PDRM’s shiny new Volvo S80 looks good

PDRM Volvo S80
Click for enlarged image

If you think the Evo X is the only expensive turbocharged police car added to the PDRM fleet recently, you’re wrong. Reader Kevin Lee spotted this Volvo S80 2.5T around the Sunway area. I’m not sure how high you have to go in the police force to be able to drive one of these police Volvo S80 luxo-cruisers, but 200 horsepower at 4,800rpm and 300Nm between 1,500 to 4,500rpm matched with a 6-speed Geartronic sure sounds nice. The interior is a nice place to be in as well. It’s really wide and feels the most luxurious of anything under RM300k, or even RM400k I dare say.

The turbocharged inline-5 engine takes the car up to 100km/h in 8 seconds and goes on to a top speed of 210km/h. These Volvo S80 2.5T luxury cars cost about RM 285,000 OTR without insurance for us peasants, but a police vehicle would likely be tax-free. And that retail price is even cheaper than the Evo X! Are we heading back to the days of PDRM Volvo 850 T5 wagons keeping the highways in check?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• omar (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:45 pm

wow.. what a great turbo car

• cutester (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:47 pm

my goodness…. so nice to be in the driver’s seat.

• Phelix (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Yeah~ I saw exactly the same car in Sri Hartamas Area yesterday!

• PROTONisOK (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:58 pm

erk. membazir.. why would they use this car??

• calvin_ngan (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:59 pm

now they are slowly ditching perdana for volvo, don’t blame them, perdana is an outdated model 20 years ago based on the outdated Mitsubishi model. So much horsepower in our highly congested highway.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:01 pm

dont ask me, lol. its only 50k cheaper than the evo x, possibly for YB or MB escorts

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Most white cars look good, unless it’s alrdy ugly like chinese n korean cars. Just the other day saw a normal solid white waja, w/o the polis line, it looks rly good to me.

Nway paul, did i miss or u just wanted to avoid news abt s’gor govt buying 15 new camry 2.4?

Also, why’s ur blog’s side panel nt as informative as it used to? U could’ve at least include monthly archive panel, if not test drive section, category tags n stats (the most fun part imho. got to check my total posts here but now no more =.= ). relying on search alone can be tricky.

Paul Tan says: Actually about the Selangor Camry, I wanted to ask Honda whether they got any inquiries on a quotation to buy the Accord or not. It look a long time to find out, I got the answer (which is no), but by the time I got the answer the story is old news already. On your other comments, I’m working on it now. I think I disabled the user stats thing to save on server load during a peak period and just didn’t put it back.

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:16 pm

Looks like the cops on the street are getting scarier. First the Evo Xes, and now this. And they still have their Satria GTis, and this is probably old, but I saw a police X-Trail the other day. At least I think it was an X-Trail.

Gone are the days of Campro 1.6 Wajas. Okay, maybe not.

Why is the PDRM suddenly adding cars like these to their force? Are they afraid that NFS Undercover is too influential? D:

• shianghorng (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:34 pm

It’s always nice to spend money that’s not yours…

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Good day to all friend here.
    Hah..since the oil & sport cars price drop down,means..there will be a lot of overpowered cars plus ahbeng cars on our road(just like impak maksima)..that’s why our cops need a car like this..juz my rare opinion..ngee:)
    but,for sure..this powered car might be use for escort..u can see it in our plus hiway,how fast they goes wit their current car..

emmm..paul,why don’t the cop buy a car that came with a hi level security car..that makes our policemen life in 1st place..why why..

• layman (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Top speed at 210km/h? can’t even pursue Vios lah.

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:27 pm

some explanation needed by PDRM… coz i smell sth fishy there…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:37 pm

i see alot of waja cps oso police cars….i wd like to know tha maintance cost of this s80…since its gona be used alot….wd like to see some sort of statistics of cost incured and how high it can be…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:51 pm

OMG… what the hack man… guyz…. now can almost salute malaysian police…. hahaha…. I totally didnt expect they would make Volvo S80 2.5T as cop’s car and it’s my wive’s car !!! .. i bought for her last year …haiz…. im sure she gonna feel weird when another police S80 passes by on traffic light but luckily its only in KL…. i hope they wont bring in Police Volvo S80’s to Johor Bahru…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:18 pm

Maybe IGP use the car? Then again bigshots ACP and above all have their own cars and drivers.

• myv6 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Why PDRM need to give explanation? They are replacing the olds with newer one. If Proton has come up with new Perdana model, PDRM would have bought it. PDRM even paint it white with stripes, you think anybody would take the cars back home for personal use? And you guys complaint that police would take a million years to arrive at crime scene. Well with the new cars, it will take at least half a million years to arrive, some improvement eh? Much more better than nothing!! And the volvo t5 can’t pursue vios? because vios can reach 220km/h? well, take your vios and try to clock 220km/h, it will take a day to reach there. Volvo? 30 to 40 seconds to 210km/h, I presume. Btw, don’t t5 have 250hp instead of 200hp?

• gods twin (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:43 pm

Well with the new cars, it will take at least half a million years to arrive, some improvement eh? Much more better than nothing!! And the volvo t5 can’t pursue vios? because vios can reach 220km/h? well, take your vios and try to clock 220km/h, it will take a day to reach there. Volvo? 30 to 40 seconds to 210km/h, I presume. Btw, don’t t5 have 250hp

Am preety sure no 1 here would be expecting thier vios to do 220, and mind you that a vios can reach 200+ on a short stint.Dont just bash any car if you dont know. The post by Mr.Layman must have been a posted as a joke, am preety sure many of us laughed after reading it, me and my colleagues did. If tat is the case should other blog members take your “take” on the police and a million years as a serious fact. You must be jokin man….

Anyway the S60 can go way faster than a 210, and thats a fact. for these cars 210 is childsplay. Cant wait to see pursue of this S60 on a neighbouring country registered car on our north south hgway.

Way to go police…..

• myv6 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm

heheh, pardon me..

• dale (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm

if i’m not mistaken the checkered strips are meant for “tourists unit”? on the other hand, everytime they got a new wheel, it will always be the “sponsored” excuse, and i thought government bodies/agencies/organization are not allowed to accept sponsorship from private companies? what happen to that directives??????
    p/s have you seen the Balai Polis signboard being sponsored by a steam boat restaurant, what a joke!! Who knows, maybe one day we would be seeing the Malaysian Army tank being sponsored by KFC or future Air Force fighter jet by Mydin

• myv6 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:50 pm

i said 220 did i? not 200..

• szw (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:12 pm

i think its for escort usage only.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:24 pm

wow, great choice :-)

hope to see the police evo x soon !!!

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:40 pm

that will not mempersia-suikan our PDRM if our police was in the high speed pursuit ..

that’s looks awesome ..

that’s how the police car should be ..

high speed, powerful .. not milo tin with wheels

• droll (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:51 pm

not new news i believe. i’ve seen 5 series (the older models, i don’t know the E number but it’s one generation behind the current versions) and some volvos with police paint.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:57 pm

u should check out customs cars man….al sort of bmws….thrs this bmw specialists in batu caves…all customes cars thr for servicing….lots of 7 series the older once….728 and 740i !

• kerelbort (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:59 pm

Volvo as a police car in Malaysia has been a loooooooonnnggg relation. -ve thinker might think this is a waste of money. You may see quite a number of Volvo Highway Patrol if u cruise the PLUS highway at the right moment.

There’s a few occasion when a modified car maxing their engine on the PLUS highway being chased by a Volvo Highway Patrol from standstill in 10 mins. What interest me is that the highly modified car makes lots of noise when passing me by, but when the police car passing me by, I can only hear wind noise as if the engine is stalled or something…

There’s also a urban legend from a friend of mine who spent the night at Police Lockup when he maxing his newly modified MIVEC drove 200kmh on the highway when suddenly a Volvo(i think is a T5) asking from their loud speaker ” dah habis tekan ke bang? kalo dah abes tekan berenti laa tepi jalan kiteorang blom abeh tekan lagik nih”

btw, I loveeeee this police car!! look very nice!! there’s something about police car around the world that I love so much… anyhoo. the italian have lambo for god sake as their police car. there’s no problem of getting a Volvo for our own Highway patrol. Do you expect a kancil to chase those turbocharged ahbeng?

as long as no one getting the xtra income while the procurement is done.. I have no problem. If u envy them, go join the force. Plus you can learn their driving skills.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:03 pm

yeah …

this is how our PDRM police car should be ..

powerful, tough, and looks awesome ..

not some milo tin with 4 wheels …

• tommy73 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:15 pm

This goes to show the PDRM are a bunch of insensitive bloodsuckers wasting our hard earned taxpayers’ money. Please lah, have some sensitivity. People are finding it very hard today to even keep their job, and you just simply use our tax money to buy luxury petrol cars. WTF!

• abtm (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:23 pm

whatever it may be for…the only thing everyone will think of when it drives pass is that the govt is spending irresponsibly on import cars again, while we drive around in our crap cars…and since they’re so loaded with cash while everyone’s not, why not just get the BMW M5? cost cutting maybe?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:25 pm

droll,

It’s E39 I believe. The best looking BMW in the past 2 decades IMHO :D

The other day I saw a 3-series E36, color was lite blue ala pre-fl Gen2. Looks dam cun wit intercooler, black rims, rather dark tint n a PDRM sticker on the windscreen, parked in front of taylor’s college SS15. :)

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:35 pm

better then kancil police car

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:09 pm

it’s good to be the driver. :P

• frossonice (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:26 pm

imported volvos? i thought it was assembled in Shah Alam. this volvo is most probably an escort car as the windows are heavily tinted. plus, there is no marking or stickers like BA, KL or any other states which we normally find on plain vanilla patrol cars.

I don’t see any wrong if the police want to use volvo or even bmw as their patrol cars. they need it to pursuit faster cars which puny kancil or waja can’t possibly do. open up your mind dudes. don’t just bash on anything.

• 9166 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:43 pm

Go ahead and chase down those Ah Bengs with their modified junks. While you are at it, get a few drug runners too.

• db8 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:55 pm

other countries also using tax money to buy their police cars..even their cars more powerful than ours..

• cpt (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:40 am

its not just the matter of luxury… but safety..

• BW (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 1:53 am

i saw Nissan Xtrail police car here in kuching

• dt (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 2:44 am

This goes to show the PDRM are a bunch of insensitive bloodsuckers wasting our hard earned taxpayers’ money. Please lah, have some sensitivity. People are finding it very hard today to even keep their job, and you just simply use our tax money to buy luxury petrol cars. WTF!
    by tommy73.

dude… how did you come to that kind of conclusiona? really…

don’t you think there are POSITIVE reasons for PDRM to purchase volvos or evos?

come on la… stop the narrow mindness comments.

• jaqe (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:13 am

bloody hell, bad enough they take all my money when im driving some more wanna reward them with nice cars??? if it were up to me i would lynch the lot of these duit kopi eating b******!!!!!wat other countries!! england give their police force the cheapest forms of cars, diesel some more!! and they don ambil duit kopi like these useless police, why do we wanna keep them in safe cars!!, why not drive malaysian and get a bloody kancil

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 6:51 am

tommy73 said,
    January 23, 2009 @ 10:15 pm

dun think PRDM needs tax$ paid by you. If every driver gets 1 saman per year, they are rich already. Maybe they dun even need $ from the govt to pay for their salary…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 7:04 am

Reminds me of the old Metropolitan Police’s Rover SD1.

• anj97 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 8:54 am

i dont understand why the RMAF need this type of car.Why not just use the damm proton.why is not good enough is it?then why bother to manufacture the car?the RMAF dont deserve any car.Just use the Kriss bike.Bloody useless

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 9:04 am

PDRM really should have more such machines, highway patrol needs high power machine to keep up with ahbeng’s mobile. i would say its well spent money. there r always necessary evil to make things right. spending money on these high power cars for PDRM is the right move, heck even in waja, their driving skill gives hell to street offender as well

• kruzer (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:25 am

I’m just thinking why the S80 and not the S40R or S60? There are also fast and powerful.
    The only thing i envy them is that they can get the cars tax free, which may make it cheaper than a perdana. And of course they will say that its cheaper to maintain, esp now no more gear box prob. Imagine chasing some ah bengs and the car is stuck in 3rd gear! :-)

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:57 am

British cops are a joke. American ones are better, just watch one of those wild police chase video programs. That, is how police chase shud be like. The British’s pussy astra diesel will run away even from a pebble thrown by a delinquent.

Bt then again, I’d prefer Italian polizia’s Gallardo, ahaha.

I kinda doubt British cops are paid that nicely. I read in The Star some time ago abt majority of Australia’s expat cops came from Britain, citing low salary as main excuse. If ever, I heard Japanese cops are among the most incorruptible in the world.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:27 am

Critics say “membazir” but I’d say it’s money well-spent. Crooks are getting faster (and smarter) by the day, so why shouldn’t the cops?

• s60t (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:17 pm

sorry to say that the volvo is not a robust as the old models(240/940). My S60 2001 had a gearbox failure 2 weeks ago. had to replace it. New one estimated at RM 30k so put in a used one for RM 7500. One owner, 103,00km,hardly passed 130kph and used as a 3rd car. Also changed radiator 6 months ago for RM4500.This is not a cheap car to maintain.

• TheDuck (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 1:25 pm

Why VOLVO? Bad choice. Toyota Vios/Honday City for the whole PDRM force will be sufficient. Cheap to maintain and very reliable!

The traffic is so bad in KL/PJ that there’s just no point in having such a powerful car.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 1:48 pm

the polices have (to counter the culprits):

yamaha 125z = mat rempit

yzf 850 = superbiker

waja cps = beginner ah beng

Evo X = expert ah beng

Volvo s80 = higher class ah beng…

haha

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 3:59 pm

anj97
    “i dont understand why the RMAF need this type of car.Why not just use the damm proton.why is not good enough is it?then why bother to manufacture the car?the RMAF dont deserve any car.Just use the Kriss bike.Bloody useless”

hello fren, not all RMAF are useless… moreover, police force are suppose to be cash rich in order to run their routine operation. there is no such thing as perfect police force in this world.. i think u just feel useless your self, might it bcos you ride a Kriss?

• News Editor on Jan 24, 2009 at 4:00 pm

I’m not sure how our Air Force got dragged into this.

• red7 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 5:34 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 24, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

yamaha 125z = mat rempit

yzf 850 = superbiker

Evo X = expert ah beng

haha

———————————————————

totally agree!

hahahaha

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 7:19 pm

so whats with the police lamenting about low pay?they can certainly afford goods like this,not to mention 25 evo x’s, not that this s80 is going to make them any more effective. id really like to see a persuit with this…few nice bangs then retrench hahah…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 8:21 pm

i think the person confused with RMPF with RMAF, royal malaysia police force vs royal malaysian air foce, lol!

anyways, i think the cops could have gotten a honda 3.5 v6 honda accord. that car would really be able to keep up with most cars and easier to maintain

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 8:57 pm

The cops do need better highway patrol cars. Those 1.6L sedans simply dont cut it. Forget about the vios/city/waja/satria class cars.

The volvo may not be underpowered, but it isnt really a _fast_ car either as it is significantly bigger than the 1.6L sedans.

Bring in the large patrol cars with 4.0-6.0L engines. They will have _PRESENCE_ on the highway :)

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Hahaha i am totally agree with you autojohndoe!!

• painsama (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:10 pm

waste of money

• dale (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Yeah that guy sure was confused…the result of thinking thru the AS*.
    understand the context of “sponsorship” in the earlier post carefully
    “…on the other hand, everytime they got a new wheel, it will always be the “sponsored” excuse, and i thought government bodies/agencies/organization are not allowed to accept sponsorship from private companies? what happen to that directives??????
    p/s have you seen the Balai Polis signboard being sponsored by a steam boat restaurant, what a joke!! Who knows, maybe one day we would be seeing the Malaysian Army tank being sponsored by KFC or future Air Force fighter jet by Mydin”
    This could also be the result of letting your emotion getting the best out of you.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:40 pm

so much duit kopi can afford volvo

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:23 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 24, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

yamaha 125z = mat rempit

yzf 850 = superbiker

Evo X = expert ah beng

haha
    —————————————————————-
    Haiyah why have to buy so many cars? One Volvo is enough ma…

Anyway I don’t see any reasons to bash, it’s a good move actually.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:26 pm

pdrm,i give you my biggest salute

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:03 am

i hope they won’t bring it to JB…

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:28 am

Pak Lah & Najib..this is ” PEMBAZIRAN” !! year 2009 PDRM should use more waja and kancil !!

• mct (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:31 am

is good to have it on highway BUT , from what i heard , this car is only used to buka jalan for the minister, or some datuk or what so ever lah. This volvo have been spotted buka jalan for Porsche Cayenne GTS and bentley . surprise huh ??

ANYWAY, i would love to see the car use to chase abeng in highway !!!

• FauxHawk (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 3:00 am

OMG, I saw this car parked at the car modding shops behind Sunway College. Was wondering what car it was and saw the Volvo logo. Didn’t know it was such a powerful car.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:50 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 25, 2009 @ 12:03 am

i hope they won’t bring it to JB…
    ————-
    you bring your bona fide volvo s80 made in belgium and show them what is a real volvo s80

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 10:41 pm

To chase bloody singaporean cars i guess…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Wisdom said,

January 25, 2009 @ 10:41 pm

—————
    too bad singaporean cars all cbu, won break down like stupid ckd cars

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:22 pm

Wisdom said,

————————————————–

if thats the case, ask them to try out for a chase if and only if they are dare to do so…….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 9:52 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 25, 2009 @ 11:22 pm

Wisdom said,

————————————————–

if thats the case, ask them to try out for a chase if and only if they are dare to do so…….
    ————–
    malaysian drivers are also inferior to those in singapore lol

• rt (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 7:28 pm

Probably Volvo gave few cars to the Police.
    Few years ago Honda gave two Civic Hybrid to the police.

rt.

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 10:16 pm

Why PDRM drive Volvo S80???
    Please paultan

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 10:38 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 26, 2009 @ 9:52 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 25, 2009 @ 11:22 pm

Wisdom said,

————————————————–

————–
    malaysian drivers are also inferior to those in singapore lol

——————————————–

the only place in malaysia i see people drivin damn freakin’ fast at highways is at Penang including major mainland cities and also in JB….. I didnt see much high-speed driving in places like KL but may be im wrong coz i may not be there too often…. Even certain damn-modified wira’s flyin’ on da highways at hell fast at penang highways….

• rnz (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 9:34 am

the remaining 4 units will be delivered soon…..

• balzach (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 10:19 am

somebody mentioned about “kopi money”, just would like to add my personal experience to this forum. one fine day i was stopped by a police traffic, and before asking why, i realised i didn’t wear my seat belt. so i guess it was my stupid mistake not to wear one. then the traffice police told me that i may get a ticket for not wearing a seat belt. so i told him, just issue me one. he was so puzzled with my answer. he thought i might want to settle the thing without giving any ticket. so, when talking about “kopi money”, there wont be any taking if there’s no giving rite? if you realised that you’ve made a mistake, just bear with it.

so i guess with the volvo s80, pdrm can easily chase those singaporean buggers in the PLUS highways. THUMBS UP to PDRM.

cheers

• dale (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 2:56 pm

Actually, why bother about “CHASING”, when you can easily network with all PLUS’s tolls, giving all the details of the car you want to stop and apprehend, the faster they are, the longer they will have to wait until the patrol car finally arrive at the particular “networked” toll. In this electronic era you dont have to work hard and risk lives, just work smart.

• balzach (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 3:06 pm

i dont think is only about chasing the speed demons. how about robbers with high end cars? do you think they will stop at the toll booth or if there go off the highway, do you think they even bother to stop their car eventhough in this electronic era?

• dale (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 4:13 pm

hmmmm….i thot it was

balzach said,
    “…so i guess with the volvo s80, pdrm can easily chase those singaporean buggers in the PLUS highways. THUMBS UP to PDRM.”

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    “..i see people drivin damn freakin’ fast at highways”

Wisdom said,
    “To chase bloody singaporean cars i guess…”

mct said,
    “ANYWAY, i would love to see the car use to chase abeng in highway !!!”

autojohndoe said,
    “the polices have (to counter the culprits):
    yamaha 125z = mat rempit
    yzf 850 = superbiker
    Evo X = expert ah beng
    Volvo s80 = higher class ah beng… ”

and now it’s robbers as well. think we need more than just the s80 then

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 4:31 pm

usually robbers using proton wira, satria, gen2…

it’s like it is an official car for criminals… haha…

it is from what i observe through the news…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 8:42 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 28, 2009 @ 4:31 pm

—————————————————

yup…. i saw many news regarding robbers usin those cars… and most of those proton cars are hijacked ones….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 12:51 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 28, 2009 @ 8:42 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 28, 2009 @ 4:31 pm

—————————————————

yup…. i saw many news regarding robbers usin those cars… and most of those proton cars are hijacked ones….
    —————-
    nowadays robbers use merc e-class, cause when enter security guard wont check them

• watcher7 (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 2:06 pm

This is really good and surely not membazir one… Our police force should have hi-performance cars like tis to get rid of those criminals and street bullies.

But I believe the volvo is meant for vvip escorts not for patrolling purpose like the evos. ..thanx a lot to all traffic offenders who have give them privilege to drive this cars. Lets pay more summons so maybe one day we can see our police officers in merc or bmw.

Bear in mind, imported cars bought by govt. is non-taxable…so it should be cheaper rite… Thumbs up to PDRM!

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 6:19 am

i agreed RMPF should have this volvo in their line up…
    not just for the force’s image, they have a lot of duty…
    escorting vip la, kejar ah beng la, too much…
    even japanese police are using skyline for narcotics & general duty…
    so RMPF should use it too…
    the one they should not have is corruption…
    our salary is not enough kot…

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 6:21 am

i agreed RMPF should have this volvo in their line up…
    not just for the force’s image, a lot of duties have to be fulfilled…
    escorting vip la, kejar ah beng la, too much…
    even japanese police are using skyline for narcotics & toyota crown for general duty…
    so RMPF should use it too…
    the one they should not have is corruption…
    our salary is not enough kot…

• victorQ (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:33 pm

I thot it was a joke to see a Vios doing 210kmh….!

Saw the bright whithish polie S80 2.5T being used as VIP escort car here …. XC90s seem to be the standard vehicles for the “V” VIP” in dark sunglasses & blue bush jackets though !!!

To my surprise, PDRM also runs a fleet of S60 T5 highway patrol cars…. saw once along NSE near Senawang. Would be fun to see T5 charging along with its earlier acquired EVO X… along NSE lah, of course while curising or pretending to be chasing some unknown vehicle. Since when they will chase after any robbers using these vehicles??? exept in the movie.

S80 will be an ideal highway cruiser or VIP escort car, and not for patrol, supposively due to its comfort and thus soft setting. Taking the s80 to 210kmh will be a push, as compared to S60 T5 to 250kmh – a pea nut.
    They need the high power vehicles to keep pace with the RRs, Bentleys, Mercs or Masseratis…. of the VIP vehicles, perhaps. XC90s are known to be safe and versatile for the bodyguards to arrived safe ahead of their masters.

S80 2.5T – 200hp / 200NM
    S60 T5 – 260hp / 320NM

So, don’t try to out run the T5…. just give way, unless you are driving a 525 and higher capac vehicles.

• victorQ (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:16 pm

oops! Correction.

S80 2.5T – 200hp / 300NM
    S60 T5 – 260hp / 320NM

These are standard specs….

• victorQ (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:18 pm

S80 2.5T – 200hp / 200NM
    S60 T5 – 260hp / 320NM

oops… correction.

S80 2.5T – 200hp / 300NM
    S60 T5 – 260hp / 320NM

standard spec.

• Mienzz (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Tahun ni Volvo…..akan datang plak mungkin PDRM pkai BMW 525i he.he.he

• ikster on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:40 pm

i think police cars are modded turbo

and piston bore size up.

waja police 1.5 becomes 2.0 at least

dats what i heard…

• gorillika on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:51 am

[quote comment="219853"]i think police cars are modded turbo

and piston bore size up.

waja police 1.5 becomes 2.0 at least

dats what i heard…[/quote]

u need a volvo because capable in high speed chase.. test it before, i can overtake a honda and can easily do the box in manoveure for frontal and rear attack.. japanese car such as toyota can't do it because they are not built to do it and they are not study and easily crumpled..usually to stop a hijacking car.. this volvo can do it a box in effect to the rear bumper of the suspect car… i know only certain makes can do: ford, GM, holden,volvo and maybe subaru,,,usually chief inspector drove this volvo and they are well trained in anti hijacking tactics….

• gorillika on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:54 am

trained with japanese police force, they used dodge instead of japanese car because dodge can be designed to trap suspect car…

• JOSANILA on Apr 05, 2009 at 7:21 am

Ohh man! PDRM got themselves GTi, EVO, S60 and S80 as well. I would surely don't play-play with them guys down the highway these days. Had bad experience with their 850T5 long long time ago. Learned my lesson well. I believe the police should be allowed to totally dominate the road. Superb car is the way to go. But I do sincerely hope that they have their driver trained well in handling the car. Otherwise it will be a waste of asset. I heard a few of their ST1300 bike gone out of the road due to incompetent riding skill.

WELL DONE POLICE !! You guys Rock!

• TAX PAYER on May 26, 2009 at 4:11 pm

[quote comment="203673"]erk. membazir.. why would they use this car??[/quote]

:-) still the same job, same route, same thing they do… really waste ours TAX money only….

• kerajaan beli kereta tu tanpa cukai kot…kita beli kena cukai…cukai kereta import mahal..sbb tu bila kita beli jdi mahal

• ARMAN HAQIEM on Aug 23, 2009 at 9:17 am

for those who criticized negatively…. grown up please! for god sake!! such a typical m'sian kampung attitude with an internet access !!! … why can't you guys just let be the PDRM being equipped with costly the state of the art equipment and machines. You want them police to perform their best and yet you want them to have sub-standard stuff. Where got road man??? Just becoz in reality you can only afford to have one of those protons as your ride… can only afford an EVO or Volvo in your dream, stop blaming others for your not so fortunate pitiful life. Suggest you guys go to the 7eleven and get yourself a new life. Haaa Haa Haaa!!!

• DoubleLine= on May 29, 2011 at 9:25 pm

expensive powerfull car mean high petrol consumption…. with the jam and all… a waste ….

• tsk tsk... on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:31 am

tsk tsk…school holidays agagin.. too much NFS and Grand turismo drivers here..