Facelifted S 63 and S 65 AMG unveiled early!

S AMG
Click for enlarged image

Can you tell the difference between the three cars above? Let me help you with that. The top most is the S 63 AMG, and next up is the long wheelbase S 63 AMG, while lastly you have the long wheelbase V12-powered S 65 AMG, which seems to be available only in the long wheelbase form unlike the normally aspirated V8 S 63.

The new S-Class has not been unveiled yet, only due at the Shanghai show this year but these few photos you will find after the jump have already been revealed in Mercedes-Benz Germany’s online configuration tool.

The S 63 AMG uses a normally spirated 6.2 litre V8 putting out 525 PS and 630Nm of torque, mated to an AMG SPEEDSHIFT 7G-TRONIC transmission (no indication that it has the MCT system), and costs 144,823 Euros in long wheelbase form. Now this is actually cheaper than the V12 S 600.

Here comes the killer. The top of the range in terms of starting asping price is the monster S 65 AMG, with its turbocharged V12 putting out 612 PS and that magical number – a whole 1,000Nm of torque! This baby costs 221,221 Euros onwards. Because of that crazy torque you don’t get the SPEEDSHIFT 7G-Tronic though, as only their 5-speeder can cope with the twisting forces.

Look after the jump for some images extracted from the config tool. The full details with high res images will come along when Mercedes-Benz decides to release the official press release and photos.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=244]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 1st ! hehe =)

dis car is.. f-ing expensive… but anyway.. looks nice !

• Nutty on Apr 14, 2009 at 2:38 pm

The rear part of the car reminds me of Maybach 62. Overall, it looks nicer than previous pre-facelift version.

• Luqman on Apr 14, 2009 at 3:13 pm

I just wonder WHERE they sell this cars ?

In Europe I only saw Diesels, even on the Autobahn near Stuttgart.

Maybe China ?

• San Peng Road on Apr 14, 2009 at 3:33 pm

Macho plus blink blink!

• Matthew on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:15 pm

This is a speed monster, I wonder can Traffic police handle this? They will never race against this monster… haha

• da'Kongzter on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:36 pm

This car looked like it was meant for hip-hop stars

• stephenstreets on Apr 14, 2009 at 5:16 pm

F*cking good…

F*cking stylish and sporty !!

The only S-CLASS that interest me from mercedes long line of S-CLASSES.

What happen beemer .. with bigger kidney grills the new & series starts to resemble like Hitlers mustache.

• Our royalty family got 1 of this baby, a S65 AMG in his garage in PJ area. the engine sound is superb.

• theanswer on Apr 14, 2009 at 7:02 pm

i bet most of the drivers of this cars are the chauffeur..so i wont buy this car because if i drive the car..it looks like i'm the 'supir'.

• ezmil on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:15 pm

with over 600bhp on tap, it would be a waste to let the supir drive this car haha

• jamsbong on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:36 pm

The back looks just like a Maybach. I wonder if there is any new Maybach?

• Analyzer on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:37 pm

[quote comment="229486"]The rear part of the car reminds me of Maybach 62. Overall, it looks nicer than previous pre-facelift version.[/quote]

The designs from the Maybach were actually brought over to the S-Class in this generation, and I believe, for the generations to come. Just like Toyota, from the Lexus LS to the Camry and Crown. It's a norm I think.

IMO, the wide-ish rear look reminds me of the S-Class 2 generations ago (W140). Looks tank-ish (bulky) at the rear. Sure, it can accelerate like a bullet, but I don't think it's going to be nimble and agile at all. Added with the longer wheelbase, probably suitable for long-distance, straight smooth highway roads and low speed city roads only. AMG packaged it sporty and all, but I wouldn't think it would do well at high speeds into corners at all. Exclusively for the rich really. Pretty obvious.

Nice looking car though I must say. Useful only to drive it to the gof course and flaunt it. :D

• alfarabi on Apr 15, 2009 at 2:19 am

people! i just saw this fella on kerinchi link today. S63 with Singapore number. i wonder how much this guy costs coz if its close to one mil ringgit, it does not look that good lol

• mystvearn on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:20 am

I thought the only difference was the rims, not until you mention it. But really the rims are the only difference. Long wheelbase… struggle to do U-turn

• mystvearn on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:26 am

I really thought rims were the only difference:P longwheelbase, must only mean china

• Azrul Haji Mokhtar on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:35 am

"Nothing good comes easily…"

• willpower on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:07 am

Luxury & exclusive status comes with a price

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

• willpower on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:19 am

Luxury & exclusivity comes with high price $,$$$,$$$,$$$

• lol..i just played ' Spot the Different'..

• nutty on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:33 pm

[quote comment="229563"][quote comment="229486"]The rear part of the car reminds me of Maybach 62. Overall, it looks nicer than previous pre-facelift version.[/quote]

The designs from the Maybach were actually brought over to the S-Class in this generation, and I believe, for the generations to come. Just like Toyota, from the Lexus LS to the Camry and Crown. It's a norm I think.

IMO, the wide-ish rear look reminds me of the S-Class 2 generations ago (W140). Looks tank-ish (bulky) at the rear. Sure, it can accelerate like a bullet, but I don't think it's going to be nimble and agile at all. Added with the longer wheelbase, probably suitable for long-distance, straight smooth highway roads and low speed city roads only. AMG packaged it sporty and all, but I wouldn't think it would do well at high speeds into corners at all. Exclusively for the rich really. Pretty obvious.

Nice looking car though I must say. Useful only to drive it to the gof course and flaunt it. :D[/quote]

Ooo, I didn't know that. By the way, thanks for the info. Ahhh….just like those 'bling blings' in the headlamp.

• keyleedaud (Member) on Apr 16, 2009 at 10:11 am

WOW..VALUE BUY!..LOVE THIS