New Proton Exora to be launched tonight!

Proton Exora
Click for enlarged image

We’ve seriously come a long way and it has been a long wait for this vehicle which will be Proton and the country’s first ever affordable people mover, at under RM80k for a vehicle that can decently move 7 adults and some minor luggage. We first knew this vehicle simply by the name Proton MPV until its name – Proton Exora – was handpicked by a contest winner and unveiled a few months ago.

Stay tuned for 1030pm tonight where this site will unveil plenty more juicy details on the new Proton Exora. There was a previous report on a test drive experience of a prototype car, I hope you’ve all read that already otherwise please check them out in the linked related posts in this story. Some interesting BCM details in those stories!

Other than the specs and price of the Proton Exora I will also share with you my initial driving impressions of the actual production car, instead of the previous drive session which was with a prototype. So come back later tonight, it’s a decent product and I am as excited about writing the story as you hopefully are about reading it!

Proton Exora Prototype Test Drive Experience!
Proton Exora: Body Control Module and a few more juicy details!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Christopher on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:46 am

FIrst to leave a comment.

I have to admit that I'm kinda excited about this proton MPV.Please do take as much photos as possible and upload here.Looks like a great car.

• congratulations proton for the new born baby. hope this baby will make all of us happy, although i'm not confident with the engine. hope there will be 1.8 in the future.

• infinity on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:49 am

finally…the teaser campaign is a bit too long…it's getting a bit cold now…proton better surprise us tonight..if not, u'll c many dissapointed readers here in paultan.org

• brooce on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:59 am

cmon . lets get over with all this teaser sh!t. enuf of it already. its tiring . its neither exciting nor anticipating. for goodness sake, this blog shd have stopped glamorizing this car since the beginning. FAMILARITY BREEDS CONTEMPT. try harder proton . at 80k so what? it shd be priced lower than this. i'm no proton basher but just wake up n get real here. whats so anticipating? whats the hype all about ? no one cares la . its jz a proton mpv. big deal? this Teaser Sh!t has lasted forever, longer than it ever shd. for heavens sake, proton keep using the same marketing strategy. first then gen2 , then some silly minor facelift with an added plastic bar at the bumper , or thermometer looking waja.. they've all used Teaser.. jz fcuking launch this damn thing once and for all.

• hvannees on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:03 am

YAHHOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• wrongturn on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:04 am

no need to cover lah… seen many times already!

• Paul Tan on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:12 am

sorry about that. of course i would like to show the whole thing but there are such things as embargos… which legally prevent us from revealing the full shots from the preview until our new prime minister launches it…

• MisterBenjo on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:24 am

[quote comment="229718"]of course i would like to show the whole thing but there are such things as embargos… which legally prevent us from revealing the full shots from the preview until our new prime minister launches it…[/quote]

Paul, where do they launch? Can public come?

• Bodow on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:29 am

It looks big and quite tall at the back end .Hope it does not end up like an internet blind date …an angel online then a BikMama in the real world haha

• zack_keyme988 on Apr 15, 2009 at 12:43 pm

TONITE..8PM…KL CONVENTION CENTRE..ALL PUBLIC R WELCOME

• zack_keyme988 on Apr 15, 2009 at 12:45 pm

8PM..KL CONVENTION CENTER..ALL PUBLIC WELCOME

• matrxe on Apr 15, 2009 at 2:00 pm

It should have followed original schedule. This delay solely because the new PM wants to launch it. Must follow his schedule laa… haiya.

• corolla_KE70 on Apr 15, 2009 at 2:46 pm

Wow! Couldnt wait!

• Tiadaid on Apr 15, 2009 at 3:33 pm

[quote comment="229715"]cmon . lets get over with all this teaser sh!t. enuf of it already. its tiring . its neither exciting nor anticipating. for goodness sake, this blog shd have stopped glamorizing this car since the beginning. FAMILARITY BREEDS CONTEMPT. try harder proton . at 80k so what? it shd be priced lower than this. i'm no proton basher but just wake up n get real here. whats so anticipating? whats the hype all about ? no one cares la . its jz a proton mpv. big deal? this Teaser Sh!t has lasted forever, longer than it ever shd. for heavens sake, proton keep using the same marketing strategy. first then gen2 , then some silly minor facelift with an added plastic bar at the bumper , or thermometer looking waja.. they've all used Teaser.. jz fcuking launch this damn thing once and for all.[/quote]

Typical M'sian, wants more for less, and then complain if he gets less for less. You really think you're gonna get all the features of the Exora for less? Take a look at the Perodua MPV and you'll see…

• azrai on Apr 15, 2009 at 3:56 pm

TV1 also got live telecast from KLCC tonight at 9.15PM. See this, no need to cover http://paultan.org/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=nj8u…

• azrai on Apr 15, 2009 at 3:57 pm

+ the rear looks ugly.

• Well done Proton. A truly Malaysian Product, design and manufactured by Malaysians. Proud to be Malaysian. Cheers

• aksMs on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:15 pm

Saw a trailer with 4 fully covered Exora in Puchong last nite. Looking forward for your write up Paul.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:15 pm

Overall exterior styyling can give thumbs up but only the rim design is kinda outdated to me. Why always bad (for me) rim design from P1 designer?

Anyway, hopefully overall will astonish us. Congratulation to P1.

• osh_kosh on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:20 pm

finally… hope can see some price reduction when Najib launch this thing.. hmmm.. maybe not

• King Samurai on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:20 pm

My dear Proton..dont dissapoint us rakyat anymore. We have been longing for a quality product from you long enough already and we have been suffering from your blunders all these times. The stake is high…and make sure you hit it this time!

• si-fu (Member) on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:21 pm

The launch will be tonite at 8.30pm at KL convention center…..will be launched by our new PM. Those at home can watch it live via TV1 starting from 9pm onwards. Those who wants to be at KLCC, u can't enter the room where they r launching, but there will be display units of the Exora outside (foyer) to be viewed by the public and there shud be lcd projection of whats happening inside to be viewed by the public outside. For those who wish to test drive, go to the nearest showroom (fast!!!) as many would wanna test drive. Test drives most probably will start tommorow….so go early and book ur slot.

Cheers!

• mohdjiman on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Paul, are you will be there tonight? Tokmoh, are you coming too?

• muryadi on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Yeah…I'm so happy…

• Littlefire on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:28 pm

We already knew that the design of the car will hit a lot of ppl attention.

The problem now is the 1.6L CPS engine… Can it move that car smoothly with full load? If i not mistaken only Auto will be sell for the first launch.. So if you want to buy this, advice is to get the manual version: save minyak + more power…

• leonardo on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:30 pm

[quote comment="229754"]+ the rear looks ugly.[/quote]

Wow! X-ray eyes! I can see it too. The interior looks great!

• azrai on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm

Refer to this link http://paultan.org/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=nj8u… and you'll amaze your eyes also have x-ray vision. :-)

• leonardo on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm

[quote comment="229763"]Overall exterior styyling can give thumbs up but only the rim design is kinda outdated to me. Why always bad (for me) rim design from P1 designer?

Anyway, hopefully overall will astonish us. Congratulation to P1.[/quote]

Rim designs are personal, that's why you see there are sooo many shops selling optional rims. If you noticed Ferrari have been using the 5 spoke rim design like forever, so it is 'outdated' by your definition.

• just watch the launching ceremony @ tv1, 9.15pm..

• da'Kongzter on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:40 pm

It looks ok to me… I prefer this kind of rim compared to 'tornado' Satria Neo rim… Exora and Persona (earlier version) rims are more 'family' like.

• cikaput on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:42 pm

there will be a live telecast at TV1 starting 9.15, will be launch by najib, tun will be there too!!

• tokmoh on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:47 pm

[quote comment="229769"]Paul, are you will be there tonight? Tokmoh, are you coming too?[/quote]

Hehe, sorry, I can't come. Got a coursework presentation to be done tomorrow -.- But I think I'll drop by a proton showroom tmr to check it out.

So it is going to be launched at night…… I bet NTV7 will do a live coverage tonight. ;)

• i wish on Apr 15, 2009 at 4:50 pm

is there any live telecast?… which channel? why dont they launch it here in northern region, since the winner is from changloon…

• MisterBenjo on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:02 pm

[quote comment="229766"]The launch will be tonite at 8.30pm at KL convention center…..will be launched by our new PM. Those at home can watch it live via TV1 starting from 9pm onwards. Those who wants to be at KLCC, u can't enter the room where they r launching, but there will be display units of the Exora outside (foyer) to be viewed by the public and there shud be lcd projection of whats happening inside to be viewed by the public outside. For those who wish to test drive, go to the nearest showroom (fast!!!) as many would wanna test drive. Test drives most probably will start tommorow….so go early and book ur slot.

Cheers![/quote]

Si-fu takbley kasi i masuk ha? hehhehe

• Bodohland on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Every product launch by P1 always come with carnival like atmosphere with blessing of VVIP, after a few weeks, the dust will settle down ………

• sick and tired on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:26 pm

I hope its price below RM80k (RM60k-RM70k). If its above RM80k, better go for Kia Rondo, which has been getting good reviews overseas.

• gattaca on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:28 pm

[quote comment="229786"][quote comment="229766"]The launch will be tonite at 8.30pm at KL convention center…..will be launched by our new PM. Those at home can watch it live via TV1 starting from 9pm onwards. Those who wants to be at KLCC, u can't enter the room where they r launching, but there will be display units of the Exora outside (foyer) to be viewed by the public and there shud be lcd projection of whats happening inside to be viewed by the public outside. For those who wish to test drive, go to the nearest showroom (fast!!!) as many would wanna test drive. Test drives most probably will start tommorow….so go early and book ur slot.

Cheers![/quote]

Si-fu takbley kasi i masuk ha? hehhehe[/quote]

yela si-fu.. TJCC members takde special pass ke? hahahha..

• si-fu (Member) on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:33 pm

[quote comment="229795"][quote comment="229786"][quote comment="229766"]The launch will be tonite at 8.30pm at KL convention center…..will be launched by our new PM. Those at home can watch it live via TV1 starting from 9pm onwards. Those who wants to be at KLCC, u can't enter the room where they r launching, but there will be display units of the Exora outside (foyer) to be viewed by the public and there shud be lcd projection of whats happening inside to be viewed by the public outside. For those who wish to test drive, go to the nearest showroom (fast!!!) as many would wanna test drive. Test drives most probably will start tommorow….so go early and book ur slot.

Cheers![/quote]

yela si-fu.. TJCC members takde special pass ke? hahahha..[/quote]

i wish i boleh bagi u guys masuk, even our own people, only certain of them boleh masuk….sebab the place inside is limited. preference given to reporters, jounalist, etc…..kekekekekeke….biasa la tuh bro…..

• farghmee on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:39 pm

[quote comment="229795"][quote comment="229786"]

yela si-fu.. TJCC members takde special pass ke? hahahha..[/quote]

hahaha..korang ni..menyamar lg jd waiter, mesti ble masuk punye ;)

exora is the new member of TJCC :)

• Alifz on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:44 pm

[quote comment="229715"]cmon . lets get over with all this teaser sh!t. enuf of it already. its tiring . its neither exciting nor anticipating. for goodness sake, this blog shd have stopped glamorizing this car since the beginning. FAMILARITY BREEDS CONTEMPT. try harder proton . at 80k so what? it shd be priced lower than this. i'm no proton basher but just wake up n get real here. whats so anticipating? whats the hype all about ? no one cares la . its jz a proton mpv. big deal? this Teaser Sh!t has lasted forever, longer than it ever shd. for heavens sake, proton keep using the same marketing strategy. first then gen2 , then some silly minor facelift with an added plastic bar at the bumper , or thermometer looking waja.. they've all used Teaser.. jz fcuking launch this damn thing once and for all.[/quote]

Base model is cost RM72k dude. You all know Malaysian like sensational news not fact news. So that's why now people don't think further in terms of politics. More to believe sensational news rather than for the sake of the country.

[quote comment="229771"]We already knew that the design of the car will hit a lot of ppl attention.

The problem now is the 1.6L CPS engine… Can it move that car smoothly with full load? If i not mistaken only Auto will be sell for the first launch.. So if you want to buy this, advice is to get the manual version: save minyak + more power…[/quote]

I think even Nissan Grand Livina was available for 1.6, no VVT and HP and Torque figure lower than CPS engine but still lot's of people buying it.

• bmpower on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:50 pm

[quote comment="229792"]I hope its price below RM80k (RM60k-RM70k). If its above RM80k, better go for Kia Rondo, which has been getting good reviews overseas.[/quote]

ya ya..

once your Kia broke.. then you know la..

• catdeco on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:50 pm

i saw this mpv last night at d proton's showroom in front of my apartment….one word for it.!!nice!!

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 15, 2009 at 5:54 pm

finally ..

• alan the great on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:04 pm

i think proton exora sales will hit and bring proton to next level on good design and value price for consumer.congrat pROton.but proton must not miss the safety element in car…Malaysia BOleh

• savar on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Yesterday, Proton's GM has been invited to RTM BizTalk (Live) 5.00pm. Off course what ever he said, make Exora look's better then others, in term of capacity, confirtability as well as the performance etc… he highlighted that he personally test drive this baby with others 6 engineers from KL to Ipoh and 1 round to Genting. Yes, the performance all good for him, but he empasied to test drive for satiscfaction. Also he also mention, he read the comments from blog/forum (not mention any, PT maybe hehehe)…. most of them worried on the perfromance. Again, he empasied to test drive before deciding. TQ

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:09 pm

[quote comment="229784"]is there any live telecast?… which channel? why dont they launch it here in northern region, since the winner is from changloon…[/quote]

i hear all showrooms are open till late, and will unveil the mpv at the same time when the pm launches the car.

• cars-addict on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:12 pm

i have saw it yesterday at the showroom…..it's totally huge and looks beautiful in silver…

• theanswer on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:12 pm

yeehaa! p1 new family member……….after few weeks we can see few modded exora. nicee..

• savvy88 on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:21 pm

i cannot see any pic on paultan forum from link that one of you give..

• Info dari brochure :

H-line – RM 73,384.50

M-line – RM 67,540.50

Beza H-line ngan M-line :

Front fog lamp, rear spoiler, front seat armrest, cruise control, navigation system, dvd/lcd monitor with sd/mmc slot & usb port & tinted glass

• Tengokaje.. on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Yeah.. Finally it comes out officially. Sure lots of booking for test drive. Just watch via television only. Tomorrow can go to the showroom and i think many of Malaysian eager to take a look, touch, feel of this new baby.

Salam…

• All this fuss over an MPV that is long overdue. We Malaysians really need to get a life.

• barca on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:15 pm

to brooce: i think you're excited as much as the whole of Malaysia. :)

• Goniothalamus on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Yeah, it'll be a great ceremony…

Heard DSZ said yesterday in RTM1 about Proton n this Exora..

By the way, Perdana replacement model (tag team with Mitsubishi) will be available at the end of the next year!

Woohoo!

• muryadi on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Saya yg duk kerja kat Japan ni rasa bangga dan kagum dgn pencapaian rakyat Malaysia.

Boleh tengok dari jauh jelah nampaknya…

• AndrE on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:21 pm

i think sure many will go for exora… just 1 reason >> cheap

for those can't afford grandis, wish, stream, estima…

• sick and tired on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Typical malaysian mentality! Think that korean cars are unreliable!

Hello brader, do you have any statistics that shows the kia rondo breaks down often? (the new model, not the 1969 model!)

Just because the older Kia models were screwed up and the petrol consumption was high, doesn't mean that the newer models are the same! Check out the comments at autoblog, even the americans are impressed with the progress made by Kia,and thats in a very competitive market!

Alright since we are going to presume that the Kia Rondo is screwed up (based on the older models), then what about Proton? I have been driving a Waja for 5 years and the piece of shit has been giving me nothing but trouble!

But still I am able to keep an open mind, and give the newer models a chance! (the saga & persona is definitely an improvement).

[quote comment="229802"][quote comment="229792"]I hope its price below RM80k (RM60k-RM70k). If its above RM80k, better go for Kia Rondo, which has been getting good reviews overseas.[/quote]

ya ya..

once your Kia broke.. then you know la..[/quote]

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:25 pm

[quote comment="229822"]All this fuss over an MPV that is long overdue. We Malaysians really need to get a life.[/quote]

better late than never.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:27 pm

[quote comment="229775"][quote comment="229763"]Overall exterior styyling can give thumbs up but only the rim design is kinda outdated to me. Why always bad (for me) rim design from P1 designer?

Rim designs are personal, that's why you see there are sooo many shops selling optional rims. If you noticed Ferrari have been using the 5 spoke rim

design like forever, so it is 'outdated' by your definition.[/quote]

You're right at one point but P1stock rim design still not represent most of motorist likes. Take Gen2 and Satria Neo first model stock rim's. My personal study among my friend that none of them prefer the stock design. So i'm wondering why P1 design couldn't able to design rim where it represent the likes of many? It definitley can boosts sales. The other makes nowadays has many good stock rim design that's why we often seeing proton owner changes their stock rim to other makes stock. P1 designer going to TMS, NYIAS, GMS, BMS, every year but could only comes with rims that inattractive. Please improve.

• savarsavar on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:39 pm

[quote comment="229829"]i think sure many will go for exora… just 1 reason >> cheap

for those can't afford grandis, wish, stream, estima…[/quote]

yes, but the installement almost same as GL 1.6 A, if we calculate it.

• San Peng Road on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:48 pm

Brave Proton! P1 should try to build a SUV like BMW X6 after this!

• savvyUser on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:53 pm

bukan SUV dah ade concept car dari Lotus ??

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:57 pm

[quote comment="229834"][quote comment="229829"]i think sure many will go for exora… just 1 reason >> cheap

for those can't afford grandis, wish, stream, estima…[/quote]

yes, but the installement almost same as GL 1.6 A, if we calculate it.[/quote]

its definitely going to be more than just price. size and features will also play a big part, and from what paul has reported so far, the proton seems to be chock full of stuff.

• madboy on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:57 pm

I'm on leave tomorrow, will test drive it yeah…

• Thinking on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:00 pm

[quote comment="229832"][quote comment="229775"][quote comment="229763"]Overall exterior styyling can give thumbs up but only the rim design is kinda outdated to me. Why always bad (for me) rim design from P1 designer?

Rim designs are personal, that's why you see there are sooo many shops selling optional rims. If you noticed Ferrari have been using the 5 spoke rim

You're right at one point but P1stock rim design still not represent most of motorist likes. Take Gen2 and Satria Neo first model stock rim's. My personal study among my friend that none of them prefer the stock design. So i'm wondering why P1 design couldn't able to design rim where it represent the likes of many? It definitley can boosts sales. The other makes nowadays has many good stock rim design that's why we often seeing proton owner changes their stock rim to other makes stock. P1 designer going to TMS, NYIAS, GMS, BMS, every year but could only comes with rims that inattractive. Please improve.[/quote]

hmm… new issue… ppl not buying P1 because of rims… hmmm… -.-

• anti proton on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:03 pm

go to hell la proton… u r sure this proton exora cann good than honda ? toyota ? nissan ? this proton is for poor people own de

• riddler on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:05 pm

way to go proton!!!!!!….can give more bonus to ur staff, since the worked so hard for this new model…. :)

• Elvis on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:07 pm

By look of it, Perdana replacement will be clone of Mitsubishi Lancer. The good old days are back folks. Plenty of interchange items.

• hardiabd on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:11 pm

The mpv looks huge, maybe too big for the engine. When can we start booking for the manual version?

• prime exora look like estima or alphard,saw yesterday when they enter klcc con.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:33 pm

[quote comment="229841"][quote comment="229832"][quote comment="229775"][quote comment="229763"]Overall exterior styyling can give thumbs up but only the rim design is kinda outdated to me. Why always bad (for me) rim design from P1 designer?

You're right at one point but P1stock rim design still not represent most of motorist likes. Take Gen2 and Satria Neo first model stock rim's. My personal study among my friend that none of them prefer the stock design. So i'm wondering why P1 design couldn't able to design rim where it represent the likes of many? It definitley can boosts sales. The other makes nowadays has many good stock rim design that's why we often seeing proton owner changes their stock rim to other makes stock. P1 designer going to TMS, NYIAS, GMS, BMS, every year but could only comes with rims that inattractive. Please improve.[/quote]

hmm… new issue… ppl not buying P1 because of rims… hmmm… -.-[/quote]

Aiyo, you have already good nick name Mr. Thinking but could you check my posting? My statment only [It definitley can boosts sales] not buying or not buying. When i say boosts sales it means increase the number of sales and its supported with my personal homework. So cannot say new issue maa. I suggest you to change nickname to Tin KO song. That i believe appropriate to you. (Just Joking).

• [quote comment="229815"]Info dari brochure :

H-line – RM 73,384.50

M-line – RM 67,540.50

Front fog lamp, rear spoiler, front seat armrest, cruise control, navigation system, dvd/lcd monitor with sd/mmc slot & usb port & tinted glass[/quote]

if this true, then Perodua should consider the pricing of their mpv……….and this is for Auto….not manual.

• theking on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:33 pm

Exora M/T 1.6 Campro CPS will roll out 2mths before Perodua MPV roll out!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:36 pm

[quote comment="229843"]go to hell la proton… u r sure this proton exora cann good than honda ? toyota ? nissan ? this proton is for poor people own de[/quote]

well, at least we get very balanced comments here.. some say its way too expensive, and some like above, say its for poor people only..

btw, i think its not up to proton to decide if their car is better than honda, or toyota or nissan.. its up to the consumers who are actually in the market for an mpv, who are spending their hard-earned money(coz they're poor) to decide. ;)

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:48 pm

[quote comment="229857"][quote comment="229843"]go to hell la proton… u r sure this proton exora cann good than honda ? toyota ? nissan ? this proton is for poor people own de[/quote]

well, at least we get very balanced comments here.. some say its way too expensive, and some like above, say its for poor people only..

btw, i think its not up to proton to decide if their car is better than honda, or toyota or nissan.. its up to the consumers who are actually in the market for an mpv, who are spending their hard-earned money(coz they're poor) to decide. ;)[/quote]

anti proton is taking Japs excrement for his meal everyday, OMG, he has also that excrement as reserve in his pocket!!

• farghmee on Apr 15, 2009 at 8:54 pm

[quote comment="229832"]

Just because the older Kia models were screwed up and the petrol consumption was high, doesn't mean that the newer models are the same! Check out the comments at autoblog, even the americans are impressed with the progress made by Kia,and thats in a very competitive market!

Alright since we are going to presume that the Kia Rondo is screwed up (based on the older models), then what about Proton? I have been driving a Waja for 5 years and the piece of shit has been giving me nothing but trouble!

But still I am able to keep an open mind, and give the newer models a chance! (the saga & persona is definitely an improvement).

[/quote]

i have the same idea as u.

last time [_______] got problem,

now [________] it's ok.

let see the new [________] performs.

[_______] <—-put any car u like here.

• zulomar on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:03 pm

Based on earlier reviews, I think Exora will meet the requirements of most Malaysian.

When one wants to evaluate an MPV, one should not review it like a car. I own a Naza Ria since 2006 (I cancelled my Innova booking after test drived it – very bad road handling/floating – avanza is even worse – I have been into one) and would say that thus far it has fulfilled the reasons of why I bought it in the 1st place (reasonable handling, spacious, aircond, comfortable) and yet don't have to pay a bomb for it. In certain cases we can car pool instead of going into 2 cars.

I have also driven Estima (good handling & space), Citra (good handling but limited third row and luggage space), Unser (bad handling & uncomfortable seats) and the round shaped Nissan Serena – older model (handling similar to Innova).

Based on my friends' and relatives' feedback, Wish's and Stream's third row is not that comfortable for adults and also the issues of no blower/aircond for 2nd and 3rd rows.

Therefore based on earlier reviews, the following factors will be a plus point for Exora:

1) Price – lowest in its class for the facilities/gadgets/comfort offered

2) Space – third row can accomodate adults comfortably with acceptable luggage space (this is one of the main reasons why people bought an MPV – comfortable space for every one. If you want a compact MPV with limited space – I will tell you don't buy MPV at all – buy a car instead – better handling and fuel consumption)

3) Aircond blowers for 2nd and 3rd rows

4) Handling – good, car-liked, not floating – 3rd row passengers won't get dizzy

5) Availability of Service Centres nationwide

6) Spareparts – affordable & easy to find

7) Reasonable fuel consumption.

But Proton must be vigilant with the parts suppliers. Service centres also must be updated with the new technology and more supportive of Proton – no longer comments like "biasalah Proton" etc.

I sold my Wira Aeroback bought in 1997 to buy the Naza Ria MPV in 2006. It is always enjoyable travelling in comfort with your families especially long distance. Other than MPV mentioned above, I've driven Citroen, Toyota, Ford as well as Kancil & MyVi cars before and have been into various continental, Korean and Japanese cars

All the best with EXORA.

• Dr Moskva on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:16 pm

Paul, u were mentioned in the Utusan today :)

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2009&a…

• Thinking on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:18 pm

maybe i miss understood you comments… sorry… but then again… how many ppl r considering rim design when buying a vehicle?? 100? what kind of sale boost is that?? less complicated / expensive rim design means less cost, hence can reduce price… that is a factor of boosting sales…

most ppl change their rims once they bought their car…. btw i saw a lot of H, T, N cars owners changed their car's rims from a stock ones… does that mean their rims r also ugly?? but still a lot of ppl buy their cars…

• the price stated by kiss is true…..adios…

• MisterBenjo on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:26 pm

[quote comment="229815"]Info dari brochure :

H-line – RM 73,384.50

M-line – RM 67,540.50

Front fog lamp, rear spoiler, front seat armrest, cruise control, navigation system, dvd/lcd monitor with sd/mmc slot & usb port & tinted glass[/quote]

Sure like hot cake…This price is more reasonable.

• Tengokaje.. on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:38 pm

Thanks Kiss and thanks 460 for confirm it. P1 had put up some surprise for the potential customer in their new baby. Competetive price in line with the gadgets that being offered by P1.

Salam..

• muryadi on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:39 pm

[quote comment="229868"][quote comment="229815"]Info dari brochure :

H-line – RM 73,384.50

M-line – RM 67,540.50

Sure like hot cake…This price is more reasonable.[/quote]

Wow!!! Amazingly, what a surprise from Proton!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:48 pm

[quote comment="229871"]

H-line – RM 73,384.50

M-line – RM 67,540.50

Wow!!! Amazingly, what a surprise from Proton!![/quote]

I rather wait till the car is launched, and the final price is published to be safe. anyone can claim anything at this moment, but its technically not official.

• avanja on Apr 15, 2009 at 9:56 pm

avanza 1.5 akan jadi sejarah…

• muryadi on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:01 pm

[quote comment="229874"][quote comment="229871"]

H-line – RM 73,384.50

M-line – RM 67,540.50

Wow!!! Amazingly, what a surprise from Proton!![/quote]

I rather wait till the car is launched, and the final price is published to be safe. anyone can claim anything at this moment, but its technically not official.[/quote]

Betul tu, gelojoh pulak rasanya…

• Today in the paper, Perodua will produce MPV 1.5 litre same wth vios less than RM65k…so how could PROTON compete?

• [quote comment="229782"][quote comment="229769"]Paul, are you will be there tonight? Tokmoh, are you coming too?[/quote]

Hehe, sorry, I can't come. Got a coursework presentation to be done tomorrow -.- But I think I'll drop by a proton showroom tmr to check it out.

So it is going to be launched at night…… I bet NTV7 will do a live coverage tonight. ;)[/quote]

Please.. can u ask on behalf of me…. It has been 2months plus since Neo CPS is launch..why it is still not on the road?Proton promis 1-3 months. 26 days left.

• MisterBenjo on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:08 pm

[quote comment="229880"]Today in the paper, Perodua will produce MPV 1.5 litre same wth vios less than RM65k…so how could PROTON compete?[/quote]

Are u sure Vios engine not Avanza? Perodua MPV is not in the same category but let see what happen..

• nabill on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:14 pm

alot ppl stil think avanza 1.5 and vios using the same engine….avanza one is a lower output iron cast block than vios higher output aluminuim block…

this is becoming like myvi/savvy scenarios wer both cars got noting to do with each other diff class diff cars bt ppl stil wanted to compare them as competitors….

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:21 pm

[quote comment="229866"]maybe i miss understood you comments… sorry… but then again… how many ppl r considering rim design when buying a vehicle?? 100? what kind of sale boost is that?? less complicated / expensive rim design means less cost, hence can reduce price… that is a factor of boosting sales…

most ppl change their rims once they bought their car…. btw i saw a lot of H, T, N cars owners changed their car's rims from a stock ones… does that mean their rims r also ugly?? but still a lot of ppl buy their cars…[/quote]

Aiyo, dare to comment again. Did i mention need complicated design in my posting? Do the other makes design complicated? If it so it still can be ammortize to part cost that sure can be retain cheap due to increase sales volume because of good looking rim!! This is the correct calculation where maker can have good looking rim without jeopardising vehicle price!! if think like you it only can boost sport rim shop sales only. Err.. maybe you a shop rim owner. Shop owner always think like what you're thinking from my homework.

How many T,H,N owner change their rim? most? for your information T,H and N comes with VSA system and the warranty will be void if they change the wheel. So where is most here? Common la be resourceful and analytical. Don't talk like tin kosong. So now you're neckname have suited your or not?

• masami ihara on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:21 pm

i tot 72+ is reasonable enuff but 67+ for an auto this is a steal. and i can only speculate that the mt will pawn the passo sette wannabe. initially they didnt want the price to be so close to waja as it will eat up the waja sale but then waja is diff class altogether (sale is fast dwindling) and they are coming up wit the replacement in the near future and might be positioned above the exora as they will rebdge the lancer

could it be?

• ManBelonPunya on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:23 pm

[quote comment="229830"]Typical malaysian mentality! Think that korean cars are unreliable!

Hello brader, do you have any statistics that shows the kia rondo breaks down often? (the new model, not the 1969 model!)

[quote comment="229802"][quote comment="229792"]I hope its price below RM80k (RM60k-RM70k). If its above RM80k, better go for Kia Rondo, which has been getting good reviews overseas.[/quote]

ya ya..

once your Kia broke.. then you know la..[/quote][/quote]

same goes to proton maa..

yes, maybe u're rite..but rondo interior make me sick..control panel dash board dia macam seakan-akan muka raksasa dalam cerita Gaban..huduh..huhuhuh

wait n see if amarican drive proton. I'm quite suprised when my boss form Italy impressed with gen2(usually known as a 'junk2lak' car) . really proud that time..hahahah

• [quote comment="229882"][quote comment="229782"][quote comment="229769"]Paul, are you will be there tonight? Tokmoh, are you coming too?[/quote]

So it is going to be launched at night…… I bet NTV7 will do a live coverage tonight. ;)[/quote]

Please.. can u ask on behalf of me…. It has been 2months plus since Neo CPS is launch..why it is still not on the road?Proton promis 1-3 months. 26 days left.[/quote]

i've seen few Neo CPS on the road, being a 2 door hatchback, off course you wont be seeing this as much as other proton model.

• initial R on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:43 pm

[quote comment="229887"][quote comment="229866"]maybe i miss understood you comments… sorry… but then again… how many ppl r considering rim design when buying a vehicle?? 100? what kind of sale boost is that?? less complicated / expensive rim design means less cost, hence can reduce price… that is a factor of boosting sales…

most ppl change their rims once they bought their car…. btw i saw a lot of H, T, N cars owners changed their car's rims from a stock ones… does that mean their rims r also ugly?? but still a lot of ppl buy their cars…[/quote]

Aiyo, dare to comment again. Did i mention need complicated design in my posting? Do the other makes design complicated? If it so it still can be ammortize to part cost that sure can be retain cheap due to increase sales volume because of good looking rim!! This is the correct calculation where maker can have good looking rim without jeopardising vehicle price!! if think like you it only can boost sport rim shop sales only. Err.. maybe you a shop rim owner. Shop owner always think like what you're thinking from my homework.

How many T,H,N owner change their rim? most? for your information T,H and N comes with VSA system and the warranty will be void if they change the wheel. So where is most here? Common la be resourceful and analytical. Don't talk like tin kosong. So now you're neckname have suited your or not?[/quote]

I think lot's of service & assc shop owner have stock in they shop with lot's of sport rims with selective design and brand. I have send my accord last week for regular service to my regular service shop. You all know what, The towkey have stock the rims from 17inc to 20inc to match the Exora. The towkey said that, each time all new car model roll out to the road most the owner will came to get new set. Even the stock rim can trade to new one. intersting right. :)

• [quote comment="229883"][quote comment="229880"]Today in the paper, Perodua will produce MPV 1.5 litre same wth vios less than RM65k…so how could PROTON compete?[/quote]

Are u sure Vios engine not Avanza? Perodua MPV is not in the same category but let see what happen..[/quote]

Vios and Avanza are different engines.

• Thinking on Apr 15, 2009 at 10:58 pm

[quote comment="229887"][quote comment="229866"]maybe i miss understood you comments… sorry… but then again… how many ppl r considering rim design when buying a vehicle?? 100? what kind of sale boost is that?? less complicated / expensive rim design means less cost, hence can reduce price… that is a factor of boosting sales…

How many T,H,N owner change their rim? most? for your information T,H and N comes with VSA system and the warranty will be void if they change the wheel. So where is most here? Common la be resourceful and analytical. Don't talk like tin kosong. So now you're neckname have suited your or not?[/quote]

my point is… how many ppl is buying/ not buying car based on rim design?? prettier rims are usually complicated/ sporty rims type.. and those rims are much more expensive to develope…. higher to cost to develop means higher cost to be ammortize… hence increase in car price…

btw i have seen a lot.. read again A LOT of those T, H and N cars with different rims than the stock ones… heck even newly registered ones…

• gen2lama on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:00 pm

yehaa…saw the car already…managed to ask the saleman to open half of the cover…the dashboard dont have the soft touch….but overall ok la…

• Littlefire on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:03 pm

[quote comment="229801"][quote comment="229715"]cmon . lets get over with all this teaser sh!t. enuf of it already. its tiring . its neither exciting nor anticipating. for goodness sake, this blog shd have stopped glamorizing this car since the beginning. FAMILARITY BREEDS CONTEMPT. try harder proton . at 80k so what? it shd be priced lower than this. i'm no proton basher but just wake up n get real here. whats so anticipating? whats the hype all about ? no one cares la . its jz a proton mpv. big deal? this Teaser Sh!t has lasted forever, longer than it ever shd. for heavens sake, proton keep using the same marketing strategy. first then gen2 , then some silly minor facelift with an added plastic bar at the bumper , or thermometer looking waja.. they've all used Teaser.. jz fcuking launch this damn thing once and for all.[/quote]

Base model is cost RM72k dude. You all know Malaysian like sensational news not fact news. So that's why now people don't think further in terms of politics. More to believe sensational news rather than for the sake of the country.

[quote comment="229771"]We already knew that the design of the car will hit a lot of ppl attention.

The problem now is the 1.6L CPS engine… Can it move that car smoothly with full load? If i not mistaken only Auto will be sell for the first launch.. So if you want to buy this, advice is to get the manual version: save minyak + more power…[/quote]

I think even Nissan Grand Livina was available for 1.6, no VVT and HP and Torque figure lower than CPS engine but still lot's of people buying it.[/quote]

I hate ppl comparing it to N.Livina, N.Livina is lighter & have same torque figure as Proton CPS. The horsepower loss to it but still the torque is reach faster compare to CPS. Do you know what is power : weight ratio? Stupid guy! Go check Paul previos comparison between N.Livina, K. Rondo & P. Exora and you will know! Besides that N.Livina is cheaper if it is not tax like crazy around RM60-70k if check langkawi price.

• initial R on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:09 pm

so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.

• madimat on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Been in KLConventionCentre early this morning and saw 2 or 3 huge boxes already placed at the public common area.. the Exoras should be inside all those boxes.

All the best, Proton.

• i wish on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:18 pm

[quote comment="229877"]avanza 1.5 akan jadi sejarah…[/quote]

ye… agak2 ada special price utk clear stock?… kalau 50k utk avanza 1.5… aku rasa cukup lazat utk di beli… hehehe

• muryadi on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:20 pm

Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.

• gen2lama on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:23 pm

[quote comment="229908"]Been in KLConventionCentre early this morning and saw 2 or 3 huge boxes already placed at the public common area.. the Exoras should be inside all those boxes.

All the best, Proton.[/quote]

just go to the nearest showroom….but some just have M line..

• [quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real

• initial R on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:32 pm

[quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

so stop compare with langkawi.

• You know what? I saw the real thing somewhere and the front grille is something like the persona!! There's a silver line thingy… BUt the back i dunno la… they didn't manage to take a snapshot of it..

• [quote comment="229916"][quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

so stop compare with langkawi.[/quote]

PPl are comparing and won't stop comparing for your informatio Get real.

• EchoTango23 on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:50 pm

I am not too excited about the launching…Probably the car will be under-power…1.6?!?!? I will wait and see what P2 can offer with their coming MPV soon…Somemore, it is cheaper!

• i wish on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:51 pm

[quote comment="229921"][quote comment="229916"][quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

PPl are comparing and won't stop comparing for your informatio Get real.[/quote]

yess.. get the REAL thing…

• [quote comment="229924"][quote comment="229921"][quote comment="229916"][quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

PPl are comparing and won't stop comparing for your informatio Get real.[/quote]

yess.. get the REAL thing…[/quote]

Yup, the Kia Pregio with lots of space, with LSD some more. 2.5 diesel some more. Really fuel efficient. Korean technology some more. Get the REAL thing, The Wish.

• initial R on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:04 am

[quote comment="229924"][quote comment="229921"][quote comment="229916"][quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

yess.. get the REAL thing…[/quote]

yup… tomorrow i will place my order after test drive. :) …..

• farghmee on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:12 am

[quote comment="229921"][quote comment="229916"][quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

GET REAL, go buy in Langkawi & live there.

Langkawi exists, the car exists, so IT'S REAL.

• muryadi on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:27 am

Janganlah nak gaduh-gaduh kat sini…

Tinggal lagi beberapa jam saja lagi…lahirnya baby baru di Malaysia ni..

• shahzane on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:28 am

[quote comment="229934"][quote comment="229921"][quote comment="229916"][quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

Langkawi exists, the car exists, so IT'S REAL.[/quote]

dudes…get a life….

• kimi_ on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:45 am

[quote comment="229943"][quote comment="229934"][quote comment="229921"][quote comment="229916"][quote comment="229913"][quote comment="229907"]so go buy at langkawilah. Much cheaper.[/quote]

Get real[/quote]

What the hell is this !!!

Langkawi exists, the car exists, so IT'S REAL.[/quote]

dudes…get a life….[/quote]

• LogicallyMad on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:46 am

[quote comment="229941"]Janganlah nak gaduh-gaduh kat sini…

Tinggal lagi beberapa jam saja lagi…lahirnya baby baru di Malaysia ni..[/quote]

so it's in the operation theater now…? hehehe just kidding ^.^

• P1 & P2 Basher on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:47 am

[quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

Laris di Indonesia & Thailand???

—>JANGAN HARAP YA, sebab P1 will be Kampung Champion di Malaysia oshj. coz Thailand dah ada Kilang Honda dan Toyota, dan harganya lagi murah daripada Proton Exora ini, jika orang Thailand nak beli kereta MPV.

• farghmee on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:51 am

;)

• muryadi on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:56 am

[quote comment="229951"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

—>JANGAN HARAP YA, sebab P1 will be Kampung Champion di Malaysia oshj. coz Thailand dah ada Kilang Honda dan Toyota, dan harganya lagi murah daripada Proton Exora ini, jika orang Thailand nak beli kereta MPV.[/quote]

Nak compete dgn T and H memanglah payah tapi cuba rujuk link ni :-

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/01/22/2918-proto…

So peluang tu ada ..

• [quote comment="229951"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

—>JANGAN HARAP YA, sebab P1 will be Kampung Champion di Malaysia oshj. coz Thailand dah ada Kilang Honda dan Toyota, dan harganya lagi murah daripada Proton Exora ini, jika orang Thailand nak beli kereta MPV.[/quote]

ko pun cakap xde asas

• zookri on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:00 am

just got the brochure… really nice.. got 6 colors n full with gadgets.. a good buy MPV.. test drive b4 u place ur bookings!

• LogicallyMad on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:01 am

[quote comment="229951"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

There's nuthing wrong with hoping right?? We hope for positive things… At least they dare to try… you never know what could happen right?

Unless…. aaaah I forgot… Malaysian have this special power… " TO SEE THE FUTURE"… hehehe no offence.. ^.^

• initial R on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:09 am

;{

• initial R on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:16 am

[quote comment="229958"][quote comment="229951"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

There's nuthing wrong with hoping right?? We hope for positive things… At least they dare to try… you never know what could happen right?

Unless…. aaaah I forgot… Malaysian have this special power… " TO SEE THE FUTURE"… hehehe no offence.. ^.^[/quote]

you know, most malaysian have special power like "x-ray eye", time travel, super mind reader, always correctman, etc. even in american don't have this superpower's. hahaha…. LOL ;)

• rsrulz (Member) on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:16 am

go to this post for all exterior pics: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/01/23/hot-proton…

PS: for those who have already seen this, there are some new pics.

• LogicallyMad on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:16 am

sorry correction….. SOME malaysian… ^.^

• gattaca_LEE on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:21 am

BMW better

• ManBelonPunya on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:25 am

[quote comment="229958"][quote comment="229951"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

Unless…. aaaah I forgot… Malaysian have this special power… " TO SEE THE FUTURE"… hehehe no offence.. ^.^[/quote]

dont forget savvy yg selalu di kutuk2 tu pon 10 ten list in thailand…

even saga is in top10 list in singapore last year.

to me most of malaysian blind with T and H..no offence. even myself sometime rabun ngn T and H.

x sabo nak test drive exora.

• ardley on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:39 am

ape la dok kecoh2… kepada sape2 yg nak beli honda, beli la honda.. nak beli toyota, beli la toyota… nak beli proton, beli la proton.. duit masing2 kan?? biorkan la org thai pakai keta honda… toyota ker.. kancil ker… kelisa ker.. savvy ker.. or aper2 jer la… sbb diaorg tak buat keta sendiri… dah kita nih, ada keta buatan sndiri.. kalau nak beli, beli je laa… isk.. isk.. isk.. dah besau2 pun nak gaduh… ape laa… hehehehehehehe.. lagi pun mlm ni exora dah launch pun.. cuma aku dapat advice dr org2 tertentu, utk sape2 yg duit cukup2 jer tu, tunggu la after 6 months.. pastu beli laa… (ntah knape pun aku tak sure..)

HIDUP PROTON…!!!!

chow dulu, nak ke KLCC…. hohohohho

• pintu on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:41 am

Nice to hear it.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:42 am

[quote comment="229902"][quote comment="229887"][quote comment="229866"]maybe i miss understood you comments… sorry… but then again… how many ppl r considering rim design when buying a vehicle?? 100? what kind of sale boost is that?? less complicated / expensive rim design means less cost, hence can reduce price… that is a factor of boosting sales…

my point is… how many ppl is buying/ not buying car based on rim design?? prettier rims are usually complicated/ sporty rims type.. and those rims are much more expensive to develope…. higher to cost to develop means higher cost to be ammortize… hence increase in car price…

btw i have seen a lot.. read again A LOT of those T, H and N cars with different rims than the stock ones… heck even newly registered ones…[/quote]

Ya la. I also talk different point. i talk how many sales increase because of rim. So you or me talk different point? So far as i'm concern you were the first commented me? Am i right? so why you talk different topic?

Good rim doesn't necessary complicated design. I think P1 one is the most complicated rim!!. Take Gen2 and Neo as example! If you dare to invest expensive rim, wise people shall project it with increase of sales. That's why many makes can retain their car price even though the succesor have better accesories. So everytime new technology must sell more expensive?? Any makes like that? (except luxury class). Please do more homework.

• AndrE on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:45 am

[quote comment="229815"]Info dari brochure :

H-line – RM 73,384.50

M-line – RM 67,540.50

sound like really worth only <75k but dont know the quality… i'm not talking about engine or perfomance, just like i bought waja b4, the material really bad

how about the interest rate? i just booking accord 2.3%, i hear toyota only 1.68%

• tanasi on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:01 am

better wait for Perodua MPV. Much more spacious, 250 hp from 1.5L VVTIL Toyota nex gen ecopower tri-fuel engine with Euro 8 emissions, 7 speed Toyodual clutch gearbox, 20km per litre combined cycle mileage, 30,000 km service interval, 1.4g lateral skidpad for above par handling, super plush adaptive magnetic ride damping for flying carpet highway ride, multi-rate steering ratio, 8-zone climate control, 24-channel 200w Bang Olufsen infotainment system, GPSx-able to operate even in basement, stability control, hill descent control, torque distribution control, and a low affordable price of RM45,000 on the road, 12 years loan, RM100 downpayment.

Oh shite I am dreaming.

• nazri on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:08 am

dreaming so much.. hehe =D

• farghmee on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:10 am

[quote comment="229980"]better wait for Perodua MPV. Much more spacious, 250 hp from 1.5L VVTIL Toyota nex gen ecopower tri-fuel engine with Euro 8 emissions, 7 speed Toyodual clutch gearbox, 20km per litre combined cycle mileage, 30,000 km service interval, 1.4g lateral skidpad for above par handling, super plush adaptive magnetic ride damping for flying carpet highway ride, multi-rate steering ratio, 8-zone climate control, 24-channel 200w Bang Olufsen infotainment system, GPSx-able to operate even in basement, stability control, hill descent control, torque distribution control, and a low affordable price of RM45,000 on the road, 12 years loan, RM100 downpayment.

Oh shite I am dreaming.[/quote]

hahaha..wake up, wakeup! :D

• gattaca on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:14 am

[quote comment="229980"]better wait for Perodua MPV. Much more spacious, 250 hp from 1.5L VVTIL Toyota nex gen ecopower tri-fuel engine with Euro 8 emissions, 7 speed Toyodual clutch gearbox, 20km per litre combined cycle mileage, 30,000 km service interval, 1.4g lateral skidpad for above par handling, super plush adaptive magnetic ride damping for flying carpet highway ride, multi-rate steering ratio, 8-zone climate control, 24-channel 200w Bang Olufsen infotainment system, GPSx-able to operate even in basement, stability control, hill descent control, torque distribution control, and a low affordable price of RM45,000 on the road, 12 years loan, RM100 downpayment.

Oh shite I am dreaming.[/quote]

cis..at first glance ingat betul…mimpi rupanya…cis cis..

• If Exora has more appropriate engine for foreign market it easily beat the Innova (as taxi in Vietnam). Exora has 'upper hand' in many department only engine maybe can make new buyers hesitate. BTW kudos to Proton though l'm not really appreciated the mpv door panels. Even Persona door panels/arm rest look better and more proportionate.

God willing, Exora will be another Saga/Persona for Proton. Bravo Proton guys.

Nissan GL 1.8 owner.

• thinking about as good as buying……………………..hahahhahahaah

• Hyundaiman on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:33 am

Balik Kampung oh oh oh Balik kampung

Good luck to you if you buying this piece of shit

• i got my test drive arranged this saturday. the feel of exora.

• Look at the brochure
    http://www.proton.com/public/media/mediacentre/do…

• nazri on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:48 am

[quote comment="229989"]Balik Kampung oh oh oh Balik kampung

Good luck to you if you buying this piece of shit[/quote]

yeah hyundaiman… my big bro just sold his hyundai matrix and place a book H-line exora last month… his matrix got passenger seat belt problem (replacing under warranty but after 6 month rosak semula) and then his family got bigger ( 4 kids )…

• Tiadaid on Apr 16, 2009 at 3:18 am

[quote comment="229989"]Balik Kampung oh oh oh Balik kampung

Good luck to you if you buying this piece of shit[/quote]

If Paul Tan is excited about the Exora…then it's probably a decent car. Who's the piece of shit now?

• TopSpeedlover on Apr 16, 2009 at 3:20 am

Em…r u sure u saw not the one tested or otw to some showroom? i heard tht the manual gearbox has problem. maybe u see is the auto gearbox.

• waheng (Member) on Apr 16, 2009 at 3:22 am

good to hear from P1 new & first MPV. Good luck baby!

Most of the people loan 5 years for car financing and myself too for my first P1 car, it brought me nothing much of serious repair after that, considered very lucky one. just wonder how many 5 years we could stay for to own a cars in our life? especially a good quality car (not dream car), after so many feedback i totally gave up national cars since i intended to own overseas brand as my second car , what else could do… work hard la.

• muryadi on Apr 16, 2009 at 3:41 am

[quote comment="229992"]Look at the brochure
    http://www.proton.com/public/media/mediacentre/do…

Thanks a lot. Very nice. Hopefully my family will love it.

• ariefin on Apr 16, 2009 at 3:43 am

[quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

If priced correctly it could be a hit in Indonesia depending on the marketing and aftersales. From what I know that one dealer already has around 40 orders for the Exora eventhough the Indonesian ppl haven't seen the car yet.

• mohdjiman on Apr 16, 2009 at 4:00 am

Aman said,

April 15, 2009 @ 2:07 pm · Reply with quote

Please.. can u ask on behalf of me…. It has been 2months plus since Neo CPS is launch..why it is still not on the road?Proton promis 1-3 months. 26 days left.

Aman,kat area rumah aku dah ada dua bijik neo cps warna putih.

Exora…test drive.must do.

• zarreta on Apr 16, 2009 at 4:13 am

nice job paul..for keeping us the excitement..haha!!

and well done proton!!

• Roti naan on Apr 16, 2009 at 4:26 am

OK la….but i won't buy another proton, My family and frenz with their proton car had enuf prob with the Proton product…..Takut oredi…

• muryadi on Apr 16, 2009 at 4:28 am

[quote comment="230000"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

If priced correctly it could be a hit in Indonesia depending on the marketing and aftersales. From what I know that one dealer already has around 40 orders for the Exora eventhough the Indonesian ppl haven't seen the car yet.[/quote]

Already 40 orders in Indonesia!! I thought over there, Exora will only be launched in July.

• m_9000 on Apr 16, 2009 at 4:47 am

thanx for the brochure..

• tokmoh on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:01 am

[quote comment="230002"]Aman said,

April 15, 2009 @ 2:07 pm · Reply with quote

Aman,kat area rumah aku dah ada dua bijik neo cps warna putih.

Exora…test drive.must do.[/quote]

There's one black Neo CPS in SS15, everyday park in front of Public Bank.

Ooo, the brochure's out edi. So they do blacken the door pillars!! Yeaaa :D

• ariefin on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:02 am

[quote comment="230007"][quote comment="230000"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

If priced correctly it could be a hit in Indonesia depending on the marketing and aftersales. From what I know that one dealer already has around 40 orders for the Exora eventhough the Indonesian ppl haven't seen the car yet.[/quote]

Already 40 orders in Indonesia!! I thought over there, Exora will only be launched in July.[/quote]

Yup it will be launched in end of July together with IIMS (that is the plan) but some dealers already have opened bookings for the Exora. MPV sells well in Indonesia even the Honda Freed already has a number of bookings.

• rhoma on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:04 am

anytime now

• Nonadoes on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:07 am

By far, this exora brochure is much more information about the car compare to all their previous brochure. Some how it give some confident to buyers. Well, i'm impressed!!

ohh..i like the black and the dark brown exora. looks really good.!!

• ariefin on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:07 am

[quote comment="230007"][quote comment="230000"][quote comment="229910"]Harap2 Exora ni akan laris jugak di Indonesia dan juga di Thailand.[/quote]

Already 40 orders in Indonesia!! I thought over there, Exora will only be launched in July.[/quote]

Yes it will be launched together with IIMS and Proton Edar Indonesia is negotiating with Proton Malaysia to have a more competitive price. I spoke to the one of the dealers in Jakarta and they already opened bookings for the Exora and have around 40 bookings. Currently Protons are the cheapest alternatives from the Japanese and Koreans. Even the Jakarta Metro Police has purchased a new batch of Police Cars which consists of Mitsubshi Lancer 2.0 GT ( the Evo X is to expensive :P) and Proton Personas.

First time I saw a Proton become a cop car in Indonesia and it looks nice :)

• rhoma on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:52 am

exora 100% malaysian made meh?last time my fren who is proton engineer said he went to korea to work on this exora

• hazarizal on Apr 16, 2009 at 5:58 am

i am getting restless watching the launch at home with the long speeches and they could make it more fun with some nice animation on the screen. hiyo, the speech writer can some more write about the credit crisis … thank God, there was no of mention Kuznets cycle, Jugler wave, Kitchen cycle, and the Kontradiev cycle!

• Littlefire on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:00 am

Wow… 0-100km/h 15.5second, max speed 165km.

I think they only revised the final gear ratio, if mat speed only 165km i think the rev meter should be high around 110km/h, estimate around 3000rpm? So i dont think it will be quite good in FC compare to others MPV on the market..

Besides that in the 15.5second is just estimated, so if you are full loaded should be even worst the time.

Still advice from my friend working in Proton… Wait for the manual version…

• mat ju on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:01 am

i just came back from showroom. Thumb up. The size and its interior look great if we compared with the price RM69K for the mline. Syabas proton. But the name should be more masculine.

• chanlman on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:02 am

PMbhas finished his speech. Now waiting for the launching at TV1

• Roti naan on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:05 am

—-Wow… 0-100km/h 15.5second, max speed 165km.—

is this the actual tested speed, or simulated speed? and it the test really done with actual load, i.e seven passenger? Anyone can confirm this?

• chanlman on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:13 am

syed Zainal abidin delivered a very convincing speech.

• taboogen on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:18 am

anyhow I am proud.. this is not a copy paste and rename kinda vechicle

2 thumbs up

• chanlman on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:18 am

Omg, proton has a theme song for the exora!

• CRUDE on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:26 am

the advert for it ..man..awesome…creative!!! salute!

• rhoma on Apr 16, 2009 at 7:35 am

p2 mpv better come out better than this or at least on par

• datin sofiera on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:12 pm

congratulations to proton. keep up the good work. ya true, as a typical malaysian, i want a european handling, japanese styling, and at a very cheap price :D. now the only problem remains is the bank interest rate. for some mysterious reasons, banks always charge a higher interest rate for proton products.

• Perotiga on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:29 am

[quote comment="229963"]BMW better[/quote]

no, mers better

• propedua on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:04 am

more big,more load and less small engine??…mabby proton already develop CPS technology more powerful than nissan technology(Nissan Grand Livina 1.8L)

• Henrietta on Mar 20, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Also dating someone else may help you see what went wrong in the relationship. Here’s another challenge for you when dealing with your ex: thank them when they do what’s right. Reconciliation between you two can only begin once youve accepted the break up.