Facelifted Peugeot 407 now available in Malaysia!

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Shortly after its introduction in locally assembled form here in Malaysia, Nasim Peugeot Sdn Bhd has announced the availability of the new facelifted Peugeot 407, also in locally assembled form. No updates in the engine department and the equipment level (7 airbags, and various different levels of trim for the standard Classic and hi-spec Premium version, etc) as compared to the pre-facelift locally assembled 407, but there are a few aesthetics changes on the exterior and interior.

First up is a new chrome grille at the front featuring both vertical and horizontal stripes. At the rear, look hard and you’ll spot a small spoiler integrated into the rear bootlid. The rear bumper has also had some changes to the design. On the interior, the center console area now gets a classy piano black finish. The multi-info display has been relocated into the updated Multimedia and Navigation Screen system. At the front, the 407 also gains front parking sensors. A recap on what’s in the engine bay – its 2.0 litre inline-4 engine puts out 140hp at 6,000rpm and 200Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, which is improved over the old fully imported Cycle & Carriage car as it has variable valve timing.

As with the previous edition, the new 407 facelift also comes in 2 variants – Classic and Premium which retail for RM128,888 and RM136,888 respectively. Both versions are rather hi-spec, with the difference with between the two versions being the leather interior and the Multimedia and Navigation Screen system. Despite the latter being omitted in the Classic, it still comes with the premium 10-speaker JBL sound system. All prices are inclusive of insurance and a 3-year or 100,000 km warranty.

Look for more photos after the jump.

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

Peugeot 407
Click for enlarged image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:05 am

haha, nice, too bad its not the same tail lights, but i guess i can buy the old 407 and make it taxi-ish

• waytogo on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:23 am

im still prefer the previous 407..more stylish in terms of the rear light …heee..but overall ..its a damn nice ride to drive around the city!!!

• alvin_chan88 on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:24 am

Luckily I did not book it when it was launch by Nasim, I am abit dissapointed that a car with such a long hood without front parking sensor. Now with it, I shall say… 407, here i come!

• nabill on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:35 am

gee , parking sensors u buy outside oso rm150…since when thy are the deciding factor in purchasing a car???!!

anyway looks nice…sting different from accord and camry…although most say the engine is disapointing…from the reviews

• Shannon on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:39 am

Nice cars by peugeot, and thanks to Naza they have made it affordable, but the depreciation of the care is gonna kill all of us.

• c14man on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:04 am

it is definitely a very tempting car, given the price, the specs, and the continental origin.

but many reviews has said not so encouraging commends about the engine, underperforming sorts of things.

plus, the design is almost 10 years old, though new Peugeot cars are still using the big smiley air intake.

malaysians have long perceived conti cars as having high maintenance.

otherwise, this car is seriously gonna give camry and accord some challenge.

• isn't this 407 have 7 airbags ???

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:25 am

They better arrest Depreciation. Lock this fella in jail for attempted murder!

• helmi on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:39 am

Front square grill looks like a cage. Btw typical perception of the French marque expensive maintennce cost compare to japs makes most Malaysian think twice before buying it. Naza, please looks into this despite an attractive price of the car.

• The anorak (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 9:41 am

Nabill, the engine isn't disappointing, its just not as quick as the Japanese cars. Having tested pre-facelift 407, the only niggle I found is the slow gearbox. The ride is sublime, none of the other Japanese cars in this class has the same ride comfort. I actually wrote a review on it, but didn't bother to post it, since I don't have any photos, haha. And at this price, it is cheap, although the built quality might be an issue (not Japanese ma-really do not know bout the French cars la)

After four years of its official launch in Malaysia as a fully imported 407, it finally goes local. This, which is rather good news for us, has also brought the previous hefty price tag of RM160,000 down to RM133,888 for the premium model and RM125,888 for the entry level.

So does it rival the Honda Accord and the Toyota Camry? Well, it’s the cheapest. The two rivals are priced at least two thousand ringgit more than the 407 and none of them provide goodies offered by the 407 Premium which like a 7” bird’s-eye-view sat-nav, seven airbags, xenon headlamps with automatic level adjustment, cruise-control, rain sensor for the wiper and a cooler box, incorporated into the glove compartment.

With all the examples atypical in the Japanese variants at this price range, it seems like the French have plenty to put not only to their famous cuisine but their cars too. It’s definitely worth the money. However, are these luxuries good enough to draw the cheque book for this 407, bearing in mind, the name Peugeot is not well-established here in Malaysia? How about globally?

In fact, Peugeot has similar automotive history, in terms of age, to Mercedes-Benz. It started making cars in 1889, although they were steam cars. Thus, there is no lack of history as far as the brand is concerned. But, truth be told, their cars weren’t exactly the best built in the world, and once, one of their cars was rendered as a pail of horse manure by Top Gear – as Peugeot failed to send the car due to an “accident”.

Contrary to Topgear’s saying, it comes off as a decent car. Although, the four speed adaptive automatic transmission – and I am not kidding – with Porsche tiptronic system is disappointing. It is much slower than expected. The new 2.0l engine gains VVT technology over the imported version. This has slightly increased the level of power and torque to 140bhp@6000rpm and 200Nm@4000rpm respectively.

Attaining swift progress isn’t an issue for the 407, despite its one and a half tonne kerb weight, which is nearly the weight of the current Mercedes E-class. If we judge the car’s toughness by its weight, then this is nearly as tough as an E-class, which is another thumbs up for Peugeot. Some may call it slow in a spirited drive as 100kph arrives later than its stated in its official statistics.

Winding roads should be treated gently, as there’s noticeable body roll, though not excessive. The numb steering, which fairly isolates the driver from the road, is another contributing factor to not push it in bends. It doesn’t need to excel here. After all, this is a family car. People buy it for its practicality, not for its sporting credentials.

If the 240watt JBL hi-fi with ten speakers and the 6CD-changer located in the boot, do not satisfy you, the voice-guided sat-nav should. The seats are wrapped in leather for the premium variant, as is the cabin. However, the addition of silver colour trim on its dashboard failed to impress me, even with a sat-nav, the centre console looks messy with too many switches and knobs scattered unevenly.

And I don’t get a Playstation-like steering wheel, just a plain one with the Peugeot logo. A Waja’s steering comes with some buttons to play with and the Waja is half the price of the 407. Inadequate is the best word to describe the steering wheel, and I guess there are many who share the same view as me.

Nonetheless, you will forget and forgive all its niggles once you understand what this car was meant to be. It is an ultra comfortable car, second to only a big Jag.

High speed cruising is stable and relax. One of my friends was shocked, though not scared, when he saw the needle hitting the last quarter of the speedo after waking up from his nap. The first line he said was “Wah, very comfortable ar!” Riding poised over myriad surfaces with the 17” alloys is another advantage the Peugeot has over the Japanese rivals.

This car places more emphasis on comfort then car dynamics. The high-tech assembled multi-link suspension adjusts to suit ordinary drivers rather than racers. The highly rigid chassis is also tuned for comfort rather than performance.

Other comfort features like dual-zone air-conditioning and metallic oxide layer on the side windows are present, but none of superfluous additions are directly obvious.

What is obvious is its big smiling front end, which is akin to Doraemon’s mouth. The seemingly elongated headlamps and bonnet do contradict with its short ‘coupe’ sloping C-pillar, as it is not in proportion with the front and back. The reddish rear lights do not go well with some body colours, but you can’t go wrong if you opt for grey. It looks the part, unlike the shark-like rear end of the Honda Accord and the ubiquitous Toyota Camry.

Anyway, with the high trunk, boot space is startlingly spacious. A golf set and a few luggages can fit in properly. The cabin space is not sacrificed by the generous boot. All five occupants, especially the rear three will have enough shoulder and legroom.

Besides that, it is rated with five stars in the Euro NCAP crash assessment. Anti-lock braking system, electronic brake force distribution, anti-skid regulation and electronic stability control come as standard.

French cars are now as delicious as their cuisine, and bouillabaisse offers greater value than sashimi, just so with this 407…

Jiali Chai

• Paul Tan on Feb 17, 2009 at 10:00 am

@The anorak: just post it here, we all want to read!

• The anorak (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 10:21 am

It is near to 1000 words, I think it will be better for me to email u the article.

What's your email add?

• agree wit paul!

• nabill on Feb 17, 2009 at 11:08 am

french cars have generally very good ride….smooth and thud-free…about maintainance costs…like chicken/egg theory….if there is alot of demand for the cars thn naturally suppliers will bring in the parts in more bulk reducing the price and even be locally made helping the price to go down , but if theres no demand , slow response , thn who bothers to bring in the parts in quantities , thus costs become high , so wd u wait for the car to be popular till spareparts price become lower or u go n buy one and "help" the demand for the car ????

btw thrs no way maintaining an equivalent accord/camry is cheap , no way…u definatly need some cash on hand…the good ting though is that thy do last long…but when its time to change ur absorbers,brakes,belts and so on , thn it becomes expensive to maintain….,,

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:33 pm

Anorak – great write-up. BTW Peugeot prefers to put cruise control, audio, etc. controls on a stalk and not the steering wheel itself.

Has anyone checked out the prices of absorbers, brakes, etc. on Accord/Camry? You've gotta compare distributor prices apple to apple not as some (who should know better) have been comparing – Jln Ipoh stockists, fake parts and potong kereta parts prices. Service intervals on Peugeots are generally longer and the service reminder on the MFD tells you when to send it in for service.

• normal_user on Feb 17, 2009 at 4:48 pm

I agree with nabill

Its chicken and egg situation. With better reliability (hopefully??), locally manufactured parts (maybe some) and longer service intervals, Nasim Pug cars should at least match the japanese in terms of maintenance costs. If demand is there, then I'm sure the parts will be cheaper. But then, if Malaysians still got the "T & H brand are the best" mentality and conti-fobia, then Nasim still got a long long way to go… *sigh*

• WilliamSmith on Feb 17, 2009 at 4:50 pm

NAZA has done it again!!! Shortly after they launched the localised 407, within a year they launched a facelifted version. What'll those ppl who bought the initial localised 407 feels? This is a very poor planning and certainly disregard the loyalty of the consumers as such. Once the products offering and its roadmaps arent clear to the consumers, it'll deteriorate the second hand value as well. Frankly speaking, they should have planned it in such a way to launch the facelift version locally at the very first place…so anyone buying NAZA's offering…buy at your own risk of become obselete within a year!

• Jaybond on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:00 pm

Styling-wise eversince the 407 was launched few years ago, I've been thinking it's better for the front grille to be chromed/lighter coloured.

Now, it does look like a Ferrari!

• in fact, car start to depreciate / obsolete d moment we drive on d road !!!

1 year of "GAYA" should b sufficient & to be compromise.

• dynamite on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:06 pm

No update to the slushbox?

• WilliamSmith on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:22 pm

I think it's bout being "keeping the consumers informed". It's bout certain "fairness". Some consumers if they know that the facelift model is due within a year's time or within certain period, they wont have made the purchase in the 1st place but rather wait for it. This behaviour of NAZA would have put off some potential buyers to rather get other made of vehicles in a better confidence knowing their $ is well spent and also offended many owners of NAZA cars as the ownership pride isnt well protected.

• BlackJKX on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Cruiser

• theanswer on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:51 pm

it's the cheapest conti car we can get in malaysia. the white colour kinda nice..put is some nice bodykit..bigger rims…sure can be new 'taxi'.

• mayor81 on Feb 17, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Ah come on guys, it's the digital age nowadays. People know about a facelift in the pipeline way before the salesman do. It's all about knowledge. You don't get put off to buy a Honda from the dealership now when you know that the facelift is coming out in April do you? Stop saying this and that about other dealers. H&T dealers are no saints or any better…. For people who buy cars and still think of it as an investment by looking at depreciation value, stop commenting on other makes other than the 'regular','boring' and 'plain' Honda and Toyotas. You can never appreciate 'handling' / 'driving' for that matter if 'second hand value' is part of your purchasing criteria. I don't condemn H&T for it's blandness simply because I know who are their target market – retirees and soccer mums. :P

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 6:36 pm

WilliamSmith. The minor model changes are minor and the price has gone UP (by about RM3000)! No Peugeot customers are complaining and you're not a customer, are you? Furthermore Peugeots are distributed, marketed, sold and serviced by Nasim Peugeot. I think it's excellent that they've entered 2009 with a new model, have and don't have excessive old stocks.

This shows that their ordering and stock-keeping is good. When stocks build up, people get desperate and start discounting. Discounting leads to price fluctuations and unstable resale values. Would you rather have that? A new model, added features and price-uplift has been common practice with Honda Civic, City, etc. and no one complains.

Alfred P. Sloane once said, "The business of business is business".

• WilliamSmith on Feb 17, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Maibatsu_thunder, FYI, I have observed NAZA and its fleet of local offering but somehow I find that their products offering and its roadmap isnt stable or clear to the consumer hence I opted to steer clear of it. I aint sure if you're a owner of Peugeot or are you? Or maybe you're the salesman for Nasim Peugeot? For Peugeot francishing, it's still new to NAZA hence it's a wait to be seem case. If you want to know how it's done at NAZA, just take a look at the NAZA Kia. I do hope that the lesson is learnt and applied to this new franchise so the consumers arent suffered as a result. Just for you info, Honda has been quite consistently launching their models over time and so as the facelift. Buyers are more prepared for the changes (if any). So if I walked into the showroom now and get the Civic knowing that the facelift is coming in March but yet I am still buying it, I aint gonna complaint because I made a decision to buy it anyway. But if I walk into the showroom and bought a Civic not knowing (as in no indication of such facelift going to take place in local market anytime soon) but yet the very next few months the facelift is launched, then i am going to be very pissed. Maybe that'll be just me or the very rare few persons out there?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:05 pm

bravo ~ ~

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Perhaps its better to judge Nasim Peugeot on their own performance as it's a different team. Visit Glenmarie Blue Box and have a chat. I'm neither a Nasim salesman or a Peugeot owner FYI. How about you?

• WilliamSmith on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:24 pm

I am just a Malaysian who cares bout our local new car fleets offering just like everyhere here @ paultan.org does. Cheers.

• lowprofile on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:39 pm

it could be a past experience that william is upset about but it is ok. most people make the mistake of lumping nasim and naza together not understanding that they are 2 teams.

actually, the japanese are very organised and customers can roughly guess what's coming out but i don't think they want to officially tell when each model or facelift is coming out. it's the sales ppl who leak out the info as they want to try to get more bookings which lead to more $$. from management's point of view, letting out info early will lead to difficulty in shifting the metal existing in the showroom. when there's difficulty, there will be a need for discounting then this leads to used car dealers and banks pushing down the value of the car. it's vicious but true. i used to work with a leading bank so i know what i'm talking about. i even used to call up dealers asking if thre are discounts and then reporting to my management (then) about the discount and they will mark down the value of the car.

it's always spy shots, rumours etc. before the real advertising appears. maybe nasim is a bit better at keeping secrets ;) but if you check the aw forum (where pug fans are mostly found), not many complain about the intro of the new model. perhaps just one.

• maldin on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:47 pm

c14man said,

February 17, 2009 @ 12:04 am

C14man, i think its only 5 years old la the 407…Anyway, been driving around in one of these for more than a month..I bought my wira on 2003, then it was already a ten year old model. :P.. changing from wira, i can say its a tremendous change.

For the one saying that NAZA did not inform about the new face lift, actually i knew about it when i bought my car. My car was not the face lifted one, but for additional 3K and the increasing interst rate, i am very happy to buy i t then.

For saying 407 can give camry and accord a challenge, that is personal opinion, but for me to pay 140k and not getting auto cruise is a big bank rob. Not to mention no electric seat control.. yeah you may say its electronic and all, will get problem..do some more research and see what technology peugeot use to give all this sort of electronic. You will be surprise to know that peugoet car since 307 only have 4 wires backbone to transport all the signal and they provide a tons more electronics than most japanese cars..

Ever since riding this car, going fast was not the main point. Arriving in comfort and vigor what counts. I used to drive my wira fast on highways, 140-150kmh, but now i understand most of people driving small cars and drive very fast is just because they want to arive early since it will give them back ache.. Err.. but still, driving 150kmh in a 407 feels like driving 100kmh on a wira…

No offense, it just my personal opinion…

• MUZNIE on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:55 pm

NICE CAR.COMPARE STANDARD TOP SPEED OF THIS CAR :

1. PEUGEOT 407 2009 – 210KM

2. PERDANA V6 2007 ABOVE – 210KM

3. TOYOTA CAMRY 2.0 2008 ABOVE – 200KM

4. HONDA ACCORD 2.0 2008 ABOVE – 200K

• WilliamSmith on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Hi guys, fortunately I aint having unpleasant experience YET with NAZA or its related companies so far but I am speaking from my observation. By all means, if you feel there's no issue with poor 2nd hand price and unclear product roadmaps, then go ahead with getting the offering from NAZA. Frankly, they have absolute one of the best BANG FOR YOUR BUCK offering out there but for me, I preferred to have a strong 2nd hand value and clear product roadmaps knowing very well what I am buying and willing to compromise on the BANG FOR MY BUCK category. It's a personal preference as I know very well that I wont be able to keep buying many new cars for my foreseeable life on earth but perhaps those who speak up here have the priviledge otherwise.

• lowprofile on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:16 pm

question is, how does those cars handle at those speeds. that makes the difference.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 10:00 pm

WilliamSmith – just curious, no offence but what's an example of a clear product roadmap?

• WilliamSmith on Feb 17, 2009 at 11:12 pm

Hi Maibatsu_Thunder, my version of product roadmap is based on the following few factors :

1. Correct addressing the Market Segment;

2. Consistency of Product Branding & Marketing;

3. Availability of the current technology offering;

4. Stability of Product Offering & Pricing;

5. Accessable & Approachable Pre/Post Sales Services;

Before launching the model locally, the distributor should look at if they should CBU/CKD the model and stay with it. Offering a model CBU and subsequently CKD is not going to add positive thrill to those up front onwers. This of course has to do with the price change from xxx dollar to yyy dollar and such reduction has certain impact to the 2nd hand price of the model in the market. Unstable product pricing and offering?

Then having a model called xxx when it's CBU and subsequent changed to yyy when CKD with basically the same stuff inside out is creating certain confusion to the buyers as well. And then when the replacement model comes, it's called zzz. Confusing branding and marketing?

What bout offering product competing in the segment of model where the trend is 5 speed auto but yet only 4 speed is equipped? True that it's cheaper than these market trend leaders/best sellers but if a reduction in price comes in a compromise/reduction in the specification, then there's no much science in the equation, isnt it?

The same goes to bringing in a similar segment of model but one is the 8th gen and the other is the 9th gen is not going to add much value but only creating plenty of overhead. Great if they're going for varieties but not at the expenses of the excitement of each product itself. Why cant the convertible has a more powerful engine than the 1.6L NA? (which they have currently addressing this) Has the segment correctly addressed with the right offering?

Any product that been brought into the market must have the right techical know how to support it and a genuinely good one at that. Are these accessable to the owners at a decent price with a genuine intention to serve them?

Btw, I aint bashing on Peugeot. I just hope that their offering can be a little more exciting than what it's now. For this 407 offering, my wish list would be :

1. More powerful engine;

2. More gear ratios;

3. A Sunroof?

Cheers.

• lowprofile on Feb 18, 2009 at 12:11 am

Hi Will,

Nice write up.

According to the french during a press drive last year wiht the 407, the answers given were as follows:

1) the 2.2 litre engine would substantially add to cost making the 407 less cost effective against the competition

2) 6 speed auto only available for diesel engines – sadly they will not allow diesel to be sold here as they are adamant that our diesel will bring bad repute to their cars that need at least euro4

3) sunroof? hmmm sounds interesting but i think that was not asked. a check revealed that the retail price could be quite substantial. nasim folk want to price it as low as possible so the sunroof was not considered.

as for the 207cc, again it was the pricing issue.

hope this clears things a bit.

• Ivan Leong on Jul 25, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Hi lowprofile,

My wish list for peugeot 407 is:-

1) 2.2 litre engine with VVT of course
      2) 6 speed gearbox but 5 speed also will do well and need improvement on shifting
      3) Double cup holder at front.Don’t be so stingy!!
      4) Less cluttered switch and buttons at dashboard-need more nice look switches
      5) Prefer branded audio/cd player than OEM version
      6) I think the rear light need a LED lights for a change
      7) The rear look better with a spoiler!
      8) The fuel consumption can be lower
      9) More better and enchance sound proofing
      10) Rear seat can be slightly lean down backward for better comfort and lean forward 80%
      for extra long item storage
      11) Will add more i have one in future

Good luck peugeot and may i wish come true…cheers.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 12:43 am

WilliamSmith,

Just to play on a clash of ideas, here's a response.

1. Correct addressing the Market Segment;

B-Segment: 207CC (Lifestyle car), 206

D-Segment: 407 vs Accord, Camry

C-Segment: 308 vs Civic, Altis, SX4 (minor-Jazz). 308 was launched quite soon after international launch. Available in 3 variants – VTi, Turbo and GT.

2. Consistency of Product Branding & Marketing;

Since getting the Peugeot franchise, 407 and 308 are lion-branded. Advertising uses Peugeot logos fully in print and on website. I'd say that's pretty consistent.

3. Availability of the current technology offering

Variable Valve Timing, Cruise Control, Auto Headlights, Auto Wipers, Navigation System, Multi-Function-Display (Colour on the GT), power seats, dual zone auto aircon, 7 airbags, JBL audio, Xenon headlights (auto-levelling). 308 has gasoline direct injection, twin-scroll turbo, VTi (Valvetronic), on-demand oil and water pumps, etc. There's more here I'm sure.

4. Stability of Product Offering & Pricing;

Nasim Peugeot has a 'death before discount' policy. Price is low, no discounts. Prices only go UP with each minor model change. I'd say thats quite stable.

5. Accessable & Approachable Pre/Post Sales Services

Nationwide network, regional training centre in PJ, parts warehousing and distribution, etc. (Source: www.peugeot.com.my). Personal experience – I've been to Glenmarie and Bangsar. Quite good. I've give them B+ and A based on showroom walk-in experience.

CBU/CKD? Nasim Peugeot has never introduced CBU and then gone to CKD. This is not applicable to Nasim Peugeot. Same as your third paragraph.

About 5-speed. Only Honda has a 5-speed automatic transmission and paddle-shift. Very good but Nissan, Toyota in the B, C and 2.0-litre D segments do not have 5-speeds.

Right technical know-how? Service training, Sales training, special tools, diagnostics. All these are a must especially for Peugeot and it has been done. ASEAN Automobiles Peugeot HQ, training centre and technical helpdesk are in PJ. Any owner can access their service know-how at any service centre nationwide.

Genuine intention to serve? I don't think Nasim Peugeot has gotten into the car business, and started CKD 407 and 308 (not exactly easy to order, build, etc.!) in order to have a 'false intention to serve' right?

The VVT 2.0-litre is sufficiently powerful. If you want more power you can try the 308 GT. Why do you need more gear ratios? Is the 407's engine too peaky that it needs to do a lot of shifting? Sunroofs are old news. It used to be a hot thing years ago. I've owned two sunroof-equipped cars including my current one. No big deal you might use it once in 3 to 4 months, and not for long at that.

• Kimi R on Feb 18, 2009 at 1:12 am

Hi, any idea when the CKD 207 will be launched?

• yahoo on Feb 18, 2009 at 4:01 am

Most 5 speed outhere are just marketing gimick..Usually the 5th or both 4th and 5th gear are overdrive which only function at highways.The 4 speed is enough.Even toyoda using 4 speed for many modals and nobody seem to complain.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:18 am

Toyota, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, Suzuki, Mazda3, etc. all use 4-speeds. Honda is the only one with 5-speed trans on the City, Civic and Accord. But because of Honda, Peugeot gets bashed senselessly. I'm sure Honda's 5-speed is fantastic but people buy a car for more than just the gearbox, and here the 407 delivers a whole lot more than anyone would expect, at an incredible price.

• JakeGee on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:20 am

I'm collecting mine this weekend. My first silver lion. I'm one of the lucky few whose 'delayed delivery' (due to lack of stock of dark grey) turned out to be a blessing in disguise as I'm getting the facelifted model for the same buck.

Last i've checked, strong resale value only applies for Toyota, the other marques are suffering badly due to tightening credit, crash in 2nd hand car market and increasing spare parts costs.. and japanese yen!

Will keep u guys posted on the drive. Regs

• terry (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 7:07 am

Great reviews and opinions on the 407. Was at the Bangsar showroom today and spotted the facelifted model. At least the premium edition doesn't have the MFD on the dashboard but integrated into the GPS cause it looked hideous in the previous one.

As for facelifted models, I believe there will always be one every 9 months to a year. Some may be drastic (how many iterations City went through since the new one was launch including price increase & decreases) or subliminal. So long as the it is handle properly I don't think any customers would complain (luckily the City I bought at 86.8 went up to 88.8 once before going down to 85.8 all within 12 months or around that time). Even the interest fluctuations are killing from 2.2% up to 3.6% and now to 2.8% within 2 years.

Had test drived the 407 about 2 months back and was considering the car but really the MFD on the dashboard turned me off. JakeGee, you were very lucky as the Bangsar dealer wanted to give me just RM 1 K voucher to sell off the two 2008 models they have in stock. Car felt a bit heavy but it was really comfortable, and I love the sound system. Overall it's a great car to recommend and the maintenance schedule pricing is cheaper than the Accords / Camrys.

I think with a few more Peugeots on the road, Nasim's commitment to excite the market further, and more favorable reviews – 2 to 3 yrs the resale value would be improved.

• WilliamSmith on Feb 18, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Guys, there's 2 type of mentality we can all have. One, we accept the trend, ie. Only Honda has 5 speed auto and even the 4th and 5th are OD whereas the rest like Toyota and so on is 4 speed auto only, so 4 speed is OK. Once the majority of the ppl think like this, we'll continue to get 4 speed auto for the $ we're spending. Two, we demand for a new trend, ie. so what only Honda has 5 speed auto? Why cant Peugeot also has the 5 speed available? Why cant the 2.0L be more powerful than it's? I aint sure if this is the reason why foreign countries like the European got a more exciting offering because there're strong consumers' awareness to set new trend?

I dont bias to any brand, for Toyota that offer only 4 speed trans, I also ask the same question so I dont just comment on Peugeot only and neither I want to defend any brand out there. I can understand when we defend for a particular brand, we're actually have certain "interest" in the brand either :

1. We're in love of the brand and personally would buy one if situation permit;

2. We're already a loyal customer to the brand hence by making the decision, we're actually agreed that this brand is strong than the market norm in some way;

3. We've commercial interest in the brand itself, ie. either a salesman, marketing personnel, PR personnel and so on hence our job is to protect the brand;

I am looking to see a stronger consumers' mentality in Malaysia so the distributors/manafucturers are taking us more seriously and offer products that'll continue to equip with the latest technologies as what other countries are gettng. Dont you agree that this should be the way to go from now on? Or we still should be thinking "hey, everyone else in Malaysia is offering 4 speed, so it's perfectly ok…", why not we look further and see what other countries are getting and think bout "hey, I want the same equipment as what they're getting, pls give it to us at a decent price as well!" It's your money that you're spending, so spend it wisely. Cheers.

• lowprofile on Feb 18, 2009 at 5:52 pm

quote Will Smith

"I am looking to see a stronger consumers’ mentality in Malaysia so the distributors/manafucturers are taking us more seriously and offer products that’ll continue to equip with the latest technologies as what other countries are gettng. Dont you agree that this should be the way to go from now on? Or we still should be thinking “hey, everyone else in Malaysia is offering 4 speed, so it’s perfectly ok…”, why not we look further and see what other countries are getting and think bout “hey, I want the same equipment as what they’re getting, pls give it to us at a decent price as well!” It’s your money that you’re spending, so spend it wisely. Cheers."

Yup i agree with you on consumer demanding for better stuff. problem is, if the bigger market out there is more focussed on diesel, like the french, all our demands won't come to anything. we want better 6 speed pugs, then lobby the gov to upgrade our diesel to euro4 or even euro5 (problem is, it is not as simple as pouring euro4 diesel into the tanks the stations have now. upgrades are needed to prevent it from evaporising faster and there's something about the water issue mixing with the diesel if the tank is not suited for higher grade diesel, a cost many independent station operators won't want to spend on now unless forced by the gov… and this leads to compensations lah, the gov's need to protect their seats in parliament lah etc etc etc).

the pug brand is heavily diesel centric now as europe has mostly gone diesel. so petrol markets like ours are small and probably do not warrant the need to develop something that will only last a few years. i guess they are waiting for our diesel to improve then flood our market with their brilliant hdi powered cars.

takes time too but a good understanding on the products on offer by teh brand will surely help.

• WilliamSmith on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:16 pm

LowProfile, my question to you is then "what should the consumers in Malaysia for car should be doing now?"

My thought is since Peugeot focuses on Diesel engines these days and in fact most European car manufacturers are moving toward that direction and yet they want a fair share in Malaysia too, what should they be doing? Waiting till the Government to offer better grade Diesel? Then what bout the consumers? Keep buying the temporary solution offered by the car manufacturers just because Malaysia isnt offering good quality Diesel? Then how do you explain some of the diesel engine offered in Malaysia that's actual EURO4 compliance with VGT? Can the problem of the local lower grade diesel be "work around" by the manufacturers rather than saying…

"the pug brand is heavily diesel centric now as europe has mostly gone diesel. so petrol markets like ours are small and probably do not warrant the need to develop something that will only last a few years. i guess they are waiting for our diesel to improve then flood our market with their brilliant hdi powered cars."

To "takes time too but a good understanding on the products on offer by teh brand will surely help." is just a few click away and a few minutes of studies, but to "drive the demand for better products" takes a different thinking, dont you think?

• lowprofile on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Hi Will,

I have been told by some friends in the car industry that the diesels are suffering. can't name brands to protect them though. but there is a need for higher maintenance and more frequent changes of the particle filter. after a while, the engine gets problems due to the sulphur content (i'm no technical guy so i don't know what actually happens when high sulphur contect fuel goes into a euro4 engine) and leads to the diesel smoke issue.

anyway, i'm all for diesels and also better products. let's see what comes our way.

• WilliamSmith on Feb 18, 2009 at 6:55 pm

Hi LowProfile,

Same here. I think the modern diesel engine is the engine for the mass market whereas for the petrol engine, all mass production manufacturers should keep it small and with high output like the 1.6L THP with decent consumption. There's simply no excuse for offering a lame engine with lame output. Any petrol engine below 75bhp/litre is not considered efficient IMHO and given the "rubber band" effect of a conventional trans, this add to the consumption. Our environment cant tolerate such inefficient engine in a mass consumption market anymore. Think bout our next generations and start spending wisely with our monies.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 8:02 pm

5-speeds are not enough for me. I'd love to see Peugeot go straight to 6-speed automatics. I fully agree with WilliamSmith -why keep up with Honda? Go beyond! But hopefully the cost up won't be so painful on the pocket. We want our cake and we want to eat it too! What's the use of a cake you can't eat? We can't be eating someone else's cake instead!

But for now I'd say the overall package of the 407 and 308 are excellent. Keep up the good work. Make sure service and parts are top notch, NEVER give discounts and Peugeot resale values will hold well.

Diesels are something the Govt. must work on. Japan Petroleum Energy Centre estimates 30-40 mill US$ for gasoline and 220-300 mill US$ for refinery upgrades to reach EURO4. Amortised over a volume projected to be used until EURO5 I'm sure it won't be that bad! Especially now considering barrel price has dropped but retail prices are still high!

Until then, the warranty departments of most manufacturers won't accept any shortcuts. I believe they won't honour any warranty claims resulting from using non-compliant fuel. The question is this – will the Govt go to Euro4? Will companies like Proton & Perodua object as the cost up to their powertrains may have an affect on their very sensitive/competitive price positioning. As I mentioned before, there is no escaping the fact that Malaysia's automotive direction is tied in with Proton. Until a decision is made, Peugeot and others have the products ready and waiting but will just wait and see.

• lowprofile on Feb 18, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Quote Maibatsu

"Until then, the warranty departments of most manufacturers won’t accept any shortcuts. I believe they won’t honour any warranty claims resulting from using non-compliant fuel. The question is this – will the Govt go to Euro4? Will companies like Proton & Perodua object as the cost up to their powertrains may have an affect on their very sensitive/competitive price positioning. As I mentioned before, there is no escaping the fact that Malaysia’s automotive direction is tied in with Proton. Until a decision is made, Peugeot and others have the products ready and waiting but will just wait and see."

I agree too that the gov has the muscle to cause a paradigm shift towards diesel. afterall, we already produce euro4 diesel for export. why cant we have it here, locally? i think (IMHO) it is the reluctance of the independant station owners to incur cost in upgrading their storage facilities. i have no idea on the cost to upgrade but the fact that they are baulking at this could mean a substantial amount. more subsidies?

perhaps proton and perodua would more effective in lobbying for this as they have the numbers but again, imho, they may not, as to them, they are already comfortable with the number of petrol engine cars they sell. the market is not demanding more fuel efficient cars so they will probably go along business as always. no point bothering in sth that (in their opinion) is not an issue yet.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 8:21 pm

P1 & P2 don't have any diesels in their line-up so I think EURO4 diesel won't be a concern for them.

• WilliamSmith on Feb 18, 2009 at 8:39 pm

If the government insist of the changeover to EURO4, I dont see why the petrol station would lobby for it because after all, this is the free market and many are happy to sell what's considered as essential item but cant get the license to do so.

My theory would be that by allowing the EURO4 diesel to be sold in Malaysia, many manufacturers will be bringing in some superb products that'll put our national made (so called the P1 & P2 tier) into an even more unattractive position considering that their current offering mainly consist of lame petrol engines that're either high output and higher in petrol consumption or worse. Given that P1 & P2 are all filled with the related parties, do you think they'll allow it to happen? Given our brilliant government always enter into biz agreement to pay huge sum of compensation in the form of any excuse they can find, such move can potentially put a lot of the upstream and downstream parts and services providers on the pressure to improve. When that comes, they'll just apply for "termination of biz" and got all their capital investment paid for in the name of VSS. Whose $ are used in such a way? Everyone including you and me. What do we get in return? Nothing. What do we get at this point of time? Compromised product offering by the brilliant manufacturers who have the sincerity to serve the consumers with a better ownership experience but yet cant do so because the government think that Malaysians need the Proton and we're very happy with their offering.

The question is…are we?

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 9:29 pm

guys,

i been reading some of the 'against' posting here, and all i see is .. in essence there is a big big basher on the prowl, with some brain power to write a 'mature' high-speed spin-doctor-style bashing.

the sticking issue are:

1. Still about 5-speed auto…. oh, great. get to know Peugeot products worldwide and then talk. there is no 5-speed auto in PSA lah.. u dont know ka .. worldwide pun takde.. macam mana Nasim nak bagi… tak kan u nak paksa PSA buy ZF or Aisin 5-speed autobox and then re-engineer the 407 to suit the 5 speeder (which is a very costly job).. even when in their main market (i.e. Europe), auto gearbox only consists of very small % of their sale? Think big and far sikit la before you bash.. and how that your complaint here can change the global strategy/decision they made on this one? How can they consider changing when demand is not critical and vastly beneficial.? simple CBA will show that 5-speed isn't so overwhelming beneficial to authorise the change. so… you just succeed in bashing and creeated unsavoury opinion on the facelifted 407 CKD and PSA in general right? (which is your objective btw). Get a grip of yourself.

2. We 'need' to push manufacturer to give us engine with more power (than designated). again …. sigh… just to taint the facelift 407.

3. we customer need to push distributor here to get the max bang for our buck…. Dont you think Nasim did what they can (they need profit too). and everyone say 407 price is truly value for money. and that's even when they compared with the "best" i.e. T & H offer.. If you wish to bash, bash T & H on this matters. You should praise Nasim and ask them to improve / better their achievement in the future.

4. frequently making statements that the 'defender' have vested interest in defending (in this case, Peugeot). Do you have vested interest in bashing? and yet still denying it? (of course you are and you will). give us a break from you very noticable spin, doc..

5. when the issue turn to diesel, your bashing still continue without knowing (genuine or not, i dont know) that any diesel engine sold there that actually required higher grade diesel are truly suffering (just like lowprofile statement). Even after lowprofile explaination on the reality of the diesel scenario, you spin it again.. you should press the Govt., oil companies and station owners on the matters. Peugeot won't sell their diesel here until the diesel is ready. That is very logical thing to do. Meanwhile, they sell what suit the market (which at that point you say customer were then buying temporary product). Do you realise almost all brand Toyota, Proton, honda Perodua are in the same situation here? You sound as if ONLY peugeot trying to sell thing that only good temporarily here….

That's what we called a spin! hahahaha.. ever stop trying, ever if it is stupendously a pointed-lie, towards Peugeot.

Peugeot won't sell their diesel here yet coz their care about their reputation and their customer too. that honesty and integrity.

So… are you still wanna spin and spin? or are you actually just less-knowledgable basher?

6. product roadmap. Nasim gained the Peugeot dealership and launched the pre-FL 407 at a time when the 407 itself is entering the last mile of it pre-FL cycle. Shortly afterwards, FL 407 was introduced in EU. and it took time to bring the FL 407 to Asia market. it always have with conti brand here(given the low sales and market%).

but Nasim is getting better. and just look that they managed to bring in the 308 to M'sia just around 1 year after it was first launchworld wide? and the fact that M'sia 308 CKD is the first 308 to be built outside EU! all these only took around 1 year since it was first launched! it was some achievement. but, expectedly, you shall see weaknesses in all these efforts.

and to Jake Gee,

You are absolutely RIGHT!

all those japanese lovers who always and always will believe that their cars is cheap to maintain .. biar kena batang hidung sendiri lah.. the Yen is at super high against ringgit now… cheap spare part… fake parts cheap lah. they are still in lullaby.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 9:36 pm

Intermilan – couldn't have said it better myself. I wish there was more thought put into discussions rather than senseless talk.

• Autobahn on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:08 pm

nice car but old

• WilliamSmith on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Intermilan, I wont use the word "bash" here with the type of attitude you have in your reply. Your comment seems to me more like a potential basher??

As a consumer, I'll love to see that better things are offered for a similar amount of $ spent unless $ isnt a problem for those concerned but then they wont be looking at a Peugeot 407 already, would they?

True that 407 has no 5 speed throughout the world coz their focus is in diesel engines already and with that, it comes with 6 speed instead. But do you know that the 0 – 100km/h acceleration time is different between Malaysia and Singapore given they have similar engine and spec? Malaysian 407 seems to be able to accelerate faster than the Singaporean 407, weird huh? And also some countries has 3hp higher output in the 2.0L NA form than in Malaysia, why? As well, there're a 2.2L NA petrol engine with 155hp output which seems to me a better choice than the 2.0L NA engine offered locally (yeah, we can argue that 2.0L is the preferred choice in Malaysia as seemed in other mades) but 2.0L to move 5 pax onboard will only have a respectable acceleration as compared.

As to whether Nasim Peugeot did all th right things or not, everyone can judge by themselves and time will tell. So far, for distributors related to NAZA, there're many sad cases already. But if you think that Nasim Peugeot will make the difference, then let time be the final judge on this. With that, I do make comments on other mades and models as well which I think this isnt bout "bashing" the product but to create awareness among the consumers that we can drive better value for our $ spent (so perhaps you should do more research here in PaulTan.org before using your PhD type of language to make offensive comments).

However, should anyone here feels that the current offerin from any mades is sufficient for your daily needs, go ahead and acquire it and do enjoy your life. Life is about all bout choices and we make them according to what we think is right, isnt it?

P.S. – I dont think the modern cars are cheap to run and maintain these days be it Japanese or European. It's only bout how "affordable" it's to each individual. For that comment, I think you're the real basher.

• WilliamSmith on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:28 pm

For Nasim Peugeot to get their distributorship and launched the 407 Pre FL and within a year the FL comes by, if anyone think that this is a good planning of the strategies, kudos to you but personally, I dont agreed.

True that they're doing business and the business of business is business but when we're dealing with end consumers market where there're plenty of competition around, the last thing you'll want to do is to alienate them. It's either they acknowledge the damage they've done to themselves and rectify it in the future or they can continue to do so suffer from their own decision.

If the product speaks for itself, then no matter how it'll hold its value and image well. Time will tell.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:36 pm

If the business of business is business, then what are you suggesting? If you were running Nasim Peugeot what would you do? Hold off sales for 9 months and wait for the F/L? How are you going to answer the CFO?

• WilliamSmith on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Maibatsu_thunder,

So to answer to the CEO at the expense of your market share by alienate your buyers? Is that a smart move? How much revenue can they have during this 9 months' time? How many 407 already OTR? If there're many then how many of them feel offended by such a quick FL? Is there're not, then why cant they wait for 6 months' time to setup their distribution and launch the FL version instead? Put yourself in the case. You have the disposable income to get yourself a new car and you have decided to get the 407 9 months ago. You're happy to get the car delivered in a few weeks' time and 9 mths later you found out bout the FL which your sales personnel didnt told you bout as he/she also not sure. What would you feel? A sense of being cheated? Lost? Well, if a FL isnt really matters at all, then why many are rather waiting for the FL once it's announced? For me, if i'll to know that in 9 months time there's a FL coming, I'll hold on to my purchase and wait for it. What bout you?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 11:27 pm

But the F/L is priced higher, so what would you do? Some genuine customers have already posted here that this isn't an issue to them as the F/L is priced higher. In other words the pre-F/L owners are automatically compensated by having purchased a cheaper 407. Even then the F/L changes are minor, not major.

Honda released a Civic facelift for only 6 months before the slanted headlight ones came into the picture, with 2.0L option even. No one complained or said they were cheated, and Honda is still going stronger than ever.

• Littlefire on Feb 18, 2009 at 11:38 pm

I seen someone here talk about EURO 4 diesel… Actually EURO 4 is not about fueling diesel cars to move..

The main reason for EURO4 standard diesel is to reduce emission & save the earth environment..

Sadly i can see our country G is lack on environment awareness, and still cutting a lot of trees in Kuching & Sabah and using those high sulfer diesel to move those trucks & lorries… The only thing they know is to maximize profit and dont care mother earth feelings…

I support our diesel quality to be improve to at least EURO2 above, as this move i can see a lot of emission can be cut down and save those truck & lorries owner from getting more saman from the JPJ.. From automotive side, we can have better & efficient diesel cars to move! Diesel is the future and proven to be more fuel efficient & cheaper to maintain compare to hybrid!

• WilliamSmith on Feb 19, 2009 at 12:22 am

Hi Maibatsu,

So is this the tactic they're using to "cushion" the backfire from the existing owners? How do you justify the increase in price when the basic equipments are the same? In fact, a FL should comes with better equipment but similarly priced, isnt it?

As for Honda, I did criticised bout the way they did it on the Civic itself but overall, they're still getting the act right. However, their latest offering seems pretty shaky in their price and equipment level so as Toyota. In such time, an offering from other manufacturers like Peugeot is a good move to show them to stop exploiting their market establishment. My intention is not to trash Peugeot or its local distributor but actually i'll love to see more of these distributors to "redefine" the equipment per price level so everyone else will take it more seriously. Competitions among themselves will ultimately benefit the consumers, which is everyone here @ PaulTan.org.

I do find that the equipment per price level has stagnent in Malaysia and has some downward trend, ie. higher price but only similar or less equipment. That's totally unacceptable as that means our purchasing power has shrinked over time. A "re-establishment" of the price point by other distributors will ensure it's always the buyers' market. The fact is, I am a big fan of the Peugeot 200 GTi series and their latest 207GTi is very exciting but the 207cc has the unique form factor which if the GTi's engine can be adopted, it'll be a very good car to own.

So, my point is, I welcome such move by Nasim Peugeot to introduce good bang for your buck's products but to really scratch those T & H's back, they'll need to step up in their resale value and image while providing excellent after sales service. Hence, Nasim Peugeot can really do a little better in their product planning by not repeating their NAZA counterparts' mistake again.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 12:37 am

I think there's no 'backfire' to speak of judging from genuine customer responses here and in real-life face-to-face conversations with some friends and the sales guys at Bangsar. The equipment increase and transfer price increase from Automobiles Peugeot is reflected proportionately in the OTR as per what all the other manufacturers are doing in Malaysia. Would you have them price '09 F/L models lower or equal? How would you protect resale values of the '08 model owners then?

But just for curiousity sake William, and no offence of course, as you're quite passionate about this subject, how do you suggest Nasim Peugeot should as you put it, [“redefine” the equipment per price level so everyone else will take it more seriously] and [do a little better in their product planning]?

• WilliamSmith on Feb 19, 2009 at 1:04 am

Hi Maibatsu,

I'll rather have it priced similar if the equipment level isnt changing but just the look. If you have noticed, the normal practice for the Jap car makers is they dont increase price in a MMC cycle. Do you really think by increasing the familiar looking model price will actually protect the 2nd hand value of the existing one?

What Nasim Peugeot is doing now is on track to redefine price point entry. RM137k OTR with so much equipment is really something that we dont get to see on the Jap offering but then again, this formula has already been tried on NAZA other distributorships. Why arent they're selling well? Are equipment level really seal the deal? Are the T & H feeling any threat now by the vast equipment list Peugeot has in its lineup? What do you think? What bout the more superior product planning strategy T & H has as compared? Or is it? Give it a thought and do some research.

I am nobody so I better stop commenting further in this thread before more ppl frame me as the "Peugeot Basher". Cheers everyone!!!

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 1:04 am

me still think a senseless basher is still a senseless basher. but look like got some knowledge albeit incomplete but sadly with a crooked idealism and know how to play gasing lah..

2.2L ? love that one too. The best petrol engine for 407 some say.. but then price become RM150K. so if u got some SALES brain-power, at that price, you will realise the number of sale of the 407 CKD will be..? ZILTCH, NIL.

If you also admit its true that as amatter of fact, 407 don't have 5-speed auto in the whole wide world ever… why bashing *&^ about 5-speed earlier then? OMG.

small differences in declaring engine bhp and torque rating for the same car is normal among all manufacturers. want to know why? i bet you don't know this one. … some like to 'round up figure' to make it a nice one. and they can getaway with, if you insist? to know.. Why? doing dyno (to measure engine/car power et.al.) using different engine/car at different day, time, place, dynamometer, air temperature, altitude etc … all could produce tiny different results… Got it?

As to your posting that "was about creating awareness among consumer" that their money worth more / better drive (than what Peugeot 407) has to offer… hahahahaha.. you sound like mr. kdm lah…. who know him know lah! hahahaha.. be realistic william smith. ini malaysia, bukan syurga.

You claimed you also commented on other makes or products (beside the 407)? Personally, i don't care, really.. coz ur bashing and refusal to accept the whole fact (which for now i viewed as sinister act) on the 407 alone is enuff for anyone to size you up, intellectually (and there seem to be some 'problem' with your utopia / idealism too) .

As for the FL issue, what your problem, dude?

the pre-FL was introduced here as CKD and then shortly afterwards, the FL-407 is introduce worldwide. After around a year after the worldwide minor-FL 407 is introduce, Nasim managed to bring it here, again as CKD . Not acceptable?

You think Nasim can control PSA worldwide product cycle / product launch? You think Nasim, once they gain the dealership, shouldn't CKD the pre-FL 407 and should waste a year or so to wait for the FL-407 to launch and only then began the long winding process to kick start the FL 407 CKD program in the name of all fairness?

Are you socialist/communist-sympathiser/inclined ? Utopian? Hippies, perhaps?

why are you so offended with the FL. it just a hard-to-notice exterior and interior make-up change. Bukan tambah 20-25 horsepower! That one, maibatsu also 'windy'! right, bro? hahaha haa…

beside, no one is responsible to tell pre-FL 407 buyer about FL 407. that they should check out themselves because firstly no one is forcing them to buy. and….. most people with interest on the 407 know a FL is going to come by, the only issue is when. if you don't know, either you have no internet or you are…… (think yourself la nabil..)

You mr. smith, should keep you cool and add some knowledge lah okay. and ditch that idealism of your. Or preach it to H &T. These two giants need that urgently and badly. and ask them to stop misleading people with their $%*^@& fuel-efficient / hybrid car advertising campagins while you at it. checkout Littlefire posting, last sentence. i think you might agree on that one too. Remember to hit harder on H & T, they need it more than Nasim (for now) as currently, these giants is more guilty, than Nasim, in giving less valuable product for the bang (money). I sense you don't agree? Fine.

Lastly, it seems that u are quite offended / sick / allergic for being perceived as a basher. Everyone should, so its okay to feel that way. Over time, you will feel it is normal… because its just who you are.

Relax.. everything will be fine… just fine..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 1:16 am

How about Civic 2.0L just shortly after launch, they added 17" wheels and bumped up the price about RM4k! How do you justify that?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:57 am

"What bout the more superior product planning strategy T & H has as compared?" … I'm so curious … what superior product planning strategy was it which resulted in higher sales than non T&H makes?

• fujixerox on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:39 am

fuh banyak panjang komen komen semua, dude inter…cool man seriously youre the obvious basher here..all oso can see wan..u somkind of antiprogress dude here?? you say Diesel is the future and proven to be more fuel efficient & cheaper to maintain compare to hybrid! is this also saying "diesel hybrids" wil hav gooder FC than diesel? thats dam shallow man.give it som time lah…at least some co. are making an effort to change for better the not like some other co.u say(fake parts cheap lah. they are still in lullaby.) eh.. fake parts verry long lasting u know.. no play play.

also…u think u d only SMART fella ahh? you say (Or preach it to H &T. These two giants need that urgently and badly) now if dats not bashing..i dono wat your definisyen off BASHINg iss..sigh.u think so many msian so stupid go buy h,t,n and not the GREAT puegot ahh?

dude for 1 try not be bias and use your brain a bit….. u say (i been reading some of the ‘against’ posting here..)proofs it …….these co. have come a long way and build up their brand image by trust…………to make it simpler 4 u…PPL TRUST THEM COZ THEY GOT GUUD PRODUCTS…since a loooooong time ago…now shud not b any diff,if not better…ppl know they r in for good reliable products, if u can proof the now wan is worse, then ok lor…if u ask me pugeot got reliable history?? i mr ahh beng say i DONO kua??got meh

u think H+T need preaching??? huhuhu….how your mind worx i oso dono ler.

pls don brag bout how dis car sooo "value for money" kakaka..if not like dat ahh…how to sell(ofkozz dat is a good nasim move btw)????

oi.. i like conti oso ahh im not juz ahh beng ahh but some time..bias ppl make my hand ichy lahh haha ….no ofence

haha..inter..i like your english la..perhaps u can teech me hehehehe..haha u oso can bang/bash me say me dumbass ..no prob(im like a sponge absorb everyting)

relax inter..im oso shallow and stupid sometimes..we all oso wat right? so keep it friendly ok??

ps:sombody here said sx4=minorjazz……. shakehead

ps;william smith cool lah, 1 person vs so many, i respect u

• fujixerox on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:47 am

sollee sollee ahh incase u no understand ah beng slang;dis part

(these co. have come a long way and build up their brand image by trust…………to make it simpler 4 u…PPL TRUST THEM COZ THEY GOT GUUD PRODUCTS…since a loooooong time ago…now shud not b any diff,if not better…ppl know they r in for good reliable products, if u can proof the now wan is worse, then ok lor)

refer to jap car that u sooo love to hate..

ok continu

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:50 am

Yes WilliamSmith brings up some interesting comments. Lets have a clash of ideas, as Obama puts it! More importantly, the cake in hand is the cake we want to eat, but we must have it too! Other people's cakes are pointless as we can't be expected to suddenly go and eat em, right? Hahahaha!

The success of a car's sales is not just the specs/pricing but also the network, SSI (Showroom Satisfaction Index), CSI (Aftersales Index) and IQS (Initial Quality). Brand strength, how the test drives are conducted, status of dealers etc. are all important.

Hope to hear more from WilliamSmith soon. Very interesting comments.

• fujixerox on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:55 am

sollee sollee again ahh juz wan 2 edit 1 part;

these co. have come a long way and build up their brand image by trust…………to make it simpler 4 u…PPL TRUST THEM COZ THEY GOT GUUD PRODUCTS…since a loooooong time ago…now shud not b any diff,if not better, not just (misleading people with their $%*^@& fuel-efficient / hybrid car advertising campagins)…ppl know they r in for good reliable products, if u can proof the now wan is worse, then ok lor…if u ask me pugeot got reliable,fuel efficient history ahh?? i mr ahh beng say i DONO kua??GOT MEH??

remember..keep it frenly OK??

ok continu..

• fujixerox on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:22 am

omg ,1 more corection hehe;

fuh banyak panjang komen komen semua, dude inter…cool man seriously youre the obvious basher here..all oso can see wan..u somkind of antiprogress dude here?? you say Diesel is the future and proven to be more fuel efficient & cheaper to maintain compare to hybrid! <>? thats dam shallow man.give it som time lah…at least some co. are making an effort to change for better the not like some other

1000 apologies, ok ok continu

• fujixerox on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:25 am

ok somthin wrong here….wierd…;

<is this also saying “diesel” wil hav gooder FC than dieselhybrids?)

thats the 1

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 3:07 pm

Peugeot has passed through several brand custodians over the years, but was totally eclipsed from the mid 80s by Japanese offerings. They've never reached a critical mass where their cars are out on the roads and the Malaysian public compares them apple-to-apple with Toyota/Honda/Nissan. They've always been out of the consideration set due to price, network, perception of spare parts, resale values. FC has never been an issue for 'lost case' customers.

Get the branding (consistency, various forms of media channels), product (pricing/specs/quality/FC/SSI) and network (aftersales, CSI right, hit the critical mass (5000 units per annum or more is my guess) and I believe Peugeot will become another one of the apples which the mass market compares in the Toyota/Honda/Nissan comparison set.

Now is the time not only for brand and product power but sales and service power. No amount of advertising or brand promotion can take outshine a commitment to leading in SSI and CSI scores.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:58 pm

ohh.. this is interesting (but overboard really) …..

helping hands from somewhat crude style of spin doctor. the use of rojak language and sms shortform spelling with a zest of 'uncertainty' splash here and there is a strong signal to konon – konon dia sempoi la tu… kikiki..

rather than write in a normal & clear manner like mr. smith and everyone else, this new entry to the top-of-the-pop-chart style of writing not only (1) spin fact, but (2) spin word (3) spin language (english and melayu) (4) spin style of writing and etc..

anyone read his/her postings surely find it ridicilous (purposely?) and might even find it pura-pura intellectually-challenged (even after several readings). The whole posting is filled with kepura-puraan macam orang bodoh to invoke reader to think and assume that the poster couldn't be that stupid and therefore is anything but. alahai… macam budak budak remaja lah kau.

i bet mr. smith won't welcome your 'help' coz u just make matter worse. well that the objective of basher. to destroy / sway / re-direct the focus of discussion from the original topic of the thread towards, ultimately, self-destroying lengthy arguments. even if the post subject 'defender' 'won' the argument. As long as there is lengthy arguments, the 'basher' win coz no one else will find reading postings in the thread beneficial anymore.

we try to frame the real picture here when it come to PSA and reject asking-for-the-moon comments which in the end is not achievable / unrealistic given the current circumstances (so what the objective of asking rather than to tarnish the excitement of newly FL 407)?.

but in the end, look like me and a few others fall into the trap again. haiya…

to ignore the so-called anti-Peugeot/Nasim/407 comments feel wrong but to confront is also prove to be ungainly. Catch 22 scenario.

but hopefully anyone that managed to read over all the tit-for-tat, slander, slur, rambling comments and reach this point could see argument does goes awry sometime (okay… most of the time) but what is more important is whatever you read and understand, take the good one and leave the bad one. just don't get it wrong okay? Thanks.

p/s: mr. smith, i hope you do maintain to stay away. If you are not basher than we need to stop this at once. Ciao.

• WilliamSmith on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Hi Intermilan,

I thought you did called me the "basher" and stuff that title down my throat? :)

Debates are good to bring out different ideas but the command of language in this case has to be controlled so the debates are productive. So should I say…

"P/s : Mr Mitermilan, i hope you do mind to control your command of languages when replying to anyone out there. Everyone is entitled to their opinions and so long no offensive languages used like calling the person "bodoh", "Intellectually challenged" and so on, it'll less annoying to read for all the readers out there."

As to how PSA will perform as well as NASIM Peugeot, time will tell so why not we all take a good break? Agree?

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:17 am

Hi smith,

to me you r still a basher in this thread, but not a mindless one, just with tired & crooked idealism. so, i'm not classifiying you at par as the basher out there (who wrote pretty silly & damaging stuff intentionally).

did you realise you are practically whining about something that you fairly shouldn't. the best part, you'll get away with doing all the alomst pathetic whining because allegedly 'your side' was a victim of what you claimed as usage of 'offensive' language.

your idealism (of wanting more and more and more value for the bang) is understandable, its what some called 'kiasu', but it shouldn't be preached upon the 407 case. as far as malaysia market is concern, the 407 CKD is a very fair offer, taking all factors into considerations. even most pre-FL 407 CKD owners out there are not making fuss about the FL since all the minor updates were accompanied by a fair increment in the FL asking price. If you can't agree with the statement that 407 CKD is a fair value offer, then how many other D segment car offer better perceived 'value' and real 'value' for money? and how many are not?

some time strong-tactic word is plausible, although this is something that i rarely employed. and the usage of it in this thread… i dont see it as offensive language. there are several true cases of offensive (or/and aggressive) posting in paultan.org, some were posted during the big war time period between 'mighty' jeff ooi (you know this guy?) & co. against proton supporters until cow come home. and nowaday, a lot of trigger-happy proton basher and proton-basher bashers postings were worthy of being accused of using offensive language or being offensive statement. know the history, current affair and be fair in what you accuse me of.

moreover the strong language that been used should be read, interpreted or qouted in its full context and not only qoute the exact word like what you done. try to represented the 'fair' meaning of the statement (within its context) when you are 'qouting'. bcoz qouting it as you see fit (like you've done) is the characteristic of someone who intent to spin someone else statement / word for unfair gain. that why i say you are a spin doctor from the very beginning.

and speaking of annoying, its the unfair contents and objective of your posting towards the 407 that were annoying. don't you see that i'm annoyed by it (thus my reaction)?

just unluckily, some of us (me included) fall into the trap and make fool out of ourself. happy now? do you think the damage done towards the thread is good enough? coz most probably no one else wish to add anything positive anymore and its better that way, perhap, as the thread discussion is so toxic now and seems like beyond repair . a write-off.

you might be smiling or even smirking, and some of us who truly care about the well-being of the thread 'health' might be 'perceived' as defeated anyway you look at it. congrats to you, then.

but the 'truth-bearer' shall stand corrected. truth and fairness will prevail.

Meanwhle, let have that good break that you've been taking about.

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 2:45 am

Hi Intermilan,

I find your logics are questionable. For :

1. You assume that there're more offensive languages used elsewhere in this thread and yours are just perfectly ok. So a killer isnt equal to a serial killer? Whether I am accusing you for this, let's let the readers decide for themselves.

2. You make plenty of assumption that everyone think like you do and that they're annoyed to see how I "bash" PSA offering locally while even going to the extent of addressing me as intellectually challenged as well. But then you turn around and say I aint the mindless basher…but still intellectually challenged, right? :)

3. A 5 or more speeds trans and more poweful engines is my idealism or it's the trend now? When you enter a market with a lame petrol engine and dated trans where 5 or more speeds trans and more efficient and powerful petrol engines are setting the trend, be prepared that the consumers are going to criticise and even "bashing" on your products. Shouldnt you react by taking their comments seriously to look for ways to improve the product appeals or address them for being intellectually challenged and "bodoh"ly idealistic?

4. Cetainly I am the "kiasu" type. Because I "kiasu" that after spending 137k worth of my $ and yet still beaten hands down by the stock Civic 2.0 at the traffic light (which cost as much as 8k less) and because I "kiasu" that after spending 137k worth of my $ I am still stucked with a 4 speed trans and so so engine and because I "kiasu" that if I want to spend 137k of solid Malaysia Ringgit, I want to make damn sure that I am buying the latest technologies the industry can offer to me. So naturally my "kiasu" attitude would prompt me to sacrify a little on the sound system, sat nav and some airbags but more powerful engine and extra gear ratios. How "kiasu" I am, isnt it? But arent we all? Isnt this drives the progress to make better things happened?

Surely I criticise PSA because such a perfect equipment list shouldnt be mated with the lame engine output and dated trans. Let's not forget that a 408 could be just around the corner so that'll make the 137k worth of 407 now obsolete in comparison and you want to know how much the obsolete feel would be like? Just look at their 206 vs 207 to get a good feel. Also, if NASIM Peugeot decided to up the price again for the 408 by a few more k, it'll be entering the 140k region where all the Jap 2.0 D segment models are waiting to have a good fight. If they decide not to up the price, the obsolete 407 by then has to be heavily discounted, how much they want to discount this time? 5k? 10k? 15k? or more?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 3:02 am

WilliamSmith you seem to have had an agenda all along. Well the choice is simple. Peugeot is definitely not the brand for you. Move along. Go for Honda.

• engrraf on Mar 15, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Honda and Toyota driver still look at Peugeot 407 on the road..i notice it..isn't their car not the best.. i wonder..

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 15, 2009 at 7:33 pm

One of my company GMs uses a 407. When he goes for lunch and parks it, it gets a few looks. Another interesting piece of news is I notice a prominent company owner is now using a 407 2.0L F/Lift more than his 1yr old S350, SUVs, etc. He sits up in front while his driver drives him around!

• Theng on Apr 10, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Hello.. I am new here.. I just got my Pug 407 few days ago… its a wonderful car, so far enjoying so much driving the Lion..

I have a question about the headlamp washer.. can anyone tell me how to use the washer?? press which button?? I have read the manual but it tells nothing about the headlamp washer..

Thanks if someone can share your experience..

• maldin on May 05, 2009 at 1:05 am

Wahh, you send since apr 10 no reply one?

If you still dont know how to use the headlamp washer, you need to turn on the head lamp and then pull the washer/wiper handle towards you. the headlamp washer will pop out and spray the lamp.

• daffy on Oct 21, 2009 at 4:10 am

hi…i'm new here and i was so tempted to get a 407 next year but too many friends around telling me not to get a conti car. I'm a bit sceptical. I love everything it comes with the car. I should have no question besides paying such a price for this great 407. Can anyone tells me (esp owners of 407) about the maintenance of the car? Is it far more expensive than a civic/accord? Tks!!!

• Chong on Oct 21, 2009 at 7:12 pm

There is a promotion (which still available till the end of Oct 2009) called Lion Save Plan. With this promotion, your schedule maintenance get 70% discount till 60,000km with semi-synthetic oil. Eg.

1st 10,000 km service = RM 182.50 (inclusive of labour & parts), you pay only 30% of RM 182.50

20,000 km service = RM 277.50

30,000 km = RM 277.50

40,000 km = RM 819.00 (more parts to change)

50,000 km = RM 277.50

60,000 km = RM 1619.00 (major change, esp timing belt)

From the Lion Save Plan, you have actually saved up to RM 2k plus up front. Furthermore, if you are able to buy the car before end of this month, Nassim will offer the V-Kool tinted voucher (elite 70) to the owner later. Please check all this out with your SA and hope you can understand more about the maintenance now.

In long run, Japs car have a lower maintenance compared to conti car, just test drive the car you like and choose the best feel that you have. My personal opinion of driving Peugeot 407 is, i can't find the comfort and the superb handling on Japs car, esp Honda Civic and Accord.

• Theng on Oct 21, 2009 at 10:22 pm

The information I got is definitely different from what Chong quoted.. maybe he is right and I am wrong, I am not sure.. but I just had my 10,000km service done in Peugeot Jalan Chan Sow Lin, not RM182.50 for sure, its near to RM300.. I bought my 407 before the offer, so I have paid for full.

I have the service prive list it in a scanned copy, not able to paste it here (and lazy to re-type all).. so if anyone interested, please send me your address i can email to you ([email protected])..

Cheers

• Chong on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:28 pm

Hi Theng, perhaps you serviced your car with fully synthetic engine oil. The price that i quoted is refer to semi-synthetic engine oil.

• Chong on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:31 pm

Hi Theng, the price that i qouted was referred to semi-synthetic oil.. was yours using fully synthetic oil??

• Theng on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:43 pm

Hi Chong, according to the list I have, its also semi-synthetic oil, plus the oil filter, drain pug washer and labour cost. I paid near to RM300.

But on the other hand, your 60,000km service at RM1,619 is much more expensive than the price in the list.. really confusing.. where did you get the price list?? Did you experience that yourself?

Send me email at [email protected], I can share my list with you.

• Ivan Leong on Dec 05, 2009 at 12:44 pm

I fall in love with 407 when i when to the peugeot showroom and test drive the car.The ride,handling,comfort and nvh is so much better than japs car out there.The new price also quite attractive and cheaper than japs car.

My main concern is the maintainance due to this is a continental car and realibility in long run.I heard from most car mechanics the 407 suffer from engine oil leaking,gearbox issue and etc after long run.It's quite obvious due to our asian weather do effect the 407 parts.Is kind of weird sometime a 407 sold to use cars centre even the car just 2 yrs old,if 407 is a good car with high spec esspecially on safety why it is sold that soon?Now someone need to tell me what's wrong with the car?At the end,shall we turn back to japs car instead of french car??

• Ivan, i noticed that too when 407 but manufacturing product 04' / 05' were put on sale. Just surf at mudah.my and u 'll see.

I guess the past owners have reasons (maybe hidden) on why they are selling the car.

• Ivan Leong on Jan 18, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Hi Paul.

I guess no one can tell me why the 407 sold the car to use cars centre even the car is just 2 years old??

Recently i saw 2 units 407 nearby my area at klang and guess what the car is 1 year old only !!

What a suprise or a mystery ! i hope paul can find out for me the main reason…

• recently saw many units of Civic 2.0 year 2007/08 being put on sale in motortrader, what does tht mean? D

• i came to read reviews on the car ler ..

• ckoan on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Please be aware that the 3 years warranty and 100,000km only covered limited parts only. I felt cheated buying Peugeot Made Locally. Peugeot is a GREAT car however with the local dealer who do not answer to customer….. it’s hard to express my feeling right now.

TRUE STORY
    On 15-July-2010, I sent my wife car, for 20,000km routine services. Service advisor called me and said the front disc brake and front disc pads were actually worn out. To my surprise, a lady driver who is only travelling less then 20,000km can actually worn the BOTH the disc brake and disc pad at such a fast time! What surprise me further was actually the price of the spare parts. I was charged at RM490 for 1 set of front disc pad! For your information, I changed my disc pad on a Volvo T5 every 30,000 – 40,000km mileage travelled, and is only costing me RM380 and BMW E90 at around the same price too!

I called up and they said my wife car is 1 year and 2 mths old and the warranty for the rotor is only 1 yr. I made a official complaint, no respond! I wrote in to [email protected] no reply. I guess once i bought the car they do not entertain anymore… May be this is what they called “after sales service” (service meaning you pay bomb for your service)

Some advice for current Peugeot owner, if you find any minor smallest problem please let them know, make sure they have your problem log in the system. In the futurre if the parts faulty you will be able to argue over it. Don be like me, a FOOL!

FUTURE BUYER please make sure you know what is covered under the warranty and the spare parts cost before you get into a frustrated situation like me!

• Ivan Leong on Jul 25, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Hi ckoan,

Where do you send yr 407 for brakepads replacement?Did you call up peugeot call centre on your issue?After this incident,will you recommend 407 to new buyers?

• but i will say its still worth….. i am using 407 for 5 years and i dont have the problems, the most important its safest car compare toyota or honda…..safe my life

• Hi ckoan,
    Luckily you shared your exprience, i just taught to chg my Altis 1.6 to Peugeot 407. So far no problem with my Altis, just want to upgrade to 2.0. After reading all the comment, think better keep my Altis..huhu

• Hi ckoan,
      Luckily you shared your exprience, i just thought(correction) to chg my Altis 1.6 to Peugeot 407. So far no problem with my Altis, just want to upgrade to 2.0. After reading all the comment, think better keep my Altis..huhu

• Ivan Leong on Jul 25, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Hi ckoan,

Sorry to hear that.But i will buy peugeot 407 as a 2nd car.But i hope it just a unlucky event for you and not other peugeot owner…i have a client which their company purchase 4 units of 407 for their seniors manager and been on the road for 2 yrs,so far no issue with the cars since they service their car at blue box.This car is so sexy,curvy,sleek and attractive.I hope the parts can be cheaper in future since it is under NAZA flagships.

• Ivan Leong on Jul 25, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Hi Rao,

Toyota/any japs car is good and reliable.But when come to ride,handling,tech specs and safety u might want to consider continental car like peugeot 407.I have test drive 407 before and the 1st impression is quite goods and i am amazed on the comfort and ride handling compare to my current 2.0 civic.There are few aspect to think about when buying peugeot cars such parts and after sales service.Like ckoan cases could be very rare.We can’t judge peugeot by his comments and is not fair right?But i do agree with him that peugeot parts is costly and lack of support from peugeot centre.Rao go test drive the 407 and decide from there…good luck mate!

• Hi Ivan,
    Your correct, i’ve just test drive 407. It’s superb car. I’m impress on the performance & interior gadgets. Overall comment…very good car to own…but worrying part is After sales service. Service center in Melaka not impressive. They service all other model eventhough it’s Peugeot service center.

• hi, i am driving the peugeot 407 since 2006 and this car the best over the same and bored honda and camry. its the safest car and more stable. if you really want to safe your beloved family then you dont think twice to buy this french car…..its worth…

• Planning to get one – 408 will not be in the same class – 508 should be more expensive as it is a replacement model for both 407 and 607. Further comments from facelifted 407 owners on problems and reliability issues would be much appreciated

• I am 407 user for the past 1 year. I dont see any defects on the car but the pick up is quite slow compare to camry and accord. But when come to highway, 407 is a king of road. BMW 3 series is nowhere and i have tested myself. Anyone can say anything but try to go on reality with the spec and features that 407 provides. It really giving the value for every single sen that you pay. You are buying 100+k worth of car and you should not talk about re sell value. Please talk about satisfaction. Camry and Accord gives good re sell value but at the same time you pay more when purchase it. What is the point you are talking about re sell value but you should talk about confidence in driving and the safety when you push the car to 210 km/h. Its proven 407 european car are always the best. Please dont give comment on 407 if you driving camry or accord. You are not fit for it.

• Ray Teo on Nov 07, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Come on everybody every brand have pro n con what to argue for…… DEFINATELY jpn car is not gd value for what his offer anyhow it’s gain customer trust once…. On coming future still can maintain as top we dunno yet. What I see is depend on other brand how to make overturn their brand n this is a right time…. Once in early ’90 Malaysian got we all only have 3 choice proton saga either Honda civic n Toyota corolla now….. Now we have more than dozen brand to choose more than 100 diff model choice…. All people say vios n city is the best 4 non national car….example n comparison sushi n kimchi vios n forte n again city they have almost same RV now a day….. Who say T&H better RV….. RV is on demand, not believe??? Go try the 2ndhand shop try to ask u want to trade ur vios/city n hear what they say” aiya boss now T&H not like b4 now lot of buyer looking for Kia/Hyundai/Peugeot etc….. They looking for better technology” same as u go to trade ur kimchi/ conti “aiya boss ur kimchi not so gd value le” wwwhhhyyy? Answer is simple consumer have more choice now

• Nordin on Jul 11, 2017 at 7:32 pm

I just bought a used 407 (year 2009) last month. The mileage was only 66,000km and driven by lady. The car is clean inside and out just like new. Even my 207 sedan bought in 2011 as already 125,000km mileage but no major problems. The 407 is exceptionally quiet and very comfortable. Since I bought it I just changed the wiper blade, replaced the left HID with that of Toyota ballast and lamp (PUG ori ballast is a killer), skimmed all 4 brake disc and changed all brake pads to semi metallic (valeo). The mechanic said all 4 shocks still good so I will just used it.

I changed all 4 tyres on the next day after bringing it home. My next project is to buy a new GPS bluetooth player for 407 OEM from China as the original screen now sometimes just go off by itself and refused to response, can only reset by switching off the engine and on again. One more thing I forgot to mention, I replaced the catalytic converter with a muffler. Next in line is to fit a customized 4-2-1 extractor, and to re-tune the ECU for better response

• Nordin on Jul 11, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Most conti car drivers don’t know that the catalytic converter becomes dirty after few years and this will cause blockage to the flow of exhaust gas. It is best to remove the catalytic converter and replace it with a suitable muffler