Scion to unveil a micro-subcompact concept car in New York

Scion has revealed that it will be presenting a micro-subcompact concept car at the upcoming New York Auto Show. The auto brand did not reveal anything else, other than the concept reflects Scion’s youthful image and represents a new segment for the brand aimed toward the growing urbanization trend.

But we are 99.9% sure that Scion is actually talking about a re-badged version of the Toyota iQ micro car for the U.S market. If this is the case, which I am sure it is, expect Scion to fit the new 1.33 litre engine with a dual VVT-i system that is capable of 99HP into the engine bay. The engine can be mated to either a 6 speed manual or a CVT transmission while fuel consumption figure with the manual tranny is rated at 58.9 miles to the gallon, and 55.4 miles to the gallon with the CVT.

To help improve fuel efficiency, the new engine comes with Toyota’s Optimal Drive technology as well as an engine Stop & Start technology. The Toyota iQ was also recently awarded with a 5-star Euro NCAP rating.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• cute nyerrr

• masami ihara on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:20 am

got eyes got nose got mouth…

• ford ka oso kiut

kia concept 3 oso kiut

how those mat salleh can fit into these kiut car?

they are taller n bigger

• Gajen on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:21 am

my god…i wish they have it here..toyota pls bring the iq here…its awesome

• James on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:36 pm

this is one truly compact car. after watch the fifth gear review of this car, I feel that the innovative SMART is no more.