Honda Civic Modulo kit for the 2009 facelift

Honda Civic Modulo Facelift

With the update of the Civic to the latest facelifted generation in Malaysia, Honda has introduced a matching Modulo kit to go with it. Above is how the new Civic facelift with the bigger grille and Type R-ish bumper looks like with the Modulo bits slapped on.

The whole package consists of a front lip, a rear lip and side skirts with a trunk spoiler to finish it off, costing a total of RM 5,000 which you can package into your hire purchase loan. In addition, other than the package there are some other separate bits like an illuminated side step for RM 690 and a trunk tray for RM 330.

With the Modulo kit added, the OTR prices become RM 119,980 and RM 134,980 for the Civic 1.8S and Civic 2.0S respectively. Look after the jump for the individual bits including individual pricing.

Honda Civic Modulo Front
Honda Civic Modulo Front lip – RM 1,240

Honda Civic Modulo Back
Honda Civic Modulo Rear lip – RM 1,340

Honda Civic Modulo Side
Honda Civic Modulo Side skirts – RM 1,340

Honda Civic Modulo Spoiler
Honda Civic Modulo Trunk spoiler – RM 1,190

Honda Civic Modulo Trunk Tray
Honda Civic Modulo Trunk tray – RM 330

Honda Civic Modulo Sidesteps
Honda Civic Modulo Illuminated Side Steps – RM 690

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• toyota92 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:55 am

lol kinda expensive!

• mizandude on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:55 am

cool

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:56 am

can get better ones elsewhere, and cheaper….

• azrai on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:06 am

It's hard to know it is expensive. But factory fitted and under warranty.

• The previous version looks much more original and looks expensive. The RM690 illuminate side step picture has inserted the wrong one.

• Dauglas on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:42 am

Cool.. Nice..

BUT..

Damn… too expensive .. Civic 1.3 Hybrid underpowered ?

• atieus on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:24 am

mahal nak mampos!

ridiculous~

• isharestuff on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:37 am

Personally don't like the previous Modulo kit for Civic.

The new kit we see here is no major different with the previous, except the front grill, which makes Civic (06) looks a bit more relative to the City (09) and Accord (09).

Dislike the rear lip since day one, side skirt does not visually impress, as if it's not there, the rear wing, sigh, the car looks even better without it. To be very honest, the front lip is the only that shows effort and creativity. Good job there.

Basically Modulo is not a bad choice, if you wanna give the car a little bit attitude and remain sophisticated (I mean executive class) and not-so-ah-beng.

IMHO, the Mugen kit still the perfect match for Civic. Although some people criticize that Evo-like rear wing when it first came into the market. I've seen many racer boys including friend of mine, go for Mugen lip skirt and replace the rear wing with Module one. That way the car is remains low profile. Nonetheless still racey.

• cheaper than old civic module body kit?

front under spoiler – RM1510 (RM1280*)

side under spoiler – RM1800 (RM1580*)

trunk spoler – RM1680 (RM1420*)

rear under spoiler – RM1510 (RM1280*)

*for Privilege Card Holder only

• lowprofile on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:22 am

someone commented in the peugeot 308 bodykit post that offering a body kit is a sign of a model not selling well. wonder where is that person now?

• Ariff on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:42 am

how abt the hybrid??.can get the modulo too??..or jz get a white hybrid n convert to type-r??..haha!!..btw,is the hybrid any good??

• isharestuff on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:01 am

[quote comment="222586"]how abt the hybrid??.can get the modulo too??..or jz get a white hybrid n convert to type-r??..haha!!..btw,is the hybrid any good??[/quote]

Converted into Type R? Unless you turbo charge it, else theoretically nowhere near the performance of R. If turbo on, you will smoke R with your eco-friendly dust. I like that idea. :P

Possibly this car can be easily transformed into a Type R look, since there are so many Type R replica kit for regular Civic. Dimension of Hybrid version should not be any different with regular version.

But, if you are serious, I strongly recommend this page, Paul's article on Modulo concept kit for Hybrid Civic.

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/01/04/honda-civi…

In one word, AWESOMENESS.

• Lancermania on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:34 am

Nice car… been ride in this car before, very comfortable and spacious..

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:36 am

y dun they transform the normal civic to type R 1 ??

like Mercedes transform their CLK to the Black Series ..

• mystvearn on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:27 am

RM 134,980…RM 141 000 can get you the Honda Accord 2.0 which is larger, smaller bits, has the same R engine, may be less powerful due to power to weight ratio, but its not like you are buying a Type-R right

• Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:44 am

BTW Civic 2.0 uses the K engine, not the Accord 2.0's R Engine.

• atieus on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:11 am

[quote comment="222635"]BTW Civic 2.0 uses the K engine, not the Accord 2.0's R Engine.[/quote]

what are the differences?? may i know?

• Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:22 am

Two different families. K series is DOHC, R series is SOHC, tuned more for fuel economy than power. You can read up on the R series here, the story talks about the 1.8 liter version but the 2.0 is the same with an increased displacement:

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/03/13/2006-honda…

• atieus on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:23 am

thanks a lot sifu!!

• kington on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:01 pm

The prices of these accessories of super sky high mien…. this is outrageous!

• asraf on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:37 pm

perghhhhhhhh for that bodykit…i think its unreasonable price…japs car nowday really overprice

• the stik on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:31 pm

the price gone crazy dude.. made it custom cost cheaper i think.. giler…

• akupunya on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:33 pm

dari belanja duit banyak itu untuk dapatkan civic ini, kan lebih baik cari kereta sporty lain…

• Ariff on Mar 20, 2009 at 9:01 pm

[quote comment="222592"][quote comment="222586"]how abt the hybrid??.can get the modulo too??..or jz get a white hybrid n convert to type-r??..haha!!..btw,is the hybrid any good??[/quote]

Converted into Type R? Unless you turbo charge it, else theoretically nowhere near the performance of R. If turbo on, you will smoke R with your eco-friendly dust. I like that idea. :P

Possibly this car can be easily transformed into a Type R look, since there are so many Type R replica kit for regular Civic. Dimension of Hybrid version should not be any different with regular version.

But, if you are serious, I strongly recommend this page, Paul's article on Modulo concept kit for Hybrid Civic.

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/01/04/honda-civi…

In one word, AWESOMENESS.[/quote]

So,is it better to get the normal 2.0 or a white hybrid if i want to convert to Type-R??is the Civic Hybrid any good??

• total RM set bodykit…boleh buat duit muka keta baru.

• stephenstreets on Mar 21, 2009 at 12:59 am

Damn sad man, honda knows we cant afford type R as the premium models itself is priced too expensive enough for them to make mountains of money. I mean come on bodykit for RM 5k is totaly ridiculous, its like spending more money to turn a boxter to a 911, sure it will look a bit different from the rest of the civic owners but deep down inside all you can think off is why … why did i spend this much money to look like a poser instead. If the civic performance increases in hp ,torque, or at least becomes a more precision aerodynamic advance weapon then its money well spent. I think you guys could come up with a better bodykit design man that probably makes this thing look like false plastic.

• Tommyboy on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:09 am

Price is high coz due to Excise duty, Sales tax & Import duty.

Go to www.maa.org.my and check out the Duty Structure and you will know.

Not only Japanese Car, Continental Car also the same.

Example (cars up to 1800cc)

Excise duty is 75%

Import duty is 10%

Sales tax is 10%

Without these stupid duties, we will probably afford better quality cars that will save us money in the long run (i.e. fuel & maintenance) compared to our own makes! See in Labuan or Langkawi the price is about RM72K for 1.8 and RM81K for 2.0.

Not critical but just practical and realistic!!

• gogorock on Mar 21, 2009 at 3:01 am

Sui wor……

• ismaol on Mar 21, 2009 at 8:34 am

it's expensive, but hibrid is so praktical and safe your money, u can buy the modulo bodykit in many accessory shop.it's more cheaper.

• quak58 of AUssie on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:47 pm

So basically it is the same car with a factory body kit. Kinda of a lame attempt to refresh the model. At least give it a facelift. So this mod-dude-lo will have all the additional weight but no additional go. They should have at least strap on a low pressure turbo to make it somewhere between the type R and the standard version.

• saukoon on Mar 25, 2009 at 6:06 pm

Reply to quak58. This thread is about the modulo kit for 2009 facelift. Although not much things changed, the new civic indeed is a facelift to the initial one released in 2006. Read more here
    http://paultan.org/archives/2009/03/19/new-honda-…

• anson on Apr 10, 2009 at 11:38 am

ya….agree….if not because of tax,we should able to buy a better car….haizzzz…y y y!!!i like civic so much till i need to save 75% income 2 own it……..damn expensive….09 facelift-cool

• Prasad on May 03, 2009 at 11:27 am

Modulo kit doesn't change the civic desing much and cosidring the price you are paying for it, your civic should look very different.

Safe the money and use it to upgrade the interior for the 1.8 or use it to get a better Kit.

I just test drove the Altis 1.8 G and its interior design beats the civic 1.8.

The Altis offers 6 cd changer, tinted and security flim, side signal lights, and the back seats come down. Will it kill Honda to offer these features for the 1.8. Honda expects you to spend another RM15K just to upgrade to 2.0 and have these features. Its like the civic 1.8 exterior was design by world class designer and the interior was design by a cheap old Malaysian man trying to make as much profit as possible.

• Prasad on May 03, 2009 at 11:30 am

Don't expect car tax or interest rate to go down, now that Dr.M is back in the picture. He has his precious Proton to protect.

• zaibo on May 08, 2009 at 4:15 pm

hi guizz,,

what i know..

honda got Vtec..Adoooohh

It's will kill u, damn u Vtec..

• i'm from the philippines and i own a honda civic 2008. i only knew of modulo body kits can be bought thru honda dealerships which is so expensive, can you give me name and contact details of your dealers in manila fro me to buy directly from them. thanks.

• hello guys, anyone own civic here? got problems? I own one and quite dissapoint for its quality….

• bella italia on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:07 am

Wat u all say this is cheap Japanese plastic…

i wonder if this car go fast its like plastic fly here n there…eiiieieieiieieiei..yaks…

Not safe also

• Linda on Oct 18, 2009 at 10:52 pm

can someone send me email that where i can get the modulo body kit n front grille…my email add is [email protected]

• villa on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

please give me details of civic 2007 body kits availability and address

• azman civic on Apr 10, 2010 at 12:23 am

Anyone having a problem wit wiper link? Mine is 2009 civic. Replaced wit the new one by SC but other problems come out! Now ,the wiper setting are out and when raining it wipe less then 85-90 degree angle (i asssumed) and my vision during that time completely limited. Send back to SC but they cant rectify the prob…very frustrated!!

• hai brother, i just to ask, where can i get the euro 06 modulo body kit(bumper/skirting

• Dhiraj Dosieah on Jan 24, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Sir Is the kit made with plastic or fiber ?. For a complete set doorside step how much going to cost me . Can the stuff be forwarded to Mauritius ?

• how can i have this body kit ????