Interior photos of new SLS AMG unveiled!

New SLS

In a rather surprising move, Mercedes-Benz has released photos early of the new yet to be launched SLS AMG, the new Gullwing car to come out of Stuttgart’s stables.

Mercedes-Benz the dashboard is shaped like a wing, and the centre console like the style of a jet. Even the air cond vents are suppoesd to remind you of aircraft engines, with a touch of retro-ism in it. And of course, the new Gullwing car will have “swing-doors”, which are the Gullwing doors.

New SLS

The new Mercedes-Benz SLS-Class will come only in AMG form. The SLS AMG will be powered by AMG’s 6.2 litre V8 monster mounted at the front, mated to a 7-speed dual clutch transmission in a transaxle configuration to help achieve a 48:52 weight distribution, which would be Daimler’s first use of a twin clutch transmission in a Mercedes-Benz car.

The SLS AMG’s chassis will be built with aluminium spaceframe body technology with extensive usage of aluminium even in the suspension system, particularly the double wishbones. A target kerb weight of 1,620kg excluding the driver has been set. This means the 6.2 litre’s 571 horses and 650Nm of torque will propel the SLS AMG to 100 km/h in only 3.8 seconds, and on to a top speed of 315km/h.

New SLS

The V8 AMG engine codenamed M159 will have forged pistons, a reinforced crankshaft bearing, optimised crankcase structure, and a on-demand high-performance oil pump. It will weigh 206 kg.

The transaxle setup of the dual clutch (a real twin clutch, not SPEEDSHIFT MCT) transmission will be similiar to that of the DTM C-Class. Transaxle means while the engine is at the front, the gearbox is at the rear axle. It is connected to the engine with a torque tube, in which a carbon fiber shaft turns at engine speed.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of material released by Mercedes-Benz on the upcoming SLS AMG.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=267]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wow

• Mufasa Hulaho on May 05, 2009 at 9:34 pm

org kaya arab boleh aa

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 05, 2009 at 10:40 pm

interior looks like an american muscle car..

• the stik on May 05, 2009 at 10:42 pm

skali tngok cam dodge viper jerrr.. pintu terbang cam kereta Matt Treker citer kartun Mask..

• Paul – "it will weigh 206 kg"? I doubt that car would be just a meagre 206 Kg! Or do you mean the oil sump alone? Which would be really really heavy.

Either way – I think there's a typo.

• anderson on May 05, 2009 at 11:22 pm

206kg for the engine not the whole car.

• farghmee on May 05, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Wunderbar!

• kei9 (Member) on May 05, 2009 at 11:56 pm

This is at the brink of pure excellence. :D

• Roti naan on May 06, 2009 at 12:34 am

whiiiyooorr!!

• zaff1984 on May 06, 2009 at 12:36 am

Remind me of Dodge Viper.

• NeoDriver on May 06, 2009 at 12:45 am

It looks like Satria Neo CPS..wooow..

• biggie on May 06, 2009 at 12:49 am

nice, tapi centre console too wide difficult to 'raba2'

• tokmoh on May 06, 2009 at 1:39 am

[quote comment="235983"]Paul – "it will weigh 206 kg"? I doubt that car would be just a meagre 206 Kg! Or do you mean the oil sump alone? Which would be really really heavy.

Either way – I think there's a typo.[/quote]

He's referring to the V8 engine's whole weight

Looks like an American muscle indeed. An 'import' that Vin Diesel might not mind driving in the next F&F mvi :)

• CocoBear on May 06, 2009 at 1:41 am

I can't wait for the car to be unveiled! The sketches and graphics are promising. I adore the engineering bits. So sophisticated.

• Jaybond on May 06, 2009 at 1:46 am

Will this car be able to take on the likes of Ferrari 599 GTB? Hope so.

• Wow! Those air-cond vents look just like those in a 1976 W123 E-class.

• Paul Tan on May 06, 2009 at 2:13 am

[quote comment="235983"]Paul – "it will weigh 206 kg"? I doubt that car would be just a meagre 206 Kg! Or do you mean the oil sump alone? Which would be really really heavy.

If you read my article, you will know that the car will weigh 1620kg, and in a separate paragraph where I talk about the M159 AMG engine, that will weigh 206kg.

• Gajen on May 06, 2009 at 6:42 am

this has a better interior than slr…slr the dash looks very normal…this one is just awesome…and love the air brakes…i prefer this to slr…

• Seems like AMG decided to make this one as perfect as the SLR.

Wondering will this one go faster of the SLR will be faster?

• Amiran on May 06, 2009 at 8:17 am

Seems like AMG wants to take up Nissan GTR. "Transaxle" and maybe + torque vectoring. Super lux sport car but still can beat GTR for overall performance. Now that's interesting….

• does resemble a dodge viper.

• [quote comment="236015"][quote comment="235983"]Paul – "it will weigh 206 kg"? I doubt that car would be just a meagre 206 Kg! Or do you mean the oil sump alone? Which would be really really heavy.

If you read my article, you will know that the car will weigh 1620kg, and in a separate paragraph where I talk about the M159 AMG engine, that will weigh 206kg.[/quote]

Yup yup. I have been corrected. Thanks.

• qozh moreno on May 07, 2009 at 11:53 pm

Ganassss…..

resemble the old SLR…

something make me feel they would revive Silver Arrows back…