Is this what the new Jaguar XJ will look like?

Jaguar XJ Speculation
Click for hi-res enlarged image

We’re only about two months away from the unveiling of the all-new Jaguar XJ on the 9th of July 2009. All we have right now is a shot of the top of the car and a very short teaser video (watch after the jump) also featuring the same roof angle, but Theophilus Chin has whipped up some speculation for us based on the very little side views that we can see from the roof angle.

The new XJ will definitely have some family resemblance to the XF as the coupe-like roofline and the contours on the front bonnet are very visible from the teaser image. There is a rather interesting looking C-pillar which is visible in the teaser images, and Theophilus has used these clues to create his speculation.

A full panoramic glass roof as shown in the teaser will likely be an option if not standard, and like the XF, the XJ will be powered by a range of V6 and V8 engines.

2 more months to go!

VIDEO: Jaguar XJ Teaser

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevo on May 11, 2009 at 4:56 am

classic look of Jaguar, lost forever……….

• teoh for president!

• kia_soul on May 11, 2009 at 5:02 am

yay

• kia_soul on May 11, 2009 at 5:04 am

[quote comment="237324"]classic look of Jaguar, lost forever……….[/quote]

old man can't live forever.. perhaps the son may carry a little distinctive look of his father

• xzibit on May 11, 2009 at 6:39 am

awesome design theophilus … y not u work for proton n help them make good cars!!!!!

• Theophilus ASS!!! on May 11, 2009 at 6:47 am

ASK Theophilus Chin not to ruin the design with his terrible taste.

• shan0025 on May 11, 2009 at 7:06 am

thank goodness classic cues of jaguar are now lost…they belong in te 50's…newer designs are way awesome..

• protonboyz on May 11, 2009 at 8:16 am

seriously the artist impression suck bad,

i bet the engine is put at back , coz the back is bigger than the front.

lolll

• xzibit on May 11, 2009 at 9:32 am

[quote comment="237360"]seriously the artist impression suck bad,

i bet the engine is put at back , coz the back is bigger than the front.

lolll[/quote]

i dont think so the engine is at the back … coz its a sedan… =.= …. actually front is rather bigger than the back ,,, the design is awesome

• da_vinci on May 11, 2009 at 9:49 am

the design is out of proportion

too many roof pillars… D-pillars are too fragile thin…

• will6am on May 11, 2009 at 9:54 am

Most likely the new Jaguar XJ has frameless windows on the front doors and rear doors as well.

• mystvearn on May 11, 2009 at 11:39 am

I thought jaguar is almost bankrupt. Still have time to make cars? Surely it will have recycled parts.

I thought under TATA they will have money to play around with.

• Perotiga on May 11, 2009 at 8:33 pm

wow, proton should buy jaguar company to own V6 and V8 engine.

• mitlanevo on May 11, 2009 at 9:12 pm

[quote comment="237330"][quote comment="237324"]classic look of Jaguar, lost forever……….[/quote]

old man can't live forever.. perhaps the son may carry a little distinctive look of his father[/quote]

if luxury marques like RR and Bentley can remain lots of classic design elements on their cars, why not Jaguar do the same thing?

• Bangla on May 12, 2009 at 12:18 am

I wouldnt mind buying this car if Proton produce it. ***That is, if it is sold with Proton price***

• Qosh Moreno on May 12, 2009 at 12:34 am

Don't lah spoil the design….

let people with a heart of deisgn does it…

anyway even japanese car design base on european designer…

not to be bias but we have to learn more & hard…

don't la let Ah Beng ruin it…

ngehngehngeh…..

• Qosh Moreno on May 12, 2009 at 12:39 am

[quote comment="237389"]I thought jaguar is almost bankrupt. Still have time to make cars? Surely it will have recycled parts.

I thought under TATA they will have money to play around with.[/quote]

have u ever sat in a Bentley, RR, Jag or Daimler…

they the one actually set d benchmark on ride & comfort…

& that's why they when bankrupt nobody can afford as well as maintaining this kind of car… just wanna add to ur post…

• henry on May 12, 2009 at 3:29 am

my comment got deleted?

i just saying the chop is ridiculous and terrible, Paul.. i'm stating the facts, it's look like a wagon instead of a sweet nice coupe-roof luxury sedan.

no democracy here.

• Paul Tan on May 12, 2009 at 6:49 am

henry, no one deleted your comment, it must have not got through somehow. no need to get so riled up, it is just a small thing as saying someone's photoshop work is not to your liking. doesn't hurt anyone, why should it be deleted.

i am getting alot of weird comments lately by people accusing me of this and that comments being deleted, there must be something wrong with the connection between tmnet (streamyx users) and jaring (this server).

frankly i am not bothered whether the chop looks ok or ugly, the fact of the matter is it matches the side profile shown in the teaser and is only a speculation.

• Mahen on May 12, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Mr Tan,

With all due respect to you and your blog, I feel that the feedback given are

not meant to be weird in the sense but to ensure that the right information

is disseminated from your blog.

If constructive criticism is not conveyed, then you should only permit

one way information and not seek further comments.

Again, I am posting my earlier comments (which are verified) and if the same meets your comments requirements… appreciate the comment can remain.

Thanks.

• Mahen on May 12, 2009 at 5:23 pm

THeo's rendition of the car is not accurate.

The car has been already made a concept ….. please see here….

http://www.autoinfection.com/wp-content/uploads/2… http://www.autoinfection.com/wp-content/uploads/2…

The lines are consistent with the top view of the car and the XJ is timely to be released in 09 when it was intro'ed as a 2010 concept in '08.

• Paul Tan on May 12, 2009 at 5:35 pm

I'm sorry dude but the Jaguar XJ concept or production has not been shown or released anywhere yet as of now. Those photos are from Auto Express and it is merely a speculation rendering just like this site's. They do that quite regularly.

It's sad how you so quickly slam this Malaysian publication down just because a British one states theirs is correct… why?

BTW that 08 concept was the XF concept, not an XJ concept.

• Mahen on May 12, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Mr Tan,

Are you sure about this….?

And FYI… i did not slam your blog with my words… Please read again and once over for clarification.

There is no issue of British vs Malaysia blog…. your blog is as informative as

any other.

Agreed that the pix are equally speculation just like Theo's.

Which means that no one is right isn't it.

However, with your keen eye, would you be kind to compare the lines?

Also, it is a 08 concept was indicated as XJ concept as the XF was no longer a concept in 08.

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/05/10/is-this-ho…

• Theophilus Chin on May 12, 2009 at 7:45 pm

[quote comment="237664"]Mr Tan,

Are you sure about this….?

[/quote]

Sigh, please do some proper research. Auto Express used the C-XF Concept from 2007 http://www.netcarshow.com/jaguar/2007-c-xf_concep… and digitally made it into THEIR speculation of the next Jaguar XJ.

• Mahen on May 14, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Dear Theo,

Clearly my research done is not without basis.

If you read this, you will understand that Ian Callum, the designer of the

new XJ351 which is also termed as the new XJ has this to put forward.

"On 20 April 2009, Jaguar Managing Director Mike O’Driscoll announced at the Shanghai Automotive show that on 9 July 2009 a new Jaguar XJ would be revealed in London.

This officially confirmed long-circulating speculation that a new luxury-segment Saloon (sedan) was being launched by Jaguar, and that it would bear the XJ nameplate, instead of being renamed. The X351 will be all-new, a total redesign with a completely different powertrain and aluminum body-architecture from the 2009 model. (Key word: all-new, a total redesign)

The car will retain some of the original XJ length and character, while the hood bulge continues the design language of the XF and XK under head designer Ian Callum. A panoramic roof is clearly visible, as well as a distinctive departure from the look of XJ’s traditional taillight assembly.

(Key word: distinctive departure)

It will be lighter than previous models, due to a next-generation aluminum body architecture. Engine options will include the recently updated twin turbo V6 diesel and the flagship version's 510bhp supercharged V8 – similar to that in the XKR and XFR “racing” models from Jaguars lineup."

On that basis, shall we await for 9th July 2009?

• Mahen on May 14, 2009 at 8:04 pm

And there's more….

Excerpt from Ian Callum's interview:

What can you tell me about the new 2010 XJ?

I’m excited about it. It’s a natural development of where we’re going. With the XJ, the first section of our reinvention will have been achieved – our main cars, the XK, XF and the XJ, will follow this new form language. We’ve still got the old X-type there, and we’re going into a debate about what we’ll do in future with small cars. And we will do smaller cars again, there’s no doubt about that. In what form, we’ll have to wait and see. But the mainstay of Jaguar is luxury cars, and unashamedly high-performance cars – that’s what our heritage is. And green credentials will have to fit into it. By the time the new XJ comes out this summer, you’ll know what Jaguar stands for.

Will it be a bigger jump than from S-type to XF?

You’ll have to make that judgment when you see it. When we designed the XF, we didn't think of it as replacing the S-type. Not because I dismissed the S-type, but because I saw the XF as being the new Mark II, which is a car I loved as a teenager. I took all the values of the Mark II and translated them into the 21st century. There was nothing in between.

Will it be a similar process with the new 2010 Jaguar XJ?

With the XJ, the reference for me this time is another car I love: the first XJ. We’ll make the same leap – a 21st century version of the MkI XJ. There’s no point on making a reference to the cars in between, because I don’t feel any great soul for them. Every XJ after the 1968 original emulated that car. We worked out the values of the 1968 XJ. It had strength and innovation.

• Mahen on May 15, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Hey, and there's even more.

Check here…..

http://www.autoblog.com/2009/05/14/spy-shots-next…

• Steve on Jul 10, 2009 at 1:09 pm

They did things differently…not anymore. Now looks like a Lexus

• henry on Jul 12, 2009 at 8:48 pm

mahen, u gotta eat your words by now.. btw, the chop made by theo is not accurate at all… look like a 70's British stationwagon..

• mahen on Jul 14, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Why do I have to eat my words at all, with all due respect?

I believe Mr Theo needs to eat his renderings though.

Not impressive at all against the very real XJ.

The original composites made were in fact in line with

the XJ model that was released.

Please read through all notes and speeches above before

you point your finger my way.

Thanks.