Smart to unveil Edition Limited Three in Geneva

Mercedes-owned fuel efficient auto maker; Smart has announced that it will launch the Smart fortwo Edition Limited Three in Geneva, Switzerland. This new limited edition model which is finished in Melon Metallic Green and powered by a 71HP engine is offered both coupe and cabriolet forms.

It also features micro hybrid drive (mhd) technology which is basically an engine start/stop system to further improve its fuel efficiency. The tiny power plant shuts down when the driver brakes and when the vehicle’s speed falls below 8 km/h. It will then restart when as soon as the driver releases the brake pedal.

This helps reduce fuel consumption to only 4.4 litre (4.5 for cabriolet) for every 100 kilometers traveled, which accounts for 20% reduction with the start/stop technology. It also produces only 106 grams of emission per kilometer.

Other features included with the Edition Limited Three with soil-coloured interior; 15 inch alloy wheels in a sporty 6-spoke design, aluminium-effect “limited three” logos in the mirror triangle, automatic temperature control, instrument panel featuring dark brown leather-effect details, 3-spoke sports steering wheel with steering wheel gearshift, and for the coupé, a panoramic roof with sunblind.

The Smart fortwo Edition Limited Three costs 15,470 Euros as a coupe and 18,510 Euros as a cabriolet. Continue reading to view two more images of the interior.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 9:21 pm

time for a complete redesign….repackaging

• Kancil size at many times kancil prise..

• yeah at many times kancil price but the safety is also a lot of times more compared to a kancil and even a small or mid size sedan. i would rather pay for the price is it is around the same as the price in euros but as usual msia automotive tax kills it.

• android on Feb 26, 2009 at 9:57 pm

looks kinda nice… better if got brabus version

• telstar (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 10:29 pm

kancil size,kancil fc,many times kancil prizes,many times kancil safety.

hmmm…this is rich ppl kancil la.haha

• _xXx_ on Feb 26, 2009 at 10:53 pm

no laa, this is for the poors…road tax RM20 only

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 1:06 am

[quote comment="215573"]no laa, this is for the poors…road tax RM20 only[/quote]

you still need to pay lots of money to get the privilege of paying such low road tax ;)

• tikus on Feb 27, 2009 at 1:29 am

Is Smart still sell in Malaysia? They has been quite lately.Somebody please advice.

• limited to 3 unit oni ? lolz !

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 2:34 am

The car looks slow, sluggish and too expansive for it to be green. Kancil more greener than this car

• _xXx_ on Feb 27, 2009 at 3:59 am

Smart cars are now collectors' item Bolehland.

• _xXx_ on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:05 am

[quote comment="215599"][quote comment="215573"]no laa, this is for the poors…road tax RM20 only[/quote]

you still need to pay lots of money to get the privilege of paying such low road tax ;)[/quote]

haha, I was trying to tell u that the system here sux. 100 over k smart car owners are paying RM20/year road tax while another poor chap paying RM500+ a year for his 1991 2.2L Camry that worth not more than 5k.

• menawan on Feb 27, 2009 at 4:52 am

O said,

February 26, 2009 @ 1:40 pm · Reply with quote

yeah at many times kancil price but the safety is also a lot of times more compared to a kancil and even a small or mid size sedan. i would rather pay for the price is it is around the same as the price in euros but as usual msia automotive tax kills it.

apsal tak habis2 slahkan G and TAX? bukan G have said b4, for green car, 50% reduced in tax. I dare u to buy the car if the car sold here later. And i want to see u said its still better than a kancil on that time.. On that time only u the one who is proud of driving that car but ppl around u keep laughing seeing u drove that car..

Dun simply post. Ur reason seems based on ur emotion like delusion.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 27, 2009 at 7:48 am

[quote comment="215660"]O said,

February 26, 2009 @ 1:40 pm · Reply with quote

yeah at many times kancil price but the safety is also a lot of times more compared to a kancil and even a small or mid size sedan. i would rather pay for the price is it is around the same as the price in euros but as usual msia automotive tax kills it.

Dun simply post. Ur reason seems based on ur emotion like delusion.[/quote]

do you really think the taxes here killed this car? but whats the difference? looking at the euro prices(RM73k), its not much cheaper than when the car was launched here (RM83k)

fact is, a car like this just isnt right for the malaysian market.. there just isn't enough people willing to buy something like this.. the concept just doesnt suit malaysians.

the fact is, most people will end up buying either a vios or a city.

• i've only seen a few of the coupes on the road.

but only 1 roadster because my friend owns it. hahahaha.

80k for a 2nd hand model bought 2 years ago.

he likes it though its kinda small, even the crv could squish it. if the crv can catch up to it that is.

• what a waste of technology..

• nighttrain on Feb 27, 2009 at 6:58 pm

A smart that has the features(as bare as) of a tata nano… RM9000.00?

• look good …. but what abot the prices?