Land Rover LR4: the facelifted Discovery 3

Land Rover LR4

The Discovery was called the LR3 in the US for some marketing reason or another, but isn’t it stretching it too far to call the facelift a LR4? Land Rover doesn’t seem to think so, so here’s the Land Rover LR4, which is what the rest will know as the Discovery 3 facelift, unless they decide to call it the Discovery 4 too?

There is a new 5.0 litre LR-V8 that comes with this new model, that replaces the 4.4 litre outgoing engine. It has direct injection too (rated at 150 bar with twin high pressure fuel pumps), and puts out 375 horsepower and 508Nm of torque while keeping to US ULEV2 standards. The V8 also idles at a lower speed – 600rpm instead of 700rpm.

Other changes are mostly equipment level and aesthetics. Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=242]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Why is the back wheel bengkok one? Or is it my imagination?

Am i first?

• classy looking !

• MiTec-i on Apr 13, 2009 at 10:55 am

too many control buttons…will confuse ppl while driving

• MyviKiller on Apr 13, 2009 at 12:12 pm

Rugged yet beautiful.

• Coyotito on Apr 13, 2009 at 2:51 pm

[quote comment="229200"]too many control buttons…will confuse ppl while driving[/quote]

I totally agree with you. Probably the driver has to do multiple task when he/she tries to reach a control button since there are too many of them.

• [quote comment="229228"][quote comment="229200"]too many control buttons…will confuse ppl while driving[/quote]

I totally agree with you. Probably the driver has to do multiple task when he/she tries to reach a control button since there are too many of them.[/quote]

is because you are not familiar to these buttons….

• henry on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:02 pm

[quote comment="229245"][quote comment="229228"][quote comment="229200"]too many control buttons…will confuse ppl while driving[/quote]

I totally agree with you. Probably the driver has to do multiple task when he/she tries to reach a control button since there are too many of them.[/quote]

is because you are not familiar to these buttons….[/quote]

well said.. just like when ppl said there are too much buttons on previous E-class, once you drive it, you won't have that much problems to deal with the buttons.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:53 pm

[quote comment="229200"]too many control buttons…will confuse ppl while driving[/quote]

this is normal today for upmarket cars. its no big deal, as you get used to it very quickly. the disco has a lot less buttons than some other cars on the market..

• theanswer on Apr 13, 2009 at 6:05 pm

[quote comment="229228"][quote comment="229200"]too many control buttons…will confuse ppl while driving[/quote]

driving supposed to be focused more on the road..not doing multiple task. manufacturer should only simplified those button..paddle shifter n audio button should be more than enuff.

• theanswer on Apr 13, 2009 at 6:07 pm

oh ya..i saw the steering even got controls like playstation! nway even u talk to the phone by using handsfree also can distract ur mind.

• the facelift is more likely at the rear..front? nthg much. btw do facelift mean new exterior design compared to previous model or how bout if d manufacture decide to change the engine only and add few gadget in the car? …dat consider facelift also? how bout only new interior design??.confuse.

• wrongturn on Apr 13, 2009 at 6:18 pm

ya lor.. better buy Myvi coz it has less button and less distracting! *sigh*

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 13, 2009 at 6:30 pm

[quote comment="229270"][quote comment="229228"][quote comment="229200"]too many control buttons…will confuse ppl while driving[/quote]

driving supposed to be focused more on the road..not doing multiple task. manufacturer should only simplified those button..paddle shifter n audio button should be more than enuff.[/quote]

firstly and most importantly, the driver does not need to press any of those buttons at all to drive the car. it drives just like any other car.

also, the buttons are designed in a way that actually allows the driver to do many tasks safely while driving.

have you driven any modern upmarket cars? mercs, volvos, audi, etc.. all have a ton of buttons or computer controlled functions.. like idrive..etc. i dont see cars like that veering out of control every 10 or 15 mins on the road because the driver wanted to change the radio station..

even in my own car, i have over 20 buttons.. but it doesnt bother or affect my driving at all.

• scottloeb on Apr 13, 2009 at 7:08 pm

saw it at OUtama. Really nice. 4WD of my choice. My uncle used to have one (the 1st Disco) in the late 90's while working in construction during the economic boom. That car is more than capable to tackle all types of terrain without compromising its comfort and safety. This 3rd Gen Disco? Well for 398K, it better be good (and I'm tired of looking at Harrier/RX on the road). Abt the buttons, you dont use all at the same time. It really helps sometimes when compared to multiple layered menu which can cause more distraction (mind you, this is not a PSP we are talking about here)

• jamsbong on Apr 13, 2009 at 7:11 pm

The steering wheel is like a game console controller. Should be fun. If implemented right, those buttons will make car fun to drive, not complicated or annoying.

5Litre V8?? I suppose direct injection will produce some fuel savings but there are no numbers published. If I don't have to pay for the fuel, I would like to take it for a spin.

• Annuar on Apr 13, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Car is boxy!! how is it suppose to sell in the first place?! Haih.. looks like Juara's elder brother.. :)

But here's how the world works.. ugly design, slap some top brand and ppl will still buy even if the design studio is lazy enough to come up with another 'facelift'.. what joke man..

• nabill on Apr 13, 2009 at 8:54 pm

boxy yet elegant….really nice

• Farhat Haniff on Apr 13, 2009 at 9:39 pm

main photo screams: "Hey look im another made-in-china european SUV copy" for some odd reason. i think its the cheapish body-paint on a boxy car, unproportional back window and asian rocky construction cliffs.

• gangully on Apr 13, 2009 at 11:20 pm

Front is taken off the Range Rover Sport. The lights have taken the Range Rover Cue, i.e. the interlocking circular lights.

• the extra buttons are to assist the driver on abnormal road condition, usually when reduced speed is required. Such as Hill Descent, Uneven Road, etc.. Those are off road buttons.. not highway speeding button. Don't compare with Merc, BMW. etc.

• Black Dog on Apr 14, 2009 at 12:26 am

Why would P1 want to call Persona when it looks exactly like Gen2??? Some markets they call Persona Gen2 upgrade!! Tak Tau apa Pikir!! Cuntfusing!!!

• mystvearn on Apr 14, 2009 at 1:53 am

This will use lots of fuel. And remember that the company is getting handouts to suvive now. Not sure why TATA is not pumping the money in

• nonengko on Apr 14, 2009 at 1:54 am

When bought new, the first 3-4years is ok…after warranty period, maintenance and repairs and in M'sia resale value, alamak, reality sets in. Kaya tak pe la……..

• mitlanevo on Apr 14, 2009 at 2:06 am

too much buttons pun mau komplen, haiz……..

sendiri tak tau pakai, nak salahkan button banyak pulak……

LR's engineers and designers all makan gaji buta kah….

• gangully on Apr 14, 2009 at 2:37 am

i thought the company was getting handout to produce their concept vehicle, the storm or something like that, to stimulate the auto industry. TATA pump in money? i think TATA is going to the banks to request for an extension of their loan repayment to buy LR and Jag. i guess TATA does not have money to pump in.

Next, we will see someone coming on here and complaining about TATA makan duit.

• lewis on Apr 14, 2009 at 3:18 am

can anyone of u plz explain to me. Y the hell would anyone buy a land rover, if their living in the city. I would understand if ppl bought a range rover, it has loads of luxuries, on the same level as the s class or any flagship model from any top end car manufacturer. But the land rover on the other hand looks bad on one hand and the interior is just so-so. i see no point in it. plz shed some light.

• sutheshkumar on Apr 14, 2009 at 3:23 am

paul if you look carefully behind the car, it is written 'Discovery 4'

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:07 am

will anyone test drive this car by drive it up a mountain ?? like jeremy ??

• Rulered on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:11 am

'The Discovery was called the LR3 in the US for some marketing reason or another, but isn’t it stretching it too far to call the facelift a LR4? Land Rover doesn’t seem to think so, so here’s the Land Rover LR4, which is what the rest will know as the Discovery 3 facelift, unless they decide to call it the Discovery 4 too?'

How about calling it Land Rover Desperado 3? ; )

• turbo on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:49 am

very nice car, the interior is really a notch up from the discovery 3

• Bodow on Apr 14, 2009 at 6:33 am

INi roadtax berapa setahun aaa…5L ..mampus nak bayar

• whatever on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:45 am

If you guys are not into 4×4 don't give nonconstructive comment, have you guys even test drive the car? go and try it on your own you'll be amaze that it driver tremendously from japs 4×4

• jskf01 on Apr 14, 2009 at 1:04 pm

paul u forgot to mention the new 3 litre diesel engines that will be available in the facelifted disco and RRS. Lets hope they make it to msia. Also any news on if the RRS will be available in the 3.6litre diesel turbo like they have here in australia?

• jamsbong on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:44 pm

[quote comment="229448"]If you guys are not into 4×4 don't give nonconstructive comment, have you guys even test drive the car? go and try it on your own you'll be amaze that it driver tremendously from japs 4×4[/quote]

thats right. For those who never drove a Land Rover really don't know what they are missing. I'm fortunate enough to have driven one (Discovery 2nd gen) and it really blows me away. The specs says 2.5ton but toss it around a corner and it feels rock stable, better than your corollas or Civics!

Moreover, the comfort level is simply the best. You don't get tired in a car like this. Even after 10 hours of drive, you still feel fresh like first light in the morning. thats how comfy it is.

Finally, it was; is; and will always be the best 4×4. You'll never have to worry about going any where. It will get you there!

• mitlanevo on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:19 am

[quote comment="229392"]can anyone of u plz explain to me. Y the hell would anyone buy a land rover, if their living in the city. I would understand if ppl bought a range rover, it has loads of luxuries, on the same level as the s class or any flagship model from any top end car manufacturer. But the land rover on the other hand looks bad on one hand and the interior is just so-so. i see no point in it. plz shed some light.[/quote]

imho, mostly LR buyers/owners, especially RR Sports and Freelander, wont go offroading trips. its kinda like buying a Cayenne, X5 or Touareg, or even a Hummer….. just for the sake of status……

• Land Rover Maniac on Sep 24, 2009 at 8:31 am

If you guys are not into 4×4 don’t give nonconstructive comment. Test driving the car will give an amazing experince to the driver him/her self. LR is tremendously a way much better car then any other 4×4. Infact, Land Rover drivers sometimes refer to other makes of 4×4 as "disposables"