Great Wall Wingle spotted again on test!

Great Wall Wingle

Volkswagen MagellanHere’s another shot of the Great Wall Wingle being tested in Malaysia, this time snapped in Genting by reader Mior. This time there’s a very clear front shot of the car, featuring a design that was clearly “inspired” from the Volkswagen Magellan Concept (shown left). I have no idea when this is scheduled to launch, but from what I am aware of, it uses a Bosch-developed 2.8 litre turbodiesel engine putting out 95 horsepower and 225Nm from 1,600rpm. Having it appear so often doesn’t really mean anything especially with a Chinese marque as there is a precedent somewhat set by the ChangAn CM8, which was also spotted over a year before it was actually launched. In case you’re wondering what’s with the odd name, Wingle is actually said to be a combination of Wind and Eagle.

Great Wall Wingle pick-up truck spotted in Segambut!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 13, 2009 at 6:46 pm

1st. Ugly

• Paul, izzit based on Isuzu DMAX? Notice the door handle and wheel

• rexis on Mar 13, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Oh my, I and a short moment of admiring its beauty before I read the part about "inspiration" from VW.

• "combination of Wind and Eagle" ????

first they produce an ugly and not road-worthy car now they give it a strange (read: stupid) name….

• helmi on Mar 13, 2009 at 8:03 pm

Sigh..China has a long way here to change the perception of cheap and low quality product.

• Akazamabamaboo on Mar 13, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Wind + Eagle = Hideous Monster

Aiyooo…I'm gonna have nightmares from now on…

• pulge on Mar 13, 2009 at 8:34 pm

Never mind the name. The "face" is damn fugly!!

even Tata design better cars.

• knight_templar on Mar 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm

ow man tis is ugleeeee. Proton quick design a pickup.

• Ndmervin on Mar 13, 2009 at 9:13 pm

Guys, in comparison with the Ssangyong Actyon, which is uglier? I need to know..

• super copycat…not nice at all

• lobster on Mar 13, 2009 at 10:11 pm

that's a wingle alright. looks like an eagle wingled a gigantic crap onto the road.

• seat-belt on Mar 13, 2009 at 11:16 pm

fucking ugly….

• you a-hole on Mar 13, 2009 at 11:25 pm

i think actyon is pretty… i like it a lot. but this wingle, i wouldnt say its ugly. coz diff ppl, diif taste… but its not my taste…

• i think i saw this car at centre point kota kinabalu…but i cant remember when…

• the SUV look nicer

• tHe^CuLpRit on Mar 14, 2009 at 1:52 am

the headlamp like curi another car's one… can't quite point to which one exactly….

• Bosch-developed 2.8 liter turbodiesel engine putting out 95 horsepower and 225Nm from 1,600rpm

arr, paul , do this fact correct ?? 2.8 turbo diesel have 225nm of torque ?? a 2.4 camry engine can do better .

• mitlanevo on Mar 14, 2009 at 2:09 am

95hp? 225Nm? wow, so dinosaur…..

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2009 at 2:56 am

[quote comment="220336"]Guys, in comparison with the Ssangyong Actyon, which is uglier? I need to know..[/quote]

Actyon uglier… but i'll not buy any of them…

• just my 2 cents on Mar 14, 2009 at 5:07 am

this truck is damn Fugly

pls take this monster back to china !

• masami ihara on Mar 14, 2009 at 5:09 am

[quote comment="220408"]the headlamp like curi another car's one… can't quite point to which one exactly….[/quote]

the famous subaru wrx la what else … rasa rasanya la.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 14, 2009 at 6:21 am

the small pic 1 looks like porsche cayenne ..

• linear_system on Mar 14, 2009 at 6:59 am

[quote comment="220453"][quote comment="220408"]the headlamp like curi another car's one… can't quite point to which one exactly….[/quote]

the famous subaru wrx la what else … rasa rasanya la.[/quote]

alloo..paul already put the pic up there..same like VW magellan..duh..

• i guarantee the quality sure like dog shit.

i've owned a china made car before, and NEVER AGAIN will i ever want to get a china car.

the workmanship is non-existant, panel gaps are so huge you can fit the Nile River inside. and the engines are pratically ancient.

no thank you. even if its cheap, i dont want to put my life/comfort at risk.

• napsterman on Mar 14, 2009 at 7:34 am

at least it's a great car for one-liners:

"hey sweetie, wanna ride my wingle?"

"i drive a great wall. a great wall wingle"

"hey gorgeous! wanna dangle on my wingle?"

"i've got a wingle in my garage. wanna see it?"

i'm sure u guys can come up with ur own gems???!!!!

• kibino on Mar 14, 2009 at 7:43 am

no offense but this is gonna be like them cherry QQ cars etc… short on looks n on performance not to mention durability… until china can produce quality products, i wont even touch this car wit a ten foot pole…

• lookatme on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:13 am

Hey stop bashing china gal. China car is better than Proton. They have more variant than Proton.

• apu, jaik main gamal ya

translation:

wah lau weii, buruk nyer rupa!!

so under powered la..

• nazri on Mar 14, 2009 at 9:11 am

this wingle not nice at all..

• MyviKiller on Mar 14, 2009 at 9:34 am

Wingle Dingle!

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 14, 2009 at 6:27 pm

ambitious but RUBBISH !!

• mkrafz on Mar 15, 2009 at 4:54 pm

really bad design..

mismatch isuzu d-max+vw magellan..

hate the front end…

hate everything…

• lol malaysians on Jul 19, 2009 at 1:44 am

funny how Malaysians laugh at Chinese products, I have never seen anything made from Malaysia in my life in New Zealand, possibly can't make anything at all. it's very funny to see southern asians criticizing something that they couldn't even make… LMAO

• i have never seen a new zealand product in my life too besides milk powder… r u very proud of the capability of nz producing milk powder? i say, india can produce far more milk than nz haha… how about ur mine that collapse recently? poor engineering man!!…. worse than chile….

• What a bunch of losers and Hypocrites you have in Malaysia, what does proton produce? the ugly and super unreliable Gen 2? and "The Asia Answer to BMW" Aka the Waja? The badge of Lotus is the only thing lotus on all protons, Proton only produce shit old Mitsubishi cars, nothing innovation at all. Just look at sales record overseas and reviews. This is more of a political debate rather than a technical one. China will dominate the world in the very near future, learn to leave with that losers!!

• brian on Mar 06, 2011 at 5:07 pm

at least its still a “mitsubishi”
      even though u said its “old mitsubishi”
      i think its way much better than “new” chinese car FFS!

• brian on Mar 06, 2011 at 5:11 pm

i don’t see how a new chinese made car is anyhow “more”reliable than gen2 or “old mitsubishi” ==