Geneva 2009: Renault reveals the Scenic and Grand Scenic

French auto maker Renault has revealed the third generation 5-seater Scenic and 7-seater Grand Scenic models at the Geneva Motor Show.

With an exterior which has hints of the Renault Megane, the new Scenic range features an interior with a minimalist dashboard, improved knee-clearance (235 mm for Scenic and 275 mm Grand Scenic), improved luggage space (522 litres for Scenic and 702 litres for Grand Scenic), the ability to fold-flat third-row seats in the Grand Scenic and to remove second-row seating and more.

Other features include; a reversing camera for easier parking, upper-range 3D Sound by Arkamys audio system, a suspension system that includes a MacPherson-type front suspension linked to a horned subframe and closed-section rear torsion beam, electric power steering and so on. Potential buyers can also choose between two navigation systems.

Power plant options include three petrol units such as the 110HP 1.6 litre 16-valve engine, a 130HP TCe 130 (Turbo Control Efficiency) and a 140HP 2.0 litre power plant. Diesel wise, there is the dCi 130, a dCi 150 FAP as well as a dCi 160 FAP. There are three transmission options including a CVT, a 6 speed automatic and a 6 speed manual gearbox.

In terms of safety, the Scenic and Grand Scenic comes with key features such as ABS, standard emergency brake assist, ESC (Electronic Stability Control) with CSV understeer control and new-generation headrests. Continue reading to view an image gallery of the Renault Grand Scenic.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=164]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Arise on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Cool. This is what I call real MPV.

• jazzer on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:45 pm

ya.like this r i hope our 1st ppv dashboard….elegance…but maybe due to price constraint,they don't dare to put something like this but chery eastar can make similar like this how??

• seat-belt on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:50 pm

this mpv also use torsion beam….

and the chassis looks like livina one….i guess…

• osh_kosh on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:52 pm

where's Exora lover?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 06, 2009 at 11:26 pm

[quote comment="218064"]where's Exora lover?[/quote]

scenic is nice, with heaps of features.. but end of the day, all those extras count for nothing since the entire brand has an image problem in malaysia.

• the stik (Member) on Mar 07, 2009 at 12:34 am

agree with u bnyakmasukw'shop… and the price would be unbelievable..

• isn't this a grand livina in disguise?

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 07, 2009 at 12:58 am

I dont know whether its me or it is as it is…..but i feel, the exterior has some similar hint of Grand Livina….maybe its just me…;P….nice interior though….:)

Cheers!

• osh_kosh on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:21 am

it suppost to be Exora direct competitor, right? should place in the same class & price range…

ok forget about the price, just compare the fittings & finishing…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:41 am

[quote comment="218109"]it suppost to be Exora direct competitor, right? should place in the same class & price range…

ok forget about the price, just compare the fittings & finishing…[/quote]

you can't forget the price.. as long as its going to be RM50-60k more expensive, its not going to be an exora competitor no matter what you do to it.

• osh_kosh on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:53 am

alamak… let me rephrase it…

"ok forget about the price in Malaysia, just compare the fittings & finishing…"

my point is, there's still lot of room for improvement… coz some ppl in previous thread sound like Exora is the best in it class.. maybe i got it wrong but some ppl do exaggerate too much in those thread… ;)

• vinny on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:58 am

yeah, it really does have strong hints of Grand Livina from all angles.

maybe it is a revised version of an "european Grand Livina".

• hasil matahari on Mar 07, 2009 at 2:46 am

not really, new Scenic is based on Megane platform while Grand Livina is plotted from Sunny platform.

the only similarity is the side profile D-pillar.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 07, 2009 at 3:52 am

[quote comment="218119"]alamak… let me rephrase it…

my point is, there's still lot of room for improvement… coz some ppl in previous thread sound like Exora is the best in it class.. maybe i got it wrong but some ppl do exaggerate too much in those thread… ;)[/quote]

people are excited about it.. its malaysia's first mpv after all.. and it does look promising from the photos.. i think theres nothing wrong with that.. i dont see why it should bother you.

if the exora is not the right car for you, there are many others in the market, and at pretty close pricing to exora also. if you dont need a 7 seater, but like a conti,… i think the pug 308 is really looking like a good deal.. i'm interested myself.

• menawan on Mar 07, 2009 at 4:09 am

[quote comment="218064"]where's Exora lover?[/quote]

What is ur motive dear? Want to heat up the scene?

• theanswer on Mar 07, 2009 at 4:20 am

[quote comment="218103"]I dont know whether its me or it is as it is…..but i feel, the exterior has some similar hint of Grand Livina….maybe its just me…;P….nice interior though….:)

Cheers![/quote]

maybe…since nissan n renault shares technology.

• zikri on Mar 07, 2009 at 4:41 am

I didnt like the exterior. Interior is very similar to the latest Megane & Laguna. Scenic is based on Megane but designed to be a compact MPV (7 seater) and mini MPV (5 seater). They designed it to have that Renault "family look".

In general, some of Renault and Nissan technology are shared but the character of the cars from renault and Nissan are different. Renault is good in chassis, suspension and TDI engines but Nissan is better in terms of petrol engines, gearbox. Not sure which models shared what..

Not sure whether TC EURO, Renault importer in Malaysia will bring or not the models. The challenges are brand image, service network and price. I personally owned Renaults for the last 9 years and still have 3 units. Prefer the older 8v models, its cheaper to buy (used la), more reliable (than 16v Renault models), cheaper maintainence and less complex to troubleshoot.

• osh_kosh on Mar 07, 2009 at 6:27 am

[quote comment="218150"][quote comment="218119"]alamak… let me rephrase it…

my point is, there's still lot of room for improvement… coz some ppl in previous thread sound like Exora is the best in it class.. maybe i got it wrong but some ppl do exaggerate too much in those thread… ;)[/quote]

people are excited about it.. its malaysia's first mpv after all.. and it does look promising from the photos.. i think theres nothing wrong with that.. i dont see why it should bother you.

if the exora is not the right car for you, there are many others in the market, and at pretty close pricing to exora also. if you dont need a 7 seater, but like a conti,… i think the pug 308 is really looking like a good deal.. i'm interested myself.[/quote]

not that it bother me that much but should just be honest… stick to the facts & just don't exaggerate… i think u realise it too…some ppl do give good info & really appreciate it… some just… hmm…

anyway, me myself not looking for mpv that urgently… i've already own a 7 seater but it's a suv… yes indeed 308 really look good but still prefer Golf :)

[quote comment="218154"][quote comment="218064"]where's Exora lover?[/quote]

What is ur motive dear? Want to heat up the scene?[/quote]

you think? if u read my later comments u'll know what's my point.. & that if, only if u have any brain juice left in your head…

• i see my name somewhere! lol.

• Nutzey Wagen on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:13 am

Yo, all Proton bashers! THE mpv for you guys is here, finally. The Exora is nothing COMPAREd to this; this is THE mpv for all you bashers out there, courtesy of the French automaker. SURELY this mpv will be worth all your money and time, as opposed to the Exora. You bashers have done the TALK, now go do the WALK! Prove yourselves right and all others wrong.

Chiao!