Tyre safety for motorcyclists!

Bike Tyre Safety MonthTyre pressure is very important in cars but do you realise that it is even more important with motorcycles? The only contact between your bike and the road is two tiny patches of rubber.

Motorcycle tyres are already much thinner than car tyres, and there is only a fraction of that which is the contact patch. So it’s really important that you keep your tyres in good condition.

Here are some tips from a London-based non-profit organisation named TyreSafe which was set up to raise awareness of the dangers of defective, worn or incorrectly inflated tyres.

• Check your tyre pressures from cold at least once a week using an accurate gauge
  • Inflate tyres to the level recommended in the manufacturer’s handbook
  • Inspect tyres for cuts, bulges, uneven wear or objects embedded into the tread pattern and replace if necessary
  • Use dust caps to keep dirt away from the valve core and to act as a secondary air seal
  • If your rims are cracked or bent they should be replaced immediately
  • Check that your tread depth is not below the legal minimum
  • Replace old or damaged valve stems
  • Select the correct type of tyre for your machine and riding style
  • Check that both tyres fitted to the bike are made by the same manufacturer and have the same tread pattern
  • Make sure that your tyre has been fitted the right way round by checking the directional arrows on the sidewall
  • When replacing tube type tyres always use a new inner tube
  • Make sure your tyre/wheel assembly is balanced correctly
  • Keep oil and grease off your tyres using detergent if necessary
  • If you are unsure on any aspect of tyre pressure or tyre condition take your bike to an approved fitting centre and speak to the experts.

Feel free to add more below in the comments!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• thanks for the tips.. never knew that there are bike tyre safety month

• CocoBear on Apr 25, 2009 at 11:32 am

The most common problem with motorcyclists are:

– neglect/forgot/intentional to switch on their front or rear lights. They should ensure their lights are operational at all times.

– seldom/never use indicator lights. Maybe this is the habit of Malaysians? Sigh..

– some motorcyclists tend to over-inflate their tires. Obviously for fuel-economy, but how about safety??

• selekohboi on Apr 25, 2009 at 3:54 pm

i think it's most important to ensure the tail lamp i sworking, either std / brake lamp. its danger in the night, as we know Malaysia road condition is really that good & it's even more danger if you drive along the federal road in the night.

Not to forget to wear helmet PROPERLY.

• xzibit on Apr 25, 2009 at 5:49 pm

excuse me ,,, those lights are always switched on .. mayb u r not a rider ,,, thanks paul for giving some tips for riders … and ,, car driver give way for riders as they r also human …. dont think dat every rider is da same!!!!

• [quote comment="233705"]excuse me ,,, those lights are always switched on .. mayb u r not a rider ,,, thanks paul for giving some tips for riders … and ,, car driver give way for riders as they r also human …. dont think dat every rider is da same!!!![/quote]

That depends on the motorcycle itself. Some bikes have on/off switch for the headlight while others don't (the lights are on once u turn on the engine)

• Littlefire on Apr 25, 2009 at 7:00 pm

At overseas they have proper day light system. Most of our cars only have night light system and not design for day light.

If you went to see the new Audi A4, you will know what is call day light system. Day light system is different in term of the light color & brightness. If i not mistaken day light system at overseas are using white LED to give more attention for other drivers.

• mokkf82 on Apr 25, 2009 at 8:32 pm

The only problem most rider has is there is not proper lane for the bike. Most of the bikers would just ride at the far side of the road while the big ones just swoosh past them we crazy speeds. The passing wind would drag them to the side. This makes driving a motorcycle becoming more unstable and dangerous. If you would be a biker, u would understand what i want to bring up here.

There are certain condition where bikers take ride of the whole lane, cars from behind would honk crazy until the bike give it's way out!

Don't do that pls, i believe they just want to ride safely with wider area. I personally withnessed before where a car suddenly honk a bike from behind and scare the hell out of the biker, resulting her nearly hit the side ways.

If there would be a special lane for the bikers, i believe they would appreciate it alot

There are still majority of M'sian relying motocycle as main transpotation. So pls care about them.

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 25, 2009 at 9:00 pm

I understand motorcyclists want a wider area when they're riding their bike but do they actually stop behind a car when they're at a traffice light? No they crowd the front area and thus causing a jam. Lets not have the cake and eat it, and to be fair a person has to pay more road tax for a car compare to a motorcyclist, shouldn't a person who has paid more road tax have more preference compared to a person who has paid less road tax. And yes motorcycles in Malaysia will have their lights switched on automatically once they start their motorcycle, the problem is that most of the time their lights are spoilt and when we knock them, they'll gang up and start killing people.

• BrakeFader on Apr 25, 2009 at 9:33 pm

Motorcyclist are human too. Show courtesy to them as well as they are similar to pedestrians. However there isn't much benefit for Motorcylist here. Motorcycle lanes are non existant or just poorly available. And when it rains, its tough for them too.

However in terms of safety, they too must make sure that they are visible as well. I noticed a lot of bikes that do not switch on their lights or maybe the bulb has blown. It is dangerous especially at night and they must always ensure that their lights are working at all times.

When it comes to Motorcycle vs. Cars, cars will have a lot to lose if both got into an accident. Insurance claim is near impossible if a car is being hit by a bike, so might as well avoid them at all cost. Giving way to them whenever is possible. You won't want to live feeling guilty for permanently disabling a motorcylist or killing them.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 25, 2009 at 10:00 pm

Wait until petrol price sky-rocketed… suddenly driving on two wheeler seem like driving a Lotus Elise…

• shan0025 on Apr 25, 2009 at 10:13 pm

paul, ur rss system is not working..i keep getting 'live bookmark feed failed to load' error…

• whats the problem with motorcyclist crowding at the front?i dont think that causee traffic jams.

• dodgeviper88,

do you mean biker should queue back to back behind car and make the jam worst? LOL…

• RunnerUp on Apr 26, 2009 at 1:55 am

Hmm. Bikers. I hate bikers yang mencelah2, then honk the cars when there's not enough room for them to "selit" through. I mean, korang yang dok mencelah sane-sini, pastu sebok nak marah orang?

Of course, i dont hate all bikers. Only those who do the above.

• mystvearn on Apr 26, 2009 at 2:53 am

for my motorcycle:

I change the "lidi" rims with sport rims. Then put tubeless tyres. Long run, that tubeless tyres last longer, does not deflate easily and cheaper to repair.

• afroiq on Apr 26, 2009 at 8:25 am

[quote comment="233834"]Hmm. Bikers. I hate bikers yang mencelah2, then honk the cars when there's not enough room for them to "selit" through. I mean, korang yang dok mencelah sane-sini, pastu sebok nak marah orang?

Of course, i dont hate all bikers. Only those who do the above.[/quote]

lol..they honk because some of the driver turn lane without signal main nak masuk ajer..siapa tak marah..lagi satu they honk maybe because some drivers that makan jalan, kan ada lane masing-masing so keep in the lane lah..dont have to block motorcycle that want to selit..

dodgeviper88..its better they crowded the front area than causing a traffic jamm when you are driving car..who is causing traffic congestion?..car or motorcycle..most of the time motor acceleration is better than car..if they is in front of you, they can pecut as soon as possible..

• xzibit on Apr 26, 2009 at 9:41 am

[quote comment="233736"]I understand motorcyclists want a wider area when they're riding their bike but do they actually stop behind a car when they're at a traffice light? No they crowd the front area and thus causing a jam. Lets not have the cake and eat it, and to be fair a person has to pay more road tax for a car compare to a motorcyclist, shouldn't a person who has paid more road tax have more preference compared to a person who has paid less road tax. And yes motorcycles in Malaysia will have their lights switched on automatically once they start their motorcycle, the problem is that most of the time their lights are spoilt and when we knock them, they'll gang up and start killing people.[/quote]

hi .. dod .. i think motocyclist crowding in front does not cause jam . in fact alot of cars on da road nowadays da one causing jams .. u should be knowing dat ,. y r u throwing da blame on motocyclist . besides dat, how much u pay in for ur road tax does not value a human’s life on da road .. hey wat about pedestrians dat does not pay road tax dat uses road ??? i think its just an opinion .. everybody has to play their role when using da road..to make road a safe place to be on.. do not value people on road on how much they pay their road tax .. .. hey man no offense ya .

• LosBandaleros on Apr 26, 2009 at 10:02 am

Motorcyclists love to hog the front of the crowd especially @ traffic lights. Acap nak laju, coz the just go all the way front. In the end, all those kapcai are the slowest obstructing everybody behind. I mean, ya wana go in front, then live up to your bravey and dont hold up traffic. Just my two cents.

• Ferdinand Piëch on Apr 26, 2009 at 10:28 am

stay on your motorcycle lanes and not on the three lane highways!

• Mantot on Apr 26, 2009 at 11:03 am

Haha,nice discussion

Rider go in front of the queue because i dont think we wants longer queue during traffic jams.

one thing that i hate the most is that most car driver thinks that motorcyclist should ride on the emergency lane.come on people,THAT IS EMERGENCY LANE.Not motorcycle lane.We (I mean motorcyclist) have the right to use the "proper" lane.Motorcyclist should be using the same lane that the car is using and there is no fault in that.Just dont slow down the traffic.

But what do u expect in Malaysia?Bikes are actually much-much more being tax compared to cars so most of Malaysian can only afford a very basic EX5.The motorcycle is not even created for a purpose of traveling far for everyday use.It is a "pegi pasar bike" not a daily commuter bike

How do you expect motorcyclist not to block the traffic if the bike can only go until 80km/h (car meter reading) while full throttling and bending down to reduce the wind drag?

Ask the government.It's the government choice.

It is not just about the speed,it is also about the safety.Majority of the bikes sold in Malaysia (I mean the Kapcai and the Scooter) are not meant to be used as what the public's daily way of using it now.Most of the people are daily commuting using the EX5 everyday for 50km,just because the government make us do it.

Do feel pity for those who cant afford a car.They can actually afford a better transportation.But this is all about someone else making decision for us.It's the system that's rotten, actually.

• Mantot on Apr 26, 2009 at 11:18 am

Just to help,

It is highly recommended that you change your "normal" rim to the a third party made sport rims that can accept tubeless tyre.

There's a lot of benefit .

1.You won't have to worry to much about sliding in case the tyre explode (like normal tube tyre) because tubeless tyre wont explode

2.Even if tubeless tyre is punctured,the air will not come out altogether.You still have time to reach your destination.If it is too far,stop by a petrol station to add more air first.

3.You still can ride slowly on a deflated tubeless tyre,just make sure you dont hit any hole to protect the rims

4.Repairing/Closing an opening on a tubeless tyre is easier.You can buy the "worm" and always bring it anywhere in case of emergency.You can do it yourself.

5.Spoke rim is much2 stronger than normal "lidi" rims

6.Just make sure you buy a suitable tyre that has label "Tubeless." Do not listen to any mechanic that says normal tyre can be fitted to a sport rims.The wall on the side of the tyre is different,for tubeless it is much higher to make the rubber grips the rim better.

7.You dont have to call those "road side" unauthorized mechanic to replace the tube.Saves you a lot of money.

• Siti Saerah on Apr 26, 2009 at 5:20 pm

Paul, what about a download link to DSZ speeech. It will motivate my students. TQ

• Maybe all bikes sold here should already come with tubeless.

Just my 2 cents…

• hmmaster.wordpress.c on Apr 26, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Is it ok to replace only the rear tyre and not both front and rear? Just changed my rear tyre ytd…

• afroiq on Apr 27, 2009 at 12:02 am

[quote comment="233915"]stay on your motorcycle lanes and not on the three lane highways![/quote]

federal highway is the only highway that have motorcycle lane..but most of big bikes cant use that lane because it's to narrow, the tunnel is too low, even i have to bend down to avoid tunnel roof..

most of car driver to arrogant nowadays..when we are fast in the right lane, they will suka-suka hati masuk, and then lembab pulak tue..when we slow on that lane they marah the motorcyclist pulak..what mentality is that?

• bobdbilder on Apr 27, 2009 at 2:27 am

Most of my age were riders before becoming riders. Most knew Wayne Rainey, Mick Doohan, Ron Haslam the unforgettable Randy Mamola before knowing Michael Schumacher, Nelson Piquet or Eddie Irvine. A CBR looks sexy then. A Katana iconic. A Hayabusa is divine

Bikers are more exposed to the environment and really need to be on their alert 4 times as much as drivers do. Space Realization is a safety net. They need to make everyone else around them aware of their presence. Hence honking when drivers are stupid to change lanes when you don't look at your mirrors. We complain of bikers slipping through the tinniest of space, yet drivers do the same by making two lanes into threes. We are ALL the same idiots. Its called bigotry.

If drivers complain of the taxes on cars, they should learn what bikers have to pay. If most bikes that people use are big enough, they can't manuever like scooters or underbone kapchais do. But big bikes are expensive to buy and get a loan.

If 10% of bikers in Malaysia became drivers, we would have a major traffic problem, our environment becomes more polluted and our fuel consumption is more. Why don't we see that bikers reduce cost of infrastructure, and a more efficient use of energy?

• AbangTerra on Apr 27, 2009 at 5:10 am

ohhh…so project "helmet" finish spending already la?…time to move on to tyres?…what next?… motorbikers must wear shinguards, shoulder pads, leg pads?…no slippers….

adoi…

• RunnerUp on Apr 27, 2009 at 2:41 pm

[quote comment="233886"][quote comment="233834"]Hmm. Bikers. I hate bikers yang mencelah2, then honk the cars when there's not enough room for them to "selit" through. I mean, korang yang dok mencelah sane-sini, pastu sebok nak marah orang?

lol..they honk because some of the driver turn lane without signal main nak masuk ajer..siapa tak marah..lagi satu they honk maybe because some drivers that makan jalan, kan ada lane masing-masing so keep in the lane lah..dont have to block motorcycle that want to selit..[/quote]

lol too. to be fair, i hate car drivers who do that as well. there's too much to hate on the road, hope everyone will be more patient. me especially. kekekeke.

and i think there's one interesting tv/radio ad… about how people are so polite at home, in the bank etc etc, but on the road…? hmmm. different story.

• swoosh3553 on Apr 27, 2009 at 3:48 pm

[quote comment="234130"][quote comment="233886"][quote comment="233834"]Hmm. Bikers. I hate bikers yang mencelah2, then honk the cars when there's not enough room for them to "selit" through. I mean, korang yang dok mencelah sane-sini, pastu sebok nak marah orang?

lol..they honk because some of the driver turn lane without signal main nak masuk ajer..siapa tak marah..lagi satu they honk maybe because some drivers that makan jalan, kan ada lane masing-masing so keep in the lane lah..dont have to block motorcycle that want to selit..[/quote]

lol too. to be fair, i hate car drivers who do that as well. there's too much to hate on the road, hope everyone will be more patient. me especially. kekekeke.

and i think there's one interesting tv/radio ad… about how people are so polite at home, in the bank etc etc, but on the road…? hmmm. different story.[/quote]

Agree with you totally!! I was also a kapcai rider for 10years. Then i went overseas for further education. For 2 years I was in England doing my degree. There I got the chance to ride M-cycle and also to drive. Drivers' behaviour is totally different. They are so calm and great road mindness. When I got back, it took me 2 months to re-adapt back to being a "hell" driver. I could not even gather enough courage to come out of a round-a-bout for that 2 months. Waiting for my turn to exit the roundabout will always result to driver behind honking and "cucuk-ing" my bumper! I guess the environment changes us drivers and bikers to be what we are now (and for the next century and beyond). I do not think that malaysian road users will ever chance, unless greater authority takes a stance and enforce actions without prejudice. (PS: Australian road users is another good example of good road behaviour). Anyway, this thread is about tyres, not bikes/riders' attitudes. I shall go back to the topic… peace to all!

• MoveJJE on Apr 27, 2009 at 4:00 pm

hahaha..

seems like drivers vs riders..

drivers hates the riders, and riders hates driver…depends on condition..

for those drivers complaining riders, you should try ride by yourself..

dont simply complaint riders about their attitude..

and for those riders, also dont complaint on drivers behavior.. you will be at same attitude when you drive…

we all same la…dont simply say other people… as RunnerUp mentioned, different story on the road..

cheers

• zackrossi on Apr 27, 2009 at 5:17 pm

[quote comment="234144"]hahaha..

seems like drivers vs riders..

drivers hates the riders, and riders hates driver…depends on condition..

for those drivers complaining riders, you should try ride by yourself..

dont simply complaint riders about their attitude..

and for those riders, also dont complaint on drivers behavior.. you will be at same attitude when you drive…

we all same la…dont simply say other people… as RunnerUp mentioned, different story on the road..

cheers[/quote]

Yup…really agreed with you. I'm everday riding to work & weekend driver. As long as people whatever they driving or riding, the attitude are the main problem. If 'kiasu' attitude still in your mind, there's no solution for that.

P/s: If every riders driving cars to work, traffic jem are worst you even experience for your life. Think about it……….

• thanks paul. hope that you can continue more and more on the motorbike scene here in Malaysia. thanks again.

• jaraju on Apr 27, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Dear motorcyclists, please wear your safety jackets especially when you are driving at night or in the rain.

• sixspeed on Apr 28, 2009 at 12:31 am

Motorbikers also need to remember that without car drivers there won't be these nice wide streets and modern toll highways. The streets will still be the old narrow streets if not widened to accomodate more cars. And how to build and maintain them without the additional road tax car drivers contribute? And definitely won't be so many modern highways for motorbikes to use for free without car drivers to pay the tolls.

Keep in mind that if everyone only rode motorbikes there will also be huge jams. Don't believe me? go to Cambodia and see for yourself. Small town like Siem Reap, hardly any cars but during rush hour main road can have jams just as bad as KL, all made up of many many motorbikes, tuk tuk, bicycle, pedestrians all crammed together on old narrow streets.

Everyone has to share the road so remember it's not about cars or bikes or whatever it's about PEOPLE. A mat rempit is also going to drive cars like an a**hole, and an idiot driver is also going to break laws on a bike. Someone who is law-abiding and polite in a car will probably be the same on a bike and vice-versa.

• shoruken on Apr 28, 2009 at 2:33 am

Just one comment on the motorcyclist. Please check whether you are allowed to use the flyover. There is a sign that motorcyclist needs to use alternate lane before most flyovers if not mistaken.

• Azman on Apr 28, 2009 at 10:01 am

To all who think that because car drivers pays more road tax, then they have greater rights, that is bulls*%$. Road tax is arbitrary value the gov ask from you.

If you think that way, then the ferari/lambo driver has more right than you because they pay higher road tax? they can push you aside ? what if i have a car, a big bike and kapcai for work. i pay in total more than most so that means when on my kapcai i have more rights than you? wrong! everybody has the same rights to be on the road.

• Mufasa Hulaho on Apr 28, 2009 at 9:29 pm

why there is no item of new cab motocycle in paultan, ibelieve people like to know latest scuter in malaysia market, all motocycle of modenas, boon siew and yamaha… so later we going to have basher of modenas… :P

• xflixz on May 02, 2009 at 1:11 am

nice article paul!!

thankss..

• WC Sang on May 02, 2009 at 7:56 am

I am both a driver and rider. I drive whenever there is a need, like bringing the family out. I ride to work on a daily basis. My bike is a middleweight, 500cc to be exact. I drive a Wira 1.5. After all these hoohaa about driver/rider, I could not help but put in my thoughts, though just my pesonal opinion, of course. First of all, insurance premium we are paying for car/bike is about the same (in my case) BUT roadtax for Wira 1.5 is just RM90 compare to my bike which is RM130. Secondly, like the guys just said, riding a kapcai can go max 80-90kph, a lorry travels faster than that. Imagine a lorry or bus whisking by at higher speed with the kapcai riding in the emergency lane. The force of wind will surely throw the kapcai off the road. We big bikers dont ride in the inside lane, primary because of these reasons and we are not that fast anyway as we are just travelling the same speed as cars on the fast lane. The only difference is that we are QUICKER. We dont usually brake tremendously whenever we come behind slower traffic and wait for a chance to pass, like cars do, we just need to slow down our bikes and slip through. That's the reason why most drivers feel that big bikes are fast and just whisks by. Talk about riding in motorbike lane, let me say something here. My middleweight bike is more or less weight 200kg. Bikes this heavy do not maneuver like a kapcai when in slow speed. Try ride one and you get my drift. Very difficult riding these big bikes along the small and winding motorbike lane. One last thing, big bikers are all very mature riders as we are not like those youngters, as our bikes are just as expensive as your imported cars and with higher maintenance cost. Not to mention our riding gears and full riding lights on, all for the sake of safety, of course.