New Kia Sorento to feature mood lighting

Kia Sorento

Above is a set of new photos of the new Kia Sorento posted over at Kia’s official Kia Buzz blog. There have been alot of photos including both the exterior and interior that have been leaked already, but these shots show the entire interior from new angles.

Kia has put some effort into setting a nice ambiance for the interior (I can see some Optima cues there), including mood lighting on the door garnish which shines from below the door handle area onto the armrest where the power window control switches are, quite similiar to the Jaguar XF, except Kia used the colour red. Red is also used on the meter panel together with white.

Look after the jump for the previously posted interior and exterior shots that we’ve been able to find.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=195]

Kia Sorento

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vemal on Apr 03, 2009 at 4:43 am

Wat a Amazing Kia……….

Kia always superb……

:)

• bmpower on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:34 am

fugly red line.

• hazxkh on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:35 am

But resale price also superb low.

• Yazid on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:11 pm

All car model resale value also slow,include japanese car. If u can at a lost than got resale value,if cant no value at all.

• nasrule on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:43 am

will naza rebadge this model?

• mkrafz on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:49 am

wise design…

the front grill kinda new stail

overall good design

performance? its anybody guess..

• selekohboi on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:49 am

agree on the re.sale value. cz u js cant not think bout that, since we like cars, so much, we intend to change it very frequent. though can t deny thats koreans car is cun & edgy, but the re.sale & FC keep me away.

• i like the new design very much. well done kia but again worry about resale value… oooh

• Sharviin on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:28 am

it has a nose fracture o smeting?

the car is pretty cool for Malaysian Road.

• Caddilac Wong on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:48 am

Lot Malaysian love to worry about selling their car before buying them… What a joke… Lol…

• michaelooi on Apr 03, 2009 at 7:22 am

doesn't look very 'upmarket' to me… the interior is fugly

• I would prefer blue one if got la.. Or maybe green… hehe

• good design and technology, proud with kia…

• acerman on Apr 03, 2009 at 7:38 am

When you love your car, you'll never gonna sell it, unless U think that U have lots of money to spend, then U should think of the resale value. For me, better settle the loans first. Then you may add a new car to your garage. I think it's not wise to buy a car and thinking about resale value, the first thing is to think about the realibility of the car. If you think the car is realible for a long period of time than U should buy it, but if not vice versa, don't buy it. U HAVE A CHOICE.

Remember guys, the value decreased and not increased.

p/s actually Kia makes good cars, like most of it designs, very up-to-date,but the spare parts makes the car's resale value low.

• Gajen on Apr 03, 2009 at 7:52 am

red light inside….very weird ler…like sum rave club or sth..lol..anyway i like this new sorento…

• not always amazing but worst…..perhaps just started to amaze, jst wait and see

• tansri on Apr 03, 2009 at 8:51 am

the light just make the driver look chidish..huhu

• blaze on Apr 03, 2009 at 9:05 am

The so-called interior mood lighting or sometimes called as ambient lighting has been around for quite sometime in other cars. If I m not mistaken in the new Mini, you could change the color according to your liking.. BMW's on the other hand has always stick to only one color, the same as the color of its meter cluster, red..

• kimi_ on Apr 03, 2009 at 10:21 am

Hope it will retain as KIA when arrive here…

The NAZA badge sucks like hell and silly !!!

• the engine will sound like a truck

• Aji Bugau on Apr 03, 2009 at 4:33 pm

I will buy one..

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 03, 2009 at 4:35 pm

the plastic looks cheap ..

• stephenstreets on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:06 pm

Shove this in your face proton…

A car that adjust to your mood..

Could have thought of that first but noooooo.. proton wants to shove pricier electric cars to us and then says support our product….Malaysia boleh!!!!

Great car.. KIA sorento

Loved the exterior design .. truly original.

Loved the interior design .. truly somewhere i would want to be.classy and some simplicity.

I hope the engine will have more oomph

p.s (1.6 in a huge exora.. go find an oil field lar to fill it up)

• xenogearz on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:11 pm

[quote comment="226524"]When you love your car, you'll never gonna sell it, unless U think that U have lots of money to spend, then U should think of the resale value. For me, better settle the loans first. Then you may add a new car to your garage. I think it's not wise to buy a car and thinking about resale value, the first thing is to think about the realibility of the car. If you think the car is realible for a long period of time than U should buy it, but if not vice versa, don't buy it. U HAVE A CHOICE.

p/s actually Kia makes good cars, like most of it designs, very up-to-date,but the spare parts makes the car's resale value low.[/quote]

yeah, if Malaysians don't really look at the resale value when buying cars, I'm sure excellent cars like Peugeot 308 and Ford Focus will sell well.

• lowprofile on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:17 pm

c'mon guys, i think you should be more fair to the product. you have not even seen it in the flesh or driven it yet you are already criticising it to bits. and those pictures are rather low-res so, how can you say the plastics are cheap just by looking at low-res pictures?

i'll bet you would say the red interior mood lights are great if you found it in a competitive japanese model right?

• farghmee on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:34 pm

the exterior looks good!

kia should add more color option to mood lighting,

so the driver can choose which color suits him/her best :)

for me,

seeing orange color makes me want to drive faster.

while blue makes my driving style less agressive.

• bmpower on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:49 pm

[quote comment="226583"]c'mon guys, i think you should be more fair to the product. you have not even seen it in the flesh or driven it yet you are already criticising it to bits. and those pictures are rather low-res so, how can you say the plastics are cheap just by looking at low-res pictures?

i'll bet you would say the red interior mood lights are great if you found it in a competitive japanese model right?[/quote]

yeah yeah…

so only proton you can bash even the product still in concept.

silly…

remember the resell value.

it's not worth it!

• Thinking on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:18 pm

[quote comment="226583"]c'mon guys, i think you should be more fair to the product. you have not even seen it in the flesh or driven it yet you are already criticising it to bits. and those pictures are rather low-res so, how can you say the plastics are cheap just by looking at low-res pictures?

i'll bet you would say the red interior mood lights are great if you found it in a competitive japanese model right?[/quote]

Ahhahaha… funny…. if this is proton…. even worst than low res pics also kene bash kaw kaw punye….. hehehe..

I really wish that most ppl will have this kind of thinking. see it in flesh then u can bash or puji….

but well… we know malaysian have special ability… " TO PREDICT THE FUTURE" =p

• rubbish car on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:19 pm

the light so funny (anyway it reminds me of ultramen car)… maybe when see in real it look cool…

• gen2lama on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:29 pm

[quote comment="226524"]When you love your car, you'll never gonna sell it, unless U think that U have lots of money to spend, then U should think of the resale value. For me, better settle the loans first. Then you may add a new car to your garage. I think it's not wise to buy a car and thinking about resale value, the first thing is to think about the realibility of the car. If you think the car is realible for a long period of time than U should buy it, but if not vice versa, don't buy it. U HAVE A CHOICE.

p/s actually Kia makes good cars, like most of it designs, very up-to-

date,but the spare parts makes the car's resale value low.[/quote]

Agreed…and next month i will get new member on my garage…

i'dont care about the resale value….coz for me if you are worried about the resale value, means that the car is not in your budget….

go for cheaper car & get shorter loan peroid…

• gen2lama on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:36 pm

[quote comment="226547"]Hope it will retain as KIA when arrive here…

The NAZA badge sucks like hell and silly !!![/quote]

same fate as RONDO….heard that naza spec has less faeatures than the first CBU batch

• [quote comment="226602"][quote comment="226547"]Hope it will retain as KIA when arrive here…

The NAZA badge sucks like hell and silly !!![/quote]

same fate as RONDO….heard that naza spec has less faeatures than the first CBU batch[/quote]

There is no CBU batch for Rondo. 1st batch is also CKD from Gurun. But you are right, 2nd batch is lower-spec but with the same price. The alternative would be to have same specs with higher price.

Shall we just say that the Exora had a part in this?

• painsama on Apr 03, 2009 at 8:34 pm

[quote comment="226488"]But resale price also superb low.[/quote]

Just buy it and use it until it fell apart.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 03, 2009 at 10:44 pm

As long as it's being assembled in M'sia, it will surely cope well with the market.

• it sure will sound like a truck.. and the fuel consumption will gau gau ur money..

• lowprofile on Apr 03, 2009 at 11:40 pm

i don't remember bashing any protons lately. others may have done it but i have not said anything about proton's recent models.

• gattaca on Apr 04, 2009 at 2:07 am

any brand in PT thread will eventually lead to proton… aku betul2 x paham..

• mystvearn on Apr 04, 2009 at 3:32 am

Mood lights…Its annoying and dangerous. I can see all the ahbeng's buying into this car

• Farhat Haniff on Apr 04, 2009 at 8:43 am

I prefer the Santa Fe curvature design from Hyundai. Sorento is known like the Ssangyong Rexton, quite luxurious yet practical SUV from KIA. But Sorento before felt large and luxurious in the inside, even the looks of it, but this one seems to plastiky..

• kopee on Apr 05, 2009 at 7:14 am

hey lambov12 if you are sure u dont like kia just keep off,meen!!ur comments r silly.Great car sorento kip it up kia!!!

• fujixerox on Apr 05, 2009 at 9:59 am

you forgot european models too.

why any PT thread will lead to p1 eventualy?? lantak laa if any 1 wanna relate to p1 biar la,who is any1 to be concerned??

• selekohboi said,

April 2, 2009 @ 9:49 pm · Reply with quote

agree on the re.sale value. cz u js cant not think bout that, since we like cars, so much, we intend to change it very frequent. though can t deny thats koreans car is cun & edgy, but the re.sale & FC keep me away.

—————————————————————-

What FC???….the current sorento FC is excellent!!…btw, its a CRDi@ diesel..lots of torque & very low FC!