Honda Civic Hybrid gets new price: RM 129,980

Honda Civic Hybrid

The facelifted Honda Civic is now in Malaysia, first in Honda Civic Hybrid form. Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has finally announced the new pricing for the Honda Civic Hybrid. It now retails for RM 129,980, a small premium of RM1,180 over the Honda Civic 2.0S.

It’s now also available in two colours – Premium White Pearl and Neutron Blue Metallic (new colors shown above), while the pre-facelift version only had one bluish-silverish metallic colour. For those waiting for the facelifted regular Civic, according to Honda Malaysia it will be coming in mid-March 2009.

Civic Hybrid

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• theanswer (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:19 pm

first!
    at last..they show some support towards a better environment. paul, any review on civic hybrid? the car already here same as Type R..so far i never heard any review abt the car.

• Paul Tan on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:20 pm

By this week.

• indigo (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:21 pm

Singapore already had the facelifted Civic long time ago, when is Malaysia going to have it too?

• neospartanz (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:35 pm

This is interesting. There’s a lot of reduction from the previous price making it now quite attractive. Anyone out there knows the maintenance cost of the hybrid?

• charles27 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:49 pm

wondering this hybrid civic price will drop once again or not?
    cause its a 1.3 engine with motor asist… should compatible price with the 1.8 not the 2.0s.

• neospartanz (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:54 pm

hey paul. could you please include the maintenance of the hybrid too in your review.my parent want to change their car and i want to persuade them to go for the hybrid. but that will depend on your review.hehe

• tananiki (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:57 pm

d revised price failed to impress buyers… 160k become 130k… only 30k slash while gov announce 50% decreased of excise duty and 100% import duty removed… should be lower than 120k…

• KKTE (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 2:57 pm

charles27- Well, comparing these two cars, the 2.0 has a lot of power compare to the hybrid. As for the the fuel consumption, the 1.3 hybrid will smoke the 2.0. So it depends on what kind of car you want. In the end, hell to the govt taxes.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 3:06 pm

charles27 said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 2:49 pm

wondering this hybrid civic price will drop once again or not?
    cause its a 1.3 engine with motor asist… should compatible price with the 1.8 not the 2.0s.
    ________________________________________-

it might be ‘only’ a 1.3 engine, but you forget to take into account the amount of extra technology that goes into this car.. its not as simple as you make it out to be.

• tanasi (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 3:38 pm

I had the chance to drive this car a few moons back.. such a weird feeling when the engine turned off completely while waiting for the traffic light to turn green, and the engine turning on almost instantaneously upon hitting the accelerator pedal.

But I must say the dynamics is poor; disconnected steering feel, uncoordinated roll and yaw motions, uninspiring handling. Obviously something that’s left out with all the technological content inside.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 3:47 pm

this civic hybrid is rm129,980 while in langkawi just only rm100,980, just additional rm29k…ok already la…Compare to civic 1.8 in langkawi are sold between rm71,800 OTR while civic 2.0 is between rm79,800 OTR… at the end… hybrid is worth to buy !

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 3:48 pm

proton saga 1.3cc sold at 36k ,while civic hybrid sold at 130k ? lol

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 3:51 pm

from what i check from the US website, the honda civic hybrid starts from 19kUSD. Even when you multiply it by 4, it’s still comes to RM80k only. That means Honda Malaysia makes Rm50k per vehicle?

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 3:53 pm

sorry it is 25kUSD, but still it comes to about RM100k only.

• klchia7 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:18 pm

i will always prefer the Civic 2.0 if compare to the hybrid. If you drive the Civic 2.0 properly, the mileage return is not that bad, considered it an 2.0

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:25 pm

Viper, I figured the same as well… I thought at most, RM100K. Anybody care to explain the pricing policy (tax free et al) of this car? Probably a mistake to set US price as benchmark? Japan price plus shipping cost then?

• Dracryst (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:37 pm

I read some reviews about this car few months ago. They regard this car as to save fuel consumption rather than giving an inspiring drive such as having good handling and such. The wheels, the tuning, everything had been taken point to get lower fuel consumption. So you don’t expect to have a great drive from this car.

• fzcorp (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:44 pm

wonder if Honda will make a Civic TypeR Hybrid..is it possible?whatever the answer is,there is already a sports hybrid car that Honda already developed,,the CR-Z..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:44 pm

sorry, checked again it’s USD23-26K. That’s just MSRP. Gedebuk gedebak, should be around USD27-30K. Betullah price Honda Malaysia offer kot.

• Dracryst (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:51 pm

We cannot take the price from US. Since our car is imported from Japan, the price will be ?2,226,000??2,551,500 as quoted from the website. This alone means the highest price will be RM87,425.0763 ~ RM100,202.09.

• rosdi (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:08 pm

Whoever bought the hybrid earlier at 180K++ must be swearing like !@#$^ now.

• HARTAPERAK (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:12 pm

Well good to hear about the price reduction on the Civic hybrid, what about Toyota Prius ? What is the price ?

As usual typical Malaysian, what is the maintainence of this hybrid car gonna cost ? resale value ? Will it last as long as the conventional Civic ?

What to do ? economy no good must check first unless those who wanna be the 1st mover advantage in owing this “green” car …

• kamisama-alex (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:22 pm

RM130K for a hybrid with style. If you ask me, i think it is worth the price considering there isn’t any other options here in Malaysia.

• shun2u.CoM (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:27 pm

worth for it. :)

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:44 pm

mukhri,

Dealers in the US would never sell their cars according to MSRP. In face in view of the current economy, they would slash thousands off the MSRP and even in normal times they would always sell it below MSRP.

Dracryst,

This means that it shoud be price around RM90k? Usually cars that are exported to malaysia are the basic models so RM95k would be a fair reference price point?

• riched (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:48 pm

When this hybrid was first launched in M’sia (sometime around last year?), I went to Honda showroom and asked one of the sales on some practical questions:

1) How long will the NiMH battery (at the boot space) last?
    2) What is the battery replacement price?
    3) What is the operational condition like?

I got my answers, which straight away turn me off on-top of the high asking price… Save the environment while burning pocket… :( (Also, I wonder if a battery DOES “save” the environment??)

Ans 1) “About 3 ~ 4 years depending on driving condition and care…” (And hey, the boot gets smaller…)
    Ans 2) “RM8K ++ …”
    Ans 3) “Need to drive the car like once per month at least, or it will take longer time to recharge the NiMH battery at the back…”

I reckon that any new technology/model/engine shall be ‘tested’ or ‘run’ for sometime, before we can actually justify our value-for-money, as well as value-for-malaysian-“cheap”-government-tax… :|

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Who in his right mind would pay something more than a Civic 2.0 for this car? Unless you’re a die hard try hugger, Honda can go fly kite with this model. If you want to save fuel, get a 1.8 with NGV installed.

I don’t see the facelift difference for this. Only the tyre rim is different.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:50 pm

typo: tree hugger, not try hugger

• lfsism (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Dracryst

The price of JPY2,226,000 to JPY2,551,500 is the basic price. Putting into account of taxes in Japan, it would land up close to JPY 3 million, in which in turn will become like Malaysia @ RM 120k++….

Considering the shipping and insurance cost to Malaysia,you need to add up about a few thousand ringgit / car (pre tax)… Not to forget, now with Japanese Yen at a strong 4, including shipping costs… it adds up to the bulk of the price.
    ————————————————————–

Looking on the bright side, the fuel consumption of hybrid is spectacular for its size. I did a test drive of a Prius, landed me of 26.6 km / litre…. that’s with some flooring of accelerator, mountaineous roads and 4 occupancy… However I have to agree with the sudden start of the engine out of nowhere and turning it off at the red light. Dynamics isn’t as great as what a car should drive but bear in mind that it is a good car for those who commute to town everyday and get stuck in the jam. It’s not a weekend car.

I managed to get a glimpse of the New Insight and it looks really good compared to Prius.

• Dracryst (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:58 pm

BrakeFader,

They changed the front grille, use the FD2R’s front bumper, changed both the headlamps and tail lights. The wheels remain the same as it’s only available for Civic Hybrid.

• db8 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 7:17 pm

lol brakefader..if u know nothing about the facelift,go do your own research first before bashing..moron.

• layman (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Is this the first and the only hybrid car launch in Malaysia??

• corollaaltis (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:18 pm

HARTAPERAK said,

February 10, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

Well good to hear about the price reduction on the Civic hybrid, what about Toyota Prius ? What is the price ?
    ——————————————————————-
    RM160k ?

• corollaaltis (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:19 pm

layman said,

February 10, 2009 @ 8:00 pm

——————————————————————-
    I thought Toyota Prius Hybrid launching?

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:23 pm

What the price when tax free? Now if you want a cheaper go and live at other country, rmb this still Malaysia, if the policy nvr change, we are still buying expensive car, thanks to BN!

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:24 pm

and thanks to Proton for gov to save them and burden us.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:33 pm

People want to buy hybrids must be very very patient. The engine is small, the battery does not last 10 years, and the price is higher

• Dogster (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:34 pm

Disappointed 1,000,000%.
    Still wont make me or anyone rush to the showroom to get one!.
    U would have to be RICH to go green.. in this bloody country…. What the hell, If u are rich, why even bother going green at all…. petrol is cheap to you… ish this gov….
    Imho, this is the most expensive 1.3 car , literally.
    I would rather pay less and get more power!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:34 pm

corollaaltis said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 8:19 pm

layman said,

——————————————————————-

as long as there is no prius on sale, we’ll have to take it that its not launching right?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Dogster said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 8:34 pm

Disappointed 1,000,000%.
    Still wont make me or anyone rush to the showroom to get one!.
    U would have to be RICH to go green.. in this bloody country…. What the hell, If u are rich, why even bother going green at all…. petrol is cheap to you… ish this gov….

_____________________________________–

bro, you are just ranting and raving for no reason la.. i dont care where you come from, but hybrids are comparatively expensive to buy whether you live in the UK or the US. If they’re so cheap, why arent more hybrids sold in the US and europe? Also, the latest bunch of Eco diesel cars sold in europe today have managed to surpass hybrids not only in power, but economy and are cheaper to buy as well.

hybrids are a great idea, and definitely increase the choices we have as consumers, but its definitely not the ultimate green choice, and will definitely not be for the future in their current form imho.

• fookahchun (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:40 pm

that was great they have white colour civic.it would be eye catching on the road.it is also good starting for better environment.i think it is more convince than NGV because now most of the place haven NGV pump yet and we don’t have to worry about the NGV installition.

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:48 pm

The new Honda Insight Hybrid just cost around ¥1,890,000 that is RM 74,368.5 so if like this when come to Malaysia how much will it be and for the current Honda city already cost RM 84,980 wat lau, how much is the price before tax is totally high.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:52 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

corollaaltis said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 8:19 pm

layman said,

——————————————————————-

as long as there is no prius on sale, we’ll have to take it that its not launching right?
    —————————————————————–
    Right

• Bebelon (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 9:04 pm

The price has been revealed since 2 months ago. i knew it from a local car magazine.

This is the first hybrid car brought into Malaysia if don’t count in Toyota Harrier and Estima brought into bolehland by another AP company.

• redrules (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 9:13 pm

I won’t jump into the ‘hybrids bandwagon’ just yet, probably it’s better to wait and see what happens in the next one or two years. Perhaps Prius will be introduced here with a more competitive price (knowing UMW), maybe Proton would also venture into this and not to forget the Koreans, than perhaps we’ll see the ‘real’ price drop as some of the comments given. It reminds me of how Honda was the first to comply with the emmision regulation in US back in the late 70s by introducing Civic, the rest follow suit.

• Bebelon (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 9:14 pm

mystvearn said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 8:33 pm

People want to buy hybrids must be very very patient. The engine is small, the battery does not last 10 years, and the price is higher

Don’t underestimate this car although its engine is smaller capacity than regular civic, but its power is comparable to 1.6 engine. I don’t there are many cars can last more than 10 years without maintenance. Furthermore, 10 years later, the battery may become FOC? Who can predict future? People who bought this car will not even bother this problem!

Anywhere, sources said that Prius is coming into Malaysia in this year! New generation!

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 9:28 pm

for me, i choose accord

• common-sensor (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:14 pm

If you want the future generation to enjoy what you are enjoying today, go for it! Go for green, go to #!%& with those selfish lot …

• GOGOobama (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:13 pm

toyota prius is coming to malaysia this 3rd quater… but, the new model off prius is luaching in japan… but, we still get the current generation of prius… honda will lauch new insight next year i think.. to fight with prius

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:15 pm

civic type-r got pricedrop?

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:43 pm

common-sensor said,

February 10, 2009 @ 10:14 pm

If you want the future generation to enjoy what you are enjoying today, go for it! Go for green, go to #!%& with those selfish lot …
    ———————————————————————–

That might be a good suggestion but what to do if under Malaysia policy and under BN u can’t do anything, they just keep protecting someone and we were left behind for generation.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:46 pm

Go what green? It simply doesn’t make sense to have hybrid cars while we are still seeing so many unroadworthy vehicles on the road. Wanna go green, scrap all the junks and change to hybrid, all at govt’s expense.

• naz@proton (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:51 pm

Honda value drop 50k , last yr sell 180k now 129k wakaka very god 2nd hand value perdana also not so worse then this stupid 1.3 car. I rather install ngv then buy this stupid car. Why play green issue stop smoking first then only can talk about save the planet…….

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:56 pm

All in RM after currency exchange.

cars Thai Rm Japan

H_Civic
    1.8 98,793 113,800 84,737
    2 122,833 128,800 88,871
    hyprid 129,980 112,432

Still Malaysia is damn expensive the different is between 10k to 20k where had it go.

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:58 pm

_xXx_ said,

February 10, 2009 @ 11:46 pm

Go what green? It simply doesn’t make sense to have hybrid cars while we are still seeing so many unroadworthy vehicles on the road. Wanna go green, scrap all the junks and change to hybrid, all at govt’s expens

When will we develop with ur ideology?

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:59 pm

All the tax is damn high goes to gov.

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 12:06 am

xXx_ said,

Go what green? It simply doesn’t make sense to have hybrid cars while we are still seeing so many unroadworthy vehicles on the road. Wanna go green, scrap all the junks and change to hybrid, all at govt’s expense.
    ——————————————————–

No wonder Malaysia still considered as third world country.

And yes the G can change all for u… and we all live communist.

• Adrian (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 12:07 am

Price-wise, I reckon it should be competing with the Civic 1.8, not the 2.0

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:24 am

_xXx_,

govt expense = taxpayers money. Still wanna go ahead wit ur suggestion?

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 8:50 am

Why is this stupid Whiteeye still rambling on about taxes?

Ifsism has pointed out that the price is only abput 10K more than in Japan. Add transport to malaysia and so on, then the price difference isn’t that much…

So what high taxes is you feeble brain thinking about?

• rexis (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 9:17 am

riched said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 5:48 pm
    ——————————————————–
    Thats very practical question. As they mentioned that a Civic hybrid battery can last for about 4 years and it cost RM8000 to replace:

RM8000/48months = appx RM167 monthly

And lets say you burn about RM500 fuel(which consider low for those who work in KL with a Civic class car) monthly but with hybrid you manage to save 40% of it, then it already worth the price. As a plus, you cut some carbon emission. Although many would say, it is negligible as there are 999999999 other cars burning and chocking out black smoke.

But for you to pay the extra premium on the price tag, with the car loan interest, etc etc, you would be ended up with no significant gain and some extra trouble. Hence owning a hybrid is no different then owning a normal hybrid.

Hence the only benefit is you cut some carbon emission and kill less of your planet everyday.

;

Dogster said,

——————————————————–
    You may sound baseless rant as you are, but you make some points there.

People couldnt care more about going green, who ever heard about emission control and carbon tax? Did gov even care about implementing them? We cant care more about it and when natural disaster struck, we blame god.

The price tag about the civic hybrid is indeed at a very low price. And we need some effort to convince people that the 1.3L engine is not the only concern here, and pay attension on how it can recapture energy, reduce emission, cut fuel cost, etc.

;

_xXx_ said,

Go what green? It simply doesn’t make sense to have hybrid cars while we are still seeing so many unroadworthy vehicles on the road. Wanna go green, scrap all the junks and change to hybrid, all at govt’s expens
    ——————————————————–
    You made some point here

Perhaps it is not reasonable to charge all these to govt(it is our own purse anyway) but it is the govt who are responsible to implement policy that benefit the environment and ultimately our future in the very long run.

Wasting millions on useless advertisement is simply meaningless, gov should do solid implementation like pass rulings that benefit the environment and enforce it.

All going hybrid is not the main solution. It is more worthy to spend the cash in something permenant like building new free roads that cut traffic congestion and traveling time, and hence result in the saving of tons of fuel per year.

• saukoon (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 9:39 am

guys, since this civic is fully imported from Japan, do you think it will have the nice equipments that the jap version has, like the remote control, push turn ignition etc shown here

http://www.honda.co.jp/CIVIC/webcatalogue/equipment/index.html

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 9:58 am

Given the revised price list, this Hybrid Civic will fly off the showroom when the petrol price in Malaysia soars beyond RM3/litres!!! When petrol is that expensive, it makes sense to give up “driving pleasure” for “economical pleasure”. Enjoy the ride while the situation allows, friend.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 10:38 am

Which means, if we wanna be like developod countries, govt should introduce scrap policy? how old should the cars be then? what about classics? Who will start the green car culture if not local carmaker? Do you have to tropicalize a green car for hot and humid weather? How do you educate the masses about the next generation’s environment?

It all boils down to this. Let the environmentalist (that’s not us) and policymakers(definitely not us) sit down and chat for the next ten years to figure out what to do. And does a hybrid car really save you money. If yes, buy, if no, don’t buy. And is full electric better than hybrid.

As for us, keep it to hot babes, mechanical and automotive engineering, industrial design and 6.5l V12s. Bashing too.

• punnajit (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 10:52 am

Join the official 2009 Honda Civic Hybrid Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/pages/2009-Honda-Civic-Hybrid/44705747013. Feel free to bring any discussion to Honda Malaysia and keep yourself updated on the latest news and development of Honda Civic Hybrid.

• whiteeye (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:05 am

goguncas71 said,

February 11, 2009 @ 8:50 am

Why is this stupid Whiteeye still rambling on about taxes?

Ifsism has pointed out that the price is only abput 10K more than in Japan. Add transport to malaysia and so on, then the price difference isn’t that much…

So what high taxes is you feeble brain thinking about?
    ____________________________________________________________________________________________

So u want to benefit’s the gov?
    Gov had get lot’s of tax from us even u sleep also tax, which i mean cukai taksiran, cukai pintu, even your job also tax, eat also tax, is this fare enough, if so congratulation Malaysia will nvr change if the policy still like this, check for yourself wat’s the H_Jazz and City price? Is this fare for you?

Sent back to you Stupid and brainless monkey.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:47 am

whiteeye, no use fighting with Potong fanboys la…….

They totally didnt realise that even if in Msia Hybrid (and hybrid alone!) is “ONLY” RM10k more expensive than Japan, Japanese avg earning power is easily 3-4x more than Msian avg earning power.

So summary:

We earn less but still need spend more on cars.

Thanks to our blardy useless Barisan Najis G and ignorant fanboys who blindly support Potong nomatter what. Good job, guys! Show your stupidity more

• fairozee (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:22 pm

I tested drive this Hybrid car last Sunday at Honda Showroom opposite Mutiara Damansara/next to LDP.

I wasn’t that impressed with the engine performances (sluggish pick-up) but overall it was an ‘okay’ car lah. After all, this hydrid only powered by 1.3 liter engine.

About the battery life, Michael (Senior Sales Executive) told me that the battery can last as long as you want it to be (but must drive almost everyday). He did not mention to me that it will only last 4 years?

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 1:36 pm

Ha..ha..

You keep bringing up car taxes and so on…when pointed out the price difference isn’t that much you say but the Japanese earn a lot more..
    So what does that have to do with your earlier ramblings about car taxes?
    Nothing…

Go ahead, go on about BN or whatever and all the injustices of the world…when you wake up and find out not everyone agrees with you.

And it’s idiotic to assume that everyone that doesn’t agree with you a BN supporter.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 2:14 pm

goguncas71:

“You keep bringing up car taxes and so on…when pointed out the price difference isn’t that much you say but the Japanese earn a lot more..
    So what does that have to do with your earlier ramblings about car taxes?”

Is it? The do answer me these 2 questions.

If Civic Hybrid is “ONLY” RM10k more expensive than Japan does it means it is not taxed?

Is ALL imported car tax at same rate as Civic Hybrid? Can you tell me Civic 1.8/2.0 is “ONLY” RM10k more expensive than Japan? Or not?

• riched (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 3:34 pm

rexis said,

February 11, 2009 @ 9:17 am

Thats very practical question. As they mentioned that a Civic hybrid battery can last for about 4 years and it cost RM8000 to replace:

RM8000/48months = appx RM167 monthly

:) – Well, another good question is that what if we don’t drive for a month? Then RM167 gone! Battery lasting depending on driver’s driving style and usage too! :)
    (I always pray for those drivers that forgot to turn their lights off when shopping at Tesco…)

Bebelon said,

February 10, 2009 @ 9:14 pm

Furthermore, 10 years later, the battery may become FOC? Who can predict future?

:) – Wow… FOC? I bet it’s hard to even get a FOC YUASA battery, again… no offense… :))

fairozee said,

About the battery life, Michael (Senior Sales Executive) told me that the battery can last as long as you want it to be (but must drive almost everyday). He did not mention to me that it will only last 4 years?

:) – I’m sure the Senior Sales Executive you met, is purely a Sales. Any battery that you know til date “can last as long as you want it to be?” – I don’t think even a YUASA battery can last more than 5 years even if you use it daily. Also, sure the sales didn’t tell you that “Yes, say 10 years later, you can still use the battery when fully charged… for… 3 minutes less than 30km/h driving? Your handphone/laptop already using Lithium Ion, but this hybrid battery is NiMH (Fyi, previous generation of the battery of your handphone…)

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 3:39 pm

1 thing I want to know about Hybrid is does Honda GUARANTEE that the battery can last you 3-4 yrs or is it just sales talk?

If they talk all sort of BS but only guarantee the battery for 1 yr what happens if you buy and the battery dies after 2 or even 1 and 1/2 years? Take out RM8k again?

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Dear not_ah_beng said

Car prices in malaysia is high not due to the tax but because dumb@ss malaysians still buy them at such stupid prices…

Of course there’s tax but not as much as people think, and certainly not the reason the Civic 1.8 is nearly 120k

case 1 Vios
    Toyota can make and sell the Avanza at 60K+ (at a profit). Then by right Toyota can sell the Vios profitably at 50k+ since it is cheaper to make than the Vios (less steel, less parts, less seat, less windows and so on) but people buy it at 80k+. Ha ha suckers while UMW laughs all the way to the bank…

case 2 Suzuki
    How come you can buy a FULLY IMPORTED CBU JAPAN 1.6 Suzuki SX4 sedan for around 90k when CKD assembled in Melaka Civic is much more expensive? Think again…of course malaysians are getting ripped off – but who is doing the ripping off…

Think…

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Dear goguncas71:

Please get your facts in order, before you shoot the car dealer for profitmaking, TQVM.

Go check Toyota Malaysia website.

Just explain the big difference between Vios Langkawi Price and Peninsular price?

• riched (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 4:29 pm

not_ah_beng said,

February 11, 2009 @ 4:23 pm

Dear goguncas71:

Please get your facts in order, before you shoot the car dealer for profitmaking, TQVM.

Go check Toyota Malaysia website.

Just explain the big difference between Vios Langkawi Price and Peninsular price?

I support you… :))

I bet still lotsa ppl doesn’t know about Tax, no matter what tax it is… (income tax, property tax, sales tax, etc. etc…)

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 5:05 pm

Dear not_ah_beng said,

Nowhere on the Toyota site it says how much tax is paid…

Look I’ll say it again, the Vios can be sold in the peninsular at a profit and with all the taxes paid at under 60k since the harder and more expensive to make Avanza can be sold at a profit at 60+k.

I used to remember when the all the taxes paid are printed in the price list – but not anymore, why is that? To hide behind ‘tax is why the prices are like this’ argument salesmen like to make…

Care to explain why the imported CBU suzuki SX4 is sold cheaper than the malacca sourced Civic?

• gods twin (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 5:45 pm

Dear goguncas,

Pls compare the price of vios in langkawi or somewhere else where it is tax free.Vios priced competitive to a waja/persona(mainland) .

I guess you have never heard of such things as brand value,driving experience, resale value and many more(on your question why is sx4 is cheaper than melacca civic) .

If according to you the SX4 is cbu and its cheaper than the civic, than how come there is so less on the road? Well its even cheaper than the perdana V6, altis,civic, latio, nissan sleepy and more.
    There is more to it than just your useless writings here.

And by the way pls vist :
    http://www.toyota.com.my/index.aspx?cat=models&sect=vios&subsect=pricespecs

For the pricing & tax comparism, we in mainland are paying some 25k more for a vios S than the langkawi which is a tax free heaven, so logicly speaking the diffrence in the price is the tax paid by us to the gov. Do some research 1st la.

• riched (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 6:01 pm

http://www.honda.com.my/models/civicHybrid_price_list-langkawi.cfm
    http://www.honda.com.my/models/civicHybrid_price_list-labuan.cfm
    http://www.honda.com.my/models/civicHybrid_price_list.cfm

(Selling Price) 97,887.80 VS. 98,590.70 VS. 126,124.80

But of course, the difference is whether you drive in an island, or drive in the mainland… :)

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 6:55 pm

Dear gods twin,

Where does it say the 25k difference is attributed to tax? Do you know how much tax is paid? In Langkawi toyota knows it has to accept a lower margin because people will just bring in tax free Vios from Thailand if they overcharge. But here they can pretty much charge whatever they want.

What about my argument that the Vios can be sold cheaper than the Avanza argument? Care to comment?

The locally assembled Honda is more expensive due to brand experience and so on you say. So it is more expensive because of the brand? Honda charges what it believes people will pay, so actually it can be sold much below the price of the CBU suzuki but people are paying a lot more because of the brand – not tax.

What about the Latio? It’s almost the same price as the imported Suzuki SX4. So Latio buyers are paying less tax but paying more for ‘brand’?

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 7:11 pm

you buy that civic, if anything went wrong, you will be very annoyed ..

only HONDA technicians know how to mantain and repair that car ..

dun expect ah beng to repair the civic hybrid ..

spareparts will be some problem ..

• gods twin (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Dear gorguncas,

On wat facts are you arguing that a vios must cost less than the avanza?
    Less steel and seats? So if that is your kind belief, then the mini should mini chould cost hell lot cheaper than the avanza, sub 60k?
    And be informed that apart from UMW malaysia, no other tom dick and hairy can import cheap vios from thailand. There is somthing known as franchise rights. And if the price difrences are not taxes charged, wat could it be, Any marketing person will tell you that its not the right marketing gesture to boldly state “rm25000 paid by you is the tax charged by gov, cause they think that people on the mainland are all rich people” on the broucheres.
    The prices are all submitted to the gov approval, pls be informed that the gov rejected the price of the civic hybrid twice before it was announced. So the theory of putting a price tag as you wish is false, please take into consideration of the difrences in technolgy under, in and above the skin of a car before making a comment.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Dear Gods twin

The Vios can be sold at a lower price than the Avanza, the Mini is expensive because BMW can sell it at a high price, and people who don’t think buy it. The issue is that people pay a big premium for the badge, and the distibutors laugh all the way to the bank while all the while blaming the prices on taxes…

What, nobody can bring a Vios into malaysia, what are you smoking? UMW malaysia and franchise rights? Recall that Naza bought a bunch of camrys a while back and sold them at a big discount compared to the UMW camrys…

Price only by govt approval? Miti doesn’t do that anymore, now distributors are free to set their own prices…

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:57 pm

@gorguncas71:

Pls don’t kid yourself that a “smaller” car costs “less” to make. In that case cost price of a BMW 320i should be cheaper than a Proton Perdana V6?! LOL. Its the quality of the technology inside plus the finishing of the interior plus specs that counts.

Btw Avanza has a lot of inferior features to Vios, did you know? Only 1.5G has ABS and dual airbag (and 1.5G isn’t CHEAP!!!) also interior is not so good as Vios (not that Vios is great, just Avanza is worst). You may as well said that we are all getting rip off as that China company can made an MPV selling even with tax for RM30k+???

Btw, from which OFFICIAL source did you hear that local CKD or Thai import Jap brand is “exempt” or “almost exempt” from tax? Some official link will be appreciated.

I am 100% sure that RM25k difference between Langkawi Price and Peninsular price – the RM25k go straight inside the G pocket.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:58 pm

PS: When I mention 1.5G having ABS and dual airbag I mean Avanza, not Vios.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 12:00 am

There’s a tax rebate the Malaysian government is giving to all Thailand and Indonesian manufactured Honda and Toyotas, rendering them literally tax free. This is forced by ASEAN trade regulations when Malaysia government wanted to export Perodua and Proton to these country tax free as well.

However, because Malaysian manufacturers can’t compete if Honda and Toyota were to suddenly sell RM50k Vios and RM80k Civic; the government squeeze their own balls whilst watching the Japs squeeze our balls. The government knew they can’t force Toyota and Honda from lowering their prices, as that would meant the collapsing of the local motor industry.

Moreover, there’s no point lowering their prices as Malaysians had gotten used to paying such ridiculous prices for cars. All because the lack of economies of scale from local manufacturers, and incompetent government protectionism that rendered them practically useless in creating modern, competitive cars.

See where Hyundai and Kia is now. Remember a mere ten years back people were laughing at Spectra buyers where a Waja is fundamentally better in every aspect? No more.

P.S – Hyundai KIA is currently the world’s 5th largest automobile manufacturer, ahead of Honda.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 12:17 pm

goguncas71 and ingolstadt, I have this to say to your post.

BOLLOCKS.

http://74.125.47.132/search?q=cache:wkLQY8kKzZAJ:www.ustr.gov/assets/Document_Library/Reports_Publications/2006/2006_NTE_Report/asset_upload_file647_9190.pdf+malaysia+tax+rebate+on+all+thailand+manufactured+cars&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=4&gl=my

For CKD and CBU, although Import is 15% or 0% they still have to pay excise of 80-200%. Capiche?

And as for Swift and Avanza did you notice MPV have lower excise than sedans? Probably cos Potong did not made any MPVs………yet.

Lets see the G raise the excise once Potong did produce their MPV.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:37 pm

i’d buy this car not for the hybrid but for the better built quality, cbu from japan right?

• nmh (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:21 pm

2.0 civic is good already in FC. No point buying tis one

• robin on Feb 16, 2009 at 2:54 am

The hybrid is only save a few cents on petro bill!! Not much different, but, you think of this, you get a small size engine with poor power plant! Honda priced it more expensive than 2.0 is becos the "Is a New Motor for Malaysian!!" Imagine, if you are driving your 2.0 with the hybrid speed, you will also paying the same petro price! Then why? When you want a full acceleration, the Hybrid is even slower than the City! Think of your head, not your eyes!

• terry (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 7:23 am

Earlier on I wanted to jump on the hybrid bandwagon, and when big G announced the tax reduction I thought the Civic price would be reduce to RM 120+K. Unfortunately it came too late as I'm getting another car and also after reading the comments here there should be more few points to consider such as Battery Life, power wise, etc. I still think the Civic hybrid looks cool with its different styling (rims, antenna, etc.) but I guess its not strong enough appeal now.

If anyone wants to get the Civic they should know what they're in for, as its true bout the battery life as well as the technicians part. Until maybe the Prius or other marques do come to Msia with the environmentally friendly cars, it will still be either those who are super environment conscious or have loads of extra cash to spare would buy these cars.

• chinbeng on Mar 04, 2009 at 5:50 am

i wonder why this car 1.3 and can sell at 130k compare to 1.8 and 2.0 civic….really wondering wat performance and facility that add on in the car.

• [quote comment="207942"] About the battery life, Michael (Senior Sales Executive) told me that the battery can last as long as you want it to be (but must drive almost everyday). He did not mention to me that it will only last 4 years?[/quote]

Sorry for miss quoted Mr. Michael about the battery life issue. The battery is set to last the lifetime of the Honda Civic. So there you go… you may see him or call him to get better explanation. So far he told me, there is no complain yet about this car from REAL CUSTOMER/BUYER.

Cheers…

• [quote comment="217002"]i wonder why this car 1.3 and can sell at 130k compare to 1.8 and 2.0 civic….really wondering wat performance and facility that add on in the car.[/quote]

go to Honda website to get more info bout this baby… All I know, this is 1.3 car with 2.0 accessories and features!

for more go to: http://www.honda.com.my/civic/experience-hybrid/i…

• Prasad on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:47 am

The latest battery price is RM16K but battery life has been extend to 5-6 years.

Petrol price is going up too. If Hybrid cost below RM100K then I see the point.

Expensive battery and I'm not sure how good are the Honda Malaysia can troubleshoot issues with the Hybrid.

• Prasad on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:49 am

If battery is set to last a life time , is Honda offering a lifetime warranty.

I believe the warranty time on the battery is the actual life time.

• I just want to clarify…for the civic hybrid petrol , in average, 1 litre can go to 31KM, it is really save a lot of cost,

Imagine from KL to Penang, 310Km (around), one way, 1 litre = RM1.8. means only RM18 from KL to Penang leh……….Dont you all think very very save ? and save the world …..

• parasolx on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Hybrid is a system combination between electrical and petrol engine. To develop this kind of engine technology is not one or two years. They have manage to spend about 10 years to come out with stable technology. The price is worth to them and also for buyers.

Malaysian's keep blame on the price because its Malaysian mentality… more prefect is "COMPLAINING COMMUNITY". You want something that new, advance, high tech BUT with lower price?? Try to produce something that is new and sell it out. Can you sell lower than cost to produce it? You or me are not involved in the production of the car. So, if you don't have any experience, try go and search first. Ask them, what materials they used, what so special about its.

One more Malaysia mentality is looking at engine power, comparison on engine power. Hello guys, if you have 3.6L engine that can drove off the car up to 300+km/h, tell me where you can drive it? how long you can maintain the speed at 300+? So, if you said that people buy hybrid car is because green and only RICH people can have.. so it same issues with people get 2.0 rather than 1.8.. have much performance and FC.

And the price, ppl keep blame 129K is really exp. What you think is the price is 100K? You think ppl will said it is cheap? For me, if it sell at 23K also i will said it still expensive IF i can not afford it. Think about that. Get what you can afford, don't make such blame and comment.

• honeybee on Oct 05, 2009 at 8:41 am

r u sure kl to penang is rm18 only?? anyone tested it b4??

• parasolx on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:30 pm

I have tested it already. keep maintain speed at 80km/h at RPM 1.5, got FC about 30km/l.

but usually i drive at RPM 2, speed at 110 km/h got FC at 23km/l.really save me every month.

• The price seems very very reasonable, but I dont think they will be popular in Malaysia for two simple reasons:

1) Air Conditioning + Highway driving. Ie. Hybrid advantages arent realized for most people.

2) 1.3L vs 2.0L… Malaysians, whether they like to admit it or not, like bigger engines. Look at all the people who put louder mufflers and big exhausts on boring small sedans. Compensating for something? I dont know… But yeah, size does matter to the average malaysian buyer. That inferiority complex drives the need to have a bigger engine. Imagine pullin up besides a 2.0L car in your 1.3L car… In many other countries, people dont really care…A car is just a tool to get from A to B…but in malaysia, your pride and family status is tied to your car somehow.

• parasolx on Oct 30, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Hybrid is design for fuel efficiency. For people who always travels and plus with luxurious and brand name. But if people more focus on speed, big sound wave that make them really proud with that, then hybrid is not a good choice. go with 2.0L.

Road is make for taking you A to B for a daily living job. For racing or other matters, its better to go with the right way. Not at the public road. Just beware cause everybody is paying road tax for using everyday and not for certain people only.

But one fact and it is true, all people is shock how come 1.3L engine can bring such a big body without any problem? think about that.

• CoolPlanet (Member) on Dec 11, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Anyone knows how many Civic Hybrid are on the road in Malaysia to-date ? The last update I known of 150 cars in Malaysia. Anyway, since the launch of Civic hybrid I had never seen any Hybrid in Penang. (may be I am not lucky or majority in KL ). As of mid of Nov, the Honda sales guys ( Vivahill Sdn. Bhd ) told me only 2 car sold to-date and they do not have intention to purchase even a test drive unit to be stationed at the company for any potential buyer.

Seems to me that majority Malaysian are still skeptical about this new technology. I am wonder is there any local forum established for all Honda Civic Hybrid owners to discuss about what they faced ?

• Carl Wong on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Hi I believe there are around 500 or more Civic Hybrids in our country now. I live in PJ and I’ve seen many of them already :], most of them in white (I love the blue variant more :D). I’ve seen the Toyota Prius a lot of times too, it’s good for our people to have the consciousness to reduce carbon footprint :). Honda is selling more than 10 Civic Hybrids per month now according to the website.

• NG LI LI on May 05, 2010 at 2:45 pm

I wish to ask the civil Hybird 1.8 (2009) it’s have “Auto Lock “meaning when we moving the car it can automatic lock the door and when we stop and turn off the switch it can unlock the door?
    thanks!

• secret on Jun 09, 2010 at 2:03 pm

i think this car should many people buy it… the huge body.. it nice body… 1.3 ivtec… and nice interior.. but, this car hasn’t installed the vsa. vsa just have in 1.8 and 2.0s… i dont know about type r….. the both car should better than civic hybrid… btw, this car is very nice from the other…. now it price is rm 129,980….

• parasolx on Jun 09, 2010 at 2:21 pm

maybe this two reason:
      1. to reduce price of hybrid.. make it same with 2.0.. if hybrid comes with navigator+vsa, the price can’t be 129K. because tax is charge on item basis.. more accessories, higher tax need to paid.

2. VSA maybe not really needed as hybrid is design for high saving not for high performance. since hybrid comes with electrical power steering, there already computerize system to manage and assist driving wired. while 1.8 and 2.0 still using hydrolic power steering.

• tree_hugging_hybrid_owner on Jul 03, 2010 at 5:21 pm

yeah, I could have bought the 2.0 or an Accord and end up sitting in the usual KL traffic jam everyday burning petrol.. but now my fuel bill is cut in half for a decent drive into work and back.

battery life? 1st gen hybrid batteries still going strong over 10 years..

maintainence cost – no difference..

• parasolx on Jul 04, 2010 at 12:19 am

thats what i said to all hybrid fans..
      there is no diff but more advantages using hybrid car..

• How is RM129k a good deal for a hybrid? Whatever savings we are supposed to make from the cost of not using as much petrol is wiped out with the monthly repayment to the bank!