Proton Satria Neo CPS: parking lot test review

Satria Neo CPS

Along with the official launch of the Satria Neo CPS, members of the media were given the chance to test out the new Neo CPS at an empty parking lot. Although excited about testing the new spiritual successor to the Proton Satria GTI, I wasn’t too keen about driving the up-rated Neo within the confines of a rather small area. Proton had setup a pointless-looking mini race track within the compounds of the APAC parking lot and I managed to get a taste of both manual and automatic variants.

First up was the automatic version. Featuring similar cabin room as the standard Neo, the CPS variant also suffers from lack of head clearance. In my honest opinion, it was quite fun to drive the Neo CPS through tight spots, as the handling was rather sharp. At average speeds of up to 60 km/h, I only felt some easily correctable understeer at the limits of car. While negotiating those tight turns, I felt very minimal body roll, while the nicely-weighted steering wheel offered good feedback.

Satria Neo CPS

The sprint performance with the auto tranny was just about average. As expected, the performance of the automatic transmission during my initial test was made me to look forward to the manual Neo CPS. The manual is the only way to really enjoy this car!

The first thing I did when got myself into the manual Neo was to have a feel of the gear lever hoping for it to be nicely weighted, as opposed to being “soggy” or “lose”, and I am happy to say that my hopes were realized. A little on the hard side of things, gear change was slick and precise, which is good since this car is positioned as a performance variant. For the manual Neo CPS test, there were longer straights on the temporary track, which allowed me to feel the CPS powerplant’s good performance on high revs.

Satria Neo CPS

Through out the quick test drive, I also noticed that the throttle response was also up to expectation. I would like to mention about its ride quality but unfortunately the test drive was rather short, so looks like we have to wait for a longer drive. But based on the short drive, things are pointing the right direction for the Neo CPS. The handling and performance seems to suit the aggressive looks on the outside. Some might say that the body kit treatment is a little over the top, but personally, I feel its alright.

I just wish that the wheels were extended by half an inch or so, but that may affect the overall handling. I also feel that the rear exhaust box should have been hidden neatly. The way it is now makes the rear diffuser look bad. So far, my thumbs are pointing upwards for the Satria New CPS. Stick around as we will bring you the test review as soon as we get a test drive unit.

Story by Harvinder Singh, because Paul Tan cannot fit properly in the car while wearing a safety helmet, thanks to the headroom.

VIDEO: White Satria Neo CPS

VIDEO: Black Satria Neo CPS

Proton Satria Neo CPS – Launch Photos

[zenphotopress number=99 album=108]

Proton Satria Neo CPS – Exterior Photos

[zenphotopress number=99 album=106]

Proton Satria Neo CPS – Interior Photos

[zenphotopress number=99 album=107]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• middels8088 on Feb 14, 2009 at 10:48 am

Good responds…
    Looks very intresting.

• jeanloo on Feb 14, 2009 at 10:51 am

NICE CAR!

• noname on Feb 14, 2009 at 10:51 am

1st…

• mspfaz on Feb 14, 2009 at 11:04 am

It is good that the improvement is up to expectation. However I think Proton should also do something to complains from public and media regarding the lack of headroom of this car…

• HMMaster on Feb 14, 2009 at 11:05 am

aiks… when first read the title of the post, i thought it is talking about how good the neo can do the parking! lol. xD

• ago87 on Feb 14, 2009 at 11:12 am

Finally they are using the ugly rims…

• nabill on Feb 14, 2009 at 11:20 am

main ting is the steering is very drect,no slack or dead off center…although abit sensitive bt it makes the car handles beter….btw im refering abt neo generally regardless of cps or not

• Kevin Lee on Feb 14, 2009 at 11:25 am

hmmmm, i wonder if i can trade in my old neo or keep it, lol

• fadzly on Feb 14, 2009 at 12:07 pm

paul. wat's ur hight? 187 like me? if i am 187, would neo suitable for me?

• Paul Tan on Feb 14, 2009 at 12:14 pm

I am 182. It really depends on the ratio between your body and legs… if you have long legs but a short body I suppose you could get by since you won't be as tall when you sit down. But the thing is when the chair pushed so far back because of your long legs, the steering would likely be way too far away from you for proper control! My advice is go to a showroom and sit in the car, test it out yourself.

• bmpower on Feb 14, 2009 at 1:20 pm

wah!.. so tall both of you. why dont they lower down the seat little bit?
      perhaps, bucket seat is the only option for the tall guy.

Erm.. I wonder, can you both fit in lotus elise? :D

• Whiteeye on Feb 14, 2009 at 12:19 pm

i prefer it look like Proton Putra than Proton Satria Neo, as i rmb Proton Putra until now still on the road when will it make a new version of it?

• fook1203 on Feb 14, 2009 at 1:04 pm

i juz wondering why proton dun wan to produce d good looking model like dis satria neo to sedan car. sure can achieve the best selling car ba. i think most people prefer sporty but more spaces's car. Everyone, correct or not?

• fadzly on Feb 14, 2009 at 1:38 pm

i see.. thanks paul. I already have a persona. and it really dissapoint me because of the height. its different with my old wira, where the seat is thinner. Car manufacture from honda and toyota also dissapointed me from their honda city and also toyota dugong. only one car that suite me – Myvi.. but myvi is not my type..

I just wondering, how will all the tall mat salleh drive proton.. hope proton get the messege… they might think this is a discrimination for the tall ppl.. =)

• googoodean on Feb 14, 2009 at 1:43 pm

i tink gen 2 cps better huge and power also

• Julian on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:00 pm

It's very disapointing that the headroom is very bad. I'm about 6 feet tall as well and sat in the Neo CPS just today. I couldnt find a proper sitting position at all. Moreover, rear leg room was almost none existant. I was really considering the Neo CPS but with the lack of headroom, i think its out of the question now. =(

• ahmad on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:01 pm

whoooaaaaaa…….!! stunning looks and handles good.
    the price is right + performance + safety compare to myvi SE which is….scrap.
    plus, it is 1.6 cps…..hmmm.

• TheDan on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:06 pm

Guys
    will d m-line get d same bumpers like d satria neo cps?
    there is a new color scheme 4 m-line,'genetic silver'.Is it d same as of iridicent white or same like saga silver?

thx in advance

• Jeevan Jackson on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:08 pm

This is an ignorant question but Im shooting it anyways, i have a standard gen 2 old gen campro, how or what do i with it to uprate some much needed power?..

• raybrig85 on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm

paul..y i cant login to my acc…its so weird

• DinKnight on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:38 pm

When the Neo first came out, I was also considering replacing my old Iswara with it, but thanks to the lousy headroom, I cannot be seated comfortably without my head touching the roof. Thus, striked it out from my list.

Seems no change here in the latest facelift.

• Chris Chong on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:44 pm

I'm 187cm too, but with long body and rather short limbs for my height. I can't fit in the regular Neo and was hoping that there is at least *some* improvement in headroom on the CPS. Oh, well…

Do you think that swapping the seats for your own Recaros would do the trick? The standard seats look quite low to the floor as it is.

• stoddart9 on Feb 14, 2009 at 3:42 pm

Nice CAR… With small small budget!!! If you want more better car, I bet U need a Volkwagen polo gti that would cost you almost 200K. So kudos for proton..

• chaku on Feb 14, 2009 at 3:45 pm

i think putra will remain a legend.Proton wont gonna revive it…-putra lover-

• But there is one thing that I dont like about this car. The head lamp.I think it so small compare with its wide body size. ( this is just my opinion). Make it more "garang"!! huhu.

• chaku on Feb 14, 2009 at 3:47 pm

btw, are the fender thingys pasted?

• will theophilus come out with a "putra" chop soon?

• heavencloud on Feb 14, 2009 at 3:59 pm

lol… paul got pwned by neo due to height

• i like the looks. not so much the price. lol.

• ReactiX on Feb 14, 2009 at 4:28 pm

"Story by Harvinder Singh, because Paul Tan cannot fit properly in the car while wearing a safety helmet, thanks to the headroom."

LOL XD

next time u do the test, no need to put safety helmet on lah! XD

• heavencloud on Feb 14, 2009 at 6:54 pm

I think it is compulsory to wear the helmet when you do test at any track. So whether paul like it or not, he had to.

Nevertheless, i myself is around 170 and barely fit in my friend's neo. paul being 182, open the window and put the head out while driving xD

• gattaca on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:55 am

i think paul should wear the Mat Rempits helmet..a lot thinner..hohoho

• heavencloud on Feb 14, 2009 at 6:54 pm

I think it is compulsory to wear the helmet when you do test at any track. So whether paul like it or not, he had to.

Nevertheless, i myself is around 170 and barely fit in my friend's neo. paul being 182, open the window and put the head out while driving xD

• how dat Mat Salleh wil fit into this car for rally??

• Cicak on Feb 14, 2009 at 4:37 pm

i wonder now, if i had to get the Myvi SE or this Satria Neo CPS… any suggestion???

• Adunadun on Feb 14, 2009 at 4:44 pm

no drift video aa?

• rugaxp on Feb 14, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Personally,What do you think about the Colour Paul?__Which would you get? I've seen the white Neo Cps this morning and I think is abit fake,plasticky feel and look abit like toys for the oversize fender and front bumper.____I've not seen the Black Neo's yet, Hopefully I'll get to test drive it,Anyone can provide me the location in Klang that have the test drive unit? or only the Centre Of Excelent have it?

• tunomura on Feb 14, 2009 at 5:14 pm

disappointing wit Neo CPS ICE bcoz no USB plug, and I have to burn CD to hear my favorite songs…i dont want to change the headunit with others bcoz it will spoil the look. Proton please comeout Neo's Blaupunkt with USB plug..until then, I will buy this car..Overall i luv this car..

Gen2 CPS vs Neo CPS

Gen2 CPS
    ->handling..not so different with latest Neo (thankz to Lotus technology)
    ->headroom and space..better than neo but still poor at the back seat
    ->styling…i dun like front bumper, its ugly and did not fit with the rear look, but still better than other manufacturer
    ->price..Proton GEN2 1.6 CPS High Line Manual – RM57,488 (cheaper!!)

Neo CPS
    ->3 doors only ma..but no offence, i can consider it as a sport car, and its common sport car have 2 doors
    ->handling..superb
    ->styling…lil bit overdo and its ok for me
    ->price..Proton Satria Neo CPS M/T (black) – RM 57,763.00

I eager to buy this two car.So, which one to buy??dont ask me to buy both..anyone please help me…huhu

• gattaca on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:54 am

its all back to your needs anyway, speed and adrenalin -> Neo / casual and room/spaciousness –> gen2

• berdaulat on Feb 14, 2009 at 5:19 pm

I'm 1.88m. I won't fit in this car for sure. But surprisingly, I head touches the roof of even the supposedly roomier H.City I if sit at the back.

btw, there is one guy in my office who is even taller than me.

To all car designers.. think of us tall people okay!

• it will comes with 5 door version

• Johan on Feb 14, 2009 at 6:12 pm

I test drive the M-Line Satria Neo before, I'm only 165cm but with a long waist. Even I can't get a decent driving position without my head touching the roof. During the test drive I actually hit my head against the roof when I drove over a bump. I was really looking forward for thme to revise the seat height or stearing reach with the CPS version. I guess the NEO remains most desire but can't buy.

• MyviKiller on Feb 14, 2009 at 6:19 pm

Tempting… Tempting… Ask Russ Swift to do the parking lot stunts…

• Thomas on Feb 15, 2009 at 12:41 am

The best Malaysian car ever!

• vivio on Feb 15, 2009 at 2:48 am

get bucket seat n prob will solves

• gattaca on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:59 am

go get neo if u want a true driving experience. Myvi just an overprice/overhype car to get from point A-B

• gattaca on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:05 am

is it possible to go to Proton Centre and upgrade my campro IAFM to CPS? how much it will cost? sorry if this question had been raised b4..

• Paul Tan on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:26 am

Likely not possible.

• gattaca on Feb 15, 2009 at 1:19 pm

aiayah..pity la my persona like this…huhuhu.. what to do..anyway thanks Paul.

• gattaca on Feb 15, 2009 at 5:19 am

aiayah..pity la my persona like this…huhuhu.. what to do..anyway thanks Paul.

• book one on saturday, insyallah everythig works fine ,loans and everythng, isyallah ill get my dream car,
    reads on CBT, its a revised gearbox, probally final gear do 100 at 2500rpm for manual.

also so many book on mpv proton too.

• Victor Hoh on Feb 15, 2009 at 5:02 am

Hey Paul, when you mentiont "throttle response up to expectation", does it mean the new Campro CPS has fixed the problem of the throttle lagging in Campro/Campro IAFM engine? I have a Satria Neo 1.6 manual, and new Saga Auto at home, and I notice throttle lag on both cars.

• KSPhang on Feb 15, 2009 at 5:12 am

Im don't think Neo sedan will look as good as this 1. I think they should may be make the next gen of Neo more space and less blind spots. *pray hard for that day to come*

• Paul Tan on Feb 15, 2009 at 6:11 am

I don't know, I didn't drive it. I will get to try it when they have test drive units.

• Javanese on Feb 15, 2009 at 6:39 am

Am i the only one here who think this new styling is a disaster? I rather have the normal neo. And from what I read there's no change whatsoever to the suspension and brakes so the only issue i can see is the engine output which can easily be remedied at the local kedai potong.

• autojohndoe on Feb 15, 2009 at 6:49 am

I read in Hypertune that Campro supercharged can produce power up to 180hp (or ps, i dont recall)…

• AUTOBAHN on Feb 15, 2009 at 7:39 am

what a mess

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:29 am

tunomura,

U can get the MP3 player that u cucuk to the cigarette lighter socket…. well, 12V socket in Proton's case.

• paul. help us more on revised gearbox for manual cps neo,

tech aspect of it, i couldnt find any, this is importat

they said they revise 2 and 3rd gear and final drive as well,

i suspect they trim it for relax high speed, since the engine is stronger,

higher ratio for 2d and 3rd to compasate the newer final drive so it wont lost acceleration.

normal basic campro 1.6 neo 3000 at 110 kmh,(manual)

i speculate cps will give 3000 at nearly 120 kmh.(manual) for 5th gear.

hope we found some fact after this. side effect is ,economical cruise and not to sacrifice the sprint power at start.

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:41 am

Paul, if you got problem with headroom, wait till Jeremy Clarkson gets into one. Performance-wise, is it a worthy heir to the Satria GTi, Paul? I,for one, don't think so.

• eventhough it not the smiley face lower intake,

but look at lotus europa at proton,
    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3294/2724483633_0d…

but of course the current lotus europa in the uk has the smiley lower intake.

it is part of its evolution. and inspiration

• Here is what i did to the exterior.

Minor changes.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 3:57 am

Neo looks really good at this stage……….. think its gonna sell well… looks sporty……….

• good job proton

• i also heard that since its drive by wire, throttle response is tuned and sharpened in here, of course theres no sport button for selection normal/sport.

what they do, is a fixed aggresive throttle,

hope im right….

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Awak,

sometime my Savvy refuse to accelerate even i hit the pedal.(kadang2 take 1-sec to respond the pedal).Savvy also use DBW technology.after i came to Proton Shah Alam (Lawatan Kerja),one of the engineer said this is becoz of changing of my driving behavior…i dont know laa.maybe Sifu can explain.

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 8:59 pm

Fridz, ur savvy AMT or Manual? If AMT, ur throttle response does depends on ur driving style. If ur an aggressive drive, the throttle response gets sharper and ur gear changes at high rpm and the vice versa. This is because the ECU+TCU has an AI system which reads ur driving pattern and changes ur car performance accordingly. The other thing is, always make sure ur engine, transmission and hyrdraulic clutch actuator (AMT) is up to temp when u r driving, so the vehicle can perform smoothly. If not u will feel the engine lagging….

Cheers!

• after going to the showroom.

why is that the normal neo without bodykit look so sexy,

..i got a headache now. arghhh

(wil any normal body neo to be CPS-ed)

please help me)

• anyway the interior is the best,

the exterior makes me confused,,

i would rather want the sleek normal neo or gen2 cps,

but i know the engine for this neo cps superb.

confuseddd!!!

• Mig29_ria on Feb 16, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Satria Neo is comfortable for 2 people only. At the back too cramp. Proton need to think export market. Looking the year 2008 sales in Malaysia quite low.

• CFA28 on Feb 16, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Mig29_ria said,

February 16, 2009 @ 2:39 pm

Satria Neo is comfortable for 2 people only. At the back too cramp. Proton need to think export market. Looking the year 2008 sales in Malaysia quite low.

= = = =

Even my ex-colleague daughter (only 14 years old) also said that the back seat was cramp for her but that was when the Neo was just launched with the Cam(tak)Pro

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 11:46 pm

C'mon guys! What do you expect from a hatchback? If you want more rear room, give the Gen2 a look. Gen2 even have own rear doors, if you guys haven't notice yet. It makes getting in/out much easier too.

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 12:20 am

I wonder why no one complains about legroom and crampiness in cars like Mazda RX-8 and so on….haih….malaysians…u can never satisfy them….Malaysia, the nation where the people complains the most but has the least action…..and also has the worst driver attitude on the road…..

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 12:23 am

Addition to the previous comment….when i meant legroom and crampiness in the Mazda RX-8 and so on, i meant the rear seat yea….

• i really would suggest satria neo cps really need its originality, having inspired by the satria gti is not the way,

satria gti grows in its own and it looks batter than GL or XLi of the M24 satria,

satria neo by nature is simple sleek and bold, it does need good engine like cps with further tuned, yes,thats what im waiting for.

but to over do the skin isnt right, its spoilt the beauty.

i dont like

-its alloy 5 group of spoke but 4 stud, avanti style, flowery

-its wheel arch, makes the wheel looks small and inserted

-view from the back ,the wing

-side mouldings too much. intefering its sleekness

-front bumper, spoil the overll the solid look, too elongated opening

-why there are huge gaps,

i like,

-get inside it,

-smell the leather

-seats are good and steering good feel

-batter carpet i think

-all been shaded and less reflective.

-engine (i m confident its a performer)

its time for me to rethink my decision, but then i ll miss the excitement,

-confused-

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:25 am

Awak, i would suggest you to test drive this 'baby' first be4 deciding….push it hard, feel the engine…feel the power…..attack corners(dont be afraid)…change lanes fast…..i am sure, after doing all this, u will forget the 'dont like' part…..i can assure u this….

Cheers!

• adlanb20 on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:29 am

Move in the right direction yes… but i personally would like to see more power please…. minimally at the levels of the old GTI….

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:44 am

Driven the Neo but not CPS version, but I reckon even the Neo CPS can't match the GTi in sheer power n pure driving joy. Best is, you don't even hv to try hard in the GTi.

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:50 am

Thanks Sifu..

actually ive noticed when i let the engine warming at 3bars temp for 5-10min,my car will getting responsive.im not an aggresive driver.just sometime i need to rush but my car cant 'understand'.

came back from proton showroom.Neo CPS is better than what i aspect.

Good Job

• 7213209 (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:11 am

i wish proton can come out new car somethin like neo…(in terms of design).

i really like the car but since already got 2 kids n 1 maid, no choice but had to purchase an MPV ler..

• bar7monster on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:13 am

since most of tall drivers need more headroom, maybe the neo can be fitted with sunroof, just open it up when u need it :D

btw…congrats to proton..long journey starts from one small step..we know u can do more

• In the near future, its no doubt that p1 can perform better.

After this, p1 can make larger engine capacity to boost up its new designed models. :)

Go on p1, make Malaysian proud u.

• *Go on p1, make M'sian proud of u. (Sory, silly typing)

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Okay guys! Here's what you all hv been waiting for abt the MPV. The cat's out of the bag. Here goes.

Introducing the all-new PROTON EXORA. 1.6CPS DOHC. Max output : 127ps/6500rpm. Max torque : 150Nm/4500rpm. Gross weight : 1380kg.

Source : unitedtas (askd me to post)

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Winner in naming the MPV : Norsholihan bt Abdul Eanich.

Price will be under RM80K. Cost of R & D was RM450mil.

• peh..cantik giler..

• CFA28 on Feb 18, 2009 at 2:29 am

To SIfu

Off Topic. Looking at the Waja (M) CPS. Reviews seems to be ok but am concerned about the part that engine loses power when air-cond compressor kicks in, as mentioned by Paul. Has this been rectified. Any other comments on Waja (M).

Paul, did you manage to test this loss of power in the Neo-CPS

• elfielism on Feb 18, 2009 at 4:31 am

im driving satrianeo auto tranny..

im satisfied with handling and ride..thumbs up proton even my suzuki cant do all dis..

in terms of performance i can say ok la..not so proud with campro 1.6 auto..thats y im interested with campro cps..and wanna test drive soon..if ok i put my booking for dis little baby..

on fuel consumption what i can say juz ok la for performance engine..still acceptable..

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 1:26 am

finally… after many many years… the real satria neo make it debut…

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:04 am

Good to see Neo in WRC.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:37 am

a few people out there who are familiar with doing the engine dyno business and doing the engine modification business claimed that traditionally proton and some japanese car manufacturers 'tend' to be overzealous with their claimed engine bhp and torque figure.

wonder whether this 'trend' might prevail with the CPS too…

and i do love to see Neo S2000+ spec toiling itself in 2010 WRC, more so in the hands of former world champion. then we can see whether its a real contender or just a pretender. just dislike the fact that it will not have any resemblance with the daily neo cps out there beside the familiar body shape. if only they follow the foot step of subaru….

• awak (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:32 pm

alhamdulillah,sifu, i made my mind.

i take this satria neo cps (m)

• protonundertaker (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 9:47 pm

it lets me think bak my those additional wide kit car…wat is the horsepower o?

• GL3n (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:34 pm

GREAT!! this thing will replace old my ford laser tx3

• GL3n (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 11:35 pm

i mean my old ford laser tx3…hehehe typO

• awak (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 10:26 pm

a little research on sporty 3dr hatch in malaysia

ford laser s

ford laser s facelift

ford laser tx3

ford laser tx3 new

ford lynx tx3

proton satria gti

proton satria neo cps

• GL3n (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 4:49 am

awak said,

February 21, 2009 @ 2:26 pm

a little research on sporty 3dr hatch in malaysia

ford laser s

ford laser s facelift

ford laser tx3

ford laser tx3 new

ford lynx tx3

proton satria gti

proton satria neo cps

——————————————

i'm glad my old car is in ur list! haha

but hey, dun forget mazda's 3dr hatchback too…

anyway i'm going to book dis neo cps tomorow

wish me luck!

cheers

• GL3n (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 4:51 am

eh not tmorrow la..monday

• awak (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 10:25 pm

sorry to forgot the mazda, people say alfasud ti also one of the malaysian 3dr hatch,

and the early fords have white, black, and silver,

and the lynx tx3 have red, yellow variant

as for proton satria

r3 black

gti silver

neo cps white and black,

gl3n ,what color you choose? man or at

• GL3n (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:31 pm

[quote comment="213542"]sorry to forgot the mazda, people say alfasud ti also one of the malaysian 3dr hatch,

and the early fords have white, black, and silver,

and the lynx tx3 have red, yellow variant

as for proton satria

r3 black

gti silver

neo cps white and black,

gl3n ,what color you choose? man or at[/quote]

mine's black color with manual tranny..

a turbocharged bp26 1.8l engine from mazda

and oh a fuel guzzler too..

• awak (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 3:10 am

good luck gl3n,

by the way if any neo owner experience a 17 inch wheel, is there any problem with scrubbing at any particular place,?

eg, full load?

full lock corner?

i saw it on r3 neo, its enkei 17 and using 205 40 series, i presume its perfect,

but aftermarket might have different spec, offset so on,

can you guys give me some imput, before i decide on anything,,

• "the cps allow longer gearing. and you can really feel the difference in the manual on the open road"

this a quote by engineer,

SIFU,,

please clearify this for me, it is due to the change of a final drive and 2, 3rd gear recalibration, is this translate pickup sensation on 1 2 3 and relax low rpm at 5th?

• dzoukq on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:02 am

A new model from proton with install CPS engine…the design for interior and exterior look nice n hot but the space inside it took the tallest men in msia consider twice b4 make the correct decision..so i choose cps gen2..

• lavenderguy on Mar 01, 2009 at 8:38 pm

They shouldn;t discontinue the H line model without cps …

• hey thanx awak,

i really hope i get it coz i still hve two other car to cover:

caldina and sorento…

• melvin.foong (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 2:40 pm

it's normal. Paul Tan can only fit into 3 series.

• I still dont like the backside, sedan should be better ever, but it will price over 65k, same like waja. Hope so like Savy sedan, saga come with 35k.

• thanks sifu, i remember what us advise be to do, get a test drive. yes i did,

not that far but i could get the overall feel of interm of road condition and couple of corner ,tight one, in 6km, able to feel all the gear, and passing the 100 mark of the km/h. not that i cant go any faster just that i refrain myself to do so,

i used to the 4g93, and i would say its unmatch the 4g93s torque, even though 4g93 need to rev for its torque, the displacement do related the torque offered, for 1.6 in that department 4g93 have more grunt,

the good point 1.6cps is a happy engine, in the situation of passing the car, downshift is welcomed, i use 3rd and its very willing

its an easy car, shifter is easy, clutch is light compare to the gti, easy on the small thick steering. comfortable suprisingly, yes comfortable for a hatch like that,

and the most impressive to me is the car when attacked a sharp bent, so neutral even i can hear the tyre skreetch for i enter the bent 5, 4, 3, and force mysely exelerate just when i enter the corner togather with accelerate out, the car feel nuetral, probally due to the recalibrate the front and rear track. really is thumb up.!

so,

its a comfortable sport car,

i lke the car handles,

if 1.8 much batter,

cps makes your downshift with smile,

its an easy car to live with.

• awak (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:44 pm

thanks sifu, i remember what us advise be to do, get a test drive. yes i did,

not that far but i could get the overall feel of interm of road condition and couple of corner ,tight one, in 6km, able to feel all the gear, and passing the 100 mark of the km/h. not that i cant go any faster just that i refrain myself to do so,

i used to the 4g93, and i would say its unmatch the 4g93s torque, even though 4g93 need to rev for its torque, the displacement do related the torque offered, for 1.6 in that department 4g93 have more grunt,

the good point 1.6cps is a happy engine, in the situation of passing the car, downshift is welcomed, i use 3rd and its very willing

its an easy car, shifter is easy, clutch is light compare to the gti, easy on the small thick steering. comfortable suprisingly, yes comfortable for a hatch like that,

and the most impressive to me is the car when attacked a sharp bent, so neutral even i can hear the tyre skreetch for i enter the bent 5, 4, 3, and force myself to accelerate just when i enter the corner togather with accelerate out, the car feel nuetral, probally due to the recalibrate the front and rear track. really is thumb up.!

and i got a feeling its stiff chassis contributed to both comfort and handling factor apart from its suspension has been well setup.

so,

its a comfortable sport car, standard semi bucket is just nice. its qualify as a true bucket i would say.

i lke the car handles, to me its very good

if 1.8 much batter, (looking for more punch)

cps makes your downshift with smile,

its an easy car to live with.

what i want?

little more power/torque.

im looking for lower rpm for cruise-ability. for now it travels about 105 per 3000 for engine and gearbox combination (sifu calculation is right)

i dont know how much improvement gained after the car gained millage (the car still not for 1000km service yet), and one more thing it has catalytic converter.

• alfarabi on Mar 23, 2009 at 1:29 am

whats the waiting list like for this car?

• awak (Member) on Mar 23, 2009 at 4:56 am

alfarabi,

cant say about that but the sale person said, its longer waiting than other model,

they also say, they are slowing down the gen 2 due to full swing exeora

thats what i heard.

• to awak,very nice review :-), in addition to your comments,4g93p or satria gti or r3 or putra, u will feel it has more torque compare to neo cps because of its light body. in term of power it also has more hp and torque not to mention displacement compare to cps. but there is something very special about neo cps when it is in making, the car is actually has two personality, one is before the cps activation point, and after activation point. for gen2 cps, u will only feel the surge of power after 3500 rpm only for 1st and 2nd gear only. on 3rd gear and onwards it is unnoticeable. but for neo cps, u will feel the surge even in the 4th gear (manual),3rd gear (auto). it means that if u drive the care below 4000 rpm, it seems like a normal car (may be can i compare it as the normal toyota vios j manual) but after 4400 rpm until 6500 rpm, it will be a different beast, the exhaust note also change from tame sound to a rapid sound. i think u will love to hear the exhaust sound. if u want to experience the sound, u should sit at the last row because in the front row, u will not hear it clearly. compare to 4g93p, u only feel linear power from lower rpm until red line, compare to neo cps, it become more rapid than after 4400 rpm. if u really want to feel the power, u must rev past 4400 rpm until the redline, u will see how fast the meter swing to the redline. if u r familiar with the feeling driving honda b16 vtec, u will feel the same except that b16 is more powerful, no doubt about it. so thats the different between neo cps and gen2 cps and 4g93p. u will not apreciate neo cps in ur daily driving but for weekend sporting drive, u will love it, and try to challenge the mod car on the road, u will be a suprise. chow………………

• Hmm…just to share some experience

I recently sit on my friends cps g2

CPS kicks in like vtec-mivec cos of valve lift

but for some road accelerating maybe the ratio

need to be revised for more top speed pickup

the car feels tame at 5th gear

• suwwitt on Apr 04, 2009 at 2:02 am

please tell me for mt gear ratio ?

1 ?

2 ?

3 ?

4 ?

5 ?

and Differentiel ( final gear ) ?

thank you so much

• Qkumba on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:55 am

Neo CPS ( cepat pergi sikit ) as for auto, the performance is rather poor, so im going for the manual. Still i think they should improve on the pick up even more or its needed to drive past 1000 km n retune at the 1st service?

n maybe it will look nicer with sunroof n hide the exhaunst box. other than that the car is nice overall n love the front bumper alot alot. MUCHO~

so goodbye to my old wira aroback millenium edition. Neo Cepat Pergi Sikit here i come~

• Kelvin on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:56 pm

I already own & drivin the new neo cps….still haven pass the 1000km first service so cannot rev yet :)

eagerly waiting to tht…

• Qkumba on Apr 07, 2009 at 9:10 am

what colour & mt or at did u buy n any modification did u do?

share some of ur experience n joy with me kelvin, im going to place booking soon >.< n im going for mt white

• Kelvin on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:10 pm

I bought MT White….i notice is hard to take care if white because easily to get dirty and the dirtyness will stick into ur paint….argghh.

I didn't do any mod yet except tinted my window. Goin for Ultra Racing today to install front bar.

Performance wise, quite powerful even thou RPM from 2 – 3.

Hav yet test the CPS, should be able by next week after 1st service.

• CPSLover on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:15 pm

i bought MT White…..very nice.

performance wise quite ok & powerful RPM from 2 – 3.

Have yet try CPS, should be next week after 1st service.

WIll update you again by then :)

• Qkumba on Apr 08, 2009 at 5:52 am

seems like everyone is going for mt white. good choice ya lol is cpslover n kelvin the same person? how come talk the same lol

• CPSLover on Apr 08, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Ya Qkumba, it's the same person and it's me….

MT White looks good, but seriously very hard to take care of..

goin for polish today, yday went to ultra racing to install front bar..

• Qkumba on Apr 09, 2009 at 12:13 am

plan on putting any extra design on the plain white shinny body? or mixing colour? damn i cant wait for mine to come. i wanna pimp my ride~

• suwwitt on Apr 09, 2009 at 12:38 am

i am in thailand . now at the thailand proton center nobody know spec of neo cps. i want to know that gear ratio of neo cps defferrent old neo ? at thailand neo cps arrived in august . so pleases tell me and thank you so much.

• CPSLover on Apr 09, 2009 at 1:58 am

Qkumba, hav u booked the car yet?

• Qkumba on Apr 09, 2009 at 8:08 am

havent im looking for buyer for my old wira 1st. then ill book. :)

• CPSLover on Apr 09, 2009 at 4:41 pm

Which year is your wira born? You looking for a 2nd car dealer or direct to new buyer?

I sold off my wira too to buy neo CPS to a 2nd car dealer…price quite acceptable since it's 13 yrs old. But obviously if you can sell it to direct buyer it will be more higher but longer time to wait..

• Qkumba on Apr 10, 2009 at 1:15 am

looking for direct buyer la…. i work in car line la bro. my wira is 1.6 auto 2000 M edition. but the sound system ill transfer to new car ^^ maybe do custom fibre later

• samad on Apr 14, 2009 at 9:47 am

im not lucky to get this neo cps.

actually want to buy 2nd neo,

but finally satria gti was my choice..

i bet cps sound like vtec..neo cps is veri ganas looking

• JunLin on Apr 14, 2009 at 10:33 pm

hey..can anyone enlighten me on this

Erm like i've booked the neo cps like a month ++ already. And like everytime my dad calls in to the Proton Branch in Jalan Ampang. They still can't give him an answer as to why it's taking so long. I went to the branch and not dealer. Should it be better or it makes no difference?

Thanks guys.

• aerza on Apr 17, 2009 at 5:36 am

SIFU,

Comparing to neo cps AMT or M, which one is more powerful? Seems there is not much information about the auto transmission. can someone help me in this?Thanks!

• anti_corruption on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:01 pm

proton has a new strategy – go for the look

its taken from the famous malay word "biar papa asal bergaya"

a 15yrs old b16a can easily tapau this kroni based two drs

• Testcube99 on Apr 21, 2009 at 2:01 am

I'm thinkin of buying either Savvy AMT or Neo CPS (A) as my first car.. Anyone of you can give me some opinion or any info bout these two?

• i already brought this car last months…

but i wonder why my cps couldn't go beyond 170km/h..

pushing this car beyond 160km/h is rather tiring..

but my cousin;s gen 2 cps can go 185km/h easily…

dun know why..

any idea??

• Hye all,

I booked the car last month and still did'nt received it.Anybody had the same issue please let me know so i can ask what actually happen.Crappy Proton Jalan Ampang!!

• I've heard they call back sold unit for some rectification…isit true?

• Jr said,

May 3, 2009 @ 11:34 pm

i already brought this car last months…

but i wonder why my cps couldn’t go beyond 170km/h..

pushing this car beyond 160km/h is rather tiring..

but my cousin;s gen 2 cps can go 185km/h easily…

dun know why..

any idea??

————————————————

Jr, whats the neo engine speed(rpm) at 100kmh,

i made calculation thar neo cps runs 2900rpm at 100kmh.

is it true on the ground, ?

iv tested the neo cps last time all are hard drive cant even reach 5th gear,

100kmh i at 4th. playing with upper mid range.

if u dont mind,,,

• Ah Boon on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:04 pm

if u are from kl are there places in kl to go that fast? sorry im new to MY

• CPSLover on Jun 26, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Awak,

Same case with me whereby goin 170km/h is real hard thing to do…

• actually im in view to buy this cps,

for the price and exchange programe its a good deal,

CPSLover, whats the speed at 3000rpm in 5th gear, just checking it cruise speed relative to engine speed.

if it has a considerably good overdrive i might go for it. because my use mainly a highway daily commute.

• satria neo on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:12 pm

How's the performance of the cps? I satria neo auto can reach up to 180km/h and it's hard to believe that the cps version has problem getting above 170km/h. I wonder which is more worthwhile, this or the normal neo. Also, is it true that the cps version is less tunable (ie. you can't install highcams, ECU?)

• satria neo, i did test drive one just a few days after the launch,

performance wise ok. less lag low end as you expected in normal campro.

high rev down change is useful. chassis, its proton ,its taut ,solid but comfortable and rock steady at fast.

control is easy since the clutch is light, for town driving, opposeed to satria gti having a little bit heavier clutch.

to see how the speed and rpm in relation i put 5th at 2000rpm and it reads 70kmh. so its means 3000rpm is 105km/h. -ok,

i like the most is handling, its superb.

piloting the car, its the best posture/position for me. footwell in the neo is wide and very free to put your left feet to the near center.

thank to PE letting me test the car in a way that how it should be tested.

• CPS (Can Push Smooth on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:42 am

~ CPS ~ [C]an [P]ush [S]mooth….

Really x 100…… NICE ride…….

Support on it…..

Nice car for the local manufactured product….

Would like to have one…….. ^^

• CPS (Can Push Smooth on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:48 am

Dun care about the other comments…

Just go n test it then u will know the peformance …..

Try your-self more good than what you hear…….

NEO CPS…

• holofanboi on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:56 pm

‘Gearchange slick and precise’ my foot -_-;

Went for a test drive for the barebones RM50k neo cps in hopes of using it as a car to trash in the weekends only for the ultra rubbery stickshift destroying the experience.

The boomy CPS engine at high revs was pretty exciting x3!(Thank god for this outdated article no one will bash me for praising a Proton)!

I really like the steering feel and pedal though. That tight, heavy-esque resistance when turning and accelerating was more fun than the Elantra’s. (The Elantra is quite tight already!)

But alas, the stickshift (2014) model is too damn rubbery to enjoy. It felt VERY cheap, reminding me of a Viva’s manual trans infact.