2010 Subaru Legacy rumored to be launched at the New York Auto Show

Words are being exchanged within the automotive fraternity that Subaru will launch the 2010 Legacy at the New York Auto Show which will kick start next month. With its design to be heavily influenced by the Subaru Legacy Concept which was previewed at the Detroit Auto Show, the production version is expected to be offered with a turbocharged 2.5 litre 4-cylinder or a 3.6 litre 6-cylinder boxer power plant, which should be mated to either a 6 speed manual or a CVT transmission.

Also expected to be offered in GT Premium and Limited trim levels, the new Legacy should feature, among others an electric parking brake, 18-inch wheels, iPod interface, Bluetooth connectivity as well as six new body colours. Both the Legacy and Outback models are also expected to be wider by about 3.6 inches compared to the outgoing models. Looks like we just have to wait to find out!

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:08 pm

urrhh…? no comment.

• bmpower on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:24 pm

toyota camry. redesigned.

after subaru's under toyota, it s*cks!

nuff said.

• kk301 on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:54 pm

look like accrod oso

• xoomie on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:26 pm

[quote comment="219917"]toyota camry. redesigned.

nuff said.[/quote]

doesnt look like camry at all!!

• vincent on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:36 pm

looking fugly. Reminds me a lil bit of our dugong. And those head lamps! Argh..

• droll on Mar 12, 2009 at 10:02 pm

what the hell is this?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???? have subaru designers gone insane????!!!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Mar 12, 2009 at 10:27 pm

oh dear me… they're really pushing the envelope aren't they?

• the stik on Mar 12, 2009 at 10:33 pm

design-make-me-vomit

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 12, 2009 at 11:21 pm

[quote comment="219937"][quote comment="219917"]toyota camry. redesigned.

nuff said.[/quote]

doesnt look like camry at all!![/quote]

agree … looks more of prodrive p2 concept car …

• Zaff1984 on Mar 13, 2009 at 12:05 am

yucks! doesn't they have concept first before design the production car? cute side mirror.

• osh_kosh on Mar 13, 2009 at 12:56 am

ugly car.. enuff said

• Gajen on Mar 13, 2009 at 1:14 am

bmpower said,

March 12, 2009 @ 12:24 pm · Reply with quote

toyota camry. redesigned.

after subaru’s under toyota, it s*cks!

nuff said.

wats with u and subaru being under toyota sucks?

toyota is the biggest automotive car maker…and ppl wont be silly to buy cars without thinking..therefore toyota is good..if u dont believe, go and read reviews and surveys…currently the top 3 best car makers are honda,toyota and subaru..from yahoo

and btw it doesnt looks like camry…its psychology…just bcos subaru is under toyota…u say it looks like camry….look properly pls…

• bmpower on Mar 13, 2009 at 1:50 am

check carefully this car side profile just like camry. I bet it's on the same chassis as well.. But redesigned front and rear look only just like what p2 / daihatsu did.

to change the side profile is hard, becase it's abut chasis frame. They only can tweak a bit side of the back door. Please check carefully. We always know this is what toyota always did!.

gajen:

yes.. it's biggest.. and a really good profit maker ie (moneysucker).

none of it 'power car' outstanding. The most told story about Toyota is only…

'reliable and quality' but it's getting to be a myth, a 'mitos' or fairly tale. Except you're blind supporter for that T badge.

That's why i do think… Subaru's spirit of performance will die later..

• mohd osman on Mar 13, 2009 at 3:30 am

damm ugly … that makes a proton persona looks more trendy …

• aji nomoto on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:11 am

more like Subaru Lexus no legacy !

• mytouch (Member) on Mar 13, 2009 at 5:37 am

Another ugly deisgn after the recent Subaru WRX…looks like the designer of Subaru still sleeping…i think Datsun 120Y looks better then this…

• tunomura on Mar 13, 2009 at 5:47 am

[quote comment="220057"]Another ugly deisgn after the recent Subaru WRX…looks like the designer of Subaru still sleeping…i think Datsun 120Y looks better then this…[/quote]

yeah, my Lerun also more beautiful than this..

• omg, can someone just bring back the previous version wrx and legacy?

all current subaru designs are really ugly. wonder what happen to the designers?

• my gosh…its the most crappiest car design to date. hey is tat a side mirror? why it looks like a penis sticking out?

• osh_kosh on Mar 13, 2009 at 5:20 pm

[quote comment="220145"]my gosh…its the most crappiest car design to date. hey is tat a side mirror? why it looks like a penis sticking out?[/quote]

ya loh… i think u can't see a thing with that.. maybe it's a cam there…

btw, agreed with bro 'bmpower', Toyata really a good profit maker but

none of it power car is outstanding… funny thing is they also suck in F1, they're one of the most well funding team on the grid but their achievement doesn't translate it that way… not sure as of today but back then investment-result ratio by Sauber Petronas F1 team is the best on the grid… & BMW do the right choice to move the team further up on the grid… :)

• nice.. there have a variant..

• hidrogentank on Mar 14, 2009 at 2:00 am

bmpower ;

yes this car aint a looker…but whats wrong with two diff cars sharing same chasis??its a cost cutting solution.even other manufacturers ie,(audi/seat) are doing this….err can you explain how toyota is "moneysucking" us??…seriously that "none of it power car is outstanding" quote of yours can only come from a toyota hater..do u hate toyotas?? as far as reliability goes..overall scores are moderate mostly, but vary good at times..i suppose your kind doesnt believe that a bengkel mod supra can be meddled with here and there and still be rock solid, good for killing ferraris, at half the cost.