Selangor govt’s new fleet powered by UMW Toyota

Lexus RX 350

It looks like the Selangor state’s new 15 unit fleet of 2.4 litre Toyota Camrys purchased at RM 130,000 each are not good enough for Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, as he has declared a new Lexus SUV (according a Bernama report, presumably the Lexus RX 350) as his new official car to be used for official business only.

When asked why he did not use one of the Camrys, Tan Sri told the Bernama reporter that he was more comfortable with the Lexus. He says he only uses it for work (he owns the car but the government pays for its maintenance so he wants to make sure it is for work purposes only), and for personal trips he uses a personal car. Of course, a Lexus RX is nothing compared to what Khalid Ibrahim’s political secretary Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad claims Khir Toyo purchased during his Selangor MB tenure – a Mercedes-Benz S350L.

I feel Tan Sri Khalid should have waited for the new 2009 RX due to be launched in Malaysia this year, then perhaps I can ask him if he finds the new “Remote Touch” system user friendly!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vivio (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 11:06 pm

wow!!

• kahing (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Whatever happened to “BELILAH BARANGAN BUATAN MALAYSIA” shit ? Oh yeah, the Proton Perdana rakes up more on maintenance cost compared to imported cars.

And Malaysians are raking up more on income taxes just so that some menteri or menteri besar can be fussy about cars GIVEN to them for official visits. And the living standards and conditions of most Malaysians are still like SHIT !!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 11:09 pm

I thought he said that Lexus RX350 is his one bought since Ijok by-election? Or dun tell he’s gonna buy a completely brand new one registered under s’gor govt?

• lochangyong (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 11:40 pm

well, you see that khalid actually uses his own car for this purposes, probably he feel comfortable to use it , which is ok. then he claim the allowance for the usage of using his own car , which is ok too . less use one car, means they buy 1 car lesser for khalid.

the thing is that the car belongs to him, what makes it ok is … it actually belongs to him. he just use it for working purposes. a rich folk like him should be ok with such thing. he don’t need to do those dirty stuff as he is wealthy enough even before he became a menteri besar.

• shianghorng (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Haizz…

Fed up with these people…

• michly (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 12:01 am

ppl already suffering.. he can buy new car somemore.. tapek . dont tell me because he has to spend to make the market grow..

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 12:20 am

They bought Camry…. i didnt mind coz it shows that they give credit to quality.
    They riot….. i didnt mind coz sometimes we need to ‘go down’ to deliver our message.

I’ve been looking up to them until the day they challenge the holy sultan.

Ahh what the heck..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 12:21 am

this is the lowest point of human morality

• xenith (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:06 am

When his term finishes, he can buy at “special” price right?

• chee89 (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:37 am

wow..
    say the word ‘recession’ to these ministers, they all gonna give you blank stares, ask you wtf is that?

apparently that word only comes up in their speech written by someone else to get themselves outta trouble..

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:48 am

Najib’s spending is the highest one after all.
    and if we included his wife expenses, I bet it will be far more!

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:49 am

not only millions, but billions.. correct correct correct

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:50 am

hello people…he didnt buy that lexus using over money…the lexus is his own car…read properly before making a conclusion please!!!

paul i think the way you wrote is not clear enough..maybe u have two write a short note that the car was bought by him and not by the state government

• najibest (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 2:06 am

not trying to side to anyone here but i think there’s a bit of confusion here. as said by prem3377, the car is actually Khalid’s own, bought with his own money. he’s been using it for quite a while, even before the 2008 general election.

it’s just that now he declared it as his official car meaning he can claim the service for that car from the state government. is it wrong or right? don’t ask me. just clearing things up for those who thought that Khalid instructed the Selangor govt to “buy” the Lexus for him.

• calvin_ngan (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 2:25 am

hey paul,

I think you need to state clearly Khalid bought the car with his own money, he is after all a very rich man before he joins politics. Most readers are confused and thought he used Selangor’s money, which is not true. It is his money and his car.

• moha774 (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 2:29 am

“Khalid Ibrahim, as he has declared a new Lexus SUV (according a Bernama report, presumably the Lexus RX 350) as his new official car to be used for official business only.”

Bro.. read clearly… The word NEW Lexus SUV means it will be a new car (because he already had one since before he became Selangor MB).. I can swallow the fact that they bought Camry because the franchise holder UMW Toyota can be considered a GLC in virtue of part of PNB group… a new Lexus?? Well… I still remember what they (the Pakatan Leader) said just after they held office.. they would not waste money on new car or office renovation in virtue of giving good example to the people and to be prudent… Although it is his privilege to have a new car, but at least wait until the economy heading for recovery before getting the car… he really does got taste and the car is practical enough for site visit to remote village…

• News Editor on Feb 08, 2009 at 2:32 am

Story has been updated according to suggestions.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 3:21 am

moha774 said,
    February 8, 2009 @ 2:29 am

“Khalid Ibrahim, as he has declared a new Lexus SUV (according a Bernama report, presumably the Lexus RX 350) as his new official car to be used for official business only.”

Bro.. read clearly… The word NEW Lexus SUV means it will be a new car (because he already had one since before he became Selangor MB).. I can swallow the fact that they bought Camry because the franchise holder UMW Toyota can be considered a GLC in virtue of part of PNB group… a new Lexus?? Well… I still remember what they (the Pakatan Leader) said just after they held office.. they would not waste money on new car or office renovation in virtue of giving good example to the people and to be prudent… Although it is his privilege to have a new car, but at least wait until the economy heading for recovery before getting the car… he really does got taste and the car is practical enough for site visit to remote village…

dont get fool by our media,bernama,nt7 ,tv3 or wat..moha774 said,
    February 8, 2009 @ 2:29 am

WQR 779 is the number plate of the actual lexus…i saw again on malaysiakini webpage and some undated photo..and another photo which had a background banner with the date 7 june 2008…so it cant be a new car for sure..

check this link..malaysiakini one..

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/97816

so we should not assume its a new one..dont trust national media..i mean the mainstream once!!

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 8:40 am

looks like Selangor state govt is totally fed up with Proton ..

If for BN, they surely will buy S-Class or Volvo XC90 gua ..

anyway, i dun think now is the correct time to do that as the economy is gettting worse and worse ..

they should put more effort on recovering the economy ..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 9:27 am

if it was bought by him thn its jus a normal personal purchase i see noting to get furious abt , bt since paul posted it , it seems logical to assume it was bough by the selangor G …..and for us to shoot our guns !

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 9:30 am

Prem3377 said,

February 8, 2009 @ 3:21 am
    so we should not assume its a new one..dont trust national media..i mean the mainstream once!!

———————————————————

Oh, like the alternative media is any better! The truth is, always look at both sides of the story, rather than just stick to just one source

• Carz (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 10:14 am

Really sick with politicians.. nothing else to do then waste the rakyat’s money and SHOW OFF… we dun need this attitude.. especially in the era of global turmoil..

• zidane (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 11:04 am

In a recession, i always thought that people would buy less?

I guess people would buy more……MORE than normal…..

• najibest (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 11:25 am

i think we really need to make sure which lexus is being referred to in the bernama article. if it’s true it’s the WQR779 lexus that’s being referred to then it’s really Khalid’s own. i think Paul need to investigate a bit deeper for this 1. just so that people would not get confused. don’t get me wrong, i’m not trying to defend any sides here, frankly speaking i couldn’t care less about malaysian politics, just trying to make sure that the facts are right

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 12:32 pm

he bought with own money or using state gov’s money, wtf, who cares, n really, what can we do? vote him out? bcos of 1 car? it really doesn’t make any difference.

• HARTAPERAK (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:03 pm

Paul ….. and the rest of the people here ………. this is a car forum, why bring politics into the place ?? Once you start …. very difficult to stop.

It is really uncalled for the posting ….it is implied as though Khalid is wasteful but bear in mind that is his own money ….. what about the other MBs of the state …. Terengganu which went ahead to buy E200K for their EXCOs and our Ministers at the Federal level …..

• torque (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:38 pm

Aiya…same old story meh?! Agree with HARTAPERAK, all of us here are better than those politician scumbags especially when we share the same passion…CARS! Just stick it to a car forum as it is and any political agenda/news especially some EXCOs or some state gov purchase new fleet of cars better leave it be. In the beginning it got interesting la, lama2 sudah basi and becoming such a freaking boring news. They still buying, we still nagging, nothing change…nuff said! Cheers everyone…

• msian (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 1:47 pm

hmm…politics and cars really dont go well together…lets just stick to cars….

• anonymus (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 2:14 pm

I think its quite clear in the Bernama report or even in other news portals that khalid ibrahim is using his personal car with the number plate WQR 779 as his official car. This should not be a problem since he bought the car with his own money even before he was appointed as menteri besar. I think many readers here has misunderstood this fact and thought the state government is buying him a new car. Come on….would he get an exact same vehicle as the one he already owned? All this no thanks to this article report either that harshly says ‘Toyota Camrys purchased at RM 130,000 each are not good enough for Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim’. I would strong disagree with this statement

• catdeco (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 2:45 pm

something need to be cleared up here.
    the Lexus actually is belong to him.
    but he use the govt fund for the car’s maintenance.
    the car is only for official use of govt purpose not for a daily use.
    his son/daughter cant use the car for dating purpose.hahahaha.
    so no worries.