7 new bikes from BMW Motorrad Malaysia this year

BMW
BMW K 1300 R

BMW Malaysia is introducing a total of 7 new motorcycles this year, the BMW HP2 Sport, the BMW K 1300 S, the BMW K 1300 R, the BMW K 1300 GT, the BMW R 1200 R, the BMW F 650 GS and the BMW F 800 GS. BMW bike sales for 2008 represented a 36% increase over 2007 sales – a total of 183 units.

BMW
BMW K 1300 S

The BMW K 1300 S is the fastest BMW motorcycle ever in terms of acceleration. Under full hard acceleration, you can hit 100km/h in 2.8 seconds but achieving this requires far more skill than a car driver would need. This kind of acceleration is no joke, it is faster than either the M3 or the M5 and you aren’t sitting nicely in a sports bucket seat while experiencing it.

This is thanks to the bike’s 1.3 litre four-cylinder engine which puts out a total of 175 horsepower and 140Nm of torque. It revs up to a stratospheric 11,000rpm redline. The K 1300 S retails for RM 119,000 while the K 1300 R and the K 1300 GT is priced at RM120k and RM135k respectively.

BMW
BMW HP2 Sport

The limited edition BMW HP2 Sport is a limited edition bike and only 11 units have been allocated to Malaysia. The two-cylinder boxer-engine bike marked the return of BMW Motorrad to racing in the 2008 Endurance Championships and it is technically based on the R 1200 S. Its ABS system can be user-deactivated for the race track. Power output is 128 hp at 8.750rpm and 115Nm of torque at 6,000rpm. This baby is priced at RM 158,888.

BMW
BMW R 1200 R

The BMW R 1200 R replaces the R 1150 R and is a roadster motorcycle priced at RM 108,000. The bike’s twin-cylinder boxer engine of 1.2 litres in capacity uses a shaft drive and claims to be the first bike in the world with ASC Automatic Stability Control, though Honda actually offered some form of traction control on the ST-series in the 90s. Its engine puts out 109hp, a 28% increase over its predecessor, and 115Nm of torque at 6,000rpm.

BMW
BMW F 800 GS

The entry level bikes to the GS world are the F 800 GS and the F 650 GS, new enduro models which retail at RM 83,800 and RM 71,000 respectively. All of the models above include a 2 year warranty with unlimited mileage and are available from Auto Bavaria Bukit Bintang and Auto Bavaria Penang.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• YAY FIRST!

nice bikes, same price as Latio and Lancer…….

• Coyotito on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:39 am

Oooh….Ooohhh!! I like BMW K 1300 S. But I'll go for cars with that price…

• jolly_idiot on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:43 am

At this kinda market condition?

• Cutester on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:27 am

I like the way BMW make their bikes with a single arm for the rear wheel (swingarm?). Just one arm for the brakes and chain. Other superbikes do have it also like Ducati, Honda and most scooters on the street now with single arm for the rear wheel. Looks very cool and I used to wonder if it's stable with a single arm. But technology speaks for it. Very nice.

Even mountain bikes (bicycle) like Cannondale has single sided fork at the front.

• The K-series and R-series bikes with single arms are shaft drive, they don’t use chains.

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:57 am

Personally, I like the K1300R. Love the colour. Energetic Orange. Use to like full-fairing bikes, but now nakeds are for me. One can feel the wind all over one's body, for that's one of the joy of riding naked bikes.

German-made. My type of 4-wheelers. And 2-wheelers too.

Chiao!

• huhuhaha on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm

yes, that the real purpose ppl buying touring bike…
      i just love BMW more than other japans

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:12 am

[quote comment="217741"]At this kinda market condition?[/quote]

why not? these bikes are extremely focused to a very niche market in malaysia. its highly probable that the people who can afford to buy these bikes, still have money to buy another one. they're definitely not for everyone.

• dcwhz83 on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:13 am

0-100 in 2.8 secs is scary… I think I will fly off the seats under full throttle… probably need to go for weightlifting first to train up the arm strength :p

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:37 am

[quote comment="217736"]YAY FIRST!

nice bikes, same price as Latio and Lancer…….[/quote]

are you sure? izit combined price of latio and lancer or, either both of it? quite expensive, i wud rather go for ducatti, lesser price but still in the range but more atractive.

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:38 am

[quote comment="217739"]Oooh….Ooohhh!! I like BMW K 1300 S. But I'll go for cars with that price…[/quote]

your name is coyotito? hahaha from the novel The Pearl? hahahaha

• wah, mat rempit cannot catch up liao!

nice bikes, even "nicer" price tags. lol.

• David on Mar 06, 2009 at 8:38 am

i can almost swear that i saw the 1st orange bike parked in front of wisma help (jalan duta) today

• osh_kosh on Mar 06, 2009 at 8:38 am

i'll go with HP2 Sport… RM159k? Gulp… errr

• slimershine on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:14 am

[quote comment="217823"]i can almost swear that i saw the 1st orange bike parked in front of wisma help (jalan duta) today[/quote]

then yr car can ah? or your bike maybe? sigh..

• slimershine on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:15 am

[quote comment="217818"]wah, mat rempit cannot catch up liao!

nice bikes, even "nicer" price tags. lol.[/quote]

then yr car can ah? or your bike maybe? sigh..

• Mojave on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:14 am

I prefer Honda or Kawasaki.

• Analyzer on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:38 am

wat the. 175hp from a 1.3l 4 cyclinder engine? how in the world did BMW do that from a 1.3l engine? same displacement as my myvi. perhaps someone should try a transplant. hehehe

• Paul Tan on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:42 am

Its actually not unusual for a bike engine, the engine just revs higher to produce more power, even higher than the Civic Type R.

• sonGoten (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:53 pm

nice bike with 'nice' price tag..

• Luqman on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:02 pm

"The BMW K 1300 S is the fastest BMW motorcycle ever in terms of acceleration."

Not completely true. The new BMW S1000RR features 184kg and 190hp : http://www.superbike.co.uk/news/BMW_2009_S1000RR_…

With this data, it should be reasonable faster than the K1300s…

• sonGoten (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:03 pm

[quote comment="217793"][quote comment="217736"]YAY FIRST!

nice bikes, same price as Latio and Lancer…….[/quote]

are you sure? izit combined price of latio and lancer or, either both of it? quite expensive, i wud rather go for ducatti, lesser price but still in the range but more atractive.[/quote]

I think ducati cost rm150k+ for a 1098 models & RM110k+ for a 848 model for a sportbike segment..similar price tag…

• the stik (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:55 pm

HP2 sports is my choice..

• oh wow. what can i say, i'm speechless.

• Jaybond on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:48 pm

Hmmm…what about the new BMW S1000RR Superbike? The bike to challenge the Japanese & Italian superbike establishments?

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:24 pm

[quote comment="217842"]wat the. 175hp from a 1.3l 4 cyclinder engine? how in the world did BMW do that from a 1.3l engine? same displacement as my myvi. perhaps someone should try a transplant. hehehe[/quote]

do you knw mazda Rx7 (fd3s)? its 1.3, 270hp, stock. nothing is imposible

• CuPcHaIMaX on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:05 pm

i love BMW HP2 SPORT.. wooow.. sooo attractive… and STYLO!!

can u imagine…driving a superbike then next to you a beautifool girls watching at you.. wooowww… Macho Man

• Littlefire on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Bike engine is different compare to normal car engine as they have shorter stroke which help them rev higher.. see their redline can rev easily until 11'000rpm!

The problem this engine is the torque level is not so linear and like VTEC, max torque is higher to achieve also..

So for cars engine, normally they are tuned to have more torque below 4000rpm which sacrifice the bhp…

Besides that you must also know the bike is lighter, simple and they can pick-up faster compare to cars.

Anyway the bikes above are taxed, if i not mistaken needed AP also for imported bikes.. My friend father ( from Holland) manage to bring his new dugatti in Malaysia without tax. How? Just split the bike into 3 parts, engine, body frame+wiring & trye and sent them at a different time frame to his another house in Malaysia. When done fixing again the bike (is easy, follow manual book you can really done it, just i dont know how to read Holland), he just brough his bike to JPJ and register a new bike with a help from a local motorcycle company! He save a lot of money from tax!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:53 am

Now if I can get my hands one one of these and smoke those pesky Mat Rempits…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:54 am

I meant "on one of these"…

• isharestuff on Mar 07, 2009 at 3:25 am

The HP2 is awesome. But I'll for a Ducati if given a choice.

There are 2 things I don't get a BMW, the HP2 engine is too big (wide) until it can get scratched by roads when you do high speed cornering, and, it's a single seat bike. I don't wanna be a lonely rider!

Plus, for the money I pay for this bike, I'd prefer additional behind my back. If you know what I'm saying. :P

• azman shah on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:39 pm

so far so good…so bmw r1200gs advanture : ))

• azman shah on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:44 pm

s1000rr…very soon to 'date' wth u honey…

• chin tong lai on Jan 22, 2010 at 5:50 pm

errr, bmw malaysia! Come on, please give some discount or promotion…loh! interest also too high. extend to 9 years like car. really interested in getting one! the only problem, my house OCPD aka my wife has warned me that if i get one, i going to sleep alone and outside the room, better still , she ask me to sleep with the bike! hahahahahaha!

• Hanafi on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:32 pm

another dream bike,hp2…rm158k oh my…oh my

• muhannad on Sep 13, 2010 at 6:10 pm

i like german engin from long time becouse I grow up with german bike and it has riliability

• where is dis bike sell??

• My dream bike BMW HP-2

• wooow great bike…love it.

• good job paultan..

• cool cool cool,i go for hop2 enduro…face and multi terrain…..kampong rad and hightway and a bit of jungle track to go to lake kenyir…and go to the orang asli track to camp…wit frens and 4×4 frens…but i rather the bike…..

• i like to have any1 of b m w family bike,,even just for 1 week,,,,,,,

• khalizul on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:07 pm

I rode hp2 sport recently it was superb bike but the hp2 megamoto certainly the bike to die for!

• wow.I want to drives this motors.