Proton Exora MPV meter panel and dashboard textures in high-resolution!

Click for an enlarged hi-res image

I have managed to source a very high resolution version of the first Proton Exora dashboard instrument panel and steering wheel teaser that Proton put up in the daily papers for you guys, thanks to a source that wishes to remain anonymous. This is probably the original image file for the ad sent to the newspapers and it reveals the full high resolution glory of the textures that Proton have put on the Proton Exora’s dashboard.

The instrumentation panel hood and upper dash seems to have a different texture from the rest of the dashboard and the center dash area where the 2-DIN head unit and air condition controls are also seem to have a sort of brushed look to it. The meter panel can also be seen in full high resolution glory, so check it out!

For other details please read our previous coverage of the Proton Exora MPV, the national carmaker’s first 7-seater 3-row MPV set for an April 2009 launch.

Proton Exora MPV teaser scans: flat-folding seats
Proton teases the Proton Exora MPV dashboard
Proton Exora 7-seater MPV Interior Details Revealed!
Proton Exora – the MPV Proton will launch!
HOT: Proton MPV 100% fully uncovered
Proton MPV exclusive initial details revealed!
SPYSHOT: 2009 Proton MPV sheds some of its disguise
Proton MPV design registered with UK patent office
SPYSHOT: Proton MPV next to a Nissan Grand Livina

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 1:11 pm

Dissapointed to see that they’re still using hard plastics for dash. There are other local vendors who are able to produce soft polypropylene dashboard products (e.g. Civic, Latio) for proton.

Nevertheless, the texture looks nice, except for the steering wheel center & black plastic under the instrument meters The plastic for that area looks rough, shiny and cheap. Just my 2 sen.

• wiraperkasa on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:00 pm

1st!!

• azhar on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:02 pm

pewwwitttt…nice color..with 4 door indicator..niceeeee

• azhar on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:03 pm

byk laaa 1st lu..wa 2nd x kecoh pun…kekeke

• wiraperkasa on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:17 pm

kecoh r beb,sbb topik ni jadi hangat nnt…bangga woo msuk entry pasal proton…

• Mr_Zack on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:18 pm

canteeekk

• ROBERT on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:22 pm

tak ade kuality….

• wiraperkasa on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:23 pm

seems the lower dash have same texture as in saga blm

• Freemal on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Alamak, steering column controls are left handed one…adjustment dial for vertical direction seems tad small…"pocket" below the side air cond…slit one is for card but what about the larger one below it??? Seems shallow…

• spiro on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:24 pm

chanteek la….its totally cool for me…nice texture from proton eng…

• osh_kosh on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:24 pm

[quote comment="217123"]kecoh r beb,sbb topik ni jadi hangat nnt…bangga woo msuk entry pasal proton…[/quote]

kids….

so the wiper control on the right hand side.. hmm

• satria_dashboard on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:24 pm

sekarang ni mungkin bukan trend kot utk dashboard material mcm wira/satria… aku suka feel lembut dia… bibah aku nye dashboard.. plastik keras… hehehe

• upinipin on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:26 pm

wiper stick on right hand side?

looks so nice! Glad I booked 1!

• satria_dashboard on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:27 pm

wiper blah right tu mungkin nak accomodate market yg lebih besar kot… market wiper kontrol belah left.. mungkin tak banyak…

• satria_dashboard on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:31 pm

[quote comment="217130"]Alamak, steering column controls are left handed one…adjustment dial for vertical direction seems tad small…"pocket" below the side air cond…slit one is for card but what about the larger one below it??? Seems shallow…[/quote]

tu utk future use… slot utk security key guna mycard.. hehehe. tapi sekarang ni bleh guna buat simpan tng card la… diskaun kad pun bleh

• Freemal on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:32 pm

Heck…same small vertical adjustment dial also used on the central air cond vent….and why-lar placed on the left?? Further to reach for the driver…player seems to be by Clarion.

"phone" button on steering is probably to mute the player in case of an incoming call as other buttons appear to be solely for player controls…guess if you change the player, the buttons would not work then??

• satria_dashboard on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:33 pm

[quote comment="217134"]wiper stick on right hand side?

looks so nice! Glad I booked 1![/quote]

waa… u book da wiper control?… :)…

• tokan on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:34 pm

[quote comment="217118"]pewwwitttt…nice color..with 4 door indicator..niceeeee[/quote]

6 if including hood and boot

• Freemal on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:35 pm

[quote comment="217137"][quote comment="217130"]Alamak, steering column controls are left handed one…adjustment dial for vertical direction seems tad small…"pocket" below the side air cond…slit one is for card but what about the larger one below it??? Seems shallow…[/quote]

tu utk future use… slot utk security key guna mycard.. hehehe. tapi sekarang ni bleh guna buat simpan tng card la… diskaun kad pun bleh[/quote]

Ya..mungkin untuk TnG tapi masih nampak tak cukup dalam-lar…kena tunnggu actual one saja-lar…

• upinipin on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:36 pm

[quote comment="217139"][quote comment="217134"]wiper stick on right hand side?

waa… u book da wiper control?… :)…[/quote]

takla… booked the car, of course :)

• skaliskala on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:37 pm

waahhh look the upper meter panel not wearing the bra dah…hehehe

• Freemal on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Wonder if this is the higher end model as it appears to have passenger side air bag but a look at the meter panel seems to suggest the lack of ABS…

• Alifz on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:41 pm

[quote comment="217138"]Heck…same small vertical adjustment dial also used on the central air cond vent….and why-lar placed on the left?? Further to reach for the driver…player seems to be by Clarion.

"phone" button on steering is probably to mute the player in case of an incoming call as other buttons appear to be solely for player controls…guess if you change the player, the buttons would not work then??[/quote]

Last time I remember some info this 'Phone' button to work with bluetooth device, so any phone with bluetooth can be handsfree in this Exora.

• menawan on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:45 pm

MANTAP GILERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.. CONGRATS PROTON.. AMEK KO TO THOSE PROTON BASHER…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:52 pm

actually, i think all proton's since the waja have had this config already. signal on the left, and wiper on the right, just like conti cars.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:53 pm

Kind da nice texture. Right hand side wiper control & left hand side signal dail. Like European style. Marketing strategy. At the wiper control seems like on/off dail for auto cruise. If I'm not mistaken (correct me if I'm wrong).

Anyway thanks Paul & anonymous guy for hi res picture.

Good job Proton.

• brutal_driverz on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:54 pm

cantek laa,tak sabar nak tunggu pelancarannya nanti :)

• osh_kosh on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:55 pm

[quote comment="217144"]waahhh look the upper meter panel not wearing the bra dah…hehehe[/quote]

now that u mentioned it… i've noticed it too,look kinda weird.. the design on the lower side of the meter panel just on top of the steering column… sometime look like a robot face staring at u with something in it mouth (the steering)…

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:56 pm

The center console is using a brushed-steel look, similar to the Juara. Trust me, our family drives one and it looks really similar =)

• jazzer on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:57 pm

simple..that's nice but i still hope they will come with integrated gps on the dashboard+automatic aircond so it will look really classy and elegance…but wonder about the performance if i want to use 17inch sport rim…mybe quite tough for this mpv…

• theanswer on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:04 pm

[quote comment="217133"]sekarang ni mungkin bukan trend kot utk dashboard material mcm wira/satria… aku suka feel lembut dia… bibah aku nye dashboard.. plastik keras… hehehe[/quote]

bkn trend aku rase..tapi jimat kos. kalo tgk proton dlu2..saga,iswara,wira,satria..semua gune dashboard lembut yg time tuh tak saper pun ckp pasal kualiti. biler sekrg nk jimat kos…kuar la dashboard plastik keras neh..yg kalao habuk pon senang nampak..tgk pon nampak murah.

• theanswer on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:07 pm

[quote comment="217136"]wiper blah right tu mungkin nak accomodate market yg lebih besar kot… market wiper kontrol belah left.. mungkin tak banyak…[/quote]

proton skerg byk ikut spec left hand drive. jadi biler pindah ke kanan..die x ubah wiper tuh. nak kate accomodate market lebeh besar pon…dlu kite ikut mitsubishi..kete jepun lagi accomodate market lebih meluas.

• athlonium on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:09 pm

bkn kete proton je…mana2 kereta pon texture keras skrang… texture lembut x pakai dh…cut cost…

• Zaff1984 on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:13 pm

the materials used is not too bad. acceptable to me. like the brushed metal, nice panel meter especially 6 open door indicator. lower dash remind me of BLM and 1st gen Jazz's material (is not a bad thing). overall love it.

• mamat on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:18 pm

i would like to steer away from this topic,

if proton can hold a naming contest (i.e the EXORA mpv)

why don't proton hold a designing contest.

for sure we have many talented designers in Malaysia, then have the public to sms-vote the designs, and voila! we have a car that appeals to the masses!

• MoveJJE on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:41 pm

hopefully proton will use high material for plastic parts..

currently satria neo dashboard seem faded after 1 year…

daily under sun light require high quality parts..

not just finishing texture…

cheers

• ManBelonPunya on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:46 pm

mmmmm..lawa..lawa..

gud job p1.

• yippi33 on Mar 04, 2009 at 8:47 pm

the final product do look promissing and far better than the test model. i can say that proton tried very hard to optimize the cost and manage to do it successfully. shame on those who said "tak ade kuality…." without even seeing the real thing..must be one of those salesmen who is not achieving his car sales target recently..Goodluck proton!

• Seems like better looking dials than livina but hope it can adjust d contrast

of d red background lite, coz it would a bit straining to d eyes especially

long nite drive.

Is there a temp meter or its block by d steering wheel? Really unused to some

of d new cars lately that doesnt hv d temp meter with just a red or blue lite

instead like d livina.

• menawan on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:00 pm

[quote comment="217182"]Seems like better looking dials than livina but hope it can adjust d contrast

of d red background lite, coz it would a bit straining to d eyes especially

long nite drive.

Is there a temp meter or its block by d steering wheel? Really unused to some

of d new cars lately that doesnt hv d temp meter with just a red or blue lite

instead like d livina.[/quote]

ya.. i think if can adjust the dim really helpful interms of driving night.

• osh_kosh on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:14 pm

[quote comment="217170"]i would like to steer away from this topic,

if proton can hold a naming contest (i.e the EXORA mpv)

why don't proton hold a designing contest.

for sure we have many talented designers in Malaysia, then have the public to sms-vote the designs, and voila! we have a car that appeals to the masses![/quote]

better if they come out with "Name the Price" contest… that would be nice…

• Actually i like the brush style dash… Really classy looking.. But then the clock is kinda bluek!! haha

• The dashboard is copied from Perodua MYVI and the steering is copied from Honda Civic. The platform comes from Chery Easter and the engine is breathless Campro 1.6 CPS . I am not sure what is the hype apart from being proton's first MPV. I think the latest Kia/Naza Rondo at 85k is a real steal!. Specs are up to date (2.0VT, Tiptronic Gearbox, Dual Airbags,EBD,ABS plus it won an award in USA for being the most economical MPV for 2008. Also it is a global car. I think Malaysian are more wiser now and not fall for silly antics by Proton.

• Take That on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:21 pm

I still don't understand why Proton don't opt for a chrome badge on the steering wheel like what most manufacturers do. Personally, i feel a simple chrome badge can give the steering wheel a better look and feel. I seriously do not fancy the cheap-looking 'crafted' emblem. For something that every driver will touch and see most of the time, I think Proton should spend some time to think how to make it better.

• Which parts in new civic and latio using soft plastic??? if u said hinda accord and sylphy, i agree, they use some soft plastic. nowadays, manufacturers tend to use plastics for interior especially the low budget models (new vios and New city and hyundai i 10&i 20) but it is the matter of how u dsign the texture and how thick the palstic used and also the grade.

• Take That on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Btw Raj, I love your comment. It sounds so dumb I can't stop laughing.

• mr raj, dont try to write about something that u even didnt know. its already explained by si-fu earlier, so that i didnt need to explain again. regarding the design, it is not copy ok, it design based on market trend. if u said copy, for sure honda and toyota (perodua) will sue proton for copyright. if three tier stering u said as an imitation, many manufacturers using this three tier stering wheel, to name a few, toyota,vw,mercedes even honda. honda is not the first company use this design. why dont u say honda copy the stering wheels from other cars manufacturers??? because u are blind. take the honda stering wheels and compare it with the exora. the similarities are only in term of three tier design, not the tecture,size,button design, emblem and so on, so please be wise before giving comments. adios………….

• farghmee on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:37 pm

[quote comment="217192"]The dashboard is copied from Perodua MYVI and the steering is copied from Honda Civic. The platform comes from Chery Easter and the engine is breathless Campro 1.6 CPS . I am not sure what is the hype apart from being proton's first MPV. I think the latest Kia/Naza Rondo at 85k is a real steal!. Specs are up to date (2.0VT, Tiptronic Gearbox, Dual Airbags,EBD,ABS plus it won an award in USA for being the most economical MPV for 2008. Also it is a global car. I think Malaysian are more wiser now and not fall for silly antics by Proton.[/quote]

really? ;)

• Wisdom (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:39 pm

[quote comment="217139"][quote comment="217134"]wiper stick on right hand side?

waa… u book da wiper control?… :)…[/quote]

Nice joke….

But the Exora really a no joke product.

• Love it! The hair-brush effects is a winner! Looks exclusive…

• Wisdom (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:44 pm

[quote comment="217192"]The dashboard is copied from Perodua MYVI and the steering is copied from Honda Civic. The platform comes from Chery Easter and the engine is breathless Campro 1.6 CPS . I am not sure what is the hype apart from being proton's first MPV. I think the latest Kia/Naza Rondo at 85k is a real steal!. Specs are up to date (2.0VT, Tiptronic Gearbox, Dual Airbags,EBD,ABS plus it won an award in USA for being the most economical MPV for 2008. Also it is a global car. I think Malaysian are more wiser now and not fall for silly antics by Proton.[/quote]

Another new basher i guess. We have u been all this while?

Citra rondo no class at all.

• knight_templar on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:52 pm

Firstly, i think Proton chose the name Exora because it is just one letter away from Lotus' latest Evora. The whole flower thingy is a second excuse.

I think most conti car users here are familiar wit the left signal/right wiper setup. But Proton had this setup before the Waja- in the Tiara of course owing to its AX origin and frankly i find it alright.

An owner of the Saga BLM, I must admit after purchasing i realised some shortcomings. But then I realise that something just makes me forgive all that. It could be the decent ride/handling or the fact dat ive had terrible experiences wit Proton and tis one seemed miles away. However i notice may Msians share this sentiment ( I think the saga is becoming a common sight) and it could be due to the fact that it is OUR national car and deep down there IS a soft spot. Anyhow I prefer a Malaysia with Protons on the road rather than ROEWEs, Hafeis or Changans.

• kereta gagap on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:52 pm

waaa… you sure can read the brocher… another nostrodomus wanebe… the exora still on teaser but u can predict the whole thing already… want ask you lah… what inovation from KIA/NAZA will came up in future…?. surely u said next it's came with aerokit like honda modulo… LOL…

• kereta gagap on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:54 pm

[quote comment="217209"]Firstly, i think Proton chose the name Exora because it is just one letter away from Lotus' latest Evora. The whole flower thingy is a second excuse.

I think most conti car users here are familiar wit the left signal/right wiper setup. But Proton had this setup before the Waja- in the Tiara of course owing to its AX origin and frankly i find it alright.

An owner of the Saga BLM, I must admit after purchasing i realised some shortcomings. But then I realise that something just makes me forgive all that. It could be the decent ride/handling or the fact dat ive had terrible experiences wit Proton and tis one seemed miles away. However i notice may Msians share this sentiment ( I think the saga is becoming a common sight) and it could be due to the fact that it is OUR national car and deep down there IS a soft spot. Anyhow I prefer a Malaysia with Protons on the road rather than ROEWEs, Hafeis or Changans.[/quote]

dont forget meseli… LOL

• moha774 on Mar 04, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Looks very nice… but, If only they come out with Manual transmission version, then I will consider one…

• ManBelonPunya on Mar 04, 2009 at 10:11 pm

cammon man. myvi's dashboard is totally super duper suck. really look cheap. i think exora's dshboard is muach mush better. myvi?uweeekkk..nasib baik aku x jadi beli aritu..kalo tak, nyesal seumur idup!!

• scottloeb on Mar 04, 2009 at 10:15 pm

It looks like slush moulding IP.. have to check..

• exoraownerwannabe on Mar 04, 2009 at 10:17 pm

talk like a Rondo's salesman. the car not even out yet. no conclusion should be made yet. can i say that Naza take EXACT copy from kia?

• Littlefire on Mar 04, 2009 at 10:37 pm

Well.. Naza/Kia Rondo does received a lot of awards and use as taxi in a lot of countries… I think New York also using it..

They can compete in US due to cheap & 5 years of warranty. Engine now is using the same GEMA engine use by Mitsubishi new lancer 2.0L engine but different tuning & system. (which have CVVT & timing chain)

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/15/naza-citra…

Well, the trump card for NAZA/Kia Rondo is the 5 star safety.. that i think Proton will never get it.. Even officially safety result for Proton cars is P. Waja which is 3 star from EURONCAP, which i think is almost the same standard for this MPV..

The only thing Naza/Kia cannot sell well is the Korean brand which ppl are scared of.. But now due to their similarity with Japanese Mitsubishi technology, i think it is a good buy for a proper safe family MPV.

• satria_dashboard on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:02 pm

eXoRa… I liiiikeeee….

• satria_dashboard on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:04 pm

will there be a special credit terms for gomen's servants… let's pray… :)

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:08 pm

[quote comment="217231"]will there be a special credit terms for gomen's servants… let's pray… :)[/quote]

no hope my friends… if only sales is not good enough only then our dream's will come true…

• Just relook at d leaked spy pic & i'm very sure that there will b a manual trans

later coming out otw p1 wouldnt just make only 1 M/T as shown in d spy pic.

Hope there would also b a base line model that cost below RM70k definately

will outsell p2 mpv which until now no spy pic/test mule or news about d mpv

that some say will launch on Jun/Sep.

Si-Fu, just give us some hint wheter there b M/T or not, like a dot (yes) or

2 dots(no).

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:12 pm

[quote comment="217215"]Looks very nice… but, If only they come out with Manual transmission version, then I will consider one…[/quote]

seriously… for an mpv, u'll love this auto tranny…

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:17 pm

[quote comment="217235"]….. definately

[/quote]

no need test mule… the car is siap already… just change the badge, touchup-touchup abit…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:19 pm

[quote comment="217192"]The platform comes from Chery Easter [/quote]

aiyoh.. such old news already and there has been so many facts already given and by paul tan as well that proves there is nothing in this mpv from chery at all.. you are just embarassing yourself by saying that.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:20 pm

[quote comment="217235"]Just relook at d leaked spy pic & i'm very [/quote]

technically, the pic isnt a leaked, or even a spy pic. this pic is out in newspaper advertisements everywhere already.

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:24 pm

[quote comment="217238"][quote comment="217192"]The platform comes from Chery Easter [/quote]

yah… why ceri easter… why dont link it with wish ke?… grandis ke?… is it because if link to grandis or wish… then it'll be a good one… then cant bash… if ceri then can bash la…

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:30 pm

[quote comment="217239"]

technically, the pic isnt a leaked, or even a spy pic. this pic is out in newspaper advertisements everywhere already.[/quote]

which paper aaaa.. i cant find it in berita/nst/harakah… is it utusan?… so tomorrow get to add one more paper aaa… aiyaaa… more newspaper but the story is the same.. only different perspective…

• [quote comment="217215"]Looks very nice… but, If only they come out with Manual transmission version, then I will consider one…[/quote]

Manual tranny will only come out after 6-12month after the initial launch, got this info after i went to COE Shah Alam.

• Wisdom on Mar 05, 2009 at 12:09 am

Some say Rondo have 'pig' theme. Short tail, flat front, kinda chubby, sure looks like pig on wheel.

An they achieve 5 stars with loads of airbags. Non-existence for Malaysia version…

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 12:10 am

[quote comment="217194"]I still don't understand why Proton don't opt for a chrome badge on the steering wheel like what most manufacturers do. Personally, i feel a simple chrome badge can give the steering wheel a better look and feel. I seriously do not fancy the cheap-looking 'crafted' emblem. For something that every driver will touch and see most of the time, I think Proton should spend some time to think how to make it better.[/quote]

There is a engineering reason for it my fren, definitely it would look much better BUT, for safety reasons it was not put there. Based on the driver sitting postion, seat height, steering angel, and most IMPORTANTLY, the AIRBAG firing angel, we decided not to place any hard materials on the horn pad as might cause injuries. This shows how much improtance was given to safety in designing this MPV. U might ask, how other cars and mpv's can have it…its because they imply a different airbag firing angel…u might ask again, why the same firing angel was not, simply because each vehicle has its own characteristic….same goes to this MPV, as i said be4, due to the sitting positiong, vehicle height, steering angel and height (u will have a freeplay in steering angle since u can adjust it, so the airbag must cover all the angels)….and many other aspects that need to be considered be4 putting anything onto the horn pad…even the horn pad material choice is very important.

[quote comment="217235"]Just relook at d leaked spy pic & i'm very sure that there will b a manual trans

2 dots(no).[/quote]

Hahahahahahaha….funny la u bro…..as advertise by PROTON, only AT will be launched FIRST….(please paham2 sendiri why i use the word 'first')

Cheers!

• Persona Jiwa on Mar 05, 2009 at 12:24 am

fuhh…look nice!! maklumlah 'bunga' lahkatakan…

• hazxkh on Mar 05, 2009 at 12:55 am

[quote comment="217251"][quote comment="217194"]I still don't understand why Proton don't opt for a chrome badge on the steering wheel like what most manufacturers do. Personally, i feel a simple chrome badge can give the steering wheel a better look and feel. I seriously do not fancy the cheap-looking 'crafted' emblem. For something that every driver will touch and see most of the time, I think Proton should spend some time to think how to make it better.[/quote]

There is a engineering reason for it my fren, definitely it would look much better BUT, for safety reasons it was not put there. Based on the driver sitting postion, seat height, steering angel, and most IMPORTANTLY, the AIRBAG firing angel, we decided not to place any hard materials on the horn pad as might cause injuries. This shows how much improtance was given to safety in designing this MPV. U might ask, how other cars and mpv's can have it…its because they imply a different airbag firing angel…u might ask again, why the same firing angel was not, simply because each vehicle has its own characteristic….same goes to this MPV, as i said be4, due to the sitting positiong, vehicle height, steering angel and height (u will have a freeplay in steering angle since u can adjust it, so the airbag must cover all the angels)….and many other aspects that need to be considered be4 putting anything onto the horn pad…even the horn pad material choice is very important.

[quote comment="217235"]Just relook at d leaked spy pic & i'm very sure that there will b a manual trans

2 dots(no).[/quote]

Hahahahahahaha….funny la u bro…..as advertise by PROTON, only AT will be launched FIRST….(please paham2 sendiri why i use the word 'first')

Cheers![/quote]

aa angel or angle

• farghmee on Mar 05, 2009 at 12:56 am

good xplanation by si-fu.

err..it's "angle" right, isn't it?

• Why is there no indication of CLOSED or OPEN for the air-cond vents?

• Endeavour on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:01 am

I like it.. i like it.. i like iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit…

i want to tauch it…. i want it.. i want iiiiittt..

the dashboard soooo sexy.. :) the designer is Women right ? :)

hei.. anyone touch the dashboard? how does it feel? it feels sticky? Izzit?

• wiraperkasa on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:11 am

[quote comment="217271"]Why is there no indication of CLOSED or OPEN for the air-cond vents?[/quote]

because it not a complete picture…haiyaaa

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:17 am

sorry, spelling mistake….shud be 'angle'!

Cheers!

• overflow (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:36 am

dude are you working with proton r&d, how come you can tell proton copied from other manufacture.. if you really compare the dashborad with other manufacture exactly you will see the diffrent in proton..

maybe you use mahendra vehicle i think..

• red7 (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:46 am

good one si-fu!

• seat-belt on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:49 am

[quote comment="217138"]Heck…same small vertical adjustment dial also used on the central air cond vent….and why-lar placed on the left?? Further to reach for the driver…player seems to be by Clarion.

"phone" button on steering is probably to mute the player in case of an incoming call as other buttons appear to be solely for player controls…guess if you change the player, the buttons would not work then??[/quote]

the phone button is a call-receiver button that can be connect via bluetooth la… if u dun believe it, read the previous post la……

btw, i think the player is seems to be by blaupunkt….

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:56 am

Copied from Myvi, Civic, Eastar? That is the most %&#*$ stupid brainless comment that I've heard all this while. Wake up. I almost puked, and if I happened to do so, I'm so happy to puke at your face.

• seat-belt on Mar 05, 2009 at 2:05 am

[quote comment="217225"]Well.. Naza/Kia Rondo does received a lot of awards and use as taxi in a lot of countries… I think New York also using it..

They can compete in US due to cheap & 5 years of warranty. Engine now is using the same GEMA engine use by Mitsubishi new lancer 2.0L engine but different tuning & system. (which have CVVT & timing chain)

Well, the trump card for NAZA/Kia Rondo is the 5 star safety.. that i think Proton will never get it.. Even officially safety result for Proton cars is P. Waja which is 3 star from EURONCAP, which i think is almost the same standard for this MPV..

The only thing Naza/Kia cannot sell well is the Korean brand which ppl are scared of.. But now due to their similarity with Japanese Mitsubishi technology, i think it is a good buy for a proper safe family MPV.[/quote]

hey naza promoter, if u want to promote ur products, use proper way la… go make news paper advertisement la….why? naza/kia is dun have enough money to make advertisement ah?…. haha..

btw, shame on kia. engine for a MPV also want to use other car maker engine…. why? do no how to make engine eh?….poor…

n one more, how u can noe bout exora safety standard?…i wonder how…

• seat-belt on Mar 05, 2009 at 2:09 am

another kia/naza desperate promoter…..try to cari "publisiti murahan" by using this blog…haha….go find paultan and ask him how to advertise on this page la…..hahaha….

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 2:17 am

Proton is improving yea.

Texture looks on par with other vehicles of which in the same class as this. Kudos.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 05, 2009 at 2:23 am

i assume raj is a saleman with naza.

• theanswer on Mar 05, 2009 at 2:35 am

[quote comment="217216"][quote comment="217192"]The dashboard is copied from Perodua MYVI and the steering is copied from Honda Civic. The platform comes from Chery Easter and the engine is breathless Campro 1.6 CPS . I am not sure what is the hype apart from being proton's first MPV. I think the latest Kia/Naza Rondo at 85k is a real steal!. Specs are up to date (2.0VT, Tiptronic Gearbox, Dual Airbags,EBD,ABS plus it won an award in USA for being the most economical MPV for 2008. Also it is a global car. I think Malaysian are more wiser now and not fall for silly antics by Proton.[/quote]

cammon man. myvi's dashboard is totally super duper suck. really look cheap. i think exora's dshboard is muach mush better. myvi?uweeekkk..nasib baik aku x jadi beli aritu..kalo tak, nyesal seumur idup!![/quote]

come on la…if u think u'r matured enuf, dont bash another car la. exora n myvi are not in the same league ok. if u want to compare, pls compare exora with avanza ok. dont just easily 'uweek' like a baby ok..if u read last weekend nst cbt, myvi is still the top selling national car in malaysia. so, u wanna say tht thousands of ppl will menyesal seumur idup by buying a myvi? too bad~

• [quote comment="217274"][quote comment="217271"]Why is there no indication of CLOSED or OPEN for the air-cond vents?[/quote]

because it not a complete picture…haiyaaa[/quote]

It is a picture of the actual dashboard and it clearly shows that for both the driver air-cond vent and the central air-cond vents, there is no indication of the CLOSED or OPEN position. How can that be not a complete picture unless the markings are stuck on by stickers?!!

• ishh susah sangat

jus adjust la the open/close toggle

ade rasa angin kua maknanya open ah tuh

kalo sebaliknya maknanya close ah tuh

itu pun jadi masalah

apelah

adoiiii

:P

• infinity on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:14 am

i think the thing below the air-cond vent is jz to adjust the flow to the left or right..not to open or close the vents…maybe when u adjust to extreme left or right (or maybe up or down), the vent will be closed..

• autojohndoe on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:18 am

everybody really cares about technology in the cars… like abs, ebd, vsc etc…

but my lecturer said, mostly, those are seldomly used… he used to work at UK car company…

• Hulkenberg? on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:23 am

Im impressed. Really job well done. Lets see the real one..

• nanachan on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:38 am

especially to RAJ,

better use the word quite the same or almost the same rather than copy.. because u dont know anything dude. u aRE only one of the myvi user who try to condemn the new car since u feel depress for making too early decision buying a lousy myvi. dude, this MPV ca take over your myvi in anytime lah… speed.. myvi 1.3 jer hak elah.. yg ni 1.6 CPS plak tuh.. top engine among campro.. and.. cornering… one word lotus.. myvi ape ada? suspension pon teruk hell.. x gitu??? sebab tu kalau org cerdik dier x compare myvi with this new monster myvi. yer x? aku comparekan untuk ko sebab u cam nak sangat comnpare bila dah compare sure2 la myvi kalah camne pon ..

cheers… i suka myvi just because of the look. tu jer.tapi kalau test drive pikir 2 3 kali. not worth it.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:39 am

[quote comment="217178"]hopefully proton will use high material for plastic parts..

currently satria neo dashboard seem faded after 1 year…

daily under sun light require high quality parts..

not just finishing texture…

cheers[/quote]

weird, my almost 3yrs old neo's dashboard still looks new :-/ no shades for my poor neo all these years unless i went to mall :D

anyway, i love the texture, n steering! move it to neo pls! ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:00 am

[quote comment="217299"]if u read last weekend nst cbt, myvi is still the top selling national car in malaysia. so, u wanna say tht thousands of ppl will menyesal seumur idup by buying a myvi? too bad~[/quote]

i agree.. the myvi is a good car, priced right in the market, at the right time also, which is why so many were sold. but of course there will be negative criticism.. when proton came out with the saga, also right pricing, good package, and it sold very well also, would you then also agree that the saga is a good car? but the bashers claim that proton 'conned' people into buying.. i dunno how they did it though.

• menawan on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:19 am

Go die pls.. If u dun want buy dont talk cock here

• acerman (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:22 am

Waja too is right hand side. It think starting from now all Proton cars wiper stick is right hand side. From the picture, this MPV look european and not japanese.

I don't know abut you guys, but I like the european style than the japanese style. Simple.

• menawan on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:25 am

[quote comment="217231"]will there be a special credit terms for gomen's servants… let's pray… :)[/quote]

amin.. Special credit term.. I love the government

• menawan on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:27 am

[quote comment="217251"][quote comment="217194"]I still don't understand why Proton don't opt for a chrome badge on the steering wheel like what most manufacturers do. Personally, i feel a simple chrome badge can give the steering wheel a better look and feel. I seriously do not fancy the cheap-looking 'crafted' emblem. For something that every driver will touch and see most of the time, I think Proton should spend some time to think how to make it better.[/quote]

2 dots(no).[/quote]

Cheers![/quote]

THUMBS UP…

• Protonsucks on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:28 am

Yucks! Just look at the dashboard.Not ergonomic at all!

Feels cheap and looks typical PROTON!

YUCK YUCK!!!

For RM 75k ++ ,this is rubbish!

• menawan on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:31 am

[quote comment="217314"]everybody really cares about technology in the cars… like abs, ebd, vsc etc…

but my lecturer said, mostly, those are seldomly used… he used to work at UK car company…[/quote]

thumbs UP for this one also..!

• msian on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:37 am

ayioooo….my god…..even this harmless pic aso got ppl bashing ah…wat is this world cmin 2 la…….!raj….dun just bantai la….juz gve da car a chance la….belum launch pun da bantai…ayioooo

• Protonsucks on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:38 am

Specially to Menawan,

I am guessing ur a typical Mat Rempit who loves Proton and the current Gment.

You may say Myvi is 1.3 only anD this piece of shit is 1.6 .

BUt let me tell you, only idiots like you will buy this piece of shit with some stupid Campro engine with that stupid CPS .Handling Lotus? YEah true,but tell me how many ppl out there are racing everyday?

It just shows how Proton can easily fool some ppl into buying lousy rubbish with all the stupid hype.

Just look at the Neo,Lotus this and that,but in the end still sales like shit!

GOod riddance bad Rubbish!

• [quote comment="217251"][quote comment="217194"]I still don't understand why Proton don't opt for a chrome badge on the steering wheel like what most manufacturers do. Personally, i feel a simple chrome badge can give the steering wheel a better look and feel. I seriously do not fancy the cheap-looking 'crafted' emblem. For something that every driver will touch and see most of the time, I think Proton should spend some time to think how to make it better.[/quote]

2 dots(no).[/quote]

Cheers![/quote]

actually the main reason is to cut cost. Just like Kia and Hyundai. In our country, Kia and Hyundai don't have these chrome badge on the sterring wheel while in oversea or their homeland, they have it. I been korea and so i know. In korea their car almost warp with chrome.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:52 am

[quote comment="217341"]Specially to Menawan,

BUt let me tell you, only idiots like you will buy this piece of shit with some stupid Campro engine with that stupid CPS .Handling Lotus? YEah true,but tell me how many ppl out there are racing everyday?

It just shows how Proton can easily fool some ppl into buying lousy rubbish with all the stupid hype.

GOod riddance bad Rubbish![/quote]

ride n handling isnt js about race, its how ur ride respond to harsh or smooth road on any speed range, n how responsive it is. so when u screw up at a simple corner at even slow speed due to slipery road, u can still save ur own ass. rather than sloppy handling tat even on slow corners can give u boat on 4 wheels. when u actually have the chance to sit in a neo as passenger or driver, i'll make u eat ur words.

neo's sales isnt good due to it's a 2door, do u even hv logic? as for campro, low end can be sucky at times, but its not till its dead, really, u need to let some1 know how to drive a car to show u what a real car is. i doubt u can even own a real car, not a washing myvine on 4 wheels

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:53 am

[quote comment="217342"]In korea their car almost warp with chrome.[/quote]

:D bling bling

• infinity on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:09 am

it would be better if the driver side air cond vent and also the vent above it covered with the same material that covers the centre dash..as well as part of the door trim…anyway, i am satisfied with its current form..

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:10 am

5 more MAN UTD games to go… errr before next month… kira hari byk sgt… kira game utd la sikit je nampak… hehehe

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:12 am

err agaknye bila Exora ni nak masuk dalam list Sijil Simpanan Premium?… konfom bulan tu aku beli sijil byk nye la…

• infinity on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:15 am

the small slot below the driver side air cond vent should be for cards like touch'n'go…the bigger 1 below, which is quite shallow..i think for handphone..if the phone icon steering button is for bluetooth, then the shallow column should be juz nice to put yr hp, with the screen side facing the driver, thus allowing the driver to see who is calling without needing the driver to move his/her hand away from the steering..

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:20 am

The aircond vent dial at the bottom serves the purpose of only directing the air left, right and center and the small dial at the flaps serves the purpose of directing air up, center and down…and it also closes the air cond vent with a 'click' sound.

[/quote]actually the main reason is to cut cost. Just like Kia and Hyundai. In our country, Kia and Hyundai don't have these chrome badge on the sterring wheel while in oversea or their homeland, they have it. I been korea and so i know. In korea their car almost warp with chrome.[/quote]

For Proton the reason was not cost, as the chrome emblem was requested directly by our Dato' MD…but we had to decline for the reasons that i have stated be4….so when ur MD request striaght, i think cost is not an issue…moreover, how much its gonna cost? Most to most maybe a few ringgit…..

Cheers!

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:24 am

[quote comment="217272"]…the dashboard soooo sexy.. :) the designer is Women right ? :)…[/quote]

i think the designer is a man… man likes sexy things, man create sexy things… women is motherhood by nature, always create a protective design… man design gun, women design a bulletproof vest

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:26 am

[quote comment="217357"]the small slot below the driver side air cond vent should be for cards like touch'n'go…the bigger 1 below, which is quite shallow..i think for handphone..if the phone icon steering button is for bluetooth, then the shallow column should be juz nice to put yr hp, with the screen side facing the driver, thus allowing the driver to see who is calling without needing the driver to move his/her hand away from the steering..[/quote]

U dont need to worry about whose calling, u can know whose calling with the hp inside ur pockets….hahahahahahaha…..wait till launch to get further details….i think i am starting to tease u guys pulak now…..haihhhh….kena mintak korang belanja nih, byk info aku dah bagi….hehehehehehehehe….just joking…:P

Cheers!

• Si-Fu,

So i'm rite & does that mean there b M-line & H-line FIRST?,( then there b

B-line later)

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:29 am

[quote comment="217358"]…The aircond vent dial at the bottom serves the purpose of only directing the air left, right and center and the small dial at the flaps serves the purpose of directing air up, center and down…and it also closes the air cond vent with a 'click' sound….

[/quote]

maka dgn ini, jgnla buat sebarangan andaian… mcm dalam kes ni… bibah nye ekon vent tak leh nak katup, takdak org nak bash ke?

• wajara on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:35 am

[quote comment="217149"]Wonder if this is the higher end model as it appears to have passenger side air bag but a look at the meter panel seems to suggest the lack of ABS…[/quote]

Did u really drive a car with safety features?? Almost cars that have ABS and SRS, the indicator will blinking a few seconds then shut off….This shows the features are functioning…..

• infinity on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:44 am

[quote comment="217360"]

U dont need to worry about whose calling, u can know whose calling with the hp inside ur pockets….hahahahahahaha…..wait till launch to get further details….i think i am starting to tease u guys pulak now…..haihhhh….kena mintak korang belanja nih, byk info aku dah bagi….hehehehehehehehe….just joking…:P

Cheers![/quote]

tat means confirm got bluetooth la??

my guess…either the name of the caller appear on the radio screen, or the caller name read out through the speaker..

or another possibility…proton giving away free bluetooth ear-piece to all exora buyer…haha!!

si-fu..let's go out for a drink…haha!!

• ali38hak on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:46 am

si-fu

what about DIESEL engine? when will it come???

or will it come? thinks proton to get a diesel engine from other brands??

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:51 am

i think the reason for proton not to offer the diesel line up is because the diesel quality… come on g…

• Tiadaid on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:56 am

[quote comment="217165"][quote comment="217133"]sekarang ni mungkin bukan trend kot utk dashboard material mcm wira/satria… aku suka feel lembut dia… bibah aku nye dashboard.. plastik keras… hehehe[/quote]

bkn trend aku rase..tapi jimat kos. kalo tgk proton dlu2..saga,iswara,wira,satria..semua gune dashboard lembut yg time tuh tak saper pun ckp pasal kualiti. biler sekrg nk jimat kos…kuar la dashboard plastik keras neh..yg kalao habuk pon senang nampak..tgk pon nampak murah.[/quote]

La, dashboard lembut tu lagi mahal ke? Bukan rasa cam lagi murah?

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:59 am

next month also pilihanraya for the '2 bukit 1 batang' … highest vote will get the Exora for Free… amacam, ada brani?

• CocoBear on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:00 am

Stop comparing this with the Myvi la.. From the high-res photo, i can clearly see the quality texture and feel within the interior. Comparing it to the old Waja, there's a significant improvement. The gap and plastic moulding edges are less. The steering wheel looks firm and doesn't have sharp edges unlike the stupid Waja. I have to say that the interior is studied from Myvi. The center panel and the upper portion of its dashboard have a nice brushed aluminum texture. The meter panel is adopted from Myvi. There's also a little slot for putting carpark tickets and a Clarion CD player.

If the engine is 1.6CPS, then the engine's evolution has increased from 6,500rpm to 7,000 rpm(from the pic.)

• Tiadaid on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:04 am

[quote comment="217301"][quote comment="217274"][quote comment="217271"]Why is there no indication of CLOSED or OPEN for the air-cond vents?[/quote]

because it not a complete picture…haiyaaa[/quote]

It is a picture of the actual dashboard and it clearly shows that for both the driver air-cond vent and the central air-cond vents, there is no indication of the CLOSED or OPEN position. How can that be not a complete picture unless the markings are stuck on by stickers?!![/quote]

At least the vents can be closed. Honda City can't even close the center vents at all!

• material looks nice… fitting is improving.

Recent Protons has not much of dashboard annoying sound like the old Wira. Hope this is the same.

Digital clock numbers too small for me, if the CD player can set for time should be OK, i guess.

Only wish that steering to be thicker wrapped. Can't see cruise control in there… hope they fit that onto all models… MPV is for long distance travel, so cruise control is a convenient.

I see this steering really cost more to produce than those in the current Waja… extra RM15-20 cost for the steering chrome logo wouldn't harm too much to new steering existing cost, it does elevate the interior feel instantly. and they can share it with Waja replacement or other models if they like.

Use some safer material like the soft Lacquer over chrome type should do the work brilliantly (same like in Honda, VW & BMW). or rather the chrome version of little Thundercat was not up to satisfactory hence the nicely embossed logo?

• Tiadaid on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:12 am

If you wanna criticize, at least give an educated criticismla…don't just talk cock! U say Proton easily fool some ppl into buying rubish cars, but I ask u, u think other imported cars is better ah? My Honda City gave me more trouble than my Gen-2, and I drove both car the same way. Can you explain that?

• Wisdom (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:12 am

[quote comment="217358"]The aircond vent dial at the bottom serves the purpose of only directing the air left, right and center and the small dial at the flaps serves the purpose of directing air up, center and down…and it also closes the air cond vent with a 'click' sound.

actually the main reason is to cut cost. Just like Kia and Hyundai. In our country, Kia and Hyundai don't have these chrome badge on the sterring wheel while in oversea or their homeland, they have it. I been korea and so i know. In korea their car almost warp with chrome.

For Proton the reason was not cost, as the chrome emblem was requested directly by our Dato' MD…but we had to decline for the reasons that i have stated be4….so when ur MD request striaght, i think cost is not an issue…moreover, how much its gonna cost? Most to most maybe a few ringgit…..

Cheers![/quote]

I see your claim as 'we had to decline' means you were involved in the development stages of this Exora. Which also means that you'll be responsible for any shortcoming on this mpv (if there any). Make sure this 'si-fu' nick wont just disappears once Exora on sale and complaints started raise :) (Malaysian complaints on everything)

U guys check this out. Try to zoom the picture to pixel-deep and a few more details can be seen. One example, zoom-in to indicator area inside meter panel. U'll see traces of erasing some of the indicators, in between high beam and seat-belt indicator, and might be another beside check engine indicator. Any comment si-fu? ABS indicator? Follow-me-home indicator? Cruise on?

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:16 am

[quote comment="217377"]…Use some safer material like the soft Lacquer over chrome type should do the work brilliantly (same like in Honda, VW & BMW). or rather the chrome version of little Thundercat was not up to satisfactory hence the nicely embossed logo?…[/quote]

the thunderkitten miow-miow logo with gold color over dark bg… how's that?…

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:27 am

just surfing some info of the Thundercats…

Lion-O – perdana;

Panthro – waja;

Tygra – wira;

Cheetara – exora;

WilyKat; WilyKit – tiara;

Snarf – sawy;

Jaga – juara;

Claudis;

Pumyra – satria;

Ben Gali;

Lynx-O – putra;

Scooper,

Snarfer;

Grune;

Leah;

Jaguara

hahaha

• leonardo on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:29 am

Softer dashboard is more expensive due to the process – usually slush moulding, and lately, a 'skin' covering over the shell. In Malaysia this is typically found on on cars over 100k. Proton last use this kind of material on the Wira range and the Waja. Unfortunately increasing cost of plastic raw materials have driven most car manufacturers to use PP+EPDM+Talc or something similar.

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:31 am

[quote comment="217128"]tak ade kuality….[/quote]

Sebenarnya, kami x kisah sgt dgn komen dari org buta ataupun buat2 buta… sebab tu xder org nak bash ko ni… u know what i mean?

why dont u say proton copy chery eastar or tata nano tyre shape.. the round shape is very exectly the same… so no 1 will bash u…

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:31 am

[quote comment="217392"]Softer dashboard is more expensive due to the process – usually slush moulding, and lately, a 'skin' covering over the shell. In Malaysia this is typically found on on cars over 100k. Proton last use this kind of material on the Wira range and the Waja….[/quote]

kenapa tetiba je terbangga dgn dashboard satria ku…

• errrr…hmmm… just monochrome how is that?… If the gold is OK… Proton wouldn't have changed those on the exterior of their cars. hahaha…

• wish i can get both on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:44 am

[quote comment="217398"]errrr…hmmm…

just monochrome how is that?… If the gold is OK… Proton wouldn't have changed those on the exterior of their cars. hahaha…[/quote]

u see the black ranger is the lead ranger… while the gold ranger is just an add-on solo ranger… which will lose it's power over time… so, that's why proton choose the logo to be black… hehehe

• Protonsucks on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:46 am

Specially to Tiadaid

Of course your city gave you more problems than ur Gen 2.

But do you know how many ppl have been affected by lousy Protons compared to how many ppl been affected by lousy Hondas?

Hopefully your mum teach u to give a more educated response kiddo.

• red7 (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:47 am

[quote comment="217360"][quote comment="217357"]the small slot below the driver side air cond vent should be for cards like touch'n'go…the bigger 1 below, which is quite shallow..i think for handphone..if the phone icon steering button is for bluetooth, then the shallow column should be juz nice to put yr hp, with the screen side facing the driver, thus allowing the driver to see who is calling without needing the driver to move his/her hand away from the steering..[/quote]

Cheers![/quote]

hahaha

bunyi menarik si-fu

jom minum minum

hahaha

• sphiroth on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:51 am

I think the RPM meter for Exora is the one properly designed for CPS (redline at 7k) compared with mine (6.5k) where the peak power obtained.

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:09 am

[quote comment="217401"]Specially to Tiadaid

But do you know how many ppl have been affected by lousy Protons compared to how many ppl been affected by lousy Hondas?

Hopefully your mum teach u to give a more educated response kiddo.[/quote]

that because the amount of honda users is less than proton owners in malaysia… it's normal, 1 in 100 or 1000 got problem on every single thing that made by human… from 1000 honda owners, he the 1 who got the lemon… while proton cars? from 200k owners, that's why more than 1000 owners got the lemons… buying a car just like a gamble… if u lucky enuf, then u will get a great car eventhou it's was a proton….

• Tiadaid on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:18 am

[quote comment="217404"][quote comment="217401"]Specially to Tiadaid

that because the amount of honda users is less than proton owners in malaysia… it's normal, 1 in 100 or 1000 got problem on every single thing that made by human… from 1000 honda owners, he the 1 who got the lemon… while proton cars? from 200k owners, that's why more than 1000 owners got the lemons… buying a car just like a gamble… if u lucky enuf, then u will get a great car eventhou it's was a proton….[/quote]

Nicely put!

• Tiadaid on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:19 am

Well at least I know how to use the QUOTE feature!

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:20 am

my fren civic had a problem the engine… mechanic told him that 1 of the fuel injector fail (as what my fren told me) and that thing costs him RM2000+ and need 3 months shipping the parts from japan.. pity him, his car just out of warranty 3 months ago…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:28 am

[/quote]

thats a very good question. do you?

• infinity on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:42 am

if u really 1 the emblem on the steering, i am sure u can get it outside once the car is launched..but be careful…as wat si-fu indicate, where there should not be hard object that will obstruct or hurt the driver in the event of firing of the airbag..

• Wisdom (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:49 am

I agree that Protonsucks.

Not only Proton sucks.

Toyota also sucks, Honda sucks, BMW sucks, Ferrari sucks, all car sucks….

They sucks air usually from the front end. Through the grills. Besides radiator fan (to cool down the radiator), the engine also sucks air via inlet manifold right before air filter. The air then channeled to the combustion chamber ais air fuel mixture bla bla bla…….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:55 am

Now I can say good job Proton! =D

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:57 am

sifu,

this MPV…. i hope not gonna be a failure…it maybe a success in its own backyard, but in worldwide..i dont think it would..

interior design is so so bland..RONDO does look way better…

Heck even the small VW POLO looks millions time better…look at the quality..

come on….some chrome would look so much better..meter looks so old school…look at those german n even new hyundais…so clean n nice..here u have red in the middle…apala..tak cantik pun….

even the new Ford Fiesta has darn nice interior…u ade tengok tak?

n come on…. u telling me Proton doesnt want to install chrome bagde because of safety? what loads of bull man….

check tis months AUTOCAR Asean….EVERYCAR in test has a nice badge on it….chrome or whatever…. so they all stupid la??? Proton so good??

Outside the car look…but inside….Crap…sorry to say… Proton still dont get it….

I remember when the pics leaked out u were saying they were not final production…but now i c it…i think its still crap….

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:11 am

[quote comment="217362"][quote comment="217358"]…The aircond vent dial at the bottom serves the purpose of only directing the air left, right and center and the small dial at the flaps serves the purpose of directing air up, center and down…and it also closes the air cond vent with a 'click' sound….

[/quote]

maka dgn ini, jgnla buat sebarangan andaian… mcm dalam kes ni… bibah nye ekon vent tak leh nak katup, takdak org nak bash ke?[/quote]

Viva sux. There, I hv just bashed the kereta maut. Easily the car with scariest ride n handling in the world.

Btw, ezora? U mean evora? :)

si-fu,

If we're serious, will u rly join us for Teh Tarik session :) ? Fellow Paultanians, JOM TT NGAN SI-FU!!!! Teh tarik? Starbucks pun ak bole blanja, si-fu!! :D

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:33 am

[quote comment="217418"]I agree that Protonsucks.

Not only Proton sucks.

They sucks air usually from the front end. Through the grills. Besides radiator fan (to cool down the radiator), the engine also sucks air via inlet manifold right before air filter. The air then channeled to the combustion chamber ais air fuel mixture bla bla bla…….[/quote]

HaHaHa.. LOL.. funny till my tears gone out… nice one dude… right on the face..

• madimat on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:35 am

[quote comment="217337"]Yucks! Just look at the dashboard.Not ergonomic at all!

YUCK YUCK!!!

For RM 75k ++ ,this is rubbish![/quote]

ha ha ha you ni kelakar la bro =)

I own one of those 'rubbish' car from this 'rubbish' brand and i feel safe in it for many-many years. My 'rubbish' car never fails even once to serve me and taking me around from point A to point B, C, D, E and so on. Sometimes my 'rubbish' car also give me problems but hey,… even all those non-rubbish car brands also got many more rubbish problems lah. The Star car, the loops car, the T or H or K or any other paste-n-drive emblem cars also got rubbish problems but most of the time they're not highlighted or just keeping quite just because they are not this 'cursed rubbish car brand'… as simple as that.

the moral of the story is; when people is talking about rubbish (i.e this Exora thread) please do not join the conversation (i.e please shut up) and go somewhere else, unless you're already stink! ;)

.peace

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:36 am

[quote comment="217420"]sifu,

this MPV…. i hope not gonna be a failure…it maybe a success in its own backyard, but in worldwide..i dont think it would..

come on….some chrome would look so much better..meter looks so old school…look at those german n even new hyundais…so clean n nice..here u have red in the middle…apala..tak cantik pun….

n come on…. u telling me Proton doesnt want to install chrome bagde because of safety? what loads of bull man….

check tis months AUTOCAR Asean….EVERYCAR in test has a nice badge on it….chrome or whatever…. so they all stupid la??? Proton so good??

I remember when the pics leaked out u were saying they were not final production…but now i c it…i think its still crap….[/quote]

CRUDE, if u think this Exora crap, dont buy… just as simple as that..

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:38 am

[quote comment="217403"]I think the RPM meter for Exora is the one properly designed for CPS (redline at 7k) compared with mine (6.5k) where the peak power obtained.[/quote]

hey..kalu la CPS bole masuk persona aku….

• madimat on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:41 am

ha ha ha

another basher coming from nowhere and started giving his rubbish talk . looks really desperate hmm, ..? dont be mad la bro,.. go take out your myvi for a drive and go chat chat with your mat rempit friends ;) you will be okay by then

• bangkhai on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:49 am

Not only Proton sucks.

They sucks air usually from the front end. Through the grills. Besides radiator fan (to cool down the radiator), the engine also sucks air via inlet manifold right before air filter. The air then channeled to the combustion chamber ais air fuel mixture bla bla bla…….[/quote]

haha funny la u bro.. the funniest comment that i ever read in paultan!

yeah i totally agree with u.. all cars are SUCK!! haha..

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:54 am

[quote comment="217436"][quote comment="217418"]I agree that Protonsucks.

Not only Proton sucks.

haha funny la u bro.. the funniest comment that i ever read in paultan!

yeah i totally agree with u.. all cars are SUCK!! haha..[/quote]

so lambo should be the most SUCKS then..hahaha look at the front opening..

• madimat on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:54 am

Not only Proton sucks.

long live Wise Man ! ;)

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:59 am

[quote comment="217337"]Yucks! Just look at the dashboard.Not ergonomic at all!

YUCK YUCK!!!

go buy another car, don waste your rubbish time here.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:44 am

[quote comment="217441"][quote comment="217337"]Yucks! Just look at the dashboard.Not ergonomic at all!

YUCK YUCK!!!

go buy another car, don waste your rubbish time here.[/quote]

haha he should get a life, not like us post here talk cock waste time. anyway, he can be a good fortune teller, since he know the future just by pictures ;)

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:00 am

[quote comment="217423"][quote comment="217362"][quote comment="217358"]…The aircond vent dial at the bottom serves the purpose of only directing the air left, right and center and the small dial at the flaps serves the purpose of directing air up, center and down…and it also closes the air cond vent with a 'click' sound….

[/quote]

maka dgn ini, jgnla buat sebarangan andaian… mcm dalam kes ni… bibah nye ekon vent tak leh nak katup, takdak org nak bash ke?[/quote]

Viva sux. There, I hv just bashed the kereta maut. Easily the car with scariest ride n handling in the world.

Btw, ezora? U mean evora? :)

si-fu,

If we're serious, will u rly join us for Teh Tarik session :) ? Fellow Paultanians, JOM TT NGAN SI-FU!!!! Teh tarik? Starbucks pun ak bole blanja, si-fu!! :D[/quote]

ok tokmoh..just set the time n place…

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:30 am

[quote comment="217454"]ok tokmoh..just set the time n place…[/quote]

i want in as well :P

• red7 (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 11:01 am

[quote comment="217460"][quote comment="217454"]ok tokmoh..just set the time n place…[/quote]

i want in as well :P[/quote]

me too!

• takuhai_ha_neko_dear on Mar 05, 2009 at 12:27 pm

nice textures for dashboard…

i would like to thank engineers for their efforts…

from the panel, i can see the a two digits number, 26…

assumed this model have traveled within the factory for 26kilos…

of course it should be 4 or more digits mileage for test mule model…

within one month, we will celebrate the birth of Exora…

adrenalin flows in engineers body, this blog also going to panas…

my father also in dilemma, should or not,to book this mpv…

his grandchildren are going to kecoh2 kat belakang…

i have few questions for anybody from proton…

where is Rnd division located? shah alam or proton city?

• micheal on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:39 pm

you work for Naza ar mr raj?

most economical? but izit the most sold car? not really… if they copy each other, then Nissan Teana copy S class designs.. you drive alredy ar this Exora?…why dont you design a car… that have non similarities with other car?

• micheal on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:45 pm

good one proton! those big companies such, toyota, mercedes, do started their business like proton, going through hard times, critics, but after decades, they managed to be a real good company, proton will, if they keep on improving, and doing better in evry each model! Congratulations!

• micheal on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:47 pm

viva is not that bad,

at least it's better than kancil?

hahhaha….

btw,

saying about compact cars,

Savvy design quite sux,

but it drives good you know…

but the AMT gearbox (Bosch Technology) seems problematic to me…

• Married But Availabl on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:01 pm

si-fu said,

March 4, 2009 @ 9:20 pm · Reply with quote

The aircond vent dial at the bottom serves the purpose of only directing the air left, right and center and the small dial at the flaps serves the purpose of directing air up, center and down…and it also closes the air cond vent with a ‘click’ sound.

actually the main reason is to cut cost. Just like Kia and Hyundai. In our country, Kia and Hyundai don’t have these chrome badge on the sterring wheel while in oversea or their homeland, they have it. I been korea and so i know. In korea their car almost warp with chrome.

For Proton the reason was not cost, as the chrome emblem was requested directly by our Dato’ MD…but we had to decline for the reasons that i have stated be4….so when ur MD request striaght, i think cost is not an issue…moreover, how much its gonna cost? Most to most maybe a few ringgit…..

Cheers!

————————————-

very good la you..

Proton should hire more Sales Engineer and they should know how to explain this and this to customer..

• androndraco on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:24 pm

is there any usb port at media console?

• nonadoes on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:46 pm

small rant..

the digital clock at the center console are tad too small. it will looks much nicer & classier if is cover the whole arc. So far the interior looks decent. Now just need to wait to touch and feel..

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:00 pm

[quote comment="217420"]sifu,

I remember when the pics leaked out u were saying they were not final production…but now i c it…i think its still crap….[/quote]

CRUDE oh CRUDE… u can predict the future hah? already noe Exora will success in own field but fail in worldwide? waah.. (*clapping my hand*)

Interior design is so bland? and Rondo (in jawa mean "Janda") does look better? waah.. exora still not launching yet, but u already noe and can comparing the interior hah? what? u can predict just see through a pic? waah…from a fortune teller, now he's turned into Superman..

Ford Fiesta hah? u noe, why they setup the bloody hell nice interior with their Ford? hahaha… u noe what mean by "desperate"? they desperate to make a bloody hell nice car, yet with a cheap price… oherwise the manufacturer will collapes if they not do it so…

Sifu already expalin here mate… it's for ur own safety… it's not about cutting cost. That thing only cost a few ringgit's when it need to be installed.. when u involve in accident, airbag deploy and that chrome shinny emblem suddenly hitting ur face.. u want that a few ringgit's thing will make u "bisang" for the whole of ur life? hm… u will never consider to buying a proton just b'coz of that chrome emblem was not installed? or maybe that just ur point to bashing?

FYI, sifu is not calling they're "STUPID" when other manufacturers installing a chrome emblem at the steering wheel… this just ur point to bashing..

Like MIC (Made In China) cars, sometimes we can see the dashbord design is bloody hell nice… but with lack of texture and quality… it's become ugly… u still dont get it…

yea… i also remember when the pics was leaked and sifu said it's not a final design, i kinda agreed.. why? the leaked pics is lack of texture and quality… and now, we can see the different… aih? i wonder ha… u can noe the different between Rondo and exora dashbord just refering through the pics… but u cant see the different between exora'a 1st leaked pics with the final design pics… oh i forgot… it's a point to start a bashing….

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:21 pm

[quote comment="217520"][quote comment="217420"]sifu,

CRUDE oh CRUDE… u can predict the future hah? already noe Exora will success in own field but fail in worldwide? waah.. (*clapping my hand*)

Interior design is so bland? and Rondo (in jawa mean "Janda") does look better? waah.. exora still not launching yet, but u already noe and can comparing the interior hah? what? u can predict just see through a pic? waah…from a fortune teller, now he's turned into Superman..

Ford Fiesta hah? u noe, why they setup the bloody hell nice interior with their Ford? hahaha… u noe what mean by "desperate"? they desperate to make a bloody hell nice car, yet with a cheap price… oherwise the manufacturer will collapes if they not do it so…

Sifu already expalin here mate… it's for ur own safety… it's not about cutting cost. That thing only cost a few ringgit's when it need to be installed.. when u involve in accident, airbag deploy and that chrome shinny emblem suddenly hitting ur face.. u want that a few ringgit's thing will make u "bisang" for the whole of ur life? hm… u will never consider to buying a proton just b'coz of that chrome emblem was not installed? or maybe that just ur point to bashing?

FYI, sifu is not calling they're "STUPID" when other manufacturers installing a chrome emblem at the steering wheel… this just ur point to bashing..

Like MIC (Made In China) cars, sometimes we can see the dashbord design is bloody hell nice… but with lack of texture and quality… it's become ugly… u still dont get it…

yea… i also remember when the pics was leaked and sifu said it's not a final design, i kinda agreed.. why? the leaked pics is lack of texture and quality… and now, we can see the different… aih? i wonder ha… u can noe the different between Rondo and exora dashbord just refering through the pics… but u cant see the different between exora'a 1st leaked pics with the final design pics… oh i forgot… it's a point to start a bashing….[/quote]

Prismo,

Dude oh dude….u came out to back him up.

Ok how bout Polo then? r they desperate? r they a failing Automotive Company? so is that y the interior is nice? ok this car may have quality but it has no flair at all..period…like i said exterior is done nice..interior is so bland…ok rondo u said has no better quality, but look at how intergrated it looks? even the meters looks clean n germanic…

U talk bout safety?? man have u seen pictures of deployed Airbags? have u seen them bro? go n do a research. the horn pad is meant to pop out, not flung open…. n that happens so quickly that the airbag is in your face before anything else… care to explain if im wrong….

I mean come on …so many NCAP 5 Stars come with that piece of chrome badge… and all of them dont do research? only Proton did?

Dude..in the real world…Waja n Civic same level playing field…. Mazda 3(have u seen the new generation? vs Gen 2 Cps…..n other models in their line up….proton has so little sales….

like i said in their own backyard, n perhaps in ASEAN third world countries they have sales…but elsewhere i dont think so..because thats what happened to their rest of their line up….. dont tell me im wrong in this…

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:24 pm

N without the Koreans who have dropped their prices so massively, i DON'T THINK Proton would have ever bucked up…

only thing good is ride n handling…but that is not the only deciding factor in buying a car….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:27 pm

[quote comment="217288"][quote comment="217225"]Well.. Naza/Kia Rondo does received a lot of awards and use as taxi in a lot of countries… I think New York also using it..

dude…u should read his comment properly..he jz told us the info about rondo..but not promote or bashing proton…so..dont be too emotional..

The only thing Naza/Kia cannot sell well is the Korean brand which ppl are scared of.. But now due to their similarity with Japanese Mitsubishi technology, i think it is a good buy for a proper safe family MPV.[/quote]

hey naza promoter, if u want to promote ur products, use proper way la… go make news paper advertisement la….why? naza/kia is dun have enough money to make advertisement ah?…. haha..

btw, shame on kia. engine for a MPV also want to use other car maker engine…. why? do no how to make engine eh?….poor…

n one more, how u can noe bout exora safety standard?…i wonder how…[/quote]

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:28 pm

aiseh…tersilap reply..

• madimat on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Oy people, don't play play with this CRUDE laa ,.. he is very superpower you know. He only write down the truth and please never, ever say otherwise or even oppose him because this guy is full of wisdom and intelligence (by looking at some photo scans).

O people who in defense of Proton or in possession of a Proton,.. the time has come for you to get out of all your Protons and buy a car other than Proton, because This Man is the ONE. He has foreseen a downfall of Proton (by looking at some photo scans) isn't that wonderful.

I wish I have the same capabilities like you, Mr CRUDE ;)

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Nice to read all the comments…some nicely put,some insanely bash..

now i can see ppl will compare this mpv with many cars..compare to myvi laa,bwm laa,(which are not comparable)…Ooo i see,malaysia want A Car which is worth buy such as this:

1. Size as Ria (Spacious,7ppl comfy)

2. Engine as Wish (vvti beb)

3. Safety as Cont Car (5star,ABS,6airbags,ESP what so ever)

4. Interior…(fully leather,wooden finish,expensive look)

5. Priced as low as viva…(Rm70k mahal loh,shud be Rm50k bcoz this is buatan malaysia)

this what i can say MALAYSIAN..

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:48 pm

[quote comment="217527"][quote comment="217520"][quote comment="217420"]sifu,

yea… i also remember when the pics was leaked and sifu said it's not a final design, i kinda agreed.. why? the leaked pics is lack of texture and quality… and now, we can see the different… aih? i wonder ha… u can noe the different between Rondo and exora dashbord just refering through the pics… but u cant see the different between exora'a 1st leaked pics with the final design pics… oh i forgot… it's a point to start a bashing….[/quote]

Prismo,

Dude oh dude….u came out to back him up.

Ok how bout Polo then? r they desperate? r they a failing Automotive Company? so is that y the interior is nice? ok this car may have quality but it has no flair at all..period…like i said exterior is done nice..interior is so bland…ok rondo u said has no better quality, but look at how intergrated it looks? even the meters looks clean n germanic…

U talk bout safety?? man have u seen pictures of deployed Airbags? have u seen them bro? go n do a research. the horn pad is meant to pop out, not flung open…. n that happens so quickly that the airbag is in your face before anything else… care to explain if im wrong….

I mean come on …so many NCAP 5 Stars come with that piece of chrome badge… and all of them dont do research? only Proton did?

Dude..in the real world…Waja n Civic same level playing field…. Mazda 3(have u seen the new generation? vs Gen 2 Cps…..n other models in their line up….proton has so little sales….

like i said in their own backyard, n perhaps in ASEAN third world countries they have sales…but elsewhere i dont think so..because thats what happened to their rest of their line up….. dont tell me im wrong in this…[/quote]

hahaha…Polo was a pride of their nations, their nations support Polo start from beginning eventhou the cars crap when they start to make a car, polo are success now b'coz of their nations, so, polo dpt "balas balik kepercayaan pelanggan"… while malaysian? like u? like me? or the others? if we can support proton from the begining, they will enuf profits to make an evolution..i think u noe what the mentality of malaysians.. they complains on anythings, everythings.. gula naik 5 sen pun jadi point utk buat rusuhan…

Training make some1 perfect but nobody perfect in this world… they expected the airbag will deploy like this… but what happen when it's fail to deploy like this and deploy like that… every single thing that made by human have it's common fault…

FYI, not only proton didn't install the shinny chrome emblem at the steering wheel more others manufacturers didnt do the same thing… come on la dude… waja did it before, but still didnt hear some1 praise it…

That why proton need malaysians support, when they have enuf profits, they can start R&D progress….

yea, u not wrong… that happen with their previous models… u cant predict what will happen with exora in worldwide sale.. now proton had a new marketing strategies… so this would help them to raise the sales… who will noe…

• minnesotan (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:54 pm

betul kata ko Fridz.. sebahagian tu kalu nak semua nak hebat hebat.. tapi kemut nak kuar duit… kalu boleh keter tuh nak rege dalam RM 27K kot.. hampeh… nak banding ngan keter power power.. pastuh banding ngan reger keter luar.. dioarang tau ke hidden cost hidup kat negara luar cemana… hmmm….. nak beli, belila.. tak tak beli..gik la beli keter yang korang rasa boleh beli… bukan ke gitu, kekawan… aku yang dok kat US ni bermasalah ngan keter GM… so pendek kata… kalu ada keter, mesti ada yang tak sempurna…. chauuu

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:54 pm

madimat,

alamak bang….. u rasa kalau GOV buang semua tax on cars….Proton boleh survive k? anda sungguh yakin?

I pun ade proton la… u tau kereta Apa? Savvy..memang best lanyak corner…

Stabil habis…

tetapi maintenances ish ish,….ada tak patut gearbox oil RM130?

i pun tahu enjin renault..european la..bla bla… tetapi ini kereta budget dude…..

baru 40K….

abang i punya waja gearbox oil baru less RM50…n thats for 55k car….

apamacam punya strategy ini? dont give me zaman TM la..bla bla…. they can stock up on parts n bring the prices down….

OH YA..SAGA IAFM…Gearbox oil also RM100…according to one service dude in COE MUTIARA DAMANSARA…. when i argue bout the savvy gearbox oil price he told me Saga pun mahal…bila i ask bout my bro's waja, all he can say its mitubishi engine…

but how can proton own engine can cost so much to change gearbox oil but the one for the foreign engine on the waja is cheaper?

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Malaysian only know to complain and keep complain…looks like we know everything.truly typical malaysian…we need to know,succes is acheive with struggle,study..malaysian product need supports.

Malaysian Suka Komplen..truly and typical Malaysian..

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:09 pm

[quote comment="217535"]Nice to read all the comments…some nicely put,some insanely bash..

now i can see ppl will compare this mpv with many cars..compare to myvi laa,bwm laa,(which are not comparable)…Ooo i see,malaysia want A Car which is worth buy such as this:

1. Size as Ria (Spacious,7ppl comfy)

2. Engine as Wish (vvti beb)

3. Safety as Cont Car (5star,ABS,6airbags,ESP what so ever)

4. Interior…(fully leather,wooden finish,expensive look)

5. Priced as low as viva…(Rm70k mahal loh,shud be Rm50k bcoz this is buatan malaysia)

this what i can say MALAYSIAN..[/quote]

er..bwm keta baru ke?..hehhehe

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:22 pm

lets compare with all the cars this MPV in categorized in….lets do it after it comes out….then lets c whether Proton has truly bucked up…

For 25 years we hav supported them…. so all malaysians r waiting..

And without complain u wont get anything ….

Without voicing out, i beleive Pak Lah will be sleeping while ruling the country still….

my dad has 1993 wira…till 2006…n it gave no problems….u know y guys? because mitsu made….

after the parts were localised..n greed set in..thats it…quality dropped…but still sold for 50k plus??? how is that? even when localised?

n how later they were selling it at 40k??? hahaha…true greed in them…

now after foreign makes cut their market share, they r bucking up…but all the trust is lost through the years…sad isnt it…

ok i do complain… but can someone explain bout the Saga issue? RM100 gearbox oil?

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:32 pm

[quote comment="217539"]madimat,

alamak bang….. u rasa kalau GOV buang semua tax on cars….Proton boleh survive k? anda sungguh yakin?

Stabil habis…

i pun tahu enjin renault..european la..bla bla… tetapi ini kereta budget dude…..

baru 40K….

apamacam punya strategy ini? dont give me zaman TM la..bla bla…. they can stock up on parts n bring the prices down….

OH YA..SAGA IAFM…Gearbox oil also RM100…according to one service dude in COE MUTIARA DAMANSARA…. when i argue bout the savvy gearbox oil price he told me Saga pun mahal…bila i ask bout my bro's waja, all he can say its mitubishi engine…

but how can proton own engine can cost so much to change gearbox oil but the one for the foreign engine on the waja is cheaper?[/quote]

alamak bang… org singapore harap "gov" diaorg dpt turunkan tax dan x payah remove pun dah cukup bagus bagi diaorg… aku pun heran ya… kenapa SG gov tax mahal2 utk semua keta ha? diaorg ada keta buatan sendiri ke? Ini kerana, setiap duit yg mengalir keluar negara, akan effect ekonomi negara la… sebab itulah duit "tax" digunakan utk menampung lubang yg terhasil ekoran ekonomi yg terjejas… sebab tulah, setiap kali kita beli Toyota, kita kena tax kaw2 sebab kita dah tolong menaikan ekonomi jepun dan ekonomi malaysia dah sedikit terjejas… so duit tax itu digunakan utk support balik ekonomi kita.. bukan semata-mata kerajaan hendak mengambil duit kita… cuma mentaliti org malaysia je yg berfikiran mcm tu..

minyak AMT gearbox mmg x sama dgn minyak MT gearbox… aku pernah beli minyak AT gearbox… harga dia RM89… minyak AMT lain sikit dan RM130 mungkin dah termasuk service charge… minyak gearbox waja aku RM25 je.. MT…

marketing strategy DSZA lain… dia tak cut kualiti… dia upgrade kualiti dah letak harga murah… boleh banding gen2 TM dgn Persona dan Gen2 cps DZSA….

Saga baru tu AT ker? minyak gearbox AT mmg mahal… mmg range harga dia RM100… minyak gearbox MT yg biasa RM9 seliter…

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:08 pm

[quote comment="217546"]lets compare with all the cars this MPV in categorized in….lets do it after it comes out….then lets c whether Proton has truly bucked up…

Without voicing out, i beleive Pak Lah will be sleeping while ruling the country still….

my dad has 1993 wira…till 2006…n it gave no problems….u know y guys? because mitsu made….

after the parts were localised..n greed set in..thats it…quality dropped…but still sold for 50k plus??? how is that? even when localised?

now after foreign makes cut their market share, they r bucking up…but all the trust is lost through the years…sad isnt it…quote]

who said wira was made by mitsu? anyone who agree, can raise up ur hand… Proton collaborate with mitsu when they produce wira and it's using our locally parts… the problems start encountered when malaysians start to consider japanese makes and proton sales is dropped year aftter year… that why proton downgrade the quality just to make sure they still made a profit… and DSZA era has come.. the error was corrected… the overpriced was reduced… the quality was improved… and, why did malaysians still bashing base on bad past stories? wake up!!! now we can see the different… the choice is our…

• Prismo on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:09 pm

[quote comment="217555"][quote comment="217546"]lets compare with all the cars this MPV in categorized in….lets do it after it comes out….then lets c whether Proton has truly bucked up…

now after foreign makes cut their market share, they r bucking up…but all the trust is lost through the years…sad isnt it…[/quote]

who said wira was made by mitsu? anyone who agree, can raise up ur hand… Proton collaborate with mitsu when they produce wira and it’s using our locally parts… the problems start encountered when malaysians start to consider japanese makes and proton sales is dropped year aftter year… that why proton downgrade the quality just to make sure they still made a profit… and DSZA era has come.. the error was corrected… the overpriced was reduced… the quality was improved… and, why did malaysians still bashing base on bad past stories? wake up!!! now we can see the different… the choice is our…

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:27 pm

alamak gattaca…typo error laa.sori beb

• jasonLucifer on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:36 pm

Stabil habis…

baru 40K….

but how can proton own engine can cost so much to change gearbox oil but the one for the foreign engine on the waja is cheaper?[/quote]

ayo…my uncle last week juz service his PROTON SAGA IAFM manual. GearBox oil cost him only RM26.50. svc done by proton svc center. My mun punya gear oil untuk toyota Vios also cost more than RM100. Happy motoring everyone. anyway..hard to believe tat pic belong to Proton car – EXORA,very nice indeed. bravo Proton. GBU all

• mayor81 on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Wahaahahha, CRUDE drives a Savvy!!! Is your car an AMT or the normal manual version? My normal ATF change at every 40km costs me not less than RM500 for the job and I'm not complaining. You complain for an RM130 tranny oil change. BRO, MY ADVICE WILL BE > SELL YOUR CAR AND BUY A KAPCHAI. Because it shows that you can't afford a car – any car for that matter. Because changing a Kancil tranny oil at a shop will come to somewhere around that figure unless you buy the oil from a spare part shop and change it yourself. Proper car maintenance is what lacking with many Malaysians and complain with the bills.

• kereta gagap on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:53 pm

[quote comment="217557"][quote comment="217555"][quote comment="217546"]lets compare with all the cars this MPV in categorized in….lets do it after it comes out….then lets c whether Proton has truly bucked up…

now after foreign makes cut their market share, they r bucking up…but all the trust is lost through the years…sad isnt it…[/quote]

who said wira was made by mitsu? anyone who agree, can raise up ur hand… Proton collaborate with mitsu when they produce wira and it’s using our locally parts… the problems start encountered when malaysians start to consider japanese makes and proton sales is dropped year aftter year… that why proton downgrade the quality just to make sure they still made a profit… and DSZA era has come.. the error was corrected… the overpriced was reduced… the quality was improved… and, why did malaysians still bashing base on bad past stories? wake up!!! now we can see the different… the choice is our…[/quote]

i'm agree… many malaysian did not know that mitshu EVO GSR are collaborate proton & mitshu. The bad thing is our design have been used by Japs Side & our just used 2nd choise. that the sad, dark & past Proton story that Right now DSZA want to correct. for past year, Quality have been improve. If we "Malaysian" continue to support Proton, 1 day i can sure that our price is much cheaper compare with imported car even with out tax…

for Proton, please don't let down your protonians. Go for 0 defect & Low Price…

• nazri on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:13 pm

[quote comment="217546"].

CRUDE said,

ok i do complain… but can someone explain bout the Saga issue? RM100 gearbox oil?[/quote]

wah… RM100 for gearbox oil pun nak jadi issue?? everytime my bro send his kia picanto/naza suria at SC at least he got spend RM300 above. my advice to you… if dont have money dont buy car… at least buy la superbike

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:24 pm

You mean that Exora buyers are idiots?

Why don't you wait and see how the exora sales goes. If it sells, then i assume u can eat your own sh*t.

• farghmee on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:48 pm

offtopic>>

Paul, why some of my comments went missing?

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="217546"]lets compare with all the cars this MPV in categorized in….lets do it after it comes out….then lets c whether Proton has truly bucked up…

now after foreign makes cut their market share, they r bucking up…but all the trust is lost through the years…sad isnt it…

ok i do complain… but can someone explain bout the Saga issue? RM100 gearbox oil?[/quote]

original gearbox oil = expensive

go buy coconut oil for your gearbox. it ways cheaper..

• Wisdom on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Guys guys…

Dont blame Crude. At least he is a proven Proton supporter by owning a Savvy. He also concerns about Saga and Waja and this time, the Exora. Yes, he may have not enough money for ATF change. Well… global economy is in recession u see.

Regarding the emblem on steering wheel.. well… as true proton supporter, he likes to have Proton logo embossed to his cheek or nose in the event of accident who knows? Its that much he loves Proton. See!

The engineers could adjust the deployment angle so that the emblem could stuck well on the forehead if he wants..

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:54 pm

dude what a way to reply… im asking y mitsu one is cheaper even though its foreign one…it is original too…

nazri,

full service 300 ok la tu…. normal service untuk savvy sama juga…

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:56 pm

local supposed to be cheaper rite? then for what local car? whats the point of the whole NATIONAL CAR when the cost of maintanance is expensive too?

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:56 pm

local supposed to be cheaper rite? then for what local car? whats the point of the whole NATIONAL CAR prohect when the cost of maintenance is expensive too?

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Oh ya Wisdom…

Its not even auto gearbox oil…its manual…. n for manual its extremely expensive…

N what a reply on the airbag issue…

Dont try to be sarcastic…. if u have the emblem on the head that means airbag are not deployed…. as i said the airbag comes out even before your head has a contact to the horn pad… so what is the issue that your head will be imprinted with the emblem?

for years other manufacturers r doin it, then suddenly proton is smarter?

• arulkay on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Wei meroyan ke mamat ni…..sooo unstable condition……loves proton loves current gment…..politic2 boringgggggg………!

What ever love this pretty Exora………..PROTON GOGO!

• Wisdom on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Let it go Crude…

U know the rule. Service center also try their best to increase profit.

Its alright if we all drive foreign make cars with maintenance bills up to rm500 even for a normal service. Its not alright for Proton, Perodua or Naza.

Regarding the 'embossed forehead' comment… i'm happy with it

p/s: my kids Thundercat sword logo has detached. Do u want that to stick on your steering wheel? Dont worry its plastic.

• kereta gagap on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:19 pm

[quote comment="217596"]Oh ya Wisdom…

Its not even auto gearbox oil…its manual…. n for manual its extremely expensive…

Dont try to be sarcastic…. if u have the emblem on the head that means airbag are not deployed…. as i said the airbag comes out even before your head has a contact to the horn pad… so what is the issue that your head will be imprinted with the emblem?

for years other manufacturers r doin it, then suddenly proton is smarter?[/quote]

sorry mencelah…. proton want to do something difrence then other. fashion not last longer. funtionality is what proton want for this mpv bcoz this MPV will out sold from Malaysia. as i know lot of car has emblem on stering, but what funtion for that. just to show what car u drive ?. Please ok, ppl know already what car u drive when they see outside.

Peace…

• brutal_driverz on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Not only Proton sucks.

Kah!Kah!Kah!Lawak giler ahh!!!Hilang terus tension aku.Nah!!!!!Ambik kau Protonsuck!!!!!!Eat that!!!!!! :D

• autojohndoe on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:29 pm

we dont practise TotalProductiveMaintenance… that's why….

ppl complain about the emblem on the steering wheel???

wow, i never thought it will be a BIG issue… in never find any guy in the world, when they see a car they will say.." wow!!! nice shiny emblem on the steering wheel u have!!!! i wish i can have it…."

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:31 pm

yeah…SC charge damn high..one of the thgs they have to look into if they r gonna change the perception…

because now every single failures of Proton is being scrutinized…..

u still dont get on how an airbag works do ya?

• gattaca on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:38 pm

wahh..until 2.38pm comments total at 200. whats the record for the comments in your blog paul?

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:38 pm

[quote comment="217573"]at least buy la superbike[/quote]

haha superbike is more expensive than this mpv la! he'll die very soon, not due to accident! wallet bleed to death

• farghmee on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:41 pm

[quote comment="217596"]Oh ya Wisdom…

for years other manufacturers r doin it, then suddenly proton is smarter?[/quote]

proton use different angle, so this different angle won't suit with the emblem.

if persistant in using the emblem, may be during airbag deployment, the emblem will come off.

however, during airbag deployment or "explosion", the speed due to explosion is very high. it is worried that the emblem will come off and travel very fast at the same time injure the driver.

the same idea applies with a dashboard fitted with front passsenger airbag; why we shouldn't put any item on dashboard at the passenger's side.

may be next time proton will employ different angle?

• autojohndoe on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:45 pm

i think, if Proton tries to be as others (design, tech etc)… ppl say… COPY…

but, when they do differently, ppl ask,

"why the hell they dont do LIKE Honda or Toyota or Tata???"

weird malaysian…

• osh_kosh on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:50 pm

[quote comment="217594"]local supposed to be cheaper rite? then for what local car? whats the point of the whole NATIONAL CAR prohect when the cost of maintenance is expensive too?[/quote]

yeah it's supposed to but not necassarily be that way… there's rumours (don't know if it facts coz no one ever prove it) that Proton can make cheaper car by buying parts from overseas but they can't… must buy from local vendors… don't ask me why… but it's make sense, it can be the case coz u see what make something cost efficient other than manufacturing capability & raw materials is volume… if u have large market volume then u can sell cheaper… there's no point having the right tools & cheap raw materials if no demand… that goes to all thing… obviously local vendor must be facing this problem (or perhaps just plain greedy? LOL)…

quick example… u invest RM200k on a machine to make steering wheel, the machine can make 5000 units steering wheel a month, but u only have Proton demanding a steering wheel as a client and they only request 1000 units per month… obviously price sold to Proton will include your investment & u will be working on the fastest way to get break even, right? now imagine Proton request higher quantity in the first place… your raw materials cost will increase but your investment still the same & u still can make same profit with cheaper price of steering wheels…

regarding what's the point in having local car if it it's expensive.. well, to be fair, Proton still a young company.. Proton just didn't have the economy of scale (to just depend on local demand, not like China) & to create more demand they need to do serious branding work (other than producing good product of coz) & that's one of the reason they bought LOTUS… so if u want Proton to move forward & making cheaper car & parts then start buying Proton car again & again & again.. LOL… or just don't (let the other ppl do it for u hahahaha) cheers :)

• muryadi on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:54 pm

People will always complain but a few Malaysian are simply too much.

• Wisdom on Mar 05, 2009 at 11:02 pm

[quote comment="217609"][quote comment="217418"]I agree that Protonsucks.

Not only Proton sucks.

Kah!Kah!Kah!Lawak giler ahh!!!Hilang terus tension aku.Nah!!!!!Ambik kau Protonsuck!!!!!!Eat that!!!!!! :D[/quote]

Pity that soon all cars will sucks no more as they gradually will be using batteries (electric cars).

By then, hope they retain the use of radiator for cooling purposes. Can't live without sucking cars :p

• CRUDE on Mar 05, 2009 at 11:05 pm

osh_kosh, i agree in that issue..

Proton is trapped by the whole gov/politic problem..n thats y im saying they wont flourish if the gov is still having the same policy year after year.

the problem with Proton is…it has no volume, some thing that should have been thought years ago… they survived because of the artificial pricing of foreign makes……. n became greedy in the process

Thailand made a good move to become a automotive hub then trying to create their own car, n with so many plants they provide more jobs n more business to their people there….

• muryadi on Mar 05, 2009 at 11:22 pm

[quote comment="217633"]osh_kosh, i agree in that issue..

Proton is trapped by the whole gov/politic problem..n thats y im saying they wont flourish if the gov is still having the same policy year after year.

the problem with Proton is…it has no volume, some thing that should have been thought years ago… they survived because of the artificial pricing of foreign makes……. n became greedy in the process

Thailand made a good move to become a automotive hub then trying to create their own car, n with so many plants they provide more jobs n more business to their people there….[/quote]

Be patient CRUDE, nothing is easy. The idea of Proton (as a Malaysia own automaker) maybe not that successful yet but the progress is there.

Iran will also have Proton assembly plant in the near future.

I think as a malaysian the Proton project is really worth for the nation.

• Whoever on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:02 am

Emmm…proton:masuk bakul angkat sendiri.

• henryee on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:08 am

do U guys remember, back in 2 or 3 yrs time, when Proton nearly bankrupt, the stupid Gov. just dump in our money into Proton!!! Do u still remember!!!!! Pls. la, our hard earn money already very little, and still dump into Proton back in 2-3yrs time. So, now Proton already earn back their money and become Profit earning company rite instead of become a "muflis", So can proton give us back our money, by slashing the 300% tax on foreign cars manufacturer? It is not fair to give money to this company by taxing the foreign car 300%, Proton is NOT AN INFANT INDUSTRY!!! already over 20yrs anniversary still not grow any 'fur' and still not grown mature, so just dump Proton (car industry) aside, and put our precious money in building more facility. We still live on if Proton dies, rite. Singaporian also lives on for not having any National car, instead they like Subaru (feels like subaru & sports car already 'jadi' mereka punya kereta nasional).

So once again, if ever Proton make any losses, just close it down and pls. Mr GOV. don't put money in it already.

Proton, pls. put in more effort in the front saloon of Exora and the headlamp, because it looks quite 'ah beng' le!!! Make it more "furious look" and garang sikit, because u must also take care of young people taste, rite.

And also, pls do not put the interior colour into grey, because it looks like an old man's car, and doesn't have any other colour already because of waiting to 'dead'(the interior colour looks boring).

Pls. make the steering music button more solid sikit, coz it looks like it will drop once they kena direct sunlight.

Thanx ya, cheers up la Proton and Perodua, don't make losses o~~~ Give SUPPORT SUPPORT SUPPORT, and lets pray that the 300% tax will soon abolish.

• muryadi on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:15 am

[quote comment="217642"]do U guys remember, back in 2 or 3 yrs time, when Proton nearly bankrupt, the stupid Gov. just dump in our money into Proton!!! Do u still remember!!!!! Pls. la, our hard earn money already very little, and still dump into Proton back in 2-3yrs time. So, now Proton already earn back their money and become Profit earning company rite instead of become a "muflis", So can proton give us back our money, by slashing the 300% tax on foreign cars manufacturer? It is not fair to give money to this company by taxing the foreign car 300%, Proton is NOT AN INFANT INDUSTRY!!! already over 20yrs anniversary still not grow any 'fur' and still not grown mature, so just dump Proton (car industry) aside, and put our precious money in building more facility. We still live on if Proton dies, rite. Singaporian also lives on for not having any National car, instead they like Subaru (feels like subaru & sports car already 'jadi' mereka punya kereta nasional).

So once again, if ever Proton make any losses, just close it down and pls. Mr GOV. don't put money in it already.

Proton, pls. put in more effort in the front saloon of Exora and the headlamp, because it looks quite 'ah beng' le!!! Make it more "furious look" and garang sikit, because u must also take care of young people taste, rite.

And also, pls do not put the interior colour into grey, because it looks like an old man's car, and doesn't have any other colour already because of waiting to 'dead'(the interior colour looks boring).

Pls. make the steering music button more solid sikit, coz it looks like it will drop once they kena direct sunlight.

Thanx ya, cheers up la Proton and Perodua, don't make losses o~~~ Give SUPPORT SUPPORT SUPPORT, and lets pray that the 300% tax will soon abolish.[/quote]

Where did you the fact that car/auto import tax is 300% ?

• henryee on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:50 am

On newspaper 0… Is said that it is in order to protect Proton Company coz they are n ot as competent as foreign car manufacturer, so Gov impose TAX on foreign car that sell in Malaysia, and then the pain is suffer among ourself only, and no other people, but include all Malaysians during their losses, but in turn when they turning their losses into profit already, they doesn't give any benefit for us (MALAYSIAN).

Correct me if I'm wrong ya~

• Wisdom on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:07 am

[quote comment="217642"]do U guys remember, back in 2 or 3 yrs time, when Proton nearly bankrupt, the stupid Gov. just dump in our money into Proton!!! Do u still remember!!!!! Pls. la, our hard earn money already very little, and still dump into Proton back in 2-3yrs time. So, now Proton already earn back their money and become Profit earning company rite instead of become a "muflis", So can proton give us back our money, by slashing the 300% tax on foreign cars manufacturer? It is not fair to give money to this company by taxing the foreign car 300%, Proton is NOT AN INFANT INDUSTRY!!! already over 20yrs anniversary still not grow any 'fur' and still not grown mature, so just dump Proton (car industry) aside, and put our precious money in building more facility. We still live on if Proton dies, rite. Singaporian also lives on for not having any National car, instead they like Subaru (feels like subaru & sports car already 'jadi' mereka punya kereta nasional).

Thanx ya, cheers up la Proton and Perodua, don't make losses o~~~ Give SUPPORT SUPPORT SUPPORT, and lets pray that the 300% tax will soon abolish.[/quote]

Let me take this shot (like playing already)..

300% tax for foreign cars is incorrect.

Proton is not an INDUSTRY. Its a player in 'AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY'

Singapore economies is badly affected due to high foreign dependent.

'Furious' or 'garang' look is synonymous to 'ahbeng' look. What do you want really?

Direct sunlight can make buttons drop. I thought laser gun can, but sunlight?

And you wont appreciate Subaru that much once u own it.

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:23 am

Better review the Customs (Completely Knocked Down and Completely Build-Up) Regulations 2008..they you can get the the right figure for imported car price in Malaysia..

i think there is no 300% tax ever

• muryadi on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:29 am

[quote comment="217653"]On newspaper 0… Is said that it is in order to protect Proton Company coz they are n ot as competent as foreign car manufacturer, so Gov impose TAX on foreign car that sell in Malaysia, and then the pain is suffer among ourself only, and no other people, but include all Malaysians during their losses, but in turn when they turning their losses into profit already, they doesn't give any benefit for us (MALAYSIAN).

Correct me if I'm wrong ya~[/quote]

Which newspaper? Have you check car prices in Langkawi and Labuan (both are import duty free island) compared to other part in Malaysia?

It's not 300% more expensive, it's about 30 to 40% differences.

Please also correct me if i'm wrong.

• kereta gagap on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:30 am

[quote comment="217660"][quote comment="217642"]do U guys remember, back in 2 or 3 yrs time, when Proton nearly bankrupt, the stupid Gov. just dump in our money into Proton!!! Do u still remember!!!!! Pls. la, our hard earn money already very little, and still dump into Proton back in 2-3yrs time. So, now Proton already earn back their money and become Profit earning company rite instead of become a "muflis", So can proton give us back our money, by slashing the 300% tax on foreign cars manufacturer? It is not fair to give money to this company by taxing the foreign car 300%, Proton is NOT AN INFANT INDUSTRY!!! already over 20yrs anniversary still not grow any 'fur' and still not grown mature, so just dump Proton (car industry) aside, and put our precious money in building more facility. We still live on if Proton dies, rite. Singaporian also lives on for not having any National car, instead they like Subaru (feels like subaru & sports car already 'jadi' mereka punya kereta nasional).

Let me take this shot (like playing already)..

300% tax for foreign cars is incorrect.

Proton is not an INDUSTRY. Its a player in 'AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY'

Singapore economies is badly affected due to high foreign dependent.

'Furious' or 'garang' look is synonymous to 'ahbeng' look. What do you want really?

Direct sunlight can make buttons drop. I thought laser gun can, but sunlight?

And you wont appreciate Subaru that much once u own it.[/quote]

you are correct… i'm work at singapore. i now what happen there. 1 week u stay there, u want stay back at malaysia. Singapore depent 90% on US. US drop, they also effected… Depend technology…..

• kereta gagap on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:33 am

[quote comment="217678"][quote comment="217653"]On newspaper 0… Is said that it is in order to protect Proton Company coz they are n ot as competent as foreign car manufacturer, so Gov impose TAX on foreign car that sell in Malaysia, and then the pain is suffer among ourself only, and no other people, but include all Malaysians during their losses, but in turn when they turning their losses into profit already, they doesn't give any benefit for us (MALAYSIAN).

Correct me if I'm wrong ya~[/quote]

Which newspaper? Have you check car prices in Langkawi and Labuan (both are import duty free island) compared to other part in Malaysia?

It's not 300% more expensive, it's about 30 to 40% differences.

Please also correct me if i'm wrong.[/quote]

his own fact…. or "dengar cakap orang dengki"…. sorry, Malaysia tak maju kalau fikir camni. Singapore, jalan sikit pun kena tax. silap jalan kena bayar tax jalan….

• madimat on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:41 am

300% tax yea..? Hmm let us do some mathematics ! ha ha

(1) How much is the REAL cost to produce a 2008 2.0 Litre Honda Civic Auto Trans without any tax or whatsoever imposed on it? Be it in Yen, Baht, US$ or RM or whatever currency, give me a number please.

(2) How much the car sold in Malaysian currency after tax on the road price without insurance ?

(3) For the sake of comparison how much it cost, after tax on the road price without insurance, in (i) Singapore (ii) Thailand (iii) Indonesia (iv) Philippines (v) Japan etc etc ..?

(4) How much is the tax rates for each of the countries as in (3) above ?

(5) How much the difference in the tax rates in Malaysia compared to the other countries as in (3) ..?

(6) Finally, is it true that the tax impose in Malaysia for a foreign motor vehicle is 300% ..?

(7) If that is wrong, and the tax is less than that by a significant number, is that means the person who accused of the 300% tax is stupid ??

thanks and have fun doing the maths ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:42 am

[quote comment="217642"]do U guys remember, back in 2 or 3 yrs time, when Proton nearly bankrupt, the stupid Gov. just dump in our money into Proton!!! Do u still remember!!!!! .[/quote]

actually, i remember, and proton didnt go bankrupt actually. or nearly go bankrupt.. so i'm not sure what you remembered. and if i'm not mistaken.. govt. didnt dump in money to keep the company afloat as well.

• henryee on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:03 am

but I somewhere get the price list of foreign car's cost price somehwere in paultan.org stated that the cost price of every foreign car, and then the price that u see in that list is quite cheap including BMW, Merce, or Mazda.

But ended with the tax which cause us to buy overstated car price in Malaysia.

• Lord Sameon on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:10 am

Stabil habis…

baru 40K….

[/quote]

Hi Crude,

You are using Savvy manual or AMT? if u just changes the manual gearbox oil wont be that much.. event the AMT gear oil i change only around rm60 and the oil can be use two time. If for manual gear oil also around that and not reach more then rm100.. maybe u should try to find other SC that can give u a better price since some SC have a different charge..

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:13 am

[quote comment="217685"]but I somewhere get the price list of foreign car's cost price somehwere in paultan.org stated that the cost price of every foreign car, and then the price that u see in that list is quite cheap including BMW, Merce, or Mazda.

But ended with the tax which cause us to buy overstated car price in Malaysia.[/quote]

give us the link, reference to back u up.

• brutal_driverz on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:13 am

Sifu,nak tanya sikit la.Kenapa dibiarkan ruang yang terlalu luas(odd-spacing) antara ventilator air-cond kat tengah dashboard tu?Masa keluar gambar preproduction dulu,aku ingat masalah ni akan di-solved-kan.Sekarang dalam gambar dashboard yang boleh dikatakan final ni,still ada lagi odd-spacing tu.Pohon penjelasan.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:29 am

the plastic looks really low class ..

in malaysia, u cant expect too much from a 70k car ..

especially proton ..

• kereta gagap on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:34 am

[quote comment="217697"]the plastic looks really low class ..

especially proton ..[/quote]

really, even lamborgini…..?.

how about merce, they used alumi & wood right…?.

BMW ?.

• sadin on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:38 am

[quote comment="217685"]but I somewhere get the price list of foreign car's cost price somehwere in paultan.org stated that the cost price of every foreign car, and then the price that u see in that list is quite cheap including BMW, Merce, or Mazda.

But ended with the tax which cause us to buy overstated car price in Malaysia.[/quote]

gov put tax on foreign cars as a way to tax the rich la. So, if u have money, then buy foreign car, then eligible to be taxed.

People in other countries also get taxed in other ways. So, u make here, u lose there.

• henryee on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:00 am

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/555702/+100 http://paultan.org/archives/2006/03/24/nap-tax-ra… http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?s=e1dd959037ed2…

the 3rd link is the AKTA KASTAM 1967, in here u'll have a shock to see those luxury cars in an affordable price.

You can just download the .pdf file to see urself. I believe that at paultan.org, there are people also posted this .pdf file before.

• henryee on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:01 am

[quote comment="217691"][quote comment="217685"]but I somewhere get the price list of foreign car's cost price somehwere in paultan.org stated that the cost price of every foreign car, and then the price that u see in that list is quite cheap including BMW, Merce, or Mazda.

give us the link, reference to back u up.[/quote]

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/555702/+100 http://paultan.org/archives/2006/03/24/nap-tax-ra… http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?s=e1dd959037ed2…

the 3rd link is the AKTA KASTAM 1967, in here u’ll have a shock to see those luxury cars in an affordable price.

You can just download the .pdf file to see urself. I believe that at paultan.org, there are people also posted this .pdf file before.

• autojohndoe on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:21 am

[quote comment="217697"]the plastic looks really low class ..

and perodua

and naza

• autojohndoe on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:22 am

[quote comment="217713"][quote comment="217697"]the plastic looks really low class ..

and perodua

and naza[/quote]

plus

umw toyota

oriental honda

oriental hyundai

haha…

• infinity on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:28 am

today thestar got new ad for this proton exora..this time with the cps engine..also new description of the car..the turning radius 5.3m, which proton claim is good (is it??)..good handling, low noise, etc, etc..there's something about electronic body control (or something like tat) which says we can calibrate the function according to our driving style and the example given were the wipers and signals…check it out..

• bmpower on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:23 am

[quote comment="217642"]do U guys remember, back in 2 or 3 yrs time, when Proton nearly bankrupt, the stupid Gov. just dump in our money into Proton!!! Do u still remember!!!!! Pls. la, our hard earn money already very little, and still dump into Proton back in 2-3yrs time. So, now Proton already earn back their money and become Profit earning company rite instead of become a "muflis", So can proton give us back our money, by slashing the 300% tax on foreign cars manufacturer?

..blablabla..

Dear shortsighted henry.. Lemme story wise with easier words to understand.

It's all fine, if you think managing a country economy just like that?

IF malaysia didn't have proton.. let say… 1million malaysian buying you 'so loved' toyota Dugong.. = let say RM50K each = 500Million

Now, thats RM500million fly over to Japan. Into toyota hq, into japan gov. bla bla.

NOW!.. How can we gain back that mone to our country? Selling sawit? how much? selling sayur? selling wtf?

And that's only 1 year, the next year we again buying new toyota dugong.. 1Billion again our money go japan… last year we only got 20M only from japan selling sawit oil. And then next other year also the same buying new honda.

Before that we got 2 billion of RM in our hand, but few billions already 'transfered to your so loved japan car'! now we only had 2 billion left example.

So now.. why not you before invest in your own? make your car even earlier are bad and worst.. but someday who know we can make money from it. Or OTHERWISE to say.. We can absorb slowly out cash money flow to 'not easy to be transfer outside'. That's mean.. WE and OUR country got much money left in our hand. We had better buying power..

Got it?

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:25 am

[quote comment="217709" ]http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/555702/+100 http://paultan.org/archives/2006/03/24/nap-tax-ra… http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?s=e1dd959037ed2…

the 3rd link is the AKTA KASTAM 1967, in here u'll have a shock to see those luxury cars in an affordable price.

You can just download the .pdf file to see urself. I believe that at paultan.org, there are people also posted this .pdf file before.[/quote]

the list u provided is from kastam, which means only transportation fee n the cost of building it. its not even include margin set by dealers, insurance, gov tax. n its been discussed b4! y still hv ppl cant read the meaning of CIF?! n the nap tax rate u point in paultan's, do u noticed its from 2006? they actually revised for afta in the past 2 years.

u cant just look at the cost of the car just like tat, u have to look at insurance as well, our quoted price is inclusive of insurance n its otr price. different country has different insurance structure! i bet u cant even afford any of u dream car due to ur age in uk! insurance will definitely kills u! u should be glad in malaysia insurance fee isnt tat much for u to cover! n road tax isnt how uk categorize! u really need to go out n see the world dude, dont just stuck in malaysia n complain/compares!

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:29 am

unless ur country is strong n ur own country's product is really competitive, open market will kill us! too dependent on out sourcing will make us powerless! which actually means v cant even control our own country as our economy is control by foreign company.

u guys really need to watch this http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=706520527… n this http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-59468384… to understand something, n see things from another perspective! money isnt everything, when u have the money but u lost ur country, whats use of tat?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:14 am

gattaca, fastcx, red7,

Wow, just 1 morning I disappear the comments grow this much edi.

Well, the star of the TT would hv to be si-fu, so si-fu, what say u? :D Would b nice if Paul can come along :)

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:31 am

[quote comment="217732"]gattaca, fastcx, red7,

Well, the star of the TT would hv to be si-fu, so si-fu, what say u? :D Would b nice if Paul can come along :)[/quote]

hehe as long as its in kl/selangor ;) im from puchong

• osh_kosh on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:33 am

[quote comment="217314"]everybody really cares about technology in the cars… like abs, ebd, vsc etc…

but my lecturer said, mostly, those are seldomly used… he used to work at UK car company…[/quote]

what's your point? seldom use so not really needed? in fact all your car electronic safety system will never be 'activate' in your whole life if u r driving like some granny at 20km/h max… the reason for this safety assist r to prevent accident if u sometime be a little adventurous or something unpredictable happen (say suddendly some Gorillas jump in front of your car).. yes, some may say it's not that important but the fact is it do help… you don't want to end up in your grave hitting your head with your hand thinking "why in the 1st place I don't buy a car that can safe me?".. that's too late… your choice… buy cheap car with no safety features if u like but as for me, i rather have something that offer me max safety within my budget..

• Paul Tan on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:41 am

My car's traction control light comes on at least once a day, same goes to my ABS.

• Prismo on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:51 am

[quote comment="217732"]gattaca, fastcx, red7, Prismo <- should be included

Well, the star of the TT would hv to be si-fu, so si-fu, what say u? :D Would b nice if Paul can come along :)[/quote]

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:18 am

[quote comment="217740"]My car's traction control light comes on at least once a day, same goes to my ABS.[/quote]

when u turn ur key to "on"? hehe or u mean u drive like racer on public road? hehe rebel paul?

• ManBelonPunya on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:18 am

[quote comment="217460"][quote comment="217454"]ok tokmoh..just set the time n place…[/quote]

i want in as well :P[/quote]

hemm..ON

• sakmadik on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:21 am

sweettt

• ManBelonPunya on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:23 am

[quote comment="217480"][quote comment="217192"]The dashboard is copied from Perodua MYVI and the steering is copied from Honda Civic. The platform comes from Chery Easter and the engine is breathless Campro 1.6 CPS . I am not sure what is the hype apart from being proton's first MPV. I think the latest Kia/Naza Rondo at 85k is a real steal!. Specs are up to date (2.0VT, Tiptronic Gearbox, Dual Airbags,EBD,ABS plus it won an award in USA for being the most economical MPV for 2008. Also it is a global car. I think Malaysian are more wiser now and not fall for silly antics by Proton.[/quote]

you work for Naza ar mr raj?

most economical? but izit the most sold car? not really… if they copy each other, then Nissan Teana copy S class designs.. you drive alredy ar this Exora?…why dont you design a car… that have non similarities with other car?[/quote]

ya lor..maybe mr raj can design different shape of car. equipt with square tyre, pyramid shape…maybe mr raj can sell it like goreng pisang…

ciao ciao

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:26 am

[quote comment="217734"][quote comment="217732"]gattaca, fastcx, red7,

hehe as long as its in kl/selangor ;) im from puchong[/quote]

Well, I'm from Subang Jaya :D

Hmm… I wonder si-fu works at tanjung malim or shah alam…..

• mct (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 11:54 am

hey guy , you don't need to back up your fact , this is teach by "wisdom"

he say only a geeks will google and find prove to back up their point . and true person just shut up and drive the car .

about the airbags thing , do you really think what si fu said is true ? what is true is tat after airbags deploy , the steering will have a u shape opening. and the logo is still attach to the steering wheel , so no issue here, just how much you wanted to spend on the car . now if you said the logo will fly when accident happen, if that so , then proton should even made car , that is a simple thing, when a car was crash in to another car , will the rear wheel fall off or the seat headrest fly away ?? no .
    http://images.paultan.org/images/airbags_left.jpg
    now the pic i post is come from paul website and it show the steering of a car after the airbags deploy and you can see that the u shape i mention about

• mct (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:10 pm

http://static16.photo.sina.com.cn/bmiddle/492e4ab…
    another picture showing after airbags deploy , not all manufacture using u shape design, but basically they using the same concept , after the airbags deploy , no part from the steering is loose and detach form the steering , it can design to be a + shape opening , x shape opening or u shape opening . DO my fact believable?? this is up to you to decide
    http://www.che168.com/Upload/Image/Word_Pic/20070…
    addition picture showing a rav4 after an accident

• farghmee on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:10 pm

about the emblem on the steering wheel, i believe proton has the reason to not installing the emblem.

& si-fu explanation sounds logical to me.

thus i stick to si-fu's explanation rather than the videos.

why? it goes to the basic as si-fu told us earlier.

anyway, if u insist in installing that emblem, u can do it at ur own risk.

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:13 pm

[quote comment="217851"]hey guy , you don't need to back up your fact , this is teach by "wisdom"

he say only a geeks will google and find prove to back up their point . and true person just shut up and drive the car .

about the airbags thing , do you really think what si fu said is true ? what is true is tat after airbags deploy , the steering will have a u shape opening. and the logo is still attach to the steering wheel , so no issue here, just how much you wanted to spend on the car . now if you said the logo will fly when accident happen, if that so , then proton should even made car , that is a simple thing, when a car was crash in to another car , will the rear wheel fall off or the seat headrest fly away ?? no .
    http://images.paultan.org/images/airbags_left.jpg
    now the pic i post is come from paul website and it show the steering of a car after the airbags deploy and you can see that the u shape i mention about[/quote]

Mr. MCT, its up to you whether u wanna beleive what i say or not, if u think what i say is untrue, then i cant do anything about it. But think about this, if Dato Syed Zainal himself THE MD OF THE COMPANY, requested that a chrome emblem to be put on this steering, and the RND had to say no, and we gave him a detail explanation of why we cannot put that, and he agreed! (those who work with DSZ will know, that u cant bull and crap with him, u need hard facts to convince him)….If u look at Exora steering, the horn pad is some sort a 'V' shape, and the logo is right in the middle. The center 'V', where u can see the outline is the airbag deployment area. And if u look at the angle of the steering and the horn pad, its almost vertical, that means when u r in driving position, ur upper body is almost in parerel and right infront of the horn pad. Now the air deplyoment/firing angle is upwards, that means it wont be in the same plane with the steering pad. Since airbag deplyoment is a controlled explosion, due to the angle of the horn pad, i am sure u dont want anything flying of the center of the horn pad, why i say this is because, eventhough, the horn pad is gonna open in 'V' manner, the initial few miliseconds before the airbag even comes out, the horn pad will expand, to open up, in this first few thousands of a sec, all the energy for the airbag to deploy will be concentrated in the center of the horn pad, to tear it off….the center is where logo is. So during this time, due to expansion energy concerntrated in the middle of the horn pad, the logo might come off loose and when the airbag deplyos, the logo fly's and hits u. This is the finding and we highly recomended not to put anything on top of the horn pad which can detach or become loose… as u CANT REALLY 100% PREDICT WHAT GONNA HAPPEN IN A CRASH!!!! Now i dont expect u to beleive this, but its up to you….the choice is urs….

• farghmee on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:19 pm

i didn't say that what si-fu had said is all true because i didn't know much either.

i didn't say things that u had posted is all false because i didn't know much either.

but, si-fu's explanation is much convincing rather than video observations.

i assume that si-fu is working with proton.

most men see a ball as a round object, some men see a ball as a sphere.

• henryee on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:21 pm

[quote comment="217724"][quote comment="217642"]do U guys remember, back in 2 or 3 yrs time, when Proton nearly bankrupt, the stupid Gov. just dump in our money into Proton!!! Do u still remember!!!!! Pls. la, our hard earn money already very little, and still dump into Proton back in 2-3yrs time. So, now Proton already earn back their money and become Profit earning company rite instead of become a "muflis", So can proton give us back our money, by slashing the 300% tax on foreign cars manufacturer?

..blablabla..

Dear shortsighted henry.. Lemme story wise with easier words to understand.

It's all fine, if you think managing a country economy just like that?

IF malaysia didn't have proton.. let say… 1million malaysian buying you 'so loved' toyota Dugong.. = let say RM50K each = 500Million

Now, thats RM500million fly over to Japan. Into toyota hq, into japan gov. bla bla.

NOW!.. How can we gain back that mone to our country? Selling sawit? how much? selling sayur? selling wtf?

And that's only 1 year, the next year we again buying new toyota dugong.. 1Billion again our money go japan… last year we only got 20M only from japan selling sawit oil. And then next other year also the same buying new honda.

Before that we got 2 billion of RM in our hand, but few billions already 'transfered to your so loved japan car'! now we only had 2 billion left example.

So now.. why not you before invest in your own? make your car even earlier are bad and worst.. but someday who know we can make money from it. Or OTHERWISE to say.. We can absorb slowly out cash money flow to 'not easy to be transfer outside'. That's mean.. WE and OUR country got much money left in our hand. We had better buying power..

Got it?[/quote]

Peew…~that's a lot of lesson I've learnt from u, thank you.

Giddy up now Proton, if u want to gain back our confidence in ur product.

Make sure this Exora meet the benchmark of safety, plus with good FC, then I'll be enough already, coz didn't expected much from effort Proton to put much on Exora.

• Take That on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:39 pm

With so much discussion about the chrome emblem i raised up earlier, I must say that I am not all convinced with what Si-fu had said. I mean, I love (some) Proton cars. As a Malaysian, I would like to see Proton go further. I am even planning to get the Satria Neo CPS soon.

But hey, what airbag firing angle, sitting position, etc.? That is in fact, lots of bull. You are saying that due to these factors the chrome emblem is not included in this MPV? Then what about current models? I don't think I've seen a chrome emblem in any of the current Protons. Talking about the current steering wheel design, isn't the round thingy on it a plastic too? That won't hurt?

I'm more inclined to some comments that opined it is a cost-cutting measure. Another probability could be that Proton never even thought of it before. Now, like i say, I am no basher. But prove to us that what you say is real. Anything you have for us to backup your claims? Research results, etc.?

You see, to move forward, we must first know our weaknesses. We suck. Admit it. And then work on it.

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:57 pm

[quote comment="217914"]With so much discussion about the chrome emblem i raised up earlier, I must say that I am not all convinced with what Si-fu had said. I mean, I love (some) Proton cars. As a Malaysian, I would like to see Proton go further. I am even planning to get the Satria Neo CPS soon.

But hey, what airbag firing angle, sitting position, etc.? That is in fact, lots of bull. You are saying that due to these factors the chrome emblem is not included in this MPV? Then what about current models? I don't think I've seen a chrome emblem in any of the current Protons. Talking about the current steering wheel design, isn't the round thingy on it a plastic too? That won't hurt?

I'm more inclined to some comments that opined it is a cost-cutting measure. Another probability could be that Proton never even thought of it before. Now, like i say, I am no basher. But prove to us that what you say is real. Anything you have for us to backup your claims? Research results, etc.?

You see, to move forward, we must first know our weaknesses. We suck. Admit it. And then work on it.[/quote]

As i said be4, its up to you to beleive or not, if u think i am bull shitting, i cant do anything,…facts will be facts…..why should i simply make up something just to satisfy myself, or even satisfy u? Facts will be facts whether u like or not….obviously i cant be showing u any clasifieds results or information, but maybe u can do this, buy a exora, put ur own chrome emblem, go crash it and see what happens….maybe that will satisfy u….as i said be4, cost is not an issue…u tell me, if mass produced, how much would a chrome emblem cost? RM3? or maybe RM5?….then to have some amount of profit, lets say the value is doubled, to RM10…so an extra RM10 in the whole cost of the car, which is abt RM70k to RM80k…i think its not a problem at all….think again my fren, only those people who doesn't know to answer, always blames it on the cost…..if its really the cost, then ok, if its not, we also listen to the person because it relates to cost…..we are talking in masses….so remember, smetimes when talk in masses, the cost could be difference of few cents, to hundreds and to thousands depending on the part…For an example, a Proton logo (monochrome one) in front of your car, cost about RM25….thats Edar's customer price….so use your imagination, what the part price would be when proton buys it to use in the manufacturing line straight from the vendor? From rough estimation of edar price….lets do some assumption, lets say edar profit is RM5….so when getting the part from Proton Parts Center is about RM20….then Proton parts center profit is about RM10….so the cost price is about RM10…that is the cost part price for Proton Part Center….for the use in assembly line in Proton, the price will be lower since the order is by bulk….few thousands at one time….so lets say the price reduce about RM3, so the price that will translate into the car cost is only RM7…..thats how business and costing works…if u go to vendor level…then u'll be amazed at the real cost price….so sometimes when people give cost as reason, think first, what part….as for this case, i can assure you cost would not be an issue….because for proton, customer is always first…but when come to choice between looks, and safety…obviously safety will be preferred. PLEASE UNDERSTAND HERE, AS I SAID IN FEW POSTS AGO, THIS CASE IS ONLY FOR EXORA….DUE TO THE DESIGN ITSELF…..i am not implying that it cant be done, but it cant be done in Exora….other manufacturer have done it, that means their design accomadate for it…..some havent…cars like old Lancer and so on doesn't have it…and cars like toyota and so on have it….maybe they have the same reason, maybe not…obviously i wont know, unless a test is done….so please….i think this issue can be closed!

Cheers!

• Tiadaid on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:03 pm

[quote comment="217914"]With so much discussion about the chrome emblem i raised up earlier, I must say that I am not all convinced with what Si-fu had said. [/quote]

Really, is that emblem really so important?

• farghmee on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:57 pm

[quote comment="217914"]

.[/quote]

let's learn the Newton 2nd Law of Motion 8-)

force is equal to rate of change of momentum, F = d(mv)/dt,

or widely known as F = m a.

a, acceleration

m, mass

F, force

controlled explosion for airbag deployment exerts force.

although the mass, m of the tiny plastic shiny emblem is small,

the acceleration of the emblem from stationary state to moving in short period of time (read: split second) has a very great value.

it is the product (multiplication of m and a) provided this force, F.

what will happen if this force hits the driver?

here, acceleration (read: rate of change of velocity, from not moving to moving) is very big.

(dv/dt)… if dt is small, the larger the value of (dv/dt).

during explosion, the dt is small so that the airbag will activate almost instantaneously.

10/1000=0.01

10/0.01=1000

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Thx Farghmee!…..good explanation……

Offtopic abit, hopefully, with Farghmee explanation, people will understand why using a seat belt is so important…..because in a crash at 50kmh, due to momentum, deaccelaration and weight, ur body exerts force 30times ur weight….so lets say, u weigh about 75kg….when u crash at 50kmh, 75kg x 30 = 2250kg (THATS A WHOPPING 2 TONNE) convert to newton's, u get about 22050N!!!!!!…..Imagine u hitting the steering at that force if u r not wearing ur seat belt or if u r at the back, u will be hiiting the driver's seat at that force….i am sure u guys have seen the ad where the wira crashes and the guy at the back rempuh the driver at the front…..so no matter how short distance u travel, please please please WEAR UR SEAT BEAT NO MATTER WHERE U R SEATED!!!!!

Safety First!

Cheers!

• CRUDE on Mar 07, 2009 at 10:49 am

i dont think the emblem issue is not important, but the way it is explained y it is not used is still ambiguous…anyway up to owners to decide if they want it… cheers guys… have a good weekend!

• CRUDE on Mar 07, 2009 at 10:50 am

i mean the emblem issue is not that important…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 08, 2009 at 7:06 am

si-fu, nk TT tak? Ak ajak TT je da ada org nk sruh ak count them in ni.

• osh_kosh on Mar 08, 2009 at 7:58 am

Just wondering, Proton didn't test this emblem thingy during their 'in house test'? Hey, it's MD request, right? I mean, someone have to prove to him that it's not safe by doing some sort of test… or he just can be convinced by some explanation?

• KoRoK on Mar 08, 2009 at 11:27 pm

HIDUP PROTON! bangga aku jadi rakyat Malaysia.-Persona Owner.

pasal emblem tu…spray sendiri je. kan ade spray chrome.

• farghmee on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:21 am

[quote comment="218352"]Just wondering, Proton didn't test this emblem thingy during their 'in house test'? Hey, it's MD request, right? I mean, someone have to prove to him that it's not safe by doing some sort of test… or he just can be convinced by some explanation?[/quote]

hmm…i dunno whether proton did simulation on this matter.

it seems that having an emblem on the steering wheel is so important to some.

imo, every explosion behaves differently.

putting an emblem is not a big problem.

to make sure it doesn't pop out during explosion or to make sure it pops out at desired direction is the real deal.

if it is designed not to pop out>>

some designs have to be considered.

strong clip at the back of the emblem or putting glue of acceptable strength?

if it is designed to pop out in desired direction>>

again, designing an emblem to behave as it should be during an explosion is not an easy task.

study have to be made on what kind of movement is anticipated: translation or rotational or both?

when we're talking about design stage, it is wise to choose the most optimum parameter.

moreover, designing stages consume a lot time & time is money.

which is a wiser action?

*to design an emblem that behave as it should be during airbag deployment (whereas the deployment of airbag is usually caused due to a collision, which later it will be discarded).

*to leave it as it is, since no harmful effect might be caused later & the steering wheel serves it task.

engineering is not just designing.

engineering is to provide solutions that works, according to design standard, at acceptable cost.

[quote comment="218448"]HIDUP PROTON! bangga aku jadi rakyat Malaysia.-Persona Owner.

pasal emblem tu…spray sendiri je. kan ade spray chrome.[/quote]

ni cadangan yg bagus! 8-)

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:31 am

farghmee,

exactly, u r right & i agree with u… but that didn't answer my Q bro… btw, i know what engineering is coz i'm an engineer too ;)

• farghmee on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:20 pm

[quote comment="218595"]farghmee,

exactly, u r right & i agree with u… but that didn't answer my Q bro… btw, i know what engineering is coz i'm an engineer too ;)[/quote]

Hi mate!

since u know what i wrote earlier, then it is up to DSZ himself to answer the Q of yours :)

• Take That on Mar 09, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Si-fu, easy for you to say 'facts are facts' without backing it up. Yep, I guess I will not buy that you say this time (note: when i say 'this time', that means i do appreciate what you've shared with us thus far). But I have to say that to convince a skeptic, asking him/her to buy the car and crash it to see the result is certainly not a sound advice.

For those that asked, no, i don't think the chrome badge is absolutely important but it does give an aesthetic value to the car. If i were to buy a car, i certainly won't get turned off just by the tiny chrome badge on the steering wheel.

The reason i asked and asked again was because I wasn't satisfy with the answer given. The good thing, however, is we can argue with good spirit and most importantly i believe most of us here have the same hope – to see Proton move forward.

Cheers.

• gattaca on Mar 09, 2009 at 10:39 pm

[quote comment="218338"]si-fu, nk TT tak? Ak ajak TT je da ada org nk sruh ak count them in ni.[/quote]

aku gak si-fu ni pemalu orgnye..hehhehe

confirm ke tak ni?… anyway, if anything pls email me at [email protected]

i'm in klang…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 1:02 am

Hey everyone, sorry for being slow!! si-fu, thanks for the green light!! Now our TTS is on!! Yeah!!

Anyway, I thought about having our TTS at Darussalam SS15 in Subang Jaya this Friday (13th March) after 630pm. Anyway, please visit my blog so any discussion about it can continue there:

//tokmoh.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/paultanians-teh-tarik-session-with-si-fu/

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 1:18 am

Ops. Correction:

http://tokmoh.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/paultanian…

• dah lama dok belek3 mpv yg mampu dimiliki……mulanya bekenan tgk avanza…pastu livina plak…nak target wish…..Grandis….taktercapai tgn plak…tup2 exora plak muncul….so bila dah tgk ciri2nya….rasa2 cam ada byk benda yg bekenan…….

1) warna dalamannya(kusyen)…….warna gelap….sesuai utk aku yg ada 3 anak kecik nie…takle cepat kotor

2)seat blakang yg blh lipat separuh saja…..so blh bwk brg byk skit bersama 6 org….

3)DVD + monitor….blh le anak2 lyn

4)GPS….walaupun aku dah ada GARMIN….skurang2 aku blh save bateri hphone aku…

bab body…blh costom bodykit kan nanti…takdak hal la

• bUnga_Asmara on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:25 pm

U all,

sebagai rakyat M'sia,kita sepatutnya berbangga dengan percapaian M'sia

exp. Proton kerana mampu menghasilkan model kereta MPV sendiri sesuai dengan kehendak masa kini.Samaada baik atau sebaliknya, yang paling "MAHAL"

adalah ianya adalah "BUATAN MALAYSIA".

Tahniah PROTON!

• iyeke on Apr 18, 2009 at 6:07 am

Plastik keras utk dashboard? takde kualiti?

pirahhh lu.. even BMW 5 series E60 pon pake plastik keras gitu, hangpa semua tak berani plak nak kondem BMW?

Proton haters is pariahhh…

• museAlwaysRight on Jan 18, 2010 at 11:49 am

be proud of our products..malaysian.,if u cant go with it, maybe it means that u (THE MAN WHO PROTESTS) should just get lost