New Honda Civic facelift launched in Malaysia!

Honda Civic Facelift

After its initial launch in March 2006, the Honda Civic has been facelifted in Malaysia. It continues as a locally assembled model from Honda’s Pegoh plant and is available in two variants, the Civic 2.0S and Civic 1.8S.

There are not much changes to the car really, it’s only an aesthetics update. It could be a case of overengineering with the first edition with the aim for it to be so far ahead of its rivals, with not much budget or reason to change left for the facelift. Or a recession “facelift”. There is a new front bumper that is reminiscent of the Civic Type R’s, as well as a new larger grille. The headlamps are now smoked.

Civic Facelift

Minimal changes on the rear, only with a minor change in the tail lamp design where it uses a diamond-shaped design instead of a round one now. The alloy wheels for the 17 inch model have also been updated to the 10-spoke design you see above, and they look quite chrome-ish shiny instead of matte in real life.

Civic FabricOn the interior, only the Civic 1.8 gets updated with a new design for the fabric seats. The colour remains similiar to the outgoing pre-facelift version but there is now a pattern, so no more bathroom towel interior (photo left, click to enlarge).

The Civic is available in Crystal Black Pearl, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Sparkle Gray Pearl and Bold Beige Metallic. As I understand there will be a new shade of blue coming later. As for pricing – RM 129,980.00 OTR with insurance for the Honda Civic 2.0S and RM 114,980.00 OTR with insurance for the Civic 1.8S. Warranty is a total of 3 years or 100,000km and there is also a 6 months or 10,000km free service package. The battery is warrantied for 2 years or 40,000km.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Civic.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=191]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bennett on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm

nothing different…

• HACHi on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm

i would say i love the previous tail lamp in round-shaped…

• first? Cool car… wanted to buy it pre facelift but economy bad so need to cancel… haih…

• Local is more expensive or CBU more expensive ?

• haha.. i waited this long time.. 1st

• Crasher on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:35 pm

I really don't see a change here

• my dream car….

• FreeWilly on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:39 pm

I own a pre-facelift…lucky not much changes…

so my 2006 Civic is still cool…!!! Worth the buy

la like this.. :)

• harry on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:50 pm

the rims look like proton persona~@_@

• should come with USB connection or bluetooth for the head unit…

• newbie on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:55 pm

i love that 2 storey dashboard panel.

• waaah, no major changes? wasting my life waiting for new honda. Like this i'll go for Lancer GT , responsive car, magnesium paddle shift and got 18 inch summore

• pajeroio (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:07 am

Visit to one of the dealer last Saturday saw one 2.0 unit in thier warehouse.I think for 2.0, interior color as well as the seat leather color has change from blue to grey. A bit disappointed to the rear seat as no center head rest and 2 points seatbelt only while the Japan version does.

Color wise, I saw bluish silver still available. Why not in the color scheme? Honda website photoshop work is a bit not detail on touching up those picture, and not the latest picture is uploaded.

Anyway, new 17" rims is nice.

• pizi82 on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:10 am

ok la minor changes only

• [quote comment="222497"]I own a pre-facelift…lucky not much changes…

so my 2006 Civic is still cool…!!! Worth the buy

la like this.. :)[/quote]

hahaha..mine is a 2.0 which i bought last year nov…thankfully i love the round rear lights,but the only thing i like about the facelift one is the rim…it looks fierce…..

neway,took my civic the other day for service,saw the new facelift civic at the service centre,a black one,which they were installing the modulo bodykit…and some of the staffs there said its "ugly"…no idea why….

• turtle_business on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:31 am

New Civic comes together with Keyless entry and 17' inch rim for both models….?????

• cavino on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:32 am

Wan,

Wait till ur 18" tyres worn out….u will know real cost of changing 18" tyres….

• just book 1.8s today :D

• lebih kurang je. BOSAN.

• Beemer Freak on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:42 am

Hmm, the face lifted civic does look more macho and gives a stroner presense than the pre-facelifted ones. Have seen many of them in Singapore as Singapore had thiers half a year ago. However i still fail to understand why the 1.8S in Singapore gets a 6 cd music playes and paddle shift as standard while ours comes with next to nothing in it.

Car dealers in Malaysia should allow greater customisation of cars instead of just allowing us the choice of one or two. Civics in Thailand cost nearly half as much as ours but comes with GPS and parking camera in the 2.0S version.

• King Samurai on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:47 am

Facelift….what do you expect??..Honda engineers at least did some minor asthetic changes..for Mr. T, facelift models we cant even notice what are lifted!

• King Samurai on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:52 am

Bro, the grey leather is the Civic Hybrid..No change for the 2.0S…Honda Malaysia..give us ur championship white as a color to choose from…since the bluish one has stop production..replace it with white laa..

• msian on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:55 am

changes not clearly visible….

• azrai on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:06 am

Towel like seat fabric?

• Why no 'urban titanium' colour? (Singapore has that colour)

2 tone interior again, why not come with black interior option like Civic Hybrid Japan?

http://www.honda.co.jp/CIVIC/webcatalogue/interio…

Although seats are more comfortably body hugging than most car of the same class. Just wonder why don't they improve further more for kidney support.

Hopefully they have improve on the sound proof and overcome that irritating front tyres rolling noise.

• koozold on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:43 am

so sad!!they changed the round tail lamp to the diamond shaped….the round look more far nicer than the new one….

• koozold on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:47 am

if i buy this car, confirm i'll change the tail lamp to the old one….

• isharestuff on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:31 am

Not much of changes, so I guess it wouldn't make pre-facelifted Civic looks dated.

But that is also the saddest part, no major improvement, at least from what we see here. For 2.0S, interior remains 2 tone color, hell difficult to maintain. Especially the door step portion, easily scratch and leave dark spot every time you move leg in and out. Big disappointment. Aside from exterior change, notice the gear now has description next to "S". Maybe owners do not know they have paddle shift.

This time I hope no longer hear people complain about the cover near A-pillar falling, suspension cracking noise, gear sound during low rpm.

Anyway it is still a good car, the handling is good, thanks to its quite-okay suspension, but for cornering you still have to look for better one (it's a family car okay). Acceleration is there (for 2.0S, unsure about 1.8), it's just that the car is heavy.

Is it a potential car to become a track day machine? Hell yeah! Check out the Mugen Civic RR Advanced Concept, which based on this facelifted Civic. No, I am not joking.

Mugen Civic RR <– based on a Type R

Mugen Civic RR Advanced Concept <– based on a street Civic

Enhanced 2.2 liter engine producing 260ps, heavily use carbon fibre composite, total reduced weight 300kg, 6 speed gear box, dual exhaust, takes down Type R in Tsukuba circuit for 3 seconds. That is mean.

• kayly on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:41 am

nothing much different…saw this morning when I went serviced my City at Seri Kembangan branch..Isharestuff was right, the door step is beige in color, so the possiblity to get dirty is high…moreover, the back lamp was ugly IMO as the previous one was nice enough..

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:50 am

Agreed with you guys…the pre-facelift rear lamp looks better. Love the front bumper which is much sportier than the previous 1.

Since the pre-facelift model is already consider modern and up to date, i guess there is not much reason for them to have a major makeover.

Patterned fabric seat in the 1.8S is a good change…as Paul said the feel of the fabric in the pre-facelift model is like seating in a bathroom during test drive…lol

Minor changes stil better than nothing…but y stil no electronic seat adjust?? =(

• freeze on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:17 am

Wah… this car copy Exora steering wheel eh? :-)

• No much different, I think after I equipped my civic with mugen kit, it will look better than the new facelift civic…

Btw, I like the round tail light better on pre-facelift :)

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:35 am

the change is soooooooo MINOR that most of us think it's still the same ..

• mann…

thr is not much of diff compare to the old one..

my couz is gonna get one.

XP.

i prefer the 2.0cc rims of the old model. sporty. and grey. nice…

• nabill on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:56 am

frankly speaking , thrs not much wrong with the car to begine with , not many problems,atleast not serious once , nice to drive,spacios,and the design stil freash , i tink honda 'had' to come out with a 'facelift' to keep interest from customers….

• theanswer on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:17 am

[quote comment="222524"]Wan,

Wait till ur 18" tyres worn out….u will know real cost of changing 18" tyres….[/quote]

haha yeah thats true. and regarding the magnesium paddle shifter..so whats the diff between civic 2.0 paddle shifter? magnesium more faster eh?

• gopotter on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:25 am

little disapointed, there are not big different and suprise. the only changes is back lamp re-design, (the square back lamp is almost same loke KIA Optima 05-06 models). the balance all is $$$ accessories. at least come out with keyless entry, GPS mapking + DVD player with reverse camera as well.

• Rulered on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:27 am

Thank you Honda for not making too much changes, otherwise the earlier buyers would be cursing….

• mystvearn on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:29 am

Good job not changing it. If its good, don't fix it.

• Bodow on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:39 am

Better get the Lancer lagi cun and better specced .

• LotusLover on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:05 am

wat so special? after 2-3 years come a facelift, then 4 years change the whole design… no worth to buy! waste money.

• fit5505 on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:13 am

the new tail lamp diamond-shaped design look ugly leh…

• kheekuan on Mar 20, 2009 at 9:02 am

personally i still prefers the old 2 litre sports rim, the new one looks kinda small to me and reminiscent to that of city. btw, was there a drastic increase in terms of pricing compared to the prior facelift edition?

• Wisdom on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:20 am

Seldom i came across a facelift that as lazy as this…..

• Calvin De La Rosa on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:17 pm

[quote comment="222709"]Seldom i came across a facelift that as lazy as this…..[/quote]

Totally agreed… and coming from Honda? Shocking!!!

(mengeleng kapla… (did i spell it right?))

• k-rol on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:23 pm

i rather choose Peugeot 308 Turbo..the torque is so much different..

• Chris - cbljkkj on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:57 pm

The revised brake lamps look awful, already too many angular designs on the back and they still add the diamond design to it.

Just awful.

• obama on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:14 pm

i will waiting 9th generation of honda civic by 2 years time !

• chang on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:20 am

the 2012 model sounds to be more attractive and european look design. cant wait to see,,

• nutella on Mar 21, 2009 at 6:09 am

autolock still tarak….what lah Honda?

• Toyocar on Mar 21, 2009 at 8:55 pm

No doubt this 8th gen civic is better than my new toyota altis regardless the new facelift… :(

• gopotter on Mar 22, 2009 at 1:20 am

Japanese car they will only change all new design in every 5-6 years. after2-3 years they only made some simple changes like; change diamond back lamp, led, sport rims and $$$ accessories.

this is true, most of my friends go to see Toyota Altis finally they buy Civic 1.8 or 2.0. base on the stylish design civic almost better than Altis.

Toyota also good, the only not good is the engine never change when you buy from low range – high range is same vvti. not like honda have v-tec and i v-tec and etc.

• mat_tokey on Mar 22, 2009 at 7:58 am

getting mine soon…can't wait for it…..

any body know where i could get the GPS module like those in Thailand…looks nice….

• Tak banyak perubahan….

Tapi tensen jugak…Honda patut setkan terus bodykit macam type R untuk civic 8th,ini tak…untuk Gen 8.5th nih buat penambahan skit-skit…..camni baik takyah buat minor changes.

Civic 2.0 aku masih lagi standard.Kalau gini lah Civic buat bisnes,aku rase buat bodykit kat kedai lagi baik daripada stail Civic dok ubah skit-skit….

Aku rasa kalau Civic buat survey 1000 orang,sure gerenti 90% mesti nak design cam Civic Type R (Walaupun sebenarnya orang mampu beli type R,tapi sebabkan tax tahap gilerr mahal…..bloody twat)….

• wanderlei silva on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:41 am

Visited a showroom today, facelift was minor but still a decent car. Will test drive soon (after peugeot 308 turbo bumped their price up to 116k… ??).

Funny thing is I was almost set on getting myself the 308 turbo, really was fond of it at the showroom (something different & not like the usual suspects: Honda & Toyota) and just about to test drive it… until I was informed about the price hike. Civic 1.8 is 114k, and the Honda showroom is just 2 shoplots away. The real dilemma starts now. 2.0, leather seats and 17" tyres is a real looker. Will have to see if finances permit. I quite like the new rear lights, as the previous round ones looked like lolly pops on a very angular car, facelifted one has more visual symmetry. Shame the 1.8 doesn't have audio controls on its steering.

• gopotter on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:40 am

i thaught this upgrade version will perfect but still poor is no auto lock. when press remote still no sound. suggestion to the buyers to change autolock + security GSM alarm system for safety, past few weeks when you see newspaper many Civiv been stolen. cost to install is less than RM1K….

• Amirol on Apr 05, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Just booked one 2.0S Bold Beige Metalic…

Futuristic looks….

• FYI, new civic FL come with autolock.

• google on Apr 12, 2009 at 1:30 pm

Anyone can confirm whether the new civic facelift comes with ducktail by default? Some pictures show that ducktail is included but some not.. And the modulo bodykit so expensive la..

Already booked crystal pearl black. Arrive in May.

• kiddy on Apr 17, 2009 at 6:46 am

the rims suxs…previous better…

• anti proton on Apr 23, 2009 at 3:00 am

the rim is nice already… u got this car or not??? dun suxs here suxs ther

• gopotter on Apr 23, 2009 at 9:53 am

agreed with your statement : antiproton. u got this car or not???

if you dont own civic better keep quiet & if you think still not happy you can spend your RM well to change import rim from Japan.

• saukoon on Apr 29, 2009 at 7:14 pm

i booked the crystal black in the first place during the roadshow @The Curve in march. However its quite hard to get the black civic currently and I was told that mine will only be manufactured in may, and get the car in june.

Having waited for a month+ and considering the possible increment of HP rate, I decided to give in to the sparkle gray pearl which the car will be available in less than a week

• anti potong zakar on Apr 30, 2009 at 12:26 am

hehe, this car is nice look! i will get one one !

• Prasad on May 26, 2009 at 4:36 am

[quote comment="222513"]Visit to one of the dealer last Saturday saw one 2.0 unit in thier warehouse.I think for 2.0, interior color as well as the seat leather color has change from blue to grey. A bit disappointed to the rear seat as no center head rest and 2 points seatbelt only while the Japan version does.

Color wise, I saw bluish silver still available. Why not in the color scheme? Honda website photoshop work is a bit not detail on touching up those picture, and not the latest picture is uploaded.

Anyway, new 17" rims is nice.[/quote]

Yeah I saw a dealer having bluish silver with the new facelift but other dealers seem to be unaware of this color when I ask them.

• booked this car 1.8 today and cant wait anymore.. salesman promised i can get it before raya.. i opt for black colour.. the only thing i dont like is the rear tail lamp and interior color.. This is my first time buy non proton car..hope this car give me less problem..

• Hairi on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:52 am

Just placed an order last week…going for bold metallic, think other colours are already so common..cannot wait..and FLY, same here..first non proton car

• CIVIC 1.8FD on Jul 14, 2009 at 3:52 pm

CAN I CHANGE THE METER FROM MPH/HOUR TO KM/HOUR.ALREADY CAME TO HONDA SERVS CENTER, THEY SAID CAN'T.

• fahmi on Aug 01, 2009 at 4:26 am

so that means, if i buy this car, i'll get this kind of facelift?

no more the previous facelift?

coz i much prefer this car with lampu bulat at the rear..

• mohsein on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:22 am

just book. white colour.. only on October, cant use for hari raya.. aiyohhhh cant wait.. my first car

• Anybody wants to sell 2.0 to me because i prefer the pre-facelift model.

• Mohsein, the white that you booked is normal Civic (1.8/2.0) or Hybrid?

• aaronzest (Member) on Oct 21, 2009 at 1:25 am

hi paul,

just wondering any recommendaion for anti-roll bar for civic 2.0 year 2008(body roll is pretty bad on OEM when taking corners). tyres sound is pretty prevalent in the interior due to 17" tyres. Thinking of changing to yokohama tyres, any suggestion???

appreciate your feedback.

cheers!

• gopotter on Oct 21, 2009 at 4:18 am

hello frend,

do you change your original rim. if yes, please check with the shop againts whether they install via-holes nuts during installation. normally when your speed up to 120kmh you'll heard the sound…

• aaronzest (Member) on Oct 21, 2009 at 10:00 pm

nope. original rims n tyres but even on low speed can hear the tyres sound from the interior n i noticed that after car wash, when apply d brakes, noticed some sounds, told the service centre but until now cannot rectify…damn shitty man.

• Jetlee on Oct 30, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Ape2 pong uuutaaannnggg.. hehe.. Kete2 makin canggih, pemandu2 makin BENGONG !! SOMBONG !! PENTING DIRI !! INGAT JALAN TU MAK BAPAK PUNYA…

• nikkika on Nov 02, 2009 at 2:09 am

i hesitate either to buy civic or lancer.. still in research..

• gopotter on Nov 02, 2009 at 3:26 am

consider Mazda 3 sport & 6?

• BlackMamba on Nov 14, 2009 at 12:49 am

watever it is …just booked my last month …now waitin for delivery …..cant wait actually ……Civic 2.0 seeweetttttt!!!!!

• edison_yeechean (Member) on Dec 02, 2009 at 4:00 am

i own an old model civic..now wana do the exchange of the tail light..anyone here interested?just leave an email to me..thx

• hatijahitepi on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:20 am

Just book my teffeta white civic 2.0..will get on apr 2010..

• . I do like the Honda civic. i was torn between buying a civic and an altis. finally, i got the Ford Focus 2.0 Ghia. any comments on that? impulse buying on my part..I couldnt let go of the Focus after experiencing it…

• dreamer on Jan 24, 2010 at 7:23 am

who can tell me the s on the gear box is stand for what?

• dreamer on Jan 24, 2010 at 8:39 am

who can tell me the S on the auto gear box is stand for what ?

• Carl Wong on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:49 am

Sport mode for even faster and powerful acceleration :)!!!!

• BlackMamba on Jan 24, 2010 at 8:25 pm

“S” for sports ,switch the gear to “S” and enjoy the paddle shift … where the gears will down shift automatically if we slow down but it doesn’t change higher unless we change the gear via the paddle shift ,in other words to red line it ….

• dreamer on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:39 am

Wow!!! amazing system… thanks a lot, BlackMamba…

• civic 2.0 on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:38 pm

ford mmang x laku dan x de secondhand value

baik bli civic mcm aq..(wrna gold)

• civic 2.0 on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:39 pm

spotrim persona lg bruk la..

• xenogearz on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:24 pm

i wonder whether i should just buy the facelift civic or wait for the next generation civic…i would expect the nex gen to be launched next year…must delay gratification ;P

• Nanick911 on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:06 am

x byk beza dgn yg terdahulu. Klu lebih cun dan mantap SAYA MESTI BELI!!!

• chang on Apr 20, 2010 at 1:23 am

the 2012 model sounds to be more european look design. cant wait to see!!!

• Honda….Honda…..Please dont repeat the same stupid ugly looking double deckered cluster again for the 9th gen.
    Please honda…..

• secret on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Honda Civic is great…. it just like the other Honda’s cars… The exterior is great.. and the interior is too great…

• nobody on Jul 28, 2010 at 12:03 am

which is more better along civic 1.8s-L and toyota wish 1.8 (recond)..

• civic lover on Jul 28, 2010 at 9:09 pm

hopefully the 9th GEN. will have the keyless entry, GPS mapking + DVD player with reverse camera, design with futuristic look & with black colour interior, please offer white colour too then i will change my civic to the new one! ^_^

• toyota2honda on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:13 am

i hv booked one. civic 1.8SL yesterday. white color. with leather seat etc. what a cool car. sold my vios 2007 for this.

• prasad on Aug 14, 2010 at 2:46 pm

I guess Forte must be hurting the sales. Forte puts the civic 1.8 to shame.
    Value per money. You guys should really look into this before buying the civic.
    Civic price without tax is RM 74 K + look at the price in langkawi. So the rest are just tax buta-buta paying to the gov.
    Last time very action don’t want to offer these acc. for the 1.8 ask me to get the 2.0, now got competition then only offer the acc. Did you know civic is suppose to have rear air con vent. They remove a lot of the acc for the Malaysian market but double the price.

• pocoyo on Aug 14, 2010 at 9:19 pm

brother,
    fully agreed ur comment. that why i sold my civic 1.8 in 2009.
    Malaysia market has removed a huge acc like 2din cd touch screen panel and etc.
    if really not competitor challenge and i think until now the price will increase like earlier upgrade to diamond tail lamp, for seen the price been mark-up +- 2k.

if they willing tax but at least giving full acc package then should comfortable for the buyers. I think there is no all new version civic will be launch this 2 years cause now they just upgrade 1.8 swith 2.0 spec + acc.

• prasad on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:42 am

Yeah there’s a lot of acc. Honda Malaysia removed from their Civic and City just to make a profit in Malaysia market. Forte will also follow suit. Right now Forte is cheap to encourage sales then KIA will also kena hentam by our local AP kings after sales takes off and they will also start taking off acc. just to make some profit like Honda.

So buyers be smart, Forte is new and has value per money (for now at least).
      Look for cars like these.

Those will money try buying hybrid, ( Gov. no money konon to subsidies for petrol but do not want to reduce tax of hybrid or fuel efficient car or provide good PB transport system.)

• Audi Forever on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Hi guys , I have driven my new Civic 1.8S for about a week plus now and my take on Civic is this . After one week driving the Civic to Penang , PD and within Klang Valley , I personally think that the Civic is not as good as Focus Ghia 1.8 or Cruze LT 1.8 , having test driven both car before , in terms of comfort , handling and performance . In term of features , Civic is also losing out to both cars , having only offers standrad ABS , 2 Airbags , EBD and VSA . I have chosen Civic over Focus and Cruze for its goos resale value . Civic is touted and hyped among the best C segment car , I am quite disappointed with its performance . NVH is also terrible which I think Persona is better . I have paid a premium price for a standard and normal car because it is Honda …..sigh …

‘Audi Forever ‘ – cannot afford one

• nass 1.8 on May 21, 2012 at 4:40 am

I own the 1.8s civic facelift. Recently I went to honda to change the rear tailight to pre-version ones. It looks nicer the round tailight. Look more fiercy than the new ones. It cost me over 1500…but it makes me feel more confident with roundtailight..anyone wanna buy a diamond tailight may PM me..