Proton Exora MPV teaser scans: flat folding seats

Proton Exora Folding Seats
Click image above to view very detailed high-resolution version!

Here’s another teaser of the Proton Exora MPV, a scan courtesy of reader waja2000. We can see a full frontal view of the Proton Exora’s dashboard here which also reveals a gate-type shifter for the automatic transmission.

It also shows the 3 rows of seats which are 60:40 split for the 2nd row and 50:50 split for the third row. It also appears that the seats fold completely flat, which is good. The third row has some form of storage and cupholders integrated into the wheel arch intrusions, and we’re lucky Proton has completely abandoned any attempts to have stylo sporty door panels – they look completely normal even for the rear doors. The third row also has full 3-point seat belts too.

The photo cuts off just before the roof of the MPV so we cannot see the roof-mounted air conditioning vents but these were features that could be seen in the peek-a-boo box of the MPV interior at the Proton Technology Week.

UPDATE: Higher resolution photo added.

Read our past coverage of the Proton Exora below for more juicy details on the first 7-seater 3-row MPV from Proton.

Proton teases the Proton Exora MPV dashboard
Proton Exora 7-seater MPV Interior Details Revealed!
Proton Exora – the MPV Proton will launch!
HOT: Proton MPV 100% fully uncovered
Proton MPV exclusive initial details revealed!
SPYSHOT: 2009 Proton MPV sheds some of its disguise
Proton MPV design registered with UK patent office
SPYSHOT: Proton MPV next to a Nissan Grand Livina

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hvannees on Mar 01, 2009 at 10:55 am

good work!!

• nice car… quality ???

• ali38hak on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:01 am

whats with diesel engine???

will be or not?

how about airbag? only front or maybe more than 2?

• CocoBear on Mar 01, 2009 at 12:11 pm

Myvi sucks…. Just the fat body that disillusioned ppl into thinking it as solid and fun to drive.

• uWangAda on Mar 01, 2009 at 12:57 pm

[quote comment="216294"]Myvi sucks…. Just the fat body that disillusioned ppl into thinking it as solid and fun to drive.[/quote]

Ya Thats Right!

[quote comment="216288"]myvi is better[/quote]

Myvi its not a MPV, Idiot!

Nice car Lol!

• yess myvi sucks like hell

people whose blinded by their desire to have a toyota passo then only buy the myvi

duh

:(

anyway

still a lot of surprise from Exora still unrevealed yet

:D

curious

curious

jus like benjamin button

:P

• ynnad on Mar 01, 2009 at 3:04 pm

they really could have done better on the centre console…

but doesnt look all that big after all now

• shamel (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 3:49 pm

Exterior pretty good but the interior especially DASHBOARD seems like Proton's designer already lost interest to put their effort to design better than this interior. BTW seat design acceptable.

• vemal on Mar 01, 2009 at 4:28 pm

NIssan Grand Livina 1.6/1.8 and Kia Rondo 2.0 still the Best on it class. Exora Cannot stand behind and cannot match the quality with this Import MPVs.

GO FOR IMPORT MPVs except Chery Easter.

• kerelbort on Mar 01, 2009 at 4:43 pm

how sure are you when saying kia is good quality? even in term of material?

• kimi_ on Mar 01, 2009 at 4:44 pm

MYVI is totally shit,crap….It is floating on highway only at 110km/h…..

Even SAGA is better lol

• kimi_ on Mar 01, 2009 at 4:47 pm

MYVI is totally sucks, crap……floating on highway only at110km/h

Even SAGA is better.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:22 pm

The seating configuration looks well thought out, but the overall interior styling looks like something from the 90s. Then again I think it's quite unfair to make a verdict based on this photo.

• Ridhwan on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:26 pm

Why the there's no "dimentions" of the car is been given so far. I think, it's more informative than those pictures.

• Myvi…what tha. Tats a car for someone that not actually driving and prefer ….what to say, moving kot. Proton is a driver's car. Way to go Savvy.

As for tis exora, hope it drives as what proton shud be, perhaps the best handling mpv

• jolly_idiot on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:43 pm

i'm very interested on it's engine cc. some say 1.8 cps campro, some say 1.6 cps campro. the body chassis is from mitsubishi grandis. it's kinda huge and I doubt to it's performance if running the campro engine. even mitsu uses a 2.4L mivec engine to move this big thingy. anyone know what it gonna b under it's hood?

• infinity on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:43 pm

paul,do u mind to get a higher resolution picture?i cant see the gate-type shifter la…

the interior is a bit too simple for a proton..i was expecting something more sporty if not luxury..but it turned out to be like this.

did u guys realize tat since DSZ took over, the interior all become less "canggih" d…dun include satria neo and persona..coz satria neo already in process when he took over and persona is adapted from gen2..take the saga and this exora..both interiors are simple..maybe they are practical, functional, easy to clean and less parts, thus less quality issues…but they are juz too simple…hopefully the rumoured "inovations" by si-fu and the rest will make up for the simple interior..still anticipating for the launch!!

• Littlefire on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:44 pm

WTF, Myvi is not the same category with this MPV stop comparing it! The nearest to compare are the new Perodua MPV coming around June/Julai.. Just wait for it, i can guarantee it will sale like hot cake coz "Japan" technology, Perodua design..

• WAJA MAN on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:47 pm

x mau cakap ape2 lah sape beli myvi mmg rugi ruang..saga lagi bagus

cakap exora ade panel dvd kat headrest tu..xde pun??? musykil.. any way nothing is perfect in this world… just accept ape yg ade.. bersyukur la weii

• vemal on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:51 pm

I am Having 3 Kia's instead of 1 in my House. So i have experience with Kia for past 3 years and confident with it. Have a bad experience with proton Savvy for past 2 years with their after sales service really sucks because their own mechanic always condemn "Memang Proton problem banyak" to ignore the problem from solved it.

[quote comment="216319"]how sure are you when saying kia is good quality? even in term of material?[/quote]

• julian-lee (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Myvi sucks… BMW 1-series much better!

• acerman on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:10 pm

I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?

• Dothan on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:22 pm

I am curious why the people always use myvi to compare with different category of cars. 1st: Myvi vs Savvy, 2nd Myvi vs Persona, 3rd Myvi vs Exora… Any good reason behind that? :)

• Proton MPV????? can "run" kah???/irather waiting for the perodua MPV at least its a T brand product….ha ha

• Dothan on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:26 pm

I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?

————————————————————–

Which model of Waja you are referring to? Remember last time lots of people bashing the slanting middle air cond vents that benefits the driver? Hehe :)

Anyhow, I owned a Waja 4G18P before. I would say it is quite nice to drive on the highway amid the FC is a bit high in city driving. This car was the last manual tranny I own and I still like the solid gear changing feel and hydralic clutch :)

• kazzzkat on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:27 pm

owh y its looks like plastickly? da,mn hate that when under the sun

• acerman (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:36 pm

[quote comment="216339"]I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?

————————————————————–

Which model of Waja you are referring to? Remember last time lots of people bashing the slanting middle air cond vents that benefits the driver? Hehe :)

Anyhow, I owned a Waja 4G18P before. I would say it is quite nice to drive on the highway amid the FC is a bit high in city driving. This car was the last manual tranny I own and I still like the solid gear changing feel and hydralic clutch :)[/quote]

I was refering to the new badge. Anyway, both look almost the same. I actually like the style of the dashboard. It's not so 'flat'.

• today teaser in newspaper just a snap of CPS engine .. I think start today, teaser will be post everyday in newspaper till it launch :D .. This year, all people will talking about MPV since Proton and Produa want to launch their MPV model this year..

[quote comment="216336"]I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?[/quote]

acerman -> for me .. wira is the best design :P .. hehe .. simple and nice :D

• cars-addict on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:48 pm

good work proton!!!!!the interior seems to look bigger than grand livina…anyway,perodua is just a copycat cause they can't build their 'own' car just like proton!!!!!

support proton 100%!!!!!!

• cars-addict on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:54 pm

acerman said:

i'm agree with you….

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:06 pm

[quote comment="216330"]paul,do u mind to get a higher resolution picture?i cant see the gate-type shifter la…

the interior is a bit too simple for a proton..i was expecting something more sporty if not luxury..but it turned out to be like this.

did u guys realize tat since DSZ took over, the interior all become less "canggih" d…dun include satria neo and persona..coz satria neo already in process when he took over and persona is adapted from gen2..take the saga and this exora..both interiors are simple..maybe they are practical, functional, easy to clean and less parts, thus less quality issues…but they are juz too simple…hopefully the rumoured "inovations" by si-fu and the rest will make up for the simple interior..still anticipating for the launch!![/quote]

Read azlano's blog. He had said that Proton had enuf of making jokes that Msians dun appreciate (not exactly like this, but the idea is there). So now they're becoming serious. No more "samurai hand brake", no more "BMW-ish driver-oriented dashboard", no more "alfa romeo grille", no more beige interior, NO MORE JOKES!!! Why so serious?

Of cuz I like some of that lunacies, bt hey, enuf of becoming a buttjoke to not oni msians, bt all over the world. Exora's interior may be boring, but it serves its function, period. Kang kalau buat apape pelik2, org bash lagi. Now I hardly hear abt new persona, saga blm having pw problems. Shouldn't Msians celebrate this rather than lamenting how the design gets more boring?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:08 pm

[quote comment="216289"][quote comment="216283"]good work!![/quote]

still a myvi is better[/quote]

Puh-leez la, stop embarrassing subang jaya. Go spam in satria neo cps post if wanna proclaim how ur myvi se roxx…… not.

• [quote comment="216342"][quote comment="216339"]I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?

————————————————————–

Anyhow, I owned a Waja 4G18P before. I would say it is quite nice to drive on the highway amid the FC is a bit high in city driving. This car was the last manual tranny I own and I still like the solid gear changing feel and hydralic clutch :)[/quote]

I was refering to the new badge. Anyway, both look almost the same. I actually like the style of the dashboard. It's not so 'flat'.[/quote]

I quite with you! Waja dashboard is nice to look at. But the word practical is not suitable for it. The aircond vents favours the drivers. For comparison purpose, the Exora dashboard is less stylo but more practical.

• Pity Proton, they maybe wonder why they (Proton) always blame when other manufacturers can do this and that. Still remember when KIA always got bash by many auto-journalist then; NOW.. they were praised.

SIMPLY: design.

• aicariefin on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:29 pm

Rumors from Proton Edar Indonesia is that they will have the car this June for the Indonesian market but is under discussion to have the car sold in Indonesia for a lower market price than in Malaysia. 80.000 RM is in the same league as the Toyota Kijang Innova, Nissan Livina 1.8 Ultimate, and it would be suicide for Proton Indonesia to sell above IDR 200 mio. If they can put the pricing around 140-180 mio with airbags and ABS then it might be considered. If not Indonesians still go for the Livina 1.5, Avanza G & S, APV Arena GX.

• acerman on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:45 pm

Who thinks that the Exora dashboard is too simple? I think there is something missing but I can't make out of it.

• stroller on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:56 pm

i guest the teaser is part of p1 mkt strategies. 1st they come out in all national paper the all 7 seater sitting arrangement, then the CPS engine, then the dashboard, and yesterday the 7 seater sitting fold flat configuration. todays paper they come out again the CPS engine. next will be the fun ICE… i guest… then the compartment holder ( i guest)… then… wall la… the whole unit come out in april…

anyway… it still better then the 'Av" of T badge offered, the "GL" 1.6l has… and the "C" of naza give… well the choice is ur's…

• Not bad actually i must say especially d gated shift gear. But i got d feeling

that its interior color would b beige color like most of d import brand now.

Dunno y nowadays most of d interior is in beige color like my frends new accord 2.0 '09 model. After 3days only u can see some dark stain alredy.

Really not suitable for our climate here i guess.

• khimfoh on Mar 01, 2009 at 8:34 pm

Personally, in my opinion a seats that can fold flat should be a common feature of all MPVs. Nothing to really shout about. I guess Proton is finally learning that function is more important than form.

• freeze on Mar 01, 2009 at 8:42 pm

I hope the door panels are not like the ones in the saga – all hard plastic and small portion of fabric.

Should be more like Waja panels if not Perdana.

• ROBERT on Mar 01, 2009 at 9:08 pm

non quality cars u buy it u will know

• what is the different between the gate-type shifter in this mpv and normal automatic gear like in saga, perdana and gen-2? i think they should equip this mpv with tiptronic/shiftronic transimission if they want to export it.

• I have a WAJA Campro, Gen 2 1.3 A and a IAFM Saga. My young son (21 years old) have driven all these cars. One fine day he drove his friend's new MYVI from Seremban to Malacca. He says the ride and handling is awful compared with my Protons. MYVI jumps up and down and could feel the yellow lines across the roads at junctions. I am confident that the ride and handling of Proton Exora would be much better that Avanza, Innova, Unser, Rusa, Rhondo, Livina and Citra. Way to go Proton. Cheers

• overflow (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 9:32 pm

"vemal said,

March 1, 2009 @ 8:28 am · Reply with quote

NIssan Grand Livina 1.6/1.8 and Kia Rondo 2.0 still the Best on it class. Exora Cannot stand behind and cannot match the quality with this Import MPVs.

GO FOR IMPORT MPVs except Chery Easter."

how you can say like that, did you own proton exora! if not please do not be crap clown in here you idiot nerd…

• FC_OBSESS on Mar 01, 2009 at 9:45 pm

Thought this mpv was equipped with NG kits + tank by proton.

Swivel nor karakuri seater is apparent from the photo.

The wheel arch intrusion is utilized completely for storage and cupholders in the third row. May not be convenient for hand rest, though.

Look roomy, but is there foldable hand rest?

• wuttaheck on Mar 01, 2009 at 9:53 pm

overflow said,

March 1, 2009 @ 1:32 pm · Reply with quote

“vemal said,

GO FOR IMPORT MPVs except Chery Easter.”

how you can say like that, did you own proton exora! if not please do not be crap clown in here you idiot nerd…

haha!nicely said

• vemal on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:17 pm

I hate the Proton's Attitudes and very outdated.So far only having 1 Engine. Campro CPS with Timing Belt system. Were now Japanese n Korean using Timing Chain and less maintenance.

Proton Survive because get protected. If Open Market, HEHEHE…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:42 pm

[quote comment="216334"]Myvi sucks… BMW 1-series much better![/quote]

haiyaa…bmw 1 series is suxxxxxx like helll!!!very ugly…lambo gallardo is a way better….

dey kici..compare apple to apple laa…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:45 pm

[quote comment="216373"]"vemal said,

how you can say like that, did you own proton exora! if not please do not be crap clown in here you idiot nerd…[/quote]

plz mind ur word dude..are u clever enough huh??thats his opinion…so let it be…

• Prem3377 on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:50 pm

[quote comment="216395"]I hate the Proton's Attitudes and very outdated.So far only having 1 Engine. Campro CPS with Timing Belt system. Were now Japanese n Korean using Timing Chain and less maintenance.

Proton Survive because get protected. If Open Market, HEHEHE…..[/quote]

people here hate your attitude as well so better stop writing and do anything better…malaysian people are too confused…

when they say proton is protected..think again…

when we get subsidy..we are protected..and when we dont we complain..

when we are protected…we complain..and when we are not..we will complain…

please la k…dont waste your time here…our attitude reflect our country…cause we are malaysians and part of the country…if the country is not right..we are too!!!remember that!!!

• hvannees on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:56 pm

[quote comment="216395"]I hate the Proton's Attitudes and very outdated.So far only having 1 Engine. Campro CPS with Timing Belt system. Were now Japanese n Korean using Timing Chain and less maintenance.

What HEHEHE? u so proud of japan or korea? so blahla from malaysia and eat sushi everyday!

• i'm MyviKiller on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Looks like a Myvi dashboard from this angle. BTW I don't understand why people bashes the product when it's not launched yet, don't judge it by the looks alone ppl!

• middels8088 (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:02 am

[quote comment="216317"]NIssan Grand Livina 1.6/1.8 and Kia Rondo 2.0 still the Best on it class. Exora Cannot stand behind and cannot match the quality with this Import MPVs.

GO FOR IMPORT MPVs except Chery Easter.[/quote]

My father got a Kia Carens…. (The last gen…) we put a bike in the car and after that, the plastics are badly scratched….[quote comment="216288"]myvi is better[/quote]

Myvi is the worst car ever seen!!! (I mean Perodua cars…)

Nice folding the Proton Exora can do… waiting for more info…

• pistol on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:13 am

ala…. there will be no surprise anymore after the launching if they show all the interior( actually not all la) btw good luck proton.

• zaman on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:17 am

Viva's ( i mean perodua) quality is very worst. My viva always bunyi krok2 dkt tayar dia kat depan. Really worst car.

• menawan on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:19 am

HIDUP PROTON!!!

• osh_kosh on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:32 am

[quote comment=”216351″][quote comment=”216342″][quote comment=”216339″]I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?

————————————————————–

I was refering to the new badge. Anyway, both look almost the same. I actually like the style of the dashboard. It’s not so ‘flat’.[/quote]

I quite with you! Waja dashboard is nice to look at. But the word practical is not suitable for it. The aircond vents favours the drivers. For comparison purpose, the Exora dashboard is less stylo but more practical.[/quote]

maybe b’coz most of the time there’s only one person in a car? the driver..duhhh…. anybody got statistic on this?

• kahing on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:33 am

PROTON !!!! SHOW US THE DAMN CAR LAH!!!!!

• jagat on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:35 am

yapp.. my viva also suck up. Better i buy another car than this but nasi dah jd bubur. Menghabiskan boras den je!! Annoying car!!

Wow proton exora! beautiful car for me. Please proton i just hope on you after i was being lied by Our second national car maker

• acerman on Mar 02, 2009 at 12:59 am

My wife's VIVA already got rattling sound from inside the door the driver's side and I brought it 9 month ago. It was annoying. Once I was proud of P2, because my kancil lasted for almost 10 years it's still going and running though I can hear those weird sound inside the engine, but now I am doubt about P2 cars. I'm afraid that P2 would forgot about it's quality but instead make for profit out of quantity.

I am here as not a basher nor a supporter of proton but what I had seen, Proton could move forward and I bet they can build better products with high quality standards. It's not easy making cars. It needs a lot of time. It's like learning, U start from ABC and 123 and then U go even further. I am proud of Proton, they had achieved a lot lately. I read through this blog most manufacturers are building and making mean machines but proton is still building cars for people of Malaysia. I can still my teacher use to drove the Proton Saga to the school and until now he is still driving it though he has retired. Just look of how far Proton had become, from zero to something and now they are building this MPV, at least they have their own effort in building one. Don't U agree guys?

• oh dear, this is seriously gonna give the grand livina and rondo a run for its money.

• tiadaid (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 1:31 am

[quote comment="216362"]Personally, in my opinion a seats that can fold flat should be a common feature of all MPVs. Nothing to really shout about. I guess Proton is finally learning that function is more important than form.[/quote]

That's good la…Proton learning something.

• tiadaid (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 1:39 am

You think Japan & Korea open market ah? I've heard in Japan, if you buy foreign car, you'll be audited by the G! So what's so open? Even US is not open marketla…check ur history books and see how they "voluntarily" limited the amount of imported cars in the 80s…

• Mojave on Mar 02, 2009 at 1:46 am

[quote comment="216420"][quote comment="216395"]I hate the Proton's Attitudes and very outdated.So far only having 1 Engine. Campro CPS with Timing Belt system. Were now Japanese n Korean using Timing Chain and less maintenance.

You think Japan & Korea open market ah? I've heard in Japan, if you buy foreign car, you'll be audited by the G! So what's so open? Even US is not open marketla…check ur history books and see how they "voluntarily" limited the amount of imported cars in the 80s…[/quote]

But their local cars are very good.

• vemal on Mar 02, 2009 at 2:12 am

Anyway, Happy Buying this Exora………

I am not Dare and won't recommend my friends.

• ambipur on Mar 02, 2009 at 2:19 am

by the looks of the space it seems ok. what i still wonder about is will the 1.6 be able to pull the car? say 7 adults? long distance journey?

kia citra engine is so-so and lacks comfort

grand livina comfortable car yet lacks in pulling power

wish is quite comfortable quite a nice engine too, and from what is see from the exora pics 2nd and 3rd row seats quite similar headrests dont u think?

as i currently own a 1999 toyota ipsum 2.0 , smooth and powerful yet comfortable. bear in mind, roads in sarawak here arent the same as those in peninsula. hopefully that this exora is as good as it looks and perform as it should be.

• hope the engine up to expectation when it launched.

Proton gambateh!!

• kimi_ on Mar 02, 2009 at 2:45 am

pity vemal…………

Anyway, my neighbour 3 months Viva broke downs twice already !!!

Viva really sucks like hell……boycott viva and da crap Myvi

• firdaus on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:01 am

perodua not so good lah… I drive a viva… very poor handling.. rasa mcm nk terbalik amik cornering at just 70km/h… nasib baik plan for kereta yg dipakai sampai hancur… so this exora may be the next target la kot… design dalam xde la lawa tapi nmpk mcm ok.. yg penting long distance travelling best…

• overflow (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:03 am

japanese automaker already did use timing chain before timing belt but timing chain had a lot of problem which use a lot of lubricant.. now they use a new material which a lot expensive to maintain..and for korea they doesn't develope anything they just copying from other automaker..

• overflow (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:12 am

[quote comment="216400"][quote comment="216373"]"vemal said,

how you can say like that, did you own proton exora! if not please do not be crap clown in here you idiot nerd…[/quote]

plz mind ur word dude..are u clever enough huh??thats his opinion…so let it be…[/quote]

ok fine i want ask u did that fellow already drive proton mpv.. if not how can be that clown can comment about proton mpv which that doesn't know about that mpv..please be mature la dude..

• androndraco on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:21 am

i expected proton's first mpv will come out with a modern design for both its interior and exterior. what i have see, the designs are way behind. its worsen by the name they have choosen – proton exora. proton's first mpv, not as what i've expected.

• infinity on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:26 am

actually..the dash do look like myvi's dash..jz tat myvi comes with intergrated audio system…thus looks a bit diff…this 1 not intergrated..good also..coz we can cuztomized it ourselves..or if spoilt also, we can change it outside..no need use back the one supplied by proton..

• androndraco on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:28 am

[quote comment="216336"]I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?[/quote]

i agree

• androndraco on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:35 am

[quote comment="216339"]I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?

————————————————————–

i like waja dashboard design but dislike the center air cond vent direction that benefits the driver not passenger at the back. i experienced it, could not feel the air cond when sit at the back.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:36 am

[quote comment="216433"][quote comment="216400"][quote comment="216373"]"vemal said,

i dont care what he or u wanna say but u can say it in a polite way rite..everybody deserve give a comment here…so???cheers…

plz mind ur word dude..are u clever enough huh??thats his opinion…so let it be…[/quote]

ok fine i want ask u did that fellow already drive proton mpv.. if not how can be that clown can comment about proton mpv which that doesn't know about that mpv..please be mature la dude..[/quote]

• red7 (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:39 am

for long distance journey, i can place a mattress behind it and just sleep in Exora!

hahahaha

• androndraco on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:43 am

[quote comment="216361"]Not bad actually i must say especially d gated shift gear. But i got d feeling

Dunno y nowadays most of d interior is in beige color like my frends new accord 2.0 '09 model. After 3days only u can see some dark stain alredy.

Really not suitable for our climate here i guess.[/quote]

i agree with you. the most suitable interior color is black, tak cepat kotor dan senang nak jaga. as for leather seats, this material is not 'friendly' to human body. fabric seats (of course in black or grey, but not beige again) is better and more comfy.

• adrian on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:47 am

U won't regret since proton promises exora could achieve 140km/h easily. Exceed hway limits i.e. 110km/h. Long happy journey with exora

• Just 1.6 CC , underpower??

• kelvink on Mar 02, 2009 at 5:43 am

Does anyone know if proton exora H-Line come with navigator gps. cos i was told there will be but from d photo, it seems no.

• infinity on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:24 am

perhaps a portable1..like the one found in persona..

• One good point that I see from this picture, when the back seat is in normal position, there are still some space for luggages. Compare to livina, the space is almost non existent. This is a very important point as just imagine, if you're going for a vacation with full 7 people, where do you want to place the luggages?

• [quote comment="216455"]One good point that I see from this picture, when the back seat is in normal position, there are still some space for luggages. Compare to livina, the space is almost non existent. This is a very important point as just imagine, if you're going for a vacation with full 7 people, where do you want to place the luggages?[/quote]

Also if we see carefully, we can see there is a square box at the luggages place.

Maybe this is the storage place that some1 mention it b4. hehe

Can hide weapon there… lol

• EricG on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:50 am

so wheres the LCD display unit?

• vista on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:18 am

looks spacious.

• osh_kosh on Mar 02, 2009 at 8:14 am

[quote comment="216455"]One good point that I see from this picture, when the back seat is in normal position, there are still some space for luggages. Compare to livina, the space is almost non existent. This is a very important point as just imagine, if you're going for a vacation with full 7 people, where do you want to place the luggages?[/quote]

agree with u, same with Rondo… luggage space very small if using the 3rd row seat… need Thule box… but interior design & quality much better than GL… Exora still don't know… need to see in flesh..

• Mr_Zack on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:50 am

someone said :

it was inside utm for it's technological roadshow , and i have paid my visit to the new proton exora .

one surprising thing that i've foudn out is the front mask brace which is supposed to hold the radiator, headlamp and bumper is using composite plastic as the material .

i am not quite sure about the cost effectiveness of this idea , but i suspect part of it is to reduce the weight by few stone kilograms only .

that means pray hard it wont crack if it is being hit from the front, it might cause problem when the front panel has to hold so many stuff and it wont sustain flex due to the nature of the plastic instead of steel. once crack , we might need to dismantle the headlamp, radiator and bumper to change the front frame.

• menawan on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:20 am

[quote comment="216421"][quote comment="216420"][quote comment="216395"]I hate the Proton's Attitudes and very outdated.So far only having 1 Engine. Campro CPS with Timing Belt system. Were now Japanese n Korean using Timing Chain and less maintenance.

You think Japan & Korea open market ah? I've heard in Japan, if you buy foreign car, you'll be audited by the G! So what's so open? Even US is not open marketla…check ur history books and see how they "voluntarily" limited the amount of imported cars in the 80s…[/quote]

But their local cars are very good.[/quote]

our local cars also very good

• menawan on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:21 am

[quote comment="216429"]pity vemal…………

Anyway, my neighbour 3 months Viva broke downs twice already !!!

Viva really sucks like hell……boycott viva and da crap Myvi[/quote]

sokong

• menawan on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:22 am

[quote comment="216288"]myvi is better[/quote]

Myvi??? wat a stupid comment…

• menawan on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:23 am

[quote comment="216478"]PROTON !!!! SHOW US THE DAMN CAR LAH!!!!![/quote]

show u, if u really want to buy

• hvannees on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:03 am

[quote comment="216478"]PROTON !!!! SHOW US THE DAMN CAR LAH!!!!![/quote]

please be patient ok.. what a silly..

• [quote comment="216477"][quote comment="216351"][quote comment="216342"][quote comment="216339"]I think the nicest looking dashboard so far from Proton is still the one they got in the Waja. Not so simple nor elegant but yet practical. Who agrees with me?

————————————————————–

I was refering to the new badge. Anyway, both look almost the same. I actually like the style of the dashboard. It's not so 'flat'.[/quote]

I quite with you! Waja dashboard is nice to look at. But the word practical is not suitable for it. The aircond vents favours the drivers. For comparison purpose, the Exora dashboard is less stylo but more practical.[/quote]

maybe b'coz most of the time there's only one person in a car? the driver..duhhh…. anybody got statistic on this?[/quote]

the center console heading to driver for its own reason, its for easy reaching for driver to control center unit, about the air-cond vent, the adjustable can be adjust to channel air to the back, i have no problem with that. seriously ok, cuz i always seat at the back.

;p

• NeeD For SpeeD on Mar 02, 2009 at 4:03 pm

One word that can i said about this Exora.

SPACIOUS!!!

Value for money.. Good Job..

• shamel (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 4:06 pm

[quote comment="216356"]Who thinks that the Exora dashboard is too simple? I think there is something missing but I can't make out of it.[/quote]

I pray for Proton to show a way better than teaser interior photo when the actual mpv launch in April. I hope they just "pekena" us with ugly interior photo and when everyone visit showroom they'll pleased with BETTER end product.

This surprise will make EXORA juara not JUARA.

Love Proton.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 4:23 pm

looks like a nice simple interior. more functional than outright looks.. safe.. i suppose maybe thats what proton needs right now, rather than their radical interiors from the past, especially during the 'no glovebox' era. this is so much better from proton.

• i guess they will keep it showing like this till the launch date. perhaps a teaser like Lambo "the Geneva debut"

• upinipin on Mar 02, 2009 at 4:58 pm

[quote comment="216526"][quote comment="216356"]Who thinks that the Exora dashboard is too simple? I think there is something missing but I can't make out of it.[/quote]

I pray for Proton to show a way better than teaser interior photo when the actual mpv launch in April. I hope they just "pekena" us with ugly interior photo and when everyone visit showroom they'll pleased with BETTER end product.

This surprise will make EXORA juara not JUARA.

Love Proton.[/quote]

ohoho Shamel… I hope so too…

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 5:22 pm

[quote comment="216331"]WTF, Myvi is not the same category with this MPV stop comparing it! The nearest to compare are the new Perodua MPV coming around June/Julai.. Just wait for it, i can guarantee it will sale like hot cake coz "Japan" technology, Perodua design..[/quote]

talk like crap… are you smoking crack… most all P2 are blind or have to used sunglass. P2 are daihatsu a.k.a toyota & it mean copy, cut, paste & duplicate. no inovation, no idea. just take out the bumper then put new bumper and rebage P2. pity.

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 5:26 pm

[quote comment="216329"]i'm very interested on it's engine cc. some say 1.8 cps campro, some say 1.6 cps campro. the body chassis is from mitsubishi grandis. it's kinda huge and I doubt to it's performance if running the campro engine. even mitsu uses a 2.4L mivec engine to move this big thingy. anyone know what it gonna b under it's hood?[/quote]

Damn, i think u realize that u r an idiot man…ur nick says it all….where the hell did u get the idea that this is Mitsu Grandis chasis? Any prove to back it? Dont simply spread romours la….This MPV got nothing to do with Grandis or any other MPV for that matter….to prove my point, check the dimensions when the MPV launched later….and GO TAKE A LOOK AND THE STRUCTURE where it was revealed way long time ago……stop making urself a fool by giving foolish and idiotic comments!

[quote comment="216361"]Not bad actually i must say especially d gated shift gear. But i got d feeling

Trust me, the interior is no where near beige, to get an idea wat the interior colour is, look at the first teaser image that was released, the one floating on the wheels.

[quote comment="216372"]I have a WAJA Campro, Gen 2 1.3 A and a IAFM Saga. My young son (21 years old) have driven all these cars. One fine day he drove his friend's new MYVI from Seremban to Malacca. He says the ride and handling is awful compared with my Protons. MYVI jumps up and down and could feel the yellow lines across the roads at junctions. I am confident that the ride and handling of Proton Exora would be much better that Avanza, Innova, Unser, Rusa, Rhondo, Livina and Citra. Way to go Proton. Cheers[/quote]

Zool, u gonna be one happy man if u drive this MPV, it has superb handling!!!! Comparable to a car, better then most cars out there (so obviously better then most MPV out there and definitely better then Livina)….it has very minimal body roll….doesn't shy off in corners, doesn't give the feeling of 'floating' or 'nak terbalik'….it sticks to the ground superbly but at the same time it provides sufficient comfort. The engine gives adequate power. no hassle to reach 140/150kmh. To sum up, this MPV handles slightly better then Waja….which is very good for an MPV!!!

[quote comment="216493"]someone said :

it was inside utm for it's technological roadshow , and i have paid my visit to the new proton exora .

one surprising thing that i've foudn out is the front mask brace which is supposed to hold the radiator, headlamp and bumper is using composite plastic as the material .

i am not quite sure about the cost effectiveness of this idea , but i suspect part of it is to reduce the weight by few stone kilograms only .

that means pray hard it wont crack if it is being hit from the front, it might cause problem when the front panel has to hold so many stuff and it wont sustain flex due to the nature of the plastic instead of steel. once crack , we might need to dismantle the headlamp, radiator and bumper to change the front frame.[/quote]

U gonna be suprised with this….actually i was wondering why no one noticed when the structure was revealed to the public long time ago….trust me, its one of the smart innovations that proton has put into the MPV…..i will reveal the details, the benefit, the reason, the advantage behind it once the MPV is launched!

Cheers

• kingv6 on Mar 02, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Cant wait for official comparison between Proton Exora vs Perodua Nautica

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 5:47 pm

yea protected, but by true malaysian. if by u surely even merc vito will dead by super engenerd brain from you. pity….

adios…

• other leak info… exora have low gravity center so the drive more stable. it help the cps engine run smooth. please refer back the body structure and combine the teaser to get idea. dashbord are more batter than teaser. secret….

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:26 pm

[quote comment="216557"]other leak info… exora have low gravity center so the drive more stable. it help the cps engine run smooth. please refer back the body structure and combine the teaser to get idea. dashbord are more batter than teaser. secret….[/quote]

is it just other teaser……?????????

• scottloeb on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:27 pm

[quote comment="216536"][quote comment="216329"]i'm very interested on it's engine cc. some say 1.8 cps campro, some say 1.6 cps campro. the body chassis is from mitsubishi grandis. it's kinda huge and I doubt to it's performance if running the campro engine. even mitsu uses a 2.4L mivec engine to move this big thingy. anyone know what it gonna b under it's hood?[/quote]

Damn, i think u realize that u r an idiot man…ur nick says it all….where the hell did u get the idea that this is Mitsu Grandis chasis? Any prove to back it? Dont simply spread romours la….This MPV got nothing to do with Grandis or any other MPV for that matter….to prove my point, check the dimensions when the MPV launched later….and GO TAKE A LOOK AND THE STRUCTURE where it was revealed way long time ago……stop making urself a fool by giving foolish and idiotic comments!

Trust me, the interior is no where near beige, to get an idea wat the interior colour is, look at the first teaser image that was released, the one floating on the wheels.

[quote comment="216372"]I have a WAJA Campro, Gen 2 1.3 A and a IAFM Saga. My young son (21 years old) have driven all these cars. One fine day he drove his friend's new MYVI from Seremban to Malacca. He says the ride and handling is awful compared with my Protons. MYVI jumps up and down and could feel the yellow lines across the roads at junctions. I am confident that the ride and handling of Proton Exora would be much better that Avanza, Innova, Unser, Rusa, Rhondo, Livina and Citra. Way to go Proton. Cheers[/quote]

Zool, u gonna be one happy man if u drive this MPV, it has superb handling!!!! Comparable to a car, better then most cars out there (so obviously better then most MPV out there and definitely better then Livina)….it has very minimal body roll….doesn't shy off in corners, doesn't give the feeling of 'floating' or 'nak terbalik'….it sticks to the ground superbly but at the same time it provides sufficient comfort. The engine gives adequate power. no hassle to reach 140/150kmh. To sum up, this MPV handles slightly better then Waja….which is very good for an MPV!!!

[quote comment="216493"]someone said :

that means pray hard it wont crack if it is being hit from the front, it might cause problem when the front panel has to hold so many stuff and it wont sustain flex due to the nature of the plastic instead of steel. once crack , we might need to dismantle the headlamp, radiator and bumper to change the front frame.[/quote]

U gonna be suprised with this….actually i was wondering why no one noticed when the structure was revealed to the public long time ago….trust me, its one of the smart innovations that proton has put into the MPV…..i will reveal the details, the benefit, the reason, the advantage behind it once the MPV is launched!

Cheers[/quote]

Si-fu,

Kalau FRP banyak jgn cerita, public at large tak paham, nanti dia kata kereta mainan. And tak mungkin nak pakai sandwich, mahal mati (dulu my batch sudah study, skang MYR to GBP sudah ok haha). Itu cerita, bukak engineering journal baru itu engineer kata ok. Send regards to CAE team. Harap2 tadak vibrate/boom mcm kereta zaman TM.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:33 pm

[quote comment="216539"]Cant wait for official comparison between Proton Exora vs Perodua Nautica[/quote]

er.. but WHY?

the nautica is a 5 seater.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:42 pm

I guess the interior colour of this MPV will be the same colour in the previous teaser by P1 that's with the floating seats. Regarding the dashboard, the teaser picture not the final one. May be it has wooden panel on it, who knows. The steering also, may be leather wrap or it has wooden looks like GL 1.8. Same goes to the door panel, have a wooden looks. Guessing only. Any comment onthat sifu.

Anyway just wait for the official launch.

Good luck Proton. Build more quality cars and practical to the customer.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:48 pm

[quote comment="216560"][quote comment="216539"]Cant wait for official comparison between Proton Exora vs Perodua Nautica[/quote]

er.. but WHY?

the nautica is a 5 seater.[/quote]

guess his thinking of owning nautica? thats y he wan2 compares exora with nautica. but i bet exora is a better buy than nautica, eventho latter 1 is manufactured in jap factory doesnt mean its better.

• Alifz on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Hi Si-Fu,

Glad to hear your comments. Since u're insider just to ask u since u said handling Exora is better than Waja, does it means Exora chasis is derived from Waja, or Chancellor?

• kokwai (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:55 pm

[/quote]

1 simple question, how often do you change your timing belt ? Every 5k km ??

Stop making such a big fuss over timing belt vs. chain, how much different in maintainance does it make ?

• Realeyes (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:55 pm

[quote comment="216461"]so wheres the LCD display unit?[/quote]

I wonder about that too. If it mounted on the center of the ceiling/inside roof of the 2nd row seat, it will obstruct the rear view mirror.

• madimat on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Si-Fu said,

…To sum up, this MPV handles slightly better then Waja….which is very good for an MPV!!!

…………………………………………………………….

I drive a 2003 Waja and I like the handling very much even until now, still much like the way it handles the first time I took it out from a Proton dealer. So for you to say that the handling of Exora is better than a Waja I will say,.. wow! .. I should trade-in my Waja to this one la dude!

What a pity because I love my old Waja very much – not much problem except those tiny door handle problems which cost me much less than RM120 for 2 doors, (those include painting and fixing jobs ) – other than that are just regular scheduled maintenance issues.

Good job Proton engineers! Hope this baby will get a good and decent reviews from the QUALIFIED motoring journalists out there.

.peace!

• madimat on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:12 pm

[quote comment="216570"][quote comment="216461"]so wheres the LCD display unit?[/quote]

I wonder about that too. If it mounted on the center of the ceiling/inside roof of the 2nd row seat, it will obstruct the rear view mirror.[/quote]

Sir,

Information from PROTON says the DVD/LCD unit will be a standard feature for the Hi-Line version ONLY, and it will be roof mounted.

If you concerned so much about Exora's LCD screen obstruct the rear view mirror then you also should also concern about all the other makers (Toyota/Honda/Nissan/ etc etc) current MPVs out there on the road with the same or even wider and bigger LCD screen hanging down their roofs ! =)

just my dua sen.

.peace!

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:16 pm

offtopic>>

if there is MSX/APX, then Nautica comparison will be interesting ;)

somehow the public should know the engineering achievement of this exora.

to know is to appreciate.

where the launching will be held? KLCC?

• sigh…do you guys know that laughing is the best medicine,and that everytime i read the comments u people post on this blog,its kinda funny to read….so,to all those funny people out there,thanks for brightening my day ; )

ok..here are my comments….

to all proton bashers…get a life…

to all perodua bashers…get a life….

and for some retards who compare myvi with saloon cars like waja,persona,blm etc….get a life…coz myvi is short wheel base…

and for all those who would start to bash me…get a life…..

ok..here are my experience..i own a myvi SE ( now all of perodua bashers will start to plan how to bash me..but as i said…get a life…) and i am going to sell it now..its on thestar classifieds,do call me if u re intrested…neway,i own a honda civic now ( now all of honda bashers will start to plan on how to bash me….but i will say "get a life"….) and to my horror,first day one of the HID,the left side didnt work…can u guys imagine,a new car,and first day dah ada problem..adui,pening aku…tapi,as my motto goes "it all depends on ur luck"…now i have been using civic for the past 4 months,great car,no problem..its just a car,like any other car,fun to drive……my myvi,why am i selling my myvi ? well…its 1.3…and of course u can't expect a 1.3 engine to deliver a 2.0 engine power…( now perodua bashers who said myvi can't go more than 120km/h will be looking like clowns )….and seriously,its just a normal family car,with limited power,n of course its made in malaysia,the same with my civic 2.0 which was assembled in melaka ( malaysia boleh !! )…so,after using myvi for 7 months,i finally decided to sell it..oh ya,ehem,for those who wish to buy,check on thestar classified please..lol…

now….for those who are gonna bash me for no reason..lemme continue with my story….my dad once owned a proton waja errr 7 years back..if i am not mistaken lah…then it turned out to be a nice car on the first week..nice interior,nice exterior….nice suspension….BUT,after that,the car turned out to be a nightmare…..the front mirror cracked itself…then power window failed…then engine made some funny noise..and the list goes till my dad sold it after 2 years and took a nissan cefiro…well..cefiro..hmmm its another dugong…underpowered car..and its meant for old uncle's lah……..used cefiro for errr 5 years…then recently he bought a honda accord 3.5 V6..which was an imported one,thank god not assembled in melaka…so far the car is perfect..no problem,not even a single problem after 7 months of use……

so…what am i trying to tell to all those bashers out there is….all malaysian made stuffs are "junk"….seriously,a proton,a perodua,a ckd honda,a ckd toyota,a ckd nissan…name it,anything made in malaysia is a failure…and for some retards who are comparing foriegn cars like bmw,lamborghini and stuffs,get a life lah..u people are so rich to own such car izzit ?…we malaysians are trapped with a "dumb" gomen..and to be honest,all car manufacturers are robbing us by stealing our money and delivering a poor quality car….so…if u people still want to bash me…go on..i am not bothered…coz u people are just a bunch of narrowminded freaks..and some "over fanatic and protective psycho's of certain car manufacturers"..whom dont have a "life"….

and for those whom patiently read till this..u gotta be an angel : )

p/s….i SUPPORT smartfortwo…its cute,but no money to buy,since our gomen are raping us with tax…sigh..poor me :p

• ambipur on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:17 pm

[quote comment="216329"]i'm very interested on it's engine cc. some say 1.8 cps campro, some say 1.6 cps campro. the body chassis is from mitsubishi grandis. it's kinda huge and I doubt to it's performance if running the campro engine. even mitsu uses a 2.4L mivec engine to move this big thingy. anyone know what it gonna b under it's hood?[/quote]

this might be true. waja and gen 2 chasis from old lancer c2ka. im sure the exora also shares chasis from mitusbishi

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:20 pm

hmmm…could proton re-design the dashboard? pls…

may be the design stage is frozen now..but the dashbrd looks boring..:(

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:22 pm

[quote comment="216581"][quote comment="216329"]i'm very interested on it's engine cc. some say 1.8 cps campro, some say 1.6 cps campro. the body chassis is from mitsubishi grandis. it's kinda huge and I doubt to it's performance if running the campro engine. even mitsu uses a 2.4L mivec engine to move this big thingy. anyone know what it gonna b under it's hood?[/quote]

this might be true. waja and gen 2 chasis from old lancer c2ka. im sure the exora also shares chasis from mitusbishi[/quote]

might be false also ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:27 pm

[quote comment="216581"][quote comment="216329"]i'm very interested on it's engine cc. some say 1.8 cps campro, some say 1.6 cps campro. the body chassis is from mitsubishi grandis. it's kinda huge and I doubt to it's performance if running the campro engine. even mitsu uses a 2.4L mivec engine to move this big thingy. anyone know what it gonna b under it's hood?[/quote]

this might be true. waja and gen 2 chasis from old lancer c2ka. im sure the exora also shares chasis from mitusbishi[/quote]

but there were also a large crowd on the forum previously who were 100% convinced the proton mpv is a chery eastar.

they will probably disagree with you as well.

• Littlefire on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Timing belt & Timing chain has been long time discuss…

Manufacturer use timing belt coz:

Advantage = quieter, cheaper material (rubber), can modified the pulley easily (adjustable degree pulley or racing pulley).

Disadvantage = Around 100'000km need to be replace, workmanship charges expensive, easy to spoils if polluted with oil or other chemical in hot weather..

Timing chain:

Advantage = Last longer, more durable compare to rubber ( Metal & already in engine and protected by the engine oil), only need to change around 250'000km.

Disadvantage = If not service properly, the engine may built up carbon and cause the timing chain to be carbonize. When the chain is carbonize, it's create a lot of voice when friction happen between carbon & metal and cannot last longer. Material more expensive due to metal chain.

If seen in the current engine technology, timing chain is consider more better due to longer lasting and less maintenance fee needed to change it every 100'000km. With engine material getting more & more better, such like aluminum engine. It can absorb more engine voice, lighter & cooler compare to the traditional engine which use cast iron. So for the timing chain voice can be reduce due to aluminum.

Due to our Campro engine is not so high tech, they still cant use timing chain or they dont want to? This leave to the technical part, as i know in term of business timing belt means more business for the mechanic as belt can snap easily and walla, road side mechanic: "pi cari engine kosong masuk! Belt putus engine head habis.. "

• Alifz on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:35 pm

ambipur,

Waja chasis is based from Volvo S40 and Mitsubishi Charisma, where this Charisma never make way to Malaysia market. Refer on this at wikipedia.org

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:42 pm

[quote comment="216589"][quote comment="216581"][quote comment="216329"]i'm very interested on it's engine cc. some say 1.8 cps campro, some say 1.6 cps campro. the body chassis is from mitsubishi grandis. it's kinda huge and I doubt to it's performance if running the campro engine. even mitsu uses a 2.4L mivec engine to move this big thingy. anyone know what it gonna b under it's hood?[/quote]

might be false also ;)[/quote]

totaly difrence even the center gravity also low. good for CPS engine.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:56 pm

[quote comment="216592"]

Due to our Campro engine is not so high tech, they still cant use timing chain or they dont want to? This leave to the technical part, as i know in term of business timing belt means more business for the mechanic as belt can snap easily and walla, road side mechanic: "pi cari engine kosong masuk! Belt putus engine head habis.. "[/quote]

A Timing belt does not "snap easily". a car with a timing belt fitted, if all service intervals are met, will not have a problem over the life of the car.

likewise, any car, not maintained probably will most likely have an expensive repair job waiting to happen.

• myvi sux,,,proton sux too

• Littlefire on Mar 02, 2009 at 8:27 pm

Well, i mean durability.. If compare rubber to metal, for sure the normal timing belt snap easily compare to metal chain.. Even primary school children know this fact..

I have seen a few Proton timing belt snap… 1 going for around 70,000km manual 2008 Gen.2 1.6L (freak case).. Just fix his valve and piston before CNY.. What happend is the casket leak coz the engine oil to leak and soak the timing belt. When our hot temperature hit it, it made the rubber timing belt easily to crack and snap.. Other cases are the owner (first time owners) didn't even know that the engine need to change timing belt! I think a lot of car owners need to go for education class to know their car basis well.. Technology & maintenance awareness among car owners are very low in Malaysia, as salesman only know how to sale but never educate the owner, or the owner lazy to study the manual booklet..

So that BanyakMasukWorkshop mention also true, most go service car properly. Anyway just to mention, timing belt snap Proton will not warranty the engine. As the car owner tow his car from Proton service center to the road side mechanic to fix it and the price is cheaper compare to the quote price from Proton stuff.. (I heard almost RM1k to fix with new valves + piston + new casket + timing belt kit)..

• [quote comment="216493"]someone said :

That is call Front End Module. Many manufacturers already implemnted it nowdays. By not mantioning any please see it by your self in showrooms.

• henryee on Mar 02, 2009 at 8:51 pm

[quote comment="216344"]good work proton!!!!!the interior seems to look bigger than grand livina…anyway,perodua is just a copycat cause they can't build their 'own' car just like proton!!!!!

support proton 100%!!!!!![/quote]

you are totally talking about bullshxt!!!

remember that, Proton used to buy Toyota Wish from toyota just to change the interior, and steering.

This proton Exora is just exactly a copy cat from Mitsubishi Grandis onli, plus some Malaysian designers' design. Don't just simply say say only ma, any car brand that launch new car in Malaysia, we must support, although I owned a Myvi already, but we are potential buyers rite.

So just let us hope their after sales services and quality of production keep going better and better, and don't let us down again, Proton…

• bmpower on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:03 pm

[quote comment="216623"][quote comment="216344"]

This proton Exora is just exactly a copy cat from Mitsubishi Grandis onli, plus some Malaysian designers' design. Don't just simply say say only ma, any car brand that launch new car in Malaysia, we must support, although I owned a Myvi already, but we are potential buyers rite.

So just let us hope their after sales services and quality of production keep going better and better, and don't let us down again, Proton…[/quote]

you're living in you own world ?

• ambipur on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:06 pm

[quote comment="216594"]ambipur,

Waja chasis is based from Volvo S40 and Mitsubishi Charisma, where this Charisma never make way to Malaysia market. Refer on this at wikipedia.org[/quote]

the Mitsubishi Charisma is essentially a hatchback version of the Lancer. when u see a waja and lancer jacked up, can see quite a lot of similarities. plus, from what i see front end of the waja looks kinda similar to the 98 vw bora? hmm…

im not here to bash proton, i love proton cars, wajas are one of the best, just that the campro isnt up to its stats as i may say. plus interior quality of the gen2 is quite shabby compared to the waja or wira. if the exora interior is as good or better than the waja, engine is good, i salute to proton.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:08 pm

[quote comment="216623"][quote comment="216344"]good work proton!!!!!the interior seems to look bigger than grand livina…anyway,perodua is just a copycat cause they can't build their 'own' car just like proton!!!!!

remember that, Proton used to buy Toyota Wish from toyota just to change the interior, and steering.

So just let us hope their after sales services and quality of production keep going better and better, and don't let us down again, Proton…[/quote]

do u know what is the purpose of mule? the 1 that proton used wish as testbed. if u dnt know, u better eat ur words "remember that, Proton used to buy Toyota Wish from toyota just to change the interior, and steering.

This proton Exora is just exactly a copy cat from Mitsubishi Grandis onli, plus some Malaysian designers' design."

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:10 pm

din know malaysian's intelligence level degraded so much

• julajuli on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:17 pm

yea!!!! boycott P2 low quality. only know how to make more and more profit

• scottloeb on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:27 pm

[quote comment="216594"]ambipur,

Waja chasis is based from Volvo S40 and Mitsubishi Charisma, where this Charisma never make way to Malaysia market. Refer on this at wikipedia.org[/quote]

it is true that GX platform is based on Volvo S40/Charisma but dont quote Wikipedia.

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:34 pm

offtopic>>

no proof, no talk.

wikipedia? everyone can edit that pedia..

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:41 pm

[quote comment="216623"][quote comment="216344"]good work proton!!!!!the interior seems to look bigger than grand livina…anyway,perodua is just a copycat cause they can't build their 'own' car just like proton!!!!!

exora are totaly new design platform from proton, the first platform from proton that pass crash test in europe. difrence frame from Grandis even the size almost same as Grandis & Wish. However wait for test drive open for public & then all of us can give true comment, please don't became nostrodomus the 2nd that can predict future.

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Initially 'I confim its cherry eastar platform…' Now, 'its mitsu grandis copy cat la', then 'its grandis platform la'…..U guys all lost ur minds or what? If you dont have proof, dont comment…u r making urself stupid! This MPV was build ground up zero by Malaysians for Malaysians and also the world….u think Mitsu is gonna keep quiet if we simply curi their structure ka? Or do you think its easy as that? U all thinking making car, is like kedai ketuk kereta ker? Just buy some other manufacturer car, ketuk here, ketuk there, potong here, sambung there, weld here and there…then jadik new car? Every single part has to be developed, 3D and 2D drawing produced, finalized, confirmed, matched before it even goes to be prototyped…Making a car is not easy! It not like LEGO, where u have all the parts, see the instructions and fix it……so please stop spreading around stupid and foolish rumours just BECAUSE U THINK SO! As told before, just wait for the car launch, check the dimensions, see the car, then prove which part of this MPV is similar….dont give bullshit like, i jack up the car and it looks similar…..obviously all car will look similar if u jack it up, what u expect to find under the car other then suspension, engine, tyres, fuel tank and the floor base? Ader kereta yg dont have all this ker? Then if the car is based on monocoque chasis, then it will look like monocoque chasis la….if ladder chasis, sure la look like ladder chasis….takkan u all wanna expect monocoque chasis look like ladder chasis? Stop think that u fellas know everything…..just by looking some exterior and interior photos, HOW THE HELL U CAN CONCLUDE THIS CAR USES MITSU GRANDIS CHASIS? U all must be dellusional…..so please, stop giving stupid and foolish assumptions!

Cheers!

• hvannees on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="216651"][quote comment="216623"][quote comment="216344"]good work proton!!!!!the interior seems to look bigger than grand livina…anyway,perodua is just a copycat cause they can't build their 'own' car just like proton!!!!!

exora are totaly new design platform from proton, the first platform from proton that pass crash test in europe. difrence frame from Grandis even the size almost same as Grandis & Wish. However wait for test drive open for public & then all of us can give true comment, please don't became nostrodomus the 2nd that can predict future.[/quote]

thats right. brape kali mau ckp da…

• osh_kosh on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:54 pm

[quote comment="216651"][quote comment="216623"][quote comment="216344"]good work proton!!!!!the interior seems to look bigger than grand livina…anyway,perodua is just a copycat cause they can't build their 'own' car just like proton!!!!!

exora are totaly new design platform from proton, the first platform from proton that pass crash test in europe. difrence frame from Grandis even the size almost same as Grandis & Wish. However wait for test drive open for public & then all of us can give true comment, please don't became nostrodomus the 2nd that can predict future.[/quote]

sorry… a bit slow here, what crash test?

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:11 pm

[quote comment="216657"]Initially 'I confim its cherry eastar platform…' Now, 'its mitsu grandis copy cat la', then 'its grandis platform la'…..U guys all lost ur minds or what? If you dont have proof, dont comment…u r making urself stupid! This MPV was build ground up zero by Malaysians for Malaysians and also the world….u think Mitsu is gonna keep quiet if we simply curi their structure ka? Or do you think its easy as that? U all thinking making car, is like kedai ketuk kereta ker? Just buy some other manufacturer car, ketuk here, ketuk there, potong here, sambung there, weld here and there…then jadik new car? Every single part has to be developed, 3D and 2D drawing produced, finalized, confirmed, matched before it even goes to be prototyped…Making a car is not easy! It not like LEGO, where u have all the parts, see the instructions and fix it……so please stop spreading around stupid and foolish rumours just BECAUSE U THINK SO! As told before, just wait for the car launch, check the dimensions, see the car, then prove which part of this MPV is similar….dont give bullshit like, i jack up the car and it looks similar…..obviously all car will look similar if u jack it up, what u expect to find under the car other then suspension, engine, tyres, fuel tank and the floor base? Ader kereta yg dont have all this ker? Then if the car is based on monocoque chasis, then it will look like monocoque chasis la….if ladder chasis, sure la look like ladder chasis….takkan u all wanna expect monocoque chasis look like ladder chasis? Stop think that u fellas know everything…..just by looking some exterior and interior photos, HOW THE HELL U CAN CONCLUDE THIS CAR USES MITSU GRANDIS CHASIS? U all must be dellusional…..so please, stop giving stupid and foolish assumptions!

Cheers![/quote]

si-fu right… built new car not like to do waffels. used same mould. READ MY TEXT "Exora is New platform from Proton that have pass crass test in europe, PLATFORM FROM PROTON THAT PASS CRASH TEST IN EUROPE".

adios….

• Alifz on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Serve right to the P1 BASHERS..

• Alifz on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:25 pm

or in Malay – Padan Muka…

• Tassadar on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.

• bmpower on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:32 pm

many p2 salesman now scare of this upcoming exora mpv.

they will hard to 'cari makan' liao.

that's why they will try to bash here and then.

Sorry guys..

most of you really look alike tipical P2 salesman in my eye.

no fact, just bash.

oh! btw.. im not proton owner.

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:32 pm

[quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

hmm..latest rumour?

what kind of design?

it is:

*study design, or

*initial design, or

*detail design?

• osh_kosh on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:42 pm

again.. what crash test? can elaborate on that? just want to know

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:44 pm

[quote comment="216660"]

sorry… a bit slow here, what crash test?[/quote]

proton's that are sold in europe, meet all the requirements for type approval based on EC regulations. There are many parts to it that not only includes safety(crash testing), but environment as well. it the whole car including the components within the car. without passing all these requirements, the cars cannot be sold in the UK, or Europe.

that means, waja, persona, gen2, neo and savvy.. and probably, the mpv, all meet the standards.

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:47 pm

[quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

I wonder who or how u people get this ideas from? LG is just an engineering consultant….like how all other manufacturers got their consultants….its cheaper then employing permanant staffs….all manufacturers do this….Toyota, honda, nissan and many2 more….its just a way of cutting cost and most importantly cutting down DEVELOPMENT TIME!!!!! (Ever wondered how nowdays development of new models can be as fast as 16 to 18 mths) If LG can design their own car, why not they open their own car company? Why consult for other car manufacturers? Think first before commenting la….aiyooo u people ar….please la…..STOP IT!

• madimat on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:48 pm

bro,

Please go and buy your Rondo and don't wait for this one. This Exora is not for you. Rondo is proven a very good car so please buy it now..! it is your own money. Exora is more for the people like me and it provides buyers with another option to those models like Avanza, Innova, Livina or Rondo. But please stop spreading rumors and false allegations that Proton is incapable or doing its own design.

That will hurt the design and engineering team at Proton who spent millions of their working hours to materialize this Exora. Please give them some credit or if that is too hard for you, at least please stop talking 'I heard this' and 'I heard that' kind of talk.

.peace!

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:50 pm

offtopic>>

selalu gak salesmen rival kutuk kete proton…

tp kalu kena kt aku, mmg aku terangkn dr segi engineering.

tkedu diorg nk counter.

salesmen proton pn ada bg fact salah, pn aku betulkn.

kalu xtau, senyap2 sudah.

kalu dgr kata2 org, selidik dulu.

kalu salah, mengaku salah.

Viel Spaß!

• androndraco on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:55 pm

even though mpv can seat 7 passenggers, the passengger/s who sit at the third row will not feel comfortable or feel a bit 'lemas', not recommended for long hour journey.

• Tassadar on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:55 pm

sifu,

So, it is true that LG did the design (at least the major part of it) of the Exora. Not only the Exora, but the Savvy and the new Saga as well. Check this out.

http://www.v-ens.com/eng/main/default.php http://www.v-ens.com/eng/instance/instance_7.php http://www.v-ens.com/eng/instance/instance_1.php

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:00 pm

lets say like this… proton designer always get offer by toyota, nissan, mitshubishi, even from europen car manufacture because they good in job. i think si-fu also know who's get the offer but still stay in proton to pride Proton to the world. Ok, all of them give 200% support to make sure that this exora can be accept & sold world wide. it not easy like do teh tarik.

• madimat on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:00 pm

[quote comment="216695"]even though mpv can seat 7 passenggers, the passengger/s who sit at the third row will not feel comfortable or feel a bit 'lemas', not recommended for long hour journey.[/quote]

.. and that is also true to Stream, Wish, Rondo, and even worse in Livina and Avanza or older Carens/Citra. So whats the big deal ? Why condemn Exora alone? They are in the Mid-MPV class. Want a more spacious people mover don't go for those models. Please consider Starex or Elgrand or Alphard, they provide more space. Naza Ria is one good option also.

.peace!

• Prismo on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:01 pm

[quote comment="216580"]sigh…do you guys know that laughing is the best medicine,and that everytime i read the comments u people post on this blog,its kinda funny to read….so,to all those funny people out there,thanks for brightening my day ; )

and for some retards who compare myvi with saloon cars like waja,persona,blm etc….get a life…coz myvi is short wheel base…

ok..here are my experience..i own a myvi SE ( now all of perodua bashers will start to plan how to bash me..but as i said…get a life…) and i am going to sell it now..its on thestar classifieds,do call me if u re intrested…neway,i own a honda civic now ( now all of honda bashers will start to plan on how to bash me….but i will say "get a life"….) and to my horror,first day one of the HID,the left side didnt work…can u guys imagine,a new car,and first day dah ada problem..adui,pening aku…tapi,as my motto goes "it all depends on ur luck"…now i have been using civic for the past 4 months,great car,no problem..its just a car,like any other car,fun to drive……my myvi,why am i selling my myvi ? well…its 1.3…and of course u can't expect a 1.3 engine to deliver a 2.0 engine power…( now perodua bashers who said myvi can't go more than 120km/h will be looking like clowns )….and seriously,its just a normal family car,with limited power,n of course its made in malaysia,the same with my civic 2.0 which was assembled in melaka ( malaysia boleh !! )…so,after using myvi for 7 months,i finally decided to sell it..oh ya,ehem,for those who wish to buy,check on thestar classified please..lol…

now….for those who are gonna bash me for no reason..lemme continue with my story….my dad once owned a proton waja errr 7 years back..if i am not mistaken lah…then it turned out to be a nice car on the first week..nice interior,nice exterior….nice suspension….BUT,after that,the car turned out to be a nightmare…..the front mirror cracked itself…then power window failed…then engine made some funny noise..and the list goes till my dad sold it after 2 years and took a nissan cefiro…well..cefiro..hmmm its another dugong…underpowered car..and its meant for old uncle's lah……..used cefiro for errr 5 years…then recently he bought a honda accord 3.5 V6..which was an imported one,thank god not assembled in melaka…so far the car is perfect..no problem,not even a single problem after 7 months of use……

so…what am i trying to tell to all those bashers out there is….all malaysian made stuffs are "junk"….seriously,a proton,a perodua,a ckd honda,a ckd toyota,a ckd nissan…name it,anything made in malaysia is a failure…and for some retards who are comparing foriegn cars like bmw,lamborghini and stuffs,get a life lah..u people are so rich to own such car izzit ?…we malaysians are trapped with a "dumb" gomen..and to be honest,all car manufacturers are robbing us by stealing our money and delivering a poor quality car….so…if u people still want to bash me…go on..i am not bothered…coz u people are just a bunch of narrowminded freaks..and some "over fanatic and protective psycho's of certain car manufacturers"..whom dont have a "life"….

p/s….i SUPPORT smartfortwo…its cute,but no money to buy,since our gomen are raping us with tax…sigh..poor me :p[/quote]

i'm not gonna to bash u or even to scold u… just giving an advise… if u really fed up live in malaysia just because of our gahmen then, go live in japan… and get a life… u can get a cheap toyotas but daily expenses will kill u… if u gonna read till this without any anger, u gotta be an angel….

• ayamxxx on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:04 pm

I wander how much it's fuel consumption for this 1.6 campro MPV?

If it can gets about 10-11km/liter, sure dis car is really makan minyak!

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:05 pm

[quote comment="216688"]again.. what crash test? can elaborate on that? just want to know[/quote]

u just wait & see. i can't say anything. that only limit that can i post.

• madimat on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:09 pm

[quote comment="216705"]I wander how much it's fuel consumption for this 1.6 campro MPV?

If it can gets about 10-11km/liter, sure dis car is really makan minyak![/quote]

For a better fuel consumption car please look at Honda City or Viva or Savvy or any other small-mid sized sedan cars. Please don't ever look at any MPV or bigger type vehicles because generally they will drink your fuel like crazy.

You have many options there.

.peace!

• scottloeb on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:10 pm

[quote comment="216690"][quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

I wonder who or how u people get this ideas from? LG is just an engineering consultant….like how all other manufacturers got their consultants….its cheaper then employing permanant staffs….all manufacturers do this….Toyota, honda, nissan and many2 more….its just a way of cutting cost and most importantly cutting down DEVELOPMENT TIME!!!!! (Ever wondered how nowdays development of new models can be as fast as 16 to 18 mths) If LG can design their own car, why not they open their own car company? Why consult for other car manufacturers? Think first before commenting la….aiyooo u people ar….please la…..STOP IT![/quote]

Aiyo, Proton kan tak cukup engineer, ada few thousand drawings need to be completed (part+assembly etc itu belum masuk change letter – revision to present drawings beside kerja2 lain mcm User Group etc), so justify la using LG as consultant. Its like asking someone else to write for you but the content of the letter and the point raised must be according to your request. And ada team dari its own platform engineer (to do packaging study, CAE analysis, H&T etc and team Powertrain lagilah sibuk sbb kecik tapi kerja bnyk nak mampus) so its not really LG lah, they work hand-in-hand. Dulu masa Waja kan pakai EDAG, kemudian we have the ever famous LE (yg kemudian hire Malaysian as their engineer – Protonian can do better). Apa nak heran? Bagus what LG product: BLM & TRM is one of the fine example of LG output. And LG nih is actually mostly consist of ex-Daewoo engineer bukan LCD TV designer. Jgn confuse ya.

• scottloeb on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:17 pm

[quote comment="216701"][quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

lets say like this… proton designer always get offer by toyota, nissan, mitshubishi, even from europen car manufacture because they good in job. i think si-fu also know who's get the offer but still stay in proton to pride Proton to the world. Ok, all of them give 200% support to make sure that this exora can be accept & sold world wide. it not easy like do teh tarik. so think again before your crap mouth goes smell….[/quote]

Alah, the designer in Styling banyak dah pergi oversea. Silap2 kerja dgn Bangle pon ada. In the late 90's ada few and during end of TM era ramai cabut pergi merata – highly sought after (tanya Honda plant mngr, ASSB-Toyota Production & Quality Mngr, Perodua top mgmt is also from Proton). Don't ask me why.

• henryee on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:18 pm

[quote comment="216690"][quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

I wonder who or how u people get this ideas from? LG is just an engineering consultant….like how all other manufacturers got their consultants….its cheaper then employing permanant staffs….all manufacturers do this….Toyota, honda, nissan and many2 more….its just a way of cutting cost and most importantly cutting down DEVELOPMENT TIME!!!!! (Ever wondered how nowdays development of new models can be as fast as 16 to 18 mths) If LG can design their own car, why not they open their own car company? Why consult for other car manufacturers? Think first before commenting la….aiyooo u people ar….please la…..STOP IT![/quote]

• madimat on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:21 pm

[quote comment="216711"][quote comment="216701"][quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

lets say like this… proton designer always get offer by toyota, nissan, mitshubishi, even from europen car manufacture because they good in job. i think si-fu also know who's get the offer but still stay in proton to pride Proton to the world. Ok, all of them give 200% support to make sure that this exora can be accept & sold world wide. it not easy like do teh tarik. so think again before your crap mouth goes smell….[/quote]

Alah, the designer in Styling banyak dah pergi oversea. Silap2 kerja dgn Bangle pon ada. In the late 90's ada few and during end of TM era ramai cabut pergi merata – highly sought after (tanya Honda plant mngr, ASSB-Toyota Production & Quality Mngr, Perodua top mgmt is also from Proton). Don't ask me why.[/quote]

That proves Proton produced good-quality skilled manpowers! That means it has met one of its main objectives, and that is what we should be proud of. Not like some other local carmakers,.. err .. i mean car assemblers. ;-)

.peace!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:21 pm

[quote comment="216695"]even though mpv can seat 7 passenggers, the passengger/s who sit at the third row will not feel comfortable or feel a bit 'lemas', not recommended for long hour journey.[/quote]

its interesting to see people speculating out of thin air.. i mean, seriously.. not all mpvs are the same size, and not all mpvs have cramped 3rd row seats.. i think more thinking is needed before posting.

• henryee on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Eeer… maybe u are the one to buy those watches from TIGER Beer, if tiger beer come out to make a watch? Haha, this is just an example only, no offence.

It is obvious, u must have a branded name first for e.g. Proton is a car maker, u not gonna tell them to make a Proton 'HANDPHONE' for the consumers, rite.

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:24 pm

[quote comment="216705"]I wander how much it's fuel consumption for this 1.6 campro MPV?

If it can gets about 10-11km/liter, sure dis car is really makan minyak![/quote]

FC test prove fuel efficient. balik kampung kat kelantan pun x kisah.

• kereta gagap on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:34 pm

[quote comment="216717"][quote comment="216690"][quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

Eeer… maybe u are the one to buy those watches from TIGER Beer, if tiger beer come out to make a watch? Haha, this is just an example only, no offence.

It is obvious, u must have a branded name first for e.g. Proton is a car maker, u not gonna tell them to make a Proton 'HANDPHONE' for the consumers, rite.[/quote]

pity… blind basher….

• [quote comment="216701"][quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

yes..it is. agreed.. when i worked in MVF last time.. there r so many offers from other manyfacturers to proton's exec.. honda, toyota, n even naza (who double/triple the salary) to 'pujuk' them to join…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:37 pm

[quote comment="216717"]

It is obvious, u must have a branded name first for e.g. Proton is a car maker, u not gonna tell them to make a Proton 'HANDPHONE' for the consumers, rite.[/quote]

[quote comment="216717"]

i think you're seriously confused here bro. proton is a car manufacturer. from what i have gathered from reading sifu's postings is.. proton did the designs, the plans, ideas.. everything..and most importantly, they pay the money. to carry out the job, they have internal teams which handle the largest bulk of work, and where they are short of manpower, they hire consultants.. and they then build the cars themselves and even sell it themselves…

Tiger makes beer, they do not have any plans, ideas or even a single person in their company that makes watches. and they only make beer.

see the difference?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:40 pm

typical malaysian who will defend and bashed each other about proton n perodua…sigh..

anyway..jz wait until the car launch laa…n proton defender also..i knw proton is better..so..dont put d flame on la…so to perodua defender…typical tol

• Tiadaid on Mar 02, 2009 at 11:52 pm

[quote comment="216723"]typical malaysian who will defend and bashed each other about proton n perodua…sigh..

anyway..jz wait until the car launch laa…n proton defender also..i knw proton is better..so..dont put d flame on la…so to perodua defender…typical tol[/quote]

Of course si-fu will defend proton…obviously. But I do agree, the bashing shud stop until the car comes out!

• [quote comment="216726"][quote comment="216723"]typical malaysian who will defend and bashed each other about proton n perodua…sigh..

anyway..jz wait until the car launch laa…n proton defender also..i knw proton is better..so..dont put d flame on la…so to perodua defender…typical tol[/quote]

Of course si-fu will defend proton…obviously. But I do agree, the bashing shud stop until the car comes out![/quote]

its not the bashing.. but rumor monger… where la they got the info from… i really want to know… :-b

• Tassadar on Mar 03, 2009 at 12:28 am

[quote comment="216701"][quote comment="216676"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

lets say like this… proton designer always get offer by toyota, nissan, mitshubishi, even from europen car manufacture because they good in job. i think si-fu also know who's get the offer but still stay in proton to pride Proton to the world. Ok, all of them give 200% support to make sure that this exora can be accept & sold world wide. it not easy like do teh tarik.[/quote]

Before you make any more stupid comments, can you point out where did I bash proton?

• androndraco on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:21 am

[quote comment="216715"][quote comment="216695"]even though mpv can seat 7 passenggers, the passengger/s who sit at the third row will not feel comfortable or feel a bit 'lemas', not recommended for long hour journey.[/quote]

its interesting to see people speculating out of thin air.. i mean, seriously.. not all mpvs are the same size, and not all mpvs have cramped 3rd row seats.. i think more thinking is needed before posting.[/quote]

size of the mpv is not the issue of the comfortability of passenger at third row seats. what i mean here is the third row seats doesn't have its own door. same like satria passenger. to me, being a passenger of third row seats for long hour journey (ie. from kl to kota bharu or jb to kuala terengganu) would be a nightmare. i suggest, for family of 7 whose going to travel long distances, to use 2 cars rather than 1 mpv.

• osh_kosh on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:22 am

wow.. fight again… LOL :)

[quote comment="216689"][quote comment="216660"]

sorry… a bit slow here, what crash test?[/quote]

proton's that are sold in europe, meet all the requirements for type approval based on EC regulations. There are many parts to it that not only includes safety(crash testing), but environment as well. it the whole car including the components within the car. without passing all these requirements, the cars cannot be sold in the UK, or Europe.

that means, waja, persona, gen2, neo and savvy.. and probably, the mpv, all meet the standards.[/quote]

i.c… thanks

kereta gagap said,

March 2, 2009 @ 3:05 pm · Reply with quote

osh_kosh wrote:

again.. what crash test? can elaborate on that? just want to know

u just wait & see. i can’t say anything. that only limit that can i post.

huh???

• androndraco on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:22 am

2 cars can also be a combination of 1 mpv and 1 car.

• adrian on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:36 am

Aiyoohh….2 cars? Really poor idea…better get bus or lorry

• Prem3377 on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:41 am

its turning out to be a crazy forum!!

SRI,

i read you entire comment…if all product from malaysia is junk..think again..you are also made in malaysia!!!so can i consider you a piece of junk??haha…no offence..just asking!!

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:45 am

All I can say is wait untill the launch day. May be the dashboard & interior look dull because the teaser in black & white. It's P1 marketing startegy may be. So, when it comes to the launch day, ten teden….

May be the dashboard have wooden panel here and there, or may be the steering wheel wil be leather wrap or wooden look like GL 1.8 or may be the door panel also have wooden panel. Who knows..

Good luck to P1 and built more quality cars for internal & external market.

• EricG on Mar 03, 2009 at 2:15 am

just wait for the launch la.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 03, 2009 at 2:15 am

Thanks Paul for the high resolution picture. I think the dashboard panel at the centre, door panel at arm rest and at the panel meter frame will have wooden panel. Then it will look nice.

Guessing only.

• nazri on Mar 03, 2009 at 2:19 am

Paul, Thanks for updating hi-resolution photo… this mpv really nice…

• autojohndoe on Mar 03, 2009 at 3:22 am

HAHA… just like kids quarrelling..

• mct (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 3:42 am

[quote comment="216578"][quote comment="216570"][quote comment="216461"]so wheres the LCD display unit?[/quote]

I wonder about that too. If it mounted on the center of the ceiling/inside roof of the 2nd row seat, it will obstruct the rear view mirror.[/quote]

Sir,

Information from PROTON says the DVD/LCD unit will be a standard feature for the Hi-Line version ONLY, and it will be roof mounted.

If you concerned so much about Exora's LCD screen obstruct the rear view mirror then you also should also concern about all the other makers (Toyota/Honda/Nissan/ etc etc) current MPVs out there on the road with the same or even wider and bigger LCD screen hanging down their roofs ! =)

just my dua sen.

.peace![/quote]

outdated lah you

normally toyota/nissan/honda rear screen will mouted at front passenger . no more roof mounted

• kahing on Mar 03, 2009 at 3:51 am

But my alphard is roof mounted leh.

• infinity on Mar 03, 2009 at 3:53 am

come to think of it..so far there hasn't been any front passenger dash view…and also, from the spyshots and the teaser images…i still cant figure out where are the 10 cup holders..so far i can only see 2…maybe 2more somewhere near the handbrake..2 more at the middle of the 2nd row..where else??or maybe proton included those door panel which can put bottles as cup holders??

• mct (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 4:00 am

[quote comment="216770"][quote comment="216578"][quote comment="216570"][quote comment="216461"]so wheres the LCD display unit?[/quote]

Sir,

just my dua sen.

.peace![/quote]

outdated lah you

normally toyota/nissan/honda rear screen will mouted at front passenger . no more roof mounted[/quote]

write salah ….. is mouted at front passenger headrest .

• hvannees on Mar 03, 2009 at 4:13 am

wow picture update from paul. clearly can see gated gear and interior colour. just one word. NICE!!

• Aizat on Mar 03, 2009 at 4:24 am

Waha .. can see one more features .. 12v socket at the back .. right hand-side of the picture .. behind last row belt ;)

• MisterBenjo on Mar 03, 2009 at 4:52 am

WoW! one word….Quality…

• acerman on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:14 am

Not all cars perfect. Even the Fat Cats have problem. Today, on my back home driving, I saw a nice car. It's an Audi A5 TSFI 1.8. It was going not very fast because the road was not very wide. So, I was tailing that car not very near, and to my surprise even expensive cars got the rear lights problem. When it brakes, the right side of the brake light didn't lights-up.

See guys, even expensives cars got problems. Not all things are perfect.

I have a friend who drives a MYVI, first generation, his car now sounds like a motorboat, I don't know why and another, my friend's KIA spectra was also sounded wierd from inside the bonnet. It was new. The NOVUS version.

So, guys, we can keep bashing, we can keep supporting but it is obvious that making cars is not easy and not all cars are perfect. Even Avanza doesn't have side impact bars. Don't believe me? Go check it yourself.

• seat-belt on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:18 am

woooooooo…..thats nice……

• seat-belt on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:51 am

isn't the back door lock button is similar with the persona?….

however, it still simple and nice….hope the quality is good enough…

• Prismo on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:57 am

[quote comment="216755"]its turning out to be a crazy forum!!

SRI,

i read you entire comment…if all product from malaysia is junk..think again..you are also made in malaysia!!!so can i consider you a piece of junk??haha…no offence..just asking!![/quote]

hahaha… u absolutely right… :D

• infinity on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:11 am

if u look deep into this teaser pic and the spyshot which shoot the centre dash, it seems to be more than just a glove compartment on the passenger side..from this teaser pic, u can see like got some "joining-parts" below the airbag compartment..from the spyshot of the centre dash..it is even more evident that there's something above the glove compartment..wat do u all think it is??could it be jz an empty compartment or cup-holders?or could it be some hi-tech "inovations" as hinted by si-fu??

• dellantre on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:54 am

Myvi floating because it is bungkusan sampah in the river.. ngeh3..

Exora can beat all mpv in malaysia.

Great quality is must to become king.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 7:03 am

after i saw the high resolution photo, the interior looks like made of high quality material, mayb due to the texture used. i must say, proton has gone a long long way since it founded! good job proton!

n i love the center console :P simple yet looks solid, just that, auto stick might in the way of air con controls :( hope it's not too obstructing

• Mr_Zack on Mar 03, 2009 at 7:41 am

how about speaker system? should at least 6 ways speaker ;)

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 8:52 am

[quote comment="216755"]its turning out to be a crazy forum!!

SRI,

i read you entire comment…if all product from malaysia is junk..think again..you are also made in malaysia!!!so can i consider you a piece of junk??haha…no offence..just asking!![/quote]

Ironically, he became the very thing he bashed abt hahahahaha.

Yes indeed, after finishing his comment, I laughed n I decided to make this comment short n get a life, lol.

Arrgh…. stats coursework is killing me…..

• I don really like the center dash design but then it's acceptable…. As long as it's practical and easy to use… And oh, hope the quality, safety, ride and so on is good,…. If not it will be disappointing

• rhoma (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 5:06 pm

looking good. i like the gear shifter. the handbrake looks a bit low i think. better use the foot operated one, and make the space between the driver and front passenger clear.

• madimat on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Looks solid, overall the interior is simple yet practical. I like the color scheme and from the pic the quality looks great. Nice job Proton! Especially to Si-Fu and all the Proton development team, bravo dudes! can't wait to the launching date to see it in the flesh. I bet many fans and bashers alike will pack the Proton showrooms again, just like any other Proton new product launches ha ha ha.

nice job, well done!

.peace!

• mr.funtasticko on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:42 pm

nice interior…

• osh_kosh on Mar 03, 2009 at 9:07 pm

yes indeed it's looking good…

[quote comment="216772"]come to think of it..so far there hasn't been any front passenger dash view…and also, from the spyshots and the teaser images…i still cant figure out where are the 10 cup holders..so far i can only see 2…maybe 2more somewhere near the handbrake..2 more at the middle of the 2nd row..where else??or maybe proton included those door panel which can put bottles as cup holders??[/quote]

hmmm.. i think so too.. where else can they put it? must be in the door panel… all door got cup holder, si-fu?

• Jr. Electro on Mar 03, 2009 at 10:31 pm

If…

The next Proton's model is SUV.. can Proton rebadge Proton MSX ? :) I'm quiet astonished with the MSX design by Lotus last time when i visit Proton showroom. and surely, this time no one will bash.

This Proton Exora quiet spacious, from the picture shown. If i have a big family, maybe i consider to buy this new baby aso..

This Exora got GPS or not ? or the DVD player can become navigator?

Anyway..

Good Job..

• xoomie on Mar 03, 2009 at 11:25 pm

[quote comment="216564"][quote comment="216560"][quote comment="216539"]Cant wait for official comparison between Proton Exora vs Perodua Nautica[/quote]

er.. but WHY?

guess his thinking of owning nautica? thats y he wan2 compares exora with nautica. but i bet exora is a better buy than nautica, eventho latter 1 is manufactured in jap factory doesnt mean its better.[/quote]

I tot Nautica is supposed to be based from Passo Sette which is 7 seater.?

Correct me if i'm wrong ya Paul..

• xoomie on Mar 03, 2009 at 11:30 pm

[quote comment="216579"]offtopic>>

somehow the public should know the engineering achievement of this exora.

to know is to appreciate.

where the launching will be held? KLCC?[/quote]

Hey Paul, can u post a comparison on dimension for both Nautica & Exora?

This definitely would be interesting.

• farghmee on Mar 04, 2009 at 3:21 am

[quote comment="216944"][quote comment="216579"]offtopic>>

[/quote]

Hey Paul, can u post a comparison on dimension for both Nautica & Exora?

This definitely would be interesting.[/quote]

hmm..xoomie, u can always use the search function.

there was an article regarding nautica in PTorg :)

[quote comment="216934"]If…

The next Proton's model is SUV.. can Proton rebadge Proton MSX ? :) I'm quiet astonished with the MSX design by Lotus last time when i visit Proton showroom. and surely, this time no one will bash.

[/quote]

MSX i want it! 8-)

• mystic on Mar 04, 2009 at 3:39 am

For the design for exora is ok but what I doubt is the quality. Hopefully the quality is must better from previous product.

Well done PROTON…

• acerman on Mar 04, 2009 at 4:14 am

The most talked-about, anticipated, awaited, bashed and supported car of the year. There should be a category like this.

Anyway, any updates guys in the newspaper lately for this Exora?

• Wisdom (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 4:46 am

I believe those blacked-out portion on shifter and door panel will be wood trim or chrome paneling.

• Prismo on Mar 04, 2009 at 6:40 am

offtopic ya paul… :)

intresting video… must be watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t34F-2OgT0g&fe…

• vista on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:45 am

the interior is nice and is not that bad after all comparing with other pic.

• brutal_driverz on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:04 pm

[i]side console[/i] kat baris paling belakang tu,eloklah kalau disediakan hanya tempat letak botol minuman saja.bukan apa,kot-kot tak boleh dijadikan [i]armrest[/i] dalam perjalanan jauh,boring woo…

• seat-belt on Mar 05, 2009 at 2:26 am

[quote comment="217014"]offtopic ya paul… :)

intresting video… must be watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t34F-2OgT0g&fe…

what? it is for real? tell us more SI-FU!!!!

• mct (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:10 am

[quote comment="216943"][quote comment="216564"][quote comment="216560"][quote comment="216539"]Cant wait for official comparison between Proton Exora vs Perodua Nautica[/quote]

er.. but WHY?

guess his thinking of owning nautica? thats y he wan2 compares exora with nautica. but i bet exora is a better buy than nautica, eventho latter 1 is manufactured in jap factory doesnt mean its better.[/quote]

I tot Nautica is supposed to be based from Passo Sette which is 7 seater.?

Correct me if i'm wrong ya Paul..[/quote]

two different platform , passo sette is based on passo platform which is myvi in malaysia term

• [quote comment="216703"][quote comment="216580"]sigh…do you guys know that laughing is the best medicine,and that everytime i read the comments u people post on this blog,its kinda funny to read….so,to all those funny people out there,thanks for brightening my day ; )

p/s….i SUPPORT smartfortwo…its cute,but no money to buy,since our gomen are raping us with tax…sigh..poor me :p[/quote]

i'm not gonna to bash u or even to scold u… just giving an advise… if u really fed up live in malaysia just because of our gahmen then, go live in japan… and get a life… u can get a cheap toyotas but daily expenses will kill u… if u gonna read till this without any anger, u gotta be an angel….[/quote]

aaahhhh….i can smell sarcasm in the air…so where r u from ? palestine ? maybe thats why u sound like there was an offset in ur brains….please o please,i beg to differ,i am a malaysian,and i love being in malaysia,and i can't seem to understand what made u ask me to go to the land of sushi's…perhaps ur offset brains just cant digest what i had said….

and,hmm,i dont recall talking about toyota's…which adds to conclusion that u re a retard : )

oh,by the way,that last line u put,i can sue u for plagiarism :p

• LOLz That wasa gud one Sri… Guys Guys grow up!!! We are just sharing out thoughts and just getting to know info's via discussions here.. So no need bash anyone or over react. Well if u ask me i am proud that malaysia provides car and i alwayz want to support our local cars..M sure avery malaysians wanna support the local cars as well.. Am i right…But at times what pist me off is the poor quality of a few protons parts and cars.. Well another thing that i feel proton must do to boost up the car sales is by introducing more facelifts.. Some better interior colours and so on… I just dont know y proton alwayz wait till some shit happens and then onni they wanna react and thatz oso by takin theier own sweet time… But to tell u frankly the new models like waja,gen 2 ,persona and savvay had a awesome road handling.. I was really exited driving those cars as the road grips are gud.. hatz off proton.. Well no one is perfect but i think protons should learn from their past mistakes.. WEll talking a bout the new mpv it lookz nice… Lets wait till da launching.. Then onni we will know whatz da mpv all a bout…

• asyraf on Mar 10, 2009 at 3:04 am

this car is cool………………………….

• Shaffik on Mar 10, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Nice Car. Big space inside. Congrate to Proton

• deandre on Aug 29, 2009 at 8:48 pm

its big but i dont think its dat big of a deal as every elsa puts it ynnad

• Jackson Lim on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:51 pm

hei everybody, do you know, EXORA can be your 2nd home if you can afford it. It ca be your sitting room with luxury it can be your bedroom as you can see so wide at the back it can be your office too with fully aircond it can be your transport it could be your luxury car. You save alot man…. Other cars you can feel the same, but i think there isnt any bedroom which mean is not a 2nd home hahaha…..I am an Exora owner, I love Exora yeh….BEST LAH

• museAlwaysRight on Jan 18, 2010 at 11:55 am

haha…proton actually can be suprisingly impresssive at times.