Locally assembled Peugeot 308 VTi and Peugeot 308 Turbo launched in Malaysia: RM96.5k to RM111k

The prices for the Peugeot 308 has been revealed by Nasim Sdn Bhd this morning. The cars are locally assembled and are available in two variants, the Peugeot 308 VTi at RM 96,500 and the Peugeot 308 Turbo at RM 111,000. These prices are with insurance.

Both are powered by 1.6 litre engines from the PSA-BMW Prince family and mated to Porsche Tiptronic 4-speed transmissions, but a key difference is in how air gets pushed into the engines, which directly affects its power output.

Peugeot 308 VTi – RM 95,500

Peugeot 308 VTi

The Peugeot 308 VTi shares the same powerplant as the MINI Cooper. That means variable valve timing and Valvetronic variable valve lift that enables the engine to be operated without a conventional throttle butterfly. This decreases pumping losses, which improves fuel economy. The following are the specifications for the 308 VTi model, as well as a torque curve and shift diagrams:

Peugeot 308 VTi specifications
Exterior
16″ 10-spoke alloy wheels
205/55R16 tyres
Headlamps with follow me home function
Daytime Running Lights [DRL]
Auto Headlight Sensor
Auto Front Windshield Wipers
Electric Folding mirrors

Interior
Active carbon/pollen filter for dual zone air cond
6 speakers
MP3 CD player with aux input and remote control
Rake and reach adjustable steering
Underseat storage drawers for front and rear
Adjustable front armrest with storage compartment

Engine
PSA-BMW Prince 1.6 engine
120hp at 6,000rpm
160Nm @ 4,250rpm
4-speed automatic

Safety
4 airbags (Front and side)
F/R Ventilated and solid discs
ABS, EBD, EBA

Peugeot 308 VTi 4-speed auto shift diagram

Peugeot 308 Turbo – RM 111,000

Peugeot 308 Turbo

The Peugeot 308 Turbo has power output equivalent to a 2.0 litre competitor, but with much more torque thanks to its turbocharging technology. This is actually the engine in the MINI Cooper S but detuned to 140 horsepower (the manual version gets 150hp).

Peugeot 308 Turbo specifications (on top of VTi specs)
Engine
PSA-BMW Prince 1.6 engine
140hp at 6,000rpm
240Nm @ 4,250rpm
4-speed automatic

Interior
Rear air-cond vents
Auto dimming rear view mirror
Rear center armrest with storage compartment and 2 cupholders
Built-in fragrance diffuser

Safety
6 airbags (front, side, curtain)
ESP with Traction Control and Dynamic Stability Control

Exterior
Automatic electric folding mirrors
Body color side protection
5-spoke 17 inch alloy wheels

Peugeot 308 Turbo 4-speed auto shift diagram

I think it’s safe to say that these specifications are the best in class at their respective price levels, especially when it comes to safety standards. There’s nothing with 4 airbags below RM100k before this, but now you have the 308 VTi. For those who want more, the 308 GT is still for sale in fully imported 3-door body form, but it is now on an order basis only (RM 159,999) as there are no more ready stock available.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the 5-door 308 as well as a video.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=82]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:35 pm

pug power with prince engine, i think the real hot hatch are coming back :D

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:42 pm

crazy, sexy, marvellous !!!!

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Lovely!

• TTC (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:59 pm

I hope Torino will responds by reducing the price of the Fiat Bravo GT…

• shianghorng (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:59 pm

Why the detune??

Zzzz…

• tolan (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:00 pm

is it a shared platform with nissan latio hatchback? simillar shape.. but nice.. i think the turbo is the cheapest car with ESP traction ctrl here.

• TTC (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:01 pm

I hope Torino will responds by reducing the price of the Fiat Bravo GT

• red7 (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:14 pm

i hate the design but would love to try a turbo peugeot

cheers~

• guest on Mar 21, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Go ahead its worth it i just got one and i like it its a very steady car

• tigerking (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:36 pm

A timely competitor to our usual Honda City, Toyota Vios and Nissan Latio ranges. If you ask me, go for it.

After all, the Japanese ain’t great car makers (for the cheapest car ranges) compared to any continental models. Remember at least the safety features that you get with this beast.

Try test driving one and you will notice the difference. I test drove the Honda City the other day, the one with Pedal Shift, I didn’t get the ‘feel’ that I was looking. But this ‘beauty and beast’ is different.

Don’t worry abt the second hand car value for the Peugoet nor the maintenance. These cars are competing in different leagues now compared to its predecessors. After all, we are going to use them for at least 5 to 6 years. The attributable value will still be there after that many years.

As for spare parts and so forth, worry not cos, loads of half cuts are arriving from Japan and other Europe nations, thus making spare parts cost you very cheap. One only has to worry abt the spare part into the 3rd, 4th or 5th year of the car life.

In simple, 308 means:
    1) solidity,
    2) good road holding,
    3) better acceleration and power,
    4) will get you back home in one piece with or without your car in one piece, 5) classy look,
    6) affordability in its range,
    7) compact,
    8) last but not least, the sheer travelling experience.

(ps: Now you guys know what the character 8 represents from 308)

• csv (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:42 pm

wah, better than latio sport woh.

• Devil Killer WVJ 666* on Apr 29, 2022 at 1:05 am

Not better…but more. It’s now with 6 speed auto Cruise control mode

• zafid (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:34 am

damn cun la this car.. come with powerful engine too..
    love Peugeot very much, especially the handling
    hopefully, nasim will introduce the manual version like previous Bestari 206.

• alexbaby88 (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:35 am

The 4sp gearbox is a major turnoff.

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:48 am

now i am disappointed at nissan on why the latio is high in price but low in spec compared to this…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:17 am

…haizzz….. locally assembled again…. but nice car though… good competitor at its price tag ….

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 2:07 am

i wonder what kind of car does paul drive

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 2:42 am

ideoteque_85 said,
    January 30, 2009 @ 2:07 am

i wonder what kind of car does paul drive
    ———————-
    i think he drives a perdana v6

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 4:58 am

4AT again….no thanks Naza, but I have too many pasar/school-going vehicles already. Turbo? Who cares?

• najibest (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 6:49 am

though many are comparing it with city, vios and latio, i think some are not aware that this 308 is actually a C segment car and is wider the honda civic. well of course being a hatch it’s not as long

yup makes me wonder too why the latio sport is being price as much being tad smaller and less spec’ed

hopefully naza can be proactive and bring in maybe the 307SW (hopefully with diesel engines) as Malaysian loves 7 seater

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 7:29 am

AL 4 gearbox, 4 speed. I hope they have at least improved it. Why still 4 speed when even a Honda City is using 5 speed?

• escortburuk (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 8:25 am

The turbo version must be a blast to drive around town! The 4 speed auto is a bit of a let down as most cars is using 5 speed auto gearbox. However, this car is nicely package at a very attractive price. Most probably will see a lot of these on the road.

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 8:35 am

y complain about 4sp gearbox?
    how many cars (new) have 5sp gearbox?

stuck in traffic jam wit 5sp gearbox?
    what a waste

if add 5sp gearbox the price will balloon up over rm100k.

• ushin (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 8:52 am

if you are talking about driving in town especially KL, you will hardly get into the last gear to safe fuel !! no doubt more gears means smoother, better fuel economy, more engaging like driving a manual car… or just a mental ‘satisfaction’ that you have 5 AT gear?!! … this 308 is going to be a “fast” one, i don’t know about everyone here, those who buy this car don’t give a dam* about fuel economy, how often you can drag your first/2nd gear till red line?! and how many cars let you do that? but what most important is the “price” … we get a reasonable good car with this superb price!? 5 * NCAP … you will only get the curtain airbag in Volvo… but in a sub 100K car!? those JAP has been ripping us off with two airbag all marketing gimmick and pocket huge MARGIN, brand my butt sowhatever; but at the end of the day we want to make our RINGGIT worth to us. i can’t afford a MINI, but at least i get a PEUGEOT!! and also I don’t want a car that “koyak” like a paper when “kiss” a merc or bmw … at least PEUGEOT give us a chance to have a weekend car for me to be a boy again.

• ushin (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:03 am

240Nm of torque at just 1400RPM!?…. phew … my butt sure feels good!
    forget about PS/KW we’ll never get to use them all. but torque … is all about driving; and with 225 tyre for traction. looks good on paper but hopefully it live up to paper-good specs when driving it.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:10 am

1 thing…

OVERPRICED

• julian-lee (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:11 am

BMW still better, my only choice with Audi

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:21 am

er…….its 2009 and STILL 4 SPEED auto for a turbo car…WOW… wat feat….even the honda city are already 5-speed =_+

The photos taken are the european press release. Would want to see how the Local interior shots are…from experience with the bestari 206 *bleh*

Also, isit called the Peugeot 308 or Naza *something* 308 as similar to the locally assembled 206/Bestari?

cam.shaft

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:22 am

You must be freaking joking. The only BMW you can get at this price has run out on its warranty, is a model late, comes with a cassete player and you’ll be spending more time and money in the workshop than having fun driving in it through the corners.

Nice package except something swallowed the dashboard. Very tempting indeed. I’ll take that engine in a lighter 207 3dr manual thank you.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:23 am

the 4 speed AL4 has been around for many many years. they were one of the common issues related to Pugs. why cant they change it after so long? even Honda is putting a 5 speed on their little City.

stuck in jam with 5 speed gearbox? what do you mean? Do you know what a gearbox is for?

why do you say price will baloon up to 100K? what facts do you have to back this up?

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:38 am

haroldz said,

January 30, 2009 @ 8:35 am

y complain about 4sp gearbox?
    how many cars (new) have 5sp gearbox?

stuck in traffic jam wit 5sp gearbox?
    what a waste

if add 5sp gearbox the price will balloon up over rm100k.

no offence but….maybe you could list down which new cars in the 2008 and 9s are still 4 speed gearbox?

and also, if u say stuck in jam dun need a 5sp gearbox so might as well install all cars with 1speed gearbox? doesn’t make sense…in any jams u dun need more than 1 speed. But after the jam u prolly “can” use the additional gears whether 5/6 or even 7….highways travelling will definately benefit.

with 4speed turbo its already more than 100k. 5 speed high-spec city is bout 90k which. its a different lower class than the 308 but yet the specs seems to be more impressive than this.

yes this is a c-segment car…and civic at least has a bigger boot, interior space and a 5-speed AT with paddle shift.

sorry for those fanatic peugeot fans but… *bleh*

cam.shaft

• KingKong (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:38 am

zafid said,
    January 30, 2009 @ 12:34 am

—————————————————————-

obviously you wrote that blindly, that car has triptonic Porsche inside.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:43 am

bmpower…how much u think a European CKD pack car with such features should cost?

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:43 am

julian, of course BMW is better, but how much is it?

• KingKong (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:48 am

julian-lee said,
    January 30, 2009 @ 9:11 am

BMW still better, my only choice with Audi
    —————————————————————-

obviously you’re ignorance, comparing Peugeot to BMW/Audi.

• xstan (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:51 am

Wah…better car for 1.6L segment.
    Good rival to Altis 1.6L, Latio & Suzuki Swift. In terms of specs & ride it is certainly way better then the Altis 1.6 , which perform like a Vios.

I certainly began liking this afordable car.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:02 am

camshaft, care to share yr experience with the Bestari’s interior?

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

i wonder what sort of warranty package Naza has for this stunning car

• carlover (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:12 am

I was told NASIM gonna introduce the diesel version soon provided its compatible with the new Diesel that will be introduced. One thing for sure, if its compatible for the car, WE CAN SAY GOODBYE TO 4 SPEED AUTO,.. 308 HDI comes with 6 Speed Auto.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

welcome all doubters and basher to the new world of affordable Peugeot.

we r expecting a lot of you guys to show up. kikiki..

you won’t have much bullet to shoot it down thou. simply because its a good product with very reasonable asking price.

so be very carefully or you just end up tarnish your nickname reputations, if there’s any.

for the 4-speed g/box doubter, please read the pre-launch thread about the 308.

Mr. Paul Tan himself has taken some time to explain as to why 4-speed is more than adequate for the 308 (that has engine that deliver very good torque).

and please do list down all car model year 2009 below rm110,000 with 5-speed auto gearbox. together with the bhp and torque figure for this car(s). and how the driving experience are (for all these cars).

however, either 4 or 5 speed, this is not the main issue with the 308 as far as Peugeot isconcerned, as they has tune the car to response best with what available. beside if they can achieve competitive fuel efficiency rating against a 5-spped g/box by using a 4-speed g/box, that settle the argument (since the main reason for 5-speed is for shorter gear ratio which help in optimising fuel usage).

The main focus or selling point of the 308 CKD is it is clear cut, obvious value-of-money offerings which is quite delightful bcoz Nasim admit to price it at a ‘premium’ a.k.a. more expensive than it could. they didn’t intend to fight the Japanese but at such asking price, its still obvious that the asking price is very very attractive. and yes the 308 is wider than the civic. not bad ah?

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:43 am

autohaus said,

January 30, 2009 @ 10:02 am

camshaft, care to share yr experience with the Bestari’s interior?

The bestari’s interior was very plastiky…din like the feel..but wat was worst was the built quality…especially the hood hinge…very dangerous..almost cut heads off…the hinges can just put “poped” and felt very loose.

That was wen it was first launched (before the introduced the manual version) so hopefully things are shaped up but im really curious to see the interior of the locally assembled car as most (and i do not mean ALL) always tend to get cheap plastic materials to improve their margins per car..

my 2cents.

cam.shaft

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:48 am

KingKong said,

January 30, 2009 @ 9:38 am

zafid said,
    January 30, 2009 @ 12:34 am

—————————————————————-

obviously you wrote that blindly, that car has triptonic Porsche inside.

KingKong,

A tiptronic does not equal a clutch and a h-type gearbox. So zafid point is relevant. Similar to the Bestari 206 which have the so-called Porsche tiptronic inside but in the end they still introduced the Manual version.

cam.shaft

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:08 am

Some Japanese wannabe and envious Conti owner playing catch with the 308 supporter.

Japanese fan – Wasn’t it hurt buying a less specked car with similar price?

Conti fan – Wasn’t it hurt buying similar specked car at much higher price?

• xatomic (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:19 am

i noticed one of the features is ‘air-conditioned glovebox’…wat is that for? to act as a fridge? :P

• adlanb20 (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:29 am

I drove the 308 as a rental in the UK 4-5 months back, but it was a manual diesel. Loved the car, was really solid and comfortable, and its actually bigger than you’d think.
    I think its a nice addition to the rather limited choice that we have here in Malaysia, and the price is spot on. I’d love to get one, but I have no reason to change cars at the moment.

• xatomic (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:30 am

i noticed one of the features is ‘air-conditioned glovebox’. To act as a fridge? :P

a review on the 308…noticed that even for a 5AT, the reviewer doesnt seem to like it:

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/grouptests/218061/peugeot_308_16_thp_150_se.html

anyone has test driven it? How is the handling? ….would expect it to better than civic/altis …maybe not as grippy and firm as the focus/mazda3?

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:33 am

Hope this 308 will not plastics as bestari.yes Naza can turndown the pricetag but dont tweak the car original specs.pls laaa..

but for rm95k for this 308,may i say that vios,city and latio were overpriced?

wah,sure aku kene hentam lepas ni…hehe

• jazzer (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:37 am

Wawawa…this time i gonna change my nickname to pijotter…no point anymore buying jazz if compare what nasim offers with this car..but yet,eager to see the local;s interior instead of the europe one…hope the same..

• jazzer (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:43 am

wawawaw..gonna change my nickname after this…pijotter r…no point buying jazz after this…who wants my jazz…give my 95k..settle

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:09 pm

Cars are actually cheap nowadays, it’s just that Jap makers are selling their cars at high price because they’re told to do so to protect some other business. For each vios, city, civic and altis, they make RM20k oredi. What if they make oni RM5k for each car.. It’d be nice, yes?
    With the introduction of this Pug, Jap cars appear expensive but with lower specs. Is there any point anymore in buying a Jap car other than after sales support? What if Nasim ups the ante by providing similar level of after sales support?

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:11 pm

Fridz said,

January 30, 2009 @ 11:33 am

Hope this 308 will not plastics as bestari.yes Naza can turndown the pricetag but dont tweak the car original specs.pls laaa..

but for rm95k for this 308,may i say that vios,city and latio were overpriced?

wah,sure aku kene hentam lepas ni…hehe
    ——————————-
    Yea, they’re overly-over priced their baby..

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:13 pm

Fridz:I would say Vios and City were over-priced, but not Latio.Wink~

Wonder if they’re taking in the sedan? Probably will be cheaper??Since it’s continental.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:39 pm

Regarding the concern about the interior and built quality, Peugeot has improved leap and bound (not sikit2) since the introduction of the 207 (and therefore 308 too). British critics has nothing to complaint about it (hahaha).. and just raised the concerns on the unknown reliability as it is a new car. They even wish it will do good. So, gone are the hard to touch plastic of yesteryear and current latest Peugeot model have soft touch interior materials that are parallel with car of higher class.

The 308 overall quality might not be at par as equivalent german offering, perhaps at 80~85%.
    However at rm96K and rm111K compared to equivalent german offerring e.g. merc B-class, bmw 1-series, golf, a3? which mostly are costing around rm160K upward… come on.. you do the math.

the fact is all PSA Peugeot Citroen model nowadays have improved a lot and looks to get better and better in time.

As an example, the MPV Citroen C4 Picasso the the best overall MPV in Europe now. and that is judged and sum up by the British, which had always discounted French cars and shamelessly harping on and on about ‘British’ cars like Ford and Vauxhall.

Beside the 308 is a very classy car to look at, place it beside all it’s competitors in our local market and they all look dull and cheap.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 12:53 pm

intermilan,
    the 308 is a very good deal,powerpacked features that gives the japs shame, 6 airbags, where to get? heck, civic 1.8 has only 2 tiny airbags and it is more expensive. Need to say about Perdana?

but just because I mentioned the gearbox does not mean I am bashing it. Enthusiasts will know about the AL4 box. It has been around easily more than 10 years. True Pug enthusiast will ask about the gearbox. This is the gearbox, coupled with other reasons that has brought the marque down.

How qualified is Paul to say the 4 speed is more than adequate? Has he driven an equally spaced 5 speeder or 6 speeder before? Torque versus gearing differences?

yes, the engine has very darn good torque. but would it be better if it was a 5 speeder? would the performance be better?

Paul Tan says: I have driven 4-speed, 5-speed, 6-speed, 7-speed, CVT, only 8-speed belum. Do not change the meaning of the word “adequate” according to your own personal expectations. Adequate and “better” are two different things. FYI the 5-speed in the Honda City has 5 gears but 2 are overdrive. The first 3 gears are quite similiar to a 4-speed auto’s gears.

Why are they using the 6 speed auto in the 308 auto in Europe? What is the torque for those diesels?

where do you get the info that 5 speed is for shorter ratio? this is not true.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:02 pm

OVERPRICED
    You guys must be joking right? You can opt for the Jazz VTEC. Amazing value at RM109,800. Light weight too with only 2 airbags (308 Turbo has 6) and no ESP. RM94,801 for the amazing 1.6L CVTC, 4AT Latio Sport. It’s got up to date 2 airbags and ABS. no ESP though. Lots of other features but you’ve got to test drive all three before typing stuff here.

5-SPEED
    Again, enjoy the B-Segment Jazz VTEC. That’s the car for you. It’s got a WHOPPING 145Nm torque at an insane 4,800rpm. Keep revving and just listen to that exciting VTEC sound. You’ll be happy. Or you can go for the superb Nissan Latio Sport 1.6L, with an incredible 153Nm at 4,400rpm. 4-speed automatic. Maybe some of you posters want to buy a gearbox instead of a car eh?

BUILD QUALITY & AFTERSALES
    Do some research – Automobiles Peugeot has posted an industrial delegate named Garchet at Gurun to monitor things. Automobiles Peugeot has an ASEAN/Middle East technical helpdesk in PJ to sort things out that dealer point techs can’t solve.

PLASTICS
    Seriously, compare the 308’s plastic quality, interior and exterior fit and finish to Jazz and Latio. 308 makes them look bargain basement. Anyone who says otherwise hasn’t done their homework and/or doesn’t understand the meaning of ‘Build Quality’ before posting trashy comments here.

To the naysayers, please oh please stick to Nissan, Honda and Toyota. 308 is definitely NOT for you.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:24 pm

i am not changing the meaning of anything, paul. What gearbox you have driven here does not really matter at all.

When you say more than adequate, there are a lot of meanings into it also, and in a forum, people can only ‘guess’

Paul Tan says: Of course it doesn’t matter, I was just answering your question on whether I have driven a 5-speed or 6-speed. More ratios are always better, I love how all Volkswagens are 6-speed and now 7-speed DSG even down to the cheapest models, but what I was meaning to convey when I said the 4-speed was adequate was that the 308 Turbo’s torque can compensate for the lack of gears. It doesn’t mean I am saying there would be no benefits if more gears are available.

• lchan (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:25 pm

wtf are most of you guys comparing a 308 with city, vios, jazz, latio???…the car is competing with civic, lancer, slyphy, etc. Eventhough the car interior is smaller for its class, it is just the way a car manufacturer designs the interior. You do not use interior space and price range to force fit a car into a category when the intention of the manufacturer is different.

Anyways, the car price is fantastic. Overpriced?..it just shows how much more you are actually paying for a bloody honda civic.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:44 pm

intermilan, i have never found a single build quality issue with Pug cars, what is there to improve on?, they are as good as they can be and i cant agree more that the Pug is a super value deal, just like i have mentioned above.

regarding the 206 issues mentioned, i have no comment as i have never seen it.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:55 pm

The guys who say ‘Overpriced’ really have no concept of price positioning, or making value/features comparisons. It will never end. Even if the Turbo was priced at Latio Sport level, which is already adding absurdity to insanity, they would post some one-liner like ‘Overpriced’. These guys will never buy a 308 and are NOT customers. From their comments it’s very very likely that they’ve not even test-driven the models they speak of.

They should stick to stuff they like, e.g. Jazz VTEC, Latio Sport 1.6 CVTC and enjoy themselves.

• xstan (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 2:10 pm

Just wonder why still compare with Vios, City etc…it should compare with Latio 1.6L, Suzuki swift Sedan & most of all close rival to Altis 1.6L.

Why is everyone overlook on ALTIS 1.6L. There is more Altis 1.6L on road & price identical to 308.

• apisgogo (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 2:21 pm

This car designed and engineered with a passion in mind, not ‘money-making’ strategy like popular japs here.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 2:22 pm

Oh yes, you can get the CKD (Thai source) H-mark 2.0L i-VTEC Civic for RM128,800 only. “The 8th Gen Honda Civic is the icon of revolution in engineering technology” their website says. “Go from zero to hero at just a press of a button” as their website says, by using their paddleshift 5-speed auto. 188Nm (hey lucky double 8s) at 4,500Nm. WOW!

For T-fans there’s the good-enough-for-Orlando-Bloom CBU (Thailand) Altis. The ‘1.8G Sporty’ will only cost you RM120,250. You get Toyota’s famous 1ZZ-FE engine which produces 132PS at 6,000rpm with max torque of 170Nm at 4,200rpm. Yum-yum! It also comes with a rock-solid 4-speed auto with gateshift and plus-minus.

No one ever complains or even mentions Toyota’s sticking to 4-speed autos. Ah, its a Toyota, thats why. No need to do analysis or comparison. Just buy and shout joyfully I have a TOYOTA! For you guys, the 308 Turbo is way out of its league and pricing value right? Stick to T and H. Play far, far away and be happy.

• azrai (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 2:46 pm

Imagine and think about this. What will happened if Naza get a chance to assembled Honda? Think about the price. Hmm. Must be irresistable.

• I my (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Q? for a new car (dealer) the price tag do they need to be pre-approved by “someone” 1st? or the price tag is set by the dealer themselves?

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:07 pm

maibatsu,

these guys that you speak of are most probably kids. that’s why they make remarks and post comments without thinking or analysing their response before clicking ‘submit comment’. typical of their demographic. i think those who post should be mature responsible adults otherwise they bring disrepute to this blogsite and also malaysia in general. they talk much and yet are very, very shallow where it matters. all they want is some car that they can slap bolt-ons from sunway and make a lot of noise. and what better than the honda, toyota, proton and perodua brigade!!

they can even say the 308 is small… but in relation to what? cabin space? overall length? anyone will know that a hatch is obviously smaller than a sedan in terms of length but have they checked out the interior size before saying it is smaller then the civic or altis? betcha 99% they have not.

• claxxion (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm

I’ve always loved Peugeots. Since the 406 coupe days, the 407s and now the 308. Looks really good, and price-wise, its kinda attractive for a conti! What colours do they offer here?

• claxxion (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm

Btw, do we get the panaromic roof?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 3:59 pm

Does the VTI get panoramic glass roof and pop-up display too?

• lchan (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 4:01 pm

the panaromic roof is cool….but not practical. i rather they gave xenon as standard on 140THP because xenons are so nice to drive with.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Car dealers MUST use the official distributors price list with their rubber stamp (chop) in the box. They CANNOT print out their own price lists!

The panoramic glass roof is only available on the 308 GT.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 4:28 pm

autohaus,

obviously i am on the side of pro-Peugeot.

but i shall say the truth that i know. Peugeot built quality is good but not class leading like let say audi or vw. they have some room for improvement. everyone have.

however, good news. nowadays they are going there ‘fast-track-style’ starting with the 207 and now 308. That said, i don’t mean that build quality of 206 or 407 is bad at all. far from it.

i ‘m just happy to see the marked overall improvement in the 308 as compared to the 206.

as for the AM6 6-speed auto gearbox, yes it is only offered in diesel 308.
    diesel torque compared to petrol torque? it is pretty obvious isn’t it? we are talking about turbo diesel here.. not just plain vanilla diesel..

and i dont not wish to continue on the argument over 4 or 5-speed gearbox. the fact is PSA dont have 5-speed gearbox and i dont think they will spent millions of euro for redevelopment and R&D just to cater for additional 1 darn overdrive gear. i just wish they ‘ll speed up the deployment of the AM6 6-speed for all their automatic gearbox car. then we all can boast around that we had 1 more overdrive gear than what honda city have.

claxxion,

there are many colours but i can only think of these: red, blue, grey, white. and no, there is no panaromic roof for the 308 CKD. this marvelous roof cost rm8-10K alone, i guess… therefore it will balloon the 308 CKD price too high, guess that it = omitted. i would love it too.. but in reality, few are willing to pay the extra, if its fit as standard.

additionally, i heard that the red colour 308 CKD is soo soo hot… and perhaps received the most booking. so anyone intent to buy the red one .. book ASAP and good luck!

• terry (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Was at the media launch and the official launch. The Red 308 Turbo looks really great. Hope it would be cheaper as some of the dealers mentioned but if it goes for around RM 105K, it probably fly off the shelves. Nasim today mentioned they want to sell 1.5 K of these this year. If their partnership with Peugeot truly flourishes I think its great for us consumers, and may slowly change the perception of Malaysians towards continental cars.

And I agree that this model should be compared to the Civics, Altis & even Sylphy. I’ve tested the above 3 models a few times and luckily I’ve waited for the 308. Civic actually feels old now (I loved it when it came out first) and while the Sylphy has a real smooth drive and elegant interior, it’s no match sporty or ‘hot’ wise vs the 308. As for boot space size, I’m no golfer and I don’t think I’ll be using the additional 70 odd liters that the other cars offer. Love the top panel :) I don’t think many people use the maximum bootspace more than 30% of the time anyway.

Things I think they could changed :
    1. Shouldn’t detuned to 140hp.
    2. Better looking 17 inch rims. The actual model in the showrooms look similar to my City’s smaller 15 inches.
    3. Colored disc brakes to match the body color (instead of using aftermarket ones).
    4. Better looking Multifunction display (orangey colored words/numbers looks a tad uncool).
    5. A subwoofer (similar to the 407) – then it’ll really draw the attention at nightclubs.

• I my (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Ya HID is a good item to be include.

maibatsu_thunder,
    Thks. Sorry I mean for most of the cars’ pirce in M’sia are their price tag been “apporve” by a 3rd party (ie the Big G) before they sale/launch the new car into our market. or they can price it anyway they want..???

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 5:05 pm

I believe all prices have to get Big G’s approval but Big G doesn’t tell you to lower or raise your OTR.

• terry (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 5:29 pm

maibatsu, heard from most dealers that they promised RM 105 K for the turbo but were shocked when Big G announced 6 K higher. Interestingly they said decision was only made the night before. Any insiders?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 5:43 pm

I heard all the time that prices were 112k for the turbo and 97k for the VTi from insiders! Which dealer told you this? Maybe its the price HE wanted. Dealers would sell a Ferrari for Vios prices if they could. Easier that way, just take orders instead of actually having to SELL. Like water, they follow the path of least resistance.

• kevin62 (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 6:12 pm

With such price can get such performance is really worth. But the only problem is the gearbox. I don care about the 4sp or 5 sp. Its AL4 so called porsche gearbox?? Its better to stick back the 4HP20.. Most more reliable. Other wise go for MANUAL….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 6:12 pm

the price is very good

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 7:14 pm

Software/programming is by Porsche. Trade name is AL4, trade name for system is “Tiptronic System Porsche”. Thats exactly what its called. Not ‘so-called’.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 7:39 pm

the AL4 of the 206, 307, 407 and 308 are not the same. it is just called AL4 as a trade name (as per maibatsu’s post). like bmw 3 series. there are lots of different 3 series. e30, e36, e46, e90 etc and each model has several engine types. same for the AL4. but as it is not a car and just a gearbox, the different versions or upgrades are seldom mentioned.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 8:27 pm

Terry the 308 GT has a full factory fitted JBL sound system and a glass top. That should be blingy enough for ya! ;)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 8:34 pm

I think this is as best as Naza can offer in malaysia. Better than other CKD manufacturers with their car offers.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:38 pm

You can say that again! Both variants come with cruise control as standard fitment, I heard!

• asimo (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 12:35 am

when naza want to introduce 0 dp, 0 interest for 308 ?????????
    huhu…love this car….

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 2:57 am

tigerking;
    —————————————————————
    wow you seem to know a lot about vehicle technical details.but you forgot a few important points……
    1.the japs are so much better in this segment,you dont even realise it
    2.the name peugeot itself is a huge turnoff
    3.got sedan models ahh?
    4.peugeots break apart
    5.easily
    6.halfcuts??you will have problems finding them…coz cinapek bosses know only 1/8 in 10 cars in msia are peugeots
    6 1/2.then you will be driving around with a great huge hole in the front for a long time
    7.the whole thing is not even peugeot
    8.if it were peugeot…expect it to break down in the 2nd year
    9.so why dont worry about maintainence?

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 3:04 am

maibatsu_thunder ;
    damn! you have a sharp ass eye..i couldnt have said it better! haha cheers to the japs!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 7:51 am

All said with tongue firmly in cheek. But at least the J’s are straight up telling customers what they think of them – “Go from zero to hero at just a press of a button” as their website says, by using their paddleshift 5-speed auto. Oh come all ye zeroes?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 7:59 am

Hidrogentank – “Sharp Ass Eye” may mean HINDsight is always right! ;)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 9:55 am

if it were the previous distributors, what do you reckon the price of these 308s will be, parallel to the 307s?

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 11:43 am

i hate peugeot and naza ..

peugeot cars all rubbish …

• 9211 (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 12:13 pm

Peugeot or any French marque is synonymous with sagging absorber and the body or chasis ‘senget’ after 2 or 3 years and makes the car looks old. Also the reliability and the expensive spare parts make Malaysian shy away French models despite their good performance, using Porche gearshift technology or whatever the best they claim. I think it will take another 10 years for them to improve and change this perception among Malaysians before they can at par the Japanese marque.

• maserati (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 12:20 pm

wow..comparing the peugeot 308 VTi with the latest honda city.

I will definately get the 308 Vti since its only 6k more exp than city and of course its so much more better than City.

After you sit in a peugeot 308,you wouldnt want to get ur arse in that city anymore.

• kruzer (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 12:47 pm

i would say conti cars age more nicely than japs. Just look at those 10 yo Mercs and BMWs, etc, and compare them to the Japs equivalent. Somehow, the Japs version look very old design..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 1:47 pm

RELIABILITY
    Come on lah, this is just an opinion. My brother is spending huge sums on maintaining his Cxxxc until he feels like giving up and buying something newer. Anyone who thinks Japanese makes are automatically cheaper are living a lie. My uncle’s Accxxx has brake disc warping problems which until today have not been solved. Initially the rear left power window stopped working but thankfully replaced during warranty period. Another friend bought an Accxxx and his cylinder head cracked. Also thankfully replaced during warranty period. One more guy’s Cxxxc had the brake caliper suddenly drop off. Sometimes their ‘PRIDE’ makes them keep silent about all this. Malu what!?

Sagging shock absorbers? Says who? There are a few friends driving 405s and have never complained of such things.

PARTS PRICING
    The new parts pricing for Peugeot vs Japanese should be much better than with previous distributors. I’d say it’s OK to try and service intervals are longer.

CONCLUSION
    I think your point is not reliability or parts pricing but how the warranty/aftersales is handled. All cars are made with the best of intentions, no matter if they are Japanese, Korean, French, Italian or German. I’d say the Japanese have had a faster reaction time thus far to problems and score well. Refer to the JD Power IQS results but bear in mind their sample sizes and the fact that makes with smaller sales figures can’t be tracked accurately.

http://www.jdpower.com/corporate/news/releases/pressrelease.aspx?ID=2008201

Sometimes I feel terrible that people just come out and type some unfounded rubbish and then leave. It’s very nasty.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 1:59 pm

paul, thanks for the clarification.

intermilan, yea i hope so too they will use that 6 speed box in all their autoboxes. 4 speed may be fine, but it is really 2009 now and things should change. I was told the Al4 has been revised, but i have tried to search EXACTLY what was revised, nobody seems to know. Germans started 5 speeders in the mid 90s.

please, plase dont compare with a toyota. we all know what sort of stuff they give us. i dont even wana sit in it. i feel embarrassed. we should always look forward, why look and compare with someone who is lesser than you? if i flunk my exam, should i console myself just because half the class flunk too?

kevin62, apparently the 4HP20 also had some issues when used with 2 litre engines. They are surprisingly reliable in 3 litre V6.

hidrogentank, what sort of rubbish you talking man. you thinking with your backside? japs better in this segment? what segment, which department? i would like to talk about this WITH YOU IN DETAIL.

name Peugeot is a turnoff? What car do you drive? have you driven a French car before? It is so obvious you are not an enthusiast. Peugeot is a company that is rich in history and they make and still make one of the best handling cars in the world. please dont talk crap.

Pug sedan models? please do a wikipedia search. this is just like asking if Ferraris make 2 litre automatic engines or Ferrari 4×4 to take part in rainforest Challenge?

Pugs break apart? which part? My frenchie does’t wana break. maybe we should take a long drive together and see who breaks first. I like to cruise all day at 160 to 170 and occasionally go above 200.

Why do you wana buy a halfcut when the car is still so new?

1/2 time driving with a big hole in front? How come people are buying Ferrari Modenas then?

If the whole thing is not Pug, then what it is?

Why would you say it would break down in 2nd year? which part exactly? You have any proof? Mine has never broken down on me. NEVER…and it is more than 10 years old.

lambov12….what do you mean by rubbish? which part is rubbish? what do you drive that is good and perfect?

9211, what sort of nonsense you talking? sagging suspension? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA….body or chasis senget? please la….if you dont know anything, dont talk nonsense la….senget? hahahaha. you got any proof or not? mine doesnt have any of those probs also.

on par with the japanese? why would they wana do that when they are so far ahead?

By the way, those who drive a local or jap CKD cars, your cars RUST. dont believe me?

• HARTAPERAK (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 4:00 pm

People …. relax, it’s car forum – dissenting opinions are allowed.

Peugeot is a wonderful car …. speaking of experience here. I’m still driving mine which I bought new 10 yrs ago…. the only thing BAD about Peugeot is the maintainence after year 5 onwards and the resale value really sucks. Ride comfort is good, road holding is good …..

Anyway this 308 looks good, pricing is okay lar (well thanks to the tax in Malaysia). Let’s see how well this sells ….. 407 CKD seems not doing that well …. have not seen many on the road but a good value for the price.

• apisgogo (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 5:44 pm

9211 said,
    January 31, 2009 @ 12:13 pm
    …Peugeot or “any French marque” is synonymous with sagging absorber and the body or chasis ’senget’ after 2 or 3 years and makes the car looks old….

*comments denote to ” ”

What kind of nonsense is this? do you have proof to your statement or you just bluntly typing ‘what-you-feel-or-heard-from-somebody’ type of comment? I still have my 11 year old citroen xsara mark 1 and i can tell you this, its like sofa on wheels man. still going strong after 11 glorious years. no sagging at all. and i dare to say it still look fresh even a decade has been passed.

back to 308 Pug. price is just nice for people who wants spirited and comfort in one package, enuff said. you will never hear ‘milo-tin’ sound from rooftop when raining like our famous honda city (yes i know, the wife drives one, company car). i know it is obnoxious to compare 308 to City/Vios class, but just to show to people here who indeed compare to it. Civic? the wind noise is so unbearable for its class and dont let me start on those mutated Altis.

there you go.

• radix (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Just test drove the 308 in Bangsar showroom.They had the Vti for test instead of Turbo.
    1.Comfort.
    2.Good brakes and handling
    3.Below 100k is what most of us looking for.
    4.Spacious/Huge
    5.Im speechless.Its a Great Car.

Last but not least,please dont compare it with a 90k Japenese cars….308 is far beyond that.Drove a friends Altis 1.6,well shall i say its sad we have been driving Jap all the way.See it for yourself cos you buy this kinda car,You’ll keep it for at least min 5 years(a civic minded person) thus you dont loose much on the re-sale value.Sorry if it hurts but TRUTH HURTS.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 6:50 pm

hartaperak, of course discerning opinions are allowed, but when you read statements like chasis senget, saggin suspension, will break down on the 2nd year, why need 5 speed in traffic jam – what does that tell you? jokers right? I dont think they even know what a chasis is. All these Jeremy Clarkson wannabe, sigh, try harder la.

Glad you are still enjoying yr car. Generally i think maintainence for all cars would get heavy after the 5th year or a certain amount of mileage.

if you think resale value is bad for Pugs, wait till you hear about the resale value of Citroens!!!

radix, glad you enjoyed the drive. An Altis 1.6? that thing handles slightly better than an Iswara. it is a shame to even compare to this 308.

BTW, did you manage to check if it comes with aluminium arms? just curious only.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 8:11 pm

they’re probably jealous honda and toyota staff trying to cause mischief with baseless statements ;) notice those are just sweeping statements without any evidence whatsoever. upon seeing this post of mine, my guess is they will fabricate some story just to appear credible!!! hahahahahaha :D

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 8:12 pm

For the goony armchair professors who keep insisting 4-speed transmissions automatically mean bad fuel consumption (and don’t know that an Optima 2.0L can beat a Civic 1.8L’s fuel consumption), check this out: http://www.peugeot.com.au/PEUGEOT/AU/me.get?site.sectionshow&FFFF2391

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 10:12 pm

maibatsu_thunder ;yes exactly….

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 10:16 pm

autohaus ;
    —————————————————————-
    to confirm with you..yes i occasionally do think with my backside and im about to do the same here…geez..you retaliate like i was insulting your mother….so , did you come out of two pugs after intercourse??

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 10:22 pm

but anyway..lambo and 9211..i think we got practical……almost hahah!im outta this forum for good(such inferiority)

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 2:21 am

hidrogentank said,
    January 31, 2009 @ 10:16 pm

autohaus ;
    —————————————————————-
    to confirm with you..yes i occasionally do think with my backside and im about to do the same here…geez..you retaliate like i was insulting your mother….so , did you come out of two pugs after intercourse??
    ————————————-
    talk about credibility……

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 2:31 am

thats why we should all drive alfa romeos and saabs, cars made for people who knows cars

• Paul Tan on Feb 01, 2009 at 3:17 am

I think I see a pattern here, any car under RM140k will receive over 100 comments.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 5:42 am

Paul Tan said,
    February 1, 2009 @ 3:17 am

I think I see a pattern here, any car under RM140k will receive over 100 comments.
    That’s natural. However, I won’t comment things like “200k for a pre-owned is cheap” like some did. These are the ppl who flock your site with their crappy comments most of the time. I won’t know – maybe you like it?

BTW, who cares what engine you have when it’s mated with a dated 4AT GB? Gimme the 6MT, like what’s stated on the brochure!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 9:30 am

The 6-speed manual is available as the CBU, 3-Door 176PS GT, with panoramic glass roof, JBL audio, etc. RM159k please.

• TESko (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Gosh… it’s so happening here. I just dun understand with all the HU HA abt the 4AT gbox, if u dun like it dun buy. Me.. 100% 308.. love peugeot since they introduce 405 many years ago. I just dun understand y they say Japs car is reliable.. My Japanese bosses never like N or H or T or Lexus.!! (oh but they like skyline) Their Civic and Accord has given them tons of problem… and had the gearbox change twice. Too bad, they launch it at a wrong timing (for me) or else I’m going to have a 308 at me porch. hemm…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 5:59 pm

For these guys it seems as if it’s perfectly alright if the 4AT is in a Toyota Altis, Camry 2.0, Nissan Latio, Suzuki Swift, etc. You’ll get ‘Dead Silence’ about the whole thing … but if it’s a Peugeot with 4AT = SHOCK/HORROR/NITPICK-NITPICK-NITPICK and this ‘Drama Minggu Ini’ overshadows everything else. Comedy!! You wouldn’t be blamed for imagining that their main purchase consideration is apparently buying a gearbox first and foremost, with the rest of the car attached to it as an afterthought. No offence but I believe the guys posting all this are not even remotely the target market anyway, but notice how they’ve skewed the focus away from all the obvious benefits to some red herring that’s basically the same feature as in all Japanese makes except Honda?

• kiddy (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 7:11 pm

autohaus:….relax..LOL…let them say whatever want to…
    dis 308 rocks..la..price at a reasonable price with tons of accessories…..even im do own a local car..but i always support continental cars…=D..

• triplew (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 11:28 pm

308 is compared against Civic out there, Civic seems outshine in its class out there. Just for reference below:

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/grouptests/213690/peugeot_308_vs_honda_civic_vs_fiat_bravo.html

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 9:30 am

Well its an interesting little article but for Malaysia (albeit with UK spec models) it’s best to compare the automatic 308 Turbo with the 4-Door Civic 1.8/2.0L. You must go for a test drive as I’m sure you won’t make a purchase decision solely based on reviews by others.

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 9:47 am

triplew,

here’s an extract of your link. the conclusion of the article.

“Ultimately, though, the Civic was out in front, due to its excellence in so many areas. The Swindon-build model enjoys great residuals, is highly practical (with the exception of the small rear doors and poor visibility out the back), boldly styled throughout and comes across as very well engineered. That’s why it remains our pick of the family hatchback class.”

mind you. it is built in swindon, uk and by the brits for the european market. just goes to show what honda can do if they really want to. they have their weaknesses though (which car doesn’t) but the point is, we are not getting this model. we have to make do with the poorer (honda will deny this though and the legion of their fans too) made and engineered local stuff cos we aren’t critical like the europeans.

over there, they demand an european handling honda with build quality to match the europeans and honda has obliged. over here, anything even remotely better than a proton is considered good. and it is hailed as the next best thing!

this is malaysia where we have to live with less than up to standard japanese cars because malaysians think it is good ehough. and when there is a competitor from europe transplanted here, the legion of honda fans goes all out to discredit it. why? because it is a threat to honda’s unshakable reputation. they are the first ones to comment and make snide remarks… mostly those which are baseless. it’s sad but this is the mentality of the vtec lovers.

anyway, to set the record straight, i have to say, i am a big fan of the civic. seeing it live in uk really took my breath away. not the locally built one but the space age one designed and built in england for the european market. the quality of materials inside the uk model outshine any japanese made or thai made or malaysian assembled honda model by light years. yes it is surely heavier than the local ones and even the type r over there underperforms compared to the jdm spec one. why? the europeans can’t build a better honda than honda? i think it is probably the need to 1) be more kind to the environment – hence emission controls 2) protect occupants and pedestrians – stronger body = more weight, note it is not a high end car where special lightweight yet stronger materials can be used to replace the heavy metals for better crash protection 3) achieve high scores in EuroNCAP to prove that the car is safe.

so there, if the euro civic was here, it is definitely a strong competitor to the european 308. and, depending on your priorities in what a car should do for you, the vote can go either way. both are very good cars.

the strength of the 308 is still it’s handling and ride (as extracted from the article):

“The 308 is much improved – the soft-touch dashboard is particularly well executed, and the car’s road manners are mature, demonstrating a very well judged balance of ride and handling.”

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 10:14 am

The competitors all have reasonably good engines, but this BMW-PSA ‘Prince’ engine really impressed me. Check out this PDF, it covers the VTi and Turbo: http://www.psa-peugeot-citroen.com/document/presse_dossier/PK_PSA_BMW1103281940.pdf

• volcane (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 1:56 pm

those people said nothing good about peug because they have no intention to own one. they said all the nice thing about H or T, because they owned may be more than one. i am one of them. me drive a T, wife drive a H.
    I owned a cit, sorry not one but two before and i regretted selling them away. since then, it is always my intention, plan to buy back a french car. i will have no regret to trade both my H and T for this 308. to experience a true driving experience from a H and T brand, i will need more than RM150k. example Camry 2.0g which my brother drives only comes with two airbags and 4AT and u nee to fork out more to so-called enjoy the 5AT (2.4g). Same goes to H. with RM111K, i get….what six air bags, TC and DSC. now tell me what other brand can offer me with that at that price. those who owns a french car or planned to own one would realise and accept the fact that its resale value would be much lower that Japs. hey cars are nor real property. buying or owning cars is not like owning lands, houses or building. whatever bloody brand your bought today, by tomorrow morning your would surely lost some money as it will depreciate. why think about half-cut when u are buying a brand new car. i dont understand ever that was also included as a criterion to forget peug. body sengget…what on earth is that? if you don’t know your stuff, please lah do some research and leave a commendable comment. don’t simply taruk.
    even my teenage son also laughed at the suspension set-up of the T and N when compared with those of peug and cit. he scolded me for selling the zx because he knew the history of french car manufactures.
    those who are interested in this car, take a closer look yourself.
    i for one has placed my order without test driving it.
    TQ

• alexsincl (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 4:49 pm

The 308 is a good car in terms of design, specs and value. My only concern is on the resale value (i change car every 2-3 years), parts availability (my aunt driving a 206 CC CBU have to wait for 6 months in order for PUG to deliver the 4AT from France, she end up dricing a new CRV now), ride comfort after 12 months and safety feature (i have issue trusting naza made cars, i driven the 206, the feeling is not good at all).

Obviously, it is not fair for you to do a direct comparison between a 308 CKD and a CBU. Look at the price, you can’t complaint after all. Obviously there is ought to be some differences when you compare them on the road. I tried PUG CBU 407, the feel is different when you compare to CKD.

I am a hardcore Honda fans, my family members owned a city, civic, crv, jazz, stream and odyssey. So far, the overall quality is pretty good even after 5 years. The only turn off is … the price is getting higher and higher. I might consider PUG if they managed to solve my concern (which might take them years – look at chevy for an example).

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 6:17 pm

lowprofile;

you wrote;
    1.these guys that you speak of are most probably kids
    Ofcourse were little kids..who wouldn’t have guessed?
    ————————————————————–
    2.they talk much and yet are very, very shallow where it matters. all they want is some car that they can slap bolt-ons from sunway and make a lot of noise

Really?… or is it that only up till now,have we been offered a euro car with reasonable price range??was there anything BEFORE the 308 arrival that can offer similar quality and epuipment to the japs at the same price range ie 60k150k,ie from city to accord range?

they’re probably jealous honda and toyota staff trying to cause mischief with baseless

I am just wondering where you got that idea from…funny though

this is malaysia where we have to live with less than up to standard japanese cars because malaysians think it is good ehough

Ofcourse we think its good enuogh…based on the choices “we’re” offered…. if there were better offers ofcourse we’d go for them..bt no…give me an example of a better euro car at the typical H, T, N ,or price range that would make a better choice “all round” (maintainence,reliability,resale value, so on)before the arrival of the 308?And we’re talking bout new cars here not 2nd hands ofcourse

when there is a competitor from europe transplanted here, the legion of honda fans goes all out to discredit it. why? because it is a threat to honda’s unshakable reputation

A threat?? Please..do you really think the pugs sales can topple that of Hondas,or toyotas??? Im really surprised a responsible,basefull adult like you should say that, why I don’t really see to many pugs or cits or rens around…

it’s sad but this is the mentality of the vtec lovers

i feel even worse for you

Some people say it is the typical mentality of most malaysians of liking japs…..but really?Is it not the other way round?

Is it not that most of us would rather go for the euro brands if we could,not that id go for the pug…(just look at this blog…… conti supporters the whole way, almost)..but most of us drive jap cars because the price is more relevant to we can afford..

You say youre a responsible adult but your comments are equally shallow and baseless like the kids.you bash in a subtle manner but bash nonetheless……

Looking at it i’d say youre a typicaly biased fellow trying to be seemingly fair….but id ask you to try again

if you still think that some of us are shallow,,please do carry on…….

lastly,,there is the ubiquitous,”feel free to correct me if im wrong”wherever you feel i am..other bloggers invited.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:09 pm

stop hesitating a buy the pug

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Test driven the 308 Vti 2 days ago at Bangsar…I must say it definitely stood out against the T & H in terms of handling, road holding, interior quality and comfort…however…I’ve noticed some differences when compared to the T, H, or even Pug models that I’ve driven or the display units that I’ve saw in during the 308 soft launch at Pug “Blue Box”:

(1) Transmission response is relatively slower and not as smooth, compared to the Jap Mades….not sure if it is common for Pugs…can any existing Pug owner or expert pls advise?

(2) The noise level from the engine is pretty audible in the car when revved, quite significantly louder than the 407 that I’ve test driven before and the T that I’m currently driving…

(3) Noticed that the headlamps for the display unit in the showroom is different from the projector headlamps shown during the soft launch…have any1 noticed this as well…or can any1 share if Nasim had made any change to the specs?

Anyway…am still an advocate for the 308 and am looking forward to test drive the turbo version when it’s available…hopefully within a couple of weeks’ time…

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Btw Paul…Just wondering whether you will be reviewing this car…like what you did with the Honda Civic before…Cheers! :-)

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 9:53 pm

hidrogentank,

well said. peugeot will never tople the sales of any japanese or malaysian make. this is an accepted fact and i’m sure the peugeot people know this too. the europeans brought this misfortune upon themselves in the late 70’s and 80’s where they laggged behind the japanese in many areas (while still retaining their handling and ride prowess).

now they have products to match and are trying to make a comeback. the least we can do is consider their efforts objectively. just like what your parents did when the japanese started to improve in the 70’s and 80’s. malaysians gave the so-called milo tins (as they were knows back then) a chance. this is just what the europeans need again today, a chance.

it is annoyingly when sweeping statements are made without and basis. don’t you think so? even if you don’t agree with me on many aspects, you can’t ignore the fact that many in here want to bash just for the sake of bashing.

anyway, if you can read between my lines, kudos to you. perhaps you could look at the automotive world with eyes wide open. make no mistake, i do not dislike the japanese makes. it’s just the overtly bias and baseless statements that irritate.

and lastly, no i’m not going to correct you. if you have your point of view and can back it up with the facts, then so be it. i will respect your views. afterall, there are no two people who are identicle in views. so i would agree to disagree with you at this point.

• king (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 1:19 am

guys,

go and see the car for yourselves..

after sitting in the interior of the 308…you’ll feel that your typical japanese b and c segment cars ( vios/city/latio/civic/altis/sylphy/lanser etc) are built with kancil-like plastic materials.

unbelieveably high spec that really put the japanese to shame.

i can’t believe how much peugeot has improved…truly amazing…

to me, this is the true hidden gem in the new car market for now.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 1:27 am

lowprofile ;
    ok, i will not try and argue now…but there are a few things you wrote that i can quite let go just yet.

first however you said
    —————————————————————
    it is annoyingly when sweeping statements are made without and basis. don’t you think so?
    you can’t ignore the fact that many in here want to bash just for the sake of bashing.

Yes in fact I do actually..but theyre not meant to be taken seriously.After all we’re most probabaly kids.
    —————————————————————
    2.the europeans brought this misfortune upon themselves in the late 70’s and 80’s where they laggged behind the japanese in many areas (while still retaining their handling and ride prowess).
    now they have products to match and are trying to make a comeback. the least we can do is consider their efforts objectively

It think this statement is to general…don’t you mean , the French, British, Italians…(passenger car segment) because, the world has always known the Germans to be way ahead. Other than that, yes I think you are right, maybe we do need to give them a chance. Although, the prices still seem to be a bit high.

—————————————————————
    just like what your parents did when the japanese started to improve in the 70’s and 80’s. malaysians gave the so-called milo tins (as they were knows back then) a chance. this is just what the europeans need again today, a chance.

I think it is more…best choice than chance because none of us really do that…(giving chance and buying the lesser) if it involves large sums of money. Most Europeans have had enough chances already. Its clear they have the support of the majority. They only need to be more humble like the japs we’re. We used to tease them (tin cans and etc) but they persisted and came out well.
    ————————————————————–
    perhaps you could look at the automotive world with eyes wide open

I have. And you know what?……. The Japanese have to.that is how they came out to be global leaders.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 2:10 am

volcane;

hi mr volcane….id say you ok lah..quite well to do.you got rm111k.but i wanna ask, do you know why the jap cars got better resale value?this is in retort, but you can answer if you want.

and about the halfcut….i am talking about just incase you met an accident or sumthin. i dono lah maybe youre a good driver, but just incase…?coz tak kan you wanna drive around with the car face senget rite?

and also, maybe we taruk, coz we just kids what….don la so serious.

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 8:58 am

hidrogentank,

agreed on all counts. cheers.

• volcane (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 9:35 am

hi all,
    where got so serious one.
    at the end of the day….when someone like a car, no matter what other said, taruk, bashed about the car, its his/her money, suka hati dia le.
    i just gave my opinion as others did too with no intention to hurt each other.
    we presented our arguement that i hoped was no intended to start a cyber fight..hey, its just about a car my friend not about hidup atau mati.
    sesiapa yang H,T,N,M,F,C loyal fans….continue with that. sesiapa yang like P,C, BMW, Benz etc etc…yeah, so what. u like the marque, buy it and drive it. wouldn’t it be more educating it we could argued, for example, why the handing a car (in this case 308) is different from the T,H,N,M etc rather than ..oh the resale value will drop, parts mahal or must wait for several months. those facts are known to all peug owners, ex-owners and wanna be owners.
    My frriends…find more commendable, knowledgeable and educating arguement la. I, for one. wold like to learn more.
    TQ. drive safely

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 10:53 am

hahahaha..

as i mentioned before,

“welcome all doubters and basher to the new world of affordable Peugeot.
    we r expecting a lot of you guys to show up. kikiki..
    you won’t have much bullet to shoot it down thou. simply because its a good product with very reasonable asking price.
    so be very carefully or you just end up tarnish your nickname reputations, if there’s any.”

look like this 308 is one bait many of them couldn’t resist. How can they?
    its too threatening!

and from reading all the -ve comments left, there’s nothing much really except re-cycle of old facts, that are unproven and unknown for the 308 as its a ‘new generation’ of Peugeot car.

Whatever, please don’t stop, as all feedback are most welcome, just make an effort to give your best critique and pointers. This is one thick-skin Eurpean car with good price to boot, okay?

Keep it coming!

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 12:34 pm

That is exactly why I have been longing for more constructive comments to be posted here…rather than pointless bashing or sentimental criticisms…so whoever has test driven, seen, touched, or smelled this car before…pls give your valuable comments…as I strongly believe it will benefit the other readers who might be the potential owners of this car for the months to come…for those who have entirely no intention to have anything to do with this car…but just come here with the intention to belittle the brand or the car….just let em crap whateva they wan….as I seriously do not desire wasting my time replying to those feedbacks…

Like what Volcane said…I’m sure most of the interested buyers would have already known the potential inherent weaknesses of the car or the brand itself…as we Malaysians are developing towards the status of informed buyers/consumers (hopefully)…so what we really need here from you guys is your constructive comments or reviews from those who has had realistic experience with this particular car to determine if Peugeot has really make the cut to revamp and revive its brand name in the country…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 1:00 pm

hope it is not like the ckd 407 very disappointing

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 2:36 pm

i think CR7 got it spot-on.

the reputations of paul tan blog was built on sincere if not hard-hitting review and feedback on cars, mostly by local manufacturers. there are incidences of ‘out-of-hand’ heated debate but mostly the amount of knowledge shared here is what made it is today.

the next forummer after CR7, unfortunately, are just the usual low-life jeremy clackson wannabe with pathetic one liner bulshite.

many of us would like to see this thread received high number of postings, as that might means its received a lot of good quality feedback (either positive or negative), but not if its filled with comments such as above. what a waste of space.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 2:44 pm

What’s so disappointing about the 407?

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 3:16 pm

intermilan;
    yes agreed…for the time being…but lets see how things go a few years from now.

• triplew (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:42 pm

I think constructive comparison against other cars is great for ppl to make judgement when it’s time to bleed their wallet, such as strength of each models. However it tends to be more and more subjective and emotional sometimes, well i see that as auto lover….. in certain model/brand, it’s not bad too :)

I’m fans of civic and lancer all this while and hatchback never in my favourite list, but i think this 308 gonna be another option i would consider seriously, sometimes i think its look is even more aggresive and handsome and lancer :p

Thus i did search some reviews here and there, it seems there is one common comment is that it’s a bit sluggish in 1.6VTi, i really hope it’s not the fact.

The 1.6 turbo could perform similar to other 2.0 engine, so does it consume fuel the same as 2.0 engine?

• terry (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:44 am

I think whatever comments come out here, its great to see Naza (however bad their CKDs maybe) is trying to increase the range of cars around the RM 80 – 110 K pricing. It could only mean more competition and better pricing all around for us (hopefully).

Personally I’m driving a City now, and I am a Honda fan cause I think that my City (the older VTEC Ultraseat model) has been a great car and I have no problems whatsoever except for the driver power window occassionally got stuck when winding up. When I tell my friends and colleagues about CVT, ultraseats, smooth ride, spaciousness and all round class the only retort I’d always get was it looks funny.

Am now looking for a change and have actually tested Sylphy, Civic, Altis, SX4 (crossover model), Lancer, Latio, Optra, Mazda3, and 407. I had actually earlier narrowed to Sylphy, SX4 and 407 (unsure if the addtional 10-20 K increase for each model is worth it) until the 308 came out, and the specs really blown me over as well as the pricing.

Personally, I just want a car that looks good and drives well. If they don’t sell 1,500 units as mentioned all the better as I prefer to be not so common on the road (just look at the sheer number of kancils, protons and now the jap cars). I’d probably be one of the earlier buyers and aware of taking the risk having not tested the Turbo version.

Tested the VTI version today and also felt that the transmission response was slow, and the car felt a bit heavy. Road handling was good, and overall driving experience was I feel better than most of the earlier cars I’ve tested with the exception of maybe the Sylphy (I love CVT transmission but willing to overlook that for a different look car).

Overall, I’m inclined to ‘test’ out the 308 depsite the perceptions not only in this forum but also when I talked to my relatives or friends. Maybe I will change them one perception at the time.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:44 am

Terry please don’t be too quick to condemn CKD as ‘bad’. Bad compared to what benchmark? Please compare the CKD 407 and Optima with any Accord or Camry in respect to these points. Many people knock CKD ‘Quality’ but don’t know how to measure or quantify ‘Quality’.

1) Exterior
    a) look at panel gaps, distance equal on all sides?
    b) Stand at one side and see if gapping is equal.
    c) Go to rear and look down at alignment of door lines. Equal?
    d) Cowl Top to glass (Black plastic behind wipers). Any gap end to end?
    e) Bumpers to body. Aligned properly? Any gap? Does the rear bumper stick out or is it flush to the body?
    f) Side trim – any gap to body? Flush or did they fill it with rubber insulation?
    g) Window rubber – fitted evenly? Splayed out? Worn or dirty?
    g) Paint – look for orange peel, look for drip marks at corners. At hidden areas fully glossed or not is more of a cost issue than quality. Audi scores top of the pops for full gloss paint in all the hidden areas, gutters, etc.

2) Interior
    a) Door trim to doors. Any gap from top to bottom?
    b) Lift up floor carpets mats. Is floor carpet super flat as if its sucked down to the floorpan or does it have air pockets, hills and valleys?
    c) Seat stitching aligned properly? Look at edges tucked into plastic, rear underneath, is the finishing OK?
    d) A, B, C and/or D pillars to headliners – flush fit? Gaps? Sags?

A lot more but these are the basics of ‘QUALITY’. You may want to make sure you check before expressing your opinion. IMHO and from what many motoring journos have observed. The CKD Kia Optima’s build quality smokes and puts to shame a lot of Japanese and Continental makes. I may be biased so please check for yourself with the notes I just wrote above.

Peace!

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 10:43 am

hidrogentank,

yes, everyone would like to see what will happen in a few years, most surely hope for the bright side. the malaysian market need a playing field with more players. its good for the consumer.

to me, currently, the 308 represent the best chances among most (if not all) Peugeot offering to prove that current Peugeot offering are reliable (unreliable is what most people are afraid of, i guess). spare part price will not be as cheap as local or japanese (oem or imitation) price. but there is more to experience / reward of owning a car than just maintenance cost and resale value.

naza might be planning to bring in the 207 in the future (looking at how they aggressively sell down the remaining 206 bestari stock). it depends on the economic outlook. the 207 should be another good seller, provided the ‘packages’ is right. it would be very interesting if they can bring in the 107 @ reasonable price (for car it size) e.g. below RM43K. i also would love the introduction of a 308SW CKD. there is a large following for mid-MPV (wish, stream, livina, grandis etc). i’m sure they can price it well below RM145K if they wanted to. and even at 145K, it is already cheaper than the popular wish and stream. just perhaps, proton and perodua up-coming cheap mid-MPV might ‘kill’ the market. even then, small number should still be CKD just to lend it strength to the 308 range.

i’ve read a few comments on how the VTi seem to be a little ‘sluggish’. i think you can say its sluggish if the comparison were made against some car that are well known to be a ‘good accelerator’. the VTi wouldn’t win any traffic light race. even with 120bhp and 160Nm of torque, the weight of around 1280kg due bog it down (its heavy for it’s size n that nearly identical to Slyphy 2.0 which show how much safety measure was put in the 308). Peugeot realise this and never intended for the VTi to be the ‘fast’ 308. even then, they give it a bit of extra torque to soothe the situation. however, for improved sensation, you have to look at the 140turbo and 175GT. whatever comments about the VTi performance should be moderated to reflect this model positioning.

consider this, there are 1.4VTi 308 with 95bhp and 136Nm of torque. lucky Nasim didn’t sell this for 96K! but would it be nice if they CKD this ‘basement 308’ and sell it at, let say, RM79K? seem quite a lot of a 1.4?

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 11:01 am

globally the 308 interior is rated against bmw 1 series (and beats it). the fact that it uses the turbo petrol from the mini is good for fuel economy and flexible as well. the 1.6 turbo outperforms the 2.0litre civic sport engine. but then again, the kia cerato’s 2.0litre also matches the civic sport (considering its a bargain basement car).

i think good alternative option for people buying a corolla. and in msia its even cheaper than the competition by a mile. only thing with this one it feels very airy and some people actually like that. privacy is less so it can do well with some dark tints.

• 308GT (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:26 pm

ok… MONSTER is now in…!!

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 2:28 pm

I must say that I have been impressed by most of our posters here who have shared in depth technical knowledge and insights to the automotive industry…you guys’ comments certainly weigh up to certain level of influence in the purchasing decisions of the potential buyers…

Nonetheless, speaking from a consumers’ perspective, and its is from my own opinion…I think the driving experience/quality itself would be the key underlying factor to why most of the drivers are owning the car that they are currently driving (more relevant those who are willing to fork out funds in the RM100K region)…coz ultimately…that’s still what cars are made for…Frankly speaking…the sluggish acceleration in the VTi was indeed the least expected for my own knowledge (especially when doing uphill tasks at 1st or 2nd gear)..Despite that, the other aspects of the 308 (interior & exterior looks, technology, comfort, accessories etc) really did exceed my expectations by miles…and of coz…other minor shortfall like the replacement of projector headlamp would be considered as negligible for me….perhaps Intermilan does have a point here by taking into consideration that Peugeot is not meant to be built in the fashion like the Japs for acceleration…but I personally still feel that for conventional Jap owners switching for the 308….it might take awhile for them to accommodate the difference in performance style (& it is important that they realize this before they start shooting again)…but if u put the low gear acceleration concern aside….it is still a great driving experience afterall…

Anyway…next up…the Turbo…which I certainly hope it would live up to its expectations for performance…and Nasim will certainly have my RM1K booking fee in their bank account~

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 3:26 pm

I’ve been wondering if the 308 Turbo could use John Cooper Works stuff. I guess PeugeotSport will come up with parts only later. Anyway the JCW has engine management, filter and exhaust.

For 308 owners, K&N part 33-2936 (Also for MINI Cooper, Citroen C4) can be used as well as a rather solid looking strut brace from OMP are available (http://www.strut-bracer.co.uk/page1.php?sitepage=3&manuf=61&modelid=1083).

• Poot Poot Chia (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 10:15 pm

Anyone can share the maintenance cost of a Peugeot car?

Let’s say a regular oil change, bringing your own oil, how much it will cost?

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Reading pdf about this Prince engine attached by Maibatsu,

Normal service interval, oil change every 30K km (1 year plus for normal driver), plug and and air filter every 60K km (3 years?), lifetime timing chain and valve system….

What the heck. lets go get one..

• terry (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:35 am

maibatsu, my quote on the CKDs was based generally on feedback and perceptions of certain quarters. Certainly I do not buy in CKD, CBU, etc as this factors are the least of my concern when it comes to purchasing cars.
    Thanks for the tip though. I’d probably print ur comments out when I go check the car :). Btw, there was a point where I’d considered the Optima as well a few years back. It had a very good price for >2L car and I’d actually thought the interior looked good.

Yeah bring on the 308 SW or even the 3008. The French guy mentioned they’d be bringing in a model at the end of the year. Wonder if it is this 2 or the 207 even.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:48 am

Terry its good to listen but some people have their own prejudices, perceptions and opinions. More often than not it has no factual basis, and they cannot present anything quantifiable or measurable when challenged. Please use my list, keep adding to it. Label it “STATIC QUALITY CHECK”. I’m still working out how to do a “DYNAMIC TEST” which makes sense.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 9:31 am

maibatsu,

u wish for a JCW stuff in a 308?

well.. let just say that a 308 with a 240bhp engine (no typo error there!) is a possibility and it is also possible for such 308 to reach Malaysia.. if money is no object and they actually do it.

it does sound a little ambitious.. had to be JCW stuff or perhaps PeugeotSport, but i dont care about that, what’s glaring is –> 240bhp!

however, 240bhp must be stage 3 tuning already.

what possible is the tuning of 175THP engine like this:
    stage 1: 190bhp
    stage 2: 210bhp
    stage 3 : 240bhp? (perhaps 230bhp will be super great already).

And since the same engine is currently in the 207GTi too, so ……. ….

This crave-for-power hunger have been discussed in some other Euro-based forums and websites.

You heard it first here in Paul Tan. ;)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 2:49 pm

240! I think torquewise the auto trans (240Nm) can only handle 20% more (288Nm), perhaps. But power is nothing without control. It’s just a fanciful though on the tuning potential, but the 308 Turbo will be limited by its auto trans, which may be a good thing anyway, since you don’t go insane on tuning stuff.

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 12:44 am

test drive event tomorrow and sunday. heard there’s makan-makan too at all nasim branches and dealers.

now go and test out the cars.

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 2:25 am

Will the THP 140 be made available for test drive as well? I hope this event will convince most of our skeptical observers on what this car is all about…have a nice weekend ahead! :D

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 9:34 am

i heard got. the turbo could be available for test this weekend.

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 2:45 am

Cheers to you, lowprofile…your tip off had allowed me to test out such an enticing car in 308 THP140…recalling about the driving experience now still keeps me mesmerized…The test drive at Bangsar today had resolved my previous concerns over the performance of the VTi the week before…

Board on the car and I could almost immediately felt the enormous torque kicked in once I landed my foot on the padel and the gear transmission was much more responsive then the VTi too…engine noise level was also significantly lower, which I believe is due to its low RPM torque push that do not require the high rev like the VTi to get to the desired speed…

Best of all…the car’s handling capabilities were not compromised at all, despite the significant increase of power from the VTi. Cutting through the bumpy bends and corners at molesting speed (some of the corners were deliberately made without much braking) within the Damansara neighbourhood was at ease with a total of 4 passengers on board (my gf, best mate and the poor sales rep)….after the test drive session…I was told by my mate that I could’ve pushed the car even harder as his body was kept almost intact even at some of the sharpest corners, though my gf might disagree…hehee…but I must say that they both had an exciting, while enjoyable ride at the end of the day…

Anyway…I can’t wait for this new toy to be parked in my garage in 1.5 months time (hopefully get to see more on road too) :D

• phlizzow (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 2:35 am

I’m really into the Pug until I read this review from sgcarmart.. A Singaporean website.. Now I’m in doubt again.. I wonder if it’s really that bad.. Should I go for Civic 1.8.. Or maybe just Lancer 2.0 GLS..

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=47

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 12:05 pm

CR7 you booked one? Normally turbo cars are quieter. The BMW-PSA Prince engine is an advanced twin-scroll turbo with Direct Fuel Injection aka GDI with on-demand water and oil pumps, etc. Just keep it well maintained and don’t go modifying it. It will serve you well.

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 2:57 pm

phlizzow:

I did my test drive in a pretty extreme way and honestly, I did not have the horrific experience like what our Island neighbour had experienced during their test. Considerie exactly what that place is called…but the sales rep will definitely show ng the poor road conditions (vast distance covered with pot holes and bumps, sharp corners, and narrow road in the Bangsar/Damansara neighbourhood…not suru the way), and 80 – 110km/hr of driving….I could’ve ended up in Pantai Hospital, Bangsar if what our island neighbour proclaimed is 100% true (e.g. car was going to be upset to a spin when the spring unload, car stumbled with a string of irregularities etc)

Having said that, I’ve also tested the 407 CKD before…and I would probably have to agree that the suspension system of the 308 is indeed slightly more inferior in comparison, especially on the damping capabilities…but overall…it still remained pretty composed throughout the journey…

What I would suggest to you is to go for a test drive and experience it for yourself…Personally…I would think that the one in Bangsar offers pretty good terrain to validate the article u read…another advantage is that the Honda showroom is just few lots away and you can test out the civic on similar road conditions subsequently and assess both cars comparatively….Will be looking forward to your feedback soon~! ;-)

Maibatsu:

Yeah…I made my booking….will probably need more advice from you guys in the future on regards to the maintenance…or even the stage tuning…cheers!

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 3:00 pm

phlizzow:

I did my test drive in a pretty extreme way and honestly, I did not have the horrific experience like what our Island neighbour had experienced during their test. Considering the poor road conditions (vast distance covered with pot holes and bumps, sharp corners, and narrow road in the Bangsar/Damansara neighbourhood…not sure exactly what that place is called…but the sales rep will definitely show u the way), and 80 – 110km/hr of driving….I could’ve ended up in Pantai Hospital, Bangsar if what our island neighbour proclaimed is 100% true (e.g. car was going to be upset to a spin when the spring unload, car stumbled with a string of irregularities etc)

Having said that, I’ve also tested the 407 CKD before…and I would probably have to agree that the suspension system of the 308 is indeed slightly more inferior in comparison, especially on the damping capabilities…but overall…it still remained pretty composed throughout the journey…

What I would suggest to you is to go for a test drive and experience it for yourself…Personally…I would think that the one in Bangsar offers pretty good terrain to validate the article u read…another advantage is that the Honda showroom is just few lots away and you can test out the civic on similar road conditions subsequently and assess both cars comparatively….Will be looking forward to your feedback soon~! ;-)

Maibatsu:

Yeah…I made my booking….will probably need more advice from you guys in the future on regards to the maintenance…or even the stage tuning…cheers!

• phlizzow (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 10:25 pm

CR7:

Thanx bro.. I’m really happy when I know about this 308 turbo cuz I’m about to buy a new car & within my budget i can only afford civic 1.8 & 2.0 GLS.. the problem is there’s just too many civic and lancer out there and I want to buy something different.. now that 308 is here that’s why i’m really happy.. I will surely test drive the 308!! and most probably ended up buying it if i figured out that the singaporean site review wasn’t true..

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:46 am

i haven’t test drive the 308 yet, i wish i have.. but with the knowledge that i have, i find the singaporean review very very harsh. it is negative all the way… (and they usually use the 205gti story when they wanted to bad-review any other peugeot).

to me, this is just one bad review, done with intentions perhaps?

i wish anyone could update us on how many booking the 308 received already.

i heared there is only 150 units of 308 in the first batch.

• CR7 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Cheers phlizzow! Hope you will join the 308 family soon…most importantly…drive safely~ :-)

Inter…you should test it when you have the time….seriously…am looking forward to your in-depth feedback!

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 9:04 am

CR7,

would love to test drive it, but maybe later, when the THP is more widely available. now busy doing specification review / comparison between the 308 against few popular cars within the same range. will share it in AW Peugeot forum when its finished. hopefully it can be done latest by Friday. do check it out!

• Jerry79 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 9:38 am

i have test-driven the turbo version last weekend, and all i can say is, the performance is unbelievable! love the car so muc. it’s designed and made to its perfection!

• dis is great offer.308 really impress me.ive just got my latio sports for 95k wit foc impul bodykit worth rm3k.and now come out with dis more great offer.haihh..well latio is great in handling, cornering,comfort cabin spacious,and very silent cruzing in cabin.and make it overprice i think bcuz of the keyless start.other than that jus normal,cd player and hav no automatic aircond n other gitech gadgets.if can back to time i rather buy dis pug..however i oredi hav latio and still luv it..remember they hav impul supercharge!thats my project plan.i think 308 more suit compare wit latio sports.

• zanes83 on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:15 pm

Guys,

just went to have a great up-close look with the 308THP. i'd been following all threads of discussion about 308VTi/THP/GT from different sides to get positive and negative comments. i were thinking if i could get to see one yesterday when i go for an autoshow in batu pahat. and i really did!

there are other cars displayed but never took my attention when i saw 308. it just stood out among the others. from the exterior, the body is solid and tough. most of the material used are from Peugeot itself such as the body sheel, window, and seat (dont need to mention about the engine and the well-known AL4 gearbox). and yes, the 308THP comes with 17" rim and rear air cond vent (which can SEE the different apparently)

for the interior, considered comfy seat. i love the bucket seat. nice colour as not easily dirty. i'm around 5ft6 and sit behind comfortably with the SA sitting in front adjusted to his comfort who is around 6ft. if intend for an outing such as putting in some basket, bags and some other material, the boot is just fine. if you are going to transport something and cant get it in, remember that you are driving a car and not a lorry. try to understand this. different golf club is used to swing the ball to different distance. why use a putter if you gonna swing it to a few hundred yards? so, for the car in the category, it goes fine with me.

the very kind SA even showed me a leaflet (one and only he had) for 308GT. we chatted a lot. he's an enthusiast. everything for the interior is fine. even my gf wowed on it from in and out. too bad that i'm not able to have a test drive it. they can only test drive it today but i cant make it! so sad!! for me myself, i started planning to get one next year (i think no model will be out so soon for continental cars like the others). looking forward the maintenance cost feedback from some 308 users especially 308THP which i'm really interested in.

cheers everyone!

• oldwira on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:30 am

LOL. God bye Japs.

• terry (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 7:13 am

Just test drived the 308 Turbo at Bangsar today. Great ride, excellent acceleration, and I cornered a turn at 80+ and still remain stable. It really is a perky car and not as sluggish as the VTI version. Gear changes were smooth, and the engine noise is not too noisy (comparable to other competitor's models).

Just traded in my City for this car and will pick it up sometime next week. Can't wait to cruise the highways.

Btw, according to the technical guys, they don't have to be warmed up (eg some cars need to drive below 80 for the 1st 1000 km or so) as the engines are already built for high speed from the get go. Is it a perception thingy or technically its alright? Anyone care to comment?

• Jerry79 on Feb 18, 2009 at 4:32 pm

guys, anyone of you have the maintenance schedule and cost? I would like to know. thanks.

• mavericksam on Feb 18, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Think it is too new to know any maintenace schedule and cost. If you insist on knowing about other peugeot cars, there are forums with the club members that could help you.

• Jerry79 on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:02 pm

thanks bro. last few months when my girl was interested in buying 206, we also have checked out the maintenance cost and it seems to be quite expensive. i have personally called to the service center and so did my gf, but they give 2 different price, especially on the major service. one is 1k plus and another is 2k plus.

• mavericksam on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:39 am

Think you could just google the local 206 club and head there. they will provide better answers than me. I can only tell what i have read but they can actually tell you what they have exprienced on the 206. i really doubt it is that expensive to maintain. but to repair may be a little different. then again, think the reliability is not as bad as most ppl think. happy googling…

• Sold my 2.0 Civic (good car but not great)! Had several options, test drove the H & T range of cars as well as the Nissans. All I can say is "thank God" I visited a Pug showroom before making up my mind!

…I will be a 308 turbo owner by the end of this week!!!

Please do not compare the Civics, the Altis and the likes with this beauty (when needed) and the beast (when required). I know how well Hondas can perform as my family has, at all times, had one in the garage since the 80's. They were "great" cars back then, but I can only label them as "good" cars these days considering the price I have to pay for the specs that they come with (not to mention the niggling problems as well)!

The pugs on the other hand are moving forward in terms of better specs, styling and safety features (comes in handy on Malaysian roads)! Even the price is right and its definitely money worth spending if you want to use it for sometime.

I would love to own a Beamer or even an Audi (with all the wallnut interior trimmings etc.) but sadly, I can't afford one at the moment and really, I should not even be comparing those cars to the 308s or even the 407s (as to their specs, pricing and certain features).

With regard FC, I have read the latest blogs from new owners of the VTi and I suggest you read them although I am not suggesting you believe them. I shall give you my 2 cents worth when I have one of my own (again I am not suggesting you believe me when the time comes).

From what I have read, heard and seen, the 308 is worth the risk as the H & T also have their flaws and technical problems ( I own a Civic, remember???)

Anyway, good luck to you guys in deciding as I have made a clear and decisive decision which I am sure is the right one!

Will keep you all posted on the FC in due course!

• cglow on Mar 03, 2009 at 7:54 am

I have to say i am not very good with cars and i have learnt a lot reading all these threads. I am by no means passionately attached to "cars". Nor am i really bothered by resell value (what value? it's a bloody liability to own a car in malaysia due to our tax structures – any make) although i can understand it's really a factor for some.

But i do have certain expectations of what my next car would be. it's gotta be zippy it's gotta look good and feel right. And somehow when i went for a test drive (haven't all of you in thread?) i instinctly booked it the next day.

Torque? Resale Value? FC? Conti-vs-Jap? WTF – test drive this car. it's true after that it'll make you think very hard about getting a City or a Vios – or a Civic, or any overpriced car in Malaysia. And this i think is the point some of you in this thread is trying very hard to make.

• terry (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:08 am

Just picked up my new 308 Turbo today and hit 140 kmh effortlessly. Very zippy, and realized it was so much wider than my previous City so have to navigate more carefully.

Checked through the car and I daresay everything looks perfect. I'm gonna take it for a spin to Singapore this weekend so will be able to hit 200 on the highway (hopefully).

I think its really great value for money, and after browsing thru the manual, I realized there so many functions to play around with. There's Cruise Control, speed limiters, dual air conditioning, etc. It's worth every upgrade from the City I had, and so much better than the more expensive Civic or Sylphy. Need to get used to the right signal light switches though.

Also the sales man said that the price just went up by around 4-5 K last Sat! It may not be good for the other customers but I think it shows how much value one can get from this car. It seems that the 308 Turbo waiting period has gone to 6 months! It sells so much faster than the VTi as the sales man just get bookings for Turbo. Thankfully I got mine before thinking twice.

Great buy and if you can get it at the lower price so much the better.

• Jerry79 on Mar 04, 2009 at 4:09 pm

terry, the price just gone up for no reason or they are adding value to the car as well?

• terry (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:59 am

According to the sales dude, their Marketing did not expect the Turbo to do so well. Over 300 orders but only 180 will be made for the first run which means those who ordered after the launch will have to wait up to 6 months. Also they realized that the price gap between VTi and Turbo is not big enough (VTi is 96.5 K) and that the VTi is not moving as fast as expected hence they increase the Turbo pricing.

Supposedly they will throw in something but not to the value of the increase (maybe 6-CD changer instead who knows), but they should not increase just 1 month after the launch. Not only that the MD mentioned they want to sell 1,500 units this year and I was wondering are they expecting 90% to buy the VTi version.

Personally, I'm just glad to have my new car and so far I can't find another one on the road :) though probably after a few more weeks we can see some more. I think even at RM 115 K it's good value though people will think twice now. Plus with the new Focus going for RM 117 K, it just makes the choices more interesting. The Peugeot 1.6 L engine though makes it at least RM 100 cheaper in road tax but with similar HP :).

• Congrats Terry!

Will be joining your club real soon mate. Take it easy on the paddle though…

You are right, not many on the road at the moment although I have seen a couple in the city (Ampang area) over the last week or so. However, both the cars were the VTi units.

As for me, don't think there will be much competition in my hometown….Hmmmm…that makes all the more exciting man especially driving around in a beauty and the beast!

Till later dude…

By the way for the resst of you guys, I have been made to believe that the prices of the 308 T is still at RM 111K but may go up sometime mid year (according to the sales guy at Nasim), the reason of which has been given by Terry.

Therefore..get your butts to your nearest showroom and test drive a unit soonest…what follows thereafter is anyone's guess…

Cheerio!

• lowprofile on Mar 19, 2009 at 1:23 am

even the vti can hit 200kph as seen in the recent media test drive to penang so it will be easy for the turbolah :)

• Edward on Mar 22, 2009 at 9:18 pm

Omg…. 6 months waiting list……. Bumped i just wanted to go for a test drive for the turbo spec. I am a big fan of hot sexy hatch too bad mini, Golf GTi all out of my pocket's reach erm even Fiat's Bravo GT.

but i think if i book for other colour, maybe it wont need to take me 6 months to zoom around with this baby….

• Maya69 on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:33 pm

congrat terry,

Are u sure the price has gone up that much? I booked my 308 Turbo

first week of march and they promise to deliver in june.The sales man

say nothing about price increase

can anyone confirm this?.

• bicycle man on Mar 29, 2009 at 6:27 am

Was at mid valley, peugeot roadshow and was informed the price of the turbo version has risen to 116K! However the price increase was not on their spec sheet… Hope peugeot are not getting too complasent too soon, for at 116K they might have leveled the playing field. New Honda civic 1.8 is at 115k. Toyota altis 1.8 sporty at 112k. If the prices had remain as before, no doubt it would have been a 'no contest' for new buyers, as we might be persuaded to give peugeot a try. A decent car though that turbo 308, the only problem is, as I mentioned before, the playing field has been leveled for other competitors to react.

Nissan Latio 1.6 sport at 95k.

'Top spec' Honda city with modulo at around 94k

oh dear… peugeot, please sack your pricing and marketing department.

• bicycle man on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:16 am

Apologies for sounding so bitter… :)

New Ford focus 2.0 sedan for 112k (thats with leather seats)

Apparently a more responsive drive and also another which is putting things in the mix and for those who seek to break that all too common jap-car mold.

Anyway will test drive the pug next week along with other cars.

• wanderlei silva on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:50 am

Showroom in Bangsar also confirmed the increase to 116k for the turbo! Will test drive the new civic 1.8 now as it is slightly cheaper and in my opinion, more value for money, suddenly seems larger and more appealing after being told of the price increase.

Just when I thought that it may be a good time to buy a car which is not the usual honda or toyota (even nissan). But I have to say, the soft touch interior for the 308 did seem nice. I also noticed a tiny naza (itchy fingers, them) badge next to the 308 on the back of the car.

• Maya69 on Mar 31, 2009 at 8:22 pm

silva

test drive both cars and feel the difference and then made up your mind.

new civic only minor changes u cannot see the difference engine still old

and internal sama saja harga naik.

pug price might increase but with extra goodies………………

join us as pug 308 TURBO member n we salute u.

• wanderlei silva on Apr 02, 2009 at 7:50 pm

308 internal sama juga but still price naik. 308 has been around for quite some time, since 2007 in Europe. Test drove the M'sia version the other day, quite responsive but poor sound insulation. Showroom car's finishing is questionable so hope the actual production doesn't mirror this. My friends were also mentioning latio impul sport, focus, which are also hatches, similar price bracket. I'm comparing it to a civic 1.8, lancer gt, mazda 3 1.6. I don't care if the 308 is a diff segment car etc etc, doesn't make the slightest of difference when I'm comparing what I can get for RM 116k. (upgrade leather seats UV tint windows: RM 120+K!!) Thats a lancers GT's price, civic 1.8 (leather plus tint).

• turboKEV on Apr 19, 2009 at 9:24 am

308 is same segment with Civic and Mazda 3 rite? Segment C.

it's worth buying in malaysia now! Singapore Civic price way cheaper than 308, and in Taiwan the same, mazda 3 cheaper than 308 too. both different about 20 to 30% cheaper…

Damn, wat are we waiting for? your neighbour country fren will envy you when u get than price here!

once again, no doubt, 308 now is getting back the peugout tradition spirit, in between the 306 & 307 :)

• wanderlei silva on Apr 19, 2009 at 10:39 pm

308's interior and finishing is not up to the standard of civic or mazda3, plastic molding isn't up to scratch. The current 308 (M'sian version) price is more expensive than 1.8 civic, Mazda3 1.6, and ford focus: which alot of people feel is mostly unjustified, weather in M'sia, S'pore. Remember that 308 isn't a new car as it was launched in Europe 2-3 years ago.

• Silva,

I don't think the pug is "perfect" to start with. What is up to scratch and what isn't is open to many interpretations! However, since owning a pug, everyone, and I mean EVERYONE who has had a look at my car has fallen in love with it.

The civic has a fantastic looking dashboard and stylish plastic moulding, but mate, I never got such a response when I bought mine in 2006! In addition, what's the purpose of having plastic moulding that rattle all the time. My pug is so silent (even on rough surfaced roads) that you will automatically fall in love with its moulding, no matter how ugly they might seem.

By the way, I drove down to Penang last weekend with the family. My average speed was 100 km/h. The average FC was 6.4km/h. You guys do the maths! Full tank RM 96.00 ONLY. I am driving a freaking turbo for God sakes!

Mates! It's the best thing that has happened to me since the birth of my first child…he he!

• tarmac on Apr 20, 2009 at 9:26 am

Had a test drive today just for curiosity. I'm not looking to buy a car anytime soon but… itchy fingers.

Lots of mixed reactions that I can see from this forum. The 308 'turbo' (well, it's not really a turbo) is OK, but not at 116k. Few fundamental flaws and construction is a little rough round the edges. It looks good from a distance though. Front has quite a sporty outlook, the rear, well looks like an arse. Zippy drive, good enough pick up etc, like most cars do. I found the cabin pretty small and crammed. I had a friend about 5'8" at the back, a tiny salesman infront and me, 5'9". Might be spacious for a small family however. Sound insulation was poor, I only observed this when I had to turn down the air-con as it too was too noisy. I might have sensitive ears. I'm not going to compare it with the usual H and T cars as most people here do. But for those who observe the automobile industry (behind the screen…) this locally knocked together 308 is more like a glorified proton. That's good though, as I predict the consumer will buy into this 'locally knocked up conti' which inturn will boost our local economy.

• terry (Member) on Apr 20, 2009 at 11:35 am

I don't know how knocked up things may look. Mine don't looked knocked up and all my friends & colleagues who sat in my car commented how classy looking, comfortable and stable it felt. I love the dashboard and the softness of the material along the air-con vents. As far as pick-up is concern, it is zippy. In fact I zipped past most 2 L cars easily and effortlessly (have not even kicked in S mode yet). Aircond was loud alright especially when I turned it to 14 degrees as it fully kicks in to compensate the temperature vs the outside. At 21 degrees I can barely hear anything. Soundwise, was thinking of getting a dampener from NZ Galaxy, but I guess I just like the engine roaring at 5000+ rpm. Space wise, only gripe was that the centre passenger seat had aircond blowing under her skirt all the time.

Within a week of getting the car, I drove to Singapore and hit 200+ effortlessly. In fact I set the cruise along 180 range and was controlling the speed with the cruise control instead of the pedal. Guess wat, 1 full tank of petrol (~ RM 90+) and I hit 500+ km! Could have been better but since I accelerated a lot, it didn't hit 600.

Anyway, too bad the 308 Turbo price increase is gonna deter some customers. The automotive industry is going thru some interesting times with some makers giving up to RM 10 K discount + free interest, while others are releasing models at a competitive price (esp within the 90 – 120K range). Just look at the Fords, Mazda3s, Suzukis, Nissans not to mention Hondas & Toyotas. Glad I picked it up before that happened.

Kesh, you must be happy too. I'm not too worried if there are plenty of Peugeot naysayers. Less cars on the road makes us more exclusive :).

• wanderlei silva on Apr 20, 2009 at 8:49 pm

liking the skirt blowing rear A/C vent. Yes, its zippy, almost like a mini coiled spring. A pleasant enough ride although it's not perfect collectively. Still have to warn about the dodgy finishing (noisy small cabin too) but only time will tell how the cosmetics weather. Comparing it to how past Pug age is irrellivant, as the current batch are locally pieced together and car assembled within our shores for the past 10 years or so have been questionable. Hope this is not something that goes unnoticed, slipping under the radar.

• wanderlei silva on Apr 20, 2009 at 8:50 pm

liking the skirt blowing rear A/C vent. Yes, its zippy, almost like a mini coiled spring. A pleasant enough ride although it's not perfect collectively. Still have to warn about the dodgy finishing (noisy small cabin too) but only time will tell how the cosmetics weather. Comparing it to how past Pug age is irrellivant, as the current batch are locally pieced together and cars assembled within our shores for the past 10 years or so have been questionable. Hope this is not something that goes unnoticed, slipping under the radar.

• ikram on Apr 24, 2009 at 1:03 am

I can feel the G-force of the 308 Turbo during the test drive. Now it's come my 1st choice of my dream car. Maybe next couple of months I will start the booking. Well done Nasim and Peugeot.

• nyan46 on May 15, 2009 at 8:03 am

Not Latio,Altis,City,Civic @Vios lah..the true contender for this Beauty and the Beast is Swift Sport daa.

• shoryuken on May 15, 2009 at 7:24 pm

I rather get a 4 years old E46 325 with that turbo price.

• Sure you can,

Please go in for an E46 325 beamer. Would love to roll up by your side at the traffic lights someday mate! Perhaps then you might realize whether you made the right choice.

Cheers!

Nyan46,

I am sure you are referring to a 308 turbo that you saw in a small window on the corner of your computer, right? The reality however, might hurt you quite a bit bro.

It's funny though…Linda Hamilton came into my mind when I read your comment…she did make a nice mate for the "Big Boy the Beast"! He he

Cheers to you to mate! Have a great weekend.

• omrks on May 16, 2009 at 10:13 am

everyone shut the fuck up ……………………

PEUGEOT IS one of the best cARs ever made by man

it offers luxury,economy,eco friendly,sportish,dynamism and sexiness to all of its models

i think its starting to become a break through in the car industry with no other competitor is giong to be able to win ove ]r it please let all of ur friends and family buy one to help build up its popularity

• wanderlei silva on May 16, 2009 at 11:10 pm

what break through? a shallow one perhaps. 308 was launched 2 years ago in EU and it has taken that long for it to be assembled locally. No one is going to 'help its popularity' by simply being asked to buy one… go eat some pork!

• Dear Paul Tan,

Can do review on Peugeot 308 VTI and Peugeot 308 turbo? Thanks!

• Sulaiman Sabur on May 31, 2009 at 9:45 am

Have been following this post long time before make my final decision of buying new car. (upgrading my kenari)…

I've enough positive review of 308. But must of the 'valid' positive review was coming from 'same nicknames' through out Malaysian net, especially here & @ AW.

Have invested my time reading and googling especially BAD Reviews about 308 THP. Digesting comments from Japs Car Fans and more Bad reviews from singapore web…

Finally, Book red 308 THP from Nasim Bangsar. Promised delivery by May 2009 but now differ to June 2009. Let see if Nasim will extend it to July 2009…

• carol on Jun 08, 2009 at 2:09 am

Hi all,

I can see there is alot of car experts here. I need some advice, hopefully any kind of you could help me.

Me and my husband is thinking of buying Peugeot 308 but, we are considering in between VTI and Turbo, what do you all suggest? Just wondering how is the turbo's fuel consumption.

Thanks in advance.

• osh_kosh on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:42 pm

gosh… now i'm very interested… :P

• c.neko on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:34 am

Haha….funny to see how these people are trying to bash up the poor pug.

Me thumbs up for the PUG…. for seat comfort. Sat in my cousin's 307 and was surprise that it is so comfy.

Know nothing much about car, but for me who has sat in a T, H or whatever and comparing with this PUG, my Thumbs UP UP for this PUG.

• i test drive civic, nissian selphy and 308…. amazingly…. 308 stand out. nissian selphy isnt that smooth on the road…. civic is too plastic but i like its exterior design.

308 definitely has higher spec and its cheaper and also its nice lovely sun/moon roof … only thing is the exterior design…. not all pple like it. but anyway… i already book mine 308… bacali white…. love it…

ps. 308 turbo has amazing pickup speed.

• CAR LOVER on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:01 pm

ONCE U OWN AND DRIVE PEUGEOT, U WILL HAVING A PROBLEM WITH OTHER CARS. U WILL ALWAYS THINKING AND TRY TO FIND OUT WHAT IS THE PROBLEM OF THE OTHER CARS U DRIVE.

I THINK PEOPLE WHO TALKING BAD ABOUT PEUGEOT ACTUALLY NEVER OWN OR EVEN TEST DRIVE IT.

WHEN U ASK PEUGEOT OWNERS YOU WILL FIND NO ONE NOT SATISFY WITH THE RIDE.

ME MYSELF, OWN A PEUGEOT AND 3 OTHER JAPAN CARS.

MY PEUGEOT IS THE OLDER AMONG THEM, BUT WHEN IT COME TO HANDLING, CORNERING AND SAFETY…MY PEUGEOT IS THE BEST.

STRONG BODY AND GUD MATERIALS(NOT A MILO CAN TYPE).

I'D TALKED TO BMW AND ALFA OWNER WHO HAVE AN EXPERIENCE DRIVING A PEUGEOT; BOTH OF THEM TOLD ME THAT ON HANDLING WISE PEUGEOT IS BETTER THAN THEIR RIDE.

SO PLEASE FOR THOSE WHO JUST "CAKAP KOSONG", GO TO YOUR NEAREST NASIM SHOW ROOM AND TEST DRIVE A PEUGEOT-KING OF THE ROAD.

TQ

• agree with you on that car lover, i own a peugeot as well and had it almost for 6 years and i had just bought the new 308 turbo as well just receive it about 1 week ago and the ride is superb, it was a good car to drive and to own one, prise wise are resonable even i had to wait for 2 month to get it but it was worth waiting for, the old pug was great but the new 380 was more then great

i also own a jap car and the jap car cant compare with the pug in sence of comfort power and handling i always support peugeot,

whos that did not try a peaugot before you will never know the feeling that you will get in the car once you have try then you will know the feeling of what a peugeot are like and you will not make a sound of it

thanks

cheers

• Do you know that the only dealer in Penang for Pug (Epigenic) DOES NOT have any 308 to view? Don't get started on wanting for test drive, just to view the car itself is a problem. Salesman said he is more frustrated that us (the prospective buyer???) cos of the inquiries from everyone… how do they want to capture the market if all the dealer think is profit?? Seems the showcar was sold as demand is too hot. He did mentioned that if really want to, he can call us to view the car when they have delivery for customers. Essentially viewing and touching someone else's brand new car. What the heck???

Wonder where those Penangite test drove as I've seen some on the road (a beauty). At KL? Or no need to, just plonk down and buy it w/o seeing it? :)

I am really interested in this car but the service from the pg branch is disappointing. Imagine this: if I want test drive, need to go KL. Then come back to Penang to book and get delivery. If want second view/test drive, go back KL again? OMG… Epigenic, please buck up!!!

• Optra on Jul 29, 2009 at 2:29 am

Don't worry, Autocity Peugeot Bluebox is opening.

• Optra on Jul 29, 2009 at 2:30 am

Don’t worry, Autocity Peugeot Bluebox is opening.

• CAR LOVER on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:01 pm

here @ Kemaman also got. yesterday roadshow at mesra mall kerteh.

come down to terengganu la…huhuhu

• shaun on Aug 01, 2009 at 7:01 pm

if it aint NAZA, we cant get 308 turbo at RM111k. this baby shld cost around RM140k – 150k. i test drived, u can feel the power at instant. go try it.

• horsepower on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:25 am

just to share something, my friend has got the first batch of 308vti launch, he has been so exicted but after driving for some time, he began to complain quite number of things to me,

1. The parts are considered much more expensive than Japanese or Korean cars. He checked out the new wind screen costs more than RM 6000 which really scared him hell a lot. Maybe this is first time he owns a European car which he did not expect the spared parts are expensive.

2. The vti version is considered under power especially when with full load,

the weight is 1400kg and maybe the power to weight ratio is not good

enough

3. The service costs are costly for him, even a oil filter costs over RM 60. He drove a Japs and local car before this, he said normally oil filter will not cost so expensive.

4. The doors are not as firm and solid as the one he tested at the showroom.

Maybe the local built quality not that good or what. The doors are heavy

but the sound of closing is like quite loose and not solid, feel like the

quality is not there.

5. He kept complaining the Naza service centre is poor

he is still satisfied with his P308vti, i sit in his P308 for few times, maybe he always drove slow, so didn't feel the power, but it is comfortable and spacious….

he is just worried after warranty period, all the other part replacement turns up to be a bomb for him, he also found out the suspension (absorbers) are expensive for replacement too…

not to slash P308, just to share with people who are excited about this car, dun be like my friend who bought it but never checked out the cost of spared parts and mantenance costs, if you select a European car you should expect higher spared part and mantenance costs…

• i am considering to take the p308, but wondering the quality of ckd…the sparepart really scary me…i am of two mind now….pls help me out

• CAR LOVER on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:20 pm

we(peugeot lover) already noticed about that.

tell your friend, do not go to service centre but go to well known peugeot workshop like timebomb at sentul etc.

• myGixxer on Aug 13, 2009 at 5:34 am

I owned an Opel Vectra for 15 years before I got myself a Peugeot 308 Turbo. One thing for sure, I wouldn't bet my ass on a Jap, Korean or even Chinese cars when it comes to safety and road handling.

I nearly bought the Mitsubishi Lancer but its body makes me think 10 times…plus the interior of the Lancer is so cikai one compare to Peugeot.

Trust the continentals!!

• Hi mate,

agree..I’ve canceled the Lancer and decided on 308T..waiting for the refund from eon automart…

• daynncool on Aug 17, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Horsepower,

I would like to know more. I am contemplating getting this car and am in the midst of researching this car. While I am hearing lots of people say its a good car and value for money at its purchase price, I am wondering abou the after sales cost.

A lot of pro-peugeot state that the driving experience is worth the extra few bucks in maintenance and poor after sales service. But I havent been able to gauge just how much of extra cost + inconvenience this car may see. Here are my concerns:

1. Naza and its bad service. While Im sure these are limited cases (minority cases), the amounts of complaints I can find against them on the net is a cause for concern. How bad is it? If someone hits my rear-end bumper or breaks my windows, will it take them 1 to 2 weeks to get a replacement? Will I need to go to a specific vendor/SC? And while this does not reflect badly on the car, it definitely influences my decision whether or not to buy it.

2. Cost and availability of spare parts. I'm sure a lot of new owners are happy with the performance of the car, but are there any owners out there that have been in accidents or for wahteever reason, needed to get spare parts? Can you tell me if was difficult or took some time?

While I understand no car is perfect, and peugeot as an automobile is a worthy buy, I 'd like to gauge the circumstances I might be getting myself into. Any advise would be most appreciated.

• firefox on Aug 27, 2009 at 6:33 pm

saw this car on the road at night time,

dammmm very nice design overall, original designing already better then others brand design like nissa nismo la, vios TRD la, etc.

i think this car will be a first chioce for youngest with BAMA Scholarship,

because overall better then japs car on the same range, esp look and feel.

and their are not worry on maintenance.

btw there is the alternative to get the parts from SG where it is the faster way, a lot of lubang near by JB, as i know, can ask the ppl bring in thru motorcycle, if the parts are small, if big, taxi. what you do only need to paid the undertable to the ppl with anti corruption sticker. hahahah

i owner a fairlady, sometime if my car got major issues, i look for tan cheong, it is the same, the part havet to wait, like gearbox issue, i prefer maintenance at SG, cheap, easy to get part and only you have to spend your weekend holiday.

• atchu on Aug 28, 2009 at 2:58 am

does my new peugeot 308 turbo require running in for the first 10000 km

• DADIPENANG on Sep 06, 2009 at 9:12 pm

i saw Mr. intermilan test drive video at youtube.

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8gFnicoDw4&feature=related]
    Torque is amazing. Can't wait to test this car. Penang Pug (Epigenic) suck..can't even show u the car. Is there any similer roadshow like one did at 1utama?

• Test drove over the weekend at Sunway Pyramid.

One word – Syok! :)

• SAEGUSA MIKUNI on Oct 11, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Although the price are attrtactive, but how about the service & maintenance parts? How costly for normal service for 308 turbo? THANKS.

Different mind set lol, there are always got people supporting their lovely brand, but i would think it is a good car for overall rating and performence at RM113,000.

I gonna get it soon if nothing trouble me…

• Oyster on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:06 am

Would like to point out a few things, cars in general:

SOUND INSULATION- The turbo is fitted with a glass top, insulation would not be optimal.

CKD is not CBU

Conti cars are not Jap/Korean/Other

Never compare, it is not meant to be.

You get what you pay for, simple analogy.

Buy what you like, if its value as in resale value you are after, you are on the wrong thread. Conti cars are all about safety, quality, high stds, handling and expensive cost if ownership.

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Want to share with you my experience with the 308 Turbo. I got mine in Sept and it has been driven down to Singapore twice since then. The fuel economy is superb. Driving at speeds up to 150kph when overtaking, the tank was still half full when I got to the Esso station before the 2ndLink and cost me RM58 to refill the tank to full. Incidentally, I filled the tank before I set off at the Shell at Jalan 222 by the Federal Highway. The 2nd trip down, with the same filling and refilling points, the petrol cost RM59.

My BMW 3 series with a 2.8l engine would require a full tank for the same trip (>RM90). The same with my Range Rover 4.2l (>RM150).

The handling for the 308 Turbo is superb and can easily rival my 3 which has lowered suspension.

For all those people who complain that the 308 Turbo is expensive, you have a twisted and unrealistic view of vehicle prices. Go check out the prices in the UK – the 308 Turbo (which is not listed as a particular model but based on similar fittings specs) is already around £20k. The UK car market is the is the freest right hand drive car market against which we can make realistic price comparisons. Tell me of another car in Malaysia which has ABS, EBD, ESP and ASR (Electronic Stability Programme and traction control), automatic sensors for headlights and windscreen wipers, cruise control, anti-pinch electric windows, five 3-point seatbelts, airbags and trip computer at a similar or lower price and I might then concur that the 308 Turbo is expensive.

And for those who look at resale value of a car before you buy them, if you buy a good car in the first place, you don't need to replace it every 3 years. If you set out with the mentality that a car is only good for that short period of time, you will end out being the long term loser – by buying rubbish.

In my family, we keep our cars for 20+ years. My father had a Rover 2000TC that he gave up when it was 24 years old – and that was only because he finally had to concede that he had lost the "battle" to find spare parts. My father has a Mercedes Benz 380SE – bought in 1984 and still running. Spare parts are readily available. In the continent, spare parts have to be produced for cars 30 years after the last production model comes off the production line. It is the law.

Spare parts may not be readily available in Malaysia but can be obtained easily from Singapore and cheaper too. The reason why spare parts are hard to come by in Malaysia is because of the tax – 100%. Rarely required spare parts are not kept in stock because of the cost. Don't blame the car distributors – blame Proton – the reason why our car market is such a disgusting mess.

My only grouse with my 308 Turbo is that green was not a body colour option. But then, one can't have everything.

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:49 pm

The 308 Turbo is not the first Peugeot I've owned in Malaysia. I had a 206cc that I sold to buy the 308 Turbo. Naza service is limited because their workshop is small but it's not unbearably bad. Also, the Naza Service staff have a pleasant demeanour – they're not rude and will take time to explain issues. I've suffered worse from Auto Bavaria, Tan Chong (when they handled VW/ Audi) and Land Rover.

As for a long time to get spare parts, what would one consider a long time? I had a VW Sharan off the road for 6 months while waiting for spare parts after an accident. Another time, Tan Chong told me that the gear box was faulty and I would have to replace it at a cost of over RM14k(? this was 10 years ago) – 3 months to come from Germany. A second opinion in Singapore concluded that it was the engine mounting and the cost to sort that out was a tiny fraction of the 14 that Tan Chong claimed would "fix" the problem.

I've learnt to enjoy the car and it's handling first and worry about workshop time after – there is no car that is perfect for both driving experience and aftersales service and life's too short to waste time looking for it.

• ch3d33n on Nov 29, 2009 at 2:43 pm

dah test drive 308turbo n 407.. rasanya nak angkat 308t wakaka.. great handling n responsive engine..

already drove/own wira,v6,vios,espri,kembara n pug405.. pug is my choice

• I really need an opinion from you guys out there.

1st of all I'm NOT a fan of Peugeot, but after I saw this white baby rolling on the streets few weeks ago, it left me speechless of the curvy new looks.. Couldnt remember Peugeot producing a sexy car like this…

I've read a few comments, and it does gave me a clear picture of this beautiful 308.

But, I'm at a cross roads actually. i really like the 308 turbo, kinda' remembers me of my old school Evo2, and test drove it last weekend..

But couldn't make up my mind just yet either the Civic FD 2.0 @ early 100K+ 2nd hand or a new 308 turbo.

hmmmm….. damn, I wish I could get both!

• Romonus on Dec 09, 2009 at 10:41 pm

I thinks im going for 308

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Dec 10, 2009 at 2:45 am

N_D,

I would say go test drive them both then decide but I honestly believe that you will choose the 308 Turbo after the test drive.

• Lester on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:40 am

the things that i worried the most is about the cost for regular maintenance as the service booklet advised us. and secondly is about the the durability, coz it might be the only once chance for me to buy a car in the coming 7 or 8 years, so would it be last long and without any failure within 5 to 7 years? i expect that the euro car should have the very good quality one .

• penyu on Dec 26, 2009 at 5:41 pm

hi guys….

i've read a lot of comment about this brand.i'm also a national car user b4 i bought 206 bestari.i still consider it a good car after all the complaint i heard and the bad thing i experience from owning this little car..good car comes with good price,sales(high price,here in malaysia) and after sales(maintenance)…but with this lion brand,you can get high spec car,consider to other brand,with a lower spec price…itsn't that good enough? its a conti car,of course the price for spare parts is a little bit higher than national car.and maybe to some place its even hv the same prices as the JAPs car…as somebody already said it earlier,what you pay is what you get.you can't espect that pay for the national car price for the conti car….as for me,peugeot is good car and looking forward to buy 308 turbo later…as my wife can't drive manual version of 308 gt…huhuhu…

• raydius2904 on Dec 31, 2009 at 8:08 am

i just got my 308vti today, but aircon not cool, right sidereverse light not function, funny noise at left rear seat, loose driver side interior mirror, no alarm or alarm system not functioning…..

why new car also got so many problem????

• azizcheah on Jan 01, 2010 at 11:09 pm

right side rear light is rear fog light, reverse light only on lift side. it is normal.

noise maybe the folder seat not in correct place.

There is no alarm system in this 308.

• Just to add on…i have had my car for 10 months now…there is no such problem with my vehicle. As far as the air conditioning system is concerned, you perhaps need to get it shown. The same goes with your side mirrors.

As for sounds in the car, it is a very subjective interpretation mate. What may be accessive niose levels to you may not even bother another. Only advise is to ask someone from Glenmerie to see whether they can help.

All the best mate.

• 308vti on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:48 am

My 308 aircon is cold, just turn to coolest. You won't hurt your engine or consume more petrol.

This car control air temperature by mixing hot air, so not cold enough, don't mix too much hot air, as easy as that, turn to coolest.

• bslee on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:36 am

I just want to ask u guys out there, do u know of any gearbox/ oil leaking problem in this car: I plan to buy 308 but heard that 408 suffer some problems like that.T.q

• azizcheah on Jan 09, 2010 at 9:37 pm

This LION is no problem at all but please follow the maintenance schedle.

One thing is air-cord fan sound is loud n noisy…when start engien and turn on the air-cord you will hear the sound from outside of the car..inside car is ok…

• I just made d/payment for 308 Turbo after 4x test drive!. The speed/torque is so phenomenal. Cant wait for the delivery b4 CNY.

Cant wait to tint all blacks for my white 308 Turbo. I have driven Waja, Kembara, Altis, Perdana V6 and Vios all this while but 308 Turbo really blew me away. Now my weekend car (Alphard 2.4) has to give queue for my 308 Turbo..

• gctoh on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:25 am

Peviously I own a 206 (fully imported) and now I own 308 VTi (so call local assembled). No doubt this is a good choice for the car performance however please watch out the bad after service by peugeot malaysia. My 308 battery dead just after 8months of usage and Peugeot malaysia rejected my claim after waited 2month from the date of claim submission. Those 3S guys even told me, similar incident happended to other 308 owner and they can't get the warranty claim. (They like to sit on the problem…and do nothing)

From what I understndard, even a "chicken" brand of battery will come with minumum 1year warranty…This make me really piss-off and I have to follow up the issue with the head-quater myself… Also, the rubber seal at the rear windscreen get torn easily and by driver seat window seal is not proper installed…The claim takes forever to approve and I still waiting ….

So, it up to your decision, good car, reasonable price but bad after service from peugeot malaysia

• the car is CKD….it should be a little less sheaper than forte i think…

• *cheaper…..*

• Cheap Forte on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:49 am

little less cheaper? means more expensive?

• just got the 308, it has a lot of torque, but it could be a little bit difficult to drive as the gears do not shift at low revs.. somehow the turbo always kicks in.. anyways.. the accessories, panoramic roof, perfume diffuser >< .. all adds in and makes this a great drive!

• Ajae Da machismo on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Paul,

Perhaps you should also blog about after sales service in Malaysia…it's getting very common and I think it's being overlooked…we like your reviews….but after sales is sometimes a more important factor in making a decision of which car to buy.

I hope you see this comment and take action on it.

• gctoh on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:29 am

I totolly agreed with Ajae Da machismo. The careline asked me to bring my faulty battery from Penang to KL head-quater for further discussion. This is rediculous!! they don't even have a clear guideline for the claim, this is just an excuse for not to replace the battery. Even until today I have 0 feedback from 4S service center not the helpline regarding my other claims..one more thing, my passenger seat sun shield fall off by itself after 11month which the screw is not properly tighthen (I wonder whether they miss out any other screw.), it really a shame for peugeot. I have cancelled the plan to get a 207cc after expereinced with this kind of after sale service.

• BSLee on Mar 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Nazim motor better improve yr after sale service fast! Ford Feista and Focus are here(with better engine and 6 speed gearbox). Sale of Peugeot will definitely drops!

• Im planning to get my self a 308Turbo…Heard all those glowing reviews of it but im still wondering if its really a good car in term of overall perspectives i.e spareparts availability, servicing, after sales activities etc…and the known fact of ‘if its locally assembled, we get local quality’ mentality…

Ford is also offering new focus h/back n sedan at the same price range (rm110-120K). c/w electric seat n etc.

Choices r more nowadays. Is it worth buying???

p/s: Im not against it anyway as i felt that its a good car with great price tag.

• Dylan on Apr 17, 2010 at 1:31 am

Hi everyone, I am very new to these kind of bloggings. Basically I run a remapping company. Me too, were let down by the 308’s 4-speed gearbox at first as I personally wanted to get one myself. During the remapping process, I did many acceleration testings and analysis on the engine performance, gearing, torque converter, temperature, etc.

I am surprised but pleased to share my findings:

The 308 has sort of a DUAL STAGE torque converter which is activated in 2nd and 3rd gear. It is more prominent in 2nd gear than 3rd. When the gearbox engages the 2nd gear, the rev climbs to about 3,500rpm and maintains there for a short moment while the speed continue to rise. Then the rpm would drop slightly and a forward surge is felt when the 2nd stage clutch engages within the same 2nd gear.

I think this is a design embedded into the intelligent gearbox to let it perform as if it is a 6-speed gearbox.

The only thing under my expectation is the short gear ratio on its 4th gear. I would expect it to be taller inview of the dual-stage torque converter which already could close the gap of wide gear ratio.

Peugeot 407 140hp vvt engine has this similar feature, too!

Dylan
      DKTUNING.com

• Freddie on May 07, 2010 at 11:26 am

And my humble naza bestari has this feature too….After all, even naza bestari use AL4, and other citroen models use this type of autotran. This is not a dual stage torque converter. It is where the torque converter lock up comes into action. When this happen, engine speed is proportional with vehicle’s speed, just like the manual transmission cars have. This will eliminate loss (slip) due to the nature of hydraulic TorqCon. Fron 2nd to 3rd, it continues to lock up, and that’s why the RPM drop is high. Another cog would be appreciated.

• Dylan on May 07, 2010 at 1:39 pm

Hi Freddie,
    I can’t comment much about 206 as I had not had a long test drive in that car before. What you were explaning is indeed the correct characteristic of a torque converter. Probably you are right with the lockup principle. Used to own 406 but the gearbox did not have such large drop in RPM when lockup occurs.

The next time you have opportunity to drive 308 or 407, try floor the pedal from standstill and observe the gearbox characteristic. I find it pretty unique! :)

Dylan
    DKTUNING.com

• testdriveonetoday on May 16, 2010 at 10:36 pm

After reading the WHOLE post, yes not a mean feat mind you. I tested the car (turbo) today …yes I am one year plus later than you guys..as the saying goes better late than NEVER. The 308 turbo was very nice….if you have the luxury of 2 cars then buy this car for your everyday plus etc use. GOLF R choice no1 , Alfa Romeo Giulietta no 2 and Peugeot 308 turbo no3. : ~ }
    AS for all those whinners out there, is there ever a perfect car? Its just that it has never happenned to you …yet……whatever make your car is….

• i got my car (308turbo) already. pick it up in kuantan last saturday n then drive all the way back to kuala terengganu. really smooth driving. no hickups or anything n overtaking was a breeze…

there was a slight drawback when cornering due to its weight n height i supposed but on the whole, an excellent performance.

could anybody give me any tips on car tint? i’ve heard stories that u can’t tint the windscreen as it’ll block the light sensor n decrease the sensitivity of the other sensors. Is this true?

Im planning to install a security film instead of normal tint.

Advice anyone?

• Hi Riz..just got my 308 turbo last saturday apprx .5 days ago..had it tinted with vcool..i dont have any problem with the sensors..FYI , i’ve used the security film..

• Hi abu,
    thats good new. hmm..i better get on with it anyway. been driving without any tint n it is brighter with the moonroof opened(esp during sunny days)…

wonder if we could put film on the moonroof too…

How dark is ur film anyway? i understood that the windows n screens r a bit dark already…

• i drove 308 already …is really powerfull engine …great car nice design
    french like art style morden concept… value buy…

• ckoan on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:02 pm

No question ask Car price = value buy……
      however when it come to service and maintenance….. Good Luck!

• SS Khor on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:27 am

Paul,

any idea when will Nasim bring in the 6 speed 1.6 THP 308 and what will be the price range. Is it better than the current 4 speed in terms of overall performance and also consumption of petrol. TQ

• ckoan on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Please be aware that the 3 years warranty and 100,000km only covered limited parts only. I felt cheated buying Peugeot Made Locally. Peugeot is a GREAT car however with the local dealer who do not answer to customer….. it’s hard to express my feeling right now.

TRUE STORY
    On 15-July-2010, I sent my wife car, for 20,000km routine services. Service advisor called me and said the front disc brake and front disc pads were actually worn out. To my surprise, a lady driver who is only travelling less then 20,000km can actually worn the BOTH the disc brake and disc pad at such a fast time! What surprise me further was actually the price of the spare parts. I was charged at RM490 for 1 set of front disc pad! For your information, I changed my disc pad on a Volvo T5 every 30,000 – 40,000km mileage travelled, and is only costing me RM380 and BMW E90 at around the same price too!

I called up and they said my wife car is 1 year and 2 mths old and the warranty for the rotor is only 1 yr. I made a official complaint, no respond! I wrote in to [email protected] no reply. I guess once i bought the car they do not entertain anymore… May be this is what they called “after sales service” (service meaning you pay bomb for your service)

Some advice for current Peugeot owner, if you find any minor smallest problem please let them know, make sure they have your problem log in the system. In the futurre if the parts faulty you will be able to argue over it. Don be like me, a FOOL!

FUTURE BUYER please make sure you know what is covered under the warranty and the spare parts cost before you get into a frustrated situation like me!

• hi ckoan,

there’s also the issue of different service price from different service centres. Pls call those service centres before u send ur car….

I’ve sent mine to 2 different centres and each charged me different price.

weird huh?

• tq very much for the info

• To 308 turbo owners out there? how much does your regular service cost?
    I am consiering to book mine soon..

Thanks

• it varies depending on ur mileage. normal services would b around rm400++…depending on engine oil used.

major sevice would b around rm1k – rm2k…if im not mistaken..

• i have done my vios major service and its cost me 1k++.normal service cost me around MYR300 (semi syn oil). i really want to read a professional suggestion about this 308 because i am considering to buy one soon. what is usually be the problem with this kinda car??again PROFESSIONAL…no bias..

my choices are :-
    honda civic 1.8
    altis 1.8
    caldina 2.0 na
    Peugeot 308 turbo
    volvo s40 (2nd hand)

my characters are:-
    good safety with NACP test result
    good handling
    affordable maintenance
    easy to get spare part
    fuel economy

pls help me out

• b_j,

i think u’d better do some test drive. I was also faced with the same problem earlier this year.

Already got myself a peugeot THP in may…enough to say i am more than satisfied.

There might b a few minor drawbacks with regards of the after sale services,
      on the whole, the car is really great…

• Edmund Leong on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Hi there,

Does anyone know what is the proper channel to make a complain about NAZA?
    I have waited about 16 weeks for 308THP and today I am suppose to get my car but I have rejected it. This is because I have noticed the discrepancies between the showroom unit and the actual unit. There are 4 differences, the sport rim in the actual unit has no nut cover while the showroom has it; secondly, the front passenger and driver’s headrest has been downgraded to 308VIT’s spec. The headrest in 308THP suppose to be very handsome and curvy but now it is bulky and clumsy. Thirdly, 308THPhas sporty, white meter panel but now it is like VTi or Myvi (orange light)!!?? Fourthly, the rack at the back of passenger seat supposingly has a covered compartment but now it has disappeared!!??? Don’t you guys feel that now the interior of 308THP looks like a Iswara???
    This fact is, I just glance it through from outside the car, I am not allowed to check further in details!!?? Can’t you guys believe it? Am I not supposed to check thoroughly on what I am paying for?? What else is hidden?? Well, I’m not sure….
    Is it still worth for me to pay RM113,888.00 for a downgraded version???
    Anyone who is going to get his/her 308THP or will be going get it, do check your car!!According to the sales man, the new batch of 308THP are confirmed have the above changes, or we call it ‘’downgraded”. If it is real, let’s file a complaint together!!!

• Angst on Nov 06, 2010 at 3:59 am

Hi Edmund,

If ur still reading this thread and following this 308 forum, then i suggest that u submit a report to the “Tribunal for Consumer Claims Malaysia” (TTPM). As it is suggested on their website (http://ttpm.kpdnkk.gov.my/portal/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13&lang=en):

“The Tribunal for Consumer Claims is an independent body established under Section 85, Part XII of the Consumer Protection Act 1999. The Tribunal operates under the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism. The primary objective of establishing the Tribunal is to provide an alternative forum for consumers to file claims in a simple, inexpensive and speedy manner.”

I myself am planning to get a “fun” car and the 308 turbo is among the car that made it to my shortlist. It made me extra cautious in making my final decision after reading some comments regarding the after sales experience (although i’m also thinking that these bad encounters with the after sales services is not uncommon among other distributorships in m’sia…its juz that they were less being highlighted by their audience for some reason) . If what happened to our friend Edmund, Riz (different price charges), gctoh, ckoan n others out there is somewhat of a trend (regardless if its Naza, Tan Chong, UMW, Berjaya, Sime, etc. ), then i think submitting complaints via formal channel such as the tribunal is a good start, not to mention using popular platforms such as Facebook pages, etc. (the anti-Warisan Merdeka Tower FB page is a good example ;) ) (note: i’m not politicizing anything)

We should thank companies such as Naza (especially Naza as they’re the only local group who r willing to go the extra mile) for championing affordable-yet-superb-quality cars (especially of the Continental flavour) to be made available for the average M’sian Joe (who most of the time can only dream about doing 200km/h in a Megane RS or a Scirocco) but at the same time we should draw the line for them (whenever the need arise) if they start ruining our fruits of labour n prematurely end our dream joyride (that we’re barely affording with our meager earnings) by giving us sub-standard after sales service.

As ‘Ajae Da machismo’ suggested (yes, ‘testedonetoday’, i also read the whole forum end-to-end ;) ) somebody ought to start write a blog about the after sales services in m’sia (i think Mr. Paul Tan here has already got his hands full lah…unless somehow he can find time n space to squeeze in a new slot ;) )

Btw, can’t wait for next week (10th Nov. to be exact) as both mitsu’s ASX n its evil step brother, the Inspira will be making rounds around the valley…w00t!! ;)

• 308 turbo!

• Johnner on Apr 08, 2013 at 2:45 pm

So its true the car has a 2.0 litre capacity however its labelled as 1.6 litre. Not surpised as I keep get speeding tickets coming out of my housing estate, it has the fastest acceleration in mid size car. cool

• why people crazy about 308 if the engine has lots of problems starting from its gear box and other sensors malfunction?
    Traveling with 308 culd be amazing in Europe but as a passenger I ddnt enjoy much. To me opel gives more riding power, elegant & comfort.

• Devil Killer WVJ 666* on Apr 29, 2022 at 1:02 am

I’am a lucky user here owner of 308 Turbo. Not 4 but 6 speed of transmission. Well when someone try to catch me…im just smiles and said bye bye baby after i’m pushing the sport mode button and changing from auto mode to manual transmission with F1 padel controls on steering wheel. My records 140 max speed… Owner of WVJ 666* (devil killer)