Ford Fiesta overtakes Golf sales in March 2009

Ford Fiesta Zetec S

As the recession still wrecks havoc in the US and Europe and pretty much all parts of the world, increasingly price and cost conscious consumers continue to downsize one segment down with their new car purchases.

The Volkswagen Golf has just lost its number one selling car title in Europe to the Ford Fiesta, which is one size smaller and a competitor to the Volkswagen Polo. Ford sold 52,805 Ford Fiestas in Europe in March 2009, compared to 46,415 Volkswagen Golfs. However the Golf still tops the Fiesta in total Q1 2009 sales figures – 119,651 units versus 113,576 units.

Sales of the Fiesta were especially boosted by the new scrapping plans offered by European governments, which offer up to 5,000 Euros to scrap an old car for a new model, which usually ends up being a small car. 5,000 Euros is seriously alot of money for a small car in Germany, where a Polo starts from under 13,000 Euros. So it is really quite a real incentive there.

It makes our measly RM5,000 scrapping incentive look like pittance, which is what it is really, I don’t know why they keep comparing our scrapping scheme to other countries. The scrap incentive got translated dollar to dollar when the car prices are not.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• turboKEV on Apr 18, 2009 at 7:55 am

5,000 in RM and 5,000 in Euro .. perhaps our government can't see the different here, or they thought we all did not go to school b4. wat to do? but i still lot's of old car line up in front of the EON show room waiting to be scrapped..in exchange for a new proton, but except the new EXORA! I ask the salesman why? he said "government have not approve yet…." $^&$%#@$^

• Paul Tan on Apr 18, 2009 at 8:01 am

From what I am told Proton is not going to offer the scrapping program for the new Exora because its a new model.

• well, thats the purpose.

showcase as much "positive" points as possible and hide and pray taht people dont find out about the "negative" points.

our car salesman do it, naturally our government will do it too. lol.

• alansmithz (Member) on Apr 18, 2009 at 8:23 am

Half pass six scheme from half pass six government decision maker.

• ignas on Apr 18, 2009 at 9:51 am

i wonder based on what half pass six qualifications are those half pass six government decision makers are made upon when mostly all of them are not even master graduated.

• alansmithz (Member) on Apr 18, 2009 at 10:11 am

By the way, the Ford Fiesta is really good looking:) When will it be here? Not that we can afford it…just to admire the new model from abroad. Actually I saw a maroon red Kia Forte Sedan packed at the Subang Terminal 2 car park (Singapore registered car). Wow, it's really another big step up by the Korean. Great looking & damn sporty.

• FordFanz on Apr 18, 2009 at 11:32 am

Is Ford Fiesta coming to malaysia ? I heard the Fiesta could be selling in malaysia somewhere in the year end from the autoconneXion salesperson, is dat true ?

• whiteeye on Apr 18, 2009 at 3:24 pm

Just don't hope you will get Rm 30K in Malaysia, typical Malaysia gov just wanted to earn money, just c weather the OECD will help a not if lets says tat Rm 5k to scap ur car when the tax is free on car it will help just a little percent.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 18, 2009 at 4:12 pm

"It makes our measly RM5,000 scrapping incentive look like pittance, which is what it is really, I don’t know why they keep comparing our scrapping scheme to other countries. The scrap incentive got translated dollar to dollar when the car prices are not."

Not much unlike them comparing Malaysia to Zimbabwe. Probably makes them feel better comparing people that is worst off. No pressure mah. Gives self a pat on the back….

Nah…just shows that a lot of these policies arn't thought through before implementation. (cue …fuel hike, fuel rebate, seatbelt use, etc, etc, etc..)

On another note, i've been seeing its certain Mazda2 cousin running around town lately. Nice car, that.

• demontool on Apr 18, 2009 at 4:36 pm

have to agree with paul. our Rm5000 scrapping scheme makes keeping the old cars a much better choice for some cars atleast.

• ronnie on Apr 18, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Even Fiesta in Singapore is not relesed with full spec. Lot of missing features e.g. Start button, keyless door lock concept, etc. If it is released in malaysia i doubt they might be lots of missing features considering low low spec wit wonderful 200% tax.

• droll on Apr 18, 2009 at 5:49 pm

if i use the following assumptions. if i use 5k euroes as 20% of price car in europe and i use RM80k as average price for car in m'sia, the govt should offer a RM16,000 rebate!!

govt keeping all the money to themselves. not really serious about helping.

• Littlefire on Apr 18, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Yup, RM5000 is like a joke. I already knew this wont be succesfull.. As we are living in a country which everything is not cheap! While our earning power is still low..

If they can offer EU5000*4.5 = RM22500?!? For rebate! And their car is not tax high compare to us! Besides that, their earning power is higher + currency better! WTF we have in Malaysia?!?

• Well…much has been said about the car policy of Malaysia. Other countries national car made their citizen better off, but not ours. Our cheaper national car ranging from RM40K to RM60K do not get the same quality based on what other car producing country are giving. We gave our government 20+ year to improve, still nothing change. Today you can still see Iswara around, which should be long gone in terms of design and quality….Disgraceful…

I totally agreed to the fact that this RM5K is not comparable to what other countries are providing. If the government are genuinely wanted to help his citizen please give it in % as comparison to the car price. Most Malaysian are smart to be fool by such offer.

Remember, all this policy made our Cost of Living higher, and lower our Standard of Living. Our Purchasing Power is one of the lower even in our own region. We commoner sincerely hope our government will STOP EXPLODING his own citizen for the benefit of a few.

• muryadi on Apr 18, 2009 at 6:22 pm

[quote comment="231371"]Yup, RM5000 is like a joke. I already knew this wont be succesfull.. As we are living in a country which everything is not cheap! While our earning power is still low..

If they can offer EU5000*4.5 = RM22500?!? For rebate! And their car is not tax high compare to us! Besides that, their earning power is higher + currency better! WTF we have in Malaysia?!?[/quote]

littlefire, nampaknya kamu benci sangat dgn Malaysia, pergilah migrate ke negara lain yg anda suka sangat tu.

• We standardize the car, say a continental Ford Focus. a Eu 5k for Eu 21-22k vs. RM5k for RM 111,800. The fraction is totally unbalance. If I'm in Europe, probably I'll buy a 2nd hand dump car cost about Eu1.5k, and get the redemption of Eu5k for a new car??

Muryadi, I knw u love My alot, keep it up.

• bobdbilder on Apr 18, 2009 at 7:33 pm

People just don't understand the labour situation in Europe do they? They think what's good for western world is good for us. Why do we look at countries with less GDP growth than us? Better to look at China.

Time magazine says the EU has a USD 700mil industry with average of 1 in 10 workers in Europe are involved in the Auto industry (I'm a bit sceptical about this one). Its a case of too many eggs in one basket. Subsidies or incentives differ from each country and RANGE from 1000EU to 5000EU. And most EU have high personal income tax. Plus most of it is for newer greener engined cars. Read Diesel. Again, policies differ from one to the other. The US is toying with the idea but only for local made cars. Protectionist measures? Sure sound like Malaysia to me.

The aim is to keep jobs. If they lose jobs, their government will have to pay for their welfare services. And there will be rioting in the streets led by Worker Unions.

The risk in high subsidies in Autos in Malaysia is apparent in possibility of increase in Non Performing Loans. People who own 10 year old cars probably can't afford to buy new cars.

Malaysians work in a lot of varied sectors such as Semiconductor, Finances, Services, Mining, Agriculture etc. We can't and more importantly, should not do it. Poverty eradication is the answer.

• muryadi on Apr 18, 2009 at 7:35 pm

[quote comment="231397"]We standardize the car, say a continental Ford Focus. a Eu 5k for Eu 21-22k vs. RM5k for RM 111,800. The fraction is totally unbalance. If I'm in Europe, probably I'll buy a 2nd hand dump car cost about Eu1.5k, and get the redemption of Eu5k for a new car??

Muryadi, I knw u love My alot, keep it up.[/quote]

Memanglah saya sayang sangat MY walaupun pernah kerja 5 tahun lebih kat luar negara.

Yg ada kereta umur lebih 10 tahun yg bernilai kurang dari RM5k eloklah dapatkan skim tu. Kemudian belilah Proton saga BLM solid M/T 1.3 yg harga RM36k, at least harganya sudah jadi RM31k, janganlah susah2 atau paksa diri beli model yg mahal2 sangat.

Barulah ada rasa untung. Biarlah padan dgn income masing2.

• bobdbilder on Apr 18, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Here's from the Czech Finance Minister,

He further questioned the morality of such schemes, saying they have dramatic social consequences for the poor. "If their situation deteriorates, they will lose the new car, while having scrapped the old one. The only thing left will be the debt. The automotive lobby will not care – they will have sold their car by then. This is even less moral than consumer credit offers, because they are not subsidised by the taxpayer."

And from an environmental NGO point of view;

The scheme also came under fire from environmental groups, which denounced its "absurdity". T&E, an environmental NGO, said the 2,500 euro bonus was being distributed "regardless of the carbon dioxide emissions" of the car models. "That means a motorist who scraps a 1999 Volkswagen Lupo TDi 3L, the most fuel-efficient vehicle ever mass-produced in Europe, and buys a 2009 Porsche Cayenne Turbo would still receive the full taxpayer-funded payment," T&E said.

• in reality, with 5k, one can only buy a new decent kapcai these days.

and we are not talking about owning a car yet…

• Paul Tan on Apr 18, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Thanks for the quote by the Czech Finance Minister, good one.

• AutoAlliance Thailand will manufacture the new Ford Fiesta and its sister model, the Mazda 2 for the ASEAN markets.

Production in the $500M facility is expected to begin later this year.

• elpaciko on Apr 19, 2009 at 12:17 am

rm5000 is not enough? what amount is enough? any amount is not enough for malaysian.. dont want to pay taxes but want everything free……

nobody want to talk about free education and free healthcare, but everybody seems very concern about car price.. as if cheap cars will elevated the quality of life to all malaysians…

it makes me wonders.. are you guys really a matured adults???

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 19, 2009 at 12:18 am

[quote comment="231381"][quote comment="231371"]Yup, RM5000 is like a joke. I already knew this wont be succesfull.. As we are living in a country which everything is not cheap! While our earning power is still low..

If they can offer EU5000*4.5 = RM22500?!? For rebate! And their car is not tax high compare to us! Besides that, their earning power is higher + currency better! WTF we have in Malaysia?!?[/quote]

littlefire, nampaknya kamu benci sangat dgn Malaysia, pergilah migrate ke negara lain yg anda suka sangat tu.[/quote]

Is not migrate or not migrate issue. Littlefire is just raising his opinion on RM5K subsidy compare the other country. His fact and study can be considered worthy. He feel injustice to him as tax payer. Who agree that typical Malaysia G is lack of transparency? They are collecting huge money but what where it goes? I give you simple example.

A foreign make company sell a car with RM140k. In this pricing, the RM40k only is excise duty to G. The actual selling price is only RM100k including 10% to 20% profit margin. Again this profit will be taxed at end of FY at 28% (corporate tax). So you can imagine how much G is earning from tax of 1 unit car?

Muryadi, faith can be kept up to some extent level but if they way our G is working now is totally wrong (in my opinion). With such huge tax still they don't do anything with the rakyat in the auto industry with basic salary of RM610. I suggest you don't talk without fact and better stay inside blanket and sleep freedomly.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 19, 2009 at 12:22 am

[quote comment="231401"][quote comment="231397"]We standardize the car, say a continental Ford Focus. a Eu 5k for Eu 21-22k vs. RM5k for RM 111,800. The fraction is totally unbalance. If I'm in Europe, probably I'll buy a 2nd hand dump car cost about Eu1.5k, and get the redemption of Eu5k for a new car??

Muryadi, I knw u love My alot, keep it up.[/quote]

Memanglah saya sayang sangat MY walaupun pernah kerja 5 tahun lebih kat luar negara.

Yg ada kereta umur lebih 10 tahun yg bernilai kurang dari RM5k eloklah dapatkan skim tu. Kemudian belilah Proton saga BLM solid M/T 1.3 yg harga RM36k, at least harganya sudah jadi RM31k, janganlah susah2 atau paksa diri beli model yg mahal2 sangat.

Barulah ada rasa untung. Biarlah padan dgn income masing2.[/quote]

Love is utmost priority but to keep suffering is not while certain people only is keep smiling.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 19, 2009 at 12:32 am

[quote comment="231462"]rm5000 is not enough? what amount is enough? any amount is not enough for malaysian.. dont want to pay taxes but want everything free……

nobody want to talk about free education and free healthcare, but everybody seems very concern about car price.. as if cheap cars will elevated the quality of life to all malaysians…

it makes me wonders.. are you guys really a matured adults???[/quote]

They don't talk about free education and healthcare because it will cost them another huge money. In Germany, the university fee is free but how their G manage to bear that cost? It is from the collection of amount of income tax plus VAT. The rate is 50% for income tax and 5 to 35% for all goods sold. If your income is 50000euro the net income only 25000euro. if you purchase meat worth of 5euro the net amount you need to pay is 7euro (35% VAT). So this is they money to sustain the free education. In fact Micheal Schumacher is living outside Germany to avoid those taxes!. Nothing in the world is cheap but just Malaysia is too expensive for average Malaysian.

• mystvearn on Apr 19, 2009 at 2:34 am

The UK gov has announced (few days ago) a £2000-£5000 grant to individuals to trade their old cars for electric or hybrid cars. For a greener car, and the amount is fixed. So better buy cheap cars, trade for £2k grant, buy electric car

• muryadi on Apr 19, 2009 at 2:54 am

[quote comment="231463"][quote comment="231381"][quote comment="231371"]Yup, RM5000 is like a joke. I already knew this wont be succesfull.. As we are living in a country which everything is not cheap! While our earning power is still low..

littlefire, nampaknya kamu benci sangat dgn Malaysia, pergilah migrate ke negara lain yg anda suka sangat tu.[/quote]

Is not migrate or not migrate issue. Littlefire is just raising his opinion on RM5K subsidy compare the other country. His fact and study can be considered worthy. He feel injustice to him as tax payer. Who agree that typical Malaysia G is lack of transparency? They are collecting huge money but what where it goes? I give you simple example.

A foreign make company sell a car with RM140k. In this pricing, the RM40k only is excise duty to G. The actual selling price is only RM100k including 10% to 20% profit margin. Again this profit will be taxed at end of FY at 28% (corporate tax). So you can imagine how much G is earning from tax of 1 unit car?

Muryadi, faith can be kept up to some extent level but if they way our G is working now is totally wrong (in my opinion). With such huge tax still they don't do anything with the rakyat in the auto industry with basic salary of RM610. I suggest you don't talk without fact and better stay inside blanket and sleep freedomly.[/quote]

The way Littlefire commented that "everything in Malaysia is not cheap" make me triggered. Right now I'm working in Japan and cost living here are very expensive compare to our beloved country Malaysia.

Yes, car and other things are cheap but not every body here can own Camry/Accord also.

Nak buat contoh pun janganlah kereta yg RM140K kalau takda tax mungkin RM100K, itu pun tak ramai yg mampu.

Dlm malaysia kalau suami & isteri income bersih RM6K sebulan pun dah kira ok. Tapi kat Japan ni nak bayar sewa sebuah studio apartment saya ni pun tak cukup lagi.

So biarlah littlefire tu sedar sikit.

• sick&tired on Apr 19, 2009 at 11:15 am

hello elpackio,

This is a car related blog, of course we will be talking about car prices la!

RM5,000 is definitely not enough as the car prices here are ridiculously high!

BTW I don't where you are from, but in Malaysia, we do pay taxes! Cars for one! Also by implying everyone here is not matured, it shows that you are the one who is immature!

muryadi,

why the fuck should we migrate! Is this your father's country?

This is our country also, so if you can't accept criticism, you are the one who should get the fuck out of here! Its because of narrow minded assholes like you our country is where it is today!

BTW stop comparing us to developed countries like Japan. The reason why the don't have to buy car's is bcos they choose not to as their public transport is much better compared to ours! Just because you are struggling to make a living in Japan, doesn't mean that the Japanese are also struggling. Case in point, do you think Bangla's can afford to buy car's in Malaysia? Hope you get the hint!

[quote comment="231462"]rm5000 is not enough? what amount is enough? any amount is not enough for malaysian.. dont want to pay taxes but want everything free……

it makes me wonders.. are you guys really a matured adults???[/quote]

• sick&tired on Apr 19, 2009 at 11:16 am

BTW the fiesta looks damn good! Looks like ford is making a come back!

• walao eh, u know whats the ownership cost is UK ah? parking, fuel, loh-tek,, environment tax, kow lat ler!

• i don't mind 2nd wave of scrapping effort from our govt.

but pls make it RM10K rebate for P1/P2 and RM6K rebate for other brands.

• whiteeye on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Tha]]]]]]]]]]]]]tat's means our gov just like a robber still the money and give u bec, when u pay tax them high, and than Malaysia gov tax again on good at high price tthan u use it again, typical goc become the middle person who earn it.WTF

• whiteeye on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:17 pm

Tat's our gov stilling the rakyat money by using tax, and than coming up with stupid policies and say they havent earn much after 50 yrs. Ur salary being tax, ur transportation being tax, ur goods being tax, and all goes to the corruption gov and coming with policies which struggle the rakyat. Who support these guy are stupid.

• whiteeye on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:19 pm

Tat's our gov stilling the rakyat money by using tax, and than coming up with stupid policies and say they havent earn much after 50 yrs. Ur salary being tax, ur transportation being tax, ur goods being tax, and all goes to the corruption gov and coming with policies which struggle the rakyat. Who support these guy are stupid.Typical Malaysia.

• whiteeye on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Their next 5 yrs Malaysia Goal sure lose like hell.

• whiteeye on Apr 19, 2009 at 4:24 pm

Their next Goal sure lose.

• Carlover on Apr 19, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Fiesta is really a good looking car unfortunately due to Malaysia tax structure to protect National Car no way is car is going to be having good sell becuase it will be easily price around RM80-rm100K. I strongly disagreed with muryadi said on asking people to migrate just because people commented on the Government car incentive. Sometime criticism is just to make our people work people if it take it positively not to say criticise meant no good.

Do you really think an incentive of RM5000 will be successful to make people change a car. I do agree it only should be on National car but the sum should be large because take for example Honday city alone our government is earning tax close to RM 25000 why not use half of it to subsidise the Rakyat to buy PRoton or PERODUA.

• whatever on Apr 19, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Ranger TDCi facelift coming soon, I heard Mondeo and S-Max also gonna be in this year…..For sure this fiesta gonna be in our shore by 2010…..Ford is making a comeback. Can't complain much of the price due to our tax structure. At lest we have more variant to choose rather than seeing honda, toyota only on the road. it is tiring i must say.

• anti_corruption on Apr 20, 2009 at 12:29 am

somebody should see the amount that goes to the cronies whenever an import car enter this country

then only realise how easy they make money out of a situation,

two thumbs, u know who u are!!

• tokmoh on Apr 20, 2009 at 5:56 am

To those critics,

Why don't u contest in the next election? I suppose u can come out with far better solution than as it is rite now?

Muryadi the immature brat? He's just being concerned. Ur narrow-mindedness made u guys blind that the grass is not always greener on the other side, so go ahead. Try work in Australia, Japan, UK, USA, Europe, etc. Tell us if it's so much better than here, n show pictures of u guys with ur brand new say, BMW M6 convertible? They're "cheap" there, rite?

Besides, how can RM5k is not enuf when it's only applicable for protons n peroduas? What, does Persona cost RM3 million that makes RM5k negligible?

Haih…… bertuah tul anak2 muda zaman skrg ni…… terlebih bertuah……

• [quote comment="231628"]Fiesta is really a good looking car unfortunately due to Malaysia tax structure to protect National Car no way is car is going to be having good sell becuase it will be easily price around RM80-rm100K. I strongly disagreed with muryadi said on asking people to migrate just because people commented on the Government car incentive. Sometime criticism is just to make our people work people if it take it positively not to say criticise meant no good.

Do you really think an incentive of RM5000 will be successful to make people change a car. I do agree it only should be on National car but the sum should be large because take for example Honday city alone our government is earning tax close to RM 25000 why not use half of it to subsidise the Rakyat to buy PRoton or PERODUA.[/quote]

dulu time tak bagi rm5000…tak de plak kecoh2.masing2 bleh je beli keta dan hidup aman. ni dah bagi bising2 plak. Nampaknya kerajaan tersilap langkah. Baik takyah bagi ape2. Tau erti bersyukur tak?

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 20, 2009 at 4:26 pm

[quote comment="231497"][quote comment="231463"][quote comment="231381"][quote comment="231371"]Yup, RM5000 is like a joke. I already knew this wont be succesfull.. As we are living in a country which everything is not cheap! While our earning power is still low..

Muryadi, faith can be kept up to some extent level but if they way our G is working now is totally wrong (in my opinion). With such huge tax still they don't do anything with the rakyat in the auto industry with basic salary of RM610. I suggest you don't talk without fact and better stay inside blanket and sleep freedomly.[/quote]

The way Littlefire commented that "everything in Malaysia is not cheap" make me triggered. Right now I'm working in Japan and cost living here are very expensive compare to our beloved country Malaysia.

Yes, car and other things are cheap but not every body here can own Camry/Accord also.

Nak buat contoh pun janganlah kereta yg RM140K kalau takda tax mungkin RM100K, itu pun tak ramai yg mampu.

Dlm malaysia kalau suami & isteri income bersih RM6K sebulan pun dah kira ok. Tapi kat Japan ni nak bayar sewa sebuah studio apartment saya ni pun tak cukup lagi.

So biarlah littlefire tu sedar sikit.[/quote]

Littlefire already "sedar" from the beginning. I understand he is trying to why car is too expensive in Malaysia. I explained in already previous posting that it just because G is imposing huge tax to every car sold in our country (more than Japan!!!). Yes agree with you that if car sold at RM100k also many can't afford it but you must remember there is still a lot of tax that G earns from that RM100K!. The thing is the indirect raw material from supplier is already taxed and when this material attached to car again tax when it becomes complete car again tax (excise duty and corporate tax). Typically, in Malaysia who can afford those car is having average income of rm5k. One year income nearly RM60k and again he is subjected for income tax! With such huge tax, the workers only received rm610 for basic salary. Nak beli susu anak pun tak dapat bang oi. Is it called justice? You're living in Japan so you do not know what we are suffering in Malaysia. I advice you better you stay in Japan and don't come back forever.

• whiteeye on Apr 20, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Everything in Malaysia is TAX becoz of G.

• muryadi on Apr 21, 2009 at 12:19 am

[quote comment="232005"]

Littlefire already "sedar" from the beginning. I understand he is trying to why car is too expensive in Malaysia. I explained in already previous posting that it just because G is imposing huge tax to every car sold in our country (more than Japan!!!). Yes agree with you that if car sold at RM100k also many can't afford it but you must remember there is still a lot of tax that G earns from that RM100K!. The thing is the indirect raw material from supplier is already taxed and when this material attached to car again tax when it becomes complete car again tax (excise duty and corporate tax). Typically, in Malaysia who can afford those car is having average income of rm5k. One year income nearly RM60k and again he is subjected for income tax! With such huge tax, the workers only received rm610 for basic salary. Nak beli susu anak pun tak dapat bang oi. Is it called justice? You're living in Japan so you do not know what we are suffering in Malaysia. I advice you better you stay in Japan and don't come back forever.[/quote]

First of all, I'm not a G or BN supporter and I'm a member of an opposition party since 21 years ago and now I'm almost 42 years old.

I also believe that our country can be much better. As tokmoh also mentioned with the scale of our own economy, RM5000 discount for any P1 and P2 products is already something.

Always try harder to appreciate our country and at the same time work harder towards having a good and better G to rule/manage our beloved country.

• chupacabra on May 12, 2009 at 10:56 pm

yea..very very typical malaysian..keep on complaining n never know when to stop…yet never feel grateful..what if the govt suddenly decided to lower the rebate to rm 1k? n u guys will be begging the govt to mark up back to rm 5k. i cant agree more with msi…(dulu time tak bagi rm5000…tak de plak kecoh2.masing2 bleh je beli keta dan hidup aman. ni dah bagi bising2 plak. Nampaknya kerajaan tersilap langkah. Baik takyah bagi ape2. Tau erti bersyukur tak?)

PLZ ok, bear in mind that our beloved Malaysia's living cost is 1 of the lowest in the world..so stop complaining abt getting a lower price rebate n comparing it with other countries…n pls ok…grow up!!

• Nicholas Chin on Aug 08, 2009 at 10:32 pm

To be really honest, I don't think the Fiesta will be coming to Malaysia, autoconneXion of Sime Darby is still in Lalaland on their marketing and sales strategies to be honest, look at the model line up. It's a pity. The Focus, Ranger, Everest (flopped) and the Escape (flopped again). The only money maker for Ford Malaysia was the Ranger, but that was like 5-6 years ago wasn't it? They aren't even addressing the real needs of the consumer. Ford Malaysia today only caters for die hard fans of Ford in this country. I WAS one of them – read: WAS.

I drive a Ford Telstar 2.0 Ghia, 1998 model and I would not hesitate to look into a Focus or a Mondeo, even a Fiesta, but with the current situation of service centers and clueless management, I think I would be forced to buy a Toyota instead. It only makes $en$e.

I would say that a real good line up to address the Malaysian market is to have something for every segment of our society, according to our purchasing power, and Ford DOES have this range of vehicles! But what is good old Sime Darby doing about it? Mr.CEO you tell me..