2010 Porsche Panamera 4-door GT officially revealed at Auto Shanghai 2009!

Porsche Panamera

The new Porsche Panamera has finally made its world public debut at the 2009 Auto Shanghai show in China. The fact that its debut location was picked in China shows us how China and other Asian markets are fast coming up the radar of European marques such as Porsche. In fact, Porsche sales in Asia grew 140% during the last fiscal year.

At launch time only the V8 and turbocharged V8 models will be made available but Porsche has revealed that a more economical 3.6 litre V6 and a hybrid model will be coming later. The Panamera measures 4970mm in length and 1420mm in height and offers 4 seats with a center console stretching all the way from the dash to the rear separating the left and right occupants.

The Panamera will also offer a start-stop system with the automatic transmission (this is usually paired only with a manual in the past), an air suspension with additional air volume available on demand in each spring, and an adjustable extendable rear spoiler in the Panamera Turbo.

Look after the jump for a a full photo gallery as well as a video of the Panamera exterior, interior and some driving footage.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=54]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aji Bugau on Apr 20, 2009 at 11:06 pm

Very nice..

• Dracryst on Apr 20, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Well…… it do look nice if you see it from the front. And that's it. Don't bother looking at the other angle or your judgement will be void. =D

• muryadi on Apr 21, 2009 at 12:00 am

For the Rich & Famous. Another choice for their toys.

• Luqman on Apr 21, 2009 at 12:07 am

[quote comment="232163"]Well…… it do look nice if you see it from the front. And that's it. Don't bother looking at the other angle or your judgement will be void. =D[/quote]

Well, you have to keep in mind that the Panamera is a competitor to Mercedes S-Class, BMW 7-Series and the Audi A8. It should not be a competitor to a sportscar.

From that point of view the looks are okay…

• [quote comment="232172"][quote comment="232163"]Well…… it do look nice if you see it from the front. And that's it. Don't bother looking at the other angle or your judgement will be void. =D[/quote]

Well, you have to keep in mind that the Panamera is a competitor to Mercedes S-Class, BMW 7-Series and the Audi A8. It should not be a competitor to a sportscar.

From that point of view the looks are okay…[/quote]

i think shd b Merc – CLS / VW – Passat CC

its a sports sedan-coupe

• Super car will make a person work 'very hard' to get a slick and muscular ride… bet it'll take one extraordinary person to have passion for a car like this. For sure this wont be bedroom poster for most kids. Just wondering, why can't they just leave this segment to VW or Audi?

• Jaybond on Apr 21, 2009 at 12:47 am

Panamera range are definitely more relevant / suited Porsche brand, than the Cayenne!!

• Gajen on Apr 21, 2009 at 2:11 am

honestly i find the shape ok just that instead of super salooon or 4 door or etc…this is more like superwagon…

n if this was a superwagon…i think the supersedan will look nice if they take the back from a 911 and keep the butt low like the 964s…lol

anyway the figures are stunning…i wonder abt the sound…

• China aoutomotif web melaporkan Proton/europestar akan pamerkan juga Exora. betul ke?

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 21, 2009 at 2:18 am

it may be a car that well engineered ..

but it is still looks ugly

• theanswer on Apr 21, 2009 at 2:58 am

front look nice..rear not nice..nway i thot the boot should be bigger..huhuhu~

• mystvearn on Apr 21, 2009 at 3:20 am

very ugly if viewd from the side. Its an Austin Maxi!

• 2fast on Apr 21, 2009 at 4:03 am

"The year's most exciting car" according to CAR magazine.

I wonder who will be the first Sultan or tycoon to get it in Malaysia.

• chaku on Apr 21, 2009 at 6:26 am

the butt is damnnnnnnnn ugly as can be…ugliest among the all the 4doors coupe…

• Dracryst on Apr 21, 2009 at 6:53 am

It is directed towards the range of Quattroporte, Rapide and such. But still, it's an ugly car nonetheless. Maybe they will refine the designs like what they did to Cayenne? Oh, what happened Porsche!

• nabill on Apr 21, 2009 at 7:17 am

very awkward looking..not nice at all ….

• wajarays on Apr 21, 2009 at 9:14 am

wowww …. great super car !!

• jason_mufc on Apr 21, 2009 at 11:41 am

Notice that there aren't many side pictures of the car? Nuff said…. it looks fugly from that angle…. another follow up to the already ugly Cayenne…. yeah yeah I don't have a Porsche, but even if I can afford one, this is the last one my list. I mean, Estoque? Rapide? and oh Quattroporte?!!! Goodness they all look so AWESOME!!! Even an S-Class looks centuries better than this…. sorry Porsche… stick to making 911s please…

• Bodow on Apr 21, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Kalau nak merasa keta nie kena gi keja kat UK la …kat malaysia nie tengok gambar je la haha

• lowprofile on Apr 21, 2009 at 9:51 pm

geoduck.

• lowprofile on Apr 21, 2009 at 9:53 pm

but a nice geoduck. who knows, the shape may grow on one. but ppl will buy it just because of the badge.

• LAmborghini666 on Apr 21, 2009 at 10:00 pm

i actually like the front, but the rear is disappointing, bring on the lamborghini estoque and audi a7

• vioskiller on Apr 24, 2009 at 10:11 pm

the rear is UGLY ??

HA?

WHAT THE HELL?

ouwh ya, thats from a STUPID DUMB ASS MALAYSIANS POINT OF VIEW whos always looking at those crap sagas and wiras everyday.

this is one of the most beautiful cars ever made.

and the rear looks so damn nice too.

exactly good porsche engineering.

even the british said it was beautiful.

but u ppl?

haha.

shit.

dont bash a car if u cant even afford one.

• Arowana on Aug 21, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Yeah, Porsche looks good and practical too.