New Volkswagen Polo: hi-res shots and footage!

New Polo

Volkswagen has unveiled full details and images of its latest Volkswagen Polo. For those that like how the new Polo has turned out, here’s a huge photo gallery for your enjoyment. The full hi-res versions can go up to a megabyte in size so they’re perfect for wallpapers even on high resolution screens.

The body is longer (+54mm), wider (+32mm) but lower (-14mm) than the outgoing Polo which are differences that are always seen as desirable as it makes the car have a sportier stance. Wheelbase has gone up slightly by 4mm. With the additional width, track is now also wider by 29mm at the front and 30mm at the rear.

New Polo

The new Polo comes with a total of 7 different engines, of which 5 of them are new for the Polo. The diesel line-up is now completely TDI, which means Pump Duse is phased out even on the low-end models. The Polo can consume as little as 3.6 litres of diesel per 100km with the 90 PS TDI model.

One new engine that was first introduced on the SEAT Ibiza is the new 1.2 TSI, producing 105 PS from a small 1.2 litre turbocharged engine. This baby can put out 175Nm of torque from just 1,500rpm and is mated to a 7-speed DSG transmission. The 1.2 TSI is the most powerful engine for the Polo so far until the Polo GTI comes out, which could feature either 150 PS or 180 PS versions of the company’s 1.4 TSI.

Look after the jump to enjoy the shots and footage!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=282]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• atieus on May 14, 2009 at 3:28 am

kia spectra looks?

• This time, the little brother looks far better than the Golf VI.

• Littlefire on May 14, 2009 at 3:47 am

Yup.. Is like little brother of Golt + Sirocco…

• dcwhz83 on May 14, 2009 at 3:57 am

Much more desirable than Golf Mark VI…

Haih… When VW will locally assemble their cars here?

Haihhhhhhh…

• Roti naan on May 14, 2009 at 4:11 am

[quote comment="238158"]Much more desirable than Golf Mark VI…

Haih… When VW will locally assemble their cars here?

Haihhhhhhh…[/quote]

Unlikely to have local assembled VW car, and unlikely the price be low.

Malaysia just missed the "boat", VW just set up their factory elsewhere but Malaysia..

• michaelooi on May 14, 2009 at 6:13 am

the red one definitely looks hot!

• i like it!

• Black Dog on May 14, 2009 at 6:39 am

Where's my Polo t-shirt?

That's the closest I can get to it!

• DinKnight on May 14, 2009 at 7:03 am

This makes me think, "Why get a Golf when you can get a Polo?"

• fearsome on May 14, 2009 at 7:04 am

Paul, i think you should bar the people from discussing politics on the RM2.00 Ron 97 issue. I dun feel nice seeing foul words there. Please …pls do the needful.

• m_9000 on May 14, 2009 at 7:06 am

yeah nice.!

• Eric Octaviano on May 14, 2009 at 7:17 am

Yeah it's certainly better than Golf, well done again VW! After Sirroco this is another excellent design from VW. Who never thought German Car Manufacturer can create cool car. This Polo's design is simple but yet sophisticated. Two thumbs up for this Polo and Sirroco.

• mohd hafizzul on May 14, 2009 at 7:42 am

LAWA…PATUT SATRIA NEO YANG 3 PINTU DIGANTI DENGAN SATRIA NEO 5. BUAT MACAM POLO…BARU LAH ORANG YANG BERKELUARGA BELI…HARAP PROTON BUAT MACAM VOLKSWAGON POLO….SATRIA NEO 5….

• below my expectation

but a good job by vw indeed

cheers!

• runner on May 14, 2009 at 11:04 am

Excellent take on what's in store

for us in this side of the world (hopefully via Indo.)

Liked the new models + esp the 1.2 turbocharged engine

wit 7 speed transmission!

eerr, any chance for rebadged VW by Cartrade?

• mspfaz on May 14, 2009 at 12:11 pm

Yeah it is nicer than Golf but in terms of dimension, this car is smaller than Golf, so they are not in the same category. I've driven the previous Polo and its pickup is better than Waja 1.6 and has nimble handling. A good car but the price if imported here in Malaysia will kill it.

• LAmborghini666 on May 14, 2009 at 12:39 pm

this is good

• azrai on May 14, 2009 at 3:59 pm

Proton can emulate the success of this Polo in Europe and hopefully in other world by adding 2 more doors to their Satria Neo. Syed Zainal, please do it. You can give myVi a head to head competition finally, not a competition against the Savvy.

• [quote comment="238251"]LAWA…PATUT SATRIA NEO YANG 3 PINTU DIGANTI DENGAN SATRIA NEO 5. BUAT MACAM POLO…BARU LAH ORANG YANG BERKELUARGA BELI…HARAP PROTON BUAT MACAM VOLKSWAGON POLO….SATRIA NEO 5….[/quote]

kita sudah lama mengharap tp satria neo ni rendah.

x seswai

encik paul kita nih plak payah nak masuk kt blakang.

dah la tinggi (6kaki), kalo driving kena tarik blakang2 kerusi driver tue..

i think i can pimp my spectra5 to become golf GTI

hahhaahha

• muryadi on May 14, 2009 at 4:47 pm

[quote comment="238251"]LAWA…PATUT SATRIA NEO YANG 3 PINTU DIGANTI DENGAN SATRIA NEO 5. BUAT MACAM POLO…BARU LAH ORANG YANG BERKELUARGA BELI…HARAP PROTON BUAT MACAM VOLKSWAGON POLO….SATRIA NEO 5….[/quote]

Rasanya ada baik improve Gen2 walaupun dia panjang sikit Gen2=4300mm dan Polo=3900mm.

Kalau ada duit lebih walaupun sudah berkeluarga saya masih lg berminat kereta 3 pintu macam neo.

• King Samurai on May 14, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Interior a bit blant…can be more impressive

• theanswer on May 14, 2009 at 5:41 pm

[quote comment="238191"]This makes me think, "Why get a Golf when you can get a Polo?"[/quote]

then, others will say 'why buy polo when u can get a golf'..1.2 tsi with 105ps..i love vw. hahaha

• ong chin aun on May 14, 2009 at 5:42 pm

The ww Polo looks great! But diesel type not so desiable in Malaysia simply because the price of diesel is not low and lack pickup. Ideally it should have engines 1.3 1.5 or 1.6 cc petrol and with manual tramission option beside auto. Also the price should be affordable below say Rm.80,000. For 1.8 or 2.0cc perhaps price may be over Rm 100,000.

• barca on May 14, 2009 at 5:49 pm

really, really, really sick at all angles and even in a demure color like yellow!

again, i'm repeating myself, this car is really sick and another sure winner in terms of looks alone!

fantastically done, VW!

• Gajen on May 14, 2009 at 6:31 pm

really…nice…nice cabin, nice design, nice engine…everythings awesome…btw who are the competitors? afla mito?corolla hatchback sport?

• knightdriver on May 14, 2009 at 9:31 pm

I never thought Polo can look this good. The rims was a lot nicer compared to its GTI sibling.

• Zaff1984 on May 15, 2009 at 12:22 am

VW is always know how to build good quality interior at reasonable price. Nice exterior especially the tail light like new facelifted 7 series BMW… its that called 3D tail light? i donno wat is called but like it alot.

• kei9 (Member) on May 15, 2009 at 4:59 am

You can get a Golf without maving to pay for the price. You know what i mean. :)

• LAmborghini666 on May 16, 2009 at 6:57 am

when is polo gti coming out? got R version? and also ABT version