New Honda Stream RSZ from Honda Malaysia

Honda Stream RSZ

Though it’s not time for a facelift yet, Honda has given its Honda Stream an equipment update. The second generation Stream is now called the Honda Stream RSZ and as you can expect from its name, it comes with the nice RSZ bodykit that you get when you buy a parallel import Stream in Malaysia, so now the sportier look is available with the official Honda Malaysia import as well.

Other than the bodykit complete with front foglamps, the new Stream RSZ also gets larger 17 inch alloy wheels to match the kit, which I feel was quite necessary because if the original Stream’s 15 inch wheels were retained, they would look pretty odd filling the wheelarches of the sporty looking body. The High Intensity Discharge headlamps are smoked and have light sensors to turn on automatically in the dark.

Honda Stream RSZ

The steering wheel is leather-wrapped and now feature paddle-shifts, but no steering wheel audio controls though. The interior is black instead of the regular Stream’s beige. While some of the product photos you’ll see after the jump show a version without a sunroof, the Honda Stream RSZ we get here will retain the regular Stream’s sunroof.

The new Stream RSZ will be sold for RM155,980 OTR with insurance alongside the original Stream, priced at 149,800.00 OTR with insurance. That’s a slight over RM6,000 premium over the regular Stream, but with the extra equipment you get its pretty decent. For now, the regular Stream will still be available until CBU stocks are cleared out but in the future only the Honda Stream RSZ will be available.

The Stream RSZ comes in 4 colours – Premium White Pearl, Crystal Black Pearl, Polished Metal Metallic and New Red Pearl. The RSZ Stream will be available at dealers from the 26th of February onwards. It comes with a 3 year (100,000 km) warranty and free service for the first 6 months (10,000 km).

Look after the jump for more shots of the new Stream RSZ.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=119]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pju_3 (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 2:58 am

what the reason of stopping regular stream?! :0

• vee (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 3:14 am

Well, it is a known fact that the earlier Stream was not well-received. Wrong specs, wrong interior colour at a very wrong price.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 5:19 am

I'd LOVE to see some enlightening analysis on product planning, resale value and customer sentiments from our WilliamSmith. Please William … analyse this!

• corollaaltis (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 5:22 am

Why 155k of car don't have wing mirror indicator light while RM50k Myvi have wing mirror indicator light ………………..

• riceboispanker (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 5:44 am

I don't understand why toyota/myvi fanboys are so obsessed with wing mirror indicators…..only suckers will buy so called new altis with 9 year old dino era engine but new body facelifted with cap brothers bodykit and ah beng favorite indicator light side mirrors ….

The stream rsz needs rear air cond vents…..malaysia is not getting cooler by the days

• painsama (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 6:01 am

This looks better. The current one doensn't look premium at all despite the premium price.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 6:09 am

the red paint is so nice !!!

• julian-lee (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 6:14 am

who cares about wing mirror, all cars copy german anyway

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 6:50 am

Indicators on wing mirrors? They can put them anywhere n still some drivers are too blind to see them when they are blinking, n then again most drivers don't use them n when they do use them, it's all for the wrong reasons. So who needs indicators!? They're one of the most unused n abused part of all vehicles.

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 7:01 am

A car salesman (csm) was showing a potential buyer (pb) the interior of a car. After scrutinising the whole interior, the pb asked the csm. "Why is there no cigarette lighter?" The csm replied confidently, "Oh! That's bcos less n less people are smoking nowadays, so we decided to do away with the cigarette lighter." In amazement, pb said, "Then how come the indicators are still there?"

• xg9 (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 7:43 am

agreed with you nutzeywagen… indicator light is the most useless part in malaysia. nobody uses it anymore and yet, ppl still want it on the wing mirror. nice joke there…

• nmh (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 7:52 am

Man …this is honda….we talk bout refine japanese automobile, power, multilink suspension etc……not bout wing mirror indicator lite, number of cupholder. Anyway toyota turns crap nowadays…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:20 am

honda's interior design damn weird…why so many aircond vents??what the purpose having so many vents in the central area since there is rear aircond vents???

weird…if proton were to design the same..i bet this comment segment will be full of bashing..but if its japanese..it will go un-noticed..and best part is no one will complain about it..haha..funny malaysians..

• Imran (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:30 am

Hmm..they should put a rear spoiler though..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 9:49 am

Hahhahaa, the colour is photoshopped onto the car. See the front fog lights, it shouldn't be body-coloured.

• mct (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 11:34 am

is this stream rsz a 2.0L version ?

• shamel (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 3:33 pm

Perhaps, now Honda Malaysia realized that the latest Wish's threat (2nd generation but not entirely new), despite of merely another Corolla-nization of an old car BUT still preferred by most buyers.

In fact, being a Honda aficionado l still incline toward 'an old' Wish in new disguise; mark II Wish.

• riceboispanker (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:06 pm

[quote comment="212680"]honda's interior design damn weird…why so many aircond vents??what the purpose having so many vents in the central area since there is rear aircond vents???

weird…if proton were to design the same..i bet this comment segment will be full of bashing..but if its japanese..it will go un-noticed..and best part is no one will complain about it..haha..funny malaysians..[/quote]

There are no rear air cond vents…..thats why there are so many vents….

The Stream lacks this part where most localize MPVs have rear vents such as avanza, apv, and etc.

• redrules (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 2:13 am

As I said in the Wish article, mid sized MPVs has lost it's purpose of carrying small family around, look like it's built for a racing instead. I'm moving on to the larger sized MPVs now.

• haroldz (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 3:34 am

honda/toyota buyers seldom talk shitey about their ride

ya lah, i drive japs car, u drive korea/msian/conti car..

i lagi hebat dari u..

hahhahah

should have come with 100bhp sticker!!

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 6:56 am

nice, but what radio does it come from, the radio given by honda malaysia for the stream they brought in was awful

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 7:07 am

Naza : new version of Citra, Citra Rondo

Nissan : Grand Livina with Impul plastics, rims, etc

Honda : Stream with RSZ plastics.

Toyota : Discount discount discount! Avanza, Innova!

Seems everybody getting ready for mpv showdown 2009. Proton Exora, Perodua long-Myvi.

Pity the economy wasn't on our side.

• muharifz (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 4:43 pm

must be left overs from Japan…could not sell it back there, send it to Malaysia

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 8:41 am

i dont mind the leftovers, its still better than that proton evaporated

• mo_say (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 5:02 pm

For RM6k you get cosmetic change only and yet it from manufacturer!…In the first place, the regular stream should cost less.

• SCO (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 2:16 am

I really love to see that they bring in the 2.0l Stream.

I am considering either 2.0l Stream or the Face-lift Wish 2009…

• RSZ_STREAM on Feb 25, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Whatever crap, i am getting this RSZ this month. I have waited so long for this. Almost bought the standard version stream last year. Lucky my persistency has pay off. If not, i would have end up paying at least RM160K for a Naza RSZ stream manufactured year 2007.

Good for them (Naza) now as they are still keeping old stocks. i bet they can't compete with Honda Malaysia now. Year of manufacture is much earlier and more expensive and without precise warranty clause stated.

• SCO (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Pray hard that you are able to get the delivery date before 31 Mar 2009.

For that, you get a "discount" of RM625 from government oh…

(That's probably very impossible…)

• RSZ_STREAM on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Can. Check already. The shipment is on the way. Can make it before 20th March. By the way, you can get a 2007 RSZ Stream (2000CC) near Uptown used car dealer. Is black and has less than 10km mileage. Declared as recond but is new. But the price is ard 160K last year when i checked. Now should be able to get better price.

Not much of diff 1.8 and 2.0. Just increase 10hp. Take Stream as is new. Toyota Wish is quite old model. And you can see Wish every where. So is like driving a common car like VIOS only.

• SCO (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Oh, the reason on eyeing at the Stream 2.0l or WISH is because of the VSC. Of cause I am not that interested in the current WISH which is still at 4AT, but more looking forward to the next generation.

• RSZ_STREAM on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:52 am

I did consider about VSC before, but it came as an optional. Too bad Stream here no VSC. I n fact, i am looking for IHCC – Intelligent Highway Cruise Control ,the side curtain and the original reverse camera by Honda. But all came under optional accessories in Japan. So i don't think they will offer it here. In fact i have checked in Naza last year. All the Stream there does not equip with VSC.

• SCO (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Gee, I didn't really do much research into that but I thought the VSC come standard along with the 2.0l RSZ (Thought I saw that in the JDM sepcs)

Maybe it's marked as "optional" but I just miss that word… too bad.

Then in that case I will probably wait for the Next generation WISH since they already have the VSC in current model. See when will they have the 5AT transmission in place (Or the CVT type also can)

• RSZ_STREAM on Mar 13, 2009 at 1:20 am

If i'm not mistaken, for WISH 2.0 is running on 5AT. But i'm sure the local one was imported from Asean country. Maybe Thailand or Indonesia. I think is best not to go for CVT as is may create gear problem end of the day. Even i do heard the 4AT also got problem with gear. Even honda City that runs on 7 speed also got problem with gear but chances are very low. That's why now all the Honda cars have prevent using CVT in Malaysia market. Actually other than WISH, Toyota has another model which is quite nice. Is called MARK X ZIO

But i don't think the PI will bring it in this period of time.

• Bodow on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:59 am

Why Honda cars have similar pattern headlights nowadays … recall Accord , City , new Oddysey … getting cliche -like already

• RSZ_STREAM on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Got my Honda Stream yesterday finally. Need to stick tinted film. Anyway, is a global design. Even Toyota also have similar pattern headlights. By the way, i have a picture of new WISH. Not bad though.

• Suhaimi Ibrahim on May 25, 2009 at 4:57 pm

This coming October '09, there will be a new model Stream MMC. Check it out

• firdaus on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:54 pm

What do you mean by new model stream mmc….any major or minor changes?…pls describe

• firdaus on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:54 am

Anyway…i'm getting this RSZ next week…. Dream come true!!!

• metal-RSZ on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:39 am

Hii all,

Any of ur guys can explain to me or not… How 1.8 i-vtec is running and when can fell the i-vtec come in?… Little bit confused coz the honda salesman told me i-vtec will cut off after 3500rpm. Is it true?… -NEW USER RSZ-

• RSZ_STREAM on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Well, not sure when the Vtec will come because i don't use Stream for racing :). What i know is if you travel below 100kph, the RPM will stay below 2000 to save your petrol. Enjoy your Stream every minute.

Anyway, you can goto sgstream.com.sg to find out more info. Very useful site. Cheers..

• danielle on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:56 am

im very confusing now..anyone can helps?

im actually planning to get a car either CR-V or StreamRSZ,but i heard CR-V is changing new face very soon isit true?that is wasted if i get CRV now..as in i plan get a car in this two months times,anyone can tell me StremRSZ when lauching?

• RSZ_STREAM on Sep 05, 2009 at 7:49 am

Yes indeed. But is only minor changes on the front and back bumper.

• nazri on Sep 24, 2009 at 8:17 pm

hai…i want buy this honda stream soon ,,before end of this year

any body know ,,what the best price i can get for stream.

• RSZ_STREAM on Sep 26, 2009 at 1:07 am

goto PJ Jalan 222 Honda and look for nicole. Tell her recommended by eric.

• Just went to Honda Glenmarie and Auto Edaran at PJ.I was informed that there is no more stock for Honda Stream. Being told that new facelift stream will be launch in Oct-Nov 09.

• any agent honda stream please introduce me, maybe i can get best price. Any contact number…

• erfan on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:04 am

guys, any idea how much price for stream recond year 2006 or 2007?

• w123_230CE on Oct 17, 2009 at 11:47 pm

Went in to Honda showroom today to check out the Stream. They've stopped selling it – coz they're about to launch a facelifted one.. RST version as per Paul's other blog?

The only thing that none of the sales guys were able to tell me was whether or not the audio system would be an intergrated one or a cheap looking after market 2-din set.

Pricing wise they anticipate a RM2-3k increase over the old unit.

• msrizal on Oct 20, 2009 at 5:07 am

Why honda malaysia leave a gap in this market? Poor planning? Lack of communication with their principal? Potential buyer like me is considering other competing models such as toyota wish & mazda 5… Even , mit grandis. Someone in honda malaysia should be sacked!

• Will the steam be available in the Philippines?

As of the moment, the only 7 seater sedan type here is the Nissan Livina.

• BatuPahatGuy on Nov 08, 2009 at 7:18 am

Hello,

Yesterday i visited Honda showroom at Batu Pahat, they got Honda Stream RSZ (white) in there. They also got few ex-stock for this mpv. i like to enlighten you guys… this honda stream RSZ have "wing mirror indicator light" … (if you mean: lampu signal pada side mirror)

more stylish than her predecessor… this mpv bit lowered compare to other mpv because it will reduce g-force… even been mounted with 17" rim. front bumper & grille also been upgrade.. look very sporty n stylish.

btw, next year (2010), Toyota will introduce with new Toyota WISH model… its look like Estima wanna design wannabe.. new toyota wish already been sell in singapore… however i don`t know her spec & details… but price will around rm156k

• TheTitan (Member) on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:12 pm

Hi all,

it just my opinion.

i'm the one of the honda fan but i think i'll buy a second car,and i'll looking for below 80k for the car price nor $800 monthly for further.

anyway, i hope i can get this stream but the previous version lately.

if u think twice, we need spend a lot of money in nowadays such as house,car,loan etc. bills. we don't really determind what/when will happen for the future.

And when u pay a lot just for the car payment and then got crash/stole out there it'll really suffered then. but the bank loan still need ur payment.

to spend a car monthly around 1000k it's a lot but differ if ur salary much more like 5000k a month.

Thus we must think carefully..lu pikir la sendiri

• Faizal on Dec 17, 2009 at 12:26 am

RSZ_STREAM, I have an intention to get the latest RSZ Stream. After few months with your Stream, appreciate if you can share pros and cons in terms of performance, accessories and service. Thanks bro..

• msrizal on Dec 17, 2009 at 2:46 am

got my dream 2007 RSZ last week from naza for RM130k, love every bit of it… if you like soft ride, the RSZ is not your flavour… The harder suspension setting is to compensate the 17 in wheel and excellent cornering… But the ride gets better with more occupants, seems like it tune itself, single driver – sports mode… More occupants – family comfort mode :) the pedal shift is very useful during undertaking.. I've drove a wish, it'a like comparing a van and a sports car :P

• msrizal on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:27 am

and did i mentioned the touch-screen internavi premium system with steering wheel control? The downsides are the head unit interface is in kanji (asoka ne), i can't utilize the built in GPS (nihon map), radio frequency is until 90 mhz only, tv tuner cannot be used and DVD player is not compatible (PAL system)… Despite those, the reverse camera is excellent, the MP3 player is working fine, the unit came with 20GB harddisk that automatically store inserted audio CDs (cool, no need to keep many CDs in car) and the best bit, the audio and speaker quality is superb, i'm glad i bought the recond car instead of the overpriced unit brought in by honda malaysia :D

• RSZ_STREAM on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:46 pm

Faizal,

So far the car is reliable. fuel consumption pun ok. I travel back to Melaka every 2 weeks. Usually drive at 120kph or below. Takut speed trap. But i have try 160 before and is quite stable. Beyond that speed belum try lagi la.But one thing for sure if you tekan more the more fuel burn. Wallet also burn.

Servicing wise baru tak sampai 10K so no comment. the first service is free. But bear in mind, if beli from parallel importer, servicing and warranty is one issue la. Thats why i never opt for NAza. Furthermore, their price is so expensive. No doubt certain of the cars come with some accessories but not all of it can be used. So end of the day, no point. And onething is Local Honda Stream come with sun roof. The new stream got VSA too.

If i'm you, go for the new one if got budget. Else you can look at motor trader can find some second hand one which is also ard RM130K but is the normal X series la. Unless you can wait another 2-3 years i'm sure got people will sell RSZ. :)

• Pearl White RSZ on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:48 am

hi..

i already used new stream rsz bout 1 and half month..

already 5k millage..haha..

i travel from kedah to melaka,just half tank fuel used..around rm50..and 120kph or below..when i drove back to kedah,i tried 180kph and yes,stable!very relax..i wanna try 200kph after diz to test da power..but i must service 1st..

the salesman told me,1st,2nd and 3rd services is free…

yeah..new stream rsz got VSA,spoiler,new bumper,skirt..very sporty..steady..comfort for long journey…

also got new radio n audio..

the interior spaces,is quite big n comfort for 7 person..

8 person also can..

suitable for single n family..

really..

when i drove,people will c my car..coz the sporty n less stream rsz on da road…

• RSZ_STREAM on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:46 am

Hey Pearl White RSZ,

You try see can hit 200kph or not? So far written on papers are maksimun 190Kph only…I don't dare to go more than 160kph…Haha…Sooner or later, sure can see a lot of streamers …

• RSZ_STREAM on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:52 am

Hey Pearl White Rsz,

Maybe you can try 200kph next time? Because on papers, is only max 190kph. I have only tried 160kph….Sooner or later, you can sure see alot of RSZ on the road….

• Pearl White RSZ on Jan 04, 2010 at 4:14 am

i'm already back from KL to kdh today…

i were saw 3 or 4 new stream rsz at highway…

mostly white…

i just imagine if we can be together,do konvoi,n some activity,4 sure woww..haha..

i already join mystream club..n hop can join their activity…

but donno coz i'm seaman…huh.

after diz i'll try 200kph..4 sre..haha..

reaaly enjoy my rsz..at 23 yrs old,i got my dream car from my hard work..

hmmm..wanna lenjan my car b4 sail..

• RSZ_STREAM on Jan 05, 2010 at 8:08 am

Haha…jangan masuk Laut sudah cukup….

• instuan on Jan 10, 2010 at 4:11 am

really intersted with rsz…

but i dun know how much da prices actually..

anybody out there can solve my probs…

yg second xde ke?hahahaha

• CHAMP on Jan 17, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Hi all, has the new stream post RSZ model been launched? what's the differences between the RSZ? price difference? I'm thinking of getting the RSZ this year, but still looking into feedback from others who already own one…

• sudah ada belum di indonesia,oerkiraan harga berapa.?thnx..

• hamzahtahar on Jul 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm

so what is different between stream 2007/2008 and 2009/2010 model. about the engine or anything else. i hope who know about can explain to us and me also.

• Honda Stream RSZ? wat about fuel? is’t safe?

• RSZ_STREAM on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:40 am

If you don’t tekan too hard on the acceralator, it shld be ok. But just in case when you are driving in the highway, you can’t resist to drive slow because the car itself is begging you too go faster…… At 110 kph, you felt the car is just moving at 70kph. The car is just so stable ……

• sundari on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:25 am

i hv booked my stream rsz, unfortunately i understand tt the aircond service is not as we wish. those at the rear suffer of heat. but im not sure abt the latest stream. any one can help me to clear my doubts?

• RSZ_STREAM on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:08 am

There are no air cond vents at the back. Anyway, i would say is sufficient. The main vent has a dedicated blower for the rear.

• Tq, im also quite worry abt the spare tyre. Is the latest technology suits in malaysia? are our auto mechanics well wise abt the usage of the chemical? from my recent study, many of them not aware abt the chemical. pls advise. tq

• Hj. Mohd.noor bin Hj. Awang on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:50 pm

I like it Honda Stream RSZ

• Tony T on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:47 pm

:( I dissappointed with Honda Company’s designer, since I was the Honda Car’s lover for past 7 years, & intend to have the size of MPV like Stream. Unfortunetly after lunched of latest Stream, it’s worst design & really not attractive especially the Back Side. Think that many of their customers may turn to Mazda / Toyota. Lastly it must comes with more features too…

• Hi,

My mom bought a Honda Stream RSZ four years ago. The colour she chose was pearl white. Unfortunately the colour is getting more and more yellowish. So she’s deciding to change the whole body paint to a new one. What colour do you all think would fit the best? I prefer Matte Black ;)