Daihatsu Luxio MPV launched in Indonesia

Daihatsu Luxio

Daihatsu Motor Co Ltd has launched the new Daihatsu Luxio in Indonesia. While the Toyota Passo Sette/Daihatsu Boon Luminas could be considered a baby Wish of sorts, the Luxio is a baby Alphard, and unlike the Passo Sette offers dual sliding rear doors. This vehicle used to go by the “Daihatu Stylo” codename while still under development, but later the Luxio name was picked and finalised.

Under the hood is the often-used 3SZ-VE 1.5 litre DOHC VVT-i cast-iron block engine producing 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,400rpm, available with either a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed automatic. While offering similiar power outputs to the 1NZ-FE in the Vios, does not have the NZ-series engine’s aluminium block. The Luxio uses a MacPherson strut suspension at the front and a 5-link rigid axle at the rear. The body is said to be built on a monocoque chassis. It is 4,165mm long, 1,665mm wide, 1,915mm tall, has 180mm ground clearance and a turning circle of 5.2 meters.

If you feel you’ve seen this before I don’t blame you. It is essentially a Daihatsu Gran Max converted to a more passenger-friendly equipment level and design, squarely targeted to those who prefer sliding doors and cannot afford a real Alphard. That way it can plug the gaps in the product offering of the Boon Luminas.

Astra Daihatsu Motor targets sales of 1,000 units a month at a price tag of between 136 to 165 million rupiah, which is approximately between RM42k to RM51k for 4 spec levels ranging from the D, M, X, and X automatic.

If you were in the market for a Perodua MPV, would you rather they base it on the Passo Sette/Boon Luminas or this new Luxio? Look after the jump for more pix of the Luxio.

Daihatsu Luxio

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bmpower on Mar 08, 2009 at 11:58 pm

so.. this is the next P2 sate ops.. sette?

just look alike juara to me. :p

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:04 am

Looks like Daihatsu wanted to go a bit further than the Mitsubishi Town Box. They should make the front doors slidable too like those Grumman vans. Now that would be cool!

• rsrulz (Member) on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:06 am

if this is the new P2 MPV, the exora is still way better. I won't even consider this its more like a juara the second than a baby alphard.

• mystiq on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:12 am

JUARA sister..!!

• Zaff1984 on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:19 am

haha… look like Alphard but uglier. This is more like Suzuki ERV competitor.

• mystiq on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:30 am

EXORA much better than this!!

• MyviKiller on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:38 am

[quote comment="218457"]so.. this is the next P2 sate ops.. sette?

just look alike juara to me. :p[/quote]

Yeah, very boxy… Looks strikingly similiar to the Alphard.

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:43 am

another 'washing machine'?? i prefer if P2 base their mpv on the Passo Sette/Boon Luminas rather than this Luxio… Alphard 'mini me'? No thanks…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 09, 2009 at 12:45 am

dont think this is the one perodua is gonna use.

• Looks like a Mini Alphard,could this be the new Perodua MPV?

• tansri on Mar 09, 2009 at 1:08 am

if sell in malaysia 60k i think its ok..otherwiseit will fail like juara..

for sure this is not what perodua will sell, but if it is true then they are so stupid..hehe..

or maybe they does not want to compete face to face with proton exora..huhu

• Tiadaid on Mar 09, 2009 at 1:43 am

Maybe Proton could deal with Daihatsu for them to badge just this one model as the JRM (Juara Replacement Model). I'm sure Perodua wouldn't mind…:-D

• theanswer on Mar 09, 2009 at 1:48 am

[quote comment="218487"]if sell in malaysia 60k i think its ok..otherwiseit will fail like juara..

for sure this is not what perodua will sell, but if it is true then they are so stupid..hehe..

or maybe they does not want to compete face to face with proton exora..huhu[/quote]

govt wont let p1 and p2 compete with each other directly.

• Goniothalamus on Mar 09, 2009 at 1:59 am

Why not? It's looking good…

Because it's a Daihatsu, you dislike.

If it's under Toyota or Honda, the comments will be diffrent.

This is very practical MPV indeed.. Japanese well known for creating something practical and affordable.

Malaysian? Bodykit, sport rim, again… bodykit, sport rim.

Aiya…

• MyviKiller on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:08 am

Poor man's Alphard.

• MyviKiller on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:09 am

[quote comment="218493"]Why not? It's looking good…

This is very practical MPV indeed.. Japanese well known for creating something practical and affordable.

Aiya…[/quote]

Yup, practicality rules!!!

• baby_t on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:15 am

i want one… if it's below 50k.. i think it's a value buy… dont mind of it shape.. but think of it functionality

• farghmee on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:38 am

i think passo sette is more saleable than this gran max, for family oriented buyer.

this luxio may be a good candidate for a new rusa in perodua line.

exterior wise, i don't really like the rear light. look like a 1/2 done job.

if i were into buying this microvan, i'll make the A,B,C,D pillar into black.

8-)

• MyBoy on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:57 am

The one ugly mother ****er.

• Littlefire on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:10 am

I think UMW Toyota will bring this babe in and rebadge it as Toyota. As what Rush is doing… If they sell it under Toyota, anything also can sell coz it is TOYOTA!!!

Why Proton fail to sell Juara, see the brand – stupid design – old technology = negative, everybody run away..

But Good Brand + new technology (new aluminum engine) + cheap value – stupid design = Still positive and will sell!

This is simple maths! LoLz…

If Proton MPV selling around RM70k for 1.6CPS, while Perodua MPV selling around RM50-60k for 1.5 DVVT. Perodua might still sell better as price is very sensitive in Malaysia and now with recession on the way, cheaper options rules..

• Corollaaltis on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:21 am

The radio reminds me the Toyota Vios

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:38 am

[quote comment="218484"]Looks like a Mini Alphard,could this be the new Perodua MPV?[/quote]

Nope…

• bmpower on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:15 am

mini alphard?

what a joke!

• rubbish…

its not stylish , its not elegant , its boxy .

well, cheap quality…

• edwindudley2003 on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:38 am

looks more like a cross between the alphard and the elgrand

• ManBelonPunya on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:42 am

huh, another moving shoebox on the road?huhuhuhu..

but hey, if the box come with T or D logo, sure blind malaysian will buy it. no matter how fugly it's look..hua hua hua

exora is much better than this box even there're not in same class

• MyBoy on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:43 am

[quote comment="218536"][quote comment="218484"]Looks like a Mini Alphard,could this be the new Perodua MPV?[/quote]

Nope…[/quote]

So damn ugly. But not as ugly as Juara.

• ManBelonPunya on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:48 am

[quote comment="218493"]Why not? It's looking good…

Aiya…[/quote]

looking good?u ust be kidding. it's look ugly like juara..huh..box moving on the road. T and D can do better than this.

• 20v_ke35 on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:58 am

What???? Gran Max for MPV market in Malaysia? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Look like somebody playing political games to ensure PROTON survival in this time of year. Again, HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

• interior…..UGLY XP

• Cutester on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:38 am

it's Baby Alphard!

• original grand max looks better

• I'd like to say..

This is one Killer Move'Box!

Modded it with Slammin' vip rims and all, it's awesome.

• http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2009/09020201/fidca…
    download it and see page 21 , it clearly said boon luminas will rebadge as perodua mpv. and this vehicle is only for Indonesia .

• Rocky on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:05 am

Siblings to Potong Juara…yeakkksss!!!!!

• nabill on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:12 am

notice the space between the third row seats and the rear boot . ZERO SPACE ! lucky if u can fit tissue box there , rediculous…bt looks too whacky , and i hate the gear lever position , so awekward

• laxxion on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:46 am

Just because it looks boxy (which to me it isn't) and its a daihatsu, MALAYSIANS bash it like hell.

But if its a TOYOTA, like the Alphard which is BOXIER, people say nice, cool, wawawa… haih. Mentality ketinggalan zaman. How to jadi maju?

• yob08 on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:00 am

should put it under toyota… mini alphard.. sure sell like gorpis panas

• pic Luxio,cos space more practical den Passo sette,evn better den Avanza.

hop 4 full spec 1 not like Avanza, if dis Luxio new perodua mpv gd leh.

was a Nissan Cube mania n box s unique!

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:15 am

[quote comment="218598"]Just because it looks boxy (which to me it isn't) and its a daihatsu, MALAYSIANS bash it like hell.

But if its a TOYOTA, like the Alphard which is BOXIER, people say nice, cool, wawawa… haih. Mentality ketinggalan zaman. How to jadi maju?[/quote]

it's technically the same but what make the different is Alphard width (one of the reason)… 1800plus mm compare to 1665mm… also overall dimensions make the T look just nice… get it?

same case with Juara, Rusa, ERV or whatever 'mini me' boxy mpv.. it's just fu**ing ugly dude…

[quote comment="218554"][quote comment="218536"][quote comment="218484"]Looks like a Mini Alphard,could this be the new Perodua MPV?[/quote]

Nope…[/quote]

So damn ugly. But not as ugly as Juara.[/quote]

there's nothing in this category can beat your flashy BangBus bro.. wicked LOL..

• menawan on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:51 am

Too all proton basher. I hope u like this MPV as ur produa MPV. take that u taksub ppl

• Littlefire on Mar 09, 2009 at 9:00 am

menawan, some of them will even like this MPV. Why not? Why should everybody in Malaysia like & buy Proton MPV? We got a choice and we like, so what can u do? At least this MPV can show some new technology and brand assurance.

• paul ?i think you have to remove the last row as those people on the comment board is starting to fight .

and i have gave a link to a pdf file which is contain infomation that show boon luminas will be the perodua mpv .

http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2009/09020201/fidca…
    download it and see page 21 , it clearly stated boon luminas will be perodua mpv

• takuhai_ha_neko_dear on Mar 09, 2009 at 9:37 am

[quote comment="218471"]JUARA sister..!![/quote]

yeah, i agree with you to bro…

• 1ENZO1 (Member) on Mar 09, 2009 at 10:22 am

oh no..tissue box car again..

• nazri on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:17 pm

[quote comment="218588" ]http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2009/09020201/fidcal2009_frp.pdf
    download it and see page 21 , it clearly said boon luminas will rebadge as perodua mpv. and this vehicle is only for Indonesia .[/quote]

i agree with you… if this luxio re-badge into perodua mpv it sure not sell. BTW look at this http://img238.imageshack.us/img238/5408/peroduamp…

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:39 pm

oh dear .. this is the next ugly p2 mpv ..

damn damn damn ..

• No no the don't badged it as Die-Hard-SUre as they can't sell. UMW will bage it as P2 rusa replacement or toyota.

even though many will pleased with T brand but the van more toward commercial than people mover. T will fail unlike avanza if they sell this. bring toyota passo sette instead.

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:29 pm

[quote comment="218613"]Too all proton basher. I hope u like this MPV as ur produa MPV. take that u taksub ppl[/quote]

why must P1 basher like it? coz it's not Proton? & they hate Proton? just for that reason? u gotta be kidding me…

btw, your comment suggest that u r the 'taksub' one.. not the other way around..

• cars-addict on Mar 09, 2009 at 6:52 pm

perodua, please don't choose this boxy car as the upcoming mpv…..

doesn't look like a mpv but it really looks like a van!!!!!

• stroller on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:36 pm

this is 4 indonesian mkt… p2 md said they will bring in "baby wish look like". juz wait & c it guys…

• micheal on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:43 pm

lil al-FART!!! hahahaha

ugly

• [quote comment="218598"]Just because it looks boxy (which to me it isn't) and its a daihatsu, MALAYSIANS bash it like hell.

But if its a TOYOTA, like the Alphard which is BOXIER, people say nice, cool, wawawa… haih. Mentality ketinggalan zaman. How to jadi maju?[/quote]

if its a toyota , its still a rubbish , toyota is reliable , is not good quality in terms of the feel of the car… please don't rubbish here… toyota doesn't mean they don't make mistake.

• I my (Member) on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:34 pm

how about for commecial used?? it also hv the sliding door, which is a good item for the MPV/Van??

• no dame on Mar 09, 2009 at 10:31 pm

one word that can describe ALL..

it will become next…..JUARA.. it is a big failure…

• autojohndoe on Mar 09, 2009 at 10:34 pm

[quote comment="218679"][quote comment="218588" ]http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2009/09020201/fidcal2009_frp.pdf
    download it and see page 21 , it clearly said boon luminas will rebadge as perodua mpv. and this vehicle is only for Indonesia .[/quote]

i agree with you… if this luxio re-badge into perodua mpv it sure not sell. BTW look at this http://img238.imageshack.us/img238/5408/peroduamp…

wow… i think it is a presentation slide… if its true..

they should make naming contest… and i will name it myvi SEMINAS… Sette + luminas = seminas = SEMI NASional= half national car (51% daihatsu/49% perodua)… huhu

• mrbread ;) on Mar 09, 2009 at 11:52 pm

urgh , it look alike mini alphard ? haha :))

if is it solid white , mybe same kott :D

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 10, 2009 at 12:11 am

[quote comment="218679"][quote comment="218588" ]http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2009/09020201/fidcal2009_frp.pdf

yalah,if perodua use this Luxio as P2 MPV,they know already this will kill P2.this luxio maybe is not malaysian taste..better use Luminas for our mpv variety.

• [quote comment="218811"][quote comment="218679"][quote comment="218588" ]http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2009/09020201/fidcal2009_frp.pdf

wow… i think it is a presentation slide… if its true..

they should make naming contest… and i will name it myvi SEMINAS… Sette + luminas = seminas = SEMI NASional= half national car (51% daihatsu/49% perodua)… huhu[/quote]

IT is taken from daihatsu website

100% true

• Julian-Lee on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:02 am

another stupid van. BMW better

• Ahmad Nisfu on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:45 am

Like mini Alphard

• menawan on Mar 10, 2009 at 11:12 am

[quote comment="218712"][quote comment="218613"]Too all proton basher. I hope u like this MPV as ur produa MPV. take that u taksub ppl[/quote]

why must P1 basher like it? coz it's not Proton? & they hate Proton? just for that reason? u gotta be kidding me…

btw, your comment suggest that u r the 'taksub' one.. not the other way around..[/quote]

ada org terasa la?? muahahhaa

• azrai on Mar 10, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Based on the current Alphard popularity and high end quality + premium price baracket, I prefer this Luxio a.k.a. alphard baby rather than those Sette or Luminos. I wonder what the comment/bash there will if proton MPV's design boxy like this one. Can you imagine it.

• Eldie on Mar 10, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Most ppl would provide -ve comments about the car but after a while the perception will change. Just when Alphard was fisrt introduce, similar comments were given. but not me, true enough, it became a hit among MPV lovers. Different ppl hv different taste, so if P2 were to consider producing under the same paltform, i would consider buying one than exora….

• juan87 on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:53 pm

hi, going off topic, the pic with family inside, those kids got no father kah? or is it my eyes who see the one driving looks like a lady… =P haha.. but this mpv will definitely become a big hit in indonesia.. dont know why they like van/mpv/suv type of car.. avanza/xenia like semut there..

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Agree with Eldie, diff ppl have diff taste. Just because ppl couldn't get over the Juara's funky looks, they bash it and say it's lousy. When in fact it was far more high-tech than any other local offering at it's time. This is coming from someone who actually owns it. How many local mpvs in 2001 had key-less entry? Still love it since the day our family got it…

Have to wait and see how this MPV performs in road tests… should make a good replacement for the Rusa~

• oligo on Mar 10, 2009 at 7:27 pm

[quote comment="219024"]Based on the current Alphard popularity and high end quality + premium price baracket, I prefer this Luxio a.k.a. alphard baby rather than those Sette or Luminos. I wonder what the comment/bash there will if proton MPV's design boxy like this one. Can you imagine it.[/quote]

agree wit u. if this is proton exora, bashers would gladly do their thing kaw kaw

• osh_kosh on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm

[quote comment="218995"][quote comment="218712"][quote comment="218613"]Too all proton basher. I hope u like this MPV as ur produa MPV. take that u taksub ppl[/quote]

btw, your comment suggest that u r the 'taksub' one.. not the other way around..[/quote]

ada org terasa la?? muahahhaa[/quote]

yet again u only proved that u r a simple minded person.. pathetic..

• kalendar2009 on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:22 pm

let us all boo this car..

• rambo on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:53 pm

a decent practical mpv indeed..design sacrificed for space..exora competitor?

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:33 am

[quote comment="219024"]Based on the current Alphard popularity and high end quality + premium price baracket, I prefer this Luxio a.k.a. alphard baby rather than those Sette or Luminos. I wonder what the comment/bash there will if proton MPV's design boxy like this one. Can you imagine it.[/quote]

This is one ugly MPV and I will bash it regardless of its brand.

• stewpid (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:54 pm

err… i wonder laa..

why not UMW bring in this fclift model for passo-sette

look here
    http://corism.221616.com/articles/0000088666/

lagi cun…

• mohd osman on Mar 13, 2009 at 3:41 am

as ugly as a Juara

• T-Joe on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:46 pm

New cars always create pro and contra, that's where they create the market, can you imagine if all people agreed on one model ?? The whole road will be filled with the same model different badges, no competitors, for example: just badge Daihatsu Xenia with Toyota Avanza same car under different brands and different people bought it with their own perception. What they think is true, that's what they call "perception is reality until it is proven otherwise" That's how the car manufacturers want, create a perception, once the perception is already there, easier to accept..

So for people who like Luxio just buy them, the ones who don't like don't buy them.. very simple and no need to judge other people who are different from you, that's all. Peace…

• Rifki on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:40 am

I think Luxio is a nice car. It's way better than Gran Max. And the Interior as good as the name Luxio, very lux. The quality of the interior as good as terios or Toyota Rush. I had experienced traveling jakarta-bandung with my friend's Luxio, very comfort and the using of fuel is so economist.

You have to see it and feel it yourself. The Model? that's what I called "Proportional Design" hahaha :D just suit to my taste. It's just fine. Not Ugly as you think.

Yup, it's not Alphard or Elgrand. It's Luxio. A nice and comfort car that you deserve to buy.

• It's mine…

• hoyhoysum on Mar 15, 2010 at 12:55 am

Well not all people are looking for MPV. There are some like me who wants a Box van and offer good fuel economy, comfort and most of all safe. There are many self employed businessman that requires a van to bring their tools or equipment to work and ferry their family around. If you look in Malaysia market is there any new van for sale now". Do not mentioned Nissan Vannette, 1985 model outdated design sold only in Malaysia. It is not a safe van. I have one now and i hoping to replace with a new design van. Pls don not recommend Juara or Rusa, i rather keep my old vannette.

• hoyhoysum on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:54 am

Well this is more MPV (Multi Purpose Vehicle) to me as they can serve more for self employed Businessman, Contractor, Fish Monger, Pasar malam guys you name it. This Van have a flat floor and is easily to load your goods. Try that on Exora or Aza. Just to remove the seat takes you half a day….Perodua should sell Aza and Luxio. Two different market segment….But it depends on the Goverment whether they allow to sell….The Manufacturer willing to sell, apa pun boleh as long make money. I hope they bring it in from Indonesia.

Look at this advert..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AcoX4h8CkM&fe…

• wongtani on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:18 pm

i like it…

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 15, 2012 at 10:38 pm

no cupholders…so it’s not a real mpv… (T_T)

• fendy on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:49 am

because it’s a Daihatsu, you dislike.
    If it’s under Toyota or Honda, the comments will be diffrent.

that’s true…what about honda box…its more boxer..