W212 E63 AMG set for New York debut

E63 AMG

There’s one very easy way to tell the real stuff from the aesthetic replicas when it comes to AMG and M cars. Just check out those huge brakes in the photo above! The W212’s E63 AMG is expected to have a 6.3 litre normally aspirated V8 under the hood, churning out 525 horsepower and 630Nm of torque. The basis of this “prediction” by many publications out there are because it is similiar figures to the SL 63 AMG. It may also get the AMG Speedshift MCT transmission, a planetary transmission automatic gearbox but with the torque converter replaced with a startup clutch. The latest AMG car from Stuttgart is expected to be unveiled at the 2009 New York International Auto Show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:09 pm

This is what we call Monster……

Err… I'm first????

• the stik on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:18 pm

what monster? tak garang pun hehhehehe

• droll on Mar 23, 2009 at 6:53 pm

delicious!!!!!!

• koozold on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:02 pm

monter???are u blind???this is call alien!!!

• MrAmoi on Mar 23, 2009 at 8:33 pm

6.3 litre engine for 525 horse power?! Thats why merc is said to be pussy cars. Big CC low horse power.

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 23, 2009 at 9:06 pm

Dudes…. When I called it Monster… I meant it POWER…. not the design… :)

Can u Imagine Proton Exora equipe with this so call 525 horsepower & 630 Nm of torque… he he he.. No more "underpower" issue then……

• layman on Mar 23, 2009 at 9:41 pm

When this new model E class will launch in Malaysia?

• almostthere on Mar 23, 2009 at 9:53 pm

[quote comment="223533"]6.3 litre engine for 525 horse power?! Thats why merc is said to be pussy cars. Big CC low horse power.[/quote]

Only hose who don't care about in-gear flexibillity in acceleration that large cube engines can only have would say that

• Thomas on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:45 am

Sweet!

• KS_Phang on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:03 am

wait till it launch only comment on the looks.

Wad ever CC it has. whn ppl starts using alternative fuels, all goes to nothing.

• [quote comment="223565"][quote comment="223533"]6.3 litre engine for 525 horse power?! Thats why merc is said to be pussy cars. Big CC low horse power.[/quote]

Only hose who don't care about in-gear flexibillity in acceleration that large cube engines can only have would say that[/quote]

True, you can get 1000hp from that engine too…

Why don't they do that? Consider about daily usage…

You need a car start outputting its max horsepower from 6000+rpm?

Not logical for our daily life!

• pushtak on Mar 24, 2009 at 7:14 am

i dont know bout others but i really dig the head lamp design on this E63 AMG…probably the second most beautiful merc after the new CL 63

• MrAmoi on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:10 pm

But 6.3 litre man. 6.3 liter is a lot you know. And only produces 525 horses. It is a bit weird. BMW and audi's 5 litre engine can produce 500++ horse power already. I think merc engine are way behind lar=.=. But this car design is way better than the older e class. Thumbs up~

• azrai on Mar 24, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Bicycle rim. Nice thin layer of rubber there.

• maestro on Mar 24, 2009 at 11:57 pm

to compound on the Merc engines is lagging behind in terms of their competitors… look at the torque as well… in gear acceleration depends a lot on the torque, 6.3 litre engine having on 630Nm… nothing great if you ask me… and with a 6.3 litre engine, it also means that they have a heavier engine than their competitors…

• MrAmoi on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:11 pm

-Maestro Finally a person who has a same view as mine^^ Cheers

• mohdjiman on Mar 25, 2009 at 9:54 pm

Roadtax mesti mahal…

• [quote comment="224089"]-Maestro

Finally a person who has a same view as mine^^ Cheers[/quote]

merc is not too bad…its the american muscle cars that are inefficient…8.0 litre engine with output of 400hp and 650 nm and drink petrol like no tomorrow.

but the funny thing is how come MB is switching from supercharged / turbo AMG back to N/A while BMW is going in the opposite direction( switching to turbos) with its upcoming M-cars.