MINI JCW now available with Cabriolet body

MINI JCW Cabriolet

The MINI John Cooper Works is now available with a cabriolet body in addition to the previously revealed hatch and Clubman bodies. The MINI JCW engine’s 211 horsepower and 260Nm of torque (280Nm on temporary overboost) can take the cabriolet up to 100km/h in 6.9 seconds, which is 0.4 seconds slower than the hatch due to the extra weight from the strenghtening required to make up for the lack of a roof on the cabriolet body. The rest of the specifications are quite similiar to the other body variants.

Only the JCW MINI hatchback is currently available in Malaysia and retails for an eye-boggling RM 279,000 which could get you a nice C-segment premium sedan like the Lexus IS 250, Audi A4 with the premium package, Mercedes-Benz C200K or the JCW’s stablemate, the BMW 323i. Expect a JCW Cabriolet to push the price tag over the RM 300k mark, but somehow there will still be those who can afford it!

Look after the jump for some nice high-res photos of the JCW Cabriolet. If you like it but can’t afford it (unlike the smug-looking young bloke in the photos), at least you’ll be able to use a photo of one as a desktop wallpaper!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=100]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:23 am

rm279K could get me a BMW320 or 323 what….but some blokes who are filthy rich will want one.

small car with big appetite. wonder why MINI are so damn expensive nowdays.

• gokibin (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 12:03 pm

xsaraloeb is rite… unless ur filthy rich, might as well go for viva, myvi or saga.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 12:51 pm

yes..and those can afford and do make a purchase are real suckers for their cash.some might say “duit dia, suke dia lah”, but it still applies.peace!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 12:52 pm

viva , hahaha!

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:47 pm

Take it for a drive-thru car wash. ‘Krete dia, suke hati dia lah’.

• KKTE (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 10:32 am

This car looks nice, but still i prefer 1 series for that kind of size!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:36 pm

a waste of money