Hyundai Grand Starex Malaysian Test Drive Review

Hyundai Grand Starex

Story by Dr. Max Long

Size does matter. Super size me. Some of the corny Hollywood movies tagline and script, right out of box office flicks, with the latter referring to upsizing of portion at fast food outlets, another one of American hegemonic foray into our societal food culture.

However, it is interesting to note that the fully-auto washing machine I paid for close to a decade ago at 13.5kg capacity is a maxed-out tumbler available only from a notable Korean appliance maker. Not from the Japanese, not even at any price at time.

I am not sure about the Americans then but they are unlikely to be competitively priced by the time brands like Maytag – of equivalent size and wash load – gets shipped to our beloved country.

And now we have this ‘Starship Enterprise’ of a people mover, van, minibus or full-size MPV or whatever you might want to call it. Hyundai themselves call it by at least 3 names. Over here it’s known as the Hyundai Grand Starex. It’s simply huge.

Hyundai Grand Starex

Measuring over 5 metres in length, think Mercedes R-Class and S-Class in extended ‘L’ guises. It is perhaps even taller than the trendy and popular deep-freezer-on-wheels Toyota Alphard. This is another repeat of maximum bang-for-bucks from the Koreans!

Splendid, I thought to myself since most guys, if not all, love bigger things generally (stop your wandering minds people!). A preference applicable even to handsets now, unlike in the early 2000’s when Nokia’s most ‘iconic’ and smallest handphone, the 8210 were so ubiquitous.

In all honesty, almost all the folks that spotted me piloting the Starex – a parallel imported MPVs dealer included – were more impressed with its exterior styling than the other slab-sided metal chunk wearing that coveted ‘T’ badge. Some even commended that the Starex’s rear profile was reminiscent of the current Mercedes-Benz Vito/Viano to a certain extent. Now that must be quite flattering for Hyundai’s Starex going into its third generation.

Hyundai Grand Starex

It’s also very heartening and appetising to digest figures like 170 hp and 392 Nm of torque at 2000 to 2500rpm coming from Hyundai’s 2.5L turbodiesel, equipped with Variable Geometry Turbo (VGT). Definitely class-leading figures for an oil-burner MPV at RM138,888 or for any 12-seater for that matter. Much like the double-digit load capacity washing machine I still cherish much until now; seating the Starex up to the max didn’t seem to bog it down, with cruising at legal speed (and beyond) and also passing slower pickup trucks (even Estimas 2.4) a breeze.

The 2.2 tonne Starex also passed my self-coined uphill-sprint-test with flying colour, lugging the same full load of passengers. That’s the beauty of near-400Nm of turbodiesel torque working with you, for you, via the 5-speed auto ‘box. Interestingly, I have managed to clock about 580km to the tankful of 75litres of diesel, for what is mostly highway blasts at ‘high’ speed, with some urban driving thrown in.

This behemoth from Hyundai is best left cruising down highway since its sheer bulk and high centre-of-gravity don’t usually translate to fun tackling the twisties. That’s to be expected but it’s not to say that it pitches and rolls badly around corners, far from it.

Hyundai Grand Starex

In fact, I found the Starex mostly as planted as the SsangYong Stavic tested years ago, if not for what is recalled as slightly better tracking composure of the latter’s front axle into corners. Needless to say, both makes are best driven sedately around bends since they are after all massive vehicular masses in motion.

The brakes of the Starex is very adequate though, and for those who like to split hairs about having drum brakes at the back (e.g. Naza Ria, Toyota Innova and the Grand Livina), the rear axle items on the Starex are not only discs but huge, ventilated rotors! The turning radius of the Starex is simply superb, enabling an unusually small semi-circle for making U-turns, even better than some FWD sedans with lengthy frontal overhangs! In addition, this also makes parallel parking easier than you imagine.

Hyundai Grand Starex

One of the few gripes I have with the Starex is the absence of a rear screen wiper when even a reverse camera is standard. You know how an expansive rear windscreen on a near-vertical tailgate gets easily sprayed with smudges after a rainy day drive. In an already tall van, the taller bee-sting radio antenna only serves to scrape ceilings, an occasional overhead fire sprinkler’s piping and sometimes metal frame scaffolding of basement car parks.

Hyundai Grand StarexIn the meantime, I found the vague release of the parking brake lever deep in between the driver and front middle seat mostly inconvenient.

More often than not, the parking brake does not disengage fully unless and until I extend my elbow and wrist, each time having to consciously push the lever deep down to the carpet trim level. Also, what’s with the old school instrument dials with plain green backlighting at night and ever-so-boring fonts, looking bargain basement and much like a commercial goods carrier’s?

Come to think of it, I have spotted a white panel-van version of the H1 – as the Starex is known as – in the UK last year. But c’mon Hyundai, surely there’s room for differentiation at the meter panel! Plenty of manufacturers do it.

Hyundai Grand Starex

Interior wise, the ceiling is lined bilaterally with A/C vents which kept all three back rows’ passengers cool, near freezing-cold even in scorching mid-day sun. Though the seats sizes are just adequate, trimming them in soft beige leather did help in increasing their comfiness and even adds a tinge of class to things.

In fact, the overall cabin ambiance is far more inviting and luxurious versus the likes of the Toyota Hiace and the Kia Pregio. Heck, there is even a touch screen double-DIN DVD player up front along with a ceiling mounted LCD screen to keep my kids and their cousins quiet during an outing to Kuantan, and back!

Hyundai Grand Starex

After returning the tester unit, this writer was actually contemplating getting one for his ever-expanding, at times extended family. If only the economic uncertainty that looms ahead with the doom of global financial crisis wasn’t so murky and threatening.

Nonetheless, at sub-RM140k there is nothing like this spacious behemoth there in CBU form (or even CKD for that matter) and as a brand-new vehicle for you to pick. So it does make sense – even more so in these trying times – as say, a third ‘car’ for mass transportation or utility purposes for a large family. That’s provided you can get past the usual badge snobbery that seems to be prevalent in the Malaysian buyer mentality. For the record, this Hyundai is already well received by the decision makers in the hospitality, travel and tourism industry.

Personally though, if only this Grand Starex comes equipped with electronic stability program (ESP) like the H1s in South Korea… that would have made my decision easier.

Or am I just dragging my feet?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i like the space

• cheongzai on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:50 am

hm….not my type. For me it's looks like a van.

• CocoBear on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:52 am

First!

At under RM140k, this would be good people mover. Front looks sexy but the meter panel is a bit boring.

• osh_kosh on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:55 am

it's huge… last time my wife & I have a good look when Hyundai doing some promo at One Utama… overall look & finishing is acceptable.. my wife like it… then i said to her "This thing automaticly add 20more years to my age if i'm driving it, but of coz u'll not affected coz u r in that group".. hahahaha.. got a punch on my shoulder for that :)

maybe a TD someday.. hmmm

• it's huge… wonder how would fuel consumption be… For it's hunk, could it be underpowered like Paul mentioned on the Exora review? …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:05 am

400Nm of torque is more than double the Exora's, while its weight is not even double. Should be alright. Dr. Long already mentioned what kind of fuel consumption he got in the article, and specified the style of driving and load too.

• you can get two vehicles in malaysia with such massive 400nm torque. starex or navara. with 400nm, your kids would be thrown out from the back of navara. so it's safer to get a starex.

• nabill on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:53 am

good for hotels and coorporate buyers…otherwise who on earth got such a big family….bt nice engine…i always thout mpvs should always have diesels,its makes so much sence

• Victor Liew on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:10 am

It's so crazy that I really want one…

Makes more sense to me than those "T" things that don't have any luggage space or even enough seats!

• GRAND STAREX on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:13 am

Heck its got almost 400Nm of torque = 2.5x Campro CPS.

• GRAND STAREX on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:15 am

[quote comment="222589"]good for hotels and coorporate buyers…otherwise who on earth got such a big family….bt nice engine…i always thout mpvs should always have diesels,its makes so much sence[/quote]

There is a optional package that will remove the last row of seats – 8 seats in that case – and add better trimming to the interior, or you could have just buy the 12 seats at no cost and remove the last row yourself.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:25 am

wow … the same torque u get in the MOTHER TRUCKER, no u can get it in the starship enterprise ..

it really needs a lot of torque .. or else will feel underpower ..

• Lancermania on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:29 am

I expect to ride on it on my next trip to KL someday, as a KLIA lumosine maybe..

• Biggest peeve I have with the Starex is the 2-point lap belts in all rear seats. Overseas, 3-point belts are available but the product planning guys at Hyumal are such misers when it comes to the things that matter.

If you have a family, why make it near impossible to secure a child seat to your rear seats?

• Caddilac Wong on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:50 am

140k buy something bigger than Alphard… Yet you can only get an Alphard which is about 5 yrs old with less equipment… Cheers Hyundai…

• mystvearn on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:23 am

Front light design abit weird, but I guess can be accepted.

• Those seats look like they're lavatory seats. Passengers will probably think that they're in some kind of mass toilet [like public bath in Korea]

• Gaban on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:37 am

Of course la Paul, because they come with 2.5L turbo diesel.. if Exora can come wih a lot of variety, 1.6 CPS, 1.8 CPS, 2.0 i-CPS :) , or 2.5L CPS turbocharger, it is better !!

• freeze on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:52 am

This van was never tested with Euro NCAP. But I see from Hyundai's Euro NCAP results, most of their vehicles have 4 stars.

I'm bringing this up because the Exora ad in today's newspaper has one part saying "Designed to achieve 4 stars under the Euro NCAP".

Why are they mentioning that? It's like saying "We don't want to aim for 5 stars, 4 is good enough"

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:08 am

add in some chrome styling, and this MPV is going to be very very nice!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:10 am

compare this with exora? u guys are SICK……!!!!!

• SYAELBIDIYA AZIZON BT A AZIZ on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:11 am

Totally agreed…they all are sick for comparing this massive vehicle with tiny exora… Exora has nothing to offer… this grand starex has a lot!!!! Huh!

• Ha Gnih on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:21 am

Exora doesn't even come close if we are to compare. 2 totally different vehicle with 2 totally different class. Please la !! An Exora compared, side by side to a Starex ?? Not a chance !!!

I like the starex. Huge, suitable to move my HUGE family around, grandparents included too !! And the price is REALLY affordable. Hmmmmm……. I wonder how much would the 2nd hand car dealer take my rexton for.

• unfortunately… i found it quite impressive in terms of looks and performance.

cheers~

• BrakeFader on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:15 am

Its a luxury version of Hilux. Like getting a full hotel suite at a price of a backpacker lodge.

7 seater MPVs are selling well but is there a demand for more than 7 seaters? For some lady drivers, it might be a tough one to park.

• bobdbilder on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:30 am

Its a freaking bus. And those dials look they came off my Trajet.

Those huge torque and mileage can only come from a diesel engine. If you really want space, take out the middle seat. Your kids would be more than happy running up and down the aisle acting like stewards. Flat floor is good.

Whose engine is it anyway? Who else got VGTs?

But dudes, check out those 6 bolt rims. No chance to upgrade unless you want truck wheels. Bet you its a real floater when empty.

• [quote comment="222611"]Biggest peeve I have with the Starex is the 2-point lap belts in all rear seats. Overseas, 3-point belts are available but the product planning guys at Hyumal are such misers when it comes to the things that matter.

If you have a family, why make it near impossible to secure a child seat to your rear seats?[/quote]

Bingo you hit the nail on the head! I went to check out the Starex today at Mid Valley where it is on display. No way to secure child seats to any of the seats due to the lap belts. That prevents me from condiering the Starex unfortunately.

And another thing the rear bench doesn't split OR fold.

• haha, yeah, i also don't understand why so many people wanna drive alphards and estimas, freaking breadvans. and most of them can only buy the 1 star or 3 star version, i rarely see the full speced 5 star version.

if cannot afford the full spec, then why get a parallel imported one, might as well stick to something that is factory guaranteed like this starex here or other makes.

puzzling…..

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:19 am

I'll have mine completely de-badged, in solid black paint, complete with black Alcantara interior, blacked out windows, matte black deep-dish alloys, matte black crosshatched grille, ominous (no, I don't mean luminous) red backlighting for the instrument panel, 8 seats with extra space for luggage and legroom…and…uhh…maybe I could start my own business, much like Alpina for BMW…so the modification list would extend to ECU re-mapping, aerodynamics study, suspension tuning…

Talk about modifying the Genesis Coupe…mmmmm…

Well maybe I should cut down on my day-dreaming…

• Tiadaid on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:33 am

[quote comment="222638"]This van was never tested with Euro NCAP. But I see from Hyundai's Euro NCAP results, most of their vehicles have 4 stars.

I'm bringing this up because the Exora ad in today's newspaper has one part saying "Designed to achieve 4 stars under the Euro NCAP".

Why are they mentioning that? It's like saying "We don't want to aim for 5 stars, 4 is good enough"[/quote]

Well, I guess they're still learning how to make a 5 star Euro NCAP car. If only Renault can teach them how, easier.

• Zaff1984 on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:51 am

like merz van?

• darkwizard on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:04 pm

[quote]

It’s also very heartening and appetising to digest figures like 170 hp and 392 Nm of torque at 2000 to 2500rpm coming from Hyundai’s 2.5L turbodiesel, equipped with Variable Geometry Turbo (VGT). [/quote]

By the way how did 170HP 392Nm came from? (The hundai digital showroom on web only display 125PS 392Nm)

Anyway, that is a good people mover and price cheaper than alphad or estimas…

• darkwizard on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:14 pm

[quote comment="222741"][quote]

It’s also very heartening and appetising to digest figures like 170 hp and 392 Nm of torque at 2000 to 2500rpm coming from Hyundai’s 2.5L turbodiesel, equipped with Variable Geometry Turbo (VGT). [/quote]

By the way how did 170HP 392Nm came from? (The hundai digital showroom on web only display 125PS 392Nm)

Anyway, that is a good people mover and price cheaper than alphad or estimas…[/quote]

Found the world wide digital showroom mention 125KW (170PS) so the malaysian digital showroom typo….125PS

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:44 pm

would be my nxt mpv once i decided to replace my current trajet (wish i can just plonk in this engine to my trajet…this TDI engine is perfect for an mpv…my current petrol engine trajet is soo astmatic…)

• azrai on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:13 pm

I like it when the writer says ; "In all honesty, almost all the folks that spotted me piloting the Starex – a parallel imported MPVs dealer included – were more impressed with its exterior styling than the other slab-sided metal chunk wearing that coveted ‘T’ badge." It is sceptical for malaysian to use Korean cars instead. It is still value for money. Wonder what the price would be if Sime Darby or Kah motor manage to CKDed it here.

• BlackJKX on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:59 pm

[quote comment="222648"]compare this with exora? u guys are SICK……!!!!![/quote]

yeah..let those exoras live in their own world..their own dream..their own fantasy…nobody cant touch 'em…we r perfect..we r protected..we have R&D…only we know how to build car,if not satisfy build urself la…and so on…sigh…

• BlackJKX on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:04 pm

[quote comment="222755"][quote comment="222648"]compare this with exora? u guys are SICK……!!!!![/quote]

yeah..let those exoras live in their own world..their own dream..their own fantasy…nobody cant touch 'em…we r perfect..we r protected..we have R&D…only we know how to build car,if not satisfy build urself la…and so on…sigh…[/quote]

Maybe Exora=Van

Starex=MPV, So can not compare loh!

hait!

• yeah. u are rite.. how can they compare exora with this..hehe ….may be he need to get his eyes check.. :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:18 pm

[quote comment="222755"][quote comment="222648"]compare this with exora? u guys are SICK……!!!!![/quote]

yeah..let those exoras live in their own world..their own dream..their own fantasy…nobody cant touch 'em…we r perfect..we r protected..we have R&D…only we know how to build car,if not satisfy build urself la…and so on…sigh…[/quote]

i dont see what point you're trying to make.. i think the point here is, this should be compared with something in its own class, like the alphard.. size wise, and price wise… its a totally different market than exora.

you wouldnt put a featherweight into the same ring as a heavyweight right?

personally, i think its great that something so big can be bought for that price. but then again, its still not at a price thats affordable to the large majority of people. but at least you get a lot of metal for your money, and can transport everyone comfortably. the diesel engine is also a great option.

• atieus on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:24 pm

very big car!!!

• gtmaniacgtmaniac on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Yeah.. Just noticed the absence of the rear wiper. Not a big deal for me though.. we always can got to chop shop & get a wiper set from any MPV there.

Otherwise, it is generously specced. Might consider it too.. but still not sure owning a diesel vehicle yet.

• [quote comment="222638"]This van was never tested with Euro NCAP. But I see from Hyundai's Euro NCAP results, most of their vehicles have 4 stars.

Why are they mentioning that? It's like saying "We don't want to aim for 5 stars, 4 is good enough"[/quote]

Please talk with knowledge. To achieve five star Euro NCAP, a vehicle must be equipped with traction control. But Proton doesn't equipped their car with traction control so the highest rating they can achieve is four star no matter how good the car is without traction control.

cheers!

• [quote comment="222688"]haha, yeah, i also don't understand why so many people wanna drive alphards and estimas, freaking breadvans. and most of them can only buy the 1 star or 3 star version, i rarely see the full speced 5 star version.

if cannot afford the full spec, then why get a parallel imported one, might as well stick to something that is factory guaranteed like this starex here or other makes.

puzzling…..[/quote]

this is bolehland….land of badge snobs

• nss (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:42 pm

[quote comment="222836"][quote comment="222688"]haha, yeah, i also don't understand why so many people wanna drive alphards and estimas, freaking breadvans. and most of them can only buy the 1 star or 3 star version, i rarely see the full speced 5 star version.

puzzling…..[/quote]

this is bolehland….land of badge snobs[/quote]

no wonder in wonder land, never ending story. How about Mitsubushi Delica D:5 Roadest?

• stephenstreets on Mar 21, 2009 at 12:30 am

Extremely cool people carries within the 140K budget and a 2.5 litre engine. I mean other than this you probably need shell out min RM180K for a 2nd hand estima,alphard or whatever japanese roti tupper ware. The only downside to this vehicle is people dont trust the korean brand or people want a better resale value after purchase just like honda's and toyota's berhad. PEOPLE!!! just because it got better 2nd hand value doesnt mean its a good thing!!!. It doesnt benefit you nor the next purchaser , it only benefits entirely the sdn berhad company.They no need to spend money to find second hand bought cars, you guys work for them free of charge. Anyway great people mover for the price and the engine, but still could be better just like naza peugeot 407 recent piano finish and other improvements.

• naz3em on Mar 21, 2009 at 4:23 am

i will never buy this ugly car.it is not a mpv,but a van with more stylish cues.for ur information,i just book my lexus rx350.a great car.u should buy one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • kenzotaj on Mar 21, 2009 at 6:17 am

I am currently enjoying my starex.. No regret whatsoever..

Korean cars has definately improves in quality.. otherwise they wouldn't back it up with 5 yrs warranty !!… Where to find such deal !! Even 'T' brand is only dare to offer 3 yrs assurance. Parking is easy with the help of reverse camera and sensor – size about the same as SUV trucks. Cornering style needs to change little bit as it needs to be turned perpendicularly like lorry as it is rear wheel drive with long chasis.. U- turn is a breeze even beat saloon car..

Just one complaint,, 4th row passenger can't bloody hear what driver say – when his face is facing the windscreen, might need to consider microphone with P.A. system..

• GRAND STAREX on Mar 21, 2009 at 6:59 am

[quote comment="222948"]i will never buy this ugly car.it is not a mpv,but a van with more stylish cues.for ur information,i just book my lexus rx350.a great car.u should buy one…[/quote]

yes yes enjoy your soulless fugly car.

For the same amount of money, a parallel imported Cayenne, Q7, X5, Touarge is way better.

• osh_kosh on Mar 21, 2009 at 8:01 am

[quote comment="222948"]i will never buy this ugly car.it is not a mpv,but a van with more stylish cues.for ur information,i just book my lexus rx350.a great car.u should buy one…[/quote]

go play with your toy in 'klux klux land' lah u moron!!! i'll rather buy X5 than your lexus.. owh wait, u didn't own it yet.. just book it (doubt that if it's true anyway) & still already want to brag about it.. i've seen stupid comment every now & then but some just erghh… Super Duper STUPID! (u deserved this!)

i don't know what your intention is.. already mentioned about lexus booking story in Sorento thread (which is acceptable) & now again here.. blablablabla.. talk is cheap

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 8:04 am

i mean the SIZE, not CATEGORY lah…… both also MPV, even my 8 y/o cousin knows better than u….

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 7:17 pm

[quote comment="222984"][quote comment="222948"]i will never buy this ugly car.it is not a mpv,but a van with more stylish cues.for ur information,i just book my lexus rx350.a great car.u should buy one…[/quote]

go play with your toy in 'klux klux land' lah u moron!!! i'll rather buy X5 than your lexus.. owh wait, u didn't own it yet.. just book it (doubt that if it's true anyway) & still already want to brag about it.. i've seen stupid comment every now & then but some just erghh… Super Duper STUPID! (u deserved this!)

i don't know what your intention is.. already mentioned about lexus booking story in Sorento thread (which is acceptable) & now again here.. blablablabla.. talk is cheap[/quote]

and i just booked 10 units of Cayenne GTS, 10 units of Merc ML, 10 units of H3 and 10 units of Q7……

• carsut on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:04 am

well naz3em, i ask Ferrari to reconsider to make another ENZO for me, and they say, fine. so better u buy ENZO than bloody rx350. or better u keep u comment down.. we dont want to bother abt ur lexus here..

• EnzoLand on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Dear naz3em, I just off the hook with my Ferrari salesman. I've just book a California with modified chassis coz I want 11 Recaro seater, 4WD, removable roof, 4 LCD player and other features. The people there also said that Ferrari a lot better than rx350

• Ramli on Mar 26, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Hi,

I was very tempted until I took a look at the interior which had loose leather on the seats. My wife hates the size. I find it aggressive, but for that price attractive.

One thing stops me from buying it now; imagine if tomorrow Inokom decides to put and Inokom logo on it with a RM20-30k cut in the price.

I would wait another 6 months before buying anything.

Thanks.

• I tell you this MPV is really going to succeed. Heard that it is already doing very well in Thailand. For a long long time the 'Toyota Commuter' reigned supreme in Thailand and you can even spot the TC in the NSE – Penang upwards. The TC is a van and a 15 seater. In Thailand it is usually fancifully decorated and attached with trunk radio, but no matter how popular and attractive it is, it is still a van – though a very huge one. The Hyundai Starex is everything that the Toyota Commuter should have been. The TC is only a behemoth people mover whereas the Starex is definitely an MPV. Let me tell you that there is no more reason to look anywhere else for a luxurious MPV other than in Hyundai Starex. Now, I hope that the local distributor take note of this and seriously consider doing a CKD here. Don't get caught with insufficient supply or keep a long waiting list. Strike while the iron is hot! You hear Sime Darby?

• mkrafz on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:26 am

huge mpv..

with small amount of money..

i think hyundai has their own target market

• Djldracio (Member) on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:14 am

The H Starex will be a invaluable asset to the Hospitality Service industry as I believe it's reasonably priced and judging by the size and the interior will be able to accommodate many through long journeys from the airports or tours around KL. Families who are looking for a big MPV will also be given an additional choice, the badge/ origin may work against it but it's still quite a catch..

• AMORE on Apr 16, 2009 at 7:34 pm

the lovely hugemongus and perfecto mpv.

• Silas Evenstarr on Apr 22, 2009 at 8:42 am

Hi all! I'm from Kuching, Sarawak and I'm glad to say I've finally got my own Hyundai Grand Starex. As it is, it already looks good but I have had some other plans. Simple ones for a simple guy. :P

Just changed the exisiting rims (who says we need to find lorry wheels?!) to a set of hot-looking 18" alloys today and Toyo 225/50R18 tyres so now it looks more ganas without compromising ride quality and long distance driving tyre durability. Tomorrow morning it's gonna get the compulsory Estima-like tints and by wednesday, all the Alphard owners in town are gonna cringe with jealousy …. hahaha ….

Biggest joy this van / mpv has brought: My son loves it!

Biggest kill-joy: Day one only, driver's central-locking k.o. …. hahahha …. but spare parts available so fixed in a jiffy … hey we have 5 yrs warranty.

ps. Is there a place us Starex owners can post our vehicle photos?

• Edward on Apr 26, 2009 at 5:33 pm

any idea to convert this Behemoth into 7 seater MPV? coz i saw a post over here saying that:

The Hyundai Starex will also meet the changing demands from customers especially from the business, group and family segments looking for larger vehicles, Ho said.

Equipped with Hyundai’s latest engine technology, the vehicle features aerodynamic casing, a roomier interior, better handling, and additional safety features.

The Hyundai Starex is a CBU (completely built-up), imported from Korea and available in three colours namely silver, white and gold.

The on-the-road price with insurance for the car is RM138,888.00.

Ho said the Hyundai Starex could be configured to a seven-seater plus additional accessories with a price tag of RM172,888.000.

i wander what are the additional accessories that cost around 40k

• dan101 on Apr 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm

Silas Evenstarr,

if you don't mind telling me the specs of the rims, and how much?

• strex on Apr 30, 2009 at 8:55 am

anybody can tell me where to get the starex curtain?

• dan101 on Apr 30, 2009 at 5:10 pm

[quote comment="234895"]anybody can tell me where to get the starex curtain?[/quote]

gs accessories, jln 222, pj. They are selling it at 1350. They also have they side mirrors with indicators and are expecting bodykit for starex in a month's time

• strex on May 01, 2009 at 10:33 am

wow!crazy man!alphard and estima's curtain only sell 300++

• Lol i just love viewing comments. Some are ridiculously funny

• Luqman on Jun 14, 2009 at 7:32 am

Hi, Silas. Saw your comments on your proudly-owned Starex. I was thinking …maybe you can convert it into a mobile recording studio or move your bandmembers around! Better not if you want to keep your vehicle spick and clean. As for me, I am still like Hamlet…to be (buy) or not to be (buy)? As somebody mentioned in this forum, maybe wait for Inokom to rebadge it to make the decision easier. in the meantime…happy motoring…!

• Mustang Jeo on Jun 18, 2009 at 8:48 pm

[quote comment="222638"]This van was never tested with Euro NCAP. But I see from Hyundai's Euro NCAP results, most of their vehicles have 4 stars.

"Designed to achieve EURO NCAP-4 stars" could indicate they (Exora) have yet to receive those ratings and certifications..

• Mustang Jeo on Jun 18, 2009 at 8:56 pm

[quote comment="222671"]Its a luxury version of Hilux. Like getting a full hotel suite at a price of a backpacker lodge.

7 seater MPVs are selling well but is there a demand for more than 7 seaters? For some lady drivers, it might be a tough one to park.[/quote]

If you have a 7-seater carrying 7 person, where's your luggage space? with an 11 seater, when you carry up to 7, you still have reasonable luggage space.. think about how you drive in a Lavina, Ria, Innova, Avanza, Wish, Exora, Stream, Citra & Rondo with fully loaded 7, WHERE DOES THE LUGGAGE SPACE GOES?

• ABENAL on Jun 21, 2009 at 9:46 am

ladies & gents , anyone pls really help is it worthwhile buying or not, today saw again N again at 1 utama…phew really like our bro from sarawak says, can really mods to the brims and get envied…pls help…rides & maintenance camnee , havent tets drive , think shld do that first rite…now driving family with naza ria….so how?? huhuhu…kindest thanks in advance.

• silas evenstarr on Jun 22, 2009 at 2:57 am

hey all,

how's it going? I've been travelling a bit and am now at the airport as we speak. Just finished a concert called Pesta Malam Indonesia 3 and it was a blast but i noted a small discomfort notably with transportation. We hired transport for our artistes who are mostly bands from Indonesia such as Dewa19, Gigi, Andra & the Backbone, Sheila on 7 and Padi. Some of them brought family and the hired MPVs which are just Naza Ria and Stavic can hardly be called ideal people movers in this case as they can only take 5 passengers (minus driver & Liaison officier). I believe this scenario arises for those of us who ferry more than 5 ppl at a time on a regular basis. Don't these transport providers know that there is now the Grand Starex????

Luqman: If u are one of those who transfer more than 4 or 5 ppl at a time, get the Starex.

ABENAL: Naza Ria huh? Low torque, high drag, high FC, …. vs Grand Starex with high torque, little drag, relatively low FC + mega space and not some van with the engine under your ar*e ….. easily Starex wins hands down :)

Mine is white with reflective blue over black tints and solid 18" sports rims … within next 6 months I will put on 20" rims and side skirting … :)

• ABENAL on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:17 am

THANKS A LOT BRO for the advise…will do a proper test D etc.. and decide…u r certainly rite on the torque issue….but u know lee nak dispose naza dulu N now phew tak tau lee ade sape sape nak beli keeee?? thanks again. p/s I think gov kena make easier for people to dispose "old" or current cars to get new cars too…hehehe.

Nayway am still welocoming sape sape can give feedbackon pros & cons btw starex and other fellas….thanks

• john cheah on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Interesting and well written article. I have wanted to buy the Chery Eaststar priced around RM80k. The panel is really sexy but as one who likes things big, the Grand Starex had been bowled over.

The RM140k pricing is very competitive compared to Alphaard's RM370k + (new AP) and RM160k to RM230k for reconds.

But I could get two Eastar for the price of one Grand Starex.

Have you reviewed the Eastar?

• Joon Nan on Jun 29, 2009 at 10:16 pm

Unfortunetely the seat at the back row cannot be folded :(

Hard to insert big luggage.

• Khairol on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:08 pm

go hyundai go! give some space for Korea..

• stupe on Jul 26, 2009 at 8:37 am

my kids can play futsol in this monster man!

• paul,

any chance theres a manual version of starex in future for starex?hope hynudai could do sumthing with some mod on the seatbelts to a 3 point since its a family MPV

• teoh yee aun on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:27 am

i just tested the Eastar, it is bad quality MPV. i think korean made is more and better quality. but as in term of price i agree with you it sure is cheap! but the quality does the same. as for Starex i think the problem is parking only, try to look for a VIP parking. he he…….

• ABENAL on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:07 pm

hi there is there anybody outhere has soupped up ther starex to the max esp the rims & tintt….etc..cld anyone share their brilliant photos, just wonder..cheers

• How much is the roadtax ?

• nicerule on Sep 06, 2009 at 7:06 am

Hi Folks…..to Starex owner's if U plan to chnage Ur tyre & rim….please feel free to check this web http://www.kouki.co.uk/utilities/visual-tyre-size…. U might had better idea what is your best choice…..have fun

• silas evenstarr on Sep 08, 2009 at 9:28 pm

hi all,

greetings!

have added more soup to my MonStar. 20" rims installed with 235/35 R20 tyres. Ride has been compromised somewhat but dunno why my wife didn't really notice difference till i told her (wife opinion on ride and vehicle color is relevant – otherwise, not really).

will post pics on starex yahoo!groups soon.

selamat berpuasa kepada semua rakan-rakan yang beragama Islam.

• kenzotaj on Sep 13, 2009 at 6:55 pm

Hi everyone:

20 inch Rims!!!! crazy arr you… but it has just become the most desirable MPV in whole of malaysia… :)

• ABeNAL on Sep 14, 2009 at 7:34 am

Now wheres da 20 and above specs rimmsss on MOnsT'Rexxxx…..show us cepat laaaaa abe abe….cant wait to see some soup up MonsTRexxxxx….

• Silas Evenstarr on Sep 17, 2009 at 2:21 am

Hi all,

My MonStar-X pics can be seen at http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/mystarex. If you can't access, I'll email to you.

• Zhentan on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:50 am

I traveled to Korea several time this year, so happen my friend in Korea own this model and he used it to transport us around. And we do cover quite a distance. In my normal 3 days trip, each day we would spend 4 to 6 hours driving from one town to another , and from there i would say…OMG this thing what ever u want to name is huge, humangous, damn BIG….

Interior wise, quality wise, it aint that great, not much creativity on design of dashboard, meter etc, but this is the people mover, it is like a mini bus, you dont need beauty, you need practicality,

the ride is comfy, the engine is punchy enough to move us around , the space is once again HUGE…all in all, it would be a great buy

the only thing, this car cost my friend in the region of RM 50,000 ++ only….
    huhuhuhu

• Is this car ever coming to the United States?

• Rusdan on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:34 am

Why you asked Lisa?

Are you from Texas ?.

Sorry this monster can't …you bull inside.

Mine is already 6 Mths.Clocking 30K in milege.

Now scheduling my trip ti GS PJ.Wanna fix side mirror and check for power door. Got price for mirror but yet to get power door.

One guy from Autoworld did tested this monster up to 190 km/h.

Yes I did it after Pedas Linggi exit before Senawang while chasing 1 blue beemer.

And hit 20+km/h on LPT highway after Gambang exit in last September.

It's not a down hill and with 9 people inside, my mum don't even notice the speedo. Just release the pedal when "The Alarm" beside me keep "beeping".

Who said this monster can't speed.

Dashboard deco not as good as Alphard and H tag not "gempak" as T tag.

And handbake bit funny……….macam bas sekolah zaman Sudirman.

Check parking height at shopping mall.If 2.1 Mtr above, you can drive in but check for open parking if lower that that.

Royal of Johore got one in Black and Royal of Terengganu also in Black.

Worth it in many aspect compare to Alphard 2.4.

Don't compare with Velfire please.

• bohpee on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:14 am

If you can't afford an Alphard, this is the alternative..

• Rusdan, I asked, because we have a big family (7 kids) and I hate the American large vans (Ford, Chevrolet). I really want the Hyundai.

• Rusdan on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:04 pm

Lisa,

I'm sorry.

If you think to have one, my past experience with this monster is VERY GOOD below EXCELLENT.

What color you intend to. Mine is Silver with black tinted C/w Dynamad treatment. ICE is much better and yo can feel the surrounding sound during watching movies on board.

Tinted is a must since we don't want outsider see tru what our kids done inside.

I saw few Lady in JB who drove this monster arround JB town.

New RYL Starex c/w skirting and looked nice but I don't like the front grill.

Please give me your comment once you have it in your garage.

• Bali Private Villa on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:12 pm

I will get this one for my resort if i could get it in Bali! :)

• Iwantanewcar on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:07 am

i love big powerful with attractive assecories mpv. what i can suggest to hyundai to make it better… front light needto be redesign. add wiper add the bag, for me 8 seater with luggage cabin add the bag will add more comfort.
    i wiil get one …. in dileama… pajerosport or this starex… need advice….

• GroundPilot on Apr 21, 2010 at 12:37 am

My first impression when i drive this vehicle i though it is using petrol, so quiet inside never expect that it run by diesel and some more when do overtake its like drive the 5 series.. very powerful .. driving at nite its very clear view while overtaking.

But.. the rear suspension make my four big size mat salleh passenger cannot sleep well while i am driving from Kuantan to Dungun at 120 kmh … the rear suspension fail for this 140K values of vehicles. It ‘s feel like drive the 3 tons pick-up pumping very hard. Its make me reduce the speed to make the passenger feel comfort .

For family of 8 plus grand pa and ma it is suitable no compromise in space and some more it is economic in consumption..

• silas Evenstarr on Apr 21, 2010 at 8:32 am

GroundPilot, I love this monster a lot too. Power is excellent and mileage very acceptable.

I do agree the suspension could be improved but if it were so, I believe the price would go much higher. Independent wishbones are the way to go but then again, the current suspension is not all too bad. Two things to consider:
    1) The road was a little to bumpy for us to cruise @ 120kph.
    2) Our mat salleh friends have softer backsides

I’ve test driven the new vellfire and while it’s an awesome vehicle, I believe giant mat salleh will also complain bout the the passenger seats being too small and tight for them.

I have drive 8-9 pax in my starex a couple of times from Kuching – Sibu (sarawak roads are nothing much to shout good about), once on 18″ and once on 20″ rims. None of the rear passengers realised I shot past 140kph at times 155kph haha. Now that must be pretty decent suspension I must say. Or maybe, we locals are used to a bit of bumpiness… :)

• Shamyusop on May 05, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Test drive 2 days ago. It suite my needs for my family member as currently drove sedan and already overloaded. Pick up was very good and I don’t feel heavy even though it is a big vehicle. Windscreen also big and cruising was very smooth. Only heard the diesel engine when outside the car. Already book and waiting to process.

• brought this monster already. been using it for more than a month. love my white monster soooo very, very much :-) very comfortable for long journey, fuel consumption also cheap. used about rm60-rm70 of diesel for a journey KL- Melaka-Kl. palnning for a balik kampung to Terengganu end of this month, really looking forward for tis journey bcoz of this monster. my kids love it too….every one got their own sleeping space…siap bawak their own pillows n d blanket. highly recommended.

• Why on earth would you imply to be surprised that it turns better than front wheel drives? Not attaching an engine to the turn wheels of course makes it easier to allow them to well, turn. That’s not news.

• think about considering this monster..

• hi all
    I/ve been using starex since nov 2008. Great car for my family.. Driving on bumpy road quite diassapointing as it can be really bumpy . Just need to drive slow till u hit the highway again. Very powerful, good turning radius.good fuel consumption!! i recently drove kl-penang-kl with a full tank and still got extra of 60km ( once the fuel light is on)

If only the last row seat can be folded like the one in naza ria. Exccellent car overall!!

• PLusss

120km/h RPM 2000-2100

140km/h RPM 2500

160km/h RPM 2800

most distance i got with this car was 800km with a full tank. (normal diesel)
    in UK forum ,is known to get 1000km with a full tank with euro 4 diesel.

• Guys,
    Just consider my this comment before going for the GRAND STAREX ROYALE, I just purchase the car for a month, and I have the following problems yet to be resolve by the HYUNDAI.
    Issues
    1) Braking in Quick mode(slow of fast fast speed), you can feel the steering is jerking and tend to swing to the right side.
    Note: I have reported this to the service center but was not able to spell out in the service report due to HYUNDAI service online system limitation J/Sheet No:SW005873J) . More scary answer was given by the service co-ordinator is that this is inherent problem of this CAR and he got this feedback from the HYUNDAI KOREA ? Can you beleive it ??

2) Abnormal Engine knocking noise during cool start, more severe when engaging in gear.
    Note: I requested the Sale man to send back to HYUNDAI HQ service center to investigate this 2 issues and provide me an feedback & report. When I got back my car next day I only received a copy of the REPAIR ORDER (Job No. 3067192), stated only the above mention 2 issues BUT no feedback, Report what’s happen or remedy action ?

3) Idling inconsistant at Cool start.
    Note: This is happening after receiveing the car from the HYUNDAI HQ service center.

I try to call up HYUNDAI HQ service center this morning at 10.35am but no one answer despite make transfer to few extention, Ext 2, operator…
    I was wondering is this the SERVICE STANDARD of HYUNDAI ? moreover I am concern this this is truly a SAFETY issue of the vehicle and HYUNDAI should take immediate attention for such feedback.
    I brought this up just to share my experience and hope not to face the same frustration as I am having now.
    HYUNDAI, I beleive you can do a better job to regain my confident on HYUNDAI car ( STAREX is my only KOREAN HYUNDAI car purchased ) BAD BAD Experience !
    Contact me if you want more detail : AB CHAN – 01702470330

• Shamyusop on Jun 03, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Dear AB and others, thanks for your info. I have this starex for about 2 weeks and haven’t tried it for long distance journey. This is my 1st Korean car and diesel some more. A lot of matter related to diesel should be explore. So far I haven’t come across the problem as mentioned, maybe because of I’m not aware of it or lack of knowledge. Btw ,this weekend I will be traveling with my family for a long distance journey and this is the change for me to test on it. I have to be more alert and careful should this thing happen to me. I hope I’m getting a good copy of it .

• actually i m planning to order the hyundai starex next mth, but i m still in dilemma, is worth it??need advice…

• Rusdan on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Hi All,

I’m refer to AB concern,
    First of all you do have your right to make known your concern to the car dealer. I don’t know Kah Bintang or Hyumal. Your frustration understandable.I do have same scenario, but the diffrent is I got it from a well known Japanese car maker. So, it is happened to all.

I drove this monster for almost 17 month (nearly 1 1/2 yrs), clocking over 60K KM and it is as good as it should. This is my first experience with Korean vehicle anyway.

About bumpy, yes I feel the same but please note that the monster build up to accomodate 11 adult with luggage.If you drive with only 2 adult inside, it will definetly bumpy on our interstate roadway. I’ve drove on highway alone and no such bumpy.
    Alphard do have the same character either.I use to drove one of my family Alphard G, and it has a bumpy character as well.Just the diffrent is Alphard is smaller than Starex and it has a better NVH compare to Starex.This one also understandable since the vaccum space that sound travel arround inside Alphard is smaller than the sound travel inside the huge Starex, that’s why it is a bit noisy inside Starex.

For AB,

1. You may need to double check with other service centre to be sure.If you bought from Kah Bintang, you can visit Hyumal.Please note, this Starex has their dedicated mechanic/technician. I believe you can solve this.Ask them to check your alignment and balancing C/W your bushing/bearing as well as steering rack. Because, after more than a year I do not have the problem as you said. I always perform test at high speed with more than 160 kmh, mormally on highway on clear traffic.No such things and y brake doing fine.You must do so because we must always know what the monster can give us when necessary ie. braking,cornering,speeding & highland terrain driveway.

2. Please note AB, our ngine is diesel engine.It’s normal to that enginevariant. I use to drove Mitsu Storm for 3 years for some of my site visit.Normal pertol car/mpv have about 3-5 minutes to get light indicator off, but diesel engine need you to wait for at least 10 minutes to get if heated.look at you temperature gauge, it must be less than half of meter reading before you can engage the gear.So, diesel engine come with diffrent character that you may lern and patient.

3. The same explanation with your number 2 concern.

Overall, Hyundai should do something on Customer Service/After Sales Service.
    I’m waiting for new model with 8 seater, power door & electric seat soon.

• Hi Rusdan,
      Thanks for your infor. I do not understand the diesel characteristic . If you say this is a Hydraulic Cam valve vehicle , than I wil agreed with this but My encountering is totally diffrerent from normal, the noise generated is obviously louder than a normal diesel car it should be in cool start mode.
      Anywhere these 2 problems ( Braking jerking & Engine Loud Knocking Noice in cool start), despite reports has been make & numerous call to SIME DARBY AUTO HYUNDAI SDN BHD Service center to follow up but no answer till know ?
      Appointment has been make for next Wednesday morning to investigate another round on the issues, yet to see what will be the outcome.

So… Starex Owner GOOD LUCK ! and hope your wont get the same problem like mine !

• Rusdan on Jun 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm

Hi AB,

Good luck to you as well………..and please share with us on your findings soon.
        Where is your location by the way ?.
        Saw new Starex Royale with spoke rims.Look good but not the front grill.
        I’m a fan of Optimus Prime but not to get his face stick to my Starex.

• What is the condition of this car when travelling on the highway? Is it shaking like a van?

• SYAELBIDIYA AZIZON BT A AZIZ on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:20 am

i would love to have one of these valuable vehicle for my beloved family….

• sivaprakash on May 16, 2011 at 1:19 pm

wht is the on road price

• richard somera on Jul 05, 2011 at 6:26 am

how about the 2004 starex models

• How about the spare part replacement cost? I heard spare parts are expensive.

• Who is Dr. max Long? Did he write this review or it was you Paul?
    Frankly speaking, I’m annoy by his choice of words / sentences!
    I wanna read a Car Review, not an article from some dude who seem to be trying hard to impress us with his fanciful vocabulary!

• Ok Paul, I read the whole article. To be more specific, this is a horribly written review by a layman. Why do I say so? First of all, why do Maytag & Nokia mentioned? Are they related to Hyundai Starex?

The car comparisons are horrible too. Has he ever driven an Alphard before he puts down on the Toyotas? (assuming he is saying ‘T’ for Toyota) Comparing the interior with Hiace? Have I read it right? Hiace?

Also, is he just plain boring by mentioning the antenna “scrape ceilings, an occasional overhead fire sprinkler’s piping and sometimes metal frame scaffolding of basement car parks” (direct quoted from his article, so no plagiarism here for me) OR he is just trying his luck to make more words counted?

Paul, help me here pls!

• IanWSuffield on Feb 03, 2013 at 1:25 am

I’ve had my Starex almost 3 years. Drives like a magic carpet. And that view from the driver’s seat – marvelous. Only one complaint – the aircon in the front needs roof vents like the rear seat guys get. Oh, now you can get electric Alphard-like rear doors for RM12k I’d’ve liked that option. I’ve had Mercs, Pugs, Citroens, VWs & Fiats over the years but my Starex is the best car I’ve ever driven AND owned.

• SotSotDriver on Jul 26, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Thanks for the article. Been using starex since January 2009, but now facing turbo lag problem since April this year. Have replaced two unit of turbo valve cost RM2000. Now require to replace the VGT cost RM7000. Anyone having the turbo lag problem pr experience with Starex?

• Hassan Ssenyonga on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:13 pm

thanks for that information but am a mechanic from a certain company in Africa Uganda but we have a Hyundai grand starex but its reeve doesn’t exide 3 on the meter of which it doesn’t pick up soon when you start i don’t know what to do .