Detroit Electric e63 and e46 Initial Specifications

Detroit Electric Persona
Detroit Electric

What you see above is a gist of what Detroit Electric claims its debut duo based on the Proton GEN2 and Proton Persona will be able to achieve. You will also be able to choose between two battery packs of different capacities, for a total of 4 models.

The batteries use Lithium Polymer, which makes Detroit Electric the 2nd manufacturer to announce the use of the battery technology in a production vehicle. The first was the Hyundai-Kia Group. Two different capacities are given – one with 25kWh and another with 40kWh. The 25kWh is referred to as the city model while the latter is called the long range model. Maximum range per charge was given as 180km and 320km respectively, but of course if you whack the car during a weekend drive to Genting Sempah and back I doubt it’s going to last that long, just like the quoted mileage figures for a petrol car.

Detroit Electric

The battery is not developed in-house but it will be licensed from a major manufacturer, which has yet to be decided although discussions with a few are already in progress. DE intends to be able to source the batteries here if possible.

The electric motor, which is their very own patented design that they call “Axial Magnetic Flux” is said to have a nominal power of 75kW continuous power which is the equivalent to 100 horsepower, and a peak power of 150Kw, or 200 horsepower. Torque figures are very nice – 350Nm to 380Nm.

As for charging, the 40kWh battery is said to take 10 hours to get from a 0% to a 80% charge on a regular 13A 240V household socket.

Detroit Electric says an estimated price tag for the cars in the US market would be US$23,000 for the city model and US$33,000 for the long range model – that’s a whole US$10 grand more for the extended battery capacity, which means the most expensive thing in the car is the battery! Converting these amounts to ringgit would put them out of reach for most people here really. The 40kWh model figures are quite far from the RM80k that Detroit Electric first mentioned during their test drive session last year.

Detroit Electric

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the stik on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:20 pm

errr rear-light gen2 tu je yg menarik perhatian aku hehehe

• fndluvbaby on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:20 pm

holy crap. 350Nm to 380Nm of TORQUE? …in a persona/Gen2 ? *gulp*

• Arise on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:30 pm

I want one. How much ? e63

• amirzaim on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Good rear light persona design. At RM 80K, people can buy malaysian model electric cars rather than highly expensive imported hybrid cars. This car can save the Earth by less amount of carbon dioxide produced. That's why most people want this car.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Of course the price is speculative as no one (including detroit electric) knows the actual price of the batteries yet. Prices WILL go down as more people are jumping in the Li-on battery business.

• hyperX on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:58 pm

But 200bhp is pretty cool. The 40whr will be a better offer but it's too expensive.

• newbie on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:13 am

the detroit electric logo look like a logo team for the major league baseball.

• "Maximum range per charge was given as 180km and 320km respectively, but of course if you whack the car during a weekend drive to Genting Sempah and back I doubt it’s going to last that long, just like the quoted mileage figures for a petrol car."

So does it means if i drive past genting sempah, then i have to wait for about 8 hours for it to recharge to comeback to kl? well it make my journey longer then! still sceptical bout this so-called electric battery car… it should come with energy saver or a brake recharge mechanism or emergency power source to extend its range per charge.

• blink4blog on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:33 am

so long to "fill" in full tank?

• blink4blog on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:34 am

it took too long to "fill" in full tank!

• newbie on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:37 am

Im wondering, say if this car is using manual transmission, therefore this car will never stall in the event of user lift the clutch too fast.. am i right? I have seen a manual transmission DE persona at youtube.

And does this car have regenerative braking? (regenerative braking means the battery will be charged when the brake is applied.)

• aizat on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:39 am

nice…

• slimershine on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:39 am

0-100 8sec! thats impressive!

• This deal is dodgy and fuzzy… just wondering why Detriot Electric is unable to sell their work to GM, Ford, Chrysler or etc? Even hyundai or kia does not mention anything about Detriot Electric on their reports or anything. It looks like a "ponzi" scheme in the automotive world in the making. It just weird that it will achieve sales in US in 2010 when the proton cars does not even meet decent NACCP standards to be sold over there. Even the infrastructure company something called Protis in malaysia or whatever.. where does it come? from and its financials are fuzzy. It is known to be sell computer products such as Lenovo… a computer distributor becoming an electric car fuel supplier…just simply strange? Proton executives have you done your background check properly? This deal is more strange than the selling the european bike maker Cagiva at Euro One.. Something is strange over here, there so many Whys? and not convincing for the investors,Nobody know who is the Albert Yam or Detroit Electric? It is just plain doggy even though he is a former lotus executive…look at their video … it seems to be a third world technology transfer to a decent hard work proton car.. does not make sense at all!!

• ReactiX on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:44 am

thats a lot of offer from Detroit Electric :)

• bmpower on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:53 am

[quote comment="225824"]Something is strange over here, there so many Whys? and not convincing for the investors,Nobody know who is the Albert Yam or Detroit Electric? It is just plain doggy even though he is a former lotus executive…look at their video … it seems to be a third world technology transfer to a decent hard work proton car.. does not make sense at all!![/quote]

it's you who is 'why'…

btw.. i think detroit electric should change their logo for their EV dept.

• [quote comment="225829"][quote comment="225824"]Something is strange over here, there so many Whys? and not convincing for the investors,Nobody know who is the Albert Yam or Detroit Electric? It is just plain doggy even though he is a former lotus executive…look at their video … it seems to be a third world technology transfer to a decent hard work proton car.. does not make sense at all!![/quote]

it's you who is 'why'…

btw.. i think detroit electric should change their logo for their EV dept.[/quote]

it is not about me but you check it out the details of Detroit Electric and Protis. there is no substances can assure that this deals is a real.. there is a lot of questions in the air….

• KS_Phang on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:07 am

the price is in USD, if everything produced in Malaysia should be much cheaper i guess?? Wa.. if 80k can get the 200bhp model. Wuhuu~~ Bye bye Civic type R

• farghmee on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:12 am

after reading that interesting article, it makes me wonder whether DE is really capable of doing so.

hmm…

• henryee on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:12 am

I personally think that it is not feasible at all, coz the battery itself already cost more than an ordinary petrol car (for e.g SAGA or VIVA) isn't it, coz converting 10,000US dollar into RM it's 36,544.92 MYR for the lower battery capacity model, which means that this is the price RM 36,544.92 for changing the battery alone???

That's shxt expensive!!!~~~

and for the RANGE PER CHARGE, it is very shitty & lousy. its too short for a Negeri Sembilan guy to go to Alor Setar in order to fetch his girlfriend(for example only)… I think Myvi and Saga are whole lot better than this kind of car coz my Myvi can go for up to 500km++ in full tank here.

But I think, someone must got to be the precede here first in Malaysia, in order to put more competition in car industry, and this could be the EVOLUTION of CAR INDUSTRY in order to change all the car in Malaysia into an EV (ELECTRIC VEHICLE).

To: Mr. PAULTAN, does it needed to service the engine like our petrol vehicle every 3 month or every 5000km or 10000km?

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:14 am

[quote comment="225796"]Good rear light persona design. At RM 80K, people can buy malaysian model electric cars rather than highly expensive imported hybrid cars. This car can save the Earth by less amount of carbon dioxide produced. That's why most people want this car.[/quote]

If its 80K, everyone will be smiling including me. But sadly its too expensive even the latest Honda Insight costs less than USD 20K.

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:16 am

[quote comment="225835"]the price is in USD, if everything produced in Malaysia should be much cheaper i guess?? Wa.. if 80k can get the 200bhp model. Wuhuu~~ Bye bye Civic type R[/quote]

Assuming the technology is perfect, we still need an extensive charging infrastructure to make it practical. All the best to Proton.

• Doesn'tMakeSens on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:29 am

If this deal goes through, and they manage to sell a number of this electric cars, then its a good time to invest in toll trucks. I bet there will be a lot of these cars running out of batteries in the middle of the road.

Any body has any idea how much these lithium batteries cost and how long they last ?

I heard the civic hybrid one cost about RM 30K…..

• tokmoh on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:40 am

US$23k…… that's about RM83k++, so the figure they quoted isn't that far off.

Well, I hope they can make it work. In a recent Top Gear episode, JC tested d Tesla roadster n it was very problematic, with the range was just a few miles before its battery went out. 8 hours of charging sounds kinda impractical, that's also an area they need to look up to, unless everyone is expected to have a 2nd or even 3rd batteries as spare, by which they need to make it easy enough for normal ppl to change battery on their own.

[quote comment="225829"][quote comment="225824"]Something is strange over here, there so many Whys? and not convincing for the investors,Nobody know who is the Albert Yam or Detroit Electric? It is just plain doggy even though he is a former lotus executive…look at their video … it seems to be a third world technology transfer to a decent hard work proton car.. does not make sense at all!![/quote]

it's you who is 'why'…

btw.. i think detroit electric should change their logo for their EV dept.[/quote]

I think it's fair to question, cuz we dun wanna hear another case of some funny Arabian donating a billion ringgit that turned out to be a fraud. Nor we want another "just pour water" hydroxene or something, which turned out to be…… yeap.

More information need to be disclosed to the public. I hope Paul Tan can dig into these matters n share with us.

Regarding safety, G-wiz is not safe either, bt it sells in the UK quite well. I believe UK too has strict laws on safety, bt I think they exempt g-wiz to encourage ppl to go 'green'. Anyway, I am confident the persona n gen2 are safer than g-wiz anytime, so no worries on that matter IMHO.

• Cooper on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:42 am

electric is saving in a short term, but them the battery life will reduce day by day even can charges more than 2000 times. I think whn nearly battery want kaput not even can travel much

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:55 am

[quote comment="225824"]This deal is dodgy and fuzzy… just wondering why Detriot Electric is unable to sell their work to GM, Ford, Chrysler or etc? Even hyundai or kia does not mention anything about Detriot Electric on their reports or anything. It looks like a "ponzi" scheme in the automotive world in the making. It just weird that it will achieve sales in US in 2010 when the proton cars does not even meet decent NACCP standards to be sold over there. [/quote]

erm.. but DE is not selling anything at all.. in fact, they're not even selling anything to Proton. thats what i understand from the press release anyways.

they take platform from proton, they pay proton.. so whats wrong with that? i dont see any resemblance to the MV thingy at all.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 01, 2009 at 1:59 am

[quote comment="225851"]

Well, I hope they can make it work. In a recent Top Gear episode, JC tested d Tesla roadster n it was very problematic,

Anyway, I am confident the persona n gen2 are safer than g-wiz anytime, so no worries on that matter IMHO.[/quote]

i think the tesla uses a different battery technology from DE.

also, the fact that gen2 and person are already sold in europe.. means they have already met all the safety standards for europe. if they didn't, they cannot sell there.

• dcwhz83 on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:01 am

[quote comment="225852"]electric is saving in a short term, but them the battery life will reduce day by day even can charges more than 2000 times. I think whn nearly battery want kaput not even can travel much[/quote]

ya… so its not really 2000 charge lifecycle… it works same way as our laptop and handphone batteries concept… if u are going out, u need to charge it at home everyday even if there is half energy left in the battery… becoz u know u might not last the whole day outside… even if u charge for 1-2 hrs while having dinner in the parking spot in a shopping complex, that is considered 1 charge lifecycle as well…

with each charge (whether its from zero-100% level or 50% to 100% level), its gonna reduce battery maximum capacity and life over time… so instead of maintaining spare parts, we will have to pay RM5k-RM30k depending on battery price every 5-7 years…

but considering it, maybe its cheaper than a hybrid becoz hybrid's battery have the same problem with the battery and u need to maintain spare part for normal engine as well… but the lower capacity battery in hybrid is cheaper definitely…

• dcwhz83 on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:05 am

but despite all the negative comments, i bet DE is running all the way to the bank every 5 mins when petroleum runs out in this world… (then we probably switch to nuclear energy)

but we had to say bye-bye to BMW's inline-six…bye bye to twin turbos…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:21 am

wow!!!! impressive!!!

so much hp and nm….

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:21 am

[quote comment="225851"]US$23k…… that's about RM83k++, so the figure they quoted isn't that far off.[/quote]

That is the cheapest and its for approximately 180KM. Not many people willing to buy a car that can only travel 180KM with their hard-earned money.

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:24 am

[quote comment="225856"][quote comment="225824"]This deal is dodgy and fuzzy… just wondering why Detriot Electric is unable to sell their work to GM, Ford, Chrysler or etc? Even hyundai or kia does not mention anything about Detriot Electric on their reports or anything. It looks like a "ponzi" scheme in the automotive world in the making. It just weird that it will achieve sales in US in 2010 when the proton cars does not even meet decent NACCP standards to be sold over there. [/quote]

erm.. but DE is not selling anything at all.. in fact, they're not even selling anything to Proton. thats what i understand from the press release anyways.

they take platform from proton, they pay proton.. so whats wrong with that? i dont see any resemblance to the MV thingy at all.[/quote]

If this plan executed successfully, Proton stand a chance to gain more money and get a bigger scale. That is a good news for Malaysia.

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:30 am

[quote comment="225858"][quote comment="225852"]electric is saving in a short term, but them the battery life will reduce day by day even can charges more than 2000 times. I think whn nearly battery want kaput not even can travel much[/quote]

ya… so its not really 2000 charge lifecycle… it works same way as our laptop and handphone batteries concept… if u are going out, u need to charge it at home everyday even if there is half energy left in the battery… becoz u know u might not last the whole day outside… even if u charge for 1-2 hrs while having dinner in the parking spot in a shopping complex, that is considered 1 charge lifecycle as well…

with each charge (whether its from zero-100% level or 50% to 100% level), its gonna reduce battery maximum capacity and life over time… so instead of maintaining spare parts, we will have to pay RM5k-RM30k depending on battery price every 5-7 years…

but considering it, maybe its cheaper than a hybrid becoz hybrid's battery have the same problem with the battery and u need to maintain spare part for normal engine as well… but the lower capacity battery in hybrid is cheaper definitely…[/quote]

The battery is going to die fast before you even know it. Better if we have a small engine (like what GM will do, if I'm not mistaken) just to charge the battery. By having this engine, we can only start charging the battery when its really low (a computer will control the threshold) instead of charging it every time even if its not that low on juice.

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:32 am

[quote comment="225860"]but despite all the negative comments, i bet DE is running all the way to the bank every 5 mins when petroleum runs out in this world… (then we probably switch to nuclear energy)

but we had to say bye-bye to BMW's inline-six…bye bye to twin turbos…[/quote]

Are you sure its DE? Perhaps other company who have better bettery/motor technology and better financial position, so they are not rushing to recoup their investment in 18 months.

• mystvearn on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:33 am

Not worth it la. That price difference, and you can top up normal gen2 and go thousands of KM.

• bmpower on Apr 01, 2009 at 2:50 am

don't worry…

battery technologies will rapid improve after that! and surely getting cheaper and last longer!..

When there's demands, there's supply.. and there's technology evolved.

• [quote comment="225868"][quote comment="225856"][quote comment="225824"]This deal is dodgy and fuzzy… just wondering why Detriot Electric is unable to sell their work to GM, Ford, Chrysler or etc? Even hyundai or kia does not mention anything about Detriot Electric on their reports or anything. It looks like a "ponzi" scheme in the automotive world in the making. It just weird that it will achieve sales in US in 2010 when the proton cars does not even meet decent NACCP standards to be sold over there. [/quote]

they take platform from proton, they pay proton.. so whats wrong with that? i dont see any resemblance to the MV thingy at all.[/quote]

If this plan executed successfully, Proton stand a chance to gain more money and get a bigger scale. That is a good news for Malaysia.[/quote]

I mean why detroit unable to get any platforms from hyundai (their first customer), ford or chrysler for their product? Hyundai just did not give in to Detroits even they have tested the detroit prototype… usually a vehicle platform is your competitive edge and why let other ppl have it? something smells rat here….

• why the batteries are made later? Why other makers reject them? and etc..

look… i admire my national car and do not want them to play out by some ponzi fellas.

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 3:25 am

[quote comment="225878"]don't worry…

battery technologies will rapid improve after that! and surely getting cheaper and last longer!..

When there's demands, there's supply.. and there's technology evolved.[/quote]

I read somewhere that nano tech battery is charging very fast. But well, its still in the lab.

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 3:29 am

[quote comment="225882"]why the batteries are made later? Why other makers reject them? and etc..

look… i admire my national car and do not want them to play out by some ponzi fellas.[/quote]

You got a point there bro.

• nabill on Apr 01, 2009 at 4:03 am

the deal went through bcos it makes financial sence for both parties , there are alot of finncial details that are not enclosed….ie loyalties fees and so on….jus bcos Detroit choose proton and nt someone else doesnt mean anyting fishy , this is a business , and whoever is the most suitable partner and gives u the most for ur buck , thn its a deal…most european counties have incentives for customers who buy hybrids/electric cars.alot less tax.no congestion charges and so on…so thrs wil be some sort of G grants…which inturn wil lower the costs…im still stuned at the 380nm of torque !

• theanswer on Apr 01, 2009 at 4:10 am

[quote comment="225806"]the detroit electric logo look like a logo team for the major league baseball.[/quote]

not MLB..It's NBA! detroit pistons..my fav team..thts why i know.

• bmpower on Apr 01, 2009 at 4:55 am

[quote comment="225889"][quote comment="225882"]why the batteries are made later? Why other makers reject them? and etc..

look… i admire my national car and do not want them to play out by some ponzi fellas.[/quote]

You got a point there bro.[/quote]

I think.. it's not 'being rejected'.

It's about time!.

Might be caused by the cheap gassoline, no one care about EV. but after once gasoline price hike.. then we will think about alternative. It's a common tipical human being those choosing what is easier for them. Even thought.. the most thoughest part are 'do you dare to change?'

Just remember the Ford in earlier age.. someone just saying to him..

'what car?, the horses a better'. Then the day's come later.

Same apply to EV. I think just like you all too… We are living in 'Gassoline combustion engine era'… we will resist an EV with our own reason. some of us maybe skeptical. some of them also sellfish.. just like EV blocked and not supported by many big country such as America before. because US got stock of billions 'tongs' of crude oil. but the way now are different.

Im not talking much about enviroment here. But we're sure WONT GET OUT OF OUR OFFICE EVERYDAY under the HOTTEST SUN . We also know, it getting hotter everyday!. Even worst… maybe just only me realized.. that we were living under Khatulistiwa Zero Degrees? The hottest part on earth perhaps?

D you dare to change? I do.

• normal_user on Apr 01, 2009 at 6:02 am

I thought BMW is the only one which got the code E46. :D

Good Partnership! Just pray that it would not end like the VW breakup.

• Wisdom on Apr 01, 2009 at 6:45 am

Still can see typical looser mindset here..

Looser means followers. Maybe our ancestors were a bunch looser and properly channeled those mindset to our head. And some of us still strictly obey this state of mind and admit that everything must come from US, Europe, or even bloody, knowledge-stingy japanese and korean.

I used to checkup my kid's electric pedal car (rechargeble toy car i suppose). Its consist of a 12w motor, a tiny rechargeable 6V 4.5AH lead acid battery, single wheel drive. Made in China summore (u know the quality right?). Now take this as an example.

Its fully charge in 2 hours. Its good for half an hour play or shorter, depend on how frequent the 'high speed' mode was used. The whole car weigh around 15kg. My son weighing around the 12.5kg. Thats well over 80% of the car weight. The car can run up to 8kmh on high speed mode. Sometimes both my kids ride one single car (well.. kids..) and that already surpass the car weight (almost 25kg) and the car still run on almost the same phase and duration. About half an hour.

How about change those batteries to proper li polymer, use a more efficient motor and include a proper energy controller… computerized or sorts. Its feasible u see.

I believe proton is not that stupid…

About Detroit Electric.. hmm.. well lets wait & see. If this Lam fella is good in politic.. he better run for president in any other country. He can get both, money and power rather than running a scam on a cheap company car.

And its good to have some basic knowledge on electric motors before comment. From what i know, electric motor… besides being high in torque and peak power, it also have a very wide range of usable so-called 'rpm' which makes the conventional gearbox obsolete.

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 01, 2009 at 7:06 am

it still need quite a long time to charge the battery using a 13amp socket ..

• kampung boy on Apr 01, 2009 at 7:46 am

omg! 0-100 below 8 second… that is fast!!

• one9712745 on Apr 01, 2009 at 9:10 am

To Wisdom,

I think many people are still very skeptic because of the severely lack of detail or 'transparency' on the whole process…….. not just the car itself.

Of course many people are not 'techno geek' such as urself (including myself), but eventually whatever success or blunder that will happen, it will again be on us the taxpayers with directly on indirectly (haiyyaaa…..again)

Secondly, whatever the price is, it will be A LOT to our pocket i we were to buy this however good the technology is. I agree that the details are very sketchy….. how about post sales service, maintainence, spare parts etc. Nothing whatsoever. It may save petrol or the environment or whatever but in reality, we must save our pocket first isnt it?

Being it in Malaysia, the buyer (or the future buyer) would also have to pray a lot so that it wont be another "white elephant' or "sekerat jalan"(as what had happened to other projects) after buying the car. (Still waiting for NGV station in my hometown after so long…….)

So, U really should not compare it with that pedal car of yours.

• bobdbilder on Apr 01, 2009 at 9:20 am

No 8 sec is not fast for an EV. That's 2 sec less than a Gen 2 CPS. An Elise does it in 6.1. A Caterham R500 does….you get the point.

Lam was employed by Lotus before he left an bought the name DE. Its not a scam. He knows what he's doing. We just need to get more investors in developing batteries. Plus we need the infrastructure. Either the leasing of batteries or the charging facilities. It needs more than just the car.

Look at it this way, Tesla don't do anything. Its all subcontracted out. Hethel does most of it. Well, they did sort out the DC circuit bits. But that's what most people can do. Having the Tesla by Lotus, and now DE. We just captured the world market for EV. Genius really.

This is what a lot of developed countries are afraid of. The tech for EV is so-open-source with no copyright issues to hold back the developing countries from having a go at it.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 01, 2009 at 4:44 pm

[quote comment="225881"]

I mean why detroit unable to get any platforms from hyundai (their first customer), ford or chrysler for their product? Hyundai just did not give in to Detroits even they have tested the detroit prototype… usually a vehicle platform is your competitive edge and why let other ppl have it? something smells rat here….[/quote]

are you sure detroit is unable to get from hyundai? can you confirm this?

anyways, proton has already done a similar deal with youngman. so they're no stranger to this kind of arrangement.

as for a manufacturers platform, the days are changing.. if a manufacturer can gain more volume from selling it under another badge, i dont see why not. in fact, so many manufacturers today are already sharing platforms.

• nuzzary on Apr 01, 2009 at 5:52 pm

[quote comment="226026"][quote comment="225881"]

I mean why detroit unable to get any platforms from hyundai (their first customer), ford or chrysler for their product? Hyundai just did not give in to Detroits even they have tested the detroit prototype… usually a vehicle platform is your competitive edge and why let other ppl have it? something smells rat here….[/quote]

are you sure detroit is unable to get from hyundai? can you confirm this?

anyways, proton has already done a similar deal with youngman. so they're no stranger to this kind of arrangement.

as for a manufacturers platform, the days are changing.. if a manufacturer can gain more volume from selling it under another badge, i dont see why not. in fact, so many manufacturers today are already sharing platforms.[/quote]

duh.. PASSO / BOON / JUSTY and our beloved "national car" MyVi

• fastcx on Apr 01, 2009 at 7:06 pm

[quote comment="226051"]duh.. PASSO / BOON / JUSTY and our beloved "national car" MyVi[/quote]

er, whats ur point?

• This is not going to work, not yet anyway, and it is not because the car is not good. There is simply no infrastructure to support it. Imagine selling a petrol engined car in a country where there's no petrol stations and car workshops. The early motorcar was seen as a play thing for the riches before it became commodities. The same will be for electric cars, which is why cars like Tesla will be successful in their targeted sector (the rich, early adopters treat it like an exotics ) and DE will fail in theirs ( mass market ). Some initiative must come from government like mandating a charging point standard by defining and publishing the spec for ANYONE who want to build it, and no creation of a monopoly. Give incentive to car park operators or properties developers who incorporate such charging points in their facilities.

• MyBoy on Apr 01, 2009 at 8:51 pm

[quote comment="226065"][quote comment="226051"]duh.. PASSO / BOON / JUSTY and our beloved "national car" MyVi[/quote]

er, whats ur point?[/quote]

Platform sharing.

• 350Nm torque on the tap. That is really one scary car for Malaysia roads. 320km range look like more convenient for malaysian market. Just imagine 500K cars in Asean country a year. If they can get the price right.

Only concern now, one down the other up, for sure the electricity tariff surely shoot up. If this car launch, i will buy TNB share.

• stephen on Apr 01, 2009 at 10:52 pm

as far as I know lithium polymer battery have good capacity performance in -20 to 60deg C…of course Malaysia is impossible to find sub zero temp but with our hot road condition…. it is still some technical challenge

hpoefully it won't be like having the system discharge more than what it claim under hot weather…then it will not be able to hit the travel range claimed..

• hopr DE will also make a deal with petrol station to provide those charging infrustructure

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 02, 2009 at 6:30 am

[quote comment="226078"]This is not going to work, not yet anyway, and it is not because the car is not good. There is simply no infrastructure to support it. Imagine selling a petrol engined car in a country where there's no petrol stations and car workshops. The early motorcar was seen as a play thing for the riches before it became commodities. The same will be for electric cars, which is why cars like Tesla will be successful in their targeted sector (the rich, early adopters treat it like an exotics ) and DE will fail in theirs ( mass market ). Some initiative must come from government like mandating a charging point standard by defining and publishing the spec for ANYONE who want to build it, and no creation of a monopoly. Give incentive to car park operators or properties developers who incorporate such charging points in their facilities.[/quote]

which is why thy're not selling in malaysia first.. they are concentrating on countries that are already giving incentives for zero emission cars, and where the population are more environmentally conscious. also, whoever they are, this prodist company, seems to be working towrds putting infrastructure for e cars in malaysia already.. hopefully, they do a good job of it, and not screw up.

• gen 2 lover on Apr 02, 2009 at 4:33 pm

oh common detroit, u made it but the front end outdated!! wants sharp design!! man common.

• bmpower on Apr 02, 2009 at 5:57 pm

since last few day Earth-hour program…

i do believe, our direction is to go green and no emission wolrd.

let see any different direction next year on our gov enviroment policy.

No tax for electric car perhaps? (not hybrid, hybrid sounds hoax to me -overarated) Go EV!

*btw i dislike najib just like many of us here. hehe!

• aMoei on Apr 02, 2009 at 6:39 pm

to busher..

see the video on www.icars.sg about same topic

u will impressive

• julian-lee on Apr 03, 2009 at 1:06 am

stupid idea. china brand sux

• rexis on Apr 04, 2009 at 7:11 pm

That kind of torque is gonna p'wn Cameron road like flat land.

They made their own electric motor, use chasis from Proton, use battery system from another makers, and sort of put things together and hit the road.

Isnt that simple? Is it that simple?

Truth is, if we never invented oil burners we will be all driving electrical car now, and the technology is gonna be way more refined.

Time to reinvent the wheel.

• BRAZBUZ on Apr 11, 2009 at 5:45 am

hey why don't jus proton also facelift it gen 2 n persona….

• ijammad on Dec 01, 2010 at 1:03 am

electric car. yea, that sounds fun. what can we do to compensate all problems arises from this idea..
    Long charge time- build in a small petrol engine that have the best fuel consumption:power generating ratio generator. kick in when juice is low. yup, still uses petrol, but very far far less. with this, we dont need any charging point/infrastructure + so huge of battery to keep lots of juice. (this has been tapped from one of the comment above). This will be resolved once we have gone deeper into ev revolution. Longer battery life+faster recharge.
    Motor and battery reliability and performance- human, with god consent, can make wonders. with good researches, quality control and resources, this can be easily overcome.
    Cost- once we get more of this thing on the road, that quantity will automatically cut the cost. everybody knows this and i dont need to explain. just imagine, few years back, only f1 car has 7 speed auto g.box, that cost millions. now, even altiz that cost rm130ish k have one.
    Eventhough my ideas seem to be just coming out from my butt, but its there to materialize. with future generation + their wacky ideas, i already can see the future of ev on our malaysian road. for those whiner that only love to give excuses, start giving ideas to solve the problems. Or, just step out of the way. YOU ARE SLOWING US DOWN!!!!

P/s- i’m not an enviromentalist. everybody knows the world gonna end, no matter how you try to preserve it. it is just this idea should not go to waste.