Proton hires BMW man as Director of Quality

Wolfgang Karl EppelProton has appointed a new Director of Quality, 56 year old Dr Wolfgang Karl Eppel. Dr. Epple was previously serving in BMW AG as Vice President of Quality Management R&D. He was also previously in charge of Hybrid technologies, and was also the project leader for the E90 3-Series.

“We believe that with his strong technical and managerial expertise and leadership, Dr Epple would be able to drive the Quality transformation process for the PROTON Group,” said Proton MD Datuk Hj Syed Zainal.

Dr Epple has a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Karlsruhe in Germany. But I wonder how much Dr Epple really can do in Proton. Yes, he can improve the assembly lines. But quality is more than how the car is put together. Proton being Proton, there is always the case of the untouchables… no 23 years of experience in BMW will help with that.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Six Sigma apply on proton will work? i dont think so

• kevin62 on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Hope that he really can improve PROTON.

• leonardo on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Paul i think you are being a bit pessimistic here! However there is some truth in the 'untouchable vendors'.

• tansri on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:32 pm

this is atleast a clever strategy to gain the trust of potential buyers..

congrats!

Hopefully the Proton QC improve..

• telstar on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:32 pm

nice.that what we need.now let make bmw quality and keep the good price.

• osh_kosh on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:35 pm

'THE UNTOUCHABLES'.. auch… :)

• not_ah_beng on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:38 pm

This move has little use unless this guy has the authority and desire to make heads roll. Otherwise, this mat salleh is only here for fun in the sun few years before he retires with a large severance.

Best way for Proton to improve? Sell it to VW.

• ong chin aun on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:41 pm

yes, a very positive abd intelectual step taken by Proton. However, he can't work alone . All the work force must cooperate and all work in a team guide and gear under his leadership. Attitude must change if wanted to achieve the goal Hope Malaysia can produce future cars of great quality and reliablility, and the choice of malaysian own car as priority. GOOD LUCK

• mohdjiman on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Now proton have BMW man in their office…Dr Epple as a Quality Director. Look how Dr Epple handle this 'untauchables' issues (as according to Paul) in Proton. By the way, I like his name… DR. EPPLE…

• mohdjiman on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:45 pm

Opps!wrong speeling… DR EPPEL…haha. Sorry Dr!!!

• nabill on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:46 pm

no point when suppliers themselves dont give a damn abt the quality themselves ….. and thy know proton dont have other options when it comes to suppliers….appointing this guy probably makes a good publicity but realistically dont expect p1 to be on par with bmw quality anytime soon !

• Mohd Yusuf on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:49 pm

"untouchables… no 23 years of experience in BMW will help with that"

Hmm.. somehow that statement sounds relevant. Let's give him all the support he needs to transform Proton. If Proton is serious about making a car (not just making movable metal blocks), they HAVE to change.

• Mohd Irwan Ibrahim on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:51 pm

A little bit pessimistic, but if it is to provoke Proton, I don't mind.

• Vbkcheng on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Ha, whatever Quality people you hire, if you are not serious about those poor quality vendor…you can continue talk until cow come home…no result…

Do Proton think their potential buyer will be more confident about their product if they take maksaler as Quality Man?

Make it right and right at the 1st parts…..

• Thinking on Apr 08, 2009 at 9:56 pm

[quote comment="227873"]Best way for Proton to improve? Sell it to VW.[/quote]

LOL… still talking about VW?

• ambipur on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:04 pm

i just wonder, with any amount that proton is going to provide this guy with, not that its a not good move for quality products,but why not injecting it into better quality plastics and mechanical items, R&D for the cars they produce. im not bashing proton nor looking down on them here, just a point to ponder.

• zarreta on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:14 pm

a good move from proton

keep bashing..so proton would improve itself..hehe..

• leonardo on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:18 pm

[quote comment="227887"]i just wonder, with any amount that proton is going to provide this guy with, not that its a not good move for quality products,but why not injecting it into better quality plastics and mechanical items, R&D for the cars they produce. im not bashing proton nor looking down on them here, just a point to ponder.[/quote]

You got a point. Usually it's the top management who asks for better quality, but it is not supported in terms of budgets. BOM costs have taken priority over the finished product. Maybe it's time to re-prioritize the development budgets to achieve better quality.

Another thing – Malaysian vendors are sadly lacking in R&D and are not able to keep up with the pace of innovations in the global automotive industy.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Well..

Lets see how he does things there. :)

• akupunya on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:21 pm

proton is proton…

kalau proton cars kualiti macam BMW…tadak 'cap ayam' or untouchables..gerenti proton laku macam pisang panas…

boleh berangan je la..

• initial R on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:21 pm

[quote comment="227886"][quote comment="227873"]Best way for Proton to improve? Sell it to VW.[/quote]

LOL… still talking about VW?[/quote]

Aiyah…. this not_ah_beng guy still living in stoneage. However, all the best Proton. So after this, Quality problem will be looking by this BMW guy. Then the untauchables issue will be sack from proton. Proton have to follow they own motto "Dare to change", if not "Dare to chain". So many year Proton suffer with vendor Low Quality Control. This is the right time to change. What i know, new vendor are AMP that make all high quality plastic panel for all car manufacturing. Small step lead to the big change. Netx proton target, 0% QC defect so all proton car can competed with all european car. (Since most proton car been produce base on conti car).

• Srotong on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:27 pm

No amount of expertise and professionlism at the top, is able to wipe out the purchasing-vendor cabal corruption. Since there are vested interest throughout, the best thing is to dismantle that whole department and rebuild from scratch. Meanwhile, Dr. Eppel will lose more hair and be bald by end of the year.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:30 pm

This hiring will not make P1 improve on quality. Proton need to be realistic on hiring since P1 cars are categorized as mass market cars. This man is from BMW which is renowned to be luxury cars. BMW doesn't have cost limitation in their manufacturing process since it can be absorbed to their car price. Every time BMW come out with new model with highher price tag than it's predesscor but still people no complain because people know it's luxury.

But for P1, cost does matter since it's target market require car to be produce in low cost. Furthermore, P1 doesn't have economies of scale. This man will tender his resignation sooner as his 'costly improvement' may not be fulfilled. Then quality will keep no improve and pressure will mount to him. The solution? better he resign within his probation.

Quality doesn't mean high cost. It just how you can guarantee in process while you manufaturing cars or fabricating parts. Just require the vendor to have process guarantee tools and quality issue shall improve.

For design and dynamic, still many to learn and for this area, high cost hiring can make it. (Chris Bangle for design and Antonov engineer for engine).

• Paultan the II on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:31 pm

i wonder how much is proton paying him, he is either crazy to come work for proton or proton is paying crazy money

• pizi82 on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:41 pm

i wonder what car he will get from Proton maybe the Chancellor? eheh

• gattaca on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:44 pm

[quote comment="227903"]i wonder how much is proton paying him, he is either crazy to come work for proton or proton is paying crazy money[/quote]

ini plagiat nama PT tak kena royalti kaa? haha LOL

Anyway, if politics in Proton can be wiped out, (although impossible i suppose)i bet anyone that have same capabilities and experiences can change proton…quality wise i mean..

• slum in bolehland on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:45 pm

[quote comment="227873"]

Best way for Proton to improve? Sell it to VW.[/quote]

haiz VW also makan by porshe how can we say…

Proton just need some real gud ppl to guide

• It will be touch task for him, long way for him to achive the "quality"…

I mean THE "quality" not like "quality" we called "it is like that lah"…

• kipas on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Once "TUV" certified the quality of the proton and what happen after that. Kaput, so they get another mat salleh again. well proton cannot change to improve the productions line reasons is the upper boss want cheap product, end of the day back to square one like "TUV" not SIRIM

If SIRIM everything ok reasons they r like kindergarden……………..tak boleh also boleh…………..That why TUV didnt want to spoil they reputations Why not proton get SIRIM to fix it

TUV is like SIRIM in malaysia

but sirim is like kindergarden

• Amiran on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Paul…

Yes it is… Car quality is about how components are put together, which being planned starting from begining of the car design, then making of tools, then in-process inspection until final outgoing inspection. IT IS PLANNED! An then continuously monitored and improved…

• Paul Tan on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:51 pm

When I say put together, I mean assembly, not design and manufacturing of components.

• Clayton Narcis on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Damn, i hoped he has to drive a Proton every single day when he goes to work and not some posh car.

All the best to Dr. Eppel. he's gonna need a lot of luck on his side

• xoomie on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:59 pm

where is his office? TG Malim or COE ?

• zarreta on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:08 pm

[quote comment="227903"]i wonder how much is proton paying him, he is either crazy to come work for proton or proton is paying crazy money[/quote]

for sure proton is paying him a 'crazy money'

that 'mat saleh' would never be here for other reason..

why he won't stay with bmw? then..decide to work with proton?

do you get my point?

anyway..proton should keep the eye on him..

so he won't 'membazir duit rakyat'

• Goniothalamus on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:11 pm

At least Proton did something positive toward quality.

Don't be negative.

• Amiran on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:15 pm

Some more…

For those who think sophistication of assy line is the one of the main determining point of QC, you should peek thru P2 assy line and compare to Proton TM line….

TM line far better!

But whose quality is better?

Again… If the whole country's treasure is being used to improve quality just bluntly, most probably it will still fail.

Yes wise people say, quality is cost…thats generally.

The real is that how the quality is PLAN… there come the cost. The higher the standard of quality being PLAN (or targeted), the higher the cost will be.

Noe we are looking at the same generally acceptable quality std that average good car companies achieved. We can say that its Toyota that achieves it at the lowest cost. Problem is those who, after spending lots of money, but still fail!

But

• 0204 (Member) on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:22 pm

Dr Wolfgang Karl Eppel

WOLFGANG??? Is he from FALLOUT??

Anyway what proton did here is more of marketing than quality improve.. shouting i would say.. they could hire any professional that well know about quality.. but they choose this guy and shouting about it.. a convincing statement to ensure the PROTON EXORA match the PERODUA MPV.. since they gonna price around the same. or even more expensive..

• tansri on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:38 pm

[quote comment="227886"][quote comment="227873"]Best way for Proton to improve? Sell it to VW.[/quote]

LOL… still talking about VW?[/quote]

why not?

It is still possible and still make sense..at anytime..

Proton need to be operated in economic scale faster..

• What?? Why do we need a Mat Salleh to tell us or teach us about quality especially the quality of our Proton cars?? Where is the Malaysia Boleh spirit? Our cars are already substantial in terms of quality. Waste of money paying this guys crazy money!!

Note: I was being sacarstic! :)

• White Jack on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:43 pm

I think hire Toyota man is more practical and make more sense for Proton.

• bmpower on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:49 pm

Proton = to improve everything2 after bashed.

Perodua = Start slash out many things now. ie , thinner plastic, smaller piece of metal, lower the strenght of metal, reducing many thing. You don't believe it? Just stripe down Viva front bumper.. then you know what I mean.

• muryadi on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:55 pm

Baguslah employ big gun macam Dr Eppel ni. Tak lama lagi P1 juga akan keluarkan Perdana replacement (semi luxury car).

Bolehlah P1 pastikan model2 yg ada sekarang ni dan model2 akan datang betul2 berkualiti.

Hapuskan dalam mind-set rakyat malaysia yg product P1 ini takda kualiti.

• zarreta on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:55 pm

[quote comment="227940"]I think hire Toyota man is more practical and make more sense for Proton.[/quote]

toyota is the 'arch-enemy' of proton ma! (particularly in malaysia)..hehe..

don't think they'ld allow their man work for proton

anyone knows whether the bmw man is permenantly with proton?

or he just a 'part timer'?

• Depends of how much authority he is given. I have always been skeptical of proton's quality control due to all the "untouchables" vendors. If this mat salleh do his job properly, he should step on a lot of toes and upset a lot of people and generally will not be well liked in the inner circle of procurement dept and vendors. I remember when VW negotiator demanded that VW have a say in vendor management, they were promptly told that the vendors are of "national interest", so VW said bye bye lah.

• biggie on Apr 08, 2009 at 11:59 pm

i think its a good move by Proton as previous effort using SIRIM/TUV only do periodical/sampling of product (so can cheat). Where as director of quality will be there forever to look into the process. And he can hire/fire staff that do not perform.

Can you name the untouchables vendor please?

• Thinking on Apr 09, 2009 at 12:21 am

[quote comment="227898"]proton is proton…

kalau proton cars kualiti macam BMW…tadak 'cap ayam' or untouchables..gerenti proton laku macam pisang panas…

boleh berangan je la..[/quote]

Can lor…. PROTON can have quality as good as BMW… but must also priced like BMW…. can u accept that?

But it's a hard task to satisfy Malaysian tastes or wish… High quality with lowest price…. Proton is trying hard to balance that…

• Ling Sung Ting on Apr 09, 2009 at 12:31 am

As long as proton still alive, we are unable to drive good cars(other brand) in a cheaper price. Working in Brunei here teached me a lesson of how much our money gone to the government as tax. Here in Brunei u can afford a 350z easily if u can affor a myvi. u can have a BMW 5 series if u can afor a perdana. it is the same price only different currency. sry proton.. no matter how good u can be.. i will not support. i don't find a reason for u to exist but i have a million of reason for u not to.

• how sad , rubbish people is surfacing again

welcome a**hole !!!

don't want proton , then don't buy

keep your mouth shut will be better…

you should support your stupid perodua and be killed earlier

• Thinking on Apr 09, 2009 at 12:54 am

TBH i dun think if proton does not exist, import car will be cheaper… those taxes are income for govt. Abolishing the taxes means reducing the incomes…

• muryadi on Apr 09, 2009 at 1:03 am

[quote comment="227965"]As long as proton still alive, we are unable to drive good cars(other brand) in a cheaper price. Working in Brunei here teached me a lesson of how much our money gone to the government as tax. Here in Brunei u can afford a 350z easily if u can affor a myvi. u can have a BMW 5 series if u can afor a perdana. it is the same price only different currency. sry proton.. no matter how good u can be.. i will not support. i don't find a reason for u to exist but i have a million of reason for u not to.[/quote]

I'm not sure how young u are but your statement are very childish. Tax for cars in Malaysia was imposed way before P1 exist, actual fact is the import-tax are much lesser now days.

• Well, good luck.

• Proton do not have to hire mat saleh to figure out where to improve in the quality of their cars. Just go down to the service centres and listen to the customers, see the attitude of the mechanics and see how they handle customer's complaints. Even my retired uncle can tell what improvement can be done to his proton car. Hire my uncle much cheaper than the mat saleh.

• zarreta on Apr 09, 2009 at 1:30 am

[quote comment="227965"]As long as proton still alive, we are unable to drive good cars(other brand) in a cheaper price. Working in Brunei here teached me a lesson of how much our money gone to the government as tax. Here in Brunei u can afford a 350z easily if u can affor a myvi. u can have a BMW 5 series if u can afor a perdana. it is the same price only different currency. sry proton.. no matter how good u can be.. i will not support. i don't find a reason for u to exist but i have a million of reason for u not to.[/quote]

proton does has good quality cars

persona won car of the year 2008 & auto-borch fuel efficiency award 2009

but yet…there're still much things to be improved

for me the tax is not a big issue..

government puts high tax for outside brands..low for locals

but if we're looking in other aspect..loan interest for locals are higher than the outsiders

• Luqman on Apr 09, 2009 at 1:37 am

Quote Paul: "But I wonder how much Dr Epple really can do in Proton. Yes, he can improve the assembly lines. But quality is more than how the car is put together. Proton being Proton, there is always the case of the untouchables…"

Hm, the know-how for quality management exists in Malaysia for a long time already. Several universities here are teaching this matter. Dr. Epple surely won't improve the assembly lines, that's not his job.

Maybe he was hired just because of the "untouchables", as he's a foreigner. He don't have to take care of old structures…

• superookie on Apr 09, 2009 at 1:37 am

if the man is a strict superior.. those proton workers better prepare to get some lubricant oil..

• [quote comment="227965"]As long as proton still alive, we are unable to drive good cars(other brand) in a cheaper price. Working in Brunei here teached me a lesson of how much our money gone to the government as tax. Here in Brunei u can afford a 350z easily if u can affor a myvi. u can have a BMW 5 series if u can afor a perdana. it is the same price only different currency. sry proton.. no matter how good u can be.. i will not support. i don't find a reason for u to exist but i have a million of reason for u not to.[/quote]

ofcoz laa bro.. thats brunei. the sultan have more than enough money to support everybody there, so no tax or less tax. so good choice bro, stay there, dont come back coz here we have scary car name proton..huuarrrgghhh..

• sadin on Apr 09, 2009 at 1:59 am

[quote comment="227950"]i think its a good move by Proton as previous effort using SIRIM/TUV only do periodical/sampling of product (so can cheat). Where as director of quality will be there forever to look into the process. And he can hire/fire staff that do not perform.

Can you name the untouchables vendor please?[/quote]

Yala, can we at least list down some of the untoucable vendor company.

• Prismo on Apr 09, 2009 at 2:15 am

U should try to live in SG perhaps…

• brutal_driverz on Apr 09, 2009 at 2:23 am

Hayya,why now Proton?

Why not 25 years ago?

At least,the effort is taken;although it is quite late la.

Let wait and see :?

• farghmee on Apr 09, 2009 at 2:23 am

aiyya..let's see how he works 1st la.

kalu proton punye berita, ade je yg xbetul.

buat salah, xbuat salah.

pelik pelik…

aku nk proton maju, tp aku xnk perodua lingkup.

yg dengki2 sgt ni nape?

• Hi All

I know this guy well…he is a precision quality man..even the Japanese want him..kudos for proton… but need to get rid this crappy Albert Lam of Detriot.. full unworkable idea crap!! for the sake of investors!! Proton maybe have a BMW quality soon but… need to get rid Detroit and put in dustbins…to save costs….

• why prejudices against other stocks? r u think you are always smart..??? times has changed!!

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 09, 2009 at 2:34 am

perhaps we will get the performance and the quality of a 3 series in a proton later ..

cheers !

• mystvearn on Apr 09, 2009 at 3:21 am

Hopefully he is worth the money, BTW, BMW seems to be loosing lots of people lately, proton can hire them :P

• tHe^CuLpRit on Apr 09, 2009 at 3:24 am

Can't expect immediate results i presume. Lets see how things are 3-4 years down the line.

• Gajen on Apr 09, 2009 at 4:11 am

bringing one guy in isnt going to entirely change the standard of proton..he might improve a bit here and there but seriously he can't do much…it's like football, if lampard were to play for malaysia i doubt we can be in the fifa top100 ranking..

likewise here…its about the whole company which includes everyone..teamwork..everyone's mindset..communication..etc etc

hopefully dr epple can make a difference esp in our flagship car..proton needs to come up with a new perdana.

• willpower on Apr 09, 2009 at 5:50 am

Dear every automotive industry lovers,

Now the scenario is like you are employing Sir Alex Ferguson, or Jose Mourinho or Arsene Wenger or Rafa Benitez to lead & teach & manage Malaysia national football team.

If a team can lost to Myanmar 5-1, think what will happen to Proton???

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 09, 2009 at 6:09 am

i find your comment intriguing.. if i was you, honestly, i wouldnt really care about proton, coz im in brunei, and would be driving a 5 series, and have my 350z at home for the weekend. does that mean everyone drives a 350z in brunei since its the same as buying a myvi.. after all, almost everyone in malaysia drives a myvi.

• armandd on Apr 09, 2009 at 6:27 am

i think this Dr. got VSS from BMW laa… nowadays the economy no good, especially in the developed countries. even BMW is not spared from the 'plague'.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Apr 09, 2009 at 6:32 am

hmm,proton nak hire mat saleh yg

berpengalaman,why not?

ini tak kena,tak boleh membazir

be realistic.itu tandanya proton dgr

cakap customer

they want improve their quality

sekurang2nya satu 2 level dari yg skrg

yg dapat benefit,customer juga….

dan i setuju dgn pandangan forumers lain

benda ni makan masa nak buat

apa jadi klu proton hire chris bangle,kawan2?

bangle butt syndrom in proton cars,perhaps

hehe,sorry just tease je maa~

hai.lama x nmpak sifu,460 dan sewaktu dgnnya….

sibuk kut nak sambut 'baby' baru katakan….

• albagmane on Apr 09, 2009 at 6:45 am

guess proton pays a very high price to hire this dude… indirectly suck our taxpayer's money by hiring him…

• This poor Mat Salleh will not last in Proton…. I will give him less than 2 years!! Then he will realise that Proton management and their employees cannot be taught anything. They are too incompetent too learn anything and their critical success factors are so dependent on cronies, untouchable vendors and Government support.

A similar example I can dare relate is Tony Cottee. Remember him? Selangor FC bought him from Leicester City with so much promise. He played for Selangor for a short stint. He couldn't tahan and cabut back to the UK. All he did after that was to bad mouth Malaysian football. I was in the UK at that time and mind you, he was actually factful and was speaking the truth. BUT his main focus was on the Malaysian way of life and their laid back and lazy attitude.

I know many here will say… how can you compare this Mat Salleh with Tony Cottee? But I promise you, both these scenario will have the exact same ending.

• Littlefire on Apr 09, 2009 at 8:01 am

I tot last time they hire a mat saleh for international sales & marketing?!? Where is he now and what he done to Proton?!?

Another white elephat project by hiring mat saleh ppl just to let ppl think they can do well?1?

Well for so many years, i can make 1 conclution…

Proton = BN, Seen the similarity? So now who is better? People are now smarter and know who to support and buy. :P

• oldwira on Apr 09, 2009 at 8:19 am

The best thing to say is just wait and see the outcome of this step taken by Proton. We cannot aspect immediate results from the appointment. Just give him couple of months to settle down in Proton and wait for his first contribution for the company. As far as quality is concerned, i think proton is not so far behind from the so called T and H badges. I mean, you cannot compare Persona with Camry or Accord, right? Maybe the current Persona is more comparable to Vios and City. And who knows, maybe by his experiences and perhaps inspiration, new BMW-look alike Persona shall be a reality. All the best Proton!

• BodowBodow on Apr 09, 2009 at 9:43 am

Aiyo Paul , wgy being so pessimistic ehhh … anyway it's a good step in a right direction . we long for good quality cars for average Joes . Always look the glass as half full

• yippi33 on Apr 09, 2009 at 2:14 pm

gajen..building a car is not like playing football..its all about setting the right policies and everything..no one expected SZA can make a turn around for proton and look what he did..its the experience and strtegies that matter..and dr epal here has it..i doubt that any of our uncle has it..any improvement is welcomed no matter how small it is..gud luck appleman..

• Thinking on Apr 09, 2009 at 3:55 pm

[quote comment="227985"]Proton do not have to hire mat saleh to figure out where to improve in the quality of their cars. Just go down to the service centres and listen to the customers, see the attitude of the mechanics and see how they handle customer's complaints. Even my retired uncle can tell what improvement can be done to his proton car. Hire my uncle much cheaper than the mat saleh.[/quote]

I believe ur uncle can tell what improvement can be done (based on his experience). But this guy's job is not just to tell what improvement can be done but also how to do it and doing it in reality… the last 2 is the real hard part that i bet uncle can't even do…

[quote comment="228025"]Hi All

I know this guy well…he is a precision quality man..even the Japanese want him..kudos for proton… but need to get rid this crappy Albert Lam of Detriot.. full unworkable idea crap!! for the sake of investors!! Proton maybe have a BMW quality soon but… need to get rid Detroit and put in dustbins…to save costs….[/quote]

what does DE have to do with this? btw proton is just supplying body to DE… DE is paying them… i don't see how it's gonna suck proton's money..

• aenz81 on Apr 09, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Remember when a couple years back, Proton only bringing in 1 man for replacing their current CEO and that man quite success right now.. who is that guy? and when that guy feel that his management team is lack of experiences manpower in international sales and marketing, he's bringing in the Audi man.. and now, he's hires BMW man for Quality department R&D.. if this BMW man felt that his department need more experiences players, he can hires 1 or 2 players.. just give em a time for trying.. no ending if there no starting..

[quote comment="228072"]If a team can lost to Myanmar 5-1, think what will happen to Proton???[/quote]

eh? since when Malaysia lost 5-1 to Myanmar?

[quote comment="228052"]bringing one guy in isnt going to entirely change the standard of proton..he might improve a bit here and there but seriously he can't do much…it's like football, if lampard were to play for malaysia i doubt we can be in the fifa top100 ranking..[/quote]

U know what "cuba keluar di takuk lama" mean? if bringing lampard in malaysia football team, it's will never guarantee malaysia can be in the fifa top 100 ranking, but atleast it's can improve the ranking from 167 spot to a better place.. this case is the same, it's will never be a BMW quality but atleast Proton's cars can improve a step ahead than before.. that mean, "cuba keluar di takuk yg lama"…

• aenz81 on Apr 09, 2009 at 5:01 pm

cuma seorang tak semestinya tak berguna.. ingat pepatah tak? "Disebabkan Nila setitik, rosak susu sebelanga"… cuba pikir kalau "seorang" ni betul-betul dpt membawa perubahan kalau kena pada tempatnya…

• bmpower on Apr 09, 2009 at 5:04 pm

[quote comment="228093"]

A similar example I can dare relate is Tony Cottee. Remember him? Selangor FC bought him from Leicester City with so much promise. [/quote]

The Malaysian football is suckest thing here.. you dont have to compare that. Even you bring here C.Ronaldo to play for Malaysia or other state team.. I do believe he will commit suicide because frusted and asking 'what the hell are they playing soccer? they just playing their 'ball!'' :D

Paul.

I think.. most of them.. especially the 'untouchable' are now decrease so much. After SZ, and after changed of this 2 PM. They will kicked out those not a chroni. And at the same time. SZ was choice the best vendor candidate one.

From what I know, a couple of my friends those in this field (moulding, make parts etc).. many of them got new Vendor-Man. the old one and rubbish just kicked out. And now, the quality level what proton need now some is just too high for some of them. Most of them always facing rejected by proton rather than p2!. (They make parts for both company)

Try asking any of your friend those make parts for proton. I do believe they will story you the same.

• BlackJKX on Apr 09, 2009 at 5:19 pm

This guy and other QC team in proton need to genchi genbutsu

• sodifhas on Apr 09, 2009 at 5:28 pm

"Proton being Proton, there is always the case of the untouchables…"

thinking the same thing,

and not hoping for anything,

cos wont go proton to buy anything…

• Thinking on Apr 09, 2009 at 6:08 pm

[quote comment="228145"][quote comment="228052"]bringing one guy in isnt going to entirely change the standard of proton..he might improve a bit here and there but seriously he can't do much…it's like football, if lampard were to play for malaysia i doubt we can be in the fifa top100 ranking..[/quote]

U know what "cuba keluar di takuk lama" mean? if bringing lampard in malaysia football team, it's will never guarantee malaysia can be in the fifa top 100 ranking, but atleast it's can improve the ranking from 167 spot to a better place.. this case is the same, it's will never be a BMW quality but atleast Proton's cars can improve a step ahead than before.. that mean, "cuba keluar di takuk yg lama"…[/quote]

BTW bringing this guy into proton is not same as bringing lampard or ronaldo into malaysia's team. It is more similar to bringing arsene wenger or alex ferguson into malaysia's team to replace the manager…

• jazzer on Apr 09, 2009 at 6:29 pm

rilex r….bg r peluang dulu die bt keje…kite kalo nk berjaya,jgn malu nk blajo dgn org yg dh berjaye…tgk cmne west civilization in the past, they learned a lot from muslim's scholar,and then they did some odification, and now look where are they now..same thing goes to proton…dsz for sure has own reason on this hiring….jgn r korg riso…

• legacy88 on Apr 09, 2009 at 8:41 pm

First, TUV = German, still no quality

2nd, Wolfgang = German, pay gajilion to him, still no quality, and then he cabut lari after that.

Simple as that, no matter what, Porong will be Potong forevah… :)

Ha ha!!!!!

• Arise on Apr 09, 2009 at 9:57 pm

you tau, i tau.

• Hmmm… wasted a talent. Let see how this German can convince the untoucable to back off… guess unlikely to happen. Wish I am wrong.

• [quote comment="228104"]I tot last time they hire a mat saleh for international sales & marketing?!? Where is he now and what he done to Proton?!?

Another white elephat project by hiring mat saleh ppl just to let ppl think they can do well?1?

Well for so many years, i can make 1 conclution…

Proton = BN, Seen the similarity? So now who is better? People are now smarter and know who to support and buy. :P[/quote]

My friend, what so big about the Pakatan? they also practised worst cronyism and nepotism and corruption ever seen. We have a one party who claims implementing CAT but u can see he can appoint his father as secretary general, his cousin in the exco members, his best friends in the vice chairman posts, and other relatives in high ranking positions and driving himself with a Merc to and fro..is that nepotism or cronyism or just plain greed???. But never mind, we got one party who claim to be islamist and want to implement hudud law, best joke most of his members cannot speak the language of the quran and its opposition ruled raykat , has to seek jobs elsewhere, it is pretty sad to see that high no of Kelantanese woman had to work as prostitutions (the oldest professions) across the causeway, it seems everybody turns a blind eye on it, in addition to the wound, you can see the Mentri Besar's wife and his exco members likes to shop extravagantly across the causeway with its black mercedes.entourage every friday without fail… it is not a lie and you have to exprience it on Arab Street to feel the anguish…and where is the money they coup from?? We got another party who claims to be presenting Justice for all… but it seems that justice and fair dealings does not apply to him. He apoints his wife, daughter, cousins and his good friends to key important posts and does not bother about someone's merits to run on a post, is that the dirty word "nepotism or cronyisms" being applied here..without fail ?… a favourite bank branch across the causeway is always visited by her wife (of course… to deposit) once a week without fail plus got a luxury mansion near the city which is beyond the reach of the locals across the causeway…where and how he gets a lot of money? from where? is that corruption or lack of transparency, justice and equitable for all or ulitiranisms not being applied here? By the way, like to cruise around in black mercedes again or silver lexus…it seems black mercs to be a favourite icons here.. the problem here… we do not have any honest and truthful politicians over here…we do not have any politicians who will stand alone…and will not involve any of their family members in the running the show…it seems the culture family first and rakyat second is more prevalent…you have to remember, politicians are to serve the people and not people serve the politicians to be rich and his family members… this is the principle of all democracy…

• It doesn't have to be 6 sigma from the beginning.

Some DMAIC and DFSS to be implemented will be a good start.

Other than process quality, design quality is also a crucial factor in developing a good product. Hopefully with DFSS implemented, reliability will be improved.

• aenz81 on Apr 09, 2009 at 10:23 pm

[quote comment="228171"]

It is more similar to bringing arsene wenger or alex ferguson into malaysia's team to replace the manager…[/quote]

No la.. if Dr, Epple replacing Proton's current ceo… maybe it's similar with ur statement.. this BMW man is a new player… not a new manager :)

[quote comment="228222"]

2nd, Wolfgang = German, pay gajilion to him, still no quality, and then he cabut lari after that.[/quote]

Typical 3rd world malaysian's mentality.. already giving up before trying.. how did u know there is still no quality under this BMW man? u came from the future? :)

• Thinking on Apr 09, 2009 at 10:48 pm

and malaysian will always be malaysian… =p

but…. try and fail is millions times better then fail to try or not even dare to try..

• not_ah_beng on Apr 09, 2009 at 11:28 pm

[quote comment="228171"][quote comment="228145"]

U know what "cuba keluar di takuk lama" mean? if bringing lampard in malaysia football team, it's will never guarantee malaysia can be in the fifa top 100 ranking, but atleast it's can improve the ranking from 167 spot to a better place.. this case is the same, it's will never be a BMW quality but atleast Proton's cars can improve a step ahead than before.. that mean, "cuba keluar di takuk yg lama"…[/quote]

BTW bringing this guy into proton is not same as bringing lampard or ronaldo into malaysia's team. It is more similar to bringing arsene wenger or alex ferguson into malaysia's team to replace the manager…[/quote]

You can even bring in combination of Ferguson, Bob Paisley, Mourinho and Capello, its no use if the Chairman of the club sucks.

It won't change to become AC Milan, Liverpool or Manchester United, but become another Leeds United.

Did you know how many GLC in Malaysia has gweilo "Consultant" being paid hundreds of thousand of RM (their salary in USD!) to do nothing? What a waste.

• Archer on Apr 10, 2009 at 12:01 am

Maybe Dr.Eppel will finally convince Proton, that they could also make a car with 100km to the liter consumption? Yeah right only when you driving down hill, on newly paved road, wind behind your back using racing slicks with the Engine Off !! Good for you Proton you really need all the help you can get.

The real reason is probably because of the Detroit Electric deal, Proton probably realised that they needed someone with Hybrid knowledge in the team, maybe Proton is going to make that 100km/liter car for real??

• Proton don't need an expensive QA expert from outside to improve quality. Just let Proton's owners and service center's people (not managers, but guys with grease on their hands), assembly line workers provide feedback to their manufacturing process planners. Take every complain from customer seriously and listen to their own service technician's opinions AND TAKE RUTHLESS ACTION. Give them official recognition when their feedback produce positive results. I can guarantee Proton will the be the Toyota of Malaysia. It is a no brainer, but can Proton bite the bullet?

• he got a funny moustache!!!

• Encik2 dan rakan2,

X sangka bumi ni yg da berkali2 berpusing dan segala isi dalamnya sudah berubah, tp apa yg ada dalam kepala otak kebanyakan rakyat Malaysia ni xberubah2 walaupun da bertahun2 merdeka. Proton ni la yg menolong negara dari RM kita disedut keluar dari Msia ni. Tbalik dgn Petronas yg tolong tambah RM utk negara ni. Kalo nak compare tax yg kita bayar dgn peranan 2 GLC ni utk negara setakat bau kentut je duit kita tu. Kalo kerajaan xde duit da lama da negara ni lingkup, tersungkur sebab penangan ekonomi nih. Xde nye pakej2 rangsangan ekonomi utk wujudkan cairan wang dlm negara sbb rakyatnya yg takut nak berbelanja beli barangan buatan Msia sbb difikirkan ekonomi gawat. Pcayala dgn modal2 cerita kedai kopi dan cerita2 utk memburukkan tindakan kerajaan dsb.

Back to the topic,

Quality cars for all Malaysian.. so u guys want it or not? Proton hired this guy from their own profit from recent models, SAGA, persona, etc. Didnt ask for any of ur cent. Just let them manage their own money to give u best quality car they can produce. If the quality satisfy u, then u can consider to support national car. Dont make proton as a victim just because u hate BN, hate current govt. Dont reject a car just because the logo is a tiger. Proton didnt double standard anymore (just add few additional parts to pass crash test n other requirement for that country), so why do u double standard. Look at urself b4 u look at others. The worse thing Daihatsu done when using Perodua to enter Malaysia market with cut down cost models which also sacrified quality and safety features. Daihatsu ppl are so expert to create mirage (wayang) for u guys to believes that Perodua is built with international standard. Look east and look Japan as a god, look west and see US as a god, then look at urself, who are u? They are not god, u can be like them or even better than them.

• [quote comment="228319"]he got a funny moustache!!![/quote]

Ya lah! His moustache also got no quality. How to manage Proton?? LOL!!

• tango on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:39 am

[quote comment="228309"]Proton don't need an expensive QA expert from outside to improve quality. Just let Proton's owners and service center's people (not managers, but guys with grease on their hands), assembly line workers provide feedback to their manufacturing process planners. Take every complain from customer seriously and listen to their own service technician's opinions AND TAKE RUTHLESS ACTION. Give them official recognition when their feedback produce positive results. I can guarantee Proton will the be the Toyota of Malaysia. It is a no brainer, but can Proton bite the bullet?[/quote]

what crap!! our drivers are also sucks! even u give them a good car, they will destroy it because lack of understandings of basic functions of motorcar and traffic rules…u can see how many riders and drivers beat the red lights everyday?

• aenz81 on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:51 am

Some peoples are statisfied with Persona's quality and some maybe not… Let's thinks wise… what if, when Dr. Epple really can improve the quality a step ahead? So, how the Persona's enhancement quality will look like? Maybe it's really can meet the consumers expectations right? We really hope so… :)

• legacy88 on Apr 10, 2009 at 8:23 am

[quote comment="228260"][quote comment="228171"]

It is more similar to bringing arsene wenger or alex ferguson into malaysia's team to replace the manager…[/quote]

No la.. if Dr, Epple replacing Proton's current ceo… maybe it's similar with ur statement.. this BMW man is a new player… not a new manager :)

[quote comment="228222"]

2nd, Wolfgang = German, pay gajilion to him, still no quality, and then he cabut lari after that.[/quote]

Typical 3rd world malaysian's mentality.. already giving up before trying.. how did u know there is still no quality under this BMW man? u came from the future? :)[/quote]

FYI, Malaysia is a 3rd world country lah wei! Look how's our drivers showing skills at highways and cities and also kampungs. Ha ha…

If Technischer Uberwachungs Verein pun macam tu jugak quality, inikan pulak gang serigala or wolfgang nak ubah da croni in Potong. Cis!!!

Yes! I'm from the future. :) (Back to the future fan)

• alahai korang ni..tunggu la dia buat kerja dulu. If still d same or worse, baru la bash kaw2. rasanye takde sape kat sini yg betul2 kenal Dr. tu.

• Archer on Apr 10, 2009 at 8:57 am

Most of the comments here are poking fun at what amount of money Proton is paying that Dr. Eppel? I say, why not, Proton never ask for billions of dollars from government to bail them out like the big 3 in the US.

Aiyo come on Malaysians please stop this kind of mentality. Look at ourselves and our country first before claiming others are overpaid. It is not that "they" are overpaid it "us" who are underpaid actually.

What if our Ringgit was on par to Euro or US Dollars, will you still say these things? Look at it from a global perspective.

• Am I? on Apr 10, 2009 at 9:11 am

[quote comment="228393"][quote comment="228260"][quote comment="228171"]

[quote comment="228222"]

Typical 3rd world malaysian's mentality.. already giving up before trying.. how did u know there is still no quality under this BMW man? u came from the future? :)[/quote]

FYI, Malaysia is a 3rd world country lah wei! Look how's our drivers showing skills at highways and cities and also kampungs. Ha ha…

If Technischer Uberwachungs Verein pun macam tu jugak quality, inikan pulak gang serigala or wolfgang nak ubah da croni in Potong. Cis!!!

Yes! I'm from the future. :) (Back to the future fan)[/quote]

pelik..pelik..org lain nk jadi makin maju..but some malaysian still nk duk takat tu jer..some ppl nak terus duk jd pak turut…tima jer…if ur mind asyik duk pk negara lain god…diorg mmg pandai…duk kutuk rakyat negara sendiri..sampai bila…?kiter ni mmg sentiasa bodoh ker?

yg susah if malaysian sendiri taknk berubah…knp?

tak nak telan ludah sendiri?

tak leh tima all the bad words yg some ppl bg pada p1 b4 has proven that p1 tak duk duk diam ja?p1 showed thier quality is improving..everything need sacrifice…bkn mudah..yg penting tgk diri sendiri dulu….kiter diri sendiri dah berubah ke belum? or still duk pk org lain lg bagus n kiter still bodoh n mmg takkn dpt ubah?

p1 dh prove they do improve their quality..so let see how this guy can change the untouchable vendors in p1…if he cabut lari lepas sebulan dua..then baru bash la…pls dont be so reluctant utk ubah your mindset..malaysia today is not the same as malaysia 50 years ago..

• azrai on Apr 10, 2009 at 4:16 pm

Just hoping the price will not be the BMW type after this.

• Paul, i am a fan of your blog but i kinda disgust on how you wrap up your post this time. Proton, the very least, heading towards the right direction though the outcome remains to be seen. The untouchables ? probably an open secret. yet you in your capacity as a auto blogger showing your lack of enthusiasm for this effort, is just appalling.

• mohammadsuhaimi on Apr 10, 2009 at 10:29 pm

kipidap proton

• nadzri m yusof on Apr 10, 2009 at 11:15 pm

Now you see doctor also scared to AFTA, i am sure all this doctor drove toyota and honda always complaint why tax so high for non national car but end up there them self also seek protection from govt. Not profesional enough shame on you doc!!!!

FPMPAM: Malaysia Not Ready For AFTA Healthcare Liberalization

posted in – Nation, – Palmdoc |

Liberalization of Healthcare is probably inevitable. But instead of rushing in headfirst, FPMPAM recommends that proper safeguards be put in place to protect Malaysians and the overall healthcare system

http://medicine.com.my/wp/?p=6572

• legacy88 on Apr 11, 2009 at 12:28 am

[quote comment="228459"]Paul, i am a fan of your blog but i kinda disgust on how you wrap up your post this time. Proton, the very least, heading towards the right direction though the outcome remains to be seen. The untouchables ? probably an open secret. yet you in your capacity as a auto blogger showing your lack of enthusiasm for this effort, is just appalling.[/quote]

Baru je Paul kata mcm tu berapa banyak daa cybertrooper Tanjung Malim mai mengamuk kat sini. Isk isk isk.

Oklah, Potong is the best car in this world, but after Hindustan Ambassador, kes kes kes… :)

• Thinking on Apr 11, 2009 at 2:22 am

[quote comment="228604"][quote comment="228459"]Paul, i am a fan of your blog but i kinda disgust on how you wrap up your post this time. Proton, the very least, heading towards the right direction though the outcome remains to be seen. The untouchables ? probably an open secret. yet you in your capacity as a auto blogger showing your lack of enthusiasm for this effort, is just appalling.[/quote]

Baru je Paul kata mcm tu berapa banyak daa cybertrooper Tanjung Malim mai mengamuk kat sini. Isk isk isk.

Oklah, Potong is the best car in this world, but after Hindustan Ambassador, kes kes kes… :)[/quote]

i don't see how Z comment show him mengamuk?? Weird la u legacy88 (what kind of legacy i wonder.. in misunderstanding ppl probably). He just said that PT kind of unfair to say that this guy can't change the untouchables when he's not even started doing anything yet… When PT voiced that… most ppl will believe it too.. (eg. the ISOFIX issue).

probably he should have some confidence in this guy proven ability (BMW) instead of doubting him without knowing how this guy gonna improve proton's quality…

• i just want proton to put vvt at its intake cam pulley.

regardless weather its without CPS or with cps.

thank you very much.

• Norman on Apr 12, 2009 at 12:25 am

We will see same cases like KIA where they appointed Peter Schreyer(Ex-AUDI designer) to design something masterpiece like the new Cerato Forte where its on par with even Jap makes.SG selling the Forte like hot cakes!

• Norman on Apr 12, 2009 at 12:28 am

That's the weakness of Asians,Stereotype thinking never cease from their mind!

• kemosabe on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:50 pm

I think its good Proton is out to improve the quality of their products, but they just do not have the volume sales to translate the improved quality into lower selling prices.

So its either more expensive Protons with better quality, or just live with the same quality.

What the government need to do is to allow some competition to come in to give Proton a wake up call. It may sound like shooting your own foot, painful, but its for the better.

Protectionism would lead to complacency which leads to nothingness.

• Rulered on Apr 14, 2009 at 5:03 am

I think this is where the term 'modal insan' that our politicians have been talking about (all the time) for the past few days comes into play. It means the company needs to train, retrain, brain wash, discipline, mould, hypnotize or whatever it takes to change the mindset and attitude of it's workers from the highest position to service centres right down to the last person who inserts the last screw in the car. P1 needs to make their workers as their main capital and of course needs to invest a bit in them because in the end they are the ones who gives proton good or bad name no matter how good or bad the quality of the cars they produce. It all boils down to pride and attitude towards the 'product' that they are assemblying day after day. Whether one very important person like Dr. Epple who has vast experience and technical know how might make a difference remains to be seen.

Do you guys think bringing in Gus Hiddink as our national coach going to change our footballer's attitude and style of play or FAM? Remember it all goes down to attitude.

• Protonfanatics on Jun 14, 2009 at 8:02 am

[quote comment="228393"][quote comment="228260"][quote comment="228171"]

[quote comment="228222"]

Yes! I'm from the future. :) (Back to the future fan)[/quote]

—————————————————————–

To all Proton bashers,

It’s funny that as Malaysians, we always look at ourselves with that feeling of inferior complex & always like to criticizing & bashing our own car manufacturing company and car, however good they are. I believe Malaysians should be given an award for the most people in the whole wide world who have the most negative thinking about themselves & the ability of their own kind to produce a good car. Criticize, criticize, criticize & bashing, bashing, bashing our Proton company & car. I guess it’s the colonial mentality that we still inherited from the British, where the British are always the superior race, while we Malaysians are always the inferior ones.

The British and Americans never never criticize their own kind. Even when their national football team sucks & didn’t manage to enter the last European Cup in 2008 or the World Cup. And when foreigners, either Italian, French or Spanish people criticizing the British or American national football team, they will defend their reputation like hell! Even in reality their national football sucks! They will always defend their reputation, even though the reality is like that. They are even willing to fight & go war just to defend their reputation! Remember the England hooligans? The England hooligans always ran amok everytime their national football team or club football loses to a foreign national team or club football. The reason, maybe after the game, when an opposing team won the game, their supporters start to insult the England supporters. What happen next? Mayhem! Nobody mess with them! That’s why they advance further & become world class & 1st class people.

Whereas some Malaysians here have a 3rd world mentality, giving the harshest critic & bashing to their own fellow citizens working in Proton. Luckily, these few Malaysian citizens who receive the harshest critic & bashing from 3rd class mentality Malaysians; remain patience, preserve, work harder & someday would like to prove these 3rd Class mentality Malaysian fools that they are wrong.

A good example is when the British Topgear, hosted by Jeremy Clarkson was making fun of the Perodua Kelisa. Instead of Malaysians defending our pride & joy, most of us join him in cruising & bashing the Perodua Kelisa. That’s what I call a colonial mentality!

The British people are like that! They like to make fun of other people cause they think they are the superior race. With the price so cheap, Perodua Kelisa is design for a specific purpose. It is designed for people looking for cheap, low maintenance, convenience, easy parking, petrol saving & city driving environment. This car is not make for performance, speeding or racing! What do u expect? Buying one of the cheapest car & expect it to run like a Ferrari, handle like a Lotus & safety like a Volvo? WTF! DON’T compare Kelisa to a Ferrari or a Mitsubishi Evo stupid!

If you want to compare a car, compare it apple to apple. Compare it within the same car class or similar price. Don’t compare an apple with a durian!

In addition, in Topgear, the British always bragging about themselves & make fun of the Malaysian & Korean car manufacturers saying these cheap car are lousy & low quality.

Guess what? Below are the list of defunct or bankrupted British car manufacturers:-

Austin, Autovia, BMC, BLMC, British Leyland, Dawson, De Lorean Motor Company, Hillman, Humber, Jensen, Lea-Francis, MG Rover, Morris Motor Company, Nuffield, Riley, Rootes, Singer, Standard, Sterling, Sunbeam, Sunbeam-Talbot, Sunbeam-Talbot-Darracq, Talbot, Triumph Motor Company, Vanden Plas, Wolseley.

In addition, what happen to British car manufacturers like Lotus, Jaguar, MINI, Land Rover & Aston Martin? All are sold & owned by foreign car manufacturer, or else these brands will go bankrupted like the ones above. Lotus sold to Proton Malaysia, Jaguar & Land Rover sold to Tata India, Mini to BMW Germany & Aston Martin sold to Middle East investors.

Even GM & Chrysler went bankrupted & had to be bailed out by the American government. In times like these, where most car manufacturers either went bankrupted or scaled down their operation, Proton & Perodua are spending more money into research & marketing and entering into more new markets. Remember, Proton bought over Lotus, increasing our market share in Britain & other parts of the world each year, entering the IRC & WRC rally this year while other car manufacturers withdraw from it and Proton is entering new markets like India & mainland Europe this year.

I am wondering, why Proton & Perodua are still selling their cars in Britain & still didn’t go bankrupted or sold to other foreign owned companies like the others? Proton & Perodua should stop selling their cars in Britain by now. Hell, Proton should close shop now instead of entering new market in India & mainland Europe this year and entering the IRC rally this year. Proton might also enter the WRC rally next year while some manufacturer like Subaru is quitting it. And Proton can afford to hire Petter Solberg, the former WRC champion in 2003 as their driver.

In addition, in its first rally debut in Europe, our “crappy” Proton Satria Neo S2000 managed a podium position on its first ever World Rally Championship outing, temporarily beating the current WRC Champion Sebastien Loeb in a full spec WRC Citroen C4, as well as other more experience and well known cars such as Peugeot, VW and Fiat. For your information, Sebastien Loeb is a five time WRC champion while the Proton Satria Neo S2000 driver, Niall McShea was only a former Production Car World Rally champion. And how on earth, our “unreliable” Proton Wira, driven by our own Karamjit Singh can won the FIA Production World Championship in 2002 and FIA Asia-Pacific Championship in 2004? Can some 3rd class mentality Malaysians please answer these questions?

Remember, these Proton & Perodua cars might look ugly, lousy & unreliable, but the Brits are still buying it!!! And the numbers keep increasing every year! Especially times like these where the world is in recession. But you guys forget, these type of cars that Proton and Perodua are selling that are responsible for KILLING the British car manufacturers, until forcing the British car manufacturer either to go bankrupt or to be sold off to foreign owned company like Proton where the Brits like to poke fun at in Topgear and in their car magazine. Remember, without Proton, Lotus might go bankrupt. MG Rover went bankrupted when Proton decided not to purchase it years ago. Hello, who is having the last laugh now?

Automotive industry in the United Kingdom
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_motor_indust…

So all Malaysians, please WAKE UP!! Don’t be 3rd class mentality Malaysian fools, but become World Class & 1st class mentality Malaysian geniuses. DEFEND Proton & Perodua cars like hell if any idiots want to criticize or bash them. All nationalistic, patriotic & 1st class mentality Malaysians should bash these 3rd class mentality Malaysian morons like hell!

If you just purchase a Proton or Perodua and facing some problems with the car, such as window stuck or air-con not working, just don’t come to the forum and complain about the car. You have the damn warranty right? Make use of the warranty & problem will be settle for free. Make use of your head, just don’t be a moron and and complain it over the internet. It just show your stupidity to the world that you don’t know about the damn warranty.

If you are a Malaysian, and not proud of what Proton has achieve, like to give stupid comment about Proton for no obvious reasons & still think Proton car sucks, find yourself another country such as Bangladesh or some African countries like in Somalia. I believe you better belong in those countries…

P/S: 3rd class mentality Malaysians, you are welcome to pack your bag & leave this country for good. We don’t need idiots like you in here!

By Protonfanatic