Fiat Bravo GT Automatic 6-speed Duologic AMT

Fiat Bravo GT

A 2nd variant of the Bravo GT has been unveiled for the Malaysian market. Yes, we’re talking about the Fiat Bravo GT, not the other Bravo GT back from the 1990s.

This version comes with an automated manual version of the 6-speed gearbox called the Duologic gearbox instead of a proper slushbox, which means its a regular manual but with a robotised clutch to do all the shifting for you. For this, the Bravo GT manual’s RM 135,000 OTR without insurance price tag gets bumped up to RM 145,000.

The original Bravo GT manual (with 150 PS at 5,500rpm and 206Nm of torque at 2,250rpm) used to look attractive before the 308 Turbo came about, now it actually feels a little pricey considering another European turbocharged C-segment hatch is only pegged at RM 111,000 (though its CBU versus CKD), though this is expected to increase in price soon slightly, but will come with an upgraded equipment level as well.

Each has its own charms of course, but I say, it would be terrific if that extra equipment that’s coming with the 308 Turbo is the glass roof from the 308 GT as it does wonders to the cabin ambiance. Read our very short first impressions of the Bravo GT 1.4 T-JET manual from 2007 in the related link listed below.

Fiat Bravo GT 1.4 T-JET 150hp Short Test Drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chezer on Mar 20, 2009 at 9:29 am

automated clutchbox?

like those in AMT in savvy?

not a good idea. jerky on slow speed, noisy when gear change.

but fun thou.. not worth it stil

• trustgtr on Mar 20, 2009 at 9:31 am

quite a nice car,too bad after sales is really bad

• dlm drama brsiri TV2 ptg td this car laaa…

keta baru rupenyer..

• nabill on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:29 am

i stil havent seen one on the road !

• Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:31 am

There was a red manual one parked outside the Volkswagen showroom at The Curve today.

• raybrig85 on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:30 pm

[quote comment="222701"]automated clutchbox?

like those in AMT in savvy?

not a good idea. jerky on slow speed, noisy when gear change.

but fun thou.. not worth it stil[/quote]

hv u test drive this version..how come u conclude it already while u jz test the savvy amt??nt all car are the same ..

• zane (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:49 pm

btw paul, ur profile pic inspired by obama’s hope poster ahh? hehehe ;P

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:21 pm

I like Grande Punto Abarth 1.4turbo…more cute.hehe

• shahzane on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:25 pm

paul.is it true that the price of the 308 is going up?what are the extra equipments?anything u can share with us?

• DjVanilLa on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:12 pm

i saw it twice haha..same car..same yellow plate..& it's maroon..

• Chris on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Screw the bravo… Bring in the Abarth 500!

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:22 pm

quite a nice cutecy car …

when they goin to import the fiat 500 or the 500 abarth version ??

• k-rol on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:29 pm

1.4??150hp??RM145k??

emmmm……..

• David on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:30 pm

i wish they sell it in Indonesia.. :D:D:D

i'm kinda had enough with Japanese car… the Korean looks more fresher with their European-approach styling…

• intermilan on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:03 pm

regarding shahzane inquiry about the 308 THP aka 308 Turbo; the strong rumour circulating here is that the price will increase slightly (RM3~5K?) due to addition of new extra equipment. its been said that new batch of THP (the 1st batch already sold out!, only the VTi got ready stock) will add the marvelous panoramic glass roof.

I 've sitted in a 308 GT (that have such glass roof) during a test drive, to sit in a car that have such glass on top of the roof is really a great experience. very very nice, airy, spacious ambience and totally change & enhance the way rear passenger (especially) enjoy the journey.

you now have a reason to sit at the back!

• intermilan on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:09 pm

oh.. bravo is such a nice car to look at.

but european review say either the ride or handling doesn't give the car any justice.

if it true than that a total waste coz this car looks the part, just that 308 Turbo are simply the better buy given the huge saving / price differences of more than RM35,000 (manual OTR) and now more than RM45,000 for the AMT OTR. but compared to a few years ago, what Fiat is asking for the Bravo GT is quite reasonable for a CBU (cheaper?).

• theanswer on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:04 pm

still one of my fav car..for 1.4 with 150bhp..this is a pocket rocket. but too bad, no ckd version for fiat. those who want to buy fiat, is ppl who needs cheaper 'ferrari'..hahaha..or else they'll choose 308T.

• k-rol on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:41 pm

For those out there who havent test drive 308 turbo yet, plz move your ass and test it..you'll love it!

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:21 pm

this car is even better than the 308

• zane (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:53 pm

waaa…intermilan.are you a peugeot salesman?hehe..anyway,i do like the 308 Turbo. i have test drive it too.don't mind the increase in price as long as the additional equipments are worth it. what else will be added besides the panoramic roof?a built in gps unit would be really great ;)

• torque (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 11:04 pm

Agreed with Paul and Intermilan on the 308 Turbo as I went to see the car personally. The cabin ambiance of that car is top notch (must be the glass roof effect)!! I'll prefer to in the 308 Turbo though but sad I couldn't give any comment on it's ride. The salesperson that day said no 308 Turbo test unit available lor. Sigh! :-( Still, Bravo is also a very nice looking car as I saw one beside me stop at the traffic light. 145k…quite a lot but understand as it's a conti car. Tapi…with that money boleh rembat Integra DC5 jugak kan? Or better still…the 308 Turbo if you desire conti cars! Well, it's up to certain individual taste…cheers!

• prefer da manual version

cheers!

• I'll probably wait for 3 years time and get it at 2nd hand,by that time only pay RM40k?? for such a car?

• affanddy (Member) on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:31 pm

Door to door Test drive for Bravo Selespeed available @0132908556 from FIAT Jalan Ampang tq