Geneva Preview: Mazda 3 MPS and Mazda 3 i-stop

Mazda 3 MPS

Mazda will be exhibiting two different versions of the Mazda 3 at the 2009 Geneva Motor Show this March. One will be the facelifted version of the powerful Mazda 3 MPS, and the other will be the Mazda 3 i-stop which will feature Mazda’s unique start-stop technology which accurately controls the positions of the pistons when the engine is turned off, and then utilizes the direct injection technology of Mazda to execute an ignition restart.

i-stop can restart the engine in just 0.35 seconds with an automatic transmission, which is shorter than a typical start-stop system. Mazda used to call this the Smart Idle Stop System, but it now receives a catchier brand name, the i-stop. As for the MPS, not much details about the engine or the car’s specifications at the moment except that it will continue to be powered by a MZR 2.3 litre DISI Turbo. Look after the jump for more angles of the new Mazda 3 MPS.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=90]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:30 am

luv the design…..very original n no copy n paste job here

• ago87 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:36 am

I think it does look like Peugeot.
    And everybody is loving to copy and paste..
    ~_~

• The Stig (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 1:02 am

Original?
    i agree with Ago87

• hvannees (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 1:37 am

agree 2. nowadays hard to find originality r.

• The anorak (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 3:07 am

I think that’s a hint of the Subaru Impreza STI, the rear thirt quater and the bonnet air intake. The reason it mimics the Peugeot might be the smiling bumper.Haha

• cutester (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 8:41 am

Smiling happy car!

• haroldz (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 8:53 am

kia has similar system called ISG (idle, stop & go).
    claimed can save up to 15% FC
    plus odometer light/software dat tell u about ur driving habit (gas guzzling or fc saving)
    same like honda/toyota (cant remember)

• overflow (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:58 am

so nice…

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 10:33 am

cant just have i-stop. you need i-go to restart then engine. while they are at that you also need i-brake to stop the car before you can use i-stop.

i prefer to have a button that uses 2 states of tune. one where its absolutely fuel economy. one where u actually get to use the full 320nm and 190kws of the car.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 1:09 pm

mazda pro lah…1 modest company handle rotary engine devalopement, diesel, up to date, advanced petrol engines,hydrogen power in the future, plus now…a real quick start-stop system for better efficeincy. no wonder im a fan…….

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 2:13 pm

Mazda pawns all japanese design nowadays.

• shun2u.CoM (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 5:28 pm

nice car.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 7:02 pm

the front reminds me of peugeot

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 8:13 pm

One word: HOT!

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Mazda loosing it? Copy french design now?

• unitedtas (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 10:01 pm

mazda is still the best in the land of the rising sun when it comes to car designs n this is one good example. copy n paste? who’s not doing it? but do it with ingenuinity like mazda.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 1:25 am

unitedtas;
    LOL agreed 100%!!

• ago87 (Member) on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:39 pm

I’ll still choose Mazda than Peugeot…
    To support Asian products…

• torque (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Mazda 3 MPS huh?! Yeah…it’s one heck of a car…used to be the world most powerful FWD (from factory lah!) ever produced during 2006 with it’s 265 bhp and 380 Nm of torque but now Ford has taken it with their Ford Focus RS if I’m not mistaken…300 plus bhp with Revoknuckle to counter the car’s torque steer. Hmph! FWD cars aren’t a sissy car nowadays huh….watch ur back RWD cars…. :-) still….kinda sad that we won’t be able to have both cars here in Malaysia…sigh! :-(

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:54 pm

why is it smiling at me

• kampunginvestor on May 26, 2009 at 9:59 pm

I just understand why Malaysians always die hard Toyota and Honda?

Come on get a hand and try the Mazda. It is as good as the Toyota and Honda. Malaysians are just too boring and too monotonous.

That's my dream car. A mazda 3… If i am better to do, ill get a 6 or 8.

Mazda rocks! ^^

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:00 am

[quote comment="241362"]I just understand why Malaysians always die hard Toyota and Honda?

Come on get a hand and try the Mazda. It is as good as the Toyota and Honda. Malaysians are just too boring and too monotonous.

That's my dream car. A mazda 3… If i am better to do, ill get a 6 or 8.

Mazda rocks! ^^[/quote]

totally

• Arthur on Sep 14, 2009 at 5:44 pm

What a Peugeot ripoff !!

PUGS RULE, this is just a front design copy.