CKD Europestar RCR gets its own front-end

Europestar RCR

Phase 2 of the Proton GEN2 export and rebadging deal with China’s Youngman group under the Europestar brand is well underway and this is the new styling that Europestar will be applying on their locally assembled GEN2, called the Europestar RCR.

The changes are mostly on the front end with new headlamps, bumper and grille and the rear gets lots of badges including a Lotus Europestar badge, a new rear bumper and a new tail lamp design. The first phase involved CBU cars and styling was identical to the GEN2 other than different badges. The Europestar RCR is also called the Europestar Jingsu.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mig29_ria on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:43 am

I'm first. Later cheaper spares from China.

• not nice…

• Mig29_ria on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:44 am

Later we can get cheaper part for proton Made in China

• bangkhai on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:44 am

1st.. haha..

local gen-2 here in malaysia are much better than this..

• EricG on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:47 am

holy crap, that rear light looks even better than the msian version.

• fantausy on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:54 am

May be Malaysian may get this as a facelift for PROTON GEN2!!

• [quote comment="221831"]holy crap, that rear light looks even better than the msian version.[/quote]

even better? excuse me, even laosai adala.

• fantausy on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:55 am

May be Malaysian will get this as a facelift of PROTON GEN 2

• hazxkh on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:56 am

front lamp look good

• bangkhai on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:57 am

[quote comment="221828"]1st.. haha..

local gen-2 here in malaysia are much better than this..[/quote]

oh shoot.. im not even 2nd!! haha..

• Wisdom on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:59 am

Nice rear end….

• osh_kosh on Mar 18, 2009 at 3:10 am

IMO the rear light is better than our version… not that great but better… really hate Europestar logo, bad design + look like taken somewhere from china made toys.. look cheap too… hahaha.. other than that what to comment? it's Gen-2 rebagde..

• Bodow on Mar 18, 2009 at 3:34 am

What's that anus doing at the rear bumper ? The lights are ok but the front grille and new logos stick like a sore thumb

• MisterBenjo on Mar 18, 2009 at 3:40 am

Damn! Their taste really different..but nice rear light

• theanswer on Mar 18, 2009 at 3:49 am

what logo is tht? like a school logo. not nice at all. yeap..the rear light looks nice.

• tansri on Mar 18, 2009 at 3:52 am

i think proton done it better..

the front is so ugly, so wierd..

the sporty look of gen2 is gone by the front grill style..

• A@r0n on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:13 am

For once the original Gen-2 looks better than something…

• helmi on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:24 am

For me, the change is ok la, but the badge looks something like red army's or.. communist kind of…, maybe suitable to the chinese taste..

• for some ppl Anything about proton is crap isn't? original version better la i think….especially the front look…

• infinity (Member) on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:30 am

to us, we feel tat the original gen2 design is better..but for the ppl in china, tat's their taste..i believe tat watever youngman do to the gen2 is to get better sales, which is good for proton, and to certain extend, malaysians..

• Lancermania on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:30 am

i dun like d front end, bt d rear light looks good to me… anyone consider selling yur ori gen2 front end to them??

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:44 am

it looks rubbish ..

• johan on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:49 am

I could be wrong, but I always thought the Gen-2 rear is inspired by the Lotus Exige. The flatten-circular sphere incorporate the round rear light cluster. While the front-end is a WAU-inspired design grill. No matter how you like to bash the Gen-2, it is still a handsome car with flowing lines and coherant design langauge, it didn't meant to have sharp edges like Ford Focus or buldging shoulders like Volvos. With the face-lift version of Gen-2 CPS, I thought it is pretty good compare to alot of Korean or even Japanese car makers. Still I won't buy one because of quality issues and too rakish roofline (which was address in Persona). The rebagde is a mockery to the original design but then again, business is business, what matters is what sells with the Chinese. But making harsh comment about the badge is unjustified, what you mean by communist design? Red? Hammer and a sickle? There is no such thing as communist design except they plaster or engrave Chairman Mao face all over the car. Lets be reasonable and intelligent in making a comment so everyone can learn a thing or two from all the user here.

• EricG on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:56 am

[quote comment="221838"][quote comment="221831"]holy crap, that rear light looks even better than the msian version.[/quote]

even better? excuse me, even laosai adala.[/quote]

haha. something wrong with ur eyes.

• On the Youngman Auto official Website, I got some information,

Europestar Jingsu is Gen-2 rebadging hatchback car, Europestar Jinyue is Persona rebadging sedan car. Europestar is engineered by Lotus.

In names of chinese character, Qingnian Lianhua Jinsu means Youngman Lotus Competing Speed, Qingnian Lianhua Jinyue means Youngman Lotus Competing Fun. I dont see any Proton there…

Youngman Auto official Website (Chinese Language);
    http://www.youngmanauto.com/index.asp

Google Translate (Language Translate Tool)
    http://translate.google.com/

• LotusLover on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:22 am

why named it "Jingsu" ?? In hokkien mean Mengaku Kalah.

• aenz81 on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:48 am

[quote comment="221886"].In names of chinese character, Qingnian Lianhua Jinsu means Youngman Lotus Competing Speed, Qingnian Lianhua Jinyue means Youngman Lotus Competing Fun. I dont see any Proton there..[/quote]

Perodua also didn't mention any "T" or "D" badges for any of their cars.. that including CBU Perodua nautica…

• yiheng on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:00 am

maybe the next happening thing in modification scene is CDM (China Domestic Market) spec just like JDM spec for mitsu-based proton? :P

• MyviKiller on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:18 am

[quote comment="221871"]i dun like d front end, bt d rear light looks good to me… anyone consider selling yur ori gen2 front end to them??[/quote]

Good idea bro, just like we change our Wiras to JDM Lancer, and we get their LED rearlamps, vice versa.

• madboy on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:42 am

[quote comment="221827"]Later we can get cheaper part for proton Made in China[/quote]

Why not, if the quality is high. Then proton can lower it's price and no more protection.

• kampung boy on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:52 am

[quote comment="221853"]its better but still crap[/quote]

some ppl r juz too brand conscious!! maybe if the damn tata nano in the 'T' badge u will say it is d best car!

• [quote comment="221911"][quote comment="221886"].In names of chinese character, Qingnian Lianhua Jinsu means Youngman Lotus Competing Speed, Qingnian Lianhua Jinyue means Youngman Lotus Competing Fun. I dont see any Proton there..[/quote]

Perodua also didn't mention any "T" or "D" badges for any of their cars.. that including CBU Perodua nautica…[/quote]

Isnt Lotus is belong to Proton? Why not Europestar is engineered by Lotus of Proton? Qingnian Proton Jingsu? Or some sound like Lotus Proton, Proton Lotus? Gen-2 and Persona are rebadge from Lotus but not truly own by Proton?

• NutzeyWagen on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:16 am

[quote comment="221897"]why named it "Jingsu" ?? In hokkien mean Mengaku Kalah.[/quote]

Agreed with you LL!

[quote comment="221935"][quote comment="221827"]Later we can get cheaper part for proton Made in China[/quote]

Why not, if the quality is high. Then proton can lower it's price and no more protection.[/quote]

Yes of course, cheaper parts from China, but certainly NOT of quality. Do you guys know that our market is flooded with lots of FAKE (read IMITATION) parts from China? The quality might not be there, but the similarity of parts manufactured fooled even my trained eyes, initially. One example is the fuel-pump module for the Waja/Gen2. At a glance, it's similar to the genuine product, but on further examination, the flaws showed. Initially I heard from the grapevine that this particular fake lasted only for about a month or so, but there had been cases where it only lasted A DAY. 24 HOURS! A genuine fuel-pump module would cost between RM480.00 – RM550.00 w/o installation (depending on where you buy it), whereas a fake would go for between RM300.00 – RM 400.00. Warranty period for genuine is 6 months, fake is negotiable, but usually a month. So guys, get your parts from a reputable parts shop or your trusted mechanic/technician. There are lots of them out there, honest parts shop and mechanics/technicians.

Chiao!

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:30 am

They still use crap 1st gen gen2 rims.

All in all. Not nice.

Even the rear light loos cluttered and cheap.

Anyways it's for them not us.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:40 am

is it just me or do china cars have a certain look about them? and somehow, even the gen2 is transformed to look like a china car now.

• I have always hated Chinese fonts( for English ) really really hate them

• Hey "Jingsu" in hokkien means very lousy la haha!!!

Anyway i think the rear end looks nicer than the malaysian verison le… but then the front suxx my butt!!! haha

• kimi_ on Mar 18, 2009 at 3:14 pm

BLOODY hell, it looks more better and nicer than PROTON

Proton sucks….

PLEASE proton throw away ALL your designer staff…

Hire others like what KIA doing….perhaps from MAZDA :)

• mokkf82 on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:59 pm

[quote comment="222015"]BLOODY hell, it looks more better and nicer than PROTON

Proton sucks….

Hire others like what KIA doing….perhaps from MAZDA :)[/quote]

Kawan, later u will got bang by saying such words.

We are in totally different market with them. Here we want quality, there they just want the money. So ppl will start changing what so ever material & design with the cheapest price they can get. So at the end the parts not even lasted for what they build for.

• azrai on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:20 pm

Truly Ah Beng's Gen-2, come from Ah Beng's great grandfather's land. looks hideous to me. Trying to emulate MG rover grille. Those Lotus Engineering emblem looks like coming out from Brothers' shop DIY.

• Lancermania on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:30 pm

[quote comment="222015"]BLOODY hell, it looks more better and nicer than PROTON

Proton sucks….

Hire others like what KIA doing….perhaps from MAZDA :)[/quote]

i certainly din't agree with you on this, our own design is MUCH better than this, Proton is doing much better now compare to last time, hei, support our own Malaysian designer… don't always look down to our made in Malaysia things, sometimes our is better than others..

• aenz81 on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:35 pm

[quote comment="221945"][quote comment="221911"][quote comment="221886"].In names of chinese character, Qingnian Lianhua Jinsu means Youngman Lotus Competing Speed, Qingnian Lianhua Jinyue means Youngman Lotus Competing Fun. I dont see any Proton there..[/quote]

Perodua also didn't mention any "T" or "D" badges for any of their cars.. that including CBU Perodua nautica…[/quote]

Isnt Lotus is belong to Proton? Why not Europestar is engineered by Lotus of Proton? Qingnian Proton Jingsu? Or some sound like Lotus Proton, Proton Lotus? Gen-2 and Persona are rebadge from Lotus but not truly own by Proton?[/quote]

u know, "Proton" name itself already used by another company in china.. it's not about who engineered who… it's about branding… if i'm using "aenz" name for my electric components, can any foreign company use that "aenz" name also??

• tec96248 on Mar 18, 2009 at 7:14 pm

azrai said,

March 18, 2009 @ 9:20 am · Reply with quote

Truly Ah Beng’s Gen-2, come from Ah Beng’s great grandfather’s land. looks hideous to me. Trying to emulate MG rover grille. Those Lotus Engineering emblem looks like coming out from Brothers’ shop DIY.

–what did it have to do with Ah Beng's great grandfatther's land? the car in malaysia quality sucks have anything to do with ur father?? u r just another idiot. no wonder is getting boring, so many can't grow up. what a pity? hahahaha

• [quote comment="222060"][quote comment="221945"][quote comment="221911"][quote comment="221886"].In names of chinese character, Qingnian Lianhua Jinsu means Youngman Lotus Competing Speed, Qingnian Lianhua Jinyue means Youngman Lotus Competing Fun. I dont see any Proton there..[/quote]

Isnt Lotus is belong to Proton? Why not Europestar is engineered by Lotus of Proton? Qingnian Proton Jingsu? Or some sound like Lotus Proton, Proton Lotus? Gen-2 and Persona are rebadge from Lotus but not truly own by Proton?[/quote]

u know, "Proton" name itself already used by another company in china.. it's not about who engineered who… it's about branding… if i'm using "aenz" name for my electric components, can any foreign company use that "aenz" name also??[/quote]

Oh, this is about branding. Lotus in the China Branded Youngman Lotus. Thats why in the history of Lotus on the Youngman website never talk about Proton.

• [quote comment="222060"][quote comment="221945"][quote comment="221911"][quote comment="221886"].In names of chinese character, Qingnian Lianhua Jinsu means Youngman Lotus Competing Speed, Qingnian Lianhua Jinyue means Youngman Lotus Competing Fun. I dont see any Proton there..[/quote]

u know, "Proton" name itself already used by another company in china.. it's not about who engineered who… it's about branding… if i'm using "aenz" name for my electric components, can any foreign company use that "aenz" name also??[/quote]

Oh, this is about branding. Lotus in the China Branded Youngman Lotus. Thats why in the history of Lotus on the Youngman website never talk about Proton.

I think Jingsu in Hokkien mean truly loser.

Rebaged Persona is Europstar Persona.

• That is good news that Proton car can sold to oversea like a hotcake under Lotus Engineered named.

Maybe later, Exora will sent to China to rebadged to Europstar brand in the name qingnian lianhua Jingda, Youngman Lotus Competing Big, Europstar Exora.

Jingda in Hokkien nearly mean sure big, really big, truly big, sangat besar, besar gila…

• Lancermania on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:05 am

[quote comment="222079"]azrai said,

March 18, 2009 @ 9:20 am · Reply with quote

Truly Ah Beng’s Gen-2, come from Ah Beng’s great grandfather’s land. looks hideous to me. Trying to emulate MG rover grille. Those Lotus Engineering emblem looks like coming out from Brothers’ shop DIY.

–what did it have to do with Ah Beng's great grandfatther's land? the car in malaysia quality sucks have anything to do with ur father?? u r just another idiot. no wonder is getting boring, so many can't grow up. what a pity? hahahaha[/quote]

Trusting our made in Malaysia car is nt an idiot, those who can't even thrust product from thier own country is the truly idiot, you're the want who can't grow up, you should shame of your self!

• tec96248 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:21 pm

Lancermania said,

March 18, 2009 @ 8:05 pm · Reply with quote

damn……..again just another idiot who don’t understand properly with the english language. read overall, not points. don’t shame urself by shaming others, wiramania supposed. no wonder we malaysia unable to move faster, too much being dragged by idiots.

• Kamal on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:59 am

Quoting Lancermania : Trusting our made in Malaysia car is nt an idiot, those who can’t even thrust product from thier own country is the truly idiot, you’re the want who can’t grow up, you should shame of your self! End Quote /

I cant help but to LOL on this. LANCERmania is being patriotic. You should revise your nick to something that is actually produced in Malaysia, e.g dodolmania, belacanmania …and so on. Point is, Proton needs to die for the rest of us to have affordable cars.

• yeah, proton suck,,,, we are the watermelon, proton executive member were durian, they get their royalty, but we got to pay tax, all because of proton, just like buy a honda civic car, then change the name to proton ^$#^&%* and then sell it again,,,ridiculous,,,,

• now the kaki modifield hav a new china spec can make up the car…