New Ford Ranger facelift now in Malaysia!

Ford Ranger

First unveiled as the Ranger MAX Concept at the Thai Motor Expo in November last year, the new Ford Ranger facelift is now on sale in Malaysia as a CBU import from its regional production center in Rayong, Thailand.

The Ranger’s 2.5 litre Duratorq turbodiesel engine with lag-free VGT puts out 143 PS and 330Nm of torque, mated to either a 5-speed manual (RM83,888 Peninsular and RM86,388 East Malaysia) or a 5-speed automatic transmission (RM88,888 Peninsular and RM92,388 East Malaysia). if you buy it now you can get a free accessory package worth RM2,000 while stocks last.

Ford seems to have abandoned its “a truck should look like a truck” stand that it took when it first launched this edition of the Ranger, as the new facelift now has alot more curves that was previously reserved for the Mazda Fighter. Much of the front is new, with new headlamps and new fender panels etc but most of the rear remains the same. The new look was designed by a team based in Melbourne.

Ford Ranger

On the interior there are 2 airbags, and an AM/FM and MP3-capable CD changer with AUX input. There are various conveniences in the interior such as a slide-out tray that can support up to 10kg and a two-level arm rest storage area. The rear bed has dimensions of 1,530mm by 1,456mm.

As for off-road capability, Ford claims a 34 degree approach angle and a 33 degree departure angle, with an underside that is said to be well armoured. The rear suspension uses leaf springs with oversized 32mm gas shocks, while the front uses a double wishbone with torsion bar spring design. The fuel tank, transfer case, engine and transmission are protected by steel plating.

There is a low-range gearing reduction of 2.48:1 for the auto and 2.02:1 for the manual. The rear differential is a torque-sensing multiple LSD to help split torque balance optimally between the left and right rear wheels whenever the situation calls for it.

Look after the jump for a gallery of the Ranger.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=265]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• khhaaalleeed on Apr 30, 2009 at 10:53 am

the truck looks too decorated.. especially the side signal vent.. but its a nice piece of work..

• This truck is so outdated. It look cheap like China truck.

• d new design somehow look more soft than d previous wan…. not so tough. sissy yes.

• freeze on Apr 30, 2009 at 12:36 pm

I'm not too sure but isn't model that one that did quite badly in the E NCAP crash test? This and the D-Max, did not do well.

• Alfa Juliet on Apr 30, 2009 at 12:39 pm

“If it ain’t broke, why fix it?”

• azrai on Apr 30, 2009 at 3:51 pm

It look like it take some cues from its sister from mazda (B50). I think the Starship troopers triton is more exciting.

• WhatTheFuzz on Apr 30, 2009 at 4:41 pm

I reckon the front-end this time is very refreshing. Having said that, I still think the Triton's still got the best looking rear-ends among the pick-ups.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 30, 2009 at 4:50 pm

[quote comment="234941"]I'm not too sure but isn't model that one that did quite badly in the E NCAP crash test? This and the D-Max, did not do well.[/quote]

trucks traditionally do not do well in safety tests, due to the way their chassis is designed. Also, their high centre of gravity also results in more rollover accidents than any other vehicle. In the US especially, due to the large amount of trucks, and SUV's on their roads, the accident rates involving these type of vehicles are at a worrying level. These rollovers, especially for SUV's have also resulted in very high death rates.

• sick and tired on Apr 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm

ford sold out :(

• _xXx_ on Apr 30, 2009 at 4:58 pm

what RM2000 accessories pkg? Please don't give those stupid/heavy kangaroo bar anymore. It's killer bar and there's NO Kangaroos on the road here

• littlefire on Apr 30, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Mitsubishi triton & Toyota Hilus did a very good result in EURONCAP, if i not mistaken around 3-4 star. At first Nissan Navara only get 1 star at first due to late deployment of air-bag, after fix the problem become 3-4 star again… Last time even the old Nissan Frontier get 5 star from US NCAP dont know real or not…

But for Ford Ranger, i think is just the facelift. How's the rear? Still like last time cramp?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 30, 2009 at 5:50 pm

[quote comment="234991"]Mitsubishi triton & Toyota Hilus did a very good result in EURONCAP, if i not mistaken around 3-4 star. At first Nissan Navara only get 1 star at first due to late deployment of air-bag, after fix the problem become 3-4 star again… Last time even the old Nissan Frontier get 5 star from US NCAP dont know real or not…

But for Ford Ranger, i think is just the facelift. How's the rear? Still like last time cramp?[/quote]

euroncap dont include rollover test in their criteria.. thats the problem. only in the US. but interestingly, proton has already tested their exora for rollover.

• [quote comment="234983"]what RM2000 accessories pkg? Please don't give those stupid/heavy kangaroo bar anymore. It's killer bar and there's NO Kangaroos on the road here[/quote]

LOL.

Remind me of this…
    http://karhoe.net/driving-at-230km/h-and-hitting-…

sometimes, kangaroo bars actually work!

• ambipur on Apr 30, 2009 at 6:02 pm

front looks very american.

not bad for facelift though.

just sad that new 4×4 pickups are made for the road rather than off road.

still prefer the old ford courier and hilux's. stock also can bring for off road.

hopefully the lag free is as it is. cant wait to test drive it.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Apr 30, 2009 at 6:22 pm

_xXx_ said,

April 30, 2009 @ 8:58 am · Reply with quote

what RM2000 accessories pkg? Please don’t give those stupid/heavy kangaroo bar anymore. It’s killer bar and there’s NO Kangaroos on the road here!

Agree with u, that's why it's called BULL BAR here! More like 'Bull(shit) bar', ha ha ha . . .

• Black Dog on Apr 30, 2009 at 7:46 pm

Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays!

• sutheshkumar on Apr 30, 2009 at 8:04 pm

no more side airbags?

the prefacelift ha it during its mid life update.

• NutzeyWagen on Apr 30, 2009 at 9:39 pm

My fear confirmed. Ford had went the way of the Japanese. They shouldn't have abandoned their "a truck should look like a truck" stance. It's akin to shooting themselves in the foot. As it is now, the 'new' Ranger doesn't look HUGE, TOUGH n IMPOSING anymore. Those are three traits a pick-up MUST have. Ford has gone 'sissy'!

Another thing that disappoints me is the engine. I thought that Ford would do 'something' to improve on its' outputs, but it looks like they are playing second fiddle to the 'Mother Trucker". Sigh!

Initially though, I was eagerly waiting for the Ranger to make its' entrance into our market, and now that it has, reckon I'll still be stuck driving my 'old' 1999 model which is still a joy to drive.

For me, there's only one word to sum-up the 'new' Ford Ranger. "DISAPPOINTING!". Ciao!

• Roti naan on Apr 30, 2009 at 9:44 pm

the fender side vent looks cheap, and plasticky too….

• mitlanevo on Apr 30, 2009 at 9:48 pm

[quote comment="235020"]Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays![/quote]

but that doesn't mean a need to destroy the overall "truck appearance", right? the sissy mitsu tiga wanton and alien actyon are good examples……

luckily we still have Ranger, Navara, and D-Max…. (just forget about that dumb hilux)

• NutzeyWagen on Apr 30, 2009 at 10:30 pm

For goodness sake guys! We're talking about 4-wheel-drive twin cab pick-up here. It should be built, looks and feels like one, and certainly not 'looks like one, feels like one, but is not one'. Forget about creature comfort in a 4WD twin cab pick-up, forget about feels-like-driving-a-car in a 4WD twin cab pick-up, forget about the it-looks-like-the-one-on-a-car features in a 4WD twin cab pick-up. If one needs all these in a 4WD twin cab pick-up, better go buy a car or an MPV.

A 4WD twin cab pick-up IS a 4WD twin cab pick-up. It should be built TOUGH, looks TOUGH, feels TOUGH and MUST be TOUGH!!! INSIDE OUT!

Ciao!

• Orlando on Apr 30, 2009 at 11:33 pm

Prfffhhh.. Look like Proton Arena…

btw.. Any replacement for Arena?

• theanswer on Apr 30, 2009 at 11:35 pm

[quote comment="234969"]It look like it take some cues from its sister from mazda (B50). I think the Starship troopers triton is more exciting.[/quote]

i thot it looks like a stromtrooper soldier from star wars.

• theanswer on Apr 30, 2009 at 11:37 pm

[quote comment="235049"][quote comment="235020"]Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays![/quote]

but that doesn't mean a need to destroy the overall "truck appearance", right? the sissy mitsu tiga wanton and alien actyon are good examples……

luckily we still have Ranger, Navara, and D-Max…. (just forget about that dumb hilux)[/quote]

not really that dumb if u regularly watch top gear. hilux is a tough vehicle..and a well known model in pick up market compared to navara n dmax.

• Gajen on May 01, 2009 at 12:48 am

this is very ugly….hilux is still the best

• JULIAN_LEE on May 01, 2009 at 1:01 am

BMW X5 better

• S-Vee-four on May 01, 2009 at 2:05 am

Well Built and Look TOUGH didnt sell trucks did it?

Hilux and Triton went on looks and they got their trucks out of the showroom.

Wonder how many of these nice twin cab trucks are actually driven by the low level workers? Only the site managers or high level staff gets the nice twin cabs, the actual work horses are those single cab ones.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2009 at 2:15 am

Hate the design. Like the old one better.

Too sissy for my liking.

Even Triton is heaps better in design.

• The inside is the splitting image of Mazda BT50, from the middle console to the work tray. It really is a BT50 with a Ford badge.

• Rulered on May 01, 2009 at 3:00 am

Wonder when will they introduce Ford Escape replacement model?

• Lancermania on May 01, 2009 at 3:39 am

the head lamp looks like Vigo head lamp 2 me..

• Luqman on May 01, 2009 at 4:48 am

A 2.5 liter turbodiesel engine with 143 PS and 330Nm of torque ?

Not that much. BMWs 123d has 204 hp and 400Nm out of 2.0 liter and VW announced the new 2.0 TDI, also with 204 hp, for 2010.

But okay, they are playing in a different league and are more expensive…

• ok laa…

cheers!

• Alfa Juliet on May 01, 2009 at 6:42 am

I can't take it anymore – staring at the front end of this "truck" makes me feel queasy…erghhh…

*pukes all over the keyboard*

• Alfa Juliet on May 01, 2009 at 7:02 am

Well…on a serious note, I reckon the front end doesn't look appealing because the lines don't flow and the side vents seem rather out of place. The pre-facelift Ranger looks a hundred times better than this!

• how come malaysia ford so outdated design….please check for europeon and usa ford design..

• tokmoh on May 01, 2009 at 8:35 am

[quote comment="235101"]The inside is the splitting image of Mazda BT50, from the middle console to the work tray. It really is a BT50 with a Ford badge.[/quote]

I remembered the Ranger was launched first before the Mazda. But then again, Mazda's under Ford so… yeah.

[quote comment="235020"]Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays![/quote]

Are u a woman who drives a truck?

I dun see why women want to own trucks unless they're in the construction industry or w/e. Even then, if they have to, just get a… a… God I hate to say this: Nautica. They can get space, they get 4WD to tackle hard terrains n they get better comfort.

• droll on May 01, 2009 at 9:43 am

*i feel sick*………..yucks! ugly looking truck.

then again, people who buy this aren't into the looks department, or are they??

• Gajen on May 01, 2009 at 11:11 am

[quote comment="235066"][quote comment="235049"][quote comment="235020"]Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays![/quote]

luckily we still have Ranger, Navara, and D-Max…. (just forget about that dumb hilux)[/quote]

not really that dumb if u regularly watch top gear. hilux is a tough vehicle..and a well known model in pick up market compared to navara n dmax.[/quote]

yea true…they burnt it, drown it, banged it, and dropped it from a 40 storey building…and it still worked…top gear even drove the hilux to the north pole where ppl said it would be impossible for a vehicle to get there..

mitlanevo pls think before u say

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 01, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Off topic here… :D Chrysler has filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection which essentially says that they are bankrupt. So who is next on the list?

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 01, 2009 at 5:14 pm

[quote comment="235173"][quote comment="235066"][quote comment="235049"][quote comment="235020"]Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays![/quote]

not really that dumb if u regularly watch top gear. hilux is a tough vehicle..and a well known model in pick up market compared to navara n dmax.[/quote]

yea true…they burnt it, drown it, banged it, and dropped it from a 40 storey building…and it still worked…top gear even drove the hilux to the north pole where ppl said it would be impossible for a vehicle to get there..

mitlanevo pls think before u say[/quote]

The Hilux is a working man kind of pick-up. It can handle job that others will find difficult. If you look around, most construction and utility companies uses Hilux whereas the other brands are used by and Tom, Dick, Harry and Jane for everyday use. The best way to describe Hilux is, it is average in look, performance and price but as a whole package, it beat all the other brands.

By the way, I heard last year that Toyota was supposed to bring in the Tundra for our local market but due to high price of fuel, they scrapped the plan. maybe now they should reconsider and let Malaysian see the true Mother of All Truck.

• ProTon LoVeR (Member) on May 01, 2009 at 11:25 pm

the look like so so la……

but its more better than the chinese truck… eewwww

• ProTon LoVeR (Member) on May 01, 2009 at 11:29 pm

what happend if this ranger do the moose test…….

im confident that it will rollover like othrs suv and truck….

• mitlanevo on May 01, 2009 at 11:35 pm

[quote comment="235066"][quote comment="235049"][quote comment="235020"]Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays![/quote]

tough vehicle? i will recommend Ranger instead of hilux….

as for TRUE pickup market, rides like Chevy, Ford and Dodge are the real dominators…….

• mitlanevo on May 01, 2009 at 11:42 pm

[quote comment="235173"][quote comment="235066"][quote comment="235049"][quote comment="235020"]Those that think a truck should look like a old truck belongs to their dad's era. The modern truck should be tough & powerful YET STYLISH. Even woman drives 'trucks' nowadays![/quote]

mitlanevo pls think before u say[/quote]

well, how about u try all those silly Jeremy stuff again with other trucks? let's say…. a tougher Ranger, or a bold looking Navara, or even something better, like Dodge Ram and Ford F-150……

dude, think twice before replying someone's comment, don't be as dumb as a hilux….. peace~

• SXtrail on May 02, 2009 at 12:08 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KBIBCK-veA&feature=related

• NutzeyWagen on May 02, 2009 at 12:50 am

Just for interest sake. How many of you guys OWN a 4WD twin cab pick-up? I owned one and so does many of my associates. Ciao!

• NutzeyWagen on May 02, 2009 at 12:53 am

Sorry, typo : "I own one……." Ciao!

• NutzeyWagen on May 02, 2009 at 12:58 am

Oops! Sorry, typo. "I own one……." Ciao!

• freeze on May 02, 2009 at 1:42 am

I don't dare call this truck tough. I saw the video of the crash test, the whole thing just crumpled up. It scored only 3 points for frontal collision. Even Impian did better, and that's saying a lot about how safe this truck is.

So if you're gonna have a high speed frontal collision, it's safer to be in an Impian/Waja.

• pions on May 02, 2009 at 1:50 am

just average.not maskulin at all.seem like sotong to me

• dodgeviper88 on May 02, 2009 at 3:24 am

I was comparing all the specs among the pick up trucks and I find Toyota seems to have the least power and the 2nd most expensive after Navara. Anyone could explain why Hilux only has 100hp on their 2.5 while others have around 130-175hp?

• Lewis on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:39 am

Hilux use 1st generation common rail. And has no intercooler. Same goes to 3.2l triton with 1st generation common rail. Others has gone for 3rd generation common rail. There is 2.5l 126hp not in malaysia with fitted with variable nozzle turbo.

• EricG on May 02, 2009 at 5:08 am

[quote comment="235146"]how come malaysia ford so outdated design….please check for europeon and usa ford design..[/quote]

this car is design by asians for asians.

• xzibit on May 02, 2009 at 4:46 pm

[quote comment="235291"][quote comment="235146"]how come malaysia ford so outdated design….please check for europeon and usa ford design..[/quote]

this car is design by asians for asians.[/quote]

no wonder da design is so suck … actually there are some toyota model is designed by ASEAN DESIGNERS like unser, avanza .. these model really sux

• no la, because Hilux is a TOYOTA, thats why it sells. brand power.

for that money, theres alot of other choices i can make which are better. but when it comes down to the brand and "reliability" issue, people always choose toyota.

but…the Navara is still the Big Bad Mother Trucker here. No.1 in power, and price……lol.

• lowprofile on May 04, 2009 at 6:20 am

i tested it today. it was very responsive and handles pretty well. i also did a bit or drag racing in the demo car and it could take the lane changes very well, of course there was more body roll than a regular car but then, this IS a tall vehicle and the body roll is expected. i'm impressed. i'd recommend you guys to drive that thing first and then share with the rest your driving experience and also your thoughts on the overall vehicle. looks will always be a subjective matter. seems a little more responsive than the triton i tested a few months ago but then this is just me and others may have a different opinion though. btw, the ranger i tried was a registered demo unit with a more mileage put in and the triton was a new unit with trade plates.

personally, i like it; both inside and out. the interior is not a breakthtough design like the triton's or anything but it is well presented and every switch works well. impressive in the auto version is a dial for the various drive modes. this differs sharply from the second gear lever found on most other similar level pick-up trucks.

and as this is no x5 competitor, it is not even in the same category. it will be good if the postings have a little thought put in first. don't just type whatever comes to mind first. think first, compose your post and amend where necessary then only put your input.

• yahoo..another cool truk.

• I like the (maroon?) color ones in the first pic :)

• Ford Ranger - Old, O on May 17, 2009 at 11:58 pm

This car rocks!

• gluekos on Aug 03, 2009 at 11:51 pm

ive tested it too. responsively well on the steering and engine (have pickup!). nevermind the back seat, the only thing that holding me back is the face…therfore i am waiting for the WILDTRACK.

*the back seat is not quite roomy although they said they have improved it.

• old Fordy on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:28 am

I have a YR2000 Ford Ranger. After 9 years with above 300,000KMS, I wish to say that my ranger is definitely is built tough and didn't gave me much problem until last 2 years.

My biggest disappointments as follows;

1. No warning for the failure of 2 clutch pumps!!

2. Poor sound insulation.

3. Turning ratio.

4. Fuel consumption.

I wished the new Ranger had rectified the above.

However, my average 5,000KMS standard oil & filters change never cost more than RM180. Therefore, I'm highly satisfied!

• JetLee on Dec 21, 2009 at 11:34 am

Am just think' to change from a normal car but i dont know which one is the best???

• macho on Apr 03, 2010 at 11:43 pm

boring facelift

• cheeze11 on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:02 am

Ford Ranger TDCi powerfull engine, confidence when overtaking others….the airbag works well ( got accident already…huhu). Not that bad actually like some of people says.. i can say that D-max looks weird. Grow up guy!…Not all of you like drink coffee maa… i like tea looo….

But;-

= Spareparts ( services under agent huts is very f**&ing expensive..)

• This double cab rocks!!
    powerful n responsive whenever needed!
    XLT spec is reasonable (price and safety spec) compared to other maker that comes with full spec of the same 2.5CC class! Im Satisfied!