Production BMW 5-Series GT previewed in video!

BMW 5-Series GT

It started off as what seemed to be a fairly usual video that BMW would make about its concept cars. It revolves around an interview with the 5-Series GT’s project leader, Hans-Jurgen Branz. But there is something exciting about this latest video of the BMW 5-Series GT, previously known as the Progressive Activity Sedan.

Things start getting interesting beyond the 1 minute mark when a grey-coloured 5-Series GT appears. This one is missing some of the concept car’s details such as the chrome bits on the door handles and the funky door mirror mount. I believe this is the actual production version that is going to be released!

Watch the video with some screencaps after the jump. Unfortunately the video is in German only for the moment, so I have no clue what he’s talking!

BMW 5-Series GT

PHOTO GALLERY: BMW Concept 5-Series GT

[zenphotopress number=99 album=109]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ahmad norman on Mar 21, 2009 at 10:15 pm

fugly…..

• gattaca on Mar 21, 2009 at 10:31 pm

FGS, get rid of that big nose!

• philip lim on Mar 21, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Ja Ja! sehr gut! not bad at all, now if only they make an ultimate driving machine that seats more than 5 adults comfortably, now, that would hit it home for me.

• sadin on Mar 21, 2009 at 10:51 pm

looks like an enlarged and enhanced version of gen2…

• kiyuu on Mar 21, 2009 at 11:06 pm

yea yea.. looks like a rebadged gen2 by bmw! :D

• nabill on Mar 21, 2009 at 11:20 pm

gen 3 !

• fugly nose!

cheers~

• yientau on Mar 21, 2009 at 11:38 pm

Yes, Gen 3 ?! duh! mixture of Mitsubitshi and Gen 2…Good luck B Eng'

• the nose, their symbol…….

live with it…….

but i like it though

cheers~

• Wisdom on Mar 22, 2009 at 12:27 am

The nose is too big and too flat. Inspired by that short legged animal maybe?

• wiizau on Mar 22, 2009 at 12:49 am

finally someone copying P1, that a gud news…hahahaha

• Mini_Mack on Mar 22, 2009 at 1:02 am

The first picture ingatkan mcm rear shot proton persona! Good job P1, even ze Germans are copying you! ;p

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 1:16 am

how come all those mercedes and beemer all follow the corssover trend 1 ..

it is ugly ..

• david on Mar 22, 2009 at 2:07 am

You know its hideous if people start comparing proton with bmw.

• BRAZBUZ on Mar 22, 2009 at 2:08 am

is it based on new 5-series?

• The comments you guys give reminds me of the previous 5 series( e60). When the e60 first came out, all of the ppl said it is damn ugly, and what happened now? Everyone is copying the e60 style. I think for another 5 years, you'll see other car company will start copy the new 5 series style. Lets wait and see. Cheers

• guest on Mar 22, 2009 at 4:29 am

this is for those who can't decide whether they want 5 series or X6

i quite like it

• mystvearn on Mar 22, 2009 at 4:31 am

From that 45 degree angle, I can see an ugly nose, which to me looks like it came from a Pig. No offence, but trying to copy Evo X design and BMWing it does not work

• Calwin (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:22 am

danke schoen…. =)

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:38 am

You know, the bulging grill really annoys me a bit :/

• Infinitt on Mar 22, 2009 at 10:32 am

Macam gen 2 je..tapinya gen 2 lagi lawa…proton much better this time

• koozold on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:27 am

haha…funny!!! ppl are comparing bmw with gen2..hahaha…p1 long long way to go..hahaha

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:28 am

I was sleepy and looked at this. First shot looks remarkably like a Gen2!!

• MrAmoi on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:36 pm

Stop talking bull shit. When this car is out, if i park it aside a gen2, people will probably stare at the 5 and dont ever bother to look at the gen2. And please stop comparing these two cars. People who wants to buy the 5 wont change their mind to the gen2. Only people like u guys can said that. Weird and stupid.

• MrAmoi on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Stop talking nonsense. When the 5 is launch, if it is park beside a gen 2, you can tell the BIG differences. People will probably stare at the 5 and wont bother about the gen2. And please stop comparing these 2 cars as the gap between them are that big. Furthermore, people who wants to buy the 5 maybe will change their mind to audi or merc, certainly wont be gen2. The comments you guys give is a soreloser comments.

• DjVanilLa on Mar 24, 2009 at 2:34 am

[quote comment="223538"]Stop talking nonsense. When the 5 is launch, if it is park beside a gen 2, you can tell the BIG differences. People will probably stare at the 5 and wont bother about the gen2. And please stop comparing these 2 cars as the gap between them are that big. Furthermore, people who wants to buy the 5 maybe will change their mind to audi or merc, certainly wont be gen2. The comments you guys give is a soreloser comments.[/quote]

Don't blame them,they just said about the design n style oni..

furthermore they knew the differences…

Cheers;)

• PTAllTheBest on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:35 am

if the price tag is similar with Panamera… i will definitely pick the porsche…

• Mini_Mack on Mar 26, 2009 at 3:08 am

ayooo…let it be laa…this is just a matter of comparing the first image je…which, in this case is totally of bad quality…at first glance..yes it looks like the rear shot of a gen-2, in fact what makes these people say that is it has some similarity to the gen-2 taillights…remember, these "assumptions" are all at first glance…These people definitely knows the differences in P1 and BMW…pphhhttt….so why get aggitated? chill la bro….