New AP policy might be announced end May?

Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir says the review of the Approved Permits system is already at the final review stage and an announcement might be made by Minister Datuk Mustapa Mohamed by the end of this month.

“Currently, the AP issue is still being under scrutiny. It’s a very complex issue. It involves many people and different interests. We’ve to weigh different interests and have to come up with something that are acceptable to most parties,” said Datuk Mukhriz to Bernama reporters on Thursday.

Earlier this month the KL and Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association urged MITI to open up the AP system to everyone, with a 30% quota for Bumis and the rest via an open auction system.

Datuk Mukhriz suggested that the AP system may be rethinked or abolished, though the latter is quite unlikely at this point of time, an unfortunately thing really as when the new NAP was unveiled in 2006, it was stated that the AP system would be phased out completely in 2010.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lchan on May 09, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Different interest?..whos interest?..

• Perotiga on May 09, 2009 at 7:48 pm

second, again… no hope for me to be AP king and my BMW dreams.

• hand sucker…..type!

• [quote comment=”237094″]Can someone PLEASE explain to me why BUMIs need their own allocation?[/quote]

Mate… Ketuanan Melayu marrrr

• optimist on May 09, 2009 at 8:17 pm

[quote comment=”237079″][quote comment=”237036″]Never in million years they would abolish AP but at least they do something.Better than nothing. I can only hope price of Civic would be down to 70 k.[/quote]

civic not AP ler

[quote comment=”237074″]The last time NAP was nothingness. not AP.[/quote]

last time NAP make 2nd value drop like hell[/quote]
    aiya i thought civic is AP AndrE. Because in duty free area like Langkawi they sell civic for 70 k.Then if u want to bring into peninsular you got you pay ridiculously high tax which I call AP system.

• B16a VTEC& 4G92 on May 09, 2009 at 8:21 pm

Another way to up the price for the AP.

like auctions it surely will increase the price.

What is an AP price recently? Free or need to pay RM30K~RM100K for it?

• Roti naan on May 09, 2009 at 8:50 pm

**yawn**

• Littlefire on May 09, 2009 at 9:22 pm

Chinese saying " Change the soup, but not the medicine"

So in the end, is still for their own benefits…

• Alfa Juliet on May 09, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="237008"]**yawn**[/quote]

Exactly!

*YAWN*

Care to join us yawning, anyone?

• optimist on May 09, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Never in million years they would abolish AP but at least they do something.Better than nothing. I can only hope price of Civic would be down to 70 k.

• nabill on May 09, 2009 at 10:43 pm

double yaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwnn….sick and tired

• [quote comment=”237094″]Can someone PLEASE explain to me why BUMIs need their own allocation?[/quote]

i think you should revise ur history book or maybe have a look through the MoU of interracial during tunku’s time… to get the deeper explanation…..

• bongd on May 10, 2009 at 12:47 am

this is nerve breaking. i've already bought a car, and i'm planning to bring it back to malaysia using my student AP this september

• Dr. Ferdinand Pi&eum on May 10, 2009 at 1:11 am

they will definitely find other ways to slaughter the rakyats

• mystvearn on May 10, 2009 at 2:35 am

The last AP was a document full of nothingness. I expect almost similar in this one as well.

• mystvearn on May 10, 2009 at 2:35 am

The last time NAP was nothingness. not AP.

• kacman on May 10, 2009 at 2:54 am

yawn x3000

• AndrE on May 10, 2009 at 2:59 am

[quote comment="237036"]Never in million years they would abolish AP but at least they do something.Better than nothing. I can only hope price of Civic would be down to 70 k.[/quote]

civic not AP ler

[quote comment="237074"]The last time NAP was nothingness. not AP.[/quote]

last time NAP make 2nd value drop like hell

• Can someone PLEASE explain to me why BUMIs need their own allocation?

• monimoku on May 10, 2009 at 6:17 am

i don't think AP will be completely abolished, the government still half-dreaming. i really hope that they will wake up soonest possible so every malaysian can benefit it rather than only a few can benefit. i think they will be all remove after the 2012 GE if they still dreaming

• also to look … about the obj of NEw Economy Policy…..

• since hv new "CEO" of the country… sure hv to change some of the managers, nego new terms mah… if not hv how to chennel the $$ into the porkets???

• Littlefire on May 10, 2009 at 7:40 am

Well… If you guys go and read how we obtain Merdeka, and the May 13 book.. You will know what cause NEP & AP today… We should be living in a country like Singapore! But not current situation…

Thanks to the current PM father…

• i doubt they will abolish it. more or less they rephrase the term, change abit here and there. and the ap kings continue to rip us all off.

bloodsuckers.

• nyan46 on May 10, 2009 at 9:08 am

AP….aaaaaaaaaa poodahhhhhh

• Will they rebate any extra pays since I jst bought my car??Deng..Unplanned G.

• [quote comment="237118"][quote comment="237094"]Can someone PLEASE explain to me why BUMIs need their own allocation?[/quote]

i think you should revise ur history book or maybe have a look through the MoU of interracial during tunku's time… to get the deeper explanation…..[/quote]

hoho..sensitive issue. history will always be history. nothing can be changed. Not so much about ketuanan melayu. Do some readings mate. No offense. Eventho this system will still be a crap.

• kokociliko on May 10, 2009 at 3:16 pm

[quote comment="237128"]Well… If you guys go and read how we obtain Merdeka, and the May 13 book.. You will know what cause NEP & AP today… We should be living in a country like Singapore! But not current situation…

Thanks to the current PM father…[/quote]

No. Thanks to our colonizer instead.

And their legacy that made AP and other things came into being.

Yes, we should refresh our history.

• kokociliko on May 10, 2009 at 3:26 pm

No such thing as a flawless system.

Agree that the current AP system might be exploited to enrich the already rich.

Looking forward to the improved AP system end of this month, that truly realize the noble objectives of NEP.

• 4G63T DSM on May 10, 2009 at 4:31 pm

I doubt very little will change.

This is meant to enrich the few at the expense of the many (many as in all rakyat regardless it is bumi, or not).

The bumi issue is just a charade, hiding the real motive behind a veil of "national development and security". So they say one "should not" question it. What better than to hide somethign behind something that "should not" be questioned, although in reality has really nothing to do with it.

Anti competitiveness breeds lazyness. And we wonder why we can't be any more than a jaguh kampung which gets walloped everywhere else.

• Perotiga on May 10, 2009 at 6:53 pm

[quote comment="237096"][quote comment="237094"]Can someone PLEASE explain to me why BUMIs need their own allocation?[/quote]

Mate… Ketuanan Melayu marrrr[/quote]

mate… hampa die fist marrrr….

• makan-makan on May 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm

[quote comment="237096"][quote comment="237094"]Can someone PLEASE explain to me why BUMIs need their own allocation?[/quote]

Mate… Ketuanan Melayu marrrr[/quote]

go google yourself..lazy bone

• Bandrek on May 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm

30% for Bumiputra UMNO only.. not all bumiputra will get it.

This policy for surely make a new prince and protect the existing king.

• Bodow on May 10, 2009 at 10:30 pm

hmm i've dropped my dream of owning a brand new BMW many months back … Ap review ? Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn*

• Perotiga on May 10, 2009 at 11:07 pm

[quote comment="237234"]30% for Bumiputra UMNO only.. not all bumiputra will get it.

This policy for surely make a new prince and protect the existing king.[/quote]

thanks for useful information, i know where should i go for my future BMW.

• Just trying to understand from different people's opinions, douchebag. I just see it as the government giving shitloadz of money- in the form of APs – to only a handfull of malays. I just dont see how that system is beneficial to the rest of malaysians.

• My take is that there will be NO abolishment of APs. It is here to stay. Maybe they will coin a new term for it and hope to fool the people again.

At best that I can hope for is that the funds collected for the AP goes into the government coffer, RATHER than the current practice of going into the pockets of a FEW towering bumis. Supposedly to be used to develop our local auto industry. Some may argue that it is the same. At least government funds can be scrutinised.

• AbangTerra on May 11, 2009 at 3:41 am

I like this…

Get your hopes up for nothing, then tell you they did so much expensive consultancy and studies..and end up citizen= zero as usual.

• bmpower on May 11, 2009 at 3:44 am

just abolished it..

don't talk talk talk again laa..

it's not profiting us!

• engtaokia on May 11, 2009 at 9:35 am

yawn x infinity…

• Reasonably Insane on May 11, 2009 at 4:41 pm

if i'm to be racist… why 30% need to be reserve for bumis?? Because if there is no allocation… the chinese will dominate it… anyone agree?? Look at the ASW.. when it was open for non-bumis.. how many days it took for the million units of share to be sold out??

BTW the AP is for business not for buying your own car right?

• keep the same as b4 or change completely, not adjust some & keep some to the "interest" parties. asking 30% quota again? seems quota already become a culture for certain ppl doing biz.

• Perotiga on May 11, 2009 at 5:44 pm

[quote comment="237435"]if i'm to be racist… why 30% need to be reserve for bumis?? Because if there is no allocation… the chinese will dominate it… anyone agree?? Look at the ASW.. when it was open for non-bumis.. how many days it took for the million units of share to be sold out??

BTW the AP is for business not for buying your own car right?[/quote]

yawn x infinity super double tipple… if no malay/chinese/indian/etc, then come up with you/me/him… rich/poor/zero/negative… men/women/kid/pet… car/bike/ufo… apple/orange/mango… kfc/mac/ayamas/pizahurt… ultraman/superman/batman/lousyman… right?

becuz business can earn much money to correct super ex-car, right?

• kemosabe on May 11, 2009 at 5:47 pm

At the end of the day, whatever the outcome is, the rakyat are the ones to suffer.

This AP thingy over the years has created a very bad industry climate – recon vehicles here actually selling at a higher price than a brand new car outside the country. To abolish it would be very difficult at the beginning, but someone would have to bite the bullet for the betterment of the country's economy, and more importantly livelihood.

A brand new Mazda 3 cost below RM30k before duties and taxes. Compare the quality between a Mazda and a Proton – its a real disgusting scenario how tax payers money are wasted, and how a group of people profit from it.

• intermilan on May 11, 2009 at 6:23 pm

yawn :OOO

• Reasonably Insane on May 11, 2009 at 6:30 pm

i have no idea what ur saying perotiga… i said if i'm to be racist…read the word IF… i am not racist!!

btw most of the comments only echoed " I WANT VERY HIGH QUALITY OR LUXURY OR BRANDED CAR AT SUDER DIRT PRICE", " I DON'T CARE HOW YOU GOING TO DO IT OR HOW OTHER PPL WILL SUFFER.. BUT AS LONG AS UR POLICY IS NOT BENIFITING ME, IT IS NOT CORRECT, IT IS SUPER DUPER WRONG".

it is still a wonder for me why some malaysian still cannot see how the tax payer money was spent by the govt… open your eyes wide.. look around… not just in kl or cities… go to the villages… see what's happening..

• shoryuken on May 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Yawn**…action la, talk for years already…

• [quote comment="237461"]i have no idea what ur saying perotiga… i said if i'm to be racist…read the word IF… i am not racist!!

btw most of the comments only echoed " I WANT VERY HIGH QUALITY OR LUXURY OR BRANDED CAR AT SUDER DIRT PRICE", " I DON'T CARE HOW YOU GOING TO DO IT OR HOW OTHER PPL WILL SUFFER.. BUT AS LONG AS UR POLICY IS NOT BENIFITING ME, IT IS NOT CORRECT, IT IS SUPER DUPER WRONG".

it is still a wonder for me why some malaysian still cannot see how the tax payer money was spent by the govt… open your eyes wide.. look around… not just in kl or cities… go to the villages… see what's happening..[/quote]

There are tons of other AP in Malaysia. rice AP, sugar AP, steel AP etc.

All are controlled by the non-bumis.

Why don't we open up those AP too…

I was told that some bumi bloke was given Sugar AP few years back. He got death threats, and have to surrender his AP.. wow….

Car AP is the only AP controlled by the bumis.

• Perotiga on May 11, 2009 at 11:25 pm

to Reasonably Insane, i am close with you, do remember some of the rules we must to follow, or else be a spam… etc… am i am villager.

that's why most of comments should echoed by [b]yawn, i don't care, i want join to be a rich, i want luxury car with 1 sen, apple and orange… iron… i… call… y[/b].

• Perotiga on May 11, 2009 at 11:33 pm

[quote comment="237523"]

I was told that some bumi bloke was given Sugar AP few years back. He got death threats, and have to surrender his AP.. wow….

Car AP is the only AP controlled by the bumis.[/quote]

see, do realize we need RACIST to sharing our very limited resources.

• Reasonably Insane on May 11, 2009 at 11:57 pm

[quote comment="237526"][quote comment="237523"]

see, do realize we need RACIST to sharing our very limited resources.[/quote]

i was just responding to question someone bring up… " why we need to allocate 30% to bumi's… " that's all…dun mean to be racist…

at current situation there's a need to put some allocation, subsidy, quota etc for bumi's… if not malaysia would have become singapore… where the bumi are minority there now…

even tho there is protection for bumi's, the govt r still being fair.. there are a lot of chances offered to non bumis, they still have a lot of opportunity to prosper…

btw… all those echo.. " i want this.." "i want that.." "i dun care…"…. always me me me me…. isn't that selfish? selfishness might help u going forward, advance than other ppl but it can also brings you your doom…

• Perotiga on May 12, 2009 at 12:31 am

[quote comment="237530"][quote comment="237526"][quote comment="237523"]

see, do realize we need RACIST to sharing our very limited resources.[/quote]

i was just responding to question someone bring up… " why we need to allocate 30% to bumi's… " that's all…dun mean to be racist…

at current situation there's a need to put some allocation, subsidy, quota etc for bumi's… if not malaysia would have become singapore… where the bumi are minority there now…

even tho there is protection for bumi's, the govt r still being fair.. there are a lot of chances offered to non bumis, they still have a lot of opportunity to prosper…

btw… all those echo.. " i want this.." "i want that.." "i dun care…"…. always me me me me…. isn't that selfish? selfishness might help u going forward, advance than other ppl but it can also brings you your doom…[/quote]

I am convinced the judgment…

• aiyo..i think some of you might not agree but we need a new government to change the whole system actually. the current gov is just too rotten with it's system. we can demand for equal sharing but without slacking off others in the rural and suburb areas. Baru la real 1MALAYSIA. All the richness is equally shared. If no gap btw people,surely no gaduh2 about AP or ketuanan melayu or bumiputeras. Coz everyone is same rich,same poor. Ini tak,semua pun nak harta utk your ownself only. Equal distribution la guys. you might get car AP now,but you dont get sugar Ap later or vice versa in the later stage. 2 cents~~

• This is ridiculous, its as if you guys are saying that Malays need a handicap to help them dominate part of industry or to secure some earning for them? Such a messed up system, it should be equal whether your Chinese Indian black white orange or fcking purple. Therefore this whole bumi bullsht system is a joke. We’re all born in Malaysia and so we should have equal rights no? Why should our chances of success be predetermined by our ethnicity? Such a backwards system.

• And to the malays that are 'FOR' this whole bumi allocatoin bs, it doesnt even benefit you yourself does it. You will still have to pay for an AP when u get a car, its only benefiting a small handfull of bumi melayus who are getting rich the easy way while everyone else has to pay much more than normal. APs are allocated right? when they are sold are they put back into the gov for spending on everyone else?

• History teaches us a on May 12, 2009 at 2:43 pm

I figure that the system may become matured and perfect after we have the 44th PM. By then, will AP and other things be needed?

• Reasonably Insane on May 12, 2009 at 3:44 pm

[quote comment="237589"]This is ridiculous, its as if you guys are saying that Malays need a handicap to help them dominate part of industry or to secure some earning for them? Such a messed up system, it should be equal whether your Chinese Indian black white orange or fcking purple. Therefore this whole bumi bullsht system is a joke. We’re all born in Malaysia and so we should have equal rights no? Why should our chances of success be predetermined by our ethnicity? Such a backwards system.[/quote]

read…. bumi's is not only malays… -.-

• will never drive a gt-r in malaysia.

and helping bumi, not the poor.

• Dazed on Dec 20, 2009 at 1:39 am

I can't wait for change of government *yes I'm being optimistic*. Then this AP business might be handled with the people's interest in mind. I just want to buy a car with low carbon emissions but every time I googled they are so expensive here in Malaysia, no doubt because of this AP business.

• hendy on May 09, 2011 at 5:47 pm

how can i get the r35 08years ap??