First sketch of the Volkswagen New Midsize Sedan

Volkswagen NMS

Volkswagen’s D-segment offerings will be split into two after the introduction of a new car aimed at the North American and Chinese markets, while Europe will continue to get the Volkswagen Passat. Above is one of the first sketches released by Volkswagen of the car that has not received a name yet. It is currently referred to as the Volkswagen New Midsize Sedan. Many car manufacturers have their D-segment cars split into 2. For example, Ford’s European and American line-up are totally different, while Honda has two different Accords for North America/Asia and Europe/Japan.

According to an unnamed Volkswagen executive, the NMS project was created because the company felt American and Asian customers don’t really appreciate the refinement of its current offerings such as the Passat, hence its dismal sales in comparison to competitors like the Camry and the Accord, though the Passat is also more expensive because of the extra costs that go into its refinement.

So VW decided to develop a new car more down to the H and T badge standards, with a focus on strict cost-cutting targets. The new Volkswagen NMS will be built on the sale PQ46 platform as the Passat, which is an enlarged version of the Golf’s PQ35 platform.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Akazamabamaboo on Feb 13, 2009 at 6:51 am

Elegance in Simplicity

• Wtf? VWs are also more expensive due to… you know what….. hope they will still offer their European lineup here.

• Jimmy on Feb 13, 2009 at 7:55 am

Got some smell of the pre-facelift Hyundai Sonata. Nice.

• julian-lee (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:11 am

1st!

• Theophilus Chin on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:30 am

If it looks so clean in early sketch, I think the real thing will be rather unexciting.

• normal_user on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:42 am

So this car will be larger than the Passat? Americans prefer size over refinement. That’s why not many European D-segment cars can find its way to europe. About Asians, I don’t think Asians don’t appreciate the refinement; its just the premium price which makes them turn to the cheaper T & H brand. The VW brand power is not strong enough in Asia compared to Europe.

• normal_user on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:43 am

type-error corrected:
    That’s why not many European D-segment cars can find its way to the US.

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:54 am

Now the question is how low they will bring down the quality?

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 9:34 am

they seems to merge the chevvy camaro and the mercedes CLS together ..

• “…unnamed Volkswagen executive, the NMS project was created because the company felt American and Asian customers don’t really appreciate the refinement of its current offerings such as the Passat…”
    They (VW) may claim all the refinements as their strong point. If the market view those refinements were inferior compare to their competitors, that might explain their lousy sales number in asian n us market.

• shun2u on Feb 13, 2009 at 10:46 am

not really nice.. :(

• demontool on Feb 13, 2009 at 11:01 am

looks great… look very american.. yet like european sporty feel to it..

• If i’m not wrong, new Ford Focus will be featured at all Ford Showroom tomorrow.

• nmh (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 1:40 pm

good move, cut the cost down, we are getting use to hard plastic interior nowadays. Even new honda accord dashboard has no soft part, totally hard plastics that looks good and looks expensive.

…to add more spice and stand out from H & T crowd, make it pure RWD

and it also smell like future perdana….am i right proton…..proton!? do u hear me

• Simple but it works nonetheless.

• Jimmy on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:14 pm

New Perdana shaped like this? I want lah. New Waja Lancer should be good also. Shameful current Perdana, no airbags for 100k price tag.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:41 pm

normal user..

i agree with u..most of d asian turn their head to T and H bcoz it is cheaper…not bcoz most of the asian dont care abt refinement…theyre wrong tho…

• gods twin (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 7:22 pm

No matter how much the manufacturer’s cut on the cost, but once it reaches our shores,…. you all know what will happen…. thanks G…

• samm5151 on Feb 13, 2009 at 7:59 pm

It seems there is an increasing popularity of joining the front grille with the head lights and form as a whole piece rather than seperate apart now, e.g. New Honda City, etc

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:33 pm

They are sooo wrong. Its not Asians cannot appreciate the Passat, is that a car with a VW logo in that price range vs a Beemer and Merc will always loose to the two. Try selling the Passat at Accord and Camry prices. Surely laku. Even Naza is trying to sell its 407 near that mark. Mazda is already there.

• If I wanted a vastly inferior car at a slightly lower price, there are plenty of choices out there already. Way to go, VWoA, make your lineup even more irrelevant by alienating your hardcore customers like me.

• Believe me, i am working on this proyect and the actual car doesnt look anything like the sketch.

• Mike R on Apr 04, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Interesting– Last generation Passat and Jetta (98-05) seemed more successful here through around 2003, and prices were even more out of line vs. Japan. The quality fallout coupled with abysmal VW dealers–not that Americans don't enjoy a refined product–is the problem. Very arrogant statement from a company that scored next to last on the mid-term JD Power quality rankings. My 2008 Passat 3.6 has MANY wonderful features, but has high levels of roadrumble, a loose-lumber/rattling sound coming from the rear shelf behind the back seat and too much wind noise on the passenger side windows. Refined?? Ride in the quiet of a loaded V6 Camry-maybe not as athletic, but much more refined to the ears.

• Jarrod Baniqued on Jun 28, 2009 at 6:10 pm

What this baby needs are flexible-fuel versions of the NMS, a lot of space in the trunk and hood, DVD players on the backs of the front seats, Bluetooth, navigational GPS, iPod and iPhone docking, HD radio, new and improved locking system, greater visors, more comfortable seats and airbags, a 7-speed manual transmission to 5-speed automatic transmission motor, 17'' to 19'' alloy wheels, four trims, a moonroof that acts as a solar panel, an even cheapera 3-door coupe version, an aerodynamic, shining, and indistinguishable redesign on both exterior and interior, and a new name: Falsetto would be perfect. It needs a lot of artiste and pizazz with lots of paint schemes. It needs lots of horsepower, lots of fuel economy, more capacity within the engine, lots of chrome metal on it, a limosuine version, and LED headlights. Now that's what Volkswagen should have. Better than its "predecessors" Passat and Jetta in China and America.