for once i hv to agree with sifu. designing cars from scratch n putting them into production n then finally rolling them out from assembly plant IS NOT as easy as ABC as some ppl perceive it to be.

• brutal_driverz (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:41 pm

whateverlah,tunggu the lunch daylah.proton just 26 years old,cannot compare it with other “otai” manufacturers.but some people say that proton give more quality product for foreign countries,betul ker?si-fu and azlano please answer that.i think its interior quite ok.kalu diambil dashboard neo punya design lagi bagus,kalau x bolehpun,xperlah.hanya proton yang tahu apa yang terbaik they will offer kat pengguna.as a beginner car manufacturer,i don’t think critics is the best way to analyse proton.but comment negatif yang membina okaylah,bahkan ia digalakan.like human being when it ages 26 atau lagi muda,kalau wat salah kat sesiapa pun kira normallah,isn’t it?At least proton have its own product,not just rebadge other car and consider it as national car.i did not understand why we must get angry to jeremy when he destroy kelisa sometime ago.actualy,that car is japan cars.or in other word,”japanese-rebadged malaysian car”!!!!!!get it clear?proton in the right path now.showlah some support to proton,susah sangat ke?aparaaa……

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Sifu,

After carefull study on leaked image, the white one, gaps on the bonnet (near headlamp going to A pillar) quite obvious. yes its a pre-prod so i guess those wont be there on the actual commercial unit. continue your work and we’re expecting your nice suprise.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:44 am

dwan,

Hmm…. ya oh, eheheheh. But hey, there is still some resemblance someway ;) . Whenever I think of Fiesta, I can think of a stylish hatchback that’s much better lookin than Jazz whereas when I think of H Civic I can think of…. Japanese. Which is a polite way of saying their design = phail

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 8:45 am

goguncas71, you are spot on.

its all marketing.. and like you said, but i’m saying it slightly differently.. why sell your car at RM90,000, when you know it will still sell as well at RM120,000? btw, all companies do this.

you price your product at a price you know people will buy it at, not what you think is a good price. thats one of the basic principles of marketing.

in the case of honda and toyota, its the power of their brand.. brand commands loyalty, aspiration..etc. etc. its because of their brand, they can do what they do. the other lesser brands have no choice but to price lower, as they can never compete at the same price.

take the polo gti. VW had trouble moving those cars end of last year.. starting out at near RM140k, they offered discounts down to RM120k.. and still they couldnt sell them all.. and eventually, they lowered the price to RM99k and all were sold after that. i’m pretty sure at RM99k, they still made some money. so is it really because of taxes that their cars are priced so high? i’ll leave it to you guys to decide for yourself.

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:08 pm

wisdom,

we are well aware of the gap that u mentioned…but do rest assured its being taken care of….moreover, the pics u r seeing is just a prototype version so its subjected to design changes.

cheers!

• 460 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:31 pm

i think that sifu had made his points. it doeasnt matter whether the mpv using the independant setup or torsion beam, the most important thing is how u setup the suspension. did u know that even civic type r (UK specs) also using torsion beam axle on its rear suspension. MARK MY WORD, CIVIC TYPE R UK SPEC. so if SOMEBODY mention wish is better than proton mpv because it using DOUBLE WISHBONE, then it means that it is better handling compare to civic type r, toyota altis, vios and city????????????? Come on, reality check, proton owns lotus,one of the best car tuner in the world, even kia enlisted lotus to tune its upcoming kia soul. not to mention aston martin and also toyota. Don’t you notice why lotus cars use toyota engine??? because toyota have good relation with lotus. (actually, lotus tune their car and engine). if you are so proud of japanesse cars, even malaysian company involve in the making (even lotus is not malaysian car maker,but it is own by malaysian company, automatically anything involve lotus will involve proton) Smile……

• farghmee (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:33 pm

i’m relieved since si-fu commented that the pics were of prototype.
    so the pics must be “old” by now.

• Imran (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:54 pm

Si-fu, just a little comment though, will Proton use this steering wheel in the final design? It’s nice, yeah its also almost quite the same with the Honda design ones. But, can you put a better ‘touch’ on the Proton logo on the steering wheel? let say an colour proton emblem, or chrome ones..just like honda did..

http://paultan.org/photo/undisguised-proton-mpv-spyshot/ProtonMPV-1.jpg.php

http://paultan.org/photo/2009-Honda-City-Test-Drive-Review/2009-Honda-City-Test-Drive-Review-057.jpg.php

• mct (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 2:12 am

singapore cannot get 40k sgd car ?
    prem8877 you must be kidding me
    the 37k is due to discount . normal price will be 40k sgd
    by the way , you should try the link in paul first page at the bottom, there are 1 story which is perodua myvi enter singapore market with 42 and 44k
    the spec is similar myvi ezi and sxi . the daihatsu sirrion(myvi bro) is selling 39k for 1.3 auto with 4 airbags also.

let’s wait the proton released the mpv and prove me wrong or what so ever

• ardley (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 8:50 am

I just want to comment on Made in Malaysia product….

I don’t know Merc ‘S’ Class is produce in Pekan!!!! And is the only production in Asia… So, our people also good in making car….. So, why we hate product made from Malaysia? Think man!!!!!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 9:47 am

mct said,
    February 6, 2009 @ 2:12 am

singapore cannot get 40k sgd car ?
    prem8877 you must be kidding me
    _____________________________________–

end of the day, what has the price of cars in singapore got to do with malaysia? or the proton mpv? unless of course we dont live in malaysia. so i really dont see any relevance at all. we can talk till the cows come home about cheaper cars in the US and the UK.. etc. etc. etc. but the facts are, as long as we live in malaysia, these are the prices we are faced with.

• 460 (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 10:47 am

dear mr mct,what premm8877 really said that we cannot get rm 40 k car in singapore. if the car is 40k sgd, it means that it price is around rm 80k++ in malaysia ringgit. so, the car u mention, hyundai is really overprice compare to our malaysian price. if u really love singapore, why dont u buy car at singapore rather than buying car in malaysia since u really like to use singapore price as ur comparison…..i have friends around the world, and they always complaining about their countries. they are no perfect country in the world. even us car prices is lower compare to malaysia, even a family with income 80k usd peryear cannot survive in US. Please watch oprah winfrey this week. now u know, even malaysian people who had income around rm36k br bleh survive.

• cars-addict (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 10:07 pm

woi malaysians,

kalau korang dah tak suka dgn model mpv proton ni, diam je la…lgpn korang yg tak suka model ni bkn nk beli pn kan..jgn la kutuk proton ikut sdp mulut je..fkr la kesusahan proton nk hasilkan sebuah model…korang ingt senang mcm baca ABC ke???proton buat sesuatu model tu berdasarkan kemampuan rakyat malaysia ni…kalau korang yg tak suka mpv ni dah banyak duit sangat,beli la kereta impian korang tu…tak pyh beli mpv ni….tahu komen je…..

SUPPORT PROTON 100%

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 12:47 am

i’ve been in sungai buloh industrial park to go to my job site every month. months b4, i saw a banner on a factory bulding. that factory if i’m not wrong is JEBCO which produce rubber-based product. but today, i saw the banner was at its neighbour factory building beside it which is AP (ACE POLYMERS) factory. the banner on AP building sounds like this:

“coming soon
    Malaysia’s 1st MPV
    the best quality ever from us”

the banner is in orange colour and has proton logo on it and also has the outline of the MPV shape (like the teaser at proton tech week). am i the only person in this blog to see that banner? if yes, i wanna know whether those factories are vendors for some of the mpv body parts. if they are the vendors, we have to check if they had quality issues products b4 so that we can know how the quality of some of the mpv body parts. right si-fu?

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 12:56 am

The initial concept sketch of the Proton MPV interior during the tech week showed that the ac vent near the door on both sides was round shaped. but here, in the photo the ac vent is rectangular shaped. but overall shape of the interior is the same.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 12:59 am

Ace Polymers (M) Sdn Bhd is a bumiputera, manufacturing company based in Selangor, Malaysia. The main products are plastic components for automotive industry, insulated containers and other plastic-based products.

• williamcarz (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:22 am

I also support “cars addict” said……cheers proton keep up the good work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if the price is reasonable i will buy it definitely.

• Ey_3AT (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 2:59 am

ermm.. using cheap material use 4 da dashboard.. n da stering wheel looks same like the Honda stering wheel.. not good la.. :(

• stroller (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 9:51 am

i’m agree with u “cars addict” and “williamcarz”….
    dah la nak mengutuk jer… macam tak sedar diri lak dorang tu lahir membesar kat malaysia…. lagi nak membanggakan barang negara lain…. macam la barang luar tu 100% baguz…. the choice is ur’s….

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 10:51 am

romeo-misteri:

Yes they are some of the local vendors that supply parts for the MPV. Infact, most of the local vendors are encouraged to place that banner, to ensure the public are aware about the MPV and it also kinda ad stratergy. U can even see it in the main plant in shah alam, if u pass by the Proton factory. The banner is hung everywhere. Regarding the quality of the parts from vendor, we have a ‘special system’ for the MPV to monitor the vendor in terms of, process, production, and most importantly the QUALITY! So rest assured that Proton is really putting its customer’s satisfaction as FIRST PRIORITY for this new baby!

Cheers and Have a Great Weekend!

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 10:54 am

Ey_3AT said,
    February 7, 2009 @ 2:59 am

ermm.. using cheap material use 4 da dashboard.. n da stering wheel looks same like the Honda stering wheel.. not good la..

=================================
    si-fu said, <– this is si-fu :D
    February 5, 2009 @ 12:08 pm

we are well aware of the gap that u mentioned…but do rest assured its being taken care of….moreover, the pics u r seeing is just a prototype version so its subjected to design changes.

————————————————————-

Aiya… still throw comment like this ha..? si-fu already said that, MPV’s on this pics still a pre-production model maa… not yet a final design… that why that dashboard lack of texture, not yet wrapped by leather ma… not only honda use this shape of steering wheel la… more others car manufacturers use similar shape la….when ppl said it’s use square airconds vent… new Toyota Passo Sette 7 seater oso square ma… but the centre console really need to be change :D

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 10:55 am

aiya.. why my comment always late or never came out?? letih mau taip …

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 11:31 am

More often than not, its the design which reflect the end result.

Yes we have been plague with proton parts quality. But to Proton models derive from Mitsubishi, sourcing Mitsubishi original parts usually solved the problem.

Thankfully Proton has been working hard to improve its parts and supplies. We can see less parts-related problem on recent models (Persona, Saga)

However my concern is more towards the design & engineering. For example, earlier batches of Gen2 haw quite a few design flaw. To name a few; very narrow steering angle- need a very wide space for u turn. Also rear hatch which accumulate water and its splashed-in upon opening the boot.

Another obvious error on Gen2 design, very thick door rubber. Yes the goal was sincere, to ensure solid seal. But the result: door hard to close, causing the owner to smashed, forcing the door to close or open. The results, inner door component including power window mechanism easily spoils after some times, door handle broken after frequent force-open.

However those issues generally has been sorted out with Persona and current Gen2. I hope this wonderful Proton MPV wont have such design error to start with…

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Wisdom said,
    February 7, 2009 @ 11:31 am
    Another obvious error on Gen2 design, very thick door rubber. Yes the goal was sincere, to ensure solid seal. But the result: door hard to close, causing the owner to smashed, forcing the door to close or open. The results, inner door component including power window mechanism easily spoils after some times, door handle broken after frequent force-open.

Difficulty in closing/openning (espc openning) doors on Gen2 is not due to door weather-strips, but rather the alignment of the door-latch with striker. Some adjustment to these parts will do the trick.

As for broken outer door handles, this problem is not isolated to Proton. The trick to a longer lasting door handle is the way you grab it. To open a car door from outside, always rest your thumb on the door n pull the handle with the rest of your fingers. Your thumb will work like a pivot. Go on, give it a try. You might feel awkward, but you’ll get use to it.

Hope these tips helped.

• tepung_cap_sauh (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 2:12 pm

can anyone calculate the true dimension of this mpv using the rim size in that pictures? if rim size in picture 2′, the actual size 15′, so the canculation method is 15’/2′.. and scale ratio 7.5′:1 right?

• awak (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 8:08 pm

sifu,
    when will neo cps will be in the showroom, cause im preparing to replace my nonCPS,
    because i know cps is exciting,
    so roughly when?

i think no harm if a little hint for the public, because the public need preparation and decision.

• awak (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 10:04 pm

hey i look a fraction of satria neo facelift/cps/?/ on PT forum,
    -tempting!

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 3:12 pm

awak, i have info regarding neo cps, launch this friday

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Awak, frankly speaking (and sorry to say), i dont know when the Neo CPS is going to be launched…i hope fastcx is correct regarding the friday launch, since i am also excited to see the public reaction towards the car. One ting for sure the car is ready, so its up to the management to decide when to launch the car. Talking about tempting, initially i was tempted when i drove the car, (very early stage, when the exterior not done yet)….now after seeing the exterior styling, it made me think of changing my current car numerous times because it LOOKS SUPER GEORGEOUS!!!!!…i wish i could describe it here, but lets just wait for its official launch ya….btw, fastcx, where did u get ur info from? I really hope ur info is reliable and correct!

Cheers!

• rsrulz (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 8:18 pm

i really hope that the neo cps is being launched this friday. I’m really looking forward to the launch that car. I’m most probably going to change my kelisa to that. my kelisa is already very old. i’ve also started to accept the fact that this mpv will use 1.6 engine, i trust that it will be powerful enough. i bet it will still be more powerful than 1.3 avanza. CONGRATS to proton and thanks to si-fu for giving us useful info the whole way.

• farghmee (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 10:34 am

offtopic>>

neo cps this friday? where will the launch take place?
    hahaha..eager to see :)

sifu, don’t change savvy la, still good what :)

• tayar kitar semula (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 12:40 pm

nampak iklan “apa salahnya menongkah arus” dalam paper semalam… iklan neo cps ke? maknanya dalam sehari dua ni….
    satu lagi… aku punye handle pintu pemandu gen2 tahun 2006 patah 2 hari lepas..huhuhuhu…
    balik dari jakarta minggu lepas…. market proton MPV memang untuk Indon… wow!!

• Nakal (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 12:47 pm

fastcx, u re protonian?

• Alex in wonderland (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 2:06 pm

I love it at the first sight. Hoping the price tag will not be a burden to ordinary people like me, then I will sure buy it. :)

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 1:09 am

1st thing 1st, its more like a press release, morning for press, afternoon till evening for club members test drive(very limited, 5person maybe, i cnt say more). im not working for proton, js satrianeoclub.com.my’s member. let’s c how things turn out, i feel they just want it being quiet

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 1:29 am

i heard a rumour Neo CPS will launch this friday at 2.30PM at APEC Subang…is it fastcx?

• Nakal (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 9:15 am

MisterBenjo, its ‘APAC’… Asia Pacific Auction Center..at Subang airport

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Can we go there or they only invite certain people?How bout u Paul did they invite u?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:55 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 4:12 pm

Can we go there or they only invite certain people?How bout u Paul did they invite u?

like all product launches, and not just cars, its usually by invite.
    unless those done at public venues..etc. proton has done some rather public ones before.. with the gen2 launch in 2003, and also persona se. i believe the satria neo and saga launches were also open to the public after the actual launches

• hajime (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Seriously, from the photos it doesnt look good. The front, the side… doesn’t seem ‘stylo’… not to mention the interior… guess that’s local design for us.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 8:41 am

hajime said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

Seriously, from the photos it doesnt look good. The front, the side… doesn’t seem ’stylo’… not to mention the interior… guess that’s local design for us.

are you someone who is convinced that anything from malaysia is no good, or you have never seen any other MPV’s made by other manufacturers?

there are plenty of MPV’s out there designed in China, US, Japan, Korea…etc. that i’m pretty sure, can be categorized as not ‘stylo’, and in fact some are just downright ugly.

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:22 pm

MisterBenjo, location is correct, but its just for the invited

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:27 pm

hajime said,

February 10, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

Seriously, from the photos it doesnt look good. The front, the side… doesn’t seem ’stylo’… not to mention the interior… guess that’s local design for us.
    —————————————————
    Nah, its just ur eyes’ problem :P

• awak (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:59 pm

i hope that both the proton mpv and satria neo cps is priced at affordable level so that again its peoples car (mpv), and peoples sport car to be,
    makes them flooded on our road and highways.

sifu, is there anything beyond CPS for this newer neo like force feed?
    since the hint from the past picture the test model having some sort of intercooler inserted at the lower air intake.?

• kurakura (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 2:35 pm

Rumor,

The new name for Proton MPV is – SUASA

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 3:04 pm

heard a rumour, Proton new MPV price will not exceed more than RM79/otr for HI-LINE Auto/manual…the interior is…hm.. just wait for the officially launch k..they are more other rumours that i heard for this new mpv… For the price tag like this, i would consider to bring back home one unit…. i will choose HI-LINE auto!! :) and, who will we in the same boat with me? anyone? :) :) :)

• Mienzz (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 3:46 pm

Mitsubishi Grandis+Toyota Wish+Lotus Handling=PROTON MPV !!

• davv (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 3:52 pm

The front looks just like Mazda 5…steering like Honda and god knows what else….This is truly a lazy copy everywhere and paste job….

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm

correction
    heard a rumour, Proton new MPV price will not exceed more than RM79k/OTR for HI-LINE Auto/manual…the interior is…hm.. just wait for the officially launch k..they are more other rumours that i heard for this new mpv… For the price tag like this, i would consider to bring back home one unit…. i will choose HI-LINE auto!! and, who will we in the same boat with me? anyone?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 5:40 pm

davv said,
    February 11, 2009 @ 3:52 pm

The front looks just like Mazda 5…steering like Honda and god knows what else….This is truly a lazy copy everywhere and paste job….

maybe you can share with us just how many truly original MPV designs are out there today..?

if you say the proton looks like the mazda 5, but it also looks like a grandis, and in some ways, they all share some similarity with a wish, and i’m sure you can find many more similarities if you looked again…

• HafidzMoro (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 10:16 am

I think design wise they copy here n there all because of u guys also laa..keep complaining this and that..do new design then later say not nice laa,too fancy laa..this car better laa..follow this better laa..they want this to become ‘sell able’ so..just absorb all those rubbish complains as long follow market needs laa..

Im a designer, i also understand what malaysian client always cant accept new ideology and new design direction..at last just do whichever similar to what in market..then only no complains..sigh..no adventure at all!

• davv (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:41 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    February 11, 2009 @ 5:40 pm

davv said,
    February 11, 2009 @ 3:52 pm

maybe you can share with us just how many truly original MPV designs are out there today..?

if you say the proton looks like the mazda 5, but it also looks like a grandis, and in some ways, they all share some similarity with a wish, and i’m sure you can find many more similarities if you looked again…
    ———————————————————=
    Errr…..pls read my post carefully….I said ‘copy everywhere’ not ‘similarity’….and how on earth you can find similarity from Wish and Mazda 5??? Of course these days cars do have some similarity on certain areas but not to the extend of so rojak of copying from few cars and put it into one…Got what i mean??

• farghmee (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 3:28 pm

is there any difference between “copy” & “similarity” in layman term?
    “copy” is often loosely use to convey the meaning of “similar”.

imo, similarity is the proper word to use.
    copy is the exact replica of the copied model.
    no one will foolishly copy from others & claim to be his/hers.

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 4:00 pm

aenz81,

haha, i am also interested to buy this mpv for my father…
    but he can’t hide his worry, not because of its price…
    the length…hahah,senang ka parking kat bandar nnt…
    the Hi-Line with AT is better for him,health problem…
    then i will take his Persona…
    i am proud because my family using Proton cars…

• ManNero (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 7:32 pm

my colleague whose sister is working with PE told him that the price range is between RM 70500 to RM 74500. not sure how true it is…but i sure hope its true bcoz with that price it will surely tapau habis…

i saw a lot of posts about 1.8 engine and as sifu said, there will only be 1.6 engine and i actually had the opportunity to drive alongside the MPV on NSE from pedas linggi to senawang. the MPV had 3 people inside and it was doing 140km. good accelaration..cant wait to see it in showroom.

• Tengokaje.. on Feb 13, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Emmm… price wise I think it should not over RM75k.(including H-line)

other than that just wait for the official launching.

• Samsuddin Hamid on Feb 13, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Harga yang agak mahal (RM75k), untuk MPV tempatan. Sepatutnya below RM70K. Dashboard yang langsung tidak menarik…serta penggunaan warna merah pada meter kurang sesuai (gunakan warna lebih sejuk spt biru atau hijau.

• vEeRa on Feb 14, 2009 at 8:37 am

hoho…got lcd screen plus dvd player bah inside…dont believe???…just wait n c…

• Mienzz on Feb 14, 2009 at 9:00 am

penggunaan warna merah pada meter kurang sesuai (gunakan warna lebih sejuk spt biru atau hijau.

• s=v=ntinth boy on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:11 pm

why not proton fit GPRS NAVI for their currently products?? the typical designing of dashboard only create a dull atmosphere in cabin,even my uncle's 2001 honda civic fitted by GPRS..but of all, i like proton..even i never enjoy the feeling of driving…

• Malaysian on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:35 am

very nice and reasonable price for a national MPV.

• Jake02 on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:09 am

i cant belive that no-one else sees the Mazda5 EVERYWHERE in this Proton! The Mazda5 is even sold in Malaysia!

• chap_de_x on Feb 16, 2009 at 6:33 am

just wait and see u will be surprise with the amount of thing u get for the price u pay…its definitely worth it for me…1 and a half month to go….

• s=v=ntinth boy on Feb 16, 2009 at 6:14 pm

why the tyres are too small?? didnt match with the huge body…

• Bodow on Feb 16, 2009 at 7:41 pm

MPV nampak besar wehh mcm Grandis aku . Kalau 1.6 gilo mana larat nak angkut gajah nie naik bukit , 1.8 pun akan struggle uphill .

Depan mcm Grandis habis …. tapi ok kalau price below 80k …. sedap skit balik kampung ramai2 . Dalam inteior nampak dull skit , could have been better

• brutaldriverz on Feb 16, 2009 at 9:02 pm

i think mitsu will add there and there to this 1.6 engine to make it powerfull.but i think….PROTON!!!!!just use gema engine by mitsu(1.8 and above),i dont trust the 1.6 one that will "hirup minyak".

• brutal_driverz on Feb 16, 2009 at 9:08 pm

Paul,why change your comment system frequently?just troubling me…..

• chap_de_x on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:07 am

Bodow said,

MPV nampak besar wehh mcm Grandis aku . Kalau 1.6 gilo mana larat nak angkut gajah nie naik bukit , 1.8 pun akan struggle uphill .

Depan mcm Grandis habis …. tapi ok kalau price below 80k …. sedap skit balik kampung ramai2 . Dalam inteior nampak dull skit , could have been better

——————————————————————-

mr bodow no offense but bigger body does not mean big weight…you will be surprise to read this mpv spec when its come out…do compare it with other marque in term of power to weight ratio too ok

• Bodow on Feb 17, 2009 at 4:24 pm

i'm sure every car manufacturer would try to minimize the kerb weight but there's a limit , once you have an MPV this size …1.6 or 1.8 is just too small engine displacement , how much torque can you squeeze then unless turbo-charged . Even my Grandis 2.4 struggles a bit up a hill fully loaded .

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Ok guys! Here's what you all hv been waiting for! The cat's out of the bag! Here goes.

Introducing the all new PROTON EXORA. 1.6 CPS DOHC. Max output : 127ps/6500rpm. Max torque : 150Nm/4500rpm. Gross weight : 1380kg.

Source : unitedtas (askd me to post).

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Winner in naming MPV : Norsholihan bt Abdul Eanich.

To be priced under RM80K. Cost of R & D : RM450mil

• ahmad on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:16 pm

anyhow …. the perception is anything from proton is loyarrrr ….. even if the real bmw put with proton sticker …. the people still say the car is loyarrrr because of proton sticker not because of the quality of the car …. that is the perception ….

• KaDioSan on Feb 17, 2009 at 11:39 pm

Hmm….. after Saga BLM and Gen2 CPS, at least some improvement was done. Doesn't matter who copy who, as long as the car is worth 90% of what we paid, then that does it.

Honestly speaking 1.6 DOHC is kinda small displacement or torque for the body from its outlook, unless it looks lighter that it is. Auto transmission, not much hope on it, but I believe manual transmission still can "tarik lembu" up hill.

My point is, if it is for a family, it do worth for the $$$ for the time being. Takan u bawa ur family speed 170km/h on highway kan? Balik kampung smooth smooth jalan shouldn't be a uncosy travel in this piece of metal.

7 seater? Hmm…. Avanza and Innova do said that 7 seat, but the rear most part "should be" for kids and small size ppl, not for me of coz….110KG. Hope this car can outrun their point.

Can't comment on Fuel Consumption. I believe FC depends on driving attitude and road condition. A Saga that travel higway most of the time vs a Saga that travel in the city which full of jam, whose FC will be higher? Or same case, one have to go up Genting for work and one just work on flat land. More power = high FC, that's all.

• David on Feb 18, 2009 at 12:16 am

450m R&D…well…they have to sell alot of those to recover that amount ~..~

• oh my….u call that car????…..it looks more like a bullet rather than a car….it sux…

• Atayapan on Feb 18, 2009 at 4:39 am

Dari segi body ala Toyota Wish… agak cool looking tapi masih lagi nampak tiada beza dengan reka bentuk MPV yang lain… Harap di keluaran akan datang lebih berketerampilan dari MPV yang lain agar kita setanding dari segi rekaan automotif sedunia… SYABASSS PROTON!!!

• yusman darmawan on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:27 am

price for hiline rm74,500

price for mline rm 70,500

price not more then rm 80,000

*engine 1.6 campro cps n vim

*automatic viper…cool…

it worth compare to avanza…

• pesot on Feb 18, 2009 at 5:05 pm

a 1.6l engine to carry that huge body? u gotta be kidding. yes, it'll run fine on a straight leveled road… but when it comes to climbing… this thing can causes traffic jam at the genting sepah highway… just my 2 cent…

• Jimmy on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Tengok dari jauh rupa macam toyota innova,tapi tengok dekat macam kereta angkat keranda pergi kubu….

• Toyota Fan on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:59 pm

MPV Toyota Avanza 1.5 G tetap pilihan ku kini dan selamanya…………….

• Avanza has a big body but 1.3 and 1.5 and you see them everywhere fully loaded on the highway zoom here and there. enough power for most people who don't tekan when all of their loved ones are on-board. it meets most middle income people objective to transport big family comfortably but with a modest budget.

exora's concept is the same too. it just meets most rakyat's requirement. they want an mpv to carry 5-6 family members comfortably, who don't require big engines that could affect them when roadtax renewal time and at petrol pump time and they don't speed gila-gila. parts would be cheap and any spare part shop would be stocking it. not forgetting accessories later…

an mpv this size coupled with a respectable 1.6 CPS engine, with rear blower, 2 air bags and price below RM80k. it will make it.

If my paycheck is big than i wouldn't be looking at exora because i'll be asking for 2.4 lah..V6 lah..leather lah, 20 air bags lah, cvvt, vvt, vti, ivtech..bla..blaa… so exora target market isn't people like me.

but some people have small budget but have big taste… so they rather buy 2nd hand 4-5 years big big mpvs like naza ria, grandis, estima etc..

• Bodow on Feb 18, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Anyhow this MPV is long overdue by about 4-5 yrs . Malaysians with kids really love MPV for its practicality . i laud Proton anyway for this MPV , better late than never . Hate to see too many Avanzas on the road

• brader_best on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:35 pm

Give around of appaluse to Proton. After 20 years we can see something which is different to anyone. Truely pround of you Proton Malaysia.

p/s a wish user which definately to have 1 of exora

• Avanza 1.5

Max output 80kW/Kerb weight 1110kg(VVT-i)

Wish

Max output 110kW/Kerb weight 1410kg(VVT-i)

Stream

Max output 103kW/Kerb Weight 1380kg(iV-Tec)

Exora 1.6

Max output 93kW/Kerb weight 1400(CPS)

Cuba bayangkan myvi guna enjin kancil 850?Sama la mcm exora,hehe…Confirm nissan vanette potong exora selamba kat highway….Aku pun confuse kenapa R&D proton guna sampai 450million hanya utk develop exora…enjin dah ada…just exterior and interior…itupun byk tiru grandis,etc….r&d proton totally busted….

• HafidzMoro (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 12:19 am

Aku pun confuse kenapa R&D proton guna sampai 450million hanya utk develop exora…enjin dah ada…just exterior and interior…itupun byk tiru grandis,etc….r&d proton totally busted….

——–

Sebab ko tak tau maknan R&D laa pasal tu ko cakap melalut…ko tak tau berapa tahun dorg buat keje..berapa kos nak bukak mould utk setiap barang n accecories..berapa kos nak bangunkan prototype..berapa kos nak tukar setting arm robot utk pasang..berapa banyak kos nak bayar pekerja utk project ni (designer engineer)i..berapa kos utk testing..berapa kos nak bayar kos intelectual property..berapa kos nak dpt approval utk drive and selamat digunakan…berapa kos utk test run..

yang org tau kos kalo nak masuk bengkel workshop je..takpon asyik pikir kos berapa nak habis kat kedai 'abang' or brothers..pastu dh dapat kat korang gi modified ekzos..gi tukar rim..pastu komplen slow laa ape laa..padahal engineer dh calculatye combustion dengan manifold size..dah calculate size tyre n rim utk kereta ni..pastu korang tukar..poastu ckp makan minyak laa slow naikbukit laa..

Malaysian –> "bagi betis nak peha"

• hotwheeler on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:37 am

haha…i like “bagi betis nak peha” thingy…am totally agreed with u hafidzmoro

• salute to Proton, another effort to bring back the glorious moment when the 1st generation Sagas and the Wiras became as one of popular car on our road a decade previously. I owned a 1992 Saga 1.5S and it still serves me better with simple proper maintenance although the body started to rust and from my observation, the rust looks caused by the adhesive which used to joint the body e.g roof, bonnet and boot lid to their support frames. what the surprise is the problem occured after the car reached its 10th years of age and the same other Sagas suffer it too. I think the 1st Saga's body is hard-to- getting-rust but because of the said adhesive the car's body got the unwanted rust. Hope Proton's future models will not experience the same said problem and for the new Proton Exora, wish it roaming on the road in great numbers for years ahead as the other brand of MPVs do. again, salute to Proton :-).

• boleh la exora, made in malaysia.Tapi x tau lah agak berapa lama akan masuk w'shop.

• ardley (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 1:28 am

tok sah gaduh2.. lagi 2 bulan je lagi launch… kalau sape yg nak beli, beli la.. Esok dah bukak booking.. for sape yg nak beli Grandis.. Wish.. Stream, just go on… its your money maaaaaa… tak dak sape2 nak marah maaaa when you buy any car you one…. hehehehehe..

**kita tgk ape reaksi kaki komen nih bila Exora launch nnt. or may be they are the firsth to serbu showroom… (terlebih excited..)

**jgn marah aaaaa……

• afroiq (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 12:14 pm

thats right ardley, those basher will be the first in Proton Edar, to test this Exora..

i like the design and all it feature, value for money, if you want more, then buy other make..its that easy, if you cant afford others, then wake up la..beli apa yang kau mampu..

• msian (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 8:34 pm

[quote comment="209702"]why not proton fit GPRS NAVI for their currently products?? the typical designing of dashboard only create a dull atmosphere in cabin,even my uncle's 2001 honda civic fitted by GPRS..but of all, i like proton..even i never enjoy the feeling of driving…[/quote]

dude…isnt that suppose to be GPS…????

• msian (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 8:35 pm

i like..

• NA (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:00 am

70K would be very affordable… just a suggestion. Possible Proton?

Include GPS navigator for optional item (with ready hidden connectivity) would be great too.

With that price, for sure more people will go for this over made in China or made in Korean, consider the fact that Korean parts are higher price than Proton local or made in Taiwan Proton parts.

I am using made in China apple computers and most of my stuff at home are made in China or either its contents are made in China, and yet, am still not convince about made in China cars. Same like i don't buy Nike shoes made in China. I just can't keep them for long. But I admit that the latest chinese cars are as pretty as chinese girls.

From what dealer verbal quote of 75K for Proton MPV for 3.75%…that is about 13K difference from Grand Livina 1.6 (A), it would not make much of different for people who apply for 7 years loan… just RM200 extra or maybe lower with Nissan offering lower interest rate. Unless EON bank can come out with lowest interest rate?

• phanter on Feb 25, 2009 at 4:25 am

Just photos won't convince me now. The car not even launch and ask ppl to book? I am not stupid la (and I don't even want one considering many bad Proton service experience that I had). Looks good on the outside, but inside still a question mark. Many things are unclear in this photo. Not another Savvy "Fu-yoh" thing I hope. Any of the car technology in this Proton that is not from other countries? Can we define one technology that is researched entirely in M'sia alone? Everything looks like copied from some other foreign imported cars. Although, Proton looks like getting started to play catch up with other bigger car makers but still, I don't see any local technology used here. Even Korean cars are getting close to Toyota/Honda. Malaysian cars are best for people who is not looking for a lot of things like those in foreign cars.

• And again, Proton dissapoint me with a design with a lot of flaws. Why would we need an another Wish or Grand Livina which have already in our market few yrs ago? this stuff with such design would be ok if it`s has been in the market some 5 yrs ago and by now should be coming up for a facelift version. This shows that It`s a very long way for Proton to compete and breakthroughing global market.

• profuture on Feb 26, 2009 at 6:16 pm

ya. a long way to go.. exora is quit promissing. :) design wise not bad. Can be proud. Yaa. here n there can be improve to exora's next generation. Still remember first generation of Estima, Stream or Odyssey? hows look like, compared wit their latest generation?

Cheers! :)

• Arise on Feb 26, 2009 at 10:52 pm

[quote comment="213227"]thats right ardley, those basher will be the first in Proton Edar, to test this Exora..

i like the design and all it feature, value for money, if you want more, then buy other make..its that easy, if you cant afford others, then wake up la..beli apa yang kau mampu..[/quote]

Sorry to interrupt but I beg to differ this value for money thigny. Can you elaborate how this new product is value for money to you ? For eg, if you compare with let say Kia Rondo ?

• Ash Menon on Feb 27, 2009 at 12:40 am

lol. to all of you who are condemning the traitorous proton employee for leaking company secrets, i'd just like to let you know, that intentional leaking to create buzz and gossip is a very common and effective tactic used in marketing, regardless of the industry.

of course, if you were to tell a proton CEO about this leak, he'd definitely gasp in shock, but just don't be too surprised if you find him hurriedly switching off his computer monitor as you're entering the room. :)

• ex-protonian on Feb 28, 2009 at 11:41 am

i remembered of an old phrase

don't judge by its cover..

the previous issues with proton are not about its design, but the basic quality, no one knows the real worth of this MPV.. hopefully the gearbox doesn't fell off like it does for my previous proton!! not a joke, its true. whatever it is, i promised to myself to not to buy a proton even if i gets it for free, i will rather sell off and use a motorbike instead.. so disappointed, not once or twice.. but uncountable..

• maaja on Feb 28, 2009 at 11:48 am

-front looks like mazda 1st generation,

-steering – copied from 2006 honda civic/2009 new city

-rim copied from previous 2004 honda city i-dsi

-meter gauge lighting copied from ribena coloring contest – what a bad taste my god

– shifting panel copied from hesstar vacuum – its like a dustbin to collect rubbish?

• we love malaysia on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:41 pm

ok la..at least ade kemajuan..jgn tau nk menghentam je..bkn senang nk design sesebuah kereta…sesuai la dgn teknologi yg kita ade skrg..jgn la nk banding negara kite dgn jepun yg 10 tahun maju kehadapan..

• we love malaysia on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:43 pm

ok la..at least ade kemajuan..jgn tau nk menghentam je..bkn senang nk design sesebuah kereta…sesuai la dgn teknologi yg kita ade skrg..jgn la nk banding negara kite dgn jepun yg 10 tahun maju kehadapan..

• rubapoison kiss on Mar 01, 2009 at 2:51 am

boring saja tak cantik pun interiornya terlalu rinkas

• support proton cars on Mar 03, 2009 at 8:59 pm

tak baik tau kalau asyik menghentam proton tau, kesian die..ok lah proton exora tu..walaupun mpv tu copy sebjik sebijik cam mpv lain.tapi at least dorang dah buktikan yang malaysia boleh dan dorang boleh membina sebuah mpv!! cube korang tengok indonesia, thailand,singapura,burma, tak de brand sendiri kan ?!hey, bukan senang tau nak produce sebuah mpv. support lah sikit.kalau kite tak support malaysian brand.. sape lagi,

• support proton cars on Mar 03, 2009 at 9:10 pm

sudah 24 tahun proton bertapak,dalam mase tu proton da banyak belajar. jangan la pandang brand mitibishi,honda,toyota,etc.. dorang da lebih 50 tahun bertapak.. of course laa dorang lebih pro gile babi pasal kereta.. proton suda cuba sedaye upaye nak bwat exora.. alaaa…. aku mengaku yang brand len lebih power dari proton.. tapi try la support malaysian brand yang berusia 24 tahun nie.

• KENNY KHOR on Mar 03, 2009 at 10:25 pm

the price is still high. The taiwanese built a toyota wish with 2.0 l engine only at RM70,000.

• lancer_e2 on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:20 pm

biasa je kereta nie.. byk ciplak.. 24 thn still copy orang lain..

tak yah jauh la nak compare ngan mitshubishi, honda or toyota..

kia pun lebih kurang 30 years je in this industries.. but tgk je la macam mana diorang nyer kemajuan.. now they can sit among the top in car manufacturer..

• lancer_e2 on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:25 pm

afroiq wrote:

thats right ardley, those basher will be the first in Proton Edar, to test this Exora..

i like the design and all it feature, value for money, if you want more, then buy other make..its that easy, if you cant afford others, then wake up la..beli apa yang kau mampu..

CITRA LAGI MURAH LA..

NAK COMPARE ENJIN JAUH BEZA.. NAK COMPARE SPEC LAGI LA..

• satria neo on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:25 am

..its cherry..design almost same like cherry!..hahahah..what a joke la proton!!…feel ashame owning a neo now..

• autojohndoe on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:18 am

if similar to others… some said copy….

if totally different with others… some said "why dont do like wish?"

weird malaysian….

• abanglek on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:43 pm

aku ni totally malaysian, overrall aku cakap malaysia ni okay, comparing some other countries..

aku ni bukan jenis nak mengutuk (nak tgk orang mengutuk Proton, tengok kat http://www.topgear.com/uk/proton )

tapi yang okay aku cakap okay la, yang tak ok takkan le aku tak boleh cakap tak okay, tak membantu langsung la macam tu..

untuk kereta ni aku ada teori sendiri, kereta boleh gambarkan macamana sistem berjalan/dibuat dinegara pengeluar tu sendiri. contohnya:

1) japanese: simplify (but sometimes too simple), dikecikkan, dipadatkan, strict pada undang2, unik, berdisplin.

2) continental: dinamik, tepat dan bagus, tetapi terlalu complicated..

3) american: big, brag, tough tapi bukan sume part ok, banyak bahagian sistem yang boleh dipertikaikan..

4) indian,chinese: tengok kete tata/cherry, interprete sendiri

5) malaysian: kat negara kita, sistem yang bagus di sini adalah sistem yang tidak boleh dipertikaikan/unquestionable. sebab apa tak boleh tanya, sebab dia punya manual 5000 muka surat dengan ayat2 bombastik, so ia dikatakan bagus.. pada malaysian, nak banyak jual barang, kena pijak orang lain, no blue ocean strategy..

so balik semula pada bagus/tak bagus, aku cakap la ye..

1) toyota wish: 3rd row must be funny, tak layak utk manusia, sempit dan melambung2 atas hiway

2) honda stream: terima kasih pada cara duduk yang pelik dan memenatkan

3) t.innova: stupidest mpv ever build

4) p.myvi: worse car with high price

5) mee bandung muar (original): sedap

6) pulau sipadan: nice

7) inter-race relation: good

8) p.wira a/b (not sedan): quite ok

9) p.waja: hampeh

10) RM450 millions R&D for a MPV, tunjukkan kelemahan kita (jangan cakap aku tak tau apa2, i'm education based)

11) proton: not enough loyalty to malaysian, terlalu dipolitikkan, terlalu banyak poket yang perlu diisi, terlalu banyak lubang pembaziran

so, if you think pampering is the only way to handle your naughty son, terpulang le, kalau tak, ada masa lagi..

• badaksumbu on Mar 08, 2009 at 6:12 am

salam…when we looked the shot of the proton exora, it's mean the quality of malaysian automobile were improving from time to time. It's shows the quality of attitude to those involved in this proton exora making. And it's going better and better after the lauching. So, keep supporting Malaysian national cars rather then proud with your Grandis or whatever. I'll suggest to those always condemed and blaming the quality of proton exora, see the MPV at the showroom personally (after launching) and give the opinion.

• Satria Neo on Mar 08, 2009 at 8:18 am

[quote comment="218331"]salam…when we looked the shot of the proton exora, it's mean the quality of malaysian automobile were improving from time to time. It's shows the quality of attitude to those involved in this proton exora making. And it's going better and better after the lauching. So, keep supporting Malaysian national cars rather then proud with your Grandis or whatever. I'll suggest to those always condemed and blaming the quality of proton exora, see the MPV at the showroom personally (after launching) and give the opinion.[/quote]

support?..hahahaha.. with an experienced of one saga/iswara , a wira one satria neo…after this enough is enough…every 3-4 month had to visit to service center..my Annual leave oso have been waste…

you go and support..for me..its have been enough.

• Hafidz Moro on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:15 pm

To those who support PROTON..just be glad you support some'things' that getting better each year..no worries! Proton will never be BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Toyota, Honda or Nissan..Proton will always stick to its root objectives, providing cars for rakyat..rakyat which means,to those who need car with certain or limited amount of money..

NOT to those who dream BIG but only have SMALL money (ie: like buying motor trader each month dreaming having CALDINA but only have money to buy AVANZA or EXORA) ..or to those who dream BIG but have a LIL EXTRA money (ie: like decided to buy AVANZA or GRAND LIVINA, and later add bodykits here and there just to SATISFY look like MURANO or CALDINA) .. or even worse to those buying WIRA or WAJA and mods those bodykits and engine to become WIRA-Lution or WAJA-vo..no identity, no brainer..spend that extra money for supercars downpayment..for god sake! (if u can afford one laa..)

Those who buy proton knows what they are buying,knows how to take care and drive a car rather than slam that Perdana Auto gearbox like theres no tomorrow or like its not my car mind set! And some people who bash proton donesnt feel good or any better driving proton coz they afraid their fren or relative using other brands might bash them and they dont have stand why they choose Proton..coz they dont love em' and they just nod to those basher (who technically have more money than they have..)

So, know your Proton, know who can fix it, and know how to drive it..please!

and again,most MALAYSIAN : 'Bagi betis nak peha' attitude..

• malaysian on Mar 11, 2009 at 12:22 am

Well Done Proton, those who are dissatisfied plis dun buy our national car anymore and i hope u guys can use ur moron mind to create ur own brand+style car.

• ikster on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:31 pm

is that how it looks like, much cooler

than what i saw at the plus highway testdrive

with bodykit and stuff, kinda look like a fat

woman running…

hehe..

if proton leaked them photos,

anonymously people argue here

they got feedback from paultan.org so to speak

would they r&d back design?

interior especially?

hehe, hope they do

so now u guys can give a more constructive

comment on how you actually want national

mpv to look like… kkkkkkkkkkkkkkekekeke

• kopial on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:25 pm

If they are really for the people…please care for the people's pocket. Fuel consumption need to be top class. Bring in the Gen-2 E.V.E for the rakyat, even at RM80-100k, still cheaper than Honda Civic Hybrid RM180K.

But then if fuel consumption too good, then Petronas will lose out.

I drive the Saga BLM, fuel consumption ok for highway but in town quite bad.

Highway = 10-11cents/km

Town = 15-18cents/km

My friend's Honda City:

Highway = 9-10cents/km (110km/h)

Town =12-14cents/km

-much better although engine is 1.5litre compared to Saga 1.3litre.

Proton car need to go to gym, loose some extra weight. R&D need to push the limits of their design. Safe (protects occupants) but not too much materials or use locally made engineered (lighter). For instance the engine bay & trunk cover can be made from organic fiber composites (I think can shave some 8-10kg off). These parts are just covers & using composites with uni-directional strength (which is only helpful during crashes).

• My wife and dad are drivi[quote comment="219078"]To those who support PROTON..just be glad you support some'things' that getting better each year..no worries! Proton will never be BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Toyota, Honda or Nissan..Proton will always stick to its root objectives, providing cars for rakyat..rakyat which means,to those who need car with certain or limited amount of money..

NOT to those who dream BIG but only have SMALL money (ie: like buying motor trader each month dreaming having CALDINA but only have money to buy AVANZA or EXORA) ..or to those who dream BIG but have a LIL EXTRA money (ie: like decided to buy AVANZA or GRAND LIVINA, and later add bodykits here and there just to SATISFY look like MURANO or CALDINA) .. or even worse to those buying WIRA or WAJA and mods those bodykits and engine to become WIRA-Lution or WAJA-vo..no identity, no brainer..spend that extra money for supercars downpayment..for god sake! (if u can afford one laa..)

Those who buy proton knows what they are buying,knows how to take care and drive a car rather than slam that Perdana Auto gearbox like theres no tomorrow or like its not my car mind set! And some people who bash proton donesnt feel good or any better driving proton coz they afraid their fren or relative using other brands might bash them and they dont have stand why they choose Proton..coz they dont love em' and they just nod to those basher (who technically have more money than they have..)

So, know your Proton, know who can fix it, and know how to drive it..please!

and again,most MALAYSIAN : 'Bagi betis nak peha' attitude..[/quote]

Agreed..The history of Proton can not be compared to those BIG names and Proton should be given times and good management to improve on their technologies and design. Slight improvement can be seen from year to year but it just can not run away from the image of Mitsubishi. But credit should be given to Proton for making efforts.

The cons of Protons are the price and quality ratio is still considered to be expensive (compare to those BIG names especially from Japan) considered Protons to be local made and design cars. I believe most Malaysian do not hate/dislike Proton it is just that Proton does not give good impressions to us Malaysian. I asked those people I know who drive Proton ALL of them told me that the only reason they buy Proton is because it is "Cheap" and it's the only option they can afford but again they have to compensate for "price to quality" ratio which is comparatively expensive. Many of my relatives are still really proud of the 1st generation of Proton Saga that they owned not because of its the 1st "National" car but because of the "price to quality" ratio which is reasonably good.

I would really like to see the government slowly open up the automobile market so that the industry can be come more competitive. I believe with a reasonable competition Proton will step on the pedal to make good quality and reasonably price cars. Everybody know that a good competition bring out the best of all of us. We all cant stay forever under the wings of our parents/government. Let Proton flap their wings and soar. Show the world Proton may not be the BIG names but the day will come. Let make our nation proud with genuine Quality, Style and Price.

• are you guys stupid or what? this sucks so bad it makes cherry looks good..

• Nak pandu uji dulu baru komen ok

• parasit_kaww on Apr 07, 2009 at 8:10 pm

bangsat la korang nie..

depa dh buat asyik nk complaint ja..

hagpa bt keta hangpa sendiri..

u all try cretae ur own car..

then i comment la..

• abanglek on Apr 07, 2009 at 9:33 pm

nak beli ye beli, takde sape nak marah…

sukahati..

* er, jangan lupa ambik proton punya GPS sekali yea (& jangan banding dengan Garmin/Gophers pulak..)

• redzuan on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:06 am

What most Malaysian do not understand is that, Korean government FORCED Korean to buy,use and drive ONLY KOREAN CARS for 15 years. That's how Korean developed and mature their Automotive industries. The FUNDAMENTAL problem with Malaysian is that, even the Government did not fully support their local automotive manufacturers. This translate into disloyalty by Malaysian of their own brand. The government MUST WALKED THE TALKED.

• abanglek on Apr 08, 2009 at 7:06 pm

loyalty, proud or whatever comes after honesty & sincerely from manufacturer, not filling thick money to their & related pocket as a priority..

apatah lagi kalau sampai pepatah 'kera di hutan disusukan, anak kat rumah mati kelaparan' digunapakai.

imagine le, 1979's robots from korea still masih guna kat kilang2 parts proton, gile ke, mana la budak2 mekatronik, control, etc semua (Robocon bukan main), manufacturer tolong le kembangkan apa yang budak2 ni dah belajar..

bukan saya mengutuk, atau hina, atau ban barang malaysia, tapi lu pikir la sendiri.. (banyak lagi barang2 Malaysia yg ok, tapi Proton & Perodua, & some electrical appliance not le)

& yang penting, what is your part to our country?, just play safe & make some money? tolong le bertegas sikit (tapi anak kena cuit sikit dengan cikgu, bukan main angin pulak ye?)..

• nak bali jugak on Apr 10, 2009 at 9:55 am

body kereta memang besar tapi engin berapa CC ni ? fuel comsumtion tinggi tau tidak? 1KM/rm ?

• Wow what a cool MPV……

Body and bonnet of a Mitsubishi Grandis…..

Top and grill of a Toyota Wish…..

Headlamp of a Honda Accord…..

Steering of Honda City…..

Rear of ISIS…..

etc…..

Really thumbs up for Proton designers!!!! Able to combine so many "makes" design into 1 vehicle that none Japs or Europeans car makers can do…….

• adrian on Jul 13, 2009 at 9:57 am

no nice

• Chery Eastar and Proton Exora but i'll choose Proton Exora!don't ask me why?!because Malaysia cars better than China cars!example German cars better than Japanese cars!Proton even better but just can campare with China and India cars of cause( Korea still far )!why people hate Proton?easy even their own cars broken but they never know how to fix it!3 years warranty = 0 year warranty!Malay still young!

• ketua tukang masak on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:33 am

adatak sesiapa tahu Exora Bold yang baru ini dapat pasang tuning chip untuk meiningkat lagi (kuasa kuda) ‘Power’ nya ? T.kasih.