RON95 petrol and Euro 2M grade diesel all set for Sept 1st 2009 introduction in Malaysia

Fuel Wallet GaugeIt was previously announced that RON97 petrol would have its price increased (the plan was originally to float) in July 2009 to make way for a cheaper RON95 grade fuel replacing RON92 at the original RON92 prices.

This July deadline could have been pushed back as Datuk Shahrir Samad has now announced that RON95 fuel will be available from September 1st 2009 onwards, so changes to RON97 (if any) would also likely be pushed back to coincide with the date. You can’t have a two month period of having a higher priced RON97 but with no RON95 as an alternative can you? Datuk Shahrir also revealed that the higher grade Euro 2M diesel will be introduced on the same date to replace the current grade of diesel and will be priced the same as the outgoing fuel.

In related news, the RM625 cash rebate exercise that was supposed to end on the 31st this month has been extended to the 14th of April 2009 to give people who qualify but have not claimed their rebate yet time to claim it. Just a refresher – the rebate is for vehicles with engines 2,000cc and below, and for pickups and trucks with engines 2,500cc and below. Motorcycles 250cc and below are eligible to RM150.

There has been alot of news, flip flops and other announced “decisions” made leading up to this latest announcement, so please read the previous related posts linked below:

RON97 will not be floated in July, but will be priced higher to make way for new RON95
What is RON (Research Octane Number)?
Cheaper RON95 fuel to be introduced mid-2009
APM: How fuel prices are calculated in Malaysia
Malaysian diesel to be Euro 2M grade in 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• it is a step towards the right direction. Well done sharir.keep it up.

• come on… dont increase the ron97 price!

even now its higher than the world market price and the rakyat already pay tax for it!

• darkskais on Mar 22, 2009 at 7:01 am

Please dont hike up the RON97, keep its floating if you dare Shahril, even at this RM1.80 price, we have pay a huge tax to the government, not to forget fuel surcharge for express buses that been applied for almost 6month and above. Where is the h***l improvement in public transport.

• kimi_ on Mar 22, 2009 at 7:17 am

[quote comment="223188"]it is a step towards the right direction. Well done sharir.keep it up.[/quote]

WTH, what are u talking about…use ur mind please.

BTW,tired of the idiotic antics of BN G :(

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 22, 2009 at 7:24 am

Hope the "cheaper RON 95" will be cheaper than the current RON 92 as it is going to be a regular fuel for most of us since G gonna tax the RON 97 and place it as premium fuel…sad case.

and it is up to G to promote and educate the people bout the new fuel.

• [quote comment="223188"]it is a step towards the right direction. Well done sharir.keep it up.[/quote]

ron95 and 2m grade diesel is the right move. but hiking up ron97 price is foolish. keep your words to float it shahrir! we already pay the tax for it now!

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 22, 2009 at 7:35 am

[quote comment="223188"]it is a step towards the right direction. Well done sharir.keep it up.[/quote]

New fuel of cuz is good but not taxing us on RON 97! We've been paying so many taxes to G and they still putting tax on fuel…wat the hell they want from us…zz

• aliBaPa on Mar 22, 2009 at 8:36 am

don't float too high

• Littlefire on Mar 22, 2009 at 8:50 am

I think the best way is to have Ron92 replace to Ron95, while Ron97 replace to Ron99 and be price premium! Learn what Singaporean doing…

Euro2 is a good way to go, please fulfill it.. Don't latter say the fuel price went up have to delay again.. (World fuel price is rising now to nearly USD47 per barrel)

• newbie on Mar 22, 2009 at 8:59 am

[quote comment="223214"]I think the best way is to have Ron92 replace to Ron95, while Ron97 replace to Ron99 and be price premium! Learn what Singaporean doing…

Euro2 is a good way to go, please fulfill it.. Don't latter say the fuel price went up have to delay again.. (World fuel price is rising now to nearly USD47 per barrel)[/quote]

I dont care about this ron97 to ron99 thing. As long as my car runs fine with it and it is cheap.

• I think some of you better go read up on what is RON before you comment further. If they can keep prices down on RON95, it will be ok for 99% of the cars in Malaysia. The more pertinent question asked should be if they are going to include an acceptable additive package to the RON95.

EURO2 and RON are 2 different things. One is good for the environment and the other is for the car.

It still baffles me why the G want to even talk about RON97, it is just pure overkill for 99% of the cars. Even the RON95 is also an overkill for some cars. Mine only requires RON92. So, RON95 is more without any additional benefits.

Do you know what is your minimum RON number for your car?

• Hello people, crude oil is more than US$51 per barrel now.And still climbing ..Gone are the days where it was below US$40.

You still think you are subsidising? You might want to rethink about asking him to float it. You might just get what you ask for….

• CocoBear on Mar 22, 2009 at 10:08 am

Most[quote comment="223222"]I think some of you better go read up on what is RON before you comment further. If they can keep prices down on RON95, it will be ok for 99% of the cars in Malaysia. The more pertinent question asked should be if they are going to include an acceptable additive package to the RON95.

EURO2 and RON are 2 different things. One is good for the environment and the other is for the car.

It still baffles me why the G want to even talk about RON97, it is just pure overkill for 99% of the cars. Even the RON95 is also an overkill for some cars. Mine only requires RON92. So, RON95 is more without any additional benefits.

Do you know what is your minimum RON number for your car?[/quote]

My Myvi cannot consume RON92 because the the fuel nozzle for RON92 is slightly bigger to fit. So, RON97 is my only petrol choice.

• where did those stupid ppl got the conclusion that RON97 is less than RM1.80 per gallon?

• CocoBear, we are talking about the new RON95. Can your Myvi use RON95?

• newbie on Mar 22, 2009 at 11:39 am

my car can consume ron95 and up. if ron95 is out, i will surely use it. for now,i didnt bother to read the ron numbering, just green nozzle(most pump), gold(caltech) but a big no for red nozzle at shell. LOL. I am an ignorant user.

• it seem our gov doing non smart decision… so sad… : (

• kimi_ on Mar 22, 2009 at 1:29 pm

[quote comment="223224"]Hello people, crude oil is more than US$51 per barrel now.And still climbing ..Gone are the days where it was below US$40.

You still think you are subsidising? You might want to rethink about asking him to float it. You might just get what you ask for….[/quote]

Hello dude, don't forget that when the oil price below $40,the Bloody G refuse to drop the price coz they think they need to increase back nwhen price up…

ok now,the price up a bit, so the G will need to maintain the price….

If they DARE to increase it ,they will f*** off.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 22, 2009 at 4:51 pm

[quote comment="223193"][quote comment="223188"]it is a step towards the right direction. Well done sharir.keep it up.[/quote]

WTH, what are u talking about…use ur mind please.

BTW,tired of the idiotic antics of BN G :([/quote]

considering the current situation, I also think this is in the right direction.. at least the situation isn't static anymore. besides that, practically every car in malaysia runs fine on ron95. and euro2 diesel is definitely a good thing.

• osh_kosh on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

i had enuff of all these hanky panky flip floping G! just give me PRU13 & i'll show them…

• ameen (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:34 pm

a good move but, increase ron97 price is a bad idea..

• ameen (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:37 pm

i think when they came out with that floating price idea, they may thought that the price will be higher and they didn't want to subsidize us more than they should do..

• osh_kosh on Mar 22, 2009 at 6:11 pm

[quote comment="223272"]i think when they came out with that floating price idea, they may thought that the price will be higher and they didn't want to subsidize us more than they should do..[/quote]

whatever they do please & for GOD sake please take all into consideration before announcing it… stop saying something that u r not too sure! Gosh… it just make G look like being govern by a bunch of punk kids… that will say something without much thought…

• Dothan on Mar 22, 2009 at 6:26 pm

@CocoBear, are you sure the nozzle for RON92 cannot fit into your Myvi? I suspect the petrol kiosk is using old leaded nozzle for RON92 or you have put in the Diesel one!!!

According to Myvi manual, this car fits nicely from RON90 onwards. RTFM already?

• ameen (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 6:43 pm

how about my old satria.. can u ron95?

• ameen (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 6:44 pm

how about my old satria.. can use ron95 or not?

• Kami-sama on Mar 22, 2009 at 6:47 pm

I am ok with raising the price…..

Do away with road tax and income tax then…

I mean most of the citizen who are impacted are the majority middle class working people.

You want the rakyat to sacrifice something…they should sacrifice something back. I don't own an expensive sports car that needs RON 99…maybe the corrupted people inside G does….

• [quote comment="223222"]I think some of you better go read up on what is RON before you comment further. If they can keep prices down on RON95, it will be ok for 99% of the cars in Malaysia. The more pertinent question asked should be if they are going to include an acceptable additive package to the RON95.

do you even know that most proton cars need at least RON95?

• corolla_KE70 on Mar 22, 2009 at 8:30 pm

another crap action from another crap minister towards their crap general election crap…..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 22, 2009 at 9:30 pm

[quote comment="223282"][quote comment="223222"]I think some of you better go read up on what is RON before you comment further. If they can keep prices down on RON95, it will be ok for 99% of the cars in Malaysia. The more pertinent question asked should be if they are going to include an acceptable additive package to the RON95.

do you even know that most proton cars need at least RON95?[/quote]

hey dude.. relax la… he just said its overkill for "some" cars.. didnt say for all cars.. its not like the govt banned ron95 fuel right?

• there are too many stupid malaysian that never realize 40per barrel only last no more than 4 months

• good move, but the pricing and floating thingy is what gets most people irritated.

whatever it is, wait till the policy is out, then we know what their up to.

• [quote comment="223282"][quote comment="223222"]I think some of you better go read up on what is RON before you comment further. If they can keep prices down on RON95, it will be ok for 99% of the cars in Malaysia. The more pertinent question asked should be if they are going to include an acceptable additive package to the RON95.

[quote comment="223282"][quote comment="223222"]I think some of you better go read up on what is RON before you comment further. If they can keep prices down on RON95, it will be ok for 99% of the cars in Malaysia. The more pertinent question asked should be if they are going to include an acceptable additive package to the RON95.

That is why g is changing to ron95.so that existing proton can use it without modification. Minimum ron requirement is tuned by the manufacturer.perhaps newer proton can be tuned lower than ron95 to dispel the ignorant motorist. In indonesia, most cars are tuned to ron88. Again ron requirement has nothing to do with performance but only the minimum before the engine starts to knock.

• Littlefire on Mar 23, 2009 at 12:23 am

This ron thing have been discuss long time already… Those car engine with knock sensor will be less problematic as they can adjust the timing according to the Ron fuel. The more higher the Ron the better the performance as they are not likely to knock during high rev. If your car is older maybe u can use back Ron92/95, but if you are using Ron97 usually you may need to change the timing a bit as it may coz the engine less power n knock. Yes, minimum ron is already enough but still why so many people want to pump Vpower or Ron97? So do some experiment in your car and see what the different, if Ron92/95 give the same result as Ron97, why pay high? I tested my Wira with Ron92, i would like to say the FC even worst and not powerful to move. So when Ron95 come out, test it again and see.

• longjaafar on Mar 23, 2009 at 1:38 am

Why only euro 2 diesel? We are way behind Singapore and Thailand.

The govt should tell us why it is sooooo difficult to have euro4 at least.

• schizomoriya on Mar 23, 2009 at 4:00 am

[quote comment="223226"]Most..

My Myvi cannot consume RON92 because the the fuel nozzle for RON92 is slightly bigger to fit. So, RON97 is my only petrol choice.[/quote]

bro, which petrol station you go to? i can fill my myvi with ron92 fuel from esso, mobil, bhp and caltex stations, no problems.

anyway, most shell and petronas stations i see don't have ron92 fuel, only ron97…and they are the brands with the biggest network of stations in malaysia. could this be the reason why the deadline is extended? so that the stations' kiosks can be adapted/modified to deliver ron95 and ron97 fuel?

• Euro 2 diesel to strat w/ that should be good. then we may hv the Euro 4 soon.

• kruzer (Member) on Mar 23, 2009 at 5:56 am

[quote comment="223356"]Euro 2 diesel to strat w/ that should be good. then we may hv the Euro 4 soon.[/quote]

Yes, but when we reach Euro 4, others could be at Euro 10 already. Now, some countries are already Euro 5. It won't be long before our neighbours north and south go that way. And the G complains that they come here to buy our cheaper diesels, which they can't even use on their cars.

• Radio028 on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:29 am

the higher the RON the knocking tendency will be decrease for higher compresion car, like modern engine. the lower the RON put into the modern engine will get more knocking but it got knock sensor so it will adjust to the rigth air fuel ratio or spark timing to decrease the knocking. this will not let the modern engine perform it's best state(less power)

if higher RON put into old car(older engine), it also perform very bad because it cannot fully combust due to higher temperature input needed for higher RON. so the old engine will create a lot of unburn fuel (HC). or even older engine put higher RON, it think the engine won't even start.

i'm newbie here, first time post it over here…

• Radio028 on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:01 am

yeah one more thing, why Higher RON? because the theory of ICE(internal combustion engine) the output of the engine is very dependent on the initial input. which is mean the higher the compression and higher temperature will give even more more More higher pressure and higher temperature. so u might think why diesel engine is more powerful than petrol engine.

actually all hydrocarbon fuel(petrol or diesel) will also give u ROUGHLY same amount of energy 44~ 47MJ/kg.

so if u turbocharge ur car in ur old engine, u might wanna use higher RON. why?

• catdeco on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:49 am

lucky things my mums giving me the money to fill up the petrol.

if not sure i pokai liao.

• Littlefire on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:00 am

Diesel quality is depend on the refinery and also filtering the sulfur. The lower the sulfur the better the grade and higher the cost. (Sulfur is the main cause of black smoke.) The G complains as their profit will cut down as lower grade diesel are cheaper.

I think is time G need to implement Bio-Diesel or Bio-Petrol, as our country have a lot of Palm oil. If others can do it (Brazil, Germany, U.S..) why not us? Since the G mention that our oil is going to finish, why not invest in something that we have a lot? Bio-Diesel & Petrol have proven to be less pollution and more environment friendly.

• scottloeb on Mar 23, 2009 at 5:39 pm

[quote comment="223382"]Diesel quality is depend on the refinery and also filtering the sulfur. The lower the sulfur the better the grade and higher the cost. (Sulfur is the main cause of black smoke.) The G complains as their profit will cut down as lower grade diesel are cheaper.

I think is time G need to implement Bio-Diesel or Bio-Petrol, as our country have a lot of Palm oil. If others can do it (Brazil, Germany, U.S..) why not us? Since the G mention that our oil is going to finish, why not invest in something that we have a lot? Bio-Diesel & Petrol have proven to be less pollution and more environment friendly.[/quote]

I believe the idea of biofuel did cause problems to food price all over the world (as we see last year). we have limited (fertile) land, and food might becoming scarce. I believe it is best not to depend on fossil fuel and alternative renewable energy such wind and solar will be very much helpful. Lets leave the edible palm oil to the maker of margarine and cooking oil, and focus on methane and others.

• Alifz on Mar 23, 2009 at 5:56 pm

[quote comment="223465"][quote comment="223382"]Diesel quality is depend on the refinery and also filtering the sulfur. The lower the sulfur the better the grade and higher the cost. (Sulfur is the main cause of black smoke.) The G complains as their profit will cut down as lower grade diesel are cheaper.

I think is time G need to implement Bio-Diesel or Bio-Petrol, as our country have a lot of Palm oil. If others can do it (Brazil, Germany, U.S..) why not us? Since the G mention that our oil is going to finish, why not invest in something that we have a lot? Bio-Diesel & Petrol have proven to be less pollution and more environment friendly.[/quote]

I believe the idea of biofuel did cause problems to food price all over the world (as we see last year). we have limited (fertile) land, and food might becoming scarce. I believe it is best not to depend on fossil fuel and alternative renewable energy such wind and solar will be very much helpful. Lets leave the edible palm oil to the maker of margarine and cooking oil, and focus on methane and others.[/quote]

But i think it's better to do it now since the crude palm oil also now low as Rm1k per tonne.

• scottloeb on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:08 pm

[quote comment="223470"][quote comment="223465"][quote comment="223382"]Diesel quality is depend on the refinery and also filtering the sulfur. The lower the sulfur the better the grade and higher the cost. (Sulfur is the main cause of black smoke.) The G complains as their profit will cut down as lower grade diesel are cheaper.

I believe the idea of biofuel did cause problems to food price all over the world (as we see last year). we have limited (fertile) land, and food might becoming scarce. I believe it is best not to depend on fossil fuel and alternative renewable energy such wind and solar will be very much helpful. Lets leave the edible palm oil to the maker of margarine and cooking oil, and focus on methane and others.[/quote]

But i think it's better to do it now since the crude palm oil also now low as Rm1k per tonne.[/quote]

I agree as US/EU starts to boycott the PO and force the usage of soy and sunflower. But we need political will, and most automaker don't really care (Toyota void warranty if you fill with biodiesel). Our lawmaker is weak, throwing toys out of the pram instead of doing real work in the parliament, accusing people and creating unfounded wealth. Only one man have the balls to do so, and he is the one who force us to drive Proton.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Littlefire,

Sulphur is not the cause of black smoke in diesel cars. Black smoke is caused by bad tuning or poor maintenence.

I'm not looking forward to this, I have 2 cars that will do quite poorly running 95octane (both will need a slight timing detune to use 95 – both don't have knock sensors so I will have to do it manually).

If they do RON95 and maybe something higher than RON97, then I wouldn't mind the premium.. 97 is basically the equivalent of PON 92/93, which is just normal premium fuel for cars with higher compression…basically if your car has over 10:1 compression ratio, you will be more than likely using RON97 and up (which basically are almost all new cars nowadays) for full benefit of the engine.

Running RON92 on a high compression engine, while possible, will just not fully utilize the engine at its full potential/efficiency (ie, maximum timing advance). What saving will you end up with doing this? You will have to rev your engine up to reduce load per combustion stroke to get the same power..leading to more fuel use……fuel use calculation just got complicated for the average user.

Sometimes I wonder who advises our Datuk.

• azrai on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:39 pm

For info, most of BHP's has 92 ron petrol + 1 shell at Taman Connaught also got 92 ron, sadly no V-Power at the this shell station. I have to pump extra RM3 petrol into a pet bottle just to buy the Shell Ferrari F2008 cars to get RM40 worth of petrol.

• Paul Tan on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:41 pm

In my experience, all the Shell that used to be Projet usually have RON92, but no V-Power, because Projet used to be that way too – 97 and 92 without a premium 97.

• azrai on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:41 pm

How about emulating Brazil which add sugarcane type of ethanol into their gasoline? We have plenty of palm oil here. More research please.

• intermilan on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:00 pm

i still believe the G should just jump straight to Euro 4 diesel instead of wasting time and effort with all this diesel issue. we need to move together with other countries to allow more fuel-efficient diesel car, which need at least euro 4 diesel now, to be able to be use in M'sia.

ultimately, this cars will help reduce owners' expenditure (hence G fuel subsidy) and help reduce pollutants too.

The readiness and availability of Euro 4 diesel stock in ASEAN is there, as Singapore did refine and have this diesel in their oil market (which is the place to buy all kind of oil for most Far East Asia countries. even Australia buy most of their oil from S'pore).

To say we don't want to buy oil from S'pore is rubbish, because we have being buying from their oil market all this while. Just maybe their refinery capacity to support the sudden jump of demand for Euro 4 diesel from M'sia might not be there (and thus might push the price a bit).

Therefore, why can't Petronas and others transform theirs (albeit small capacity) local refinery in M'sia to support Euro 4 when there is time to do so? Impossible if they say they don't have money!

If the locally-operating oil companies can transform their delivery system & facilities to support euro 2M (due to current G directive and assuming they have to do something about it) why not euro 4 instead? why do double work (assuming we'll go to euro 4 later) when all we know and hear all the time is "Do it right the first time"?

Additionally, I do have a few questions here:

Firstly, what is the different in terms of cost in CAPEX & OPEX for oil companies and the station owners to upgrade their facilities to jump from no Euro to Euro 2M diesel versus from no Euro to Euro 4 diesel?

Secondly, it is possible for the G to use portion of the 2nd stimulus package to finance (soft loan?) the move (to Euro 4) instead of wasting time and effort with euro 2M (which aren't useful in today fuel-efficient and low-polluting diesel cars)?

Thirdly, why upgrade to Euro 2M diesel when there is no significant impact from it? I might be ignorant, but what are the benefits of euro 2M diesel beside slight reduction in exhaust pollutants? Please enlighten me. And while you are at it, what saving we might gained from this upgrade to euro 2M diesel? For the end consumers (vehicle owners) and the explaination must also taken into account the cost involved to upgrade the local facilities here (to accept euro 2M)?

Did what i've asked, doesn't make any sense to you, the G?

• Littlefire on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Diesel in Boleh land destroy diesel engine faster than our neighboring countries, all thanks to high level of sulfur. Sulfur does make the smoke more worst and smell bad. If you study chemical it is very smelly, and the worst thing it will produce acid rain if contacted with H20.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sulfur

Some details about fuel quality:

The focus is now on reducing the concentration of sulfur in diesel. Diesel engines produce smoke and sulfur dioxide, both of which are highly toxic pollutants. Reducing concentrations of sulfur in diesel is central to reducing diesel vehicle emissions, which is critical in the urban context as the population of diesel vehicles is growing faster than that of gasoline vehicles in Asian cities.

Another advantage of better quality diesel (with sulfur levels below 50 ppm) is it enables the use of advanced technology in after-treatment devices to reduce emissions. "You need to first take the smoke out of diesel, that can be done through reducing sulfur levels, and then work on trapping SPM," says Mexico's Director of Trafalgar SA de CV John Rogers.

http://www.adb.org/Media/Articles/2004/6448_regio…

Japanese cities fall in the ultra-low sulfur diesel (ULSD) category, with levels below 100 ppm. The People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; India; Taipei,China; and Thailand fall in the low sulfur diesel group, with levels between 100 and 1,000 ppm!!!

More details about ULSD: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultra-low_sulfur_die…

I fully support diesel technology, as now in Europe have proven it is more fuel efficient and save cost compare to hybrid petrol technology.. Just go and check for Polo diesel blue motion VS Civic hybrid review.

• waja2000 on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:18 pm

i think Ron97 should be replace by Ron98, Ron98 most common use in new generation engine right now. widely use by common asia and europe country.

• Littlefire on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

[quote comment="223479"]Littlefire,

Sulphur is not the cause of black smoke in diesel cars. Black smoke is caused by bad tuning or poor maintenence.

[/quote]

Bad tuning is 1 of the reasons, but if you went to tom yam land or Singapore. Their lorries, bus and pick-up trucks are as much the same as petrol cars. Their engine is almost the same as ours, but due to better quality diesel. Their maintenance cost are less, engine can last longer and cleaner emission due to better grade diesel.

I have met a neighbor son which married with a tom yam land girl and drive a T. Fortuner 3.0 Diesel from there. When he came back during last CNY, he complain a lot about our diesel quality as it emits a lot of smoke during acceleration and not very smooth (not powerful)… He cant complain much as our diesel price is cheaper, that why he said "the more you pay, the better you get." You can ask those people which travel a lot to Thai or Singapore with their 4X4, and i gonna bet they will tell you the diesel standard there is excellent! Is like Vpower diesel for them, and helps clean the carbon out (something like Caltex Techron)! That why i support for better grade of diesel.

Anyway if i not mistaken, Petrol also are categorize. What is our Petrol standard? I heard they also have something like Euro3/4 also..

• intermilan on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Littlefire,

Our petrol also no Euro (not even Euro 1 – if there is a euro 1 standard)!

Our petrol and diesel SHOULD be Euro 2 in Jan 2006 and Euro 4 by 2010+. This is the 'revised' commitment by the G, which was made earlier.

The original commitment?

To introduce (both diesel and petrol) Euro 2 in Jan 2006 and Euro 4 by Jan 2009.

Its March 2009 now and the G only give 'air-liur' commitment for Euro 2 diesel by Sept 2009. Wow.. that's almost 4 years delays. How about petrol Euro specification (beside the RON issue)? Silent saja…

When think about Euro 4… realistically (given G 'proven' track record), 2015 maybe?.. when its already Euro 7 everywhere? What's the point, huh?

• scottloeb on Mar 23, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="223524"]Littlefire,

Our petrol also no Euro (not even Euro 1 – if there is a euro 1 standard)!

Our petrol and diesel SHOULD be Euro 2 in Jan 2006 and Euro 4 by 2010+. This is the 'revised' commitment by the G, which was made earlier.

The original commitment?

To introduce (both diesel and petrol) Euro 2 in Jan 2006 and Euro 4 by Jan 2009.

Its March 2009 now and the G only give 'air-liur' commitment for Euro 2 diesel by Sept 2009. Wow.. that's almost 4 years delays. How about petrol Euro specification (beside the RON issue)? Silent saja…

When think about Euro 4… realistically (given G 'proven' track record), 2015 maybe?.. when its already Euro 7 everywhere? What's the point, huh?[/quote]

I think the main issue is money. Besides old lorry and commercial vehicle, a very small percentage of diesel user requires higher grade fuel and to change might (I'm assuming here) not be priority here besides providing cheaper rates of petrol. In Indonesia, the cheapest fuel is on the lowest rate and RON, keeping its economy competitive. In Thailand, Truck (pickup) and commercial vehicle/diesel user percentage is higher then petrol all across the country (not just in Bangkok) forcing the govt to follow the standard. Furthermore, the supplies is from Singapore, and it makes economic sense compared to us who have the refinery here and would require substantial amount of investment. But I believe the day we have the higher standard of diesel made available here (ULSD), on that moment we can see the Bluemotion Merc, Audi & VW being offered (but being classic Malaysian, diesel is for Taxi and Lorry, taukes & crony will snub it for sure)

• Tommyboy on Mar 24, 2009 at 12:51 am

Whatever it is, F*** the gov. When petrol price came down, petrol cannot be further reduced. When petrol price go up, want to float price!!!!??? This is pirate gov. Robbing and screwing all the POOR RAKYATS.

• we guys like to comment too much! if u guys dont like the G, why not join the party (whoever u think is better) and fight for the people's need? then u guys see the big plan and problems in G's mind.

• Kamal on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:30 am

Hi Yura, you are somewhat of a dying species …. the people who are in blind dumb love with the current G. I am sure you have good reasons to support people who wave keris asking for blood, people who take the people's income tax and spend it on a space tourist, people who comments on the "bocorness" of ladies, and the list goes on. Get ready for a paradigm shift come PRU 13. PS : if you are part of the G, or getting direct "benefits" from them, do take up a new trade, as the End is Nigh.

• i memang not from the G. its only because we just see the exterior, no one wants to see wats going on in interior of these stuff. sometimes i just wonder, ppl loves to complain! any that the G does, they complain:whether is good or bad stuff. like changing maths and science subject into English medium they also wanna protest! free education for primary and secondary school… complain also tat teacher not good. canning student in public.. complain also… wat i tak suka is ppl always dun involve deep into the situation and start blaming. if u want the G perform better, choose the right guy to rule or better work urself up to the post in G and suggest the ideas that benefit to rakyat!

Thats my point of suara"ing" out my view.

• ROADSTER on May 14, 2009 at 1:02 am

Yura, this is not PPSMI or whatever stupid decision that G had done. Now we are really tension about Malaysia Dirty politics and now the G make the fuel price hikes. They actually can maintain the RON97 price only for the RAKYAT. If they take care about us. But? This is about business. Sorry RAKYAT. We want more KOMISYEN la. Crazy G…. Bee End.

• ROADSTER on May 14, 2009 at 1:04 am

[quote comment="223488"]In my experience, all the Shell that used to be Projet usually have RON92, but no V-Power, because Projet used to be that way too – 97 and 92 without a premium 97.[/quote]

Paul,

Can VIVA use RON 95?