More details: New Renault Clio RS 200

Clio RS 200

We’ve already checked out the RS 200 before two months ago when it made its Geneva debut but here comes the full details. The Clio RS 197 is now the Clio RS 200 and is available in two forms – the Clio Renaultsport 200 Cup and the Clio Renaultsport 200.

The 2.0 litre 16 valve F4R RS engine now puts out 200 horses and 215Nm of torque, up 3 horses from the previous 197 number. Peak torque is also achieved at a lower rpm of 5,400rpm, which is lower by 100rpm. Pre-3,000rpm torque is now 20% higher. The first 3 gears of the manual gearbox have been shortened for better acceleration, which means 0 to 100km/h takes only 6.9 seconds, on to a top speed of 227km/h.

The front end takes after a similiar look to the new Megane, and like the Clios before it, it does without any kind of spoiler, instead relying on a fully functional rear diffuser to help with the aerodynamics. The diffuser reduces lift at 130km/h by as much as 40kg.

Clio RS 200

The front wings are 30.5mm wider than a standard Clio to accomodate the wider tracks, which are extended by 48mm at the front and 50mm at the rear. Wheelbase is up by 10mm to the new 2,585mm number.

The suspension dampers on the new RS 200 are actually about 15% softer than the RS 197. These dampers are of a hydraulic double-effect type, which uses an additional level of valving to help dissipate energy better. The front antirollbar is now 21mm in diameter which is 1mm thicker.

As for the “Cup” spec level, the dampers are 15% stiffer than the RS 197 Cup. These dampers can also be specified on the non-Cup RS 200. The steering ratio for the Cup is also 7.5% quicker, also standard on the Cup and optional on the regular RS 200. A weight of 1,204kg give it one of the best power to weight ratios in its class – approximately 166 horses per tonne of weight.

Look after the jump for more pix of the new RS 200.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=176]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• does it come with the really sweet looking airplane style handbrake?

• mizandude on May 04, 2009 at 8:06 am

hmmm….how much different is this with the current one?

• CocoBear on May 04, 2009 at 8:17 am

Good performance-(high asking price+ugly looks+Renault brand)=undesirable

• Tiadaid on May 04, 2009 at 8:23 am

[quote comment="235718"]does it come with the really sweet looking airplane style handbrake?[/quote]

Why do they call it airplane-style handbrake? It looks nothing like an airplane's handbrake/parking brake!

• it does not look like airplane handbrake, but it does look like the lever used to accelerate the plane.

even if it doesnt look like airplane handbrake, its still coolest handbrake design ever.

• newbie on May 04, 2009 at 8:48 am

paultan, u intentially putting repeated pics just to make it looks a lot didn;t you?

• Perotiga on May 04, 2009 at 10:04 am

damn good looking and performance, p1 savvy next replacement should be like that with 4 doors.

• 4G63T DSM on May 04, 2009 at 4:23 pm

1.2tonnes.

I suppose all that French safety cost some weight.

loose that 200kg and it would be bang on perfect.

This segment is an exciting one, with the old hot hatches all grown up, these supermini hatches is poised to take over the flame.

Can't wait to see this go head to head with the Fiesta RS and Polo GTi

• Paul Tan on May 04, 2009 at 4:37 pm

No, I added the new photos to the old photo gallery from the Geneva debut and didn't realise there were duplicates.

• Fridz (Member) on May 04, 2009 at 5:20 pm

[quote comment="235741"]damn good looking and performance, p1 savvy next replacement should be like that with 4 doors.[/quote]

Yup…hopefully savvy replacement model looks like this.or at least fitted with 2007 D4Ft turbo TCE engine.

• barca on May 04, 2009 at 6:09 pm

another sweet french babe….woot!

the car really look sick in all colors except in that particular shade of green.

IMO, a darker/lighter shade of green would probably complete the color offering of the car.

• DorLin on May 04, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Exterior, It look a little bit like Proton Savvy…

Interior very nice.

• Gajen on May 04, 2009 at 8:36 pm

the thing i like about this car is the exterior is simple and nice…just like the interior…but the engine is stunning…perfect car for italian job haha

• how much in malaysia?

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2009 at 11:22 pm

I think the front fascia design is odd.

But the rest is perfect.

Simple and functional.

• Nice car. It does not look like Savvy… it just look like regular 5 doors hatch.

This is going to be expensive over here.

Again what would you choose? Cooper S or this?

• 4G63T DSM on May 04, 2009 at 11:56 pm

[quote comment="235794"]Exterior, It look a little bit like Proton Savvy…

[/quote]

Which part? The 4 round wheels?

• lchan on May 05, 2009 at 2:08 am

[quote comment="235780"][quote comment="235741"]damn good looking and performance, p1 savvy next replacement should be like that with 4 doors.[/quote]

Yup…hopefully savvy replacement model looks like this.or at least fitted with 2007 D4Ft turbo TCE engine.[/quote]

Sure, if you want to pay 150K for your brillant next savvy vehicle!

• enjin dia ni muat kat savvy tak

• droll on May 05, 2009 at 4:26 am

this should be quite a blast to drive!!

• DorLin on May 05, 2009 at 4:43 am

[quote comment="235828"][quote comment="235794"]Exterior, It look a little bit like Proton Savvy…

[/quote]

Which part? The 4 round wheels?[/quote]

—-

Yes ..Sure :)

• Ken Lam on May 05, 2009 at 4:01 pm

I would buy this for my model gf and have her drive me around…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 05, 2009 at 6:40 pm

this will be cheaper than mini, or Vw gti.. but somehow, Vw, and mini (thanks to bmw association), have more snob appeal than a renault badge in our country.

• [quote comment="235794"]Exterior, It look a little bit like Proton Savvy…

Interior very nice.[/quote]

Hi Mate….ur statement is SO DOUBTFUL

• nice!

• Perotiga on May 06, 2009 at 8:53 am

[quote comment="235840"][quote comment="235780"][quote comment="235741"]damn good looking and performance, p1 savvy next replacement should be like that with 4 doors.[/quote]

Yup…hopefully savvy replacement model looks like this.or at least fitted with 2007 D4Ft turbo TCE engine.[/quote]

Sure, if you want to pay 150K for your brillant next savvy vehicle![/quote]

nope, p1 made cheap only below 50k. i am waiting. i don't want to pay 150k for this CLIO.

• Dump trucks on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:38 pm

I think the front end is just awful completely ruins the car for me i like the clio before. Why are all the french cars going for this massive mouth look? like frenchy like car!