New Volkswagen models for 2009 in Malaysia

Golf GTI Mk6

Four new Volkswagen models can be expected to hit Malaysian roads this year, and they will all come in the second half of the year. One is a cabriolet version of the popular Volkswagen New Beetle, which commands 25% of Volkswagen Malaysia’s total sales. The top selling unit currently is the Golf GTI at 30% of total sales, and this year we’ll see a replacement model for that car, the Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6 (shown above). The Golf’s younger sibling will also be making an appearance here and I look forward to seeing more of this particular car on the road – the Volkswagen Scirocco. Lastly, the Passat will get a sexier counterpart in the form of the Volkswagen Passat CC, Volkswagen’s take on the four door coupe body.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 7:19 am

Can’t wait to c the scirocco in MY.

cam.shaft

• droll (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 8:30 am

the pricing structure is going to be interesting between the GTi and the Scirocco.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 8:49 am

Whoa! The ‘Roc is coming. Please let it come with the cheaper 1.4 coz if its the 2.0 its gonna be unattenable until its 7 years old. Come on, I don’t think the Germans would want to mess their own market by having their own competition would they?

• cam.shaft (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 8:53 am

droll said,

February 7, 2009 @ 8:30 am

the pricing structure is going to be interesting between the GTi and the Scirocco.

agree on you with that…but knowing malaysia, i wouldn’t be suprised if the Scirocco b more exp than the GTi

cam.shaft

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 8:56 am

nice … looking forward ..

• db8 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 9:12 am

For me,i think vw is better choice than any other germans brands..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 10:00 am

can’t wait to see Scirocco on the roads, haha

but why the Phaeton is not available here???

• csv (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 12:50 pm

ooh yeah, i cant wait!

• redragon (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:07 pm

personally I seriously think VW should replace the MK V wheels. They’re perfect for MK V but somehow just don’t flow with the MK6.

• vivio (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 1:40 pm

niceeee

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 3:01 pm

Iridescent paint jobs are in nowadays. (;

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 6:17 pm

there still few MKV with tempting discount available…this car can satisfy lots of people…

• shun2u.CoM (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 6:41 pm

nice car indeed. cant wait to see the car.

• isharestuff (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 7:59 pm

Scirocco has the MK in its DNA but look much better. Probably something went wrong during “production”.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 9:15 pm

i think they already stop the production of the phaeton…the sales is not well…btw..yeah…cant wait for the scirocco…that car is really nice…

which one will u prefer??vw scirocco or volvo c30??

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 9:37 pm

where is my comment??dammmnnn!!!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 12:03 pm

Dudes C30? Aww come on. This babe finished the Nurburgring 24H for goodness sake. Not even the Swedes want the Volvo back. Says a lot doesn’t it?

• shaunsttey (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 12:05 pm

dunno bout u guys…but i can’t wait for the passat cc! *drools

• SCion (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Nice car,nice horse power,but bad pricing…It is too expansive to get one…I love its rim..

• 9166 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:32 am

The 4 seater Passat CC does look a lot like the Merc CLS.

• alamak (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 2:26 pm

i’m going to trade in my 1 year old GTi mk5 for the scirocco!

I wonder how is the boot space like for the scirocco… can fit 2 mountain bikes in the boot/folded backseat of my GTi.

Paul Tan says: Considering the Scirocco is wider but shorter (in terms of height), I assume the boot is also the same.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:46 pm

alamak said,

February 11, 2009 @ 2:26 pm

i’m going to trade in my 1 year old GTi mk5 for the scirocco!

I wonder how is the boot space like for the scirocco… can fit 2 mountain bikes in the boot/folded backseat of my GTi.

Paul Tan says: Considering the Scirocco is wider but shorter (in terms of height), I assume the boot is also the same.
    —————-
    ure really rich

• Who's going to bring them in – VW Cars Msia or EON grp? Strong back-up wld give us peace of mind

• Since pics of GTi MK6 leaked, they'v adorned my PC n handphone as screensaver. Any taker for my 7-month old 320i?

• Dan Lim on May 27, 2009 at 5:49 pm

Goodday

What type of spec the scirocco to be brought in malaysia…

singapore just launched the 1.4l with promotion price and all units are sold out on the 1st day launching.

So hope vw malaysia will bring the car with very compatitive price.

• frankie hoh on Sep 26, 2009 at 12:19 am

I'am interested in the new Scirocco and new Golf GTI, where can I view these models inm your PJ or KL show rooms. tks. fh

• Volkswagen rule!sexy and hotter cars,even so expensive but high quality :) i'll saving money to buy the Volkswagen Polo GTI because Polo GTI much cheaper than the Golf GTI and Scirocco :D Satria Neo CPS said no!price cheap and the car cheaper than the price!Proton YUCK!