Alfa Romeo Mito GTA Concept to debut at Geneva

Alfa Romeo Mito GTA

Alfa Romeo will be exhibiting an Alfa Romeo Mito GTA Concept at the 2009 Geneva Motor Show in early March, which will likely to be a close to production high performance version of the 3-door Alfa Romeo GTA. The powertrain is likely to be Fiat’s new 1.8 litre direct injection turbo engine, which is also said to be making a debut in the 159 in 200 PS form.

The Mito GTA could have it in a higher state of tune, perhaps 240 horses is not too hard to imagine. The engine has dual variable valve timing, direct injection and turbocharging technology. This is the same Euro 5-compliant engine that was announced to be slotted into the new Lancia Delta.

The Mito GTA will most probably also have the Q2 differential to help rein in those horses sent to the front wheel. Looks like MINI John Cooper Works will have some good looking sexy Italian competition soon!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Alamak on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Cool la, i also like this, compared to the Fiat 500, i think the MiTo is sexier!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 7:37 pm

cant wait!!!cant hardly wait…btw..y they still not release the 159GTA??

• mayor81 on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Why AutoItalia still not bringing in the 159 into Malaysia??

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 8:58 pm

mayor81 said,

February 19, 2009 @ 12:07 pm

Why AutoItalia still not bringing in the 159 into Malaysia??

in 2008, in the top 32 car brands in malaysia.. subaru is officially last in 32nd spot, having sold only 18 cars. almost all the scoobies we see on the road are imported by independent dealers.

in that 32 list, alfa didnt even make it into the list. it would be very difficult for them to get launch new cars, when they're not even selling cars. which is a pity.

• Littlefire on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:03 pm

Well, should thanks to those AP importers which import "cheap" re-con cars…

• knight_templar on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:21 pm

sigh, when will german and italians high performance auto have competition from malaysian makes? The Saga is not bad at all.

Btw, off topic anyone wit Saga BLM experience rattling noise from the door?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 10:37 pm

knight_templar said,

February 19, 2009 @ 1:21 pm

sigh, when will german and italians high performance auto have competition from malaysian makes?

the facts are, not even many korean or even japanese makes have a hope against german and italian high performance cars in an overall package.. will definitely have to wait quite a long time more for proton.. which is why i buy the german straightaway.

also, we can blame the AP guys for the subaru, but we cant for the problems for alfa, coz they dont import in alfas either.

• Autobahn on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:01 pm

alfa romeo ….mito….so sexy

• Littlefire on Feb 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm

I think the problem for Alfa in Malaysia is they cant convince ppl that Alfa romeo cars are nice to own, easy to maintain & parts can be found easily…

I have seen a lot of Alfa in this country and especially the 90's Alfa which used boxer engine! The sound is nice & the driving experience is sweet! Actually the parts is not expensive and the only thing that hurt most owners is the parts availability and reliable mechanic.. I have seen a few Alfa lying in my mechanic shop for almost 2-3 months just waiting for some parts from Italy…

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:25 am

'MY NAME' SAYS IT ALL . .. . .

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 2:01 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop;

have you considered the GTR + lexus-f , and also the price diff btw GER and JAP performance cars(as overall)?? id say GTR well surpases many GER/ITA/ITA cum GER performance cars (ie lambo)

bac to topic..the alfas new paint is stunning, and like littlefire said…boxers on older alfas sound great (unique).

BMW..i hope youre cool..its just my H.O…..peace!

• clover leaf (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 2:08 am

Alfa Romeo Mito GTA will be powered by the Fiat Powertrain Technologies-developed new-generation ‘Family B’ 1.8-litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, with maximum power of 230bhp and peak torque of 350Nm being available for this application. It will be coupled up to FPT’s new C635 dual-dry-clutch transmission, also will receive distinctive body styling and an upgraded interior with options including lightweight trim components.

Alfa 159 Model Year 2009 will be available with the same less powerful variant 1.8 turbocharged 4-cylinder unit developed by Fiat Powertrain Technologies developing 200bhp between 4750 and 5500 rpm, and 320Nm between 1400 and 3750 rpm. 170bhp variant also in the pipeline.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 2:09 am

[quote comment="211761"]BanyakMasukWorkshop;

have you considered the GTR + lexus-f , and also the price diff btw GER and JAP performance cars(as overall)?? id say GTR well surpases many GER/ITA/ITA cum GER performance cars (ie lambo)

bac to topic..the alfas new paint is stunning, and like littlefire said…boxers on older alfas sound great (unique).

BMW..i hope youre cool..its just my H.O…..peace![/quote]

hi there, the GTR is definitely an incredibly amazing car, likewise the lexus-f. Personally, Ive never driven any of them. But i'm pretty sure, they will definitely not give you the same sort of experience as a continental car. I may sound bias coz i own one, but once i've gone continental, I'll never go back to japanese, no matter what the model.

to me, its not about good or bad, its an experience thing. some people like japanese, some americans, and so on..

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 3:38 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop;

recieved and understood with an open mind, cheers!

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 4:56 am

i love this car

• csv (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:45 am

damn, 1.8 liter with 240 horses?!

forget the JCW, the golf gti has some competition on!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 4:29 pm

[quote comment="211805"]BanyakMasukWorkshop;

recieved and understood with an open mind, cheers![/quote]

cheers ;)