Takanobu Ito: new Honda CEO from June 2009

Honda CEO Honda CEO

Honda Senior Managing Director Takanobu Ito will become Honda Motor Co Ltd’s new President & CEO effective late June 2009, taking over from the current President & CEO, Takeo Fukui. Both the outgoing CEO and the new CEO are from engineering backgrounds. Ito has a M. Eng in Engineering from the Kyoto University and joined Honda Motor Co Ltd in 1978 as a chassis design engineer. He was in charge of the all-aluminium monocoque chassis of the mid-engined Honda NSX.

In addition to the President and CEO positions of Honda Motor Co Ltd in June 2009, 55-year old Takanobu Ito will also first assume the President and Director positions of Honda R&D in April 2009. 64-year old Takeo Fukui who has been President and CEO since 2003 will continue in Honda as Advisor and Director.

Date of Birth August 29, 1953
Education Kyoto University, M. Eng. Engineering

Apr. 1978 Joined Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
Jun. 1997 Director, Honda R&D Co., Ltd.
Apr. 1998 Executive Vice President, Honda R&D Americas, Inc.
Jun. 2000 Director, Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
Managing Director, Honda R&D Co., Ltd.
Jun. 2001 Senior Managing Director, Honda R&D Co., Ltd.
Jun. 2003 President and Director, Honda R&D Co., Ltd.
Managing Director, Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
Motor Sports
Apr. 2004 General Supervisor, Motor Sports
Apr. 2005 General Manager, Suzuka Factory, Production Operations
Jun. 2005 Managing Officer, Honda Motor Co., Ltd.
Apr. 2007 Chief Operating Officer, Automobile Operations (current)
Jun. 2007 Senior Managing Director, Honda Motor Co., Ltd (current)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:19 am

honest looking man. lol.

what qualifications do our proton head have?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:29 am

Honda has always been an engineering driven company. They conduct job rotations so a sales guy can be in F1 for a while, or a manufacturing guy can be in procurement for a while. Actually to drive a car company are paper qualifications absolutely necessary? We don't need engineering or business degrees to talk about what car companies should or should not be doing right? IMHO anyone can be from any background as long as you try hard and are willing to learn. Being from an engineering background can be a huge asset of course.

• Nakal (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:54 am

i found a quote from one of proton vendors calendar, said by former Honda Chairperson- Mr.Hideo Sugiura

" I believe that quality level is determined primarily by actual design of the product itself, not by quality control in the production process"

we talking bout RND…honda took 61 years to achieve the quality level that what we can see now… while proton? only 13 years (proton RND founded in 1996-if im not mistaken, please correct me sifu)…

so we know the real problem proton faced, n MALAYSIAN too..its KNOWLEDGE and EXPERIENCE!!…

• andre128 (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 2:58 am

why 2 picture 2008.07

should be 2009.07 ???

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:40 am

If there are no names under the pictures I would have thought they are father and son!

• hyundai (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:03 am

Work for more than 30 years and only become the CEO… Such a long way…

By the way, is it because of such a poor profit that they change the CEO??

• common-sensor (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:13 am

To move forward is to stop making excuses and to stop politicking. RnD design and develop the products, the quality input comes from production to be incorporated in the design. Thats how things work. RnD maybe only 13 years but production has been in the picture for more than 20 years. Quality is not determined by neither RnD nor Production; quality is determined by the customers. What PROTON need to do is to understand customers' need and design/develop products suiting those needs and Production to establish processes that are capable to fulfill customers' expectation. Emphasis is always on customers NOT bosses, politician, or even ministers. Nowadays, Knowledge and Experience can be purchased off-shelf!

• common-sensor (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:21 am

Work for more than 30 years and only become the CEO > thats typical Japanese way of ensuring only the "competent" will be the boss. Unlike Malaysian, very much depending on "you know who" then "you know what" …

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:30 am

[quote comment="214381"]honest looking man. lol.

what qualifications do our proton head have?[/quote]

haha…. as long as u're political cronies' relation enough already… no need qualification also can adi as long as u're related to them..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:33 am

[quote comment="214511"]Work for more than 30 years and only become the CEO > thats typical Japanese way of ensuring only the "competent" will be the boss. Unlike Malaysian, very much depending on "you know who" then "you know what" …[/quote]

well said bro !!! thats why Japan is years ahead from us in terms of many things including automotive industry….

• shun2u.CoM (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:52 am

Haha..maybe next year will got new design cars.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:29 am

[quote comment="214511"]Work for more than 30 years and only become the CEO > thats typical Japanese way of ensuring only the "competent" will be the boss. Unlike Malaysian, very much depending on "you know who" then "you know what" …[/quote]

Uh, if that's the case, I should be among the top honchos at Petronas…I know the former head of Petronas Dagangan, the company in charge of the retail side of Petronas. So unfair!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:23 am

thy will be succesfull, japan learned long time ago once u mix politics with business u will be DOOMED….business and politics there are entirely two different entities , malaysia , i repeat , business and politics there are entirely two different entities! please LEARN!

• csv (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:44 am

[quote comment="214513"][quote comment="214381"]honest looking man. lol.

what qualifications do our proton head have?[/quote]

haha…. as long as u're political cronies' relation enough already… no need qualification also can adi as long as u're related to them..[/quote]

no la, thats the wrong term. its called PR!

"Personnel" relations!

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 9:52 am

e-nabilll ;

very true but perhaps the only problem here is..the "business" will fail without the "politics" …hehe!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:22 pm

[quote comment="214675"]e-nabilll ;

very true but perhaps the only problem here is..the "business" will fail without the "politics" …hehe!![/quote]

the real problem is, the politics shaped the business early on. if support was cut off early, we would have known if the idea will work much earlier on.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 12:29 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop;

quite right, but even so, chances are they still wouldnt have made it …which is why the business had to be supported the whole way hehe……..

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 4:25 am

Both of them look like father and son :P maybe got relationship somewhere